Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Try the Citrus Variety
8/6/2009

Customer review by WheelingWV

2.0 stars 8/6/2009 by WheelingWV
by WheelingWV

While shopping for an economical cat litter for my two newly-adopted kitties, I picked up this unscented litter at Walmart. While it clumps well and is low-dust, it did not mask the odor as desired. I read reviews of the Special Kitty Citrus-Scented on this site and decided to give it a try, since this litter did have other good qualities. I was thrilled that the citrus variety has eliminated the odor problem. I am a MUCH happier pet-owner. For the record, I am a daily scooper. With two cats using the same box, I should be a twice-daily scooper, but the citrus-scented variety of Special Kitty permits me to perform this odious task but once a day. Thanks, Special Kitty-Citrus!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WheelingWV
Wheeling, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!!!
8/10/2009

Customer review by BabysitterStar

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by BabysitterStar
by BabysitterStar

Its less expensive to use this. You don't have to clean the cat box out each time. You can just scoop it out and it saves you money this way. This is a money saver product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabysitterStar
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great litter
7/1/2011

Customer review by catladycool

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by catladycool
by catladycool

I have several cats and have tried just about every type of litter...they like the Green Box Special Kitty.....I buy four boxes at least once a month and sometimes more.....I was upset for awhile about the liner the manufacturer used and they have since put in a heavier liner that doesn't have holes in it when I open a box. I have several friends (on my recommendation) all over the county that use this product. I do have one question though, how come not all stores carry the brown box of Special Kitty? I was told before that someone other than who makes the green and orange boxes make this but are allowed to use the Special Kitty logo.....my friend likes to use the green and the brown box but hasn't been able to find it in her local WalMart in Ocala.....and she's too paranoid to write a review or question to anyone about products so I'm asking. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catladycool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This cat litter is the WORST!
9/15/2011

Customer review by Phoenixperson

1.0 stars 9/15/2011 by Phoenixperson
by Phoenixperson

I have used Johnny Cat for some time, and a nice lady recommended this "Special Kitty" stuff at walmart -she was a customer. I filled my litter box with it once. I had to scrub the scoop with a toilet brush, and then scrub my toilet, every time I cleaned the box...When the cats urinate in the litter, it goes to the bottom and turns to MUD! It is awful! I finally just cleaned out the box completely and threw away the litter. In the process, I had to SCRUB the box, the litter scoop. the bathtub ...where I scrubbed it out... AND the toilet! It was disgusting... and it took me about half an hour. With Johnny cat, I dump it in a plastic bag, rinse out the box real quick, dry it, and refill it. "Special Kitty" litter is the absolute WORST. I don't see how anyone ever thought to market this substance as cat litter. They obviously never tried it. The rest of the box I bought -for at least twice the price of good litter- is going back to the store...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phoenixperson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
8/22/2010

Customer review by Quiescence

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Quiescence
by Quiescence

I was a little hesitant to buy a Walmart brand kitty litter, but this stuff is great! It is very low dust (which has been linked to problems in cats) and I haven't noticed much smell either. Plus it is getting tracked that badly. And its an awesome price! If you need additional help with smell you can buy the Arm and Hammer additive. For the Citrus kind, who wants their cat in something that is citrus scented?! That just screams problems to me!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quiescence
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THE BEST SCOOP LITTER
11/11/2009

Customer review by momaof12

5.0 stars 11/11/2009 by momaof12
by momaof12

i have 12 cats now, most were kittens droped off.but do have 4 that are minei have used every litter out ther &have found specila kitty the best in every way.i love the citrus because of the scent.my cats all enjoy it to,,which is a plus. i do recomend anyone who has more then 2 cats to use this. i tell everyone i meet in wallmart pet ailse to try it they'll love it ..most i see again say they have tryed it & do love it ,,so keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momaof12
clarksburg pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
best litter !!!
1/30/2009

Customer review by shoptothemax

5.0 stars 1/30/2009 by shoptothemax
by shoptothemax

My husband and I have 10 cats and started using Fresh Step which we liked very much but the cost was terrible so we started using this brand and we love it. We have 4 huge litter boxes and clean them twice a day most days. We are very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoptothemax
Enterprise, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best
12/4/2008

Customer review by Jerri3601

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by Jerri3601
by Jerri3601

i used to buy fresh step but had to find a less expensive alternative do to the cost (i have 5 cats). since then i have been using the special kitty litter and have found it comparable to fresh step, which costs twice as much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerri3601
Bally, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
12/28/2008

Customer review by melcvt00

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by melcvt00
by melcvt00

I've only recently begun using this litter - Aldi changed their litter, and it no longer clumps well. Tidy Cats is too expensive when you have 6 cats (right now 3 litterboxes, planning on adding 3 more - I don't have room for the 7th one that the experts say I should have)! This litter is only slightly dusty (not enough to make me sneeze), and clumps very well. So far, I haven't had any trouble with it (in the last couple of months) - I'll keep using it for now!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melcvt00
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
changes to product
10/23/2008

Customer review by scooter08

3.0 stars 10/23/2008 by scooter08
by scooter08

I have been very happy with this litter until last week, we got a box and it was at least 2/3 dust, hardly any little rocks to the product what so ever. We will try it one more time and if it is still the same we will surely discontinue buying the the product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scooter08
Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Eh
3/3/2009

Customer review by xkryptox411

3.0 stars 3/3/2009 by xkryptox411
by xkryptox411

It's not a bad litter. It scoops really well, and that's good for the price. But when I scoop it, which I do daily, it smells bad. I mean, I guess you can't expect a good smell with what your actually doing, but I only have one cat, and Fresh Step smells and scoops wonderfully when I use it. It's a good scoopable litter, but it could smell better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xkryptox411
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
More Dust than Litter
2/10/2011

Customer review by fancycat2

3.0 stars 2/10/2011 by fancycat2
by fancycat2

I've been using this product for almost a year and yes it sells for a reasonable price, but lately I have to cover my face or purchase a face mask to clean or dump my cat boxes. Please make some adjustments for me and for all. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fancycat2
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Special Kitty Cat Litter
5/13/2009

Customer review by celeste1964

1.0 stars 5/13/2009 by celeste1964
by celeste1964

I am going to change brands because here as of late, I have noticed that this litter is not clumping and is smelling like ammonia. Which in turn will make my kittens sick.I am very unhappy with this brand of cat litter.I want to be able to contact the maker of this brand for a refund of the money i wasted on this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celeste1964
Kimbolton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/25/2010

Customer review by mblansett

3.0 stars 9/25/2010 by mblansett
by mblansett

it did not last the number of weeks on there, i bought two boxes (i have 4 cats) and both boxes was gone in a month. it did kill the smell about the same as tide cat. i going back to tide cat since it cheaper then special kitty

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mblansett
winchester, in
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Special Kitty for Easier Life
2/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Living in a rural remote area where products must be flown in, I have found Special Kitty Superior Clumping Formula to live up to it's title. As opposed to other litters, this one actually clumps urine and does not leave a residue throughout the rest of the litter. Sometimes I have to purchase other kitty litters, so I mix this one in with the other and clumping is vastly improved. With scooping daily I am able to extend the life of this litter before changing the entire box. I also appreciate that it is well sealed in a plastic bag inside the box. Other litters that are only in the box often leak. The 28lb box also has finger holes on each side that allows it to be picked up easily. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Barrow, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cats
11/6/2008

Customer review by christy560

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by christy560
by christy560

I have 2 cats and this is the best litter!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christy560
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely fantastic for someone with migraines
12/14/2011

Customer review by Wolfeh

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Wolfeh
by Wolfeh

I have problems with migraines, which means I can't handle strong scents. This particular forumla DOES have scent, and is strong enough to mask odors, yet doesn't give me headaches and migraines. My cats also do not suffer from it, one suffers from feline herpes and two others have eye problems where a lump will appear above their eye if the litter box smells too much like ammonia (vets don't seem to want to diagnose or deal with it, but it appears to be genetic since one cat is the mother of the other and they both have the same problem). It seems to be low dust, though when I dump it into the cat litter box a cloud of dust comes up. That may give someone migraines if they are allergic to dust, like me (and if I don't air it out I do get a headache but not full blown migraine, but it can and has happened), but putting a fan in front of the litter box while pouring and having a window or door open will help air it out so you don't suffer. Anyways, when the cats use the litter box with this particular litter, it doesn't seem to make them sneeze as much as other litters like Tidy Cats, which is why I think it has less dust, or at least less agitating dust, than other litters. When cleaning the litter box they do sneeze, but again not as much as other litters. (This is important to me because of the herpes cat who has uncomfortable sneeze fits that can trigger her other symptoms, but this litter does not trigger her other symptoms like Tidy Cats did.) I am in love with this litter, which sounds silly I know, and I hope walmart doesn't change a thing about it! If they do, I may be afraid to use it again and it will be hard for me to find another good litter. (The other brands give me migraines, and some have silica dust which are absolutely dreadful for the eye problem cats and herpes cat! They really make them sick!) By the way, for those curious, due to the sick kitties I clean the litter box usually once every other day or once every three days, but I can't let it go a week or they get really sick. I change the litter once a month, and would recommend doing this to other people who have sick kitties, sensitive kitties, or for cat care in general as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfeh
Ontario, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
stinky mess
4/17/2009

Customer review by colierp

2.0 stars 4/17/2009 by colierp
by colierp

i've bought this litter before but this time am so unhappy with it. I had washed my litter box because it smelled as soon as i filled it up. Even noe, after washing and bleaching the box, its still smells. I wont buy this again...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colierp
Vista, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days