Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 51 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
7/11/2013

Customer review by topiary

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by topiary
by topiary

The Equate psyllium product comes in diverse forms, flavors, with or w/o additives, so read the back label carefully before purchasing. I no longer see the one I bought on the website, but it is labeled as the UNFLAVORED, 100% NATURAL PSYLLIUM HUSK FIBER LAXATIVE. Contrary to the front label, claiming this Equate product to be 100% psyllium, the primary ingredient is sucrose (a sugar). According to the nutritional information on the back, the recommended serving is 7 grams, which is comprised of 4 grams of sugar, making it the primary ingredient. If you want or need a truly sugar free psyllium, I recommend capsules, Konsyl pure psyllium powder or capsules, or Vitacost brand products. The other alternative is to contact Walmart and ask them to provide a true 100% psyllium product. While Equate isn’t overpowering sweet when mixed with water, it can still be a problem for diabetics, people who are prone to inflammation, and/or people like me who aren’t fond of sweet drinks.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topiary
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the extra $5 for shipping
1/9/2016

Customer review by Beano1964

2.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Beano1964
by Beano1964

My local Wal-Mart has stopped selling the unflavored, "Course Milled, Original Texture" that I've been using, they suggested I look online for it. I didn't see the container of the product I've been using, but this one most closely resembles it. Reading some of the reviews, it seems that, apparently, this is NOT the course milled product, but a powder. I was also looking for the sugar-free, 100% psyllium husk product, it's been pointed out in several other reviews that the main ingredient in this product is sucrose. I still have the container of the course milled product that I've been using, and even though it says on the label "100% Natural Psyllium Seed Husk", a check of the ingredients shows that it, too, lists sucrose as the primary ingredient. So I really don't know whether or not this is the same product in a new container. They don't sell this product in any of the 3 Wal-Marts I went to looking for it, so I thought I'd order some to find out if it is, indeed, the same product in a new container. But with a $5 shipping fee, what's the point? I can get a similar product at any of a number of local grocery or health food stores for the same overall price. I say if you can find it at your local Wal-Mart, buy it. But if you're going to have to pay an extra $5 for it, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beano1964
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loaded with sugar.
5/17/2014

Customer review by BeSkeptical

1.0 stars 5/17/2014 by BeSkeptical
by BeSkeptical
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sucrose is the first ingredient. Had I been able to determine this from the product description I would not have made the purchase. That is the reason this is so much cheaper than name brand pure psyllium husks.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeSkeptical
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fiber Therapy
6/7/2015

Customer review by Oldcat

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by Oldcat
by Oldcat

This is the only one to purchase especially if you are allergic to orange flavored drinks. The Equate Fiber Therapy is easy to mix and can be added to most anything -- really does not have a strong flavor and does not take away from the flavor of other food or drink that it is mixed with. I have powdered gator aid to mix it with -- usually 4oz of tap water with a teaspoon of gator aid and two heaping teaspoons of fiber therapy mixed together and I drink it quick, plus I chase it with another 4 - 8 oz of clear tap water. I drink or eat the fiber therapy mixed with food three times a day. If you need fiber in your diet this is an easy way to add fiber without trying to find food that contain enough fiber for a successful bowel movement the next day. All you have to remember with any good bowel movement you must have some water in your stool, so don't drink coffee, tea, carbonated drinks or similar items that are really diuretics. The diuretics will null out the fiber therapy or any other type of bowel movement produce.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldcat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Equate psyllium is gone from store shelves, why??
3/3/2011

Customer review by schroed

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by schroed
by schroed

I have used this product for years and am happy that Walmart offered it at a reasonable price. Now, it is vanishing from the shelves, and only the very expensive "Name Brand" is available. WHY, Walmart?

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schroed
S. Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wrong UPC code
12/27/2015

Customer review by ChubbChubb

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by ChubbChubb
by ChubbChubb

I cannot rate this particular product because I had to send it back. I wanted the sugar free, and this product had sugar in it. The UPC code on the back had the exact same number as the sugar free product. See if you can figure that out.????? The only reason I rated this product a 5 star was that I am satisfied with the sugar free product, and am assuming that this product is the same.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChubbChubb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much cheaper and more available than name brand
11/21/2013

Customer review by rumpellstillskin

3.0 stars 11/21/2013 by rumpellstillskin
by rumpellstillskin

I buy the unflavored because the only other choices have massive amounts of sugar or artificial sweetener. I can no longer find the unflavored fine texture Metamucil brand and the last time I did it was twice the price of this stuff. This mixes poorly using a spoon in a glass, so I use a shaker bottle with a spring inside, like the ones for protein shakes. Use cold water so it doesn't get slimy. Drink it fast. The one disappointment is that this contains sugar, plain old granulated sugar. I have no idea why, but it does not have nearly as much as the flavored versions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rumpellstillskin
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely equal or better than the big brand name
3/8/2013

Customer review by TROOD

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by TROOD
by TROOD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is absolutely equal to and perhaps even better than the big brand name product. I have used Equate Fiber Therapy for many years and plan to use it for many more. The price is right, the value is excellent and the performance of the product is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TROOD
COLUMBUS OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product for the price
7/3/2013

Customer review by loveitverymuch

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by loveitverymuch
by loveitverymuch

It is less than 7 bucks here, yet on other websites this stuff costs more than double the amount. Anyway, I have no complaints. It has a little texture to it, but nothing serious. It feels like I'm drinking oatmeal or something. I usually just have one dose per day, since I get fiber through my morning cereal (7 grams already in my cereal, and according to the label on this supplement, 3.2 grams of fiber per dose 3 times a day would add up to 10.2 grams, therefore I only require 1 dose of this stuff). I like mixing it with my protein shake at night before bed with milk. Tastes good and it also causes the protein release to slow down, which is good for at night, kind of like a casein protein shake. I decided to buy this stuff because without it, I only have a bowel movement MAYBE every other day if I'm lucky. Sometimes, I've gone 3-4 days without moving a bowel, and I know that can't be good. Since taking this, along with flaxseed oil supplement, I have noticed more regularity and more solid bowels, since usually the ones I do have are very tiny which is strange (to me, at least). Anyway, I know that's a little TMI but hey, how will you really know it works if I don't talk about it? Anyway, yeah. The best course of action might be to mix this with a protein shake. I have never tried it with just plain water, so I can't give an opinion on that. I plan to try this with oatmeal or some type of juice and see what happens. I will update whenever I do. Thanks, Walmart, for providing this product at such a ridiculously low price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveitverymuch
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
used for baking GF
5/6/2014

Customer review by GFSusan

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by GFSusan
by GFSusan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this product as a leavener in gluten free bread baking (as recommended by a GF cookbook by America's Test Kitchen) and it worked great. I have not used it as a laxative, however, so I can't comment on that part.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GFSusan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not effective for Colon.
11/7/2015

Customer review by Saratoga1

1.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Saratoga1
by Saratoga1

No effect on my colon like Isabgol. Test like earth and little bit sandy- crunchy despite soaked for 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saratoga1
Would recommend to a friend? No
!
11/6/2015

Customer review by MamaC

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by MamaC
by MamaC

Just as good as Metamucil yet much less expensive!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible texture
1/14/2013

Customer review by RegularGal2

1.0 stars 1/14/2013 by RegularGal2
by RegularGal2

I thought I would save a few bucks and purchase the store brand rather than the name brand fiber product, but that was a mistake. Usually you can purchase the store brand and get what seems to be the same product - but not this time! I tried and tried, day after day, to vigorously stir the powder into my water, but it just floats at the top. The flavor is fine, but the texture is definitely nasty. It does not mix, and one must gag to drink it down. I intend to toss the rest of the bottle and go back to the national brand. What a waste of money! And what's worse, it appears that Walmart no longer carries the national brand. So, I'll have to shop elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RegularGal2
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect substitute at a low price
2/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been taking Metamucil for years but had trouble finding the unflavored kind in the stores. I purchased Equate Fiber and find it a perfect substitute for Metamucil, and the price at Walmart cannot be beat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Malvern, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Metamucil Alternative
10/24/2012

Customer review by Madobe

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Madobe
by Madobe

If you use Metamucil or would like to but can't afford it buy Equate Fiber Therapy. It is just as effective and at half the cost. I've been using it for years and can only get it at Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madobe
Warren, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/5/2014

Customer review by Thirdforce

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Thirdforce
by Thirdforce
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The quality of Equate psyllium fiber is as good as any psyllium fiber that I've ever taken.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thirdforce
Hummelstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Fiber Product
10/22/2015

Customer review by RDCowan

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by RDCowan
by RDCowan

This is the best fiber powder at a good price. I mix it with orange juice and mix it in a blender with a few ice cubes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RDCowan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Equate (wal-mart) Fiber Therapy
4/7/2009

Customer review by TeganAngel

4.0 stars 4/7/2009 by TeganAngel
by TeganAngel

This product is wonderful for the price, but it is thicker than that what I usually use or like. For those of you that used the Product EZ Fiber, you may be dissapointed like myself. There is no longer a space for it on our Walmart shelf. These 2 are about the same price but in my opinion they should have left the EZ there to.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeganAngel
Smokerise. Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to mix, always ends up lumpy
3/20/2012

Customer review by hydromet

2.0 stars 3/20/2012 by hydromet
by hydromet

This fiber product is difficult to mix and no matter how hard you stir there will be lumps or floaters. I prefer Metamucil smooth texture unflavored but WalMart does not carry it and the other "wal" store has also stopped stocking it. All the flavored stuff has either sugar or aspartame and I don't need either. Even this product has sucrose (sugar) crystals in it. A little but of sugar adds up when you use it 2 or 3 times a day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hydromet
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Honest Review of Product
5/18/2014

Customer review by twins100

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by twins100
by twins100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is great! I mix one teaspoon with silk chocolate soymilk. The chocolate soymilk is thin and the fiber mixes really well and taste pretty good. Every morning I have this drink and every day I am regular. I have tried a lot of pills and other products but this works for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twins100
boston, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews