Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 44 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Equate psyllium is gone from store shelves, why??
3/3/2011

Customer review by schroed

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by schroed
by schroed

I have used this product for years and am happy that Walmart offered it at a reasonable price. Now, it is vanishing from the shelves, and only the very expensive "Name Brand" is available. WHY, Walmart?

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schroed
S. Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/11/2013

Customer review by topiary

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by topiary
by topiary

The Equate psyllium product comes in diverse forms, flavors, with or w/o additives, so read the back label carefully before purchasing. I no longer see the one I bought on the website, but it is labeled as the UNFLAVORED, 100% NATURAL PSYLLIUM HUSK FIBER LAXATIVE. Contrary to the front label, claiming this Equate product to be 100% psyllium, the primary ingredient is sucrose (a sugar). According to the nutritional information on the back, the recommended serving is 7 grams, which is comprised of 4 grams of sugar, making it the primary ingredient. If you want or need a truly sugar free psyllium, I recommend capsules, Konsyl pure psyllium powder or capsules, or Vitacost brand products. The other alternative is to contact Walmart and ask them to provide a true 100% psyllium product. While Equate isn’t overpowering sweet when mixed with water, it can still be a problem for diabetics, people who are prone to inflammation, and/or people like me who aren’t fond of sweet drinks.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topiary
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Loaded with sugar.
5/17/2014

Customer review by BeSkeptical

1.0 stars 5/17/2014 by BeSkeptical
by BeSkeptical

Sucrose is the first ingredient. Had I been able to determine this from the product description I would not have made the purchase. That is the reason this is so much cheaper than name brand pure psyllium husks.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeSkeptical
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely equal or better than the big brand name
3/8/2013

Customer review by TROOD

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by TROOD
by TROOD

This product is absolutely equal to and perhaps even better than the big brand name product. I have used Equate Fiber Therapy for many years and plan to use it for many more. The price is right, the value is excellent and the performance of the product is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TROOD
COLUMBUS OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much cheaper and more available than name brand
11/21/2013

Customer review by rumpellstillskin

3.0 stars 11/21/2013 by rumpellstillskin
by rumpellstillskin

I buy the unflavored because the only other choices have massive amounts of sugar or artificial sweetener. I can no longer find the unflavored fine texture Metamucil brand and the last time I did it was twice the price of this stuff. This mixes poorly using a spoon in a glass, so I use a shaker bottle with a spring inside, like the ones for protein shakes. Use cold water so it doesn't get slimy. Drink it fast. The one disappointment is that this contains sugar, plain old granulated sugar. I have no idea why, but it does not have nearly as much as the flavored versions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rumpellstillskin
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product for the price
7/3/2013

Customer review by loveitverymuch

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by loveitverymuch
by loveitverymuch

It is less than 7 bucks here, yet on other websites this stuff costs more than double the amount. Anyway, I have no complaints. It has a little texture to it, but nothing serious. It feels like I'm drinking oatmeal or something. I usually just have one dose per day, since I get fiber through my morning cereal (7 grams already in my cereal, and according to the label on this supplement, 3.2 grams of fiber per dose 3 times a day would add up to 10.2 grams, therefore I only require 1 dose of this stuff). I like mixing it with my protein shake at night before bed with milk. Tastes good and it also causes the protein release to slow down, which is good for at night, kind of like a casein protein shake. I decided to buy this stuff because without it, I only have a bowel movement MAYBE every other day if I'm lucky. Sometimes, I've gone 3-4 days without moving a bowel, and I know that can't be good. Since taking this, along with flaxseed oil supplement, I have noticed more regularity and more solid bowels, since usually the ones I do have are very tiny which is strange (to me, at least). Anyway, I know that's a little TMI but hey, how will you really know it works if I don't talk about it? Anyway, yeah. The best course of action might be to mix this with a protein shake. I have never tried it with just plain water, so I can't give an opinion on that. I plan to try this with oatmeal or some type of juice and see what happens. I will update whenever I do. Thanks, Walmart, for providing this product at such a ridiculously low price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveitverymuch
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
used for baking GF
5/6/2014

Customer review by GFSusan

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by GFSusan
by GFSusan

I used this product as a leavener in gluten free bread baking (as recommended by a GF cookbook by America's Test Kitchen) and it worked great. I have not used it as a laxative, however, so I can't comment on that part.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GFSusan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vanish from all Walmarts
4/22/2011

Customer review by jaja2011

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by jaja2011
by jaja2011

My wife and I have used this product for years with excellent results. Great product, better price. Now we only can find the "Name Brand" which is logically more expensive and with different flavor. We love the Orange Flavor. When it is supposed to re appear?

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaja2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Equate (wal-mart) Fiber Therapy
4/7/2009

Customer review by TeganAngel

4.0 stars 4/7/2009 by TeganAngel
by TeganAngel

This product is wonderful for the price, but it is thicker than that what I usually use or like. For those of you that used the Product EZ Fiber, you may be dissapointed like myself. There is no longer a space for it on our Walmart shelf. These 2 are about the same price but in my opinion they should have left the EZ there to.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeganAngel
Smokerise. Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to mix, always ends up lumpy
3/20/2012

Customer review by hydromet

2.0 stars 3/20/2012 by hydromet
by hydromet

This fiber product is difficult to mix and no matter how hard you stir there will be lumps or floaters. I prefer Metamucil smooth texture unflavored but WalMart does not carry it and the other "wal" store has also stopped stocking it. All the flavored stuff has either sugar or aspartame and I don't need either. Even this product has sucrose (sugar) crystals in it. A little but of sugar adds up when you use it 2 or 3 times a day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hydromet
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Honest Review of Product
5/18/2014

Customer review by twins100

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by twins100
by twins100

This product is great! I mix one teaspoon with silk chocolate soymilk. The chocolate soymilk is thin and the fiber mixes really well and taste pretty good. Every morning I have this drink and every day I am regular. I have tried a lot of pills and other products but this works for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twins100
boston, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst taste in the world
5/4/2012

Customer review by WuzFuz12

1.0 stars 5/4/2012 by WuzFuz12
by WuzFuz12

You can forget about drinking this with water; the taste will gag you. They tried to sweeten the product with sucrose and it just makes it worse. I was surprised at how strong of a flavor this was as well. When mixing a tiny bit in with my oatmeal it was over powering. (So it seems mixing it with juice isn't a great alternative either). I mix a dose into my morning shake which isn't too bad. The protein powder and fruit do a good job of hiding it. It also doesn't mix nearly as well as Metamucil.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WuzFuz12
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/5/2014

Customer review by Thirdforce

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Thirdforce
by Thirdforce

The quality of Equate psyllium fiber is as good as any psyllium fiber that I've ever taken.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thirdforce
Hummelstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect substitute at a low price
2/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been taking Metamucil for years but had trouble finding the unflavored kind in the stores. I purchased Equate Fiber and find it a perfect substitute for Metamucil, and the price at Walmart cannot be beat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Malvern, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Metamucil Alternative
10/24/2012

Customer review by Madobe

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Madobe
by Madobe

If you use Metamucil or would like to but can't afford it buy Equate Fiber Therapy. It is just as effective and at half the cost. I've been using it for years and can only get it at Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Madobe
Warren, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Well
7/25/2014

Customer review by nelliB

4.0 stars 7/25/2014 by nelliB
by nelliB

This fiber works as well as the name brand fiber at a cheaper cost. I will purchase this again and I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nelliB
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
for a 6 year old, this isn't good
2/3/2012

Customer review by CaraMiaClothing

2.0 stars 2/3/2012 by CaraMiaClothing
by CaraMiaClothing

I bought this for my 6 year old to try to get him "regular". He'd been taking miralax which is clear and dissolves completely. So when I tried to get him to drink this, it was a challenge! This gives the drink a brownish color (leaves little floaties) almost muddy and does not dissolve well. He would drink within a few minutes of me mixing it, yet he would still have a layer of thick gel on the bottom. I'm not sure if metamucil is the same way or if this is worse being a generic brand. I've gone back to giving my son the miralax.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaraMiaClothing
Lempster, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Fiber Available
10/23/2011

Customer review by NeilRG

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by NeilRG
by NeilRG

This is the best fiber, in my opinion. Its texture is very smooth; it's easy on the stomach; it tastes great; and it works great. What more can you ask for? Before this, I used the less expensive fiber (the orange flavored one). Not only didn't it work as well, but it was much "rougher" on my stomach. This one "feels" smoother after you take it, and is easier on the stomach. Plus, as I said, it has better effects, and I like the taste better. It's a bit more expensive than the cheaper Equate fiber, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeilRG
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
5/27/2014

Customer review by Monteagudo

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Monteagudo
by Monteagudo

This product is better than the brand name Metamucil. And the price is 30 to 40 percent lower!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monteagudo
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible texture
1/14/2013

Customer review by RegularGal2

1.0 stars 1/14/2013 by RegularGal2
by RegularGal2

I thought I would save a few bucks and purchase the store brand rather than the name brand fiber product, but that was a mistake. Usually you can purchase the store brand and get what seems to be the same product - but not this time! I tried and tried, day after day, to vigorously stir the powder into my water, but it just floats at the top. The flavor is fine, but the texture is definitely nasty. It does not mix, and one must gag to drink it down. I intend to toss the rest of the bottle and go back to the national brand. What a waste of money! And what's worse, it appears that Walmart no longer carries the national brand. So, I'll have to shop elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RegularGal2
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews