Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 50 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Love it, Love it
5/21/2009

Customer review by Coastalbeauty

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by Coastalbeauty
by Coastalbeauty

This lotion is wonderful. It goes on smoothly, just like your regular moisturizer. Plus, it has a great fragrance. I am very fair-skinned, and the color looks healthy and natural. I can look very tan after only a few days. Walmart, please keep carrying this lotion; it's my healthy-skin, summer secret! :)

Was this review helpful? (58) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coastalbeauty
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great color
5/28/2009

Customer review by supersunny

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by supersunny
by supersunny

I have tried almost every product out there for a sunless tanned look and this one is the best! Not only does it give you great natural looking color quickly on fair skin, but it doesn't sting your face or eyes. Most of the products I've tried sting or burn if they get anywhere near your eyes. This product's great for sensitive skin. I can put it on all over my face with no stinging or burning. Thanks, Coppertone! Please continue to carry this product @ walmart. It is hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
supersunny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
First time sunless tanning.
5/14/2010

Customer review by CautiousAlways

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by CautiousAlways
by CautiousAlways

I just bought this product with the intent of using them on my legs because there is a huge difference in color from my lower body to my upper body, which is really not cute! As soon as I opened the bottle, I was kind of skeptical because the lotion is white in color & from what I've seen sunless tanning lotion is usually orange or brown in color. It doesn't take long to dry and is a bit hard to tell if you've applied evenly because its like regular lotion but it works great. I woke up this morning and my legs are definitely a bit tanner. I just took a look at my hands and I assume I didn't wash my hands well enough because there is a bit of color. Nonetheless, I'd buy this product because its worth the price. 9oz for a little less than 8 dollars at my location compared to getting 5 or 7 oz of product for $5-7 dollars. Yes, I'm a cautious bargain shopper (= Overall, its great for begginners and I do plan on continuing to use it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CautiousAlways
LA County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best out there for fair skin
4/21/2010

Customer review by Praiser

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by Praiser
by Praiser

I have tried several sunless tanning products and they all make me look orange and look fake. Not this, it is amazing. It looks totally natural! I love it, Walmart is the only place in town I can find it. Please Walmart keep this item on your shelves!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Praiser
Blair, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great pick-me-up for winter blahs
12/23/2013

Customer review by Spoken4r

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Spoken4r
by Spoken4r

This is like every other self tanner except that I have found that it doesn't run when you get wet or wash dishes like some of the others I have used. If you are an experienced self-tanner like myself :), you know to always watch out for the elbow and knee area. Be sure to use a moisturizer before applying to these areas as they Will show up darker, almost giving a dirty appearance. Doesn't leave an orange tint and stays on quite well. But, like the other self tanners when you take a shower it starts to wear off, just be sure to scrub off what you can and use a moisturizer before reapplying self-tanner again. It does even out eventually. Self-tanners are tricky so only use after you moisturize and ALWAYS wash your hands after use. :D

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spoken4r
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Sunless Tanner Out There !
5/24/2010

Customer review by TANMAN916

5.0 stars 5/24/2010 by TANMAN916
by TANMAN916

Buy this product !, it gives you the best tan money can buy and for only eight buck's ! Forget the tanning salon, this is much cheaper and just as good ! Easy to apply and you can go as dark as you want ! If you buy it, get 2, it sells quickly for obivious reasons ! Coppertone is the best and only sunless tanner I will use ! and you'll look like you just got off the plane from Hawaii !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TANMAN916
Folsom,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
IT WORKS!!
10/10/2011

Customer review by turtle0924

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by turtle0924
by turtle0924

I bought this lotion only after I read the great reviews on here. I started using it on a Friday afternoon and by Sunday with only 1 application per day I had a nice tan! I am very satisfied with this product. It doesn't take long for it to dry and I put some on about 30 min before I went to bed and I didn't wake up orange :) Be careful tho with your feet and hands..mine aren't orange but I guess you have tan lines..like between your toes which isn't a bad look same has a tanning bed or laying out. Be sure to wash your hands after using. It doesn't stink like most sunless tanning lotions. My husband has noticed a difference in color and says I have a beautiful tan! :) Definitely will keep this around to use. Also, the color of the lotion is white not brown or an orange color. You can put it on your face and works just as good! No burning. Enjoy your Tan, I am!! :D

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turtle0924
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good self tanner
3/17/2012

Customer review by iAnonymousGirl

4.0 stars 3/17/2012 by iAnonymousGirl
by iAnonymousGirl

I usually don't post reviews ,but I had to!I've bought this product last week and couldn't wait to put it on to see how it looks,of course I put it a day where I didn't have to go anywhere that way I can test the color.IT TURNED OUT AMAZING!The color is great,not the best tho, if you apply too much I believe you could probably turn orangy...But I like using this on my face,I put it after washing my face at night and I go to sleep,the next morning I had color on my face, great for summer or winter since I become super white.Doesn't clog pores as said,I have a bit of acne and it didn't worsen it or wtv , and the color looks natural on the face.If your a beginner, totally try this, price is good,you get alot in that bottle trust me! Also,I noticed that the ingredients are not so chemical so it's great.You will need a few applications to get your desired color,since this is a GRADUAL TAN.I've been using self tanners for 1 year now,and this is one of my favorite ,mostly to put on the face :) I gave this 4 stars,because I hate the fact it's gradual.ALSO,it can take up to 4 hours to really see the color not so sure tho, but it dries quickly . Enjoy your tan!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iAnonymousGirl
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesnt look orange.
5/25/2014

Customer review by Julia55

4.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Julia55
by Julia55

I have used other self tanners in the past and stopped using them because I could never find one that didnt look fake and or orange. I was reading the reviews on the Coppertone Tanning and decided to give it a try. I am very happy with this product. Looks natural, and no ugly orange look. I would recommend while in the shower to exfoliate well first, then I put on my every day body lotion, I then put the Coppertone lotion on. Be careful in dryer areas like the bottom sides of feet and heals. Drys fast. Can reapply daily until desired shade. Doesnt fade much at all after the first couple of showers. You would want to reappy after day two and so on.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julia55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
beautiful glowing skin!
5/29/2010

Customer review by pinklegz

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by pinklegz
by pinklegz

i have only used this product a couple of times and i thought that it was very worth the price. it has a great smell, unlike other self-tanners and it creates beautiful glowing skin even when used on fair skin tones. overall, i think that it is a great sunless tanner!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinklegz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5 Star for coppertone gradual tan
7/14/2011

Customer review by MyNameIsMely

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by MyNameIsMely
by MyNameIsMely

I have tried a few gradual tanners & they always made me look pretty orange. I'm not quite pasty white, but I'm close. This worked really well. I found that I do turn a little orange-ish if I put the lotion on before bed & sleep with it on. However, if I put it on & shower about 4 hours later, I don't turn orange at all & I look nicely tan after 3 days! The smell is nice at first, but after a couple hours it started making me nauseous. It's not a bad smell, but it becomes strong and annoying. My husband never minds the smell, he says it never smells bad to him. I guess it's just preference. Over all, I would recommend this lotion. It's the best I've found so far!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyNameIsMely
Lompoc, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
For Extremly Pale Only
5/14/2014

Customer review by kp991820

2.0 stars 5/14/2014 by kp991820
by kp991820

I am a pretty pale person and this does almost nothing on my skin, after almost two weeks of daily use. So Im guessing it might be okay for someone who has never used a tanner before, ever...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kp991820
Would recommend to a friend? No
Keep Coming back to this tanner
6/30/2014

Customer review by Grant870

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Grant870
by Grant870

I'm a naturally pale person who does not tan even when I get some sun. I've tried many tanning products over the years with usually mediocre results. I rarely re-purchase a self-tanner. Coppertone Gradual Tan is the one self-tanner I keep buying. The color is natural on me (not orange, not yellow), it's easy to use, builds up nice, gradual color (but doesn't take too long - I get noticeable color in a couple of applications). It's fool-proof, doesn't streak, mild smell, inexpensive and just generally works. Unfortunately it's getting harder to find so I hope they don't discontinue it. Thanks to Walmart for carrying it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grant870
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent product
3/16/2014

Customer review by haidywi

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by haidywi
by haidywi

this is the best product in the market, I love it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haidywi
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2 applications in
4/21/2014

Customer review by Notsopalenow

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by Notsopalenow
by Notsopalenow

And I am nice and dark now! After just two applications, this turned my porcelain white legs nice and dark. I also used it on my face. One application was enough for my face because one application is very subtle but gives a nice glow. Two applications and it's very dark. Go very easy on knees, heels, and tops of your feet. After about 8-10 hours after applications you will get darker and darker and darker...so I for sure would not apply more than once per day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notsopalenow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Self Tanning Lotion I have Come Across !!!!
5/25/2014

Customer review by oxjlynnxo

4.0 stars 5/25/2014 by oxjlynnxo
by oxjlynnxo

I have some what pale skin. My face, chest and upper back usually tan all of the time outside, while other places don't. My legs NEVER tan no matter what I do. I am not a big fan of the tanning bed. I feel like it is like paying for Skin Cancer. However, I always go once or twice to get a good burn since that is the ONLY way I ever tan. Once I have burned badly, I tan good after that just being outside. However, even in the tanning bed, I still have those issues with some areas tanning and some not. I use self tanning lotions after 1-2 trips to the tanning bed and have had a love hate relationship with them. I have tried a few products, which usually left me super stinky, streaking, or orange. Yes, I looked like I lost a fight with a crayola marker! Then I came online and read the reviews for this product and I was very impressed. Not a single bad review out of all the pages. So I thought I would give it a shot. I bought it early this afternoon, and applied it around 4pm. I did chores around the house, and forgot about it as I dozed off on the couch around 8pm-9:30om. I got up and went to look and I already seen results. I had a natural glowing tan that I didn't think was possible from a lotion!!! I hopped in the shower not long after and applied the second coat afterwards. I am very impressed! I did not apply to my face because it is already super tan, I just applied from my neck down. Pros: -Normal lotion color in bottle, which I like because I hate bronzer. -Smells pretty good, like regular lotion -Doesn't streak -Doesn't turn you orange Cons: -After setting a long time it does give off a bit of a "burnt" smell but it does not last long -When showering it does feel slimy, so make sure to wash your body well! I only gave this 4 stars only because of the occasional burnt smell. Other than that I am extremely happy that I have finally found my self tanning lotion!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oxjlynnxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Delightfully Surprised!
10/7/2012

Customer review by Sassylv80

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Sassylv80
by Sassylv80

This product definitely exceeded my expectations and I was skeptic even with good reviews. I'm naturally a pasty pale color and always burn in the sun with no tan. I now use it every couple days now and it has boosted my self esteem and doesn't look orange like others I've tried. Just make sure you rub a generous amount and rub in really well, and apply waaay lighter amounts on ankles, knee caps, toes, etc.. You'll see the difference over night but gets darker by the 2nd day. Very affordable as well. I dont even have to try any others I love it so much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassylv80
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No streaks.
12/5/2013

Customer review by Scotchtape21

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Scotchtape21
by Scotchtape21

This product moisturises your dry skins and does not settle in the dry skin lines creating streak like stains. Colors evenly. I simply live it. I had a bottle for 4 years and started using it again and now I use this product weekly. Bought 3 bottles.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scotchtape21
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/28/2012

Customer review by StayBeautifulism

2.0 stars 3/28/2012 by StayBeautifulism
by StayBeautifulism

Oh my goodness. I am a very fair skinned person and I didn't want to look like casper during the summer so I thought that I would get my "tan" on. This worked perfectly during the first 4 days. I got BROWN. And since I was so brown, I stopped using it. After the first day of not using it, I had white and tan patches all over my body. Even when I followed all the instructions on the bottle I still had the patches. I know i'm probably the only disclaimer here but I PERSONALLY hated it. Thanks for my "tan"(:

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StayBeautifulism
Jackson, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Use it like a moisturizer!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Sunny

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Sunny
by Sunny

This is a fantastic product. Goes on just like a moisturizer. I had no streaking at all and no orange color. Nice and brown...just like being in sun. Love it and have been looking everywhere for it. Could not remember where I first purchased it so I am ordering online.

Sunny
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews