Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 62 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 58 reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
First time sunless tanning.
5/14/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this product with the intent of using them on my legs because there is a huge difference in color from my lower body to my upper body, which is really not cute! As soon as I opened the bottle, I was kind of skeptical because the lotion is white in color & from what I've seen sunless tanning lotion is usually orange or brown in color. It doesn't take long to dry and is a bit hard to tell if you've applied evenly because its like regular lotion but it works great. I woke up this morning and my legs are definitely a bit tanner. I just took a look at my hands and I assume I didn't wash my hands well enough because there is a bit of color. Nonetheless, I'd buy this product because its worth the price. 9oz for a little less than 8 dollars at my location compared to getting 5 or 7 oz of product for $5-7 dollars. Yes, I'm a cautious bargain shopper (= Overall, its great for begginners and I do plan on continuing to use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
IT WORKS!!
10/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this lotion only after I read the great reviews on here. I started using it on a Friday afternoon and by Sunday with only 1 application per day I had a nice tan! I am very satisfied with this product. It doesn't take long for it to dry and I put some on about 30 min before I went to bed and I didn't wake up orange :) Be careful tho with your feet and hands..mine aren't orange but I guess you have tan lines..like between your toes which isn't a bad look same has a tanning bed or laying out. Be sure to wash your hands after using. It doesn't stink like most sunless tanning lotions. My husband has noticed a difference in color and says I have a beautiful tan! :) Definitely will keep this around to use. Also, the color of the lotion is white not brown or an orange color. You can put it on your face and works just as good! No burning. Enjoy your Tan, I am!! :D
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesnt look orange.
5/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used other self tanners in the past and stopped using them because I could never find one that didnt look fake and or orange. I was reading the reviews on the Coppertone Tanning and decided to give it a try. I am very happy with this product. Looks natural, and no ugly orange look. I would recommend while in the shower to exfoliate well first, then I put on my every day body lotion, I then put the Coppertone lotion on. Be careful in dryer areas like the bottom sides of feet and heals. Drys fast. Can reapply daily until desired shade. Doesnt fade much at all after the first couple of showers. You would want to reappy after day two and so on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great color
5/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried almost every product out there for a sunless tanned look and this one is the best! Not only does it give you great natural looking color quickly on fair skin, but it doesn't sting your face or eyes. Most of the products I've tried sting or burn if they get anywhere near your eyes. This product's great for sensitive skin. I can put it on all over my face with no stinging or burning. Thanks, Coppertone! Please continue to carry this product @ walmart. It is hard to find.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it, Love it
5/21/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lotion is wonderful. It goes on smoothly, just like your regular moisturizer. Plus, it has a great fragrance. I am very fair-skinned, and the color looks healthy and natural. I can look very tan after only a few days. Walmart, please keep carrying this lotion; it's my healthy-skin, summer secret! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (75)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best out there for fair skin
4/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried several sunless tanning products and they all make me look orange and look fake. Not this, it is amazing. It looks totally natural! I love it, Walmart is the only place in town I can find it. Please Walmart keep this item on your shelves!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good self tanner
3/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I usually don't post reviews ,but I had to!I've bought this product last week and couldn't wait to put it on to see how it looks,of course I put it a day where I didn't have to go anywhere that way I can test the color.IT TURNED OUT AMAZING!The color is great,not the best tho, if you apply too much I believe you could probably turn orangy...But I like using this on my face,I put it after washing my face at night and I go to sleep,the next morning I had color on my face, great for summer or winter since I become super white.Doesn't clog pores as said,I have a bit of acne and it didn't worsen it or wtv , and the color looks natural on the face.If your a beginner, totally try this, price is good,you get alot in that bottle trust me! Also,I noticed that the ingredients are not so chemical so it's great.You will need a few applications to get your desired color,since this is a GRADUAL TAN.I've been using self tanners for 1 year now,and this is one of my favorite ,mostly to put on the face :) I gave this 4 stars,because I hate the fact it's gradual.ALSO,it can take up to 4 hours to really see the color not so sure tho, but it dries quickly . Enjoy your tan!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice for fair-skinned people
3/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am pretty fair. In order to get any color, I have to be outside for quite a long time and quite often. When I was younger, I might have thought that was worth the risk, but now that I am older and wiser :-), not so much. This product provides a pretty natural light brown color; it does not have that orange tint some products do (although most of the products now don't), and it does not stink. You do have to make sure that you rub it on your body well and evenly to avoid streaking. I think it is better to apply a smaller amount daily as oppose to a large amount. In about 2 weeks, you will see a darker shade. I think it looks more natural than if you add larger amounts in a shorter period. After reaching the desired shade, use less often and use a lesser amount depending on how often you shower or swim. Use judgment: apply more when need; less when don't. Make sure it dries completely before putting on clothes. If it does stain clothes, it's probably temporary. The stains will wash out (at least I have not had any problems). Lastly, the product is not as expensive as a professional tan spray. No, it is not quite as effective, but looks pretty nice if used with care.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great pick-me-up for winter blahs
12/23/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is like every other self tanner except that I have found that it doesn't run when you get wet or wash dishes like some of the others I have used. If you are an experienced self-tanner like myself :), you know to always watch out for the elbow and knee area. Be sure to use a moisturizer before applying to these areas as they Will show up darker, almost giving a dirty appearance. Doesn't leave an orange tint and stays on quite well. But, like the other self tanners when you take a shower it starts to wear off, just be sure to scrub off what you can and use a moisturizer before reapplying self-tanner again. It does even out eventually. Self-tanners are tricky so only use after you moisturize and ALWAYS wash your hands after use. :D
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love Love Love Love this sunless tanning lotion
4/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have fair skin. I got this because I have a hard time getting my legs to tan. I now use it on other parts of my body. No orange look just a natural looking tan. I get nice compliments from so many people saying you have such a nice dark tan. I smile. I love my tan in a bottle!!! The low price even makes it better. Now all that needs to be done is higher number of this product stocked. Sells out fast!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5 Star for coppertone gradual tan
7/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried a few gradual tanners & they always made me look pretty orange. I'm not quite pasty white, but I'm close. This worked really well. I found that I do turn a little orange-ish if I put the lotion on before bed & sleep with it on. However, if I put it on & shower about 4 hours later, I don't turn orange at all & I look nicely tan after 3 days! The smell is nice at first, but after a couple hours it started making me nauseous. It's not a bad smell, but it becomes strong and annoying. My husband never minds the smell, he says it never smells bad to him. I guess it's just preference. Over all, I would recommend this lotion. It's the best I've found so far!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Sunless Tanner Out There !
5/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Buy this product !, it gives you the best tan money can buy and for only eight buck's ! Forget the tanning salon, this is much cheaper and just as good ! Easy to apply and you can go as dark as you want ! If you buy it, get 2, it sells quickly for obivious reasons ! Coppertone is the best and only sunless tanner I will use ! and you'll look like you just got off the plane from Hawaii !!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Keep Coming back to this tanner
6/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a naturally pale person who does not tan even when I get some sun. I've tried many tanning products over the years with usually mediocre results. I rarely re-purchase a self-tanner. Coppertone Gradual Tan is the one self-tanner I keep buying. The color is natural on me (not orange, not yellow), it's easy to use, builds up nice, gradual color (but doesn't take too long - I get noticeable color in a couple of applications). It's fool-proof, doesn't streak, mild smell, inexpensive and just generally works. Unfortunately it's getting harder to find so I hope they don't discontinue it. Thanks to Walmart for carrying it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
beautiful glowing skin!
5/29/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i have only used this product a couple of times and i thought that it was very worth the price. it has a great smell, unlike other self-tanners and it creates beautiful glowing skin even when used on fair skin tones. overall, i think that it is a great sunless tanner!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really, really, really like this lotion!
5/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really, really, really like this sunless tanner!!! I am a fair skin red head, so the sun is not my friend. This lotion gives me just a touch of color and looks very natural. It rubs in really well, it's not greasy, and goes on evenly. It soaks in well and has a pleasant scent. When I first start using it for the season, I use it every day for 4 days, then every other day (alternating with my other daily lotion) for the entire summer to keep a natural looking glow on my skin. It's doesn't stain my clothes either.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best lotion ever
3/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best lotion ever! It makes my skin feel good and gives me a gradual tanned look. It is not orange , my arms tan fast but my legs dont so I only use on legs to keep it even. I have tried a lot of lotions and this is the best by far. Unfortunately Wal Mart stopped carrying it..I wonder why?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only sunless product that worked for me!
6/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is great for someone who just doesn't seem to tan even when outdoors a lot. I put this one every night after showering and it just creates a soft glow that gets darker with continued use. Never streaks or looks orange. Pity Walmart can't carry in their stores...they used to, but now you must purchase online. Will look elsewhere for the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2 applications in
4/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
And I am nice and dark now! After just two applications, this turned my porcelain white legs nice and dark. I also used it on my face. One application was enough for my face because one application is very subtle but gives a nice glow. Two applications and it's very dark. Go very easy on knees, heels, and tops of your feet. After about 8-10 hours after applications you will get darker and darker and darker...so I for sure would not apply more than once per day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For Extremly Pale Only
5/14/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a pretty pale person and this does almost nothing on my skin, after almost two weeks of daily use. So Im guessing it might be okay for someone who has never used a tanner before, ever...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Self Tanning Lotion I have Come Across !!!!
5/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have some what pale skin. My face, chest and upper back usually tan all of the time outside, while other places don't. My legs NEVER tan no matter what I do. I am not a big fan of the tanning bed. I feel like it is like paying for Skin Cancer. However, I always go once or twice to get a good burn since that is the ONLY way I ever tan. Once I have burned badly, I tan good after that just being outside. However, even in the tanning bed, I still have those issues with some areas tanning and some not. I use self tanning lotions after 1-2 trips to the tanning bed and have had a love hate relationship with them. I have tried a few products, which usually left me super stinky, streaking, or orange. Yes, I looked like I lost a fight with a crayola marker! Then I came online and read the reviews for this product and I was very impressed. Not a single bad review out of all the pages. So I thought I would give it a shot. I bought it early this afternoon, and applied it around 4pm. I did chores around the house, and forgot about it as I dozed off on the couch around 8pm-9:30om. I got up and went to look and I already seen results. I had a natural glowing tan that I didn't think was possible from a lotion!!! I hopped in the shower not long after and applied the second coat afterwards. I am very impressed! I did not apply to my face because it is already super tan, I just applied from my neck down. Pros: -Normal lotion color in bottle, which I like because I hate bronzer. -Smells pretty good, like regular lotion -Doesn't streak -Doesn't turn you orange Cons: -After setting a long time it does give off a bit of a "burnt" smell but it does not last long -When showering it does feel slimy, so make sure to wash your body well! I only gave this 4 stars only because of the occasional burnt smell. Other than that I am extremely happy that I have finally found my self tanning lotion!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642858, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-