Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 76 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
First time sunless tanning.
5/14/2010

Customer review by CautiousAlways

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by CautiousAlways
by CautiousAlways

I just bought this product with the intent of using them on my legs because there is a huge difference in color from my lower body to my upper body, which is really not cute! As soon as I opened the bottle, I was kind of skeptical because the lotion is white in color & from what I've seen sunless tanning lotion is usually orange or brown in color. It doesn't take long to dry and is a bit hard to tell if you've applied evenly because its like regular lotion but it works great. I woke up this morning and my legs are definitely a bit tanner. I just took a look at my hands and I assume I didn't wash my hands well enough because there is a bit of color. Nonetheless, I'd buy this product because its worth the price. 9oz for a little less than 8 dollars at my location compared to getting 5 or 7 oz of product for $5-7 dollars. Yes, I'm a cautious bargain shopper (= Overall, its great for begginners and I do plan on continuing to use it.

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousAlways
LA County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Love Love Love Love this sunless tanning lotion
4/25/2017

Customer review by Prtyeyes

5.0 stars 4/25/2017 by Prtyeyes
by Prtyeyes

I have fair skin. I got this because I have a hard time getting my legs to tan. I now use it on other parts of my body. No orange look just a natural looking tan. I get nice compliments from so many people saying you have such a nice dark tan. I smile. I love my tan in a bottle!!! The low price even makes it better. Now all that needs to be done is higher number of this product stocked. Sells out fast!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prtyeyes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IT WORKS!!
10/10/2011

Customer review by turtle0924

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by turtle0924
by turtle0924

I bought this lotion only after I read the great reviews on here. I started using it on a Friday afternoon and by Sunday with only 1 application per day I had a nice tan! I am very satisfied with this product. It doesn't take long for it to dry and I put some on about 30 min before I went to bed and I didn't wake up orange :) Be careful tho with your feet and hands..mine aren't orange but I guess you have tan lines..like between your toes which isn't a bad look same has a tanning bed or laying out. Be sure to wash your hands after using. It doesn't stink like most sunless tanning lotions. My husband has noticed a difference in color and says I have a beautiful tan! :) Definitely will keep this around to use. Also, the color of the lotion is white not brown or an orange color. You can put it on your face and works just as good! No burning. Enjoy your Tan, I am!! :D

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turtle0924
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Doesnt look orange.
5/25/2014

Customer review by Julia55

4.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Julia55
by Julia55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used other self tanners in the past and stopped using them because I could never find one that didnt look fake and or orange. I was reading the reviews on the Coppertone Tanning and decided to give it a try. I am very happy with this product. Looks natural, and no ugly orange look. I would recommend while in the shower to exfoliate well first, then I put on my every day body lotion, I then put the Coppertone lotion on. Be careful in dryer areas like the bottom sides of feet and heals. Drys fast. Can reapply daily until desired shade. Doesnt fade much at all after the first couple of showers. You would want to reappy after day two and so on.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julia55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, Love it
5/21/2009

Customer review by Coastalbeauty

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by Coastalbeauty
by Coastalbeauty

This lotion is wonderful. It goes on smoothly, just like your regular moisturizer. Plus, it has a great fragrance. I am very fair-skinned, and the color looks healthy and natural. I can look very tan after only a few days. Walmart, please keep carrying this lotion; it's my healthy-skin, summer secret! :)

Was this review helpful? (73) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coastalbeauty
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
great color
5/28/2009

Customer review by supersunny

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by supersunny
by supersunny

I have tried almost every product out there for a sunless tanned look and this one is the best! Not only does it give you great natural looking color quickly on fair skin, but it doesn't sting your face or eyes. Most of the products I've tried sting or burn if they get anywhere near your eyes. This product's great for sensitive skin. I can put it on all over my face with no stinging or burning. Thanks, Coppertone! Please continue to carry this product @ walmart. It is hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (53) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supersunny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Best out there for fair skin
4/21/2010

Customer review by Praiser

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by Praiser
by Praiser

I have tried several sunless tanning products and they all make me look orange and look fake. Not this, it is amazing. It looks totally natural! I love it, Walmart is the only place in town I can find it. Please Walmart keep this item on your shelves!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Praiser
Blair, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Nice for fair-skinned people
3/11/2016

Customer review by Elmack

5.0 stars 3/11/2016 by Elmack
by Elmack

I am pretty fair. In order to get any color, I have to be outside for quite a long time and quite often. When I was younger, I might have thought that was worth the risk, but now that I am older and wiser :-), not so much. This product provides a pretty natural light brown color; it does not have that orange tint some products do (although most of the products now don't), and it does not stink. You do have to make sure that you rub it on your body well and evenly to avoid streaking. I think it is better to apply a smaller amount daily as oppose to a large amount. In about 2 weeks, you will see a darker shade. I think it looks more natural than if you add larger amounts in a shorter period. After reaching the desired shade, use less often and use a lesser amount depending on how often you shower or swim. Use judgment: apply more when need; less when don't. Make sure it dries completely before putting on clothes. If it does stain clothes, it's probably temporary. The stains will wash out (at least I have not had any problems). Lastly, the product is not as expensive as a professional tan spray. No, it is not quite as effective, but looks pretty nice if used with care.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elmack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pick-me-up for winter blahs
12/23/2013

Customer review by Spoken4r

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Spoken4r
by Spoken4r
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is like every other self tanner except that I have found that it doesn't run when you get wet or wash dishes like some of the others I have used. If you are an experienced self-tanner like myself :), you know to always watch out for the elbow and knee area. Be sure to use a moisturizer before applying to these areas as they Will show up darker, almost giving a dirty appearance. Doesn't leave an orange tint and stays on quite well. But, like the other self tanners when you take a shower it starts to wear off, just be sure to scrub off what you can and use a moisturizer before reapplying self-tanner again. It does even out eventually. Self-tanners are tricky so only use after you moisturize and ALWAYS wash your hands after use. :D

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spoken4r
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good self tanner
3/17/2012

Customer review by iAnonymousGirl

4.0 stars 3/17/2012 by iAnonymousGirl
by iAnonymousGirl

I usually don't post reviews ,but I had to!I've bought this product last week and couldn't wait to put it on to see how it looks,of course I put it a day where I didn't have to go anywhere that way I can test the color.IT TURNED OUT AMAZING!The color is great,not the best tho, if you apply too much I believe you could probably turn orangy...But I like using this on my face,I put it after washing my face at night and I go to sleep,the next morning I had color on my face, great for summer or winter since I become super white.Doesn't clog pores as said,I have a bit of acne and it didn't worsen it or wtv , and the color looks natural on the face.If your a beginner, totally try this, price is good,you get alot in that bottle trust me! Also,I noticed that the ingredients are not so chemical so it's great.You will need a few applications to get your desired color,since this is a GRADUAL TAN.I've been using self tanners for 1 year now,and this is one of my favorite ,mostly to put on the face :) I gave this 4 stars,because I hate the fact it's gradual.ALSO,it can take up to 4 hours to really see the color not so sure tho, but it dries quickly . Enjoy your tan!

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iAnonymousGirl
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
5 Star for coppertone gradual tan
7/14/2011

Customer review by MyNameIsMely

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by MyNameIsMely
by MyNameIsMely

I have tried a few gradual tanners & they always made me look pretty orange. I'm not quite pasty white, but I'm close. This worked really well. I found that I do turn a little orange-ish if I put the lotion on before bed & sleep with it on. However, if I put it on & shower about 4 hours later, I don't turn orange at all & I look nicely tan after 3 days! The smell is nice at first, but after a couple hours it started making me nauseous. It's not a bad smell, but it becomes strong and annoying. My husband never minds the smell, he says it never smells bad to him. I guess it's just preference. Over all, I would recommend this lotion. It's the best I've found so far!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyNameIsMely
Lompoc, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Best Sunless Tanner Out There !
5/24/2010

Customer review by TANMAN916

5.0 stars 5/24/2010 by TANMAN916
by TANMAN916

Buy this product !, it gives you the best tan money can buy and for only eight buck's ! Forget the tanning salon, this is much cheaper and just as good ! Easy to apply and you can go as dark as you want ! If you buy it, get 2, it sells quickly for obivious reasons ! Coppertone is the best and only sunless tanner I will use ! and you'll look like you just got off the plane from Hawaii !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TANMAN916
Folsom,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Keep Coming back to this tanner
6/30/2014

Customer review by Grant870

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Grant870
by Grant870
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a naturally pale person who does not tan even when I get some sun. I've tried many tanning products over the years with usually mediocre results. I rarely re-purchase a self-tanner. Coppertone Gradual Tan is the one self-tanner I keep buying. The color is natural on me (not orange, not yellow), it's easy to use, builds up nice, gradual color (but doesn't take too long - I get noticeable color in a couple of applications). It's fool-proof, doesn't streak, mild smell, inexpensive and just generally works. Unfortunately it's getting harder to find so I hope they don't discontinue it. Thanks to Walmart for carrying it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grant870
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
beautiful glowing skin!
5/29/2010

Customer review by pinklegz

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by pinklegz
by pinklegz

i have only used this product a couple of times and i thought that it was very worth the price. it has a great smell, unlike other self-tanners and it creates beautiful glowing skin even when used on fair skin tones. overall, i think that it is a great sunless tanner!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pinklegz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Really, really, really like this lotion!
5/23/2016

Customer review by CarouselMom

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by CarouselMom
by CarouselMom

I really, really, really like this sunless tanner!!! I am a fair skin red head, so the sun is not my friend. This lotion gives me just a touch of color and looks very natural. It rubs in really well, it's not greasy, and goes on evenly. It soaks in well and has a pleasant scent. When I first start using it for the season, I use it every day for 4 days, then every other day (alternating with my other daily lotion) for the entire summer to keep a natural looking glow on my skin. It's doesn't stain my clothes either.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarouselMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lotion ever
3/18/2016

Customer review by jamspam

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by jamspam
by jamspam

This is the best lotion ever! It makes my skin feel good and gives me a gradual tanned look. It is not orange , my arms tan fast but my legs dont so I only use on legs to keep it even. I have tried a lot of lotions and this is the best by far. Unfortunately Wal Mart stopped carrying it..I wonder why?

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamspam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Suntan 365 days a year
1/1/2017

Customer review by Becky

5.0 stars 1/1/2017 by Becky
by Becky

This product is great and very natural looking when used every 2-3 days

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Becky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only sunless product that worked for me!
6/9/2016

Customer review by Raindance

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Raindance
by Raindance
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is great for someone who just doesn't seem to tan even when outdoors a lot. I put this one every night after showering and it just creates a soft glow that gets darker with continued use. Never streaks or looks orange. Pity Walmart can't carry in their stores...they used to, but now you must purchase online. Will look elsewhere for the product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raindance
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love the look
6/6/2016

Customer review by Marski55

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Marski55
by Marski55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product goes on and dries quickly and I have never had streaks. Love that it doesn't have a strong scent too. Try it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marski55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
tanning lotion review
2/7/2017

Customer review by 4wheeler

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by 4wheeler
by 4wheeler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I really like this lotion because you can get some "tan" after you put it on. I suggest you have someone help you put it on so you don't miss any spots. I feel that once you start putting it on daily you can do it by yourself. Any big spots you missed you will "feel". Now the bad part. I went to my WalMart and noticed that they didn't have any in stock so I would need to order more online or shop elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4wheeler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews