Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 94 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
4/19/2009

Customer review by shop4sunnygirl

5.0 stars 4/19/2009 by shop4sunnygirl
by shop4sunnygirl

This is a excellent leave in for naturally curly hair I use this product daily on my naturally curly hair. It gives excellent shine and curl definition this a good product for people who do not like to use gels to define their curls.

Was this review helpful? (160) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shop4sunnygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NATURAL HAIR LADIES ITS AMAZING!!!
4/18/2012

Customer review by OfficiallySmilez

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by OfficiallySmilez
by OfficiallySmilez

I love this. I was skeptical because Im very cautious of what I put in my hair... I must say, as a woman with Natual (no chemicals) hair, this product is awesome. Conditions my hair very thorough as softens it tremendously. Smells reallllllyyyy nice. The only thing I had to do was add my essential oils for my hair to this and that was the topping on the cake!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OfficiallySmilez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Great for wash n go
5/1/2012

Customer review by mochabrown

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by mochabrown
by mochabrown

Great everyday conditioner! I have been natural for a year now and decided to purchase this as a leave in. I have 3c/4A hair and when it is not moisturized, it normally gets, dry, puffy and frizzy. My hair thick and is a little past my shoulders when I wear it curly. Cantu Conditioning Shea ButterCream leaves my curls moisturized, soft, shiny and manageable. While I am in the shower, I apply this product, starting from the back of head and work my way to the front. It's easier if you section off your hair and apply. This Cantu conditioning Shea Butter Cream keeps my hair frizz free and soft all day. It also detangles and defines my curls wonderfully~ It smells great too! One thing I learned the first time while using this product is that if you use too much, It can leave product on your hair. All I do to get rid of it is wet it with a spray bottle and that takes care or that! I am very satisfied and glad I found this conditioner. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (62) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mochabrown
Great for loose textured curls....but NOT my 4abc
1/28/2014

Customer review by NaturallyCoilykinky

3.0 stars 1/28/2014 by NaturallyCoilykinky
by NaturallyCoilykinky

For MY HAIR, it was a great ova nite treatment for me I will give it that, BUT it was not pleasing for a leave-in conditioner on my hair. It didn't matter of a lot or a little of how much I used. When it dried in my hair in whatever style i did from protective styles, to mini twists, to twist out it left my hair feeling all the same which was dry with a think, sticky film feeling......i tried it by itself, i tried it with a sealing oil, i tried it with a butter sealant, i tried it actually mixing it with aloe vera gel and coconut oil, and i actually tried it using the kimmaytube ph balancing recipe, and all failed so this product did not work for MY HAIR as a leave-in only an over nite treatment.....i use it for a while in all i bought 2 jars to give it a fair try so its not like i bought it and used 1 application of it, no not the case i used for some months. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaturallyCoilykinky
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The only thing that works
5/8/2010

Customer review by chicagodallasgirl

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by chicagodallasgirl
by chicagodallasgirl

Other than pure, creamy shea butter this product is the ONLY thing that moisturizes and defines my natural curls. Even my husband noticed! My hair is what some may refer to as 4b/c-ish, curly-coily, thick and cottony. I've spent more money than I cared to on two popular "natural" product lines manufactured in New York and after all that calling, ordering, shipping and receiving, Cantu is readily available at local stores. And, it works!

Was this review helpful? (82) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chicagodallasgirl
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be careful when mixing with other products!!
3/5/2016

Customer review by Chachafance

4.0 stars 3/5/2016 by Chachafance
by Chachafance

This is a pretty good leave-in conditioner - very thick. I was using it way back when I was relaxing my hair and even now, with my hair being natural. It has worked pretty way to conditioner my hair and leave it soft. It's not a top choice, but if I couldn't find one of my top choices, I'd go with this. Sadly, it doesn't mix well with many other products (especially oils), so be careful! You'll want to do the hand test first (mix a little of this product and the other product you want to use in your hand and see what happens). There have been many times where I've applied an oil with this and ended up with white flakes throughout my hair - not good!! That also goes for mixing with other products during the week once your hair has dried. If you use gel during the week, be careful because you'll likely get a lot of buildup and it happens pretty quickly! You'll have white flakes that look like dandruff. You get a huge jar that lasts some time. It usually lasts me months considering I only wash my hair 2 - 3 times a month.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chachafance
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural hair
2/12/2017

Customer review by Natural

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Natural
by Natural
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great production hair is soft and manageable

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natural
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a nice surprise
4/3/2012

Customer review by Alamira

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Alamira
by Alamira
Top 1000 contributor

I never had heard of this brand. But, my hair was badly damaged, from coloring, blow drying, and dandruff shampoo. I was even loosing hair on the top of my head. The hairdresser tried to gently tell me that I was doing a number on my hair. She suggested that I forgo shampooing with dandruff shampoo everyday. And, on the days, I didn't shampoo, apply a leave-in conditioner. My scalp was itching, and had some break outs. Yeck. I was using leave-in conditioner. What next? I saw that this leave-in, contained shea butter. My research told me that shea butter in pure form is great for hair and skin. So, I decided to give it a try. And, it works great. There is a learning curve, on how much to use. Have patience, because, it does pay off.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alamira
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Works well...but the ingredients...
12/31/2013

Customer review by DonnaDeee

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by DonnaDeee
by DonnaDeee

Since becoming pregnant, I've noticed that my hair has been much drier-leading to some breakage. I tried this product today after receiving it, and it worked really well in my hair, both the relaxed, and natural parts. My hair just really took this in. I applied it to sections, then, added olive oil to seal in the moisture. NOW, I have reviewed the ingredients in this product, and they aren't the same as what is on the website. One thing that bothers me is the fact this does have mineral oil in it. It's like on the ninth line of the list of ingredients, so there is probably a small amount of it. This does not contain lanolin though, which is good. The fact there is mineral oil in this product made me take off points for the overall rating.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonnaDeee
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/19/2009

Customer review by fpe2375

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by fpe2375
by fpe2375

I agree with the sista above. I have been using this product on my hair for over a year and it is great! My hair is also natural, and this basically is all I use.

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fpe2375
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply Fabulous
10/23/2009

Customer review by DymondDiva05

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by DymondDiva05
by DymondDiva05

I love this product. I wear locs & they can get very dry. I have tried many different products. Some make my hair soft for a minute, but after a while they become more brittle than before. This product has kept my hair unbelievably soft & smelling great!! There is no build-up or greasy feeling. And it does not get absorbed in my pillow at night. I love this product & will try the other Cantu products.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DymondDiva05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/31/2011

Customer review by MrsM2b

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by MrsM2b
by MrsM2b
Top 1000 contributor

This product also works on caucasian hair. My hair is naturally curly and of course, dry. This conditioning cream has made my hair softer and more managable.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsM2b
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Leaves hair feeling soft & mositurized
9/30/2016

Customer review by Ziggy4

5.0 stars 9/30/2016 by Ziggy4
by Ziggy4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate

I have used Cantu Shea Butter in the past and stop using it tried a different leave in conditioner but it did not give me the same results as Cantu. This leave in conditioner is very light and non greasy, leaving your hair moisturized without a heavy build up. I would definitely recommend this product for those with dry and coarse hair.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ziggy4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
Great product for damaged ends.
2/2/2013

Customer review by Ellabear

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by Ellabear
by Ellabear

I love this product! I have Caucasian hair that is just naturally dry. My hair isn't extremely curly just normal wavy hair but my split ends were so bad I didn't know what to do. This product is a fix all. I keep telling all my friends about it because it's amazing! It doesn't leave your hair greasy and it drys right in. It also smells lovely.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ellabear
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful for Natural
9/3/2009

Customer review by NaturalBeing

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by NaturalBeing
by NaturalBeing

I've used this product for 3 months and it's been great! I even use it on my daughter who has relaxed hair.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaturalBeing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This keeps my natural hair well conditioned
1/7/2017

Customer review by Dk2576

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Dk2576
by Dk2576
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For some reason I could not find this product for a while. It made my hair sad. This works better on my hair than the one for natural hair. Love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dk2576
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work for me!
1/2/2013

Customer review by CurlyMidwesternGirl

2.0 stars 1/2/2013 by CurlyMidwesternGirl
by CurlyMidwesternGirl

This product is good when your looking to save money unlike "Shea Moisture"/"Mizani" products which are too expensive. I was looking for something to help soften my hair which is usually dry and frizzy around the edges. I thought I found the perfect inexpensive item in "Cantu" Shea Butter but it did nothing but stiffen my hair. I think coloring my hair prior to using "Cantu" ended up altering it's use. Maybe "Cantu" would've worked better if my hair wasn't color-treated. I only use this product as a conditioner then I rinse it out. I did however find something else which was "Motions" Shea Butter and honey hairdressing cream and it actually worked better for my hair and was cheaper in comparison to "Cantu".

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlyMidwesternGirl
Bellevue, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
MINERAL OIL !!!
4/20/2014

Customer review by mohottest

1.0 stars 4/20/2014 by mohottest
by mohottest

Cantu added Mineral oil to their Shea Butter Leave-in Conditioning Repair Cream product which is a big no-no for us Natural hair sisters! Everyone please be AWARE of product update. This product also leaves a chunks of residue all over my hair, even though I used a small amount... Natural HAIR 4C'S DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mohottest
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE THIS STUFF!!!
9/25/2012

Customer review by LawStudent16

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by LawStudent16
by LawStudent16

Let me start by saying that I have very thick, curly & frizzy hair. Most of the time my hair ends up in a ponytail because my hair gets too big with most products I have tried. This is the very first leave in I have found which keeps my hair tamed all day. The next day when I wake up my curls are still in tact with no friz. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. Maybe I will try their shampoo.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LawStudent16
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Healthy hair
7/18/2016

Customer review by Chin

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Chin
by Chin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keep your hair moisture, healthy and help growing

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews