Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 105 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 102 reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
4/19/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a excellent leave in for naturally curly hair I use this product daily on my naturally curly hair. It gives excellent shine and curl definition this a good product for people who do not like to use gels to define their curls.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (167)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NATURAL HAIR LADIES ITS AMAZING!!!
4/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this. I was skeptical because Im very cautious of what I put in my hair... I must say, as a woman with Natual (no chemicals) hair, this product is awesome. Conditions my hair very thorough as softens it tremendously. Smells reallllllyyyy nice. The only thing I had to do was add my essential oils for my hair to this and that was the topping on the cake!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I Love it
8/26/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like how that product works with my course hair. It's been a while I have natural hair and never find a product that works so well. It keeps my dry hair moisturized and easy to comb.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for wash n go
5/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great everyday conditioner! I have been natural for a year now and decided to purchase this as a leave in. I have 3c/4A hair and when it is not moisturized, it normally gets, dry, puffy and frizzy. My hair thick and is a little past my shoulders when I wear it curly. Cantu Conditioning Shea ButterCream leaves my curls moisturized, soft, shiny and manageable. While I am in the shower, I apply this product, starting from the back of head and work my way to the front. It's easier if you section off your hair and apply. This Cantu conditioning Shea Butter Cream keeps my hair frizz free and soft all day. It also detangles and defines my curls wonderfully~ It smells great too! One thing I learned the first time while using this product is that if you use too much, It can leave product on your hair. All I do to get rid of it is wet it with a spray bottle and that takes care or that! I am very satisfied and glad I found this conditioner. I would highly recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for loose textured curls....but NOT my 4abc
1/28/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For MY HAIR, it was a great ova nite treatment for me I will give it that, BUT it was not pleasing for a leave-in conditioner on my hair. It didn't matter of a lot or a little of how much I used. When it dried in my hair in whatever style i did from protective styles, to mini twists, to twist out it left my hair feeling all the same which was dry with a think, sticky film feeling......i tried it by itself, i tried it with a sealing oil, i tried it with a butter sealant, i tried it actually mixing it with aloe vera gel and coconut oil, and i actually tried it using the kimmaytube ph balancing recipe, and all failed so this product did not work for MY HAIR as a leave-in only an over nite treatment.....i use it for a while in all i bought 2 jars to give it a fair try so its not like i bought it and used 1 application of it, no not the case i used for some months. Thanks
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE!
3/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I went without using for silicones for 2.5 years and this was one of the first products I picked up. I have 3c, 4a hair and my hair loves this stuff. I love the way it smells! It's a "wet", slippery product - it moves around easily in the jar and you can feel the slipperiness when you rub it in between two fingers. I use this as a leave in for my fall/winter protective style which are twists worn in a bun w/ tucked ends. I reapply to my hair every day or every other day and my hair isn't weighed down nor does it get that nasty gunk build up. I HAVE GOTTEN ONE OF THE BEST WASH N GO'S USING THIS LEAVE IN under Eco. I couldn't believe how could my curls looked. It was up there with using KCKT and SM-CES. I own the huge 25oz jar w/ the pump! For the price and the amount you get, it's so worth it. The ingredients as a whole aren't that bad either when you really think about it .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Be careful when mixing with other products!!
3/5/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a pretty good leave-in conditioner - very thick. I was using it way back when I was relaxing my hair and even now, with my hair being natural. It has worked pretty way to conditioner my hair and leave it soft. It's not a top choice, but if I couldn't find one of my top choices, I'd go with this. Sadly, it doesn't mix well with many other products (especially oils), so be careful! You'll want to do the hand test first (mix a little of this product and the other product you want to use in your hand and see what happens). There have been many times where I've applied an oil with this and ended up with white flakes throughout my hair - not good!! That also goes for mixing with other products during the week once your hair has dried. If you use gel during the week, be careful because you'll likely get a lot of buildup and it happens pretty quickly! You'll have white flakes that look like dandruff. You get a huge jar that lasts some time. It usually lasts me months considering I only wash my hair 2 - 3 times a month.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The only thing that works
5/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Other than pure, creamy shea butter this product is the ONLY thing that moisturizes and defines my natural curls. Even my husband noticed! My hair is what some may refer to as 4b/c-ish, curly-coily, thick and cottony. I've spent more money than I cared to on two popular "natural" product lines manufactured in New York and after all that calling, ordering, shipping and receiving, Cantu is readily available at local stores. And, it works!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TooPicky
10/3/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the way it makes my hair feel and look.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
luv luv luv this product
6/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so happy I decided to try this product I am African American with natural curly colored treated hair and when I say this product keeps my dry hair moisturized I also purchased the define and shine custard and when I put these two products in my hair it has my wash n go hair bouncy moisturized and my curls are poppin. I highly recommend this product to the African American naturals you will not be disappointed. and the price is awesome as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well...but the ingredients...
12/31/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since becoming pregnant, I've noticed that my hair has been much drier-leading to some breakage. I tried this product today after receiving it, and it worked really well in my hair, both the relaxed, and natural parts. My hair just really took this in. I applied it to sections, then, added olive oil to seal in the moisture. NOW, I have reviewed the ingredients in this product, and they aren't the same as what is on the website. One thing that bothers me is the fact this does have mineral oil in it. It's like on the ninth line of the list of ingredients, so there is probably a small amount of it. This does not contain lanolin though, which is good. The fact there is mineral oil in this product made me take off points for the overall rating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simply Fabulous
10/23/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this product. I wear locs & they can get very dry. I have tried many different products. Some make my hair soft for a minute, but after a while they become more brittle than before. This product has kept my hair unbelievably soft & smelling great!! There is no build-up or greasy feeling. And it does not get absorbed in my pillow at night. I love this product & will try the other Cantu products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
8/19/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I agree with the sista above. I have been using this product on my hair for over a year and it is great! My hair is also natural, and this basically is all I use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a nice surprise
4/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I never had heard of this brand. But, my hair was badly damaged, from coloring, blow drying, and dandruff shampoo. I was even loosing hair on the top of my head. The hairdresser tried to gently tell me that I was doing a number on my hair. She suggested that I forgo shampooing with dandruff shampoo everyday. And, on the days, I didn't shampoo, apply a leave-in conditioner. My scalp was itching, and had some break outs. Yeck. I was using leave-in conditioner. What next? I saw that this leave-in, contained shea butter. My research told me that shea butter in pure form is great for hair and skin. So, I decided to give it a try. And, it works great. There is a learning curve, on how much to use. Have patience, because, it does pay off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
this is a miss
8/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
made my hair dry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't work for me!
1/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is good when your looking to save money unlike "Shea Moisture"/"Mizani" products which are too expensive. I was looking for something to help soften my hair which is usually dry and frizzy around the edges. I thought I found the perfect inexpensive item in "Cantu" Shea Butter but it did nothing but stiffen my hair. I think coloring my hair prior to using "Cantu" ended up altering it's use. Maybe "Cantu" would've worked better if my hair wasn't color-treated. I only use this product as a conditioner then I rinse it out. I did however find something else which was "Motions" Shea Butter and honey hairdressing cream and it actually worked better for my hair and was cheaper in comparison to "Cantu".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for damaged ends.
2/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this product! I have Caucasian hair that is just naturally dry. My hair isn't extremely curly just normal wavy hair but my split ends were so bad I didn't know what to do. This product is a fix all. I keep telling all my friends about it because it's amazing! It doesn't leave your hair greasy and it drys right in. It also smells lovely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
9/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this stuff. My hair is so soft and moisturized!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
This product also works on caucasian hair. My hair is naturally curly and of course, dry. This conditioning cream has made my hair softer and more managable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful for Natural
9/3/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this product for 3 months and it's been great! I even use it on my daughter who has relaxed hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640658, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-