Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.2out of 5 stars
2.2 out of 5 | 30 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
20
Sort by: 
1-20 of 30 reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Awful
1/11/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So gross and full of fat and tendons I gave it to the dog .. Never will buy again..would rate a 0
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not right
9/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the color is bad when frozen, and when cooked. thought i would give it the benefit of the doubt, but yuck! will not buy again ever.may take bag back and demand my money back. don't waste your time or money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Something is seriously wrong with this product
1/23/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Something is seriously wrong with this item. They used to taste like and look like chicken but now there is something definitely off. They have a horrid rubbery, raw type texture even when fully cooked. The taste of raw chicken permeates the meat even when you are positive (with a thermometer) that the chicken is cooked. Not sure what they are pumping this "chicken" full of but it is very nasty and I would not even feed it to my dogs. It went into the trash.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy the "fresh" instead.
3/10/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Because I was curious about shrinkage when cooking, I thawed one of these out, and weighed the chicken, without all the water from the ice coating on each piece. 2 pounds, 4 ounces. I looked in the bag again for the other 12 oz of chicken. Nope, not there. Apparently 3 pound bag does not mean 3 pounds of chicken. I bought this thinking it was less expensive than a pre-cooked product I had compared it to, and at 3 pounds of chicken per bag, it was. But not at 2 1/4 pounds. Today I went to the store for my usual groceries, and found a 5 pound tray of chicken breast for less, and it actually has 5 pounds of chicken. As a bonus, the pieces are all about the same size, which isn't going to happen with this frozen product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disgusting!
3/28/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What has happened? These are surely not chicken breast judging by all the dark meat and connective tissue. The quality used to be acceptable but something has happened to make it take a nose dive. I won't buy these anymore after having purchased them for years. Fifty percent winds up going to the dog. No bargain anymore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disgusting!
12/13/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Disgusting and rubbery. This meat seems to be pumped full of some awful flavoring that makes it taste raw no matter how long you cook it. There is also a huge amount of fat that you have to clean off the breast when preparing that takes a large amount of time. Will be returning to the store! This should not be legal to sell for human consumption, better suited to be pet food!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Discusting! I've never seen chicken like this.
9/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It was chewy, rubbery, tasteless, with something like cartilage in it. The texture was weird. I had to use a steak knife to cut it. I baked it in the oven the same way I always do and once it was done there must have been 2 cups of water in the pot! I didn't put water in. Complete waste of money. I'm never purchasing any food from Walmart again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rubbery consistency
3/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is terrible! Ive never had chicken breasts with this kinda of consistency. They feel like you are eating moist rubber. I even tried cooking them a few different ways but nope still gross in both texture and taste. Totally a waste of money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
horrible waste of money
10/28/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do not recommend this product to anyone. the fillet were very nice until we started cooking them. it looked like we were cooking a big pan of fat. it was so rubbery, then we tried to eat it. Couldn't get by the total saturation of salt. why wreck a perfectly natural product with tons of salt. so i tried to soak the salt out of it and fry it again. didn't work. what a waste of money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/20/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've enjoyed this product for years..They have changed it though..The chicken breasts look more like chunks. Thick and smaller like a thigh.I don't care about that, but the texture was terrible. Dry and tough..The dog had trouble eating it..It was so tough that my husband described it as 'like eating a piece of beef jerkey'..I am throwing out the rest of the bag and doubt if I will purchase this again..A shame!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
horrible
6/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Im pretty sure this is not real chicken. It's consistency is like rubber and feels like plastic or something. Tried to Pan fry but stayed white as snow. Basically had to burn it to get any color on it. Tried it again in chicken curry and it was like eating a tire. Never again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Strange texture
9/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Some pieces had an odd texture when cooked..."rubbery" as described by previous reviews. I've never eaten chicken like that before, and it raises concern over how the meat is processed. Yuck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nasty. Never again!
4/5/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used it to make a chicken recipe I made last month that was the bomb. Making it with this substance was a waste. Better to spend a few more bucks to buy chicken that's actually edible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Quality is Evident in these Cheap Breasts
1/26/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Meat is thick and fatty with plenty of connective tissue to be removed before it can be eaten. After cooking I found these breasts to be the toughest I have ever cooked. I bought two bags because of the good prices. The taste is acceptable but not good. Meat is tough and I wonder what these poor birds have been through. I am returning my second bag to the store. I do not believe these breasts are worth the price, inexpensive as they are.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stringy and tough
1/13/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've enjoyed these in the past but of late they have simply become inedible. Toughest chicken breasts I have ever purchased and the price isn't that much better than fresh. I bought these for the convenience but it's just not worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Veins, Fat & Cartilage
10/13/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was buying this for the last year, but have noticed the quality has dropped drastically the last few months. Be prepared to do a lot of trimming yourself if you choose to buy this product. The whole reason I buy boneless , skinless chicken breast and not all the other parts is I can't stand all the nasty stuff that runs through the dark meat selections. These chicken breasts are just as bad if not worse with veins, Cartilage and large clumps of fat. By the time you cut off all the nasty stuff your not getting very much actual edible white meat! And what meat is left is very rubbery!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rubbery
6/9/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The chicken tastes rubbery. I threw it all away. Extremely disgusting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful
7/14/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First of all when you cook these, they release some kind of watery fatty substance that smells pretty gross. Second the breasts end up shriveling up to about half their original size. Third, they are very tough. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful tough dry inedible
6/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Tried prepping different ways grilled, sautéed strips, even tried tenderizing with meat mallet with no luck still stays ridiculously tough and dry and as others say let's out liquidy fatty substance when cooking
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible! A waste of money!! Rubbery!!
9/18/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The frozen Great Value Brand chicken breasts are horrible!!! I will never buy them again. After cooking, the texture is crunchy and rubbery!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642840, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-