Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

49 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

49 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 48 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
You may get a plant
11/16/2009

Customer review by ErnieNY

3.0 stars 11/16/2009 by ErnieNY
by ErnieNY

Bought this and tried all 5(?) bulbs, only one sprouted. The rest were dumped after a couple weeks of nothing (a little fungus yeah). The one plant I got is wonderful. I have it in the 1.5 Gallon Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank (also sold here) with just 3 small goldfish in the tank. The plant is doing great and growing huge on my desk. It is somewhat near a window but not in direct sun, just the little LED on 8 hours a day. This plant keeps my tank balanced as my nitrate reading is near zero showing it is eating the fish waste as fertilizer. Considering the low cost of this item I am happy with 1 plant per package.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErnieNY
Levittown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good.. if used right
4/30/2009

Customer review by JustMe35

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by JustMe35
by JustMe35

I bought this product, and at first I just set it in the tank, and it grew a little bit. Then, once I put it in the rocks like the directions say too, its huge now! I'm getting a bigger fish tank for it. Just make sure you put it under alot of rocks and it will grow quick

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMe35
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
10/10/2010

Customer review by TheBuffDaddy

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by TheBuffDaddy
by TheBuffDaddy

After looking at prices for live aponogeton, I decided to try these bulbs. There were 6 bulbs for the 1/2 the price of one live plant (not including shipping). Three of the bulbs are sprouting after 4 days and the others look promising. Even if 3 are all I get out of this pack, I'll buy more of them. It's great value and I get to watch them grow!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBuffDaddy
Cartertsville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Have to be patient
3/26/2009

Customer review by ladydeimos

2.0 stars 3/26/2009 by ladydeimos
by ladydeimos

Mine didn't grow for about six months. They are now growing great though. If you look up the type of plant it says that the root or bulb needs a period of time not producing leaves. They are beautiful now though. Good luck everyone

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladydeimos
Arab, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
great value!
8/7/2011

Customer review by maybekay

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by maybekay
by maybekay

Make sure you bury these in substrate or small gravel/rocks for them to grow well. I put them all in a little mesh bag made from a recycled mesh onion bag from the groc store, so I could keep them all together to see what they did. I first let them bobble around on the bottom of the tank, but then noticed everytime there was a sprout somebody nibbled it off. Then stuffed them in the chimney of the little ceramic "house" in the aquarium. They sprouted in about 4 days and grew well up to the surface of my 40 gal. tank in about 5 weeks. They had outgrown the chimney so I removed them and stuck the roots under a rock and gravel so it would anchor itself. That made them really grow!! My Koi eat the roots so I have to hide them from them. This is a bargain for live aquarium plants if you can stand to wait a few weeks. I bought more just to start in a window sill and then transplant later when they are big beautiful plants!.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maybekay
oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Learned to Use a little Prep-work
4/27/2009

Customer review by asdf23

3.0 stars 4/27/2009 by asdf23
by asdf23

The only way I have found to make these things grow, is to put them in a clear glass. Put a couple inches of water in with them, and sit them in the window seal. Then, basically forget about them. After a week or two they will start to grow. I Love live plants in my tank, but they're a little bit too much work when you can just go buy them. As soon as they do start to grow, make sure you get the bulb buried so once the roots grow they can grab hold of the gravel. Good Luck once you start trying to clean the gravel, they're a pain to get to stick back down to the bottom again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asdf23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be prepared to mail them back, save the package!
3/22/2012

Customer review by BettaKeeper

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by BettaKeeper
by BettaKeeper

Most live mature plants you can buy for about this price, so I thought 5 for one was a steal. I was wrong. I purchased a pack with 5 bulbs in it, so I placed two in my five gallon tank and the other three in my ten gallon. Two days later I noticed the water was beginning to get very cloudy. I changed the water immediately, only to find it still very cloudy the next day. So I removed the bulbs and checked them, only two were still firm. I placed those two in a jar in the window with some water from my aquarium, hoping sunlight would do them some good. I came back to check on them the next day and found a few cottony patches beginning to grow on them, aka fungus. I changed the water in the jar every day, and in three days time I gave up. The fungus took over the bulbs. After that, I went and bought a padded envelope ($1) and sent all 5 of the bulbs and their package back to the company (for 90 cents at the post office). In about two weeks, another padded envelope arrived in the mail which contained 13 brand new bulbs, 8 of which had already sprouted inside! I was so pleased! The 8 that sprouted are in my 2 gallon quarantine tank growing happily with daily water changes. They will stay there until they grow a few leaves and then will be transferred to my tanks. The other 5 that did not sprout in the envelope were given to a friend for her 20 gallon tank. All of them have sprouted and are growing well. So all in all, 13 plants for about 6 dollars total is a real deal! Chances are, your purchase from the store will be a failure, but your replacements will grow very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BettaKeeper
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ehh.. OK
5/12/2010

Customer review by baccalynnwv

3.0 stars 5/12/2010 by baccalynnwv
by baccalynnwv

After about three months mine have finially started to grow. (not the 30 days boasted on the package) I just dropped them in the tank and waited for them to sprout. I can not remember now what the directions where but after they started growing roots and some leaves I placed them under the rocks slightly. The leaves started growing like mad then! They look ok and the fish seem to really enjoy the live plants. All of the 4 bulbs I can see are having some growth - one bulb I have lost in the tank somewhere but its probably growing. At any rate - 4 out of 5 is good for any bulb/seeds you purchase and start yourself.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baccalynnwv
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plant Bulbs
4/5/2009

Customer review by LeeLeezd

3.0 stars 4/5/2009 by LeeLeezd
by LeeLeezd

I bought a pack of these for my 14 gallon tank. When I put them in a couple of them went down instantly while the others just floated around, but after a few days they to eventually sank. Only one of them actually grew, the others grew what looked like mold on them & they smelled rotten so I took them out & threw them away. I bought a 50lb bag of special plant substrate from Dr. Foster & Smith called Eco-Complete which helped alot, along with lots of light. Within a few months, it went from a tiny bulb sprout to a very pretty, tall aponogeton plant, it grew to the top of my tank. You might have to buy a few packs to get a few plants, but they do grow. It's alot easier to just buy or order plants that are already grown, but this way does work.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeeLeezd
Ville Plate, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
hide babys hide
7/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i bought these as a joke. i didnt think they would work, then a few weeks went by and i had to give some of the plants away. i love them. the only problem i have found is that the fish i breed like to eat them so i have to start them in a tanke all by them selves

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
have to be patient
5/30/2011

Customer review by Averporsche

4.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Averporsche
by Averporsche

i got four of these from walmart and they didnt sprout in 30 days. so i sent them back to the company and they sent me back 17!!! they all sprouted. MAKE SURE YOU KEEP YOUR RECEIPT AND PACKAGING BECAUSE THEN YOU CAN SEND THE BULBS BACK AND THEY GIVE YOU A TON BACK.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Averporsche
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Company actually backs there product
12/16/2012

Customer review by FunkyCactus

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by FunkyCactus
by FunkyCactus

Bought these bulbs cause they were cheap enough i figured if 1 or two sprouted it was worth it.. Got 5 in package, only 1 sprouted.. i kept my receipt, and like the back said i mailed them my receipt and the 4 dud bulbs... about 1 week later i got a package with about 7 or 9 huge bulbs... all of which sprouted... Absolutely worth it, but hang on to your receipt.. The ones i purchased at the store were rather small dry bulbs.. However the ones mailed to me from them were huge fresh, and litereally sprouted within 24 hours... Def worth it.. i'd get the lilys too but my wal-mart was out of them..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunkyCactus
boonton, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't believe people have an issue!
8/21/2012

Customer review by JypsyJack

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by JypsyJack
by JypsyJack

I bought these a while back for my 20 Gal community tank and I just can't believe that anyone has had a problem with these! I planted my bulbs in my gravel and they all sprouted perfectly! Such a cheap way to get multiple plants for an aquarium, and it was fun to watch them grow! I wouldn't reccomend these for a brand new aquarium, mine was about a year old when I planted them. The benefit to doing this is that there's plenty of waste (Fertilizer) for the plants to grow with. Maybe people have been putting them into tanks that are just not mature enough for the plants? I don't know. I had no problems with these and I would recommend them to anyone who wants some cheap, hardy plants in their system!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JypsyJack
Mount Pleasant, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
6/20/2009

Customer review by n2goldfish

1.0 stars 6/20/2009 by n2goldfish
by n2goldfish

I don't know if these are not meant for coldwater tanks or not? The instructions don't say. I've tried these and the lily bulbs in my goldfish tank and had zero luck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
n2goldfish
Sullivan, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Did not flower. Just floated on top until moldy.
4/14/2014

Customer review by Hoppy2Help

1.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Hoppy2Help
by Hoppy2Help

Did not flower. Just floated on top until moldy. A complete waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoppy2Help
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love these plants :)
7/28/2013

Customer review by Guitar1989

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Guitar1989
by Guitar1989

A few weeks back I bought a few Betta fishes and an African Dwarf Frog. I'm not really into a colorful artificial aquascape so when I was at my local Walmart I picked up a pack of these aquatic plant bulbs. Packs contain different quantities and qualities of bulbs so go through the rack and find the pack with the the most healthy looking bulbs. I found a package containing 6 bulbs ;D When I got them back home I filled a small glass bowl with some water, dropped the bulbs in and left it in a window sill so they could get good sunlight. In a week or so I noticed tiny sprouts coming outta the tips of the bulbs :) One bulb ended up just getting slimy and smelly :( but in all honesty 1/6 going bad in my pack doesn't really bother me. When they got a bit of green vegetation I put the bulbs in my aquariums and they really are flourishing now! The biggest ones probably about 8 inches long and still growing strong!!! I actually grabbed a second pack recently when I went back to Walmart so well see how those go. Also the package says if any bulbs fail to grow you can mail in the proof of purchase along with the bad bulbs and the company will give you good ones to replace them. I read a review of someone who actually sent back some bad bulbs and ended up recieving a good amount of beautiful healthy "still wet" bulbs from the company.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guitar1989
Placerville California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS PLANT!
10/8/2013

Customer review by bipass5

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by bipass5
by bipass5

I bought this on a whim and only one of the three bulbs sprouted. I understand from other internet sources that the company is great about returns, so I'm doing that.... BUT... the one that spouted is AWESOME! This is after about 30 days or so, but it grew really fast. I also have the Lily Bulb and it's great too. The leaves are large with beautiful dark red color.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bipass5
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/11/2012

Customer review by jigabodo

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by jigabodo
by jigabodo

My package came with 5 bulbs. I dropped all 5 of them in my tank, and few weeks later I got 3 out of 5 sprouting so far. These are much cheaper than buying a real plant. For the price of less than 1 aponogeton plant, I got 3 out of this package. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jigabodo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Hardy plant so far!
12/26/2012

Customer review by BluPony

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by BluPony
by BluPony

I bought a pack of these about a month ago. I put all four bulbs in my aquarium and my goldfish proceeded to kick them about the tank like soccer balls. I had about one sprout, and it is thriving nicely and is tough standing up to the goldfish which like to nibble at it and root it up out of the gravel every now and then. I saved the other three to send back to the company as directed on the back of the box but lost my receipt. My bad! This plant is definitely less expensive than live plants I would have to travel a long way to purchase or order online. I will probably buy a few more bulbs (and make sure to save my receipt this time in case they don't sprout). I did notice that the one bulb that sprouted was bigger and fuller than the rest, so that may be an indicator as to what to look for when purchasing more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BluPony
Canton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only one plant.
10/11/2012

Customer review by ReviewNinja

3.0 stars 10/11/2012 by ReviewNinja
by ReviewNinja

Three months in an already established tank and only one plant sprouted. The plant that DID sprout is WONDERFUL, so that's something. If you save your unsprouted bulbs and ship them back, the company will replace them for free. I didn't do that this time around but next time, I will. The price is worth it even if only one plant sprouts.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewNinja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews