Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-17 of 17 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Loved It!!
4/3/2017

Customer review by emem

5.0 stars 4/3/2017 by emem
by emem

I used this last november and I went from a medium dark brown color to a very light blonde. It worked very well in my hair, I didn't expect it to come out so vibrant. I bought a box of light golden blonde and luminous blonde. I wish I had gotten both boxes of luminous blonde because that was what made my hair a very vibrant blonde, compared to the light golden blonde which made it an ash blondish color. Overall, I will definitely use this product again, and recommend it to friends. I would advise doing a protein treatment, and deep conditioning treatment afterwards obviously. It left my hair extremely brittle afterwards, and the conditioner they give you is awful. You have to fully invest yourself into going blonde because your hair is 10x a lot more dryer, and lacking in moisture. But that goes for any type of chemical processing to your hair. It also took forever for it to grow out, even after I recolored my hair pink like a week ago the blonde barely grew out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Color, no damage!
3/11/2017

Customer review by Mariyah98

5.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Mariyah98
by Mariyah98
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this product. It didn't damage my hair at all, and it made my natural dark brown really light. If you want it really light or as light as the box, I would recommend letting it sit for an hour and 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mariyah98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/12/2013

Customer review by BosnianBelle

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by BosnianBelle
by BosnianBelle

I love this hair color!!! I bought this because I wanted to go from a dark brown to a brownish blonde which is my natural color. After I dyed it the first time the color was mostly visible on my roots, the under side of my bangs, and the ends. The second time I dyed my hair, I avoided these areas and concentrated on the body of my hair. It came out perfect!! This hair dye didn't damage my ends either. I love it! You won't get the desired shade of blonde on the first try unless you have really light hair. If you have dark hair and you want blonde hair quick, you'll have to strip your hair. No hair color will get you blonde hair in one try, no matter how expensive. You'll just end up damaging your hair and not getting the desired shade. This product is more for lightening hair gradually, so don't expect it to be perfect after the first try. Regardless, this is the best hair dye I've ever used! It smells great, leaves my hair super soft, and doesn't da,age it at all!

Was this review helpful? (27) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BosnianBelle
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
PAY ATTENTION THE REVIEWS
5/24/2017

Customer review by DoNOTBUY

1.0 stars 5/24/2017 by DoNOTBUY
by DoNOTBUY

I am a mixed woman if thay matters and I just bought two boxes of this product and by the way I am natural. Meaning I do not perm my hair or nothing. I got the her black so I can cover my grays. After rinsing only hair, my hair was extremely dry and brittle. I had to use so much oil and leave in conditioner to keep it from breaking. My hair didn't not break off and I'm praying it don't. NEVER AGAIN.. it's funny because the last getting her hair done next to me did the same thing but her color is honey blonde and it broke her hair off so bad all around her perimeter. I'm scared because I don't want my hair to break like hers did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoNOTBUY
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVED IT!!!!
5/4/2011

Customer review by wyd1

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by wyd1
by wyd1

I loved the color of it. It turned out great, but since my hair goes a few inches past my shoulders it took me 2 boxes. The first time my roots weren't covered well, but I redid it and it turned out great. I got so many compliments, and you can really notice the difference from dark brown to honey blonde. I would recommend this any day. This is really the only hair dye I can use and that actually works since I am mixed.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wyd1
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Very surprised this product damaged
1/21/2017

Customer review by BDHAIRDY

1.0 stars 1/21/2017 by BDHAIRDY
by BDHAIRDY

Dark and Lovely Go Intense Permanent Hair Color -(brown). I followed the direction, never leaving the color to long. My hair is 4c and natural. The product dryed out my hair to the point that my hair can't absorb the natural coconut oil or my leave in. I don't recommend Dark and Lovely Go Intense Permanent Hair Color -product line

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BDHAIRDY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great
12/18/2012

Customer review by Samples

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Samples
by Samples

The main thing about this color is that if your hair is black or very dark you will have to let it sit on your hair longer than the instructions say. I let stay on my hair for 20 mins and was disappointed with how dark it still was. I waited two days and then dyed it again and this time I waited until I saw the color that I wanted and then I washed it out. The 2nd time I dyed it I let it stay on for about 10 mins and I'm so happy with the way it turned out the 2nd time. It looks exactly like the color on the picture. Also I'm sure it will lighten even more because of the sunlight. Also make sure to turn on the vent while in the bathroom the smell kinda makes me feel dizzy.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samples
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Didn't lighten hair... not worth it!
3/7/2011

Customer review by amlgarrido

2.0 stars 3/7/2011 by amlgarrido
by amlgarrido

I have dark brown hair with strands of gray popping up here and there. I wanted to change it to Honey Blonde and cover the gray hair. So, I chose this product because it's suppose to work on dark hair and cover gray. Well, it didn't really work. I still have strands of gray that I can see. And the color only lightened my hair by three or four shades. It's no where near the Honey Blonde color shown on the box. And I mean no where near it at all!!! I'm probably at a medium brown. I don't recommend using this product if you're trying to go blonde, or even dark blonde, since it didn't work for me. Not worth the money. Complete waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? (27) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amlgarrido
Riverside, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Not happy at all
12/18/2010

Customer review by rockabeautymom

1.0 stars 12/18/2010 by rockabeautymom
by rockabeautymom

I am black/white and I have natural black hair that has not been permed and I wanted to dye my hair honey blond. I have dyed and permed my hair in the past though. I chose this product because it is made for ethnic hair and it said it would take black hair to a darker honey blond. I followed the directions and it did not turn out at all. Most of my hair was not changed at all, but the roots and hairline is an orange color. Needless to say, I am very disappointed and I will not try another haircolor product from this line. The price was very good, but the results were a nightmare. Spend a little bit more money and get a better product.

Was this review helpful? (41) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockabeautymom
Spring Lake, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Dark & Lovely Reviving colors Ebony Brown 392
3/7/2017

Customer review by Junay

2.0 stars 3/7/2017 by Junay
by Junay

Unfortunately, this product was a bad experience for me. Although I have used other D&L colors in the past, and did not have the same results as with the Ebony Brown. Following directions to the letter...... the result of the color was not bad, however, my hair was soooooo dry and brittle that it shribbled up to tiny, weeny coils eventhough my hair is about an inch and 1/2 in length. I used every moisturizer in my arsenal of moisturizers (and I have a plethora) yet my hair appears to be resistant to moisture. I will have to work very hard to repair the damage. I'm just saying.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junay
Would recommend to a friend? No
I would not recommend buying this product
12/21/2012

Customer review by Prettylady29

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Prettylady29
by Prettylady29

I purchased this hair color since it was the same I used to buy few yrs back, I guess they changed the ingrediants on it. I remember my hair used to turn into this beautiful honey blond before but the girl on the box was different before. I have Black hair and it would work just fine with 2 boxes( I used to have very long hair) well now my hair is short and i have a light brown color on it, i try this product and it took me 3 boxes plus it turn my hair Orange.... what a waste of money. I would not recommend this product or buy it myself again..

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prettylady29
Dallas Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Had to cut off 2 inches
10/13/2016

Customer review by DisappointedandAngry

2.0 stars 10/13/2016 by DisappointedandAngry
by DisappointedandAngry

I am a 16 year old, mixed (dominant African) female with 3b curls. I don't dye my hair very often. If I had to estimate, I would say once every 5-6 months. I've been wanting to go to a lighter color for a while now and my mom told me that I should go with Dark & Lovely. It FRIED my ends. I barley straighten my hair. In fact, I just now straightened it the first time in 10 MONTHS. There is no reason why my ends should be so fried, 2 inches to be exact. The instructions are a load of bull. It says 30 minutes, but 30 minutes passed by and my hair wasn't at the desired color. When I finally got to a decent color, I rinsed it out. I can't stress this enough. I couldn't put a brush nor comb through my ends. They were dry and brittle. Definitely not how they were before dying my hair. Putting leave in conditioner and other moisturization didn't work neither. My mom noticed right away how fried my ends were. While I knew they were damaged, I didn't realize how fried they were until I straightened my hair. I can't get my hair bone straight anymore due to the severity of damage this gave me. It wasn't even worth it. My hair is left in streaks. I worked very hard to grow my hair out and I have to cut it AGAIN back to my shoulders AND re-dye by a professional. I would not recommend this. A load of bull if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisappointedandAngry
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad deal
1/14/2013

Customer review by delsgirl63

1.0 stars 1/14/2013 by delsgirl63
by delsgirl63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought two boxes because of my long hair both were very thin and watery and didnt work as described my hair is natural black and it still shows and the gray starting coming back through after the first washing not worth the effort def get what you paid for with this item

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delsgirl63
kenton tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best
8/15/2016

Customer review by Eliza

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Eliza
by Eliza
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eliza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love all the colors!
3/5/2014

Customer review by CheChe01

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by CheChe01
by CheChe01
Top 500 contributor

I dyed my hair "Honey Blonde" years ago but all "Dark and lovely" products are easy to use and the color might not come out the color on the box but it's always nice. Never had a problem with breakage after dying my hair.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheChe01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Top 500 contributor
Really Really Bad
11/20/2014

Customer review by Gfamily3421

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by Gfamily3421
by Gfamily3421

Did not work on my hair. It is by far the worst hair dye I have ever tried on my hair.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gfamily3421
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/23/2013

Customer review by MissieNe

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by MissieNe
by MissieNe

I buy this hair color alot even since the first time i started to dye my hair and this hair color is great and the brand it never failed me yet i would suggest it over any hair color and you should buy this and give it a try and i also tried alot of there colors LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissieNe
Marshalltown,Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18