Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 36 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Fitness Quest Elliptical (Edge 1400)
1/25/2009

Customer review by farmered3

5.0 stars 1/25/2009 by farmered3
by farmered3

If you want a great elliptical at a good price, that will last for years, this is the one for you! I looked at about every machine out there for about 3 or 4 months (my wife had all but given up). I finally decided that the best value for money was the Edge 1400 by Fitness Quest. I ordered through Walmart (best price I found) had it shipped free (site-to-store). This unit is awesome. From carrying it in (box has levels so you dont' have to take it all inside at once). Everything was numbered and lettered for assembly. Every single hole lined up perfectly and the wires snapped together. They even went so far as to put lock-tite on the threads! For a couple of spots it does take two people, but one person is used 95% of the time. It even comes with all assembly tools! It took about 1.5 hours to put-together. Everything fit perfect and the engineers really used their head in this machine! My favorite points about this unit: Cost is well worth every penny Options and computer programs on the large LCD readout screen with heartbeat built into the handles. How smooth and quiet the machine is! How well built and completely solid the machine is. The compactness of the overall footprint. How easily and quickly adjustable stride lengths! How nice the resistance works....can't even hear or tell it but you sure do feel it!!! There is a list too long to tell, but I can tell you that if you purchase this unit, so far from my $0.02, it is the best machine for dollar on the market today.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
farmered3
Saginaw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't be beat!
2/11/2009

Customer review by TexasUSA

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by TexasUSA
by TexasUSA

In the past 30+ years, I have put together everything from furniture kits to motorcycles. Never have I come across anything that was so well thought out. On a scale from 1 to 10, the process of putting it together rates a 11! The instruction manual is the best I have ever seen. Pictures are sharp and instructions are very clear. The nuts and bolts are not thrown together in one big bag like every other kit you have seen. Each Step in the manual has it's own bag of nuts & bolts. As you complete a step, you open up the next bag of parts for the next step. This brings me to the hardware. The quality of the nuts and bolts are perfect. 90%+ of them are allen head. All of them are lubricated. All of the parts were packaged very well. There were no scratches on anything upon unpacking everything. This is a very heavy, well built and stable machine. You have to spend well over $1,000 to get one built as well. Some of the key features of the Quest Edge 1400 are: 1. Not only does this elliptical have a 21" stide (which is impossible to find in this price range), but because of the design, it takes up less room than most of the other ellipticals 2. Many ellipticals are unstable, especially when working out hard on the machine. They will rock side to side, which not only feels unstable, but is annoying. Not this machine. It doesn't budge, and with 6 adjustable feet on the bottom, you can level it out on almost any surface. 3. This is a very smooth and whisper quiet machine. You do not have to turn up the radio or TV when using it. It does not creak and make annoying sounds like so many other ellipticals. 4. The rear entry to the machine is great. It is a nice, low, forward entry which seems very natural. I don't care for other ellipticals that have a side entry. This is most noticable when exiting the machine (if you have been working out for a good length of time), because the legs take a while (a few minutes) to retrain after using an elliptical for a long time. That being said, there are a couple of things that I would like to see better quality: 1. The shoe pads are made of plastic with no rubber cushion. Other machines that I like (1k+) have nice big pads with rubber cushions for your feet. Now this is a NO impact machine, so really, they are not needed, which is why they might have cut corners there. 2. The Control Panel does not have the quality look of some others. There is no fan, or TV (not needed anyway), but the panel could look a bit beefier, and have easier buttons to operate. However, there are some nice things built in like current temperature. 3. To get descent resistance, you have to go to about level 9. Keep in mind that there are about 18 levels, so that is about half way. However, at level 18, it still does not have the resistance of some other machines. If you are wanting something with very high resistance, you will be disappointed with this machine. However, I tend to work out often, and even at level 9, this is a great machine. If I want to build leg muscle, I use my Weider Home Gym. I use my elliptical stickly for cardio and to get my heart rate up for a good length of time. I give this machine a perfect rating based on price, overall quality and features. You simply can not find a better elliptical for even $200 above the price of this elliptical (at time of purchase - $400).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasUSA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For less than $400 works good
2/5/2009

Customer review by Ggerg1186

3.0 stars 2/5/2009 by Ggerg1186
by Ggerg1186

Cons: Resistance is pretty low Neutral: Electronic display is very simple, no frills, but it gets the job done Pros: Decent price and seems very sturdy. Probably the best assembly instruction/process I have ver seen from a chinese manufacturer I have had this eliiptical for about 2 weeks. I put it together by myself in about 2 hours. The instructions were great. I have my own tools, but the supplied tools worked well enough to get the job done I will be honest, I currently weigh 350lbs and I am 6' tall. I set the stride length to 21" and climbed on. Pretty good stretch in the legs. The unit was rigid and had little sway abck and forth. I had to crank up the resistance a bit, but at the highest level you will feel some burn in your legs. I also tried the shorter 17" stride length and it worked well. I am happy I bought the unit. Price seems right for what I got.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ggerg1186
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Veiw Good Product
2/16/2009

Customer review by DMan617

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by DMan617
by DMan617

You definitely need two people to get product into the house. Other than that putting it together was farely easy. My one small complaint was that I had on screw that would not fit in which is not really a big deal. Everythng else works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMan617
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth it
2/12/2009

Customer review by Workout2009

5.0 stars 2/12/2009 by Workout2009
by Workout2009

I've had 3 other elipticals in the past, I like that this one is half the size of all the others I had. The instructions were very clear, it says 2 people required to put together but I was able to do it on my own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Workout2009
Palm Bay Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/19/2009

Customer review by LoveAandE

5.0 stars 2/19/2009 by LoveAandE
by LoveAandE

Have only had for a few days but for the price is a great machine. Smooth, quite and well built. Only took an hour our so to put together with no problems. So far really love the machine!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveAandE
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
2/17/2009

Customer review by ShoalsRMC

5.0 stars 2/17/2009 by ShoalsRMC
by ShoalsRMC

Finally, A great product for a great price. These days of feeling cheated with high dollars purchases, this product is well worth its price. Well constructed, easily put together and I would put this machine up against any $$$$$ machine advertised today. You will not be disappointed with this equipment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoalsRMC
Shoals, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great machine with poor control panel
2/20/2009

Customer review by Legendsk

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by Legendsk
by Legendsk

I agree with the other reviewers in that the machine is very rugged and solid. It was easy to put together and took me about an hour by myself. The packing allowed me to unbox it in my pickup and take the contents inside in 3 separate layers. If you had to move the whole shipping box inside it would definitely require two people. The machine is very quiet and smooth to use. There are no squeaks or rattles. The work load range of 1 to 16 is quite adequate. (I'm at work load 5 after a month) The control panel is poor. It has a clock display after the machine has been sitting unattended for a long period of time. While being used, the clock display is not available. This seems kind of pointless to me, if I can't see the time while I am using the machine, why would it need to show the time when I'm not using it? The panel will display a count down of a preset timer accurately. It will show apparently random numbers in a display labeled distance, in a display labeled speed and in a display labeled calories. The heart rate display is apparently more accurate and will blank out if you release the handlebars for a period of time. As long as you hold the handlebars, the heart rate display will show numbers randomly in the range of 70 to 130. Increasing or decreasing your effort, speed, or the work load doesn't seem to affect any of these things. The work load of 1 to 16 is displayed with a stable display and stays where you put it. The owner's manual suggests that if you are interested in your heart rate, you should get an instrument to measure it with and not rely on their system. All in all, I think this is a very good exercise machine and will meet my needs quite nicely. I just leave the clock display on, put on a separate heart monitor and turn on a TV to kill the time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Legendsk
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Price Great Machine
2/27/2009

Customer review by DodgeFan30

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by DodgeFan30
by DodgeFan30

I was impressed with it right away. Even taking it out of the box and assembly was a breeze. Once assembled the first run was a little uncomfortable. There are two adjustments for the stride. But once adjusted it was excellent. The display is great but has no backlighting. I really don't know how they calculate the mileage though. Because there is no way I could run one mile in 4 minutes. Otherwise I would be in the Olympics. But the resistance is great. I use our Gym membership a lot and used the gym ellipticals but for the price we paid it was an excellent choice. I figured it would be alright compared to the expensive models at the gym but it's actually an awesome piece of machinery. I would recommend this from novice to workout guru.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DodgeFan30
Lemoore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Suprised
2/27/2009

Customer review by chenry

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by chenry
by chenry

I am really pleased with this product. Very sturdy and easy to put together. I did have a an issue with some of the screws coming loose after it was first assembled but with a little adjustment it was good to go in no time. Excellent product, excellent value!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chenry
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Elliptical
2/26/2009

Customer review by Ernesttbass

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by Ernesttbass
by Ernesttbass

easy to assemble, Money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ernesttbass
nw florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fitness Quest Edge 1400 Elliptical
2/26/2009

Customer review by suzanned

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by suzanned
by suzanned

It was heavy, but brought it into the house in pieces. It was easy to put together and had the tools needed. I put it together and started working out. Very people friendly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzanned
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value and quality elliptical
2/26/2009

Customer review by AndyO

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by AndyO
by AndyO

Fitness pros will tell you that you won't get gym-quality equipment in this price range, and generally they are right. However, the Fitness Quest 1400 stands out in the sub-$1000 market as exceptionally well built, quiet, stable and suitable for serious use. Gym-quality is isn't, but it is remarkably close in many ways. It comes packed in a large box that is around 200lbs. It took 4 Walmart guys to carry it to the car (a PT Cruiser - it only just fit), and it was too heavy for 2 of us to get it out again so we had to cut the box away and unpack it in layers! Putting it together was very straightforward. The manual has clear instructions for each stage with diagrams, and each step matches a numbered pack of parts required. All the tools needed are supplied. It took a couple of hours of steady work, most of which was in ensuring everything was done up tight. Overall, it is remarkably compact and stable, but it is too heavy to easily move about. It does have a small set of wheels on the front crossmember, but it has to be lifted up quite high at the back to use them, and that isn't a job for the faint-hearted or muscularly challenged! In use, it offers a manual mode where the user controls the choice of resistance level between 1 and 16, and a program mode where the user selects one of 8 pre-programmed workouts, designed to simulate various types of terrain by varying resistance levels as often as every 1/10th of a mile. The display is pretty basic, offering no backlight and little interaction. There's no audio system or connection for an iPod, as is found on some other machines. When inactive, the displays reverts to showing date and time and ambient air temperature. In use, the display is divided into 3 sections. At the bottom it shows resistance level in manual mode, or the current program, while to the right is a small stack of readouts for exercise time, speed and rpm, distance, calories used, pulse rate, and load (resistance). Any of these readouts can be selected and be displayed is larger digits on the main part of the display, otherwise the main display will continuously rotate between the readouts, changing every 2 or 3 seconds. That can be rather confusing if you don't realize what's happening! Controlling selections on the display can be a little confusing too, because it's not clear or consistent which buttons to press to get which settings or results, but a little familiarity takes care of that. Using the machine feels very comfortable. The foot pedals are sufficiently large that it is possible to find a stance that fits the workout required - the further back the user stands, the more effort is required. Because this elliptical has smaller flywheels than the 'step-through' type, the stride is more like a natural walking/jogging motion than other machines, so it's very easy. It's also possible to also vary the workout by going backwards if required, which helps exercise different muscle groups. With 8 programs this machine is not particularly versatile for a guided workout, but the programs themselves reflect a wide range of intensities, and the user can vary resistance settings in any program at any time. It would be nice if the user could not only create personalized programs that way, but also save them for future use, but sadly that option is not included so personalizations have to be re-created with each use. Many inexpensive ellipticals suffer noise or seems to require fairly constant maintenance to prevent them loosening up. If care is taken with assembly, making sure all the bolts are done up tight, neither of these are issues with the FQ 1400. It remains remarkably quiet and totally rigid. When high resistance settings are selected, the user can feel a little vibration through the handlebars, and the overall noise level increases, but the only thing I found annoying about the machine was that the small coiled wires connecting the pulse rate sensors in the handlebars to the body of the machine tend to trail across the edge of the water bottle holder, making a constant 'clicking' sound in time with the motion. It isn't loud is easy to fix, and can't be heard more than a foot or two away, but it gets annoying! All in all, this is not the best elliptical on the market, nor the cheapest. But it is certainly the least expensive machine to even approach gym-quality, and as such the compromises made in design and features do little to inhibit a good exercise regime, while still allowing the machine to do the job it is meant to do. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering an elliptical, and say that it is great value for money. A better display and more versatility in programs would be nice, but at this price, the FQ 1400 is better than the competition, and the criticisms are quite minor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AndyO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Workout
2/27/2009

Customer review by LowBudgetBrown

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by LowBudgetBrown
by LowBudgetBrown

This is a quality piece of exercise equipment. I don't just say that because it was priced lower than others, it actually is good. It is very stable, and very quiet. It only took me an hour to put it together. I does come in a very big box, but it has levels on the inside, so its not that bad. I carried it up a flight of stair and put it together by my self. It is also very small, so it will fit pretty much any where. Good workout, good price. I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LowBudgetBrown
Camden, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Satisfied
2/28/2009

Customer review by mayguy

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by mayguy
by mayguy

So far I am very satisfied with the Fitness Quest 1400 Elliptical. It is a very well made, heavy duty machine with good stability. Nothing else I tested in this price range came close to the feel of this machine. None of them offered the adjustable stride length . . . 18" - 21" which is great. The only glitch so far is I'm not too sure about the accuracy of the digital monitor, but that's not a major concern for me. I am more interested in the sturdy, smooth feel of the operation. VERY GOOD. Took a little over 1 hour to put together. Instructions were very good and every part was well coded and in separate "labeled" bags. Anyone looking for a basic, well-built elliptical, I would highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mayguy
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!!
3/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had this equipment for about 3wks and I totally love it. It is great buy for your money. At first I was looking for a treadmill, trying not to spend a lot of money and there were hardly any for the little bit of cash I was trying to spend. So I looked into this eliptical, read the reviews and thought I would give it a try. The programs on it works great, the resistance gets harder depending on the program and you can even manually set up your goal based on time limit or miles, calories etc. Very well worth the money and I hope that this helps with your decision. I usually don't write reviews but I figured if someone is going through the trouble I am going through this may help. P.S. Don't let the bad reviews put you down...remember every case is different; what problem they face you may not!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great product
3/8/2009

Customer review by Jennifer808

5.0 stars 3/8/2009 by Jennifer808
by Jennifer808

After looking at several other ellipticals, we chose and bought this one a couple of weeks ago. Took about an hour to set up, instructions were EXCELLENT - each step was in a separate little baggie marked "step 1," etc., which was very helpful. The machine looks and feels solid and performs very well. I would definitely recommend this to others and would buy it again if I had a choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennifer808
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed!!!
3/9/2009

Customer review by barginbased

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by barginbased
by barginbased

I got this about a week ago through site to store. That saves a lot on shipping cause this thing is about 200 lbs. If you don't have a strong back and a low trailer you will definitely need help. Forget station wagons, you'll need a truck or large suv for this. once you get it home its much easier. just open the box and it comes out in three much more manageable foam trays. Assembly is easy enough since everything is organized by steps.each step coincides with a labeled bag of screws and bolts so you don't have to guess which bolts go where. it even comes with its own tools but if you have a ratchet with allen head and screwdriver sockets you could save a lot of time. Even first timers can assemble this in 2 hours, probably less. Instructions suggest 2 people but that is only for two steps and the second person could be a six year old and is only necessary for maybe 5 minutes total. I love the fact that it is very small,you'll need about 6' by 3' of space when its set on the 21" stride so it fits in just about any room but if you have low ceilings you need to watch for ceiling fan clearance. This is a very stable unit, no rocking, clunking or anything to scare you off of it. There are six leveling feet you can adjust. It is very quiet, has 18 intensity levels, and a good variety of auto programs. The only problem i had was that the cord to the monitor just barely reached my outlet so I have to be really carefull not to trip on it when I get off. All in all this is a great exercise machine and I couldn't be happier with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barginbased
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for me!
3/8/2009

Customer review by TryingToStayHealthy

5.0 stars 3/8/2009 by TryingToStayHealthy
by TryingToStayHealthy

I am 54 and needed to exercise to stay healthy. My elliptical is perfect for me plus a great value for the money. It's portable enough yet very well constructed. I love my ellptical!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TryingToStayHealthy
Batavia, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Finally a good one
3/10/2009

Customer review by mcalester1

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by mcalester1
by mcalester1

I absolutely love this machine. Let me explain. My workout room is up two flights of stairs. I got a real workout taking two other elipticals up and down the stairs. This one was packed so that I could take one section upstairs at a time. Assembly was a lot easier than others. I am an engineer and my hat's off to those who packaged the pieces and wrote the instructions. None easier! This machine is so quiet and smooth, putting the other two to shame. Programs are very easy to understand and the workouts are as easy or as intense as you want. The option for the age related workout is very good. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcalester1
McAlester, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews