Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 173 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
Nice TV!
11/20/2008

Customer review by djberlin

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by djberlin
by djberlin

This is a great TV so far, and I am very happy with it. The picture quality is AWESOME when using it as intended (1080p / Blu-Ray etc.). Warning! - If this is your first HDTV, don't be surprised if the picture looks awful when viewing non-HD content; all HDTVs are like that. The problem is the source/video, and not the TV. Regular cable only broadcasts about a 1/3 of the pixels required to fill the screen. Plus, the bigger the screen the more emphasis there is on each pixel - making it appear snowy. Be prepared to want Hi-Def from either your cable provider or satellite company when buying an HDTV. Another trick is to buy a DVD/Blu-ray player with an up-converter. This will make regular DVDs look much better. It does this by digitally converting their resolution up to 1080p by filling in the missing pixels, making for a much cleaner picture - simulated 1080p. The sound system is like most stereo TVs; the quality is good enough for everyday watching, but there is nothing mind blowing about it. But, no matter what TV you buy you will need a sound system to go with it if you want the full experience. The only thing I'm disappointed about are some of the on-screen programmable options. Probably the biggest thing is the channel info. It takes up half the screen when clicking though channels, and you apparently cannot disable it. Nothing major, I just rather see video content when I'm flipping through channels instead of channel info. This TV is also fully upgradable - meaning they can add new features or change settings with new software. Hint...hint....option to turn off channel info screen please! There is also 120hz (2ms) version of this TV for about $400 more. Not really worth it, unless you have money to burn. I have not seen any bleeding, ripping or tearing to warrant spending the extra cash on a reduction in response time. 5ms seems to be plenty fast enough when rendering pretty much any picture.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djberlin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Buy It
10/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did extensive research for months. I saw every TV on the planet. I know all the tech stuff on LCDs and plasmas now. This TV, for the price, blew me away. The picture, if set up correctly at the store, looks as good as sony. There is nothing better for the price. If you see something for a little less, pay a bit more for this one. Philips measures their contrast ratio differently so you cannot compare that with other LCDs. However, that is the real difference. Black blacks and white whites. You can see it. I'm looking at it right now (DirecTV) and I am still, after 5 months, in awe of the picture quality. My friends all have LCDs but my house has become the place to be on Saturdays (for football and the TV, not me). Good sound, not great. Easy, easy setup (my 10 year old did it, I just watched and I didn't have to correct him once). Don't hesitate, buy it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nebraska Ciyt, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pillips 42 LCD Rocks!!
10/20/2008

Customer review by Dawg1

5.0 stars 10/20/2008 by Dawg1
by Dawg1

My wife and I just bought this LCD for our living room and it is out of this world, even without HDMI hooked up yet, the picture is very good. We hooked it to our PS3 HDMI and it's mind-blowing, the games and Blue Ray movies feel like their coming out of the screen. We think it had a better picture than the Sony in the store. Walmart is selling alot of these, because we had to call 9 differnt store before we found one that wasn't sold out! We almost bought the Sylvania 42 and were looking at the RCA 42 for less money but we are so glad we spent alittle more money and got the Phillps, there is no comparison, 5ms response rate and 29000:1 contrast you can't go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dawg1
Social Circle, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/14/2008

Customer review by Hilble

5.0 stars 10/14/2008 by Hilble
by Hilble

I was skeptical to buy this without any reviews. But a friend from work also suggested it without even knowing I was looking at it, so I went with it. Setting it up, from 1st opening the box to watching tv, maybe took 10 minutes. The hardest part? Deciding which picture quality I preferred. This tv was well worth the money and I'm so glad I bought it. Now I have something else to keep me from sleeping. If you want a perfect picture and perfect sound...here's your investment! The only downsides? When changing channels, the Info screen pops up for a few seconds. Just hit Info 2x, right above the Channel Up, and it's gone. Also I would like to see a clock with the channel info. Other than that--- NO COMPLAINTS!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hilble
Luck, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent price/features
2/24/2009

Customer review by MannyHD

5.0 stars 2/24/2009 by MannyHD
by MannyHD

I had been holding out for several years waiting for the price/performance to balance out a bit more. I had been looking at some other brands particularly Sony and Samsung, but for the price it was 720p for the same screen size and there was a considerable difference for one of those brands in this size with 1080p I finally saw this TV at another store right next to a Sony Bravia and could not tell the difference in quality. Both looked excellent. After digging around the Phillips web site I made up my mind to get this one. It arrived within a couple of weeks of placing the order and the box was intact unlike some of the horror stories I 've heard from others. plugged it in, turned it on, ran the setup and voila! Great TV!. I have comast and when I ran the autosetup it found around 30HD channels. Only a few could be considered premium but the quality is still breathtaking. I have a PS2, Wii, HTPC and PS3 hooked up to it and they all look great. The PS3 games have shown the most noticeable improvement over a standard 35" I had it connected to. My HTPC sure looks a lot better since the video card also supports HDMI. Connectors include 4 HDMI, 2 Component, 2 Composite, 2 S-Video, 1 Headphone Mic and a USB port. You can plug in your flash drive and watch pictures or listen to music with it. A big plus is that it has an SPDIF plug so I can connect it to my surround receiver instead of the mess I had before of having to have every device plugged into the receiver first. Best of all if the source is Dolby Digital 5.1 it will pass it through unlike some other TVs that have SPDIF out but downmix it to stereo. The sound is OK for TV speakers but definitely weaker than my old tube TV. That's ok for regular TV viewing but for movies or games I turn on the receiver, not a must but definitely enhances the experience. My only complaints are that when you channel surf there are channel info boxes that cover up the top and the left center of the screen and there is no way to turn it off. I have been to Phillips' site and it seems this is a big comlpaint since it was pretty high up the FAQ but their answer was that it was a normal TV function and could not be turned off. A glimmer of hope is that since the TV firmwaer is upgradeable via the USB port maybe they'll come to their senses and eventually add an option to turn off that feature. My only other complaint is that the remote is very simple, which I like, but rather clumsy in button design and small for my taste. I am used to remotes with the Vol + and - on the right and channel up/down on the left which causes me to change channels when I try to control the volume. Just have to get used to it. Overall an excellent purchase that won't break the bank. I would but another one tomorrow. Just make sure to get the extended warranty...just in case.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MannyHD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW! GET THIS LCD!
3/18/2009

Customer review by nicknick81

5.0 stars 3/18/2009 by nicknick81
by nicknick81

Well....after months of looking online for tvs i saw this one. For the price NO other tv comes even close to matching with specs as this one has. Around this price range limited my choices to Philips, Sanyo, Vizio, Insignia, Dynex, Sylvania, etc. I narrowed it down to either the Philips or Sanyo. I went with Philips and have not looked back. I cant believe what i see picture wise when i turn on my tv. on HD broadcasts the picture is just amazing. i can see things on people i have never seen before; like their pupils. I do have my contrast turned down to about 65 and i believe that made the picture look even better. I also have a Vizio 32 inch LCD tv which i love as well but it just does not compare to philips's picture quality. I have a pioneer dvd player that outputs 1080p and observing it connected through my Vizio and Philips via HDMI, the Philips wins because it seems as if it smoothed out jagged edges in some spots. The sound is also quite good for the speakers size and shape although i'm a bass man and love my bass...there could be a tad more bass output; but its fine for me. I got th is tv for 798 and i see it now jumped back to the 898 price. I would get this tv while its still availible. You WONT be dissapointed. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicknick81
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV but some problems
2/17/2009

Customer review by UNLUCKY183

1.0 stars 2/17/2009 by UNLUCKY183
by UNLUCKY183

Had the TV for 2 day's which the picture and everything was great but on the second day of watching it stopped working. I suppose it was just a bad batch; just hope it'll get fixed soon. Philips is however works well with the costumers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UNLUCKY183
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Product
1/13/2009

Customer review by Hanwu

2.0 stars 1/13/2009 by Hanwu
by Hanwu

I bought this TV online after spending almost 2 weeks researching and reading lots of reviews from Walmart.com .I thought i had a good TV but then it went bad after a month , the color was kinda blurry even with HD channels. Sometimes it went dark and then very bright after few seconds . Last night , the speakers went all static . i had to restart the TV quite a few times to get it working normally again . At first i thought that happened because of my HD receiver or the, i hooked that up to my Samsung LCD tv but everything was working fine . It has happened again twice this morning with the Philips TV . Im gonna have to return this TV .

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hanwu
Garden Grove , CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad experience
12/29/2008

Customer review by cvw606

1.0 stars 12/29/2008 by cvw606
by cvw606

I purchased this same Philips HDTV and after 16 months the motherboard burned up. Of course it is out of warrantee and I did some research and learned that this model Philips is prone to this very failure and that Philips apparently is aware of it. Don't buy this item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cvw606
Saugerties, NY`
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NO REMOTE
2/28/2009

Customer review by MEHUEY

1.0 stars 2/28/2009 by MEHUEY
by MEHUEY

THIS IS THE 3RD TIME H HAVE COMMENTED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE TV CAME WITH A NON-FUNCTIONING REMOTE. THE TV WHEN PLUGGED IN, A SCREEN APPEARS TO PROMPT THE USER TO PRESS THE GREEN BUTTON ON THE REMOTE TO CONTINUE SET UP. HOWEVER, THE REMOTE DOESNT FUNCTION AT ALL. WE HAVE CHANGED BATTERIES, TALKED TO A PHILLIPS CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY SAID 20 PLUS DAYS TO RECIEVE ANOTHER REMOTE. THAT IS UNEXCEPTABLE . I PURCHACED THE TV OVER TWO WEEKS AGO. I CAN NOT USE IT STILL. IF I KNEW THEN WHAT I KNOW NOW, I DEFINITLY WOULD HAVE PURCHASED ANOTHER BRAND.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEHUEY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't even bother
1/27/2009

Customer review by darkdutchess04

1.0 stars 1/27/2009 by darkdutchess04
by darkdutchess04

If you want a good trouble free television, then this is NOT the tv you want. I got mine from Walmart on November 6th and almost immediately began having problems with the sound. I've called Philips probably 300 times since then (I'm not exagerating), and in the process I've had it "fixed" and ended up with a "new" tv. The repair job fixed the sound problem, which was a loud fuzz sound at random times, but created a new problem.... dark screen. The guy who came and fixed it said there was nothing wrong with the screen and that I should call someone else to fix it. I persisted and that's where the "new" tv comes in. I finally got Philips to agree to send me a new tv, but instead it was a piece of junk refurb, with scratches on the screen and the frame... and it does the same exact thing the other one did with the fuzz. So, after many many more calls, I am FINALLY getting a brand new television from Philips, and if this doesn't work I've been promised a refund. So if you want a good tv get a samsung or a sony, I would have done that had I known what problems I would be having with this one. I am one very unsatisifed customer, and there's no reason for you to be too. Heed my warning and look for quality not price, go for a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darkdutchess04
Manhattan, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Philips doesn't back their products
11/13/2008

Customer review by chrismu

1.0 stars 11/13/2008 by chrismu
by chrismu

do not recommend this product........ we bought a 52" plasma tv. !!! it broke before it was one year in use. Had a horrible time trying to get it fixed the first time... the company doesn't back the product and wouldn't offer a longer warranty. then again it broke... never been moved but the screen went out and costs more to replace than buying another tv. do not go with philips.... !!! we have been informed that philips used to be magnavox .... so just a change of name .... parts aren't available either

Was this review helpful? (1) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrismu
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best buy for the buck
12/7/2008

Customer review by kojack1956

5.0 stars 12/7/2008 by kojack1956
by kojack1956

had this tv for a week now and i have nothing bad to say, pic. 10 +, sound 10 +,no probs. with this tv at all, well worth the buy for the buck. i have to rate this tv a 10 + its right up there with sony but not the price. i did buy this set at Sams club $1.00 cheaper at wallmart big deal wallmart didnt have it in stock same owner sams didnt have a spot to review product so i came here to review. thats all i have to say if your looking for a 42" tv this one is well worth taking a look at. i will be able to rate his tv as time goes on so far so good love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kojack1956
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this TV
2/11/2009

Customer review by Pammy1964

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by Pammy1964
by Pammy1964

I read the reviews before I purchased this TV. I have not had a minutes trouble with it. I even bought a stand from Wal-Mart to put it on. So, I didn't have to hang it on the wall. I know some reviews have said that the sound is not that good. But I have not noticed it being bad at all. I really have enjoyed this TV. I had a 19" before this one and the over all out come was not disappointing at all. I say if you are looking for a good TV at a good price, just go for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pammy1964
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Choice
2/11/2009

Customer review by catffish

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by catffish
by catffish

I did some reseach on several TVs, and this one was the best quality at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catffish
Odenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good Tv, great price
2/9/2009

Customer review by Newman1337

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by Newman1337
by Newman1337

I'm writing this review because, like you, I've been searching for a well made TV that's reasonably priced. First off, let me tell you the pros of this TV. The picture is absolutely stunning. When I first hooked it up out of the box I didn't have HD so I was beginning to worry but I popped in a Blu-ray of Eagle Eye and was completely blown away. The detail of this television is amazing. Using HDMI and my PS3, the picture couldn't have been any sharper at 1080p. Bottom line; to fully appreciate this TV you MUST have HD. The sound is well above average and much better then my old tube TV. People shouldn't expect to get a surround sound through their TV. The quality is good and I haven't experienced any loss of quality of it. Only thing missing is the optical connection, but HDMI suffices easily. Bottom line; This TVs sound will do, but invest in a decent system to fully enjoy the experience. The features are great and plentiful. A mass of HDMI slots (description says 3, I counted 4, only have 1 hooked up right now.) 2 or 3 composite connectors (Red,yellow,white) for your old DVD players and such. A side inlet for easy hook up of your video recorder. A computer connector so you can surf the web on it. And a USB slot to enjoy things off your iPOD and such. (haven't used it yet, but says it can play .mp3 music and .mpeg videos) which is a nice add-on. The tv also has a Coxxial audio out-put to connect with home theater systems, would've been nice to see HDMI or optical but you won't miss it. Sadly there is no video out-put as seems to be the new way to make TVs now-a-days. Also, the remote isn't the greatest, but it does it's job. While it's missing some features like PNP, it shouldn't be a deal breaker for most.Bottom line; This TV can accommodate many different types of connections, and also supports audio out-put. Invest in a new remote, or see if you can use your DVRs. As far as meeting expectations, I am completely satisfied with it. The amount you get for you money is a very refreshing thing. At $795 this TV is a must have for anyone looking for great value and a great TV. It's very easy to set-up, and very user friendly. Overall this TV is well worth the sticker price and will leave you gasping for air when you see Blu-Ray movies in HD. For the price, you can't find a better TV. All in all this TV is a great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newman1337
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV Great Price
2/10/2009

Customer review by parispoorboy

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by parispoorboy
by parispoorboy

Having just recently purchased this TV 3 days ago, I donthave alot of insight yet. The First thing that Caught my Eye was the Price after doing some research I also learned the the 29000:1 Contrast Ratio Was better than even some Samsungs! having previously Ownwed a 50 Inch Samsung 720p Plasma The Difference in Picture blew me away this TV is Awesome the sound is Ok not great but to be expected from such a slim speaker come on people. My XBox 360 Games look Amazing and the HD Programming is Great also. I highly Recommend this TV dont let the PRice Fool you this TV has as good a Picture as Some 3x tthe Price that I looked at. Great Job Phillips

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
parispoorboy
Paris. Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great TV
2/10/2009

Customer review by PackingHeat

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by PackingHeat
by PackingHeat

This is a great TV with a great picture. Recommeded

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PackingHeat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Super Buy Great Product
2/11/2009

Customer review by KodakCam1

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by KodakCam1
by KodakCam1

I already have a Philips 47" which we love, I checked out Consumer report and that TV was rated quite good, in looking for a 42" I didn't see a review but bought it strictly on how much I liked my 47". I was not disapointed, this one set up even easier than my 47" and looks sleek and stylish and picture is crisp and clear. Also Philips are rated one of the best for sound, and this one is no exception, we never use our surround system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KodakCam1
Reedsburg WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
love it!
1/5/2009

Customer review by huckaberry

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by huckaberry
by huckaberry

I love this television! Then again I upgraded from a 36" regular tube tv. We love it! There are plenty of places to connect all of our components and consoles. The picture is excellent, especially if you have HD programming. DVDs don't come across any better unless you have a blu-ray player. A very good value for our money though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huckaberry
Ludowici, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews