Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 173 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
Great TV for the LOW Price!
2/4/2009

Customer review by MustangChick

5.0 stars 2/4/2009 by MustangChick
by MustangChick

I purchased this tv 1-30-09 At walmart. I had been shopping around for the past month looking at several tvs. This one was by far the best! Im Very pleased with it. I was going to go for a 32" But im SO glad i went with a 42" It makes any room look wonderful!! The picture it amazing, Although i do not have HD, it still looks great! The only thing is the Sound, Some channels or commercials you hear a buzz sound, you can minimize it with the volume control. But i recommend a surround sound, Im am looking around for a good deal for one now. But yet something small that can be fixed. OVERALL A GREAT DEAL!!! MUST GET FOR THE PRICE!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MustangChick
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great picture for the money
2/3/2009

Customer review by Gamo

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by Gamo
by Gamo

Owned the Philips for several weeks and have enjoyed the product without any problems. Picture quality rivals that of the best from Sony, Panasonic, Samsung, and Visio for black and color rendition. The high contrast ratio on this Philips accounts for the deep blacks and colors that it can produce. Easy to set up with its built-in set up guide. Can be fine tuned easily by the user as well. But if you are a fast action sports fan, then probably the Philips is not for you or any LCD TV for that matter. Even though the refresh rate is 5ms, fast sports action still has that pixelated, blurred effect that you just don't see on a plasma or DLP TV. Performance at the 1080p level is superb. Colors are rich, details are sharp and you can easily see the fine details on the actor's face during their closeups. This TV consumes very little electricity when in power saver mode, only 60-65 watts when measured with my Kill-A-Watt meter. Compared to similar sized plasma TVs, I measured a 42" Samsung plasma which consumed 375 watts for comparison. As others have noted, the sound is probably the weakest point on this TV. That is due to the default settings it uses on Standard mode with the Incredible Surround turned on. Once this surround mode is turned off, then dialog can be easily heard over the background sound. Another area to watch out for is that the connectors are all on the back of the TV. If you decide to wall mount, plan to provide enough room for you to get to the connectors in the back. One nice feature of the Philips is the USB connector to display pictures in a slideshow presentation. One glaring omission is the lack of a VGA connector for you to plug your computer into to display images and documents with the Philips. Overall, I have been very pleased with the picture quality, features and performance of the Philips. You will be hard pressed to find a better LCD TV at this price that will match the picture and features that this Philips LCD offers. Highly recommended for those looking to spend well less than $1000 on a new HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamo
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great television
3/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

well a couple of days after new years of 09 i purchased this same exact t.v. but smaller. i purchased a 19inch t.v. set. it is now about 2 months after i've made my purchase and im verey happy about it . i payed a little over $300. about $317 or $320. i have not had any problems with my television set. in fact every1 in my family asks if they can watch t.v. in my room. the picture is amazing i have a old t.v. and then the new 1 i pulged them both in and you can see the difference and the volume is amzaing crystal clear.!!! now the image that i've uploaded might look bad but its because i took a picture with my cell phone camera but trust me the image quality is amazing and same with the volume and how it looks its also very thin not thick.. now im 12 but this t.v. is somethin 2 save 4 i used all of my birthday and christmas money and other moneyas well !!! this t.v. is somethin 2 save 4 its worth it .!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
newjersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Buy It
10/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did extensive research for months. I saw every TV on the planet. I know all the tech stuff on LCDs and plasmas now. This TV, for the price, blew me away. The picture, if set up correctly at the store, looks as good as sony. There is nothing better for the price. If you see something for a little less, pay a bit more for this one. Philips measures their contrast ratio differently so you cannot compare that with other LCDs. However, that is the real difference. Black blacks and white whites. You can see it. I'm looking at it right now (DirecTV) and I am still, after 5 months, in awe of the picture quality. My friends all have LCDs but my house has become the place to be on Saturdays (for football and the TV, not me). Good sound, not great. Easy, easy setup (my 10 year old did it, I just watched and I didn't have to correct him once). Don't hesitate, buy it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nebraska Ciyt, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV!
11/20/2008

Customer review by djberlin

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by djberlin
by djberlin

This is a great TV so far, and I am very happy with it. The picture quality is AWESOME when using it as intended (1080p / Blu-Ray etc.). Warning! - If this is your first HDTV, don't be surprised if the picture looks awful when viewing non-HD content; all HDTVs are like that. The problem is the source/video, and not the TV. Regular cable only broadcasts about a 1/3 of the pixels required to fill the screen. Plus, the bigger the screen the more emphasis there is on each pixel - making it appear snowy. Be prepared to want Hi-Def from either your cable provider or satellite company when buying an HDTV. Another trick is to buy a DVD/Blu-ray player with an up-converter. This will make regular DVDs look much better. It does this by digitally converting their resolution up to 1080p by filling in the missing pixels, making for a much cleaner picture - simulated 1080p. The sound system is like most stereo TVs; the quality is good enough for everyday watching, but there is nothing mind blowing about it. But, no matter what TV you buy you will need a sound system to go with it if you want the full experience. The only thing I'm disappointed about are some of the on-screen programmable options. Probably the biggest thing is the channel info. It takes up half the screen when clicking though channels, and you apparently cannot disable it. Nothing major, I just rather see video content when I'm flipping through channels instead of channel info. This TV is also fully upgradable - meaning they can add new features or change settings with new software. Hint...hint....option to turn off channel info screen please! There is also 120hz (2ms) version of this TV for about $400 more. Not really worth it, unless you have money to burn. I have not seen any bleeding, ripping or tearing to warrant spending the extra cash on a reduction in response time. 5ms seems to be plenty fast enough when rendering pretty much any picture.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djberlin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value/Transaction
11/12/2008

Customer review by PineTarSplinter

4.0 stars 11/12/2008 by PineTarSplinter
by PineTarSplinter

I have been very pleased with this LCD TV. I have a 32" 720p that is in my bedroom that I had purchased about 6 months ago and wanted to purchase a bigger screen for our family room. The picture quality is excellent. It is pretty easy to set custom settings for picture, sound and some features using the remote control. I have the TV connected to my external source (Dish Network Hi-Def Receiver) via HMDI cable. Other reviews indicate that you should not be able to tell a lot of difference in picture clarity between the 720p and the 1080p with a 42" picture size. In my estimation, however, I believe the picture is about 15% to 20 % better than my smaller set, a noticable improvement. The sound, while not bad, is not as full as it could be from the set speakers. This could be remedied by running the sound thru a home theater system. In summary, this is a solid choice at a solid price. It was handled via Wal-Mart's "Store to Store" shipping and pick up which went without a hitch. Thanks, Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PineTarSplinter
Shawnee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pillips 42 LCD Rocks!!
10/20/2008

Customer review by Dawg1

5.0 stars 10/20/2008 by Dawg1
by Dawg1

My wife and I just bought this LCD for our living room and it is out of this world, even without HDMI hooked up yet, the picture is very good. We hooked it to our PS3 HDMI and it's mind-blowing, the games and Blue Ray movies feel like their coming out of the screen. We think it had a better picture than the Sony in the store. Walmart is selling alot of these, because we had to call 9 differnt store before we found one that wasn't sold out! We almost bought the Sylvania 42 and were looking at the RCA 42 for less money but we are so glad we spent alittle more money and got the Phillps, there is no comparison, 5ms response rate and 29000:1 contrast you can't go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawg1
Social Circle, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/14/2008

Customer review by Hilble

5.0 stars 10/14/2008 by Hilble
by Hilble

I was skeptical to buy this without any reviews. But a friend from work also suggested it without even knowing I was looking at it, so I went with it. Setting it up, from 1st opening the box to watching tv, maybe took 10 minutes. The hardest part? Deciding which picture quality I preferred. This tv was well worth the money and I'm so glad I bought it. Now I have something else to keep me from sleeping. If you want a perfect picture and perfect sound...here's your investment! The only downsides? When changing channels, the Info screen pops up for a few seconds. Just hit Info 2x, right above the Channel Up, and it's gone. Also I would like to see a clock with the channel info. Other than that--- NO COMPLAINTS!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hilble
Luck, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hard to find
2/23/2009

Customer review by gerrybeth74

4.0 stars 2/23/2009 by gerrybeth74
by gerrybeth74

I researched a lot of TVs. I also went in store and compared. When I saw the picture on this one I couldn't believe the difference. I calld 8 different stores and none of them had it in stock. I finally spoke with someone at a smaller non Supercenter who offered to sell me the display. Unfortunately not at a discount. So far everything has been great except for the sound. Our surround system is a couple of years old and there are no RCA connections for it on the TV. It needs an SPDIF cable which I have only been able to find on-line. I did however find out from the Q&A section that you can connect with an RCA to mini cord. It's the cord that is actually for an IPod. It sounds pretty good. HD through the XBox 360 is awesome. Non HD channels are not so great. But, I understand that is the norm. Overall it's a good deal I think. But, the sound situation is not so great. You'll love the picture though. Good TV if you can find it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gerrybeth74
Batesville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV So Far
1/2/2009

Customer review by TexasRealtor

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by TexasRealtor
by TexasRealtor

I searched for several weeks for a 42 inch Flat-Panel and the Phillips 1080p LCD was the best deal. The initial set up was much easier than my first Sanyo HDTV. The Philips has you compare a series of pictures and choose the best one, and then adjusts your settings for you. The picture with the Blue-Ray player on my daughter's PS3 is incredible. The first scene on the BR "Dark Knight" was breathtaking. The sound is pretty good at 20 watts. You have to go and adjust the equalizer however, because the factory sound settings are horrible. I wonder if all the negative reviews on the sound have tried this adjustment. If this is your first HDTV, don't forget to get a couple of HDMI cables. And don't go to Best Buy for your HDMI cables, as the cheapest one there is $60. I bought a couple of Philips 1080p HDMI cables at Wal-Mart for $35 each. They work great. Overall, I am completely pleased with this TV. Great buy at $798.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasRealtor
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great television
2/14/2009

Customer review by shotpaw

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by shotpaw
by shotpaw

I purchased this tv early December 2008. I purchased for several reasons. one reason was that it was advertized as having a contrast ratio of 29,000 to 1. That seemed like it would be better than other tv's listed as having 1500 to 1. The Price was a big factor. At $798.00 it seemed like a good value for a 42" screen. The floor model I saw at walmart just seemed to have a better picture than most others....although the Sony was a close 2nd if not equal. The tv was so sharp and clear when we first hooked it up to a HD signal that we all said that it was actually wierd to be able to see that clear. We suddenly realized that a program about grasshoppers held our attention because of the clarity. Just incredible. I would recommend this tv to anyone. want a bigger picture? You dont need it....if this isnt good enough for you then nothing will be..... just triple AAA fantastic. Buy it. buy it. buy it. buy it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shotpaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Impressive
12/31/2008

Customer review by SomeGuyOffTheStreet

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by SomeGuyOffTheStreet
by SomeGuyOffTheStreet

My first HDTV purchase was from an offbrand manufacturer that turned out to be a major disappointment, so I was very careful to shop around before buying this unit. The reviews were all very solid and I have always had favorable experiences with Philips in the past, so I took the plunge. I have had the unit for about a month now and am very happy with the purchase. Setting it up was very easy. We had to play around with a few settings to optimize the picture quality, but the result was well worth it. It plays nice with our universal remote. Speakers aren't the world's best but they are adequate for TV (we use a home theater system for DVD audio). High Def looks great on this unit, regular TV can sometimes come out looking a little grainy but nothing terrible. I learned my lesson with the first botched purchase. It pays to go with a name brand you trust and I have been very satisfied with this Philips HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomeGuyOffTheStreet
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/1/2008

Customer review by lowtechguy

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by lowtechguy
by lowtechguy

I don't usually spend time writing comments on websites, but I thoroughly recommend this TV, a great deal for the price. First-time setup was a breeze with the on-screen assistant, and other settings were easy to figure out just by exploring the buttons on the remote (I read the Quick-start pamphlet, but haven't bothered yet with the full manual). The picture is great, and all I have is a roof-top antenna which I already knew got a decent digital signal (the other TVs in the house are analog with digital converter box). Image holds up well when viewed at an angle (as good as any 42 inch LCD that I looked at in the store). The stationary base (included) is nice and solid. I also picked this one because according to Consumer Reports, the Philps LCDs consistently rate with a very good pack of manufacturers. Sound coming from this TV is also very good. Don't forget to pick up a good surge suppressor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lowtechguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This was the winner
1/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This TV was the winner after researching TV's for two months. This was our first LCD TV purchase, so I wanted to make an informed decision. Believe me when I say that I researched many TV's. I read reviews, asked other TV purchasers, compared prices and researched consumer reports. Although Philips was not recommended in the top five LCD TV brands, I took a chance on it. IT PAID OFF. The picture quality is fantastic and the sound quality is normal. It isn't bad, but it also isn't above average. I also looked at the step above this TV: the Philips LCD 120 Hz instead of 60 Hz. The money difference was not worth it. Also, from what I read, there were several kinks that had not been worked out, such as overheating. I am very happy with this purchase and the Philips brand should be in the top five. This is a great deal and I would recommend this TV to anyone wanting a great TV for a low price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!
12/27/2008

Customer review by JaxPPQO

4.0 stars 12/27/2008 by JaxPPQO
by JaxPPQO

This TV is just awesome. I bought it just after reading some of the other reviews and was worried I should have seen it working first. My worries went away as soon as I plugged it in. The colors are vibrant, the HD image is perfect and the sound is as good or better than most others I have seen since. After I bought it I saw it next to other TVs, including a Vizio plasma of the same size and comparable specs, and the Phillips looked even better. And I wasn't the only one who thought so; people who were looking at both side to side also remarked the same thing! There is, however, one drawback. In non-HD programming it shows a fair ammount of pixelation (smearing) of the image. If you can't live that down, buy a comparable Samsung or Vizio, as they show less pixelation. Otherwise, If you want a TV that looks as good or in some areas even better AND is cheaper, this should be your next TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaxPPQO
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW! GET THIS LCD!
3/18/2009

Customer review by nicknick81

5.0 stars 3/18/2009 by nicknick81
by nicknick81

Well....after months of looking online for tvs i saw this one. For the price NO other tv comes even close to matching with specs as this one has. Around this price range limited my choices to Philips, Sanyo, Vizio, Insignia, Dynex, Sylvania, etc. I narrowed it down to either the Philips or Sanyo. I went with Philips and have not looked back. I cant believe what i see picture wise when i turn on my tv. on HD broadcasts the picture is just amazing. i can see things on people i have never seen before; like their pupils. I do have my contrast turned down to about 65 and i believe that made the picture look even better. I also have a Vizio 32 inch LCD tv which i love as well but it just does not compare to philips's picture quality. I have a pioneer dvd player that outputs 1080p and observing it connected through my Vizio and Philips via HDMI, the Philips wins because it seems as if it smoothed out jagged edges in some spots. The sound is also quite good for the speakers size and shape although i'm a bass man and love my bass...there could be a tad more bass output; but its fine for me. I got th is tv for 798 and i see it now jumped back to the 898 price. I would get this tv while its still availible. You WONT be dissapointed. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicknick81
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/28/2008

Customer review by Parachutes

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by Parachutes
by Parachutes

I replaced a 42" Plasma TV that had gone out with this 42" LCD 42PFL3603D/F7, the picture quality of this Philips LCD TV is really nice, its not as bright as the plasma but its dont get as hot as the plasma did and its easyer on watts power, The plasma had great speaker sound and more hook ups (in-puts and out puts for computer VGA, subwoofer out put, stereo TV sound out, This Philips TV still has a nice piture and the dimmer LCD seems OK even in the day light, it has more HDMI inputs (4) no computer hook ups or TV sound out puts, and small speakers with bad sound, i use the sound off my Dolby 5.1 Amp and then its all OK, But all in all the price that I payed for the plasma was 2 times the price that I payed for this Philips TV making it a great buy for a 1080p TV , I'm hoping this LCD will last longer than the plasma did (3.5 yrs) they tell me it should, time will tell :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Parachutes
Mandan North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PICTURE!!!GREAT PRICE!!!EXCELLENT VALUE!!!!
2/27/2009

Customer review by Ron66

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by Ron66
by Ron66

We purchased this tv 2 weeks ago, and love it. We were going to get a Samsung, but couldnt find one, all stores were sold out because of holidays and superbowl. We saw the Philips and decided to try it at home (We would take it back if we didnt like it). Picture is great!!!! We dont even have HD yet, just regular Sat-Dish. Instalation was fast and easy. Everything hooked up in 10 minutes. Dont have Blu-ray yet, but Dvd picture is great. Sound quality could be better, but we are going to hook up surround sound anyway. Stand doesnt swivel, that would have been nice but no big deal. TV is upgradeable!!!! Nice feature. Over all one great TV. Cant beat the price. 42" for 40" price!!! Would Definately buy it again and have recomended it to friends and family. Cheaper than the Sony and Samsung, Picture just as good!!!! Cant wait to see Blu-Ray and surround sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron66
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good value
2/28/2009

Customer review by nek1555

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by nek1555
by nek1555

I love the crisp clear picture on HD channels. I feel that 1080p is necessary for a TV this size. Unfortunately, cable tends to compress their HD channels. The reason for my less than excellent ratings in some categories is: There is a lighter area on in the top left corner of the screen. It is only noticeable when there is a dark picture on screen. As in almost all LCD's, the blacks are not perfect black. I was expecting that. I do not have any sound systems connected to the TV, I only use the built-in speakers. I am happy with the sound, but know it could be much better with a proper sound system. I am happy with the simple menu layout, it was quick and easy to set all my preferences within a short time after turning the TV on for the first time. I have my cable box and a blu-ray player plugged into the set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nek1555
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get It While You Can!!!
12/19/2008

Customer review by TTokyo

5.0 stars 12/19/2008 by TTokyo
by TTokyo

Like other's I have searched far and wide for the perfect HD, I knew I wanted a 42in, and I knew that it needed to display in native 1080p. My search brought me to this t.v., after looking and comparing all the specs with other T.V.'s I've seen, this was the winner. So I started searching stores around my area, and wouldn't you know, they were all sold out! But I called a walmart 40 mins away in the next State and they had it. You better believe I drove all the way to get it. Bought it, Brought it Home, Hooked it up, Fell In Love. Go get this T.v. By the way. My Ps3 looks superb on it with Full RGB turned on, outputting at 1080p. As for the sound, I have a Sony surround sound with HDMI inputs, so the sound is lovely, and for those people complaining about sound, get a surround sound, seriously.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TTokyo
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews