Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 40 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
This lock did everything it promised.
10/3/2012

Customer review by Bikeman609

4.0 stars 10/3/2012 by Bikeman609
by Bikeman609

I had my bike locked up overnight at a bus station. The next morning I arrived at the bus station to see that someone tried to steal my bike. They cut off my one lock very easily, but they could not break the Kryptonite U-lock. They bashed the lock with a brick, scratching and even denting the bike. The lock was so unusable after the incident, but my bike was not stolen. I am going right back to Walmart and buying the same lock. It is also important to know how to correctly lock a bike up which you can find out online. I would recommend this lock to anybody with a bike.

Was this review helpful? (88) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikeman609
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Warranty
1/27/2009

Customer review by Tijerina

1.0 stars 1/27/2009 by Tijerina
by Tijerina

The lock is name brand but to utilizing the $750 insurance is almost impossible. There are too many conditions to meet. My bicycle was just stolen and there was no remains of my old lock. One of the conditions of the warranty is to send the pieces of the old lock which I wouldn't have had. They are very misleading. When said and done, It would cost well over $50 to utilize the warranty and one would only collect if all the conditions were met. Hopefully the name on the lock will be enough deterant for potential bike thieves.

Was this review helpful? (87) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tijerina
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent
9/20/2009

Customer review by aajjens

5.0 stars 9/20/2009 by aajjens
by aajjens

~It's a u lock which is the only way to go, anything else will get your bike stolen. ~It's made from Kryptonite, a brand that has been the leader in bike locks since the beginning i believe. ~It's very durable ~I've had it for around 3 months and it's still working great ~it comes with a little clipping system for your bike. it just snaps right in ~for the price it's great, if you have a 2000 dollar bike then you'll want to get a 80 dollar kryptonite lock

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aajjens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a cheap Kryptonite
9/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Summary: This is not a top-quality lock, but Walmart has an amazing price The good: #1: U-Locks are the best locks for bicycles. #2: Kryptonite is the best name for a bicycle lock. The bad: This is the cheapest, chintziest Kryptonite lock I have ever seen. It is still good, but not as spectacular as Kryptonite's usual standards. I bought it anyway because the price is unbeatable anywhere, and it will be good enough for me. The details: The best thing about this lock is that it says Kryptonite on it. With locks, you are not just getting protection from someone working to steal your bike. You are also getting the image of security. When your lock says Kryptonite on it, it gives the impression that your bike is secured with a serious heavy-duty Kryptonite lock, and that impression is very important. That impression keeps thieves from even bothering to try to steal your bike. To me, that is more important than the actual security of making the bike difficult to steal. For image, this lock is good. I would like it better if the word Kryptonite were in bigger, clearer letters that didn't rub off with heavy use, like the better quality (and much more expensive) Kryptonite locks you can buy elsewhere. The quality of the lock itself is okay. It's not any better than Master or Bell or any of the other "good enough" locks out there. I have not had any trouble with the lock working properly. As other reviewers have said, the guarantee is worthless. Don't buy a lock for the guarantee. Buy a lock to get a lock. Another dumb thing: This lock, like may other Walmart products, is cheaper online than in the store (about $5 in this case) -- even though when you buy it online Walmart pays an employee to go pull it off the same retail shelf where I looked at it in the store, then move it to the back of the store to wait for me to come back, then go get it from there to bring it to me. It seems like a pretty dumb system if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my U-Lock!
2/8/2009

Customer review by salesboost

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by salesboost
by salesboost

Great product. Easy to use. Heavy, but secure.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salesboost
Anthem, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very good
3/30/2009

Customer review by RubberMoose

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by RubberMoose
by RubberMoose

i just bought it a while ago. . .just thought i would read the reviews, but it seems like a good lock, i was looking for that ajustible junior lock that looks similar to this one but it appears they sold out, but i am content with this one seems fairly solid, just hope my bike doesnt get stolen like that other guys review haha, but useing it it really does do its intended job, keeps your bike from riding away without you haha! very good.

Was this review helpful? (25) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RubberMoose
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works
4/2/2014

Customer review by pititaria

4.0 stars 4/2/2014 by pititaria
by pititaria

Originally this lock was very loud (rattled a lot) until I discovered that there was a screw loose. I tightened it and then didn't have that problem any more. This seems to be a good lock. I've been riding my bike as my main source of transportation for about 18 months now and haven't had it stolen. As so many things, the fact that there is a U-lock attached properly is a deterrent to anybody trying to steal your bike. (that's because crooks know they work) I do agree that the hoops you have to jump through in order to use the $750 theft guarantee are stringent enough that most people probably won't bother so I wouldn't recommend that as a deciding factor in your purchase. I was involved in a car vs. bike accident last year and this lock came through that just fine (although the key in my pocket broke). Ironically, last month my bike fell over and broke the bracket that holds the lock in place. I plan on picking up a replacement of the same lock though because I have been impressed (and it's half the price of the other u-locks out there).

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pititaria
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent security for a low price
10/2/2014

Customer review by Hate2Pay4Parking

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Hate2Pay4Parking
by Hate2Pay4Parking

I worked at the 2014 Los Angles County Fair and had two bikes, a Trek 7.1 and a Cannondale M300, stolen on Labor Day and the following Weds. They were locked up at the bike rack at Gate 1 which is right in front of a ticket window and security screening entrance. I had 1/2"cable locks on both bikes and they were both cable locks were cut in front of all those people. I am a bike hoarder so I still had more bikes to ride to work. I got the Kryptonite U409 and I still have my bike. They advertise a $750 Anti-Theft Offer, but what they don't tell you is it costs extra from $10 - $30. for 1 to 3 years coverage. Kryptonite does offer a free replacement key if you register your key number with them. Great U-Lock size for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hate2Pay4Parking
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great protection at a great price!
8/29/2014

Customer review by DiamondbackOne

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by DiamondbackOne
by DiamondbackOne

I have been using this lock for two years now in a high theft city environment and am very pleased with it. It has worked flawlessly and the price is great. It is a "must have" compared to other U-locks at this price. 4" x 9" inches will go around most anything and, at 15mm thick, it is tough as nails... actually tougher!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiamondbackOne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for regular bike that is not too expensive.
7/19/2014

Customer review by pcma

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by pcma
by pcma

It worked just don't use it on your expensive bike. I use it along with another cable lock for the wheels to deter thieves.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pcma
pcma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
lock failed after 3 uses
8/5/2014

Customer review by d1234fdsafds

1.0 stars 8/5/2014 by d1234fdsafds
by d1234fdsafds

As other reviewers have noted, this U-409 lock seems to have a fatal flaw; after just a few uses the key no longer locks the lock. Hmmm... seems that is a fundamental requirement for a lock! Walmart should recall all of these. Bought mine just two days ago at the Quincy, MA store. Will try to return it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
d1234fdsafds
Quincy, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
product defective
7/13/2014

Customer review by othentic

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by othentic
by othentic

Well, I had to order this online as it was out of stock in my local store. So, I paid an additional $6 shipping, as I just got a new bike, don't want to lose it, and this seemed to have a great reputation. I used it two days, locking it a total of five or six times. Now it won't lock. The key goes in, but won't turn. I've had three friends all inspect it and the internal mechanism does seem clear of any obvious problems.I didn't save the shipping invoice so am hoping the return isn't too much of a headache. Do I risk replacing it with the same lock? Not sure. In the meantime I can't use my bike for running errands...

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
othentic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strong Lock
1/25/2015

Customer review by nelrome

5.0 stars 1/25/2015 by nelrome
by nelrome

When I brought this lock online I thought I was going to get a so so lock. I was impressed how strong this product is. Worth the price and use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nelrome
Bronx, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 500 contributor
Powerful, Reliable U-Lock for an Amazing Price!
6/26/2015

Customer review by Billy8585

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by Billy8585
by Billy8585

I'll keep this short and sweet. For the price, this Kryptonite lock from Walmart cannot be beat! Just the other day a would-be thief attempted to steal my bicycle. A neighbor saw him hammering on it with a mini-sledgehammer and ran him off. The lock was damaged, but it held strong, and I was able to keep my bike. Granted, I need a new lock now, but I immediately reordered this lock from Walmart. It has been proven reliable, and I would highly recommend this lock!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billy8585
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
So far so good
8/15/2015

Customer review by Helloisitmeyoulookingfor

5.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Helloisitmeyoulookingfor
by Helloisitmeyoulookingfor

It strong but sometime hard to put the key in

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Helloisitmeyoulookingfor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
How to return it
6/30/2015

Customer review by kathyatty

4.0 stars 6/30/2015 by kathyatty
by kathyatty

For those who had a problem [which is not good] -- if you have your receipt you can get a cash refund for up to 90days [90 days applies to all refunds listed here.] if no receipt if you have any packaging [they need the upc code] or can find the same item in the store, they will give you a debit card for the price, good any all walmarts.'' for those who order online, keep your invoice and you can return it for refund -- if you lose the invoice your account at walmart.com [see under "orders" i think] will have a coded return form for you to print out. no it shouldn't break as people have indicated but its a pretty good price and I think with the generous return policy worth the chance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathyatty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very well made lock.
7/19/2013

Customer review by kaitirawi

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by kaitirawi
by kaitirawi

bought the lock for my daughter's bike and se really likes it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaitirawi
naperville, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/21/2013

Customer review by blackjackboy

2.0 stars 7/21/2013 by blackjackboy
by blackjackboy

Avoid this lock. The locking mechanism broke after using it twice!! I don't know if this was just a fluke, but a lock isn't supposed to be damaged after using it twice.

Was this review helpful? (9) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackjackboy
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Key won't work anymore
6/24/2015

Customer review by Biker

1.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Biker
by Biker

Worked fine, for 1 month. The key won't open it. I have to try several times and it's even worse to close it. The previous lock I had went through 2 years of continuous use, rain, snow, and everything. This one lasted 1 month.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Safe Bike
1/21/2015

Customer review by steeds

5.0 stars 1/21/2015 by steeds
by steeds

Easy to use just lock the bike up and go when I get off the train my bike is still there hours later not to fear kryptonite here

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steeds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews