Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

12/18/2009

Customer review by sc928porsche

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by sc928porsche
by sc928porsche

The new Mitchell 300XE spinning reel is as good as the old 300 model with one exception. It does not have the quick change spool setup. With the addition of all the ball bearings, it is a lot smoother than the old one. Ballance is the same and lends itself to a light to medium rod quite well. Cast and retreve are flawless as usual with this top of the line product. My old 300 finally wore out the bushings and parts are almost non exhistant. That reel was purchaced in 1960 I expect the same service from the new one as I recieved from the old as most of the design and materials are the same with the exception of the bushings being replaced with ball bearings.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sc928porsche
Chancellor, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Solid Reel
3/20/2009

Customer review by Zbobg

5.0 stars 3/20/2009 by Zbobg
by Zbobg

I recently bought this reel because of it's solid construction when compared to other reels in the price range. From what I can tell there are no plastic components and the drag, anti-reverse, and bail functions are smooth and fluid. I have yet to test the durability as I have not yet fished with the reel, but so far I am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zbobg
Chevy Chase, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
12/13/2009

Customer review by rd40

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by rd40
by rd40

I LOVE MITCHELL PRODUCTS!!! They never failed me. I was going to buy a very expensive reel and change brands,when i found out they dicontinued spidercast,presision reels i was dissapointed. Until i started reading the reviews about the 300 series. I thought why not try it. Never purchased the 300 series. Well im very happy i purchased it. Very smooth and great price. I just purchased another!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rd40
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/23/2012

Customer review by Soitis

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Soitis
by Soitis

Just bought this 300XE after owning Mitchell 300's for years. This 300XE is even better than the older 300 if it will last half as long I will be satisfied. First time out was flawless. Love the smooth operation of the bearings!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soitis
47170
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/25/2012

Customer review by Mattw85

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Mattw85
by Mattw85

I've had the reel for three weeks and cought ten fish everything from 2 pound bass to 10 pound catfish and it worked perfectly

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mattw85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
basic good reel but
6/6/2012

Customer review by towheadmo

2.0 stars 6/6/2012 by towheadmo
by towheadmo

when starting to reel in it hangs up and takes amount of force to get the bail to close and start the retrieve

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
towheadmo
Bonne Terre, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
freshwater only
5/15/2015

Customer review by mitchell101

4.0 stars 5/15/2015 by mitchell101
by mitchell101

Great reel for all freshwater fishing. smooth and reliable. Really good looking reel, just don't get it near any saltwater as the bearings inside are like magnets to corrosion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mitchell101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes