Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 653 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

653 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

653 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
381
4 stars
153
3 stars
34
2 stars
23
1 stars
62
1-20 of 599 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 599 total reviews
1-20 of 599 reviews
Great Value
9/9/2010

Customer review by SuperPickyBuyer

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by SuperPickyBuyer
by SuperPickyBuyer

I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums). The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine. I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth. Pro's: -Attractive -Great attachments -Strong suction from the hose -Love the 'dirt finder' feature -Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet -Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!) -Self-propel can be turned off -Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors -Great value!

Was this review helpful? (226) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperPickyBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great product
2/16/2009

Customer review by HatetoVacumn

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by HatetoVacumn
by HatetoVacumn

I ordered on-line and it came well packaged and just nothing to putting it together. It does everything they say it will do and is so easy to use with the self propelled feature. All the controls are easy to use and the cleaning on heavy carpet and hard floors both is excellent. If I really wanted to nit-pic, I might wish for a retractable cord, but I am so pleased I can't even complain about that. The bag is simple and easy to change. I had a bagless before and hated it.

Was this review helpful? (140) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HatetoVacumn
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great product
6/19/2009

Customer review by LoveMyHoover

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by LoveMyHoover
by LoveMyHoover

Our last Hoover finally died after 12 years, so we bought another one. We are thrilled with this machine! The suction is great and finishes the job in half the time of our old one. We would certainly recommend it to those with pets as it does a great job with the pet hair!! :)

Was this review helpful? (216) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyHoover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Performance
12/23/2008

Customer review by MomOf3LovesWalmart

4.0 stars 12/23/2008 by MomOf3LovesWalmart
by MomOf3LovesWalmart

I bought this to replace my old Hoover Wind Tunnel that I had for 8 years because it was losing suction power. I really liked the old one and was contemplating buying a dyson or another windtunnel. The price is what kept me from buying the dyson (maybe I'll get it in another 8 years!). The vacum was so easy to put together. All you have to do is screw in the handle and you are ready to go. The attachments work great and are easily accessed. It also works great on hardwood and tile floors. I use the vacum daily and it gets everything up including little strings and cat hair.

Was this review helpful? (85) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOf3LovesWalmart
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Buy by Consumer Report
5/27/2011

Customer review by GermanOCD

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by GermanOCD
by GermanOCD

I have only had this windtunnel for 2 weeks - but the suction power is great! It does a wonderful job cleaning my furniture and floors. It does have an internal paper bag that requires replacement, but I think it is better because it doesn't clog up the filters as much as the bagless ones. So far I am very happy. I purchased this unit based on the ratings from Consumer Report. They have never steared me wrong.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GermanOCD
Sulphur Springs, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/15/2009

Customer review by RespShop

4.0 stars 5/15/2009 by RespShop
by RespShop

Highly rated in a consumer magazine, it is excellent cleaning carpets, but less so on hard floors. Self-propelled, it is easy to use and all attachments are handy.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RespShop
Owings Mills, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Can't beat it
11/14/2010

Customer review by elisi989

4.0 stars 11/14/2010 by elisi989
by elisi989

Ive used the Self-Propelled WindTunnel for a few weeks now and really like it. My old tramped down carpet looks great. The WindTunnel gives you alot of cleaning power for your buck. I like that the attachments are right there at your fingertips and it only takes a second to switch from carpets to couches or stairs, no more planning my vacuuming around how many times I have to attach and unattach a hose. The hose on the WindTunnel is a little hard to handle at first. As soon as you turn the vacuum on it just wants to pull right back tight to the machine, but I've found that if I back it up against the stairs or piece of furniture I'm vacuuming grab the hose close to the machine with one hand, place my other hand near the end and pull it out while using the brush it works pretty good, otherwise the machine has a tendency to tip over. There is an extension hose available which I think is a must have for any higher up use and I will be buying one. My other self-propelled had all the weight in the bottom. This one has alot of it in the handle so you have to use your arms a bit more to hold the handle up, but that isn't all bad, I'm killing two birds with one stone, vacuuming and getting a little arm work out. It's not a hardship at all. I've read other reviews stating that it's heavy and jerky. Heavy? yes, but the carrying hand hold in the back makes it quite easy to carry. Jerky? not once you get used to the self-propelled function, you don't need to push or pull, just ease it along. All in all it's a good vacuum, easy to use, does a great job and is reasonably priced. I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elisi989
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A must for large homes or bad backs
9/18/2010

Customer review by pqhomes

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by pqhomes
by pqhomes

Self propelled vacuum is the best there is and the Hepa filter gets all the dirt and pet hair. How can you beat the Hoover name, windtunnel is the best!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pqhomes
Bella Vista Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Simply fantastic!
9/1/2011

Customer review by fixitmaxie

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by fixitmaxie
by fixitmaxie

Because I have back problems, I've been looking for a vacuum which is easy to use. This Hoover is the answer for sure! It almost does the vacuuming itself and truly goes from rug to hardwood floors very easily. And it does a great job picking up my pugs hair! I highly recommend this vac to anyone but especially to those who have issues pushing a vac.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fixitmaxie
Athol, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Clean Sweep
4/21/2011

Customer review by oases88

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by oases88
by oases88

I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag. That's it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oases88
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
When it works, it's OK.
5/29/2012

Customer review by mallan40

2.0 stars 5/29/2012 by mallan40
by mallan40

This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently. The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt. It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mallan40
South Jersey, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worst Hoover I ever owned
4/6/2009

Customer review by Aimeeshops

1.0 stars 4/6/2009 by Aimeeshops
by Aimeeshops

I bought this vacuum after retiring a hoover that I had and loved for 15 years. I have had more trouble with this vacuum, trouble with poor suction, belts (replaced within 3 mos of using!) brush roll sticking. I am very unhappy with it. I have contacted hoover about this and they are very unhelpful. I will be retiring this useless vacuum to the garage and use the attatchments to vacuum my car! I will be purchasing another vacuum made by someone else...Very Disappointed and out over 200.00!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aimeeshops
Palm Harbor,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting
11/24/2013

Customer review by drgoodie

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by drgoodie
by drgoodie

I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out. Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drgoodie
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Can't Beat a Hoover
8/24/2011

Customer review by greenwoodgirl

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by greenwoodgirl
by greenwoodgirl

I bought this vac because my old Hoover self propelled finally died after about 14 years. I didn't realize how bad the old one had gotten until I used my new one. And Wow is it working great! Very easy to push/pull for someone who has a lot of back/hip pain. I would recommend for anyone with pets. I have three dogs and it seems to pick up the fur very well. The only small complaint I have is that the front of the vac is kind of wide and tall so it won't slide in between and under furniture as well as my old one. I guess you can cover more "ground" faster though.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenwoodgirl
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Totally Disappointed
1/26/2013

Customer review by owls123

1.0 stars 1/26/2013 by owls123
by owls123

This vacuum was incredibly disappointing! I'll start by saying I have a home with hardwood, tile and carpet and was looking for something that could work throughout the house. I originally purchased the Hoover Platinum bagged vacuum that comes with the separate canister. I love that one on the carpet and love the attachments. However it wasn't amazing on the tile and wood because it doesn't have the brush on/off switch. Some stuff (cat litter, pieces of mulch the dogs would drag in) would spit out and not get sucked up. So, I thought this vacuum would be better. Um, wrong. As others have said, it's heavy, but I thought the self-propelled feature would help. It was just awkward! I would push it and it would go about a foot then stop. If I was close to the wall or furniture, it would slam itself against it. Ugh. Annoying. I'm not sure the dirt finder worked because I was going over an area where our dogs sleep that was covered in hair and the light never turned red. With the Platinum model, you go over hair once, and it gets everything. This one I had to go back and forth three or more times. Then I got to the wood...yikes. the brush on/off switch is so inconvenient, and I had to turn the vacuum off to get it to move. Then I noticed it was leaving giant scuff marks everywhere! So I turned it off and raised the brush height which helped, but then it wouldn't suck anything up. Sigh. Also, the hose wouldn't stay attached, so every few minutes I would have to bend over and shove it back in. What a hassle this thing was! Fortunately, I hadn't returned the Platinum yet, so I'm going to just keep it. I didn't realize how awesome it was until I had this piece of junk to compare! I have no idea how this thing rated so well on Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
owls123
northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/23/2010

Customer review by NeededaVacuum

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by NeededaVacuum
by NeededaVacuum

When I was in need of a new vacuum, I read on Consumer Reports that this model was a best buy. I have been very pleased with my purchase. I have found the hand tools work well on furniture and stairs to pick up pet hair. It is a little heavy and difficult to carry up and down the stairs, but it is well worth it in the performance. I replaced my old wind tunnel bagless model and have been very happy with the cleanliness of using the bags again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeededaVacuum
Kennewick, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Vacuum!!!!
10/25/2010

Customer review by SRC55

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by SRC55
by SRC55

WOW! My carpet looks and feels like a brand new carpet after using the Wind Tunnel only one time! The self-propelled feature is nice. It makes it easy to handle and as a person with back problems, I find it very helpful. I'm very impressed with the cleaning this machine does. LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRC55
Rural Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Suction but faulty Parts
2/14/2011

Customer review by rossinseattle

3.0 stars 2/14/2011 by rossinseattle
by rossinseattle

I love the suction on this vacuum. However, I am disappointed that the on/off button malfunctioned on the 2nd time I used it. That required me to remove the handle and dicker with it. The on/off switch mechanism is hinkey at best. The good news is that it stuck in the ON position so at least I had no trouble using the unit. Another side note: I am finding the replacement bags difficult to find.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rossinseattle
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great vacuum!
1/19/2011

Customer review by 1sweetworld

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by 1sweetworld
by 1sweetworld

Purchased the Hoover based on consumer reports reviews and it has exceeded my expectations thus far. Being a pet owner, I am constantly vacuuming the roaming dust bunny of pet hair. The power of this vacuum is great! Only downfall is that it is somewhat heavy to carry up and down stairs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1sweetworld
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/24/2011

Customer review by baseload

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by baseload
by baseload

I bought this Hoover Self-Propelled Vacuum to replace my 13 year old Hoover self-propelled upright. Hoover has made improvements with the newer model consisting of: a vacuum motorized upholstery tool (very handy for getting dog hair off the chair), better filtration (no smelly bag odor), and an easy to use hose adapter for add-on tools. I find the unit streamlined with more powerful suction than my older unit. I bought Hoover because of the reliability I had with my other unit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baseload
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 599 total reviews
1-20 of 599 reviews