Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 915 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

915 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

915 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
547
4 stars
203
3 stars
47
2 stars
31
1 stars
87
1-20 of 861 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 861 total reviews
1-20 of 861 reviews
Clean Sweep
4/21/2011

Customer review by oases88

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by oases88
by oases88

I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag. That's it.

Was this review helpful? (109) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oases88
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
The Panzer tank of vacuums
5/28/2016

Customer review by RobbieK

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by RobbieK
by RobbieK

I bought this vacuum to replace my 5 year old one that eventually had the top of the brush head containment assembly crack when it fell out of the back of my daughter's truck when she was loading it. I'm just as impressed with this vacuum as I was with my 5 year old vacuum. The only thing I wish these models had was a longer attachment hose because the vacuum tips if it gets more than a couple feet from you during vacuuming of furniture, so you always have to be aware of this. I do nearly all the vacuuming in my house because my wife feeds the pets and does alot of other things, and I actually love to vacuum and clean things, so I have tried alot of different vacuums and hate them all because I've never found one that contains all the ergonomic functions a person needs. I've found that Hoover vacuums are a brand to stick with, as I've found the rest are a waste of time. In between college years, I worked with an Electrolux salesman for a couple months. Whenever the Electrolux was pitted against a Hoover, the Hoover won in every test we threw at it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobbieK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just great!
10/20/2015

Customer review by Glow

5.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Glow
by Glow

After searching for a new sweeper for months, and even after buying a Shark and taking that thing back........I went back to the Hoover! I had Hoover vacuums for many years, but thought I try a new BAGLESS SHARK, and what a mistake that was. The Shark cleaned well, but it's so heavy I couldn't push it or lift it..so back it went. I purchased the self propelled Hoover wind tunnel and it is just perfect for me. It cleans unbelievably good and is very easy to use. It also has all the tools on board, so no searching for the tool each time. The bags themselves are very well constructed and after using it for a week now, I haven't had to empty the bag yet. Those bagless models have to be emptied after each room! I don't like that at all , and what a mess to have to clean the vacuum also each time. Anyway, I'm extremely happy with the Hoover Self Propelled and sorry I took so long in deciding to get it. Oh yes, the price is right too! Thanks Walmart and Hoover!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
9/9/2010

Customer review by SuperPickyBuyer

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by SuperPickyBuyer
by SuperPickyBuyer

I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums). The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine. I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth. Pro's: -Attractive -Great attachments -Strong suction from the hose -Love the 'dirt finder' feature -Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet -Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!) -Self-propel can be turned off -Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors -Great value!

Was this review helpful? (324) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperPickyBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Customer Service!
5/31/2016

Customer review by SandysCleaningService

3.0 stars 5/31/2016 by SandysCleaningService
by SandysCleaningService
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the basic Hoover, which I have used professionally and personally for years. It does a good job for basic vacuuming. I prefer uprights to canisters because I hate dragging things around. This is just extra work. Why was the cover for the upholstery attachment removed in the design? The attachment will not stay in place on the vacuum when not being used. I've just taken it off the vacuum and stored it. I believe this is a poor design. I bought this vacuum because my old vacuum's switch broke and there were no parts available to replace it. Why? A good note and a bad note: I originally ordered a vacuum and ton the day it was to be delivered, it had not even been shipped yet. I called your help center (the online "chat" area did not respond after five attempts) and spoke with a very helpful employee who canceled the original order and placed this order...which arrived a day before the projected delivery date. Thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/7/2016

Hi There! We appreciate the time you took to write a review on your WindTunnel Self-Propelled. The cover was removed in order to make the tool more easily accessible and ready to use. If the attachment is not staying in place, try pressing it into place. You should hear a click when it locks. Hope this helps! -Michael, Hoover Customer Care.

SandysCleaningService
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for us !
3/11/2016

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 3/11/2016 by Dave
by Dave

We got tired of making a dirty mess every time we emptied our bag less vacuum, thus we wanted to go back to a bagged vacuum cleaner. We have had Hoover products in the past and have been very pleased with them. The last one that I had lasted about 20 years and just discarded it last week. Having two parrots that are notorious for giving off dust " African Greys " and with my wife and I both having sinus and allergies problems, we wanted a vacuum cleaner that we felt would pick up most of the dust, put down by our pet birds. In my opinion, this vacuum does that. Even though it is self propelled, I turned off that feature and just use it as a regular push / pull cleaner, which is very easy to do with this vacuum. The bottom section is somewhat wider than our last vacuum, but on the other hand you cover more area with it. We keep it in a small closet and while I could not just push it in to the closet, it went right in by just turning it side ways. I have to also mention that it also has a nice little carrying handle. All of the features work for us and hopefully we will be as pleased with this Hoover as we have been pleased with other Hoovers in the past.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
super sweeper, self propelled vacuum
6/29/2016

Customer review by Ginger

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Ginger
by Ginger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this vacuum, it does a great job with dirt pickup, fills the bag much quicker than my old one. The self propelled works great and is really nice for someone with post surgery chest or back problems since it goes pretty smooth over carpet. One issue is the attachment stored in front tends to fall out but this little item is really neat for pet hair on chairs and surprised me on how well it picks up hair. I may put velcro on it for storing. Really happy with this and still like using the hepa bags, easy to throw away. 6-29-16

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ginger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best!
4/5/2016

Customer review by AlwaysCape

5.0 stars 4/5/2016 by AlwaysCape
by AlwaysCape

I stupidly used my old Hoover Wind Tunnel to vacuum the floor mats in my garage. I vacuumed up a large pebble which broke the fan so after I read the reviews online of the Shark Navigator, I purchased it. It was heavy, awkward and I hated changing the canister which filled up quickly after just 3 weeks. This anniversary Hoover is so much better - the self-propelled feature almost pulls me along, the suction power is very good, the tools are easy to access and it cuts a wide swath so I don't need to go over and over my carpet as I did with the Shark. I love my Hoover!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlwaysCape
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting
11/24/2013

Customer review by drgoodie

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by drgoodie
by drgoodie

I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out. Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drgoodie
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I LOVE THIS VACUUM!
5/2/2016

Customer review by murrie56

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by murrie56
by murrie56

I've had a bagless vacuum for many years. I'm not sure why I switched over. But, I absolutely HATE them! They're dirty, time consuming and just a major pain! I've wanted to go back to a bagged vacuum for a long time. I finally just decided one day that I had had enough with the mess and hassle of my current one. I have cats and a parrot and there is always hair and bird food on the floor. I'm constantly cleaning up after them and it doesn't take long to fill a bagless. I got online and started researching. This vacuum had so many good reviews and it had features that I liked, so it was easy to make this decision. I had forgotten how well a real vacuum works. The suction is strong. It has so many features. The dirt indicator lights, the self propel action, the height level that takes it flat so you can get under beds and my coffee table is amazing! But, for me the best feature hands down, is the BAG!! I will NEVER own a bagless vacuum again! I just love it! :0) I will definitely be a Hoover customer from now on...

murrie56
Quaker City, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love WindTunnels
4/1/2016

Customer review by stephsteph

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by stephsteph
by stephsteph

The self propel handle felt a little strange at first but I got used to it. I love the small carpet brush attachment. it works really well on cat hair. It was easy to put together. For the price I feel that this is the best product out there .My last Wind Tunnel lasted over 25 years. I replaced the belt and the rotary carpet brush. The foot height adjust lever broke so I figured it was time for a new vacuum. If I get even half the time use out of this one it will be worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stephsteph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Vacuum- U6485900
6/24/2016

Customer review by Randy

3.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Randy
by Randy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is not available in the store so it makes it difficult to evaluate. We just had new thick pile carpet installed in our home and I have had other Hoover vacuums in the past and they worked very well. Unfortunately my old one (30+ years old) died. I wanted to replace it with the same bagged style. After picking this new vacuum up at the store and assembling it the first time I tried it set on the highest setting the power roller would only turn when the vacuum was pulled towards you. In the forward direction the belt slipped and you could smell rubber burning. I turned it off and following the directions took the cover plate off to inspect for any obstructions. Finding none and spinning the roller by hand to insure freedom of motion I reinstalled the cover plate. I tried again and insuring the highest setting was selected tried again to vacuum our carpet with the same results , roller stalls in forward direction works fine in reverse. I called the Manufacturer's Website contact number and was told that this vacuum was not meant to be used on deep pile or very thick carpet and I needed to return it to place of purchase. They recommended a similar model but with out all the fancy doo-dads such as dust sensor, self propelled etc. and one with 7 adjustable height adjustment rather than the 3 on this model. There is nothing wrong with this style cleaner. It is fine for lower pile carpets and floors. I WOULD Recommend this model for any one without deep pile carpet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover WindTunnel
11/10/2010

Customer review by erikaav

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by erikaav
by erikaav

The power of this vacuum is extraordinary! For cleaning power, it gets 5 stars. The rotary brush attachment for cleaning carpeted stairs works beautifully. I love that the rotary sweeper can be turned off to clean floors and bathroom rugs. The self propel feature and headlight are awesome. Since it has a Hepa filter and Hepa bag, no dust or smells get recast into the air--as they did with my older Hoover. Three things keep this vacuum from getting 5 stars all the way across: 1) It's extremely loud. Earplugs are a must! 2) The hose for the attachments is too short and you have to buy a longer one in order to clean an entire flight of stairs without dragging the vacuum up 3 or 4 stairs at a time. The 20' extension hose, while too long to stay on the vacuum for regular vacuuming, should be included with the unit so that it can be switched out as needed. 3) The electrical cord covering is quite thin and can be damaged easily, especially if you happen to go over it with the vacuum. Overall, I'm very happy with the Windtunnel's performance and value!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
erikaav
DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
When it works, it's OK.
5/29/2012

Customer review by mallan40

2.0 stars 5/29/2012 by mallan40
by mallan40

This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently. The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt. It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mallan40
South Jersey, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome vacuum
6/18/2016

Customer review by divinggirl

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by divinggirl
by divinggirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum for for Mom who has mobility issues. Being self-propelled, she is able to use the vacuum to cleanup when she needs instead of waiting until her cleaning ladies come to the house. I had it delivered to her home and all she had to do was attach the handle. She said that until she used the the new vacuum she did not realize how bad the suction in the old vacuum had been. The new vacuum has amazing pick-up power. Switching to use the attachments is also very easy. She LOVES it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
divinggirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easier to handle to pick-up dog hair, etc.etc.
6/26/2016

Customer review by flaquita

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by flaquita
by flaquita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Hoover Wind Tunnel Self-propelled bagged upright Vacuum made easier to vacuum my house . The self propelled function made it easier to clean faster. I didn't have to use much elbow/arm power to use the Hoover WindTunel Self-Propelled. The carpet/hardwood option works perfect. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flaquita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My wife loves it
6/27/2016

Customer review by Smith

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Smith
by Smith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the 3rd one we have owned. They last about 8 years and we keep coming back because we have never found a better vacuum (and we have tried them all). Even the expensive ones like Kirby don't do as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful Suction
7/11/2016

Customer review by Mommy2

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Mommy2
by Mommy2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a lightweight stick vacuum that worked great on hard floors but was leaving a mess on the thick rugs. This Hoover has amazing suction (actually pulls the carpet up a little) which makes me very happy. The self-propel feature is nice because this sucker is HEAVY, but it doesn't propel very well on my plush carpet. Still, the self-propel definitely compensates some for the weight, but I am still getting my workout vacuuming.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Burnt Out
7/18/2016

Customer review by RELTD

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by RELTD
by RELTD

I was so excited to get this Hoover. My last several Hoovers only lasted a couple of years. This seemed a bit sturdier. I've used it 4 times, and the motor is burning. There is no troubleshooting information for this, or any other burning smell. I will now have to unscrew the bottom plate to check it out to see if belts are an issue. Belts shouldn't be an issue after using 4x (in a small condo). If it isn't the belts, it'll go in the trash. Very unhappy!!!!

Comment from Kenya - 7/25/2016

Hi RELTD! You shouldn’t be having any issues with your Self-Propelled WindTunnel after only 4 uses. We want to help. Belts can burn off prematurely if the height adjustment is set too low to the ground for the type of carpet you have. We recommend checking the belt for damages. Keep in mind your Hoover carries a 3 year warranty against manufacturing defects. If you’re still having issues, please bring the vacuum in for service at your nearest repair center. To locate one near you visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

RELTD
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
A real work horse!
4/27/2016

Customer review by Dave in Houston

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Dave in Houston
by Dave in Houston

I bought my first Windtunnel Self-Propelled vacuum about 13 years ago. When my son got his own place a year later, I gave him my vacuum and bought a new one. Two months ago, the agitator brush wasn't turning well after I put on a new belt. Since the machine was about 12 years old, I decided to get a new one rather than getting it repaired. After I assembled the new vacuum, I thought I would put another new belt on the old vacuum. It works like new again! It turns out that the first belt I out on was the wrong one. I don't know how long it's going to last but I have a brand new one to take over as soon as it 'calls it quits'. There are two features that I love about this machine; 1) self-propelled, and 2) HEPA. When pollen season comes, my sinuses appreciate the clean, filtered air after the floors have been cleaned. And, at 67 years old, I appreciate the self-propelled help around the house. It's almost fun to vacuum!

Dave in Houston
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 861 total reviews
1-20 of 861 reviews