Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 754 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

754 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

754 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
440
4 stars
176
3 stars
38
2 stars
26
1 stars
74
1-20 of 700 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews
Clean Sweep
4/21/2011

Customer review by oases88

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by oases88
by oases88

I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag. That's it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oases88
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
9/9/2010

Customer review by SuperPickyBuyer

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by SuperPickyBuyer
by SuperPickyBuyer

I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums). The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine. I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth. Pro's: -Attractive -Great attachments -Strong suction from the hose -Love the 'dirt finder' feature -Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet -Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!) -Self-propel can be turned off -Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors -Great value!

Was this review helpful? (277) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperPickyBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just great!
10/20/2015

Customer review by Glow

5.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Glow
by Glow

After searching for a new sweeper for months, and even after buying a Shark and taking that thing back........I went back to the Hoover! I had Hoover vacuums for many years, but thought I try a new BAGLESS SHARK, and what a mistake that was. The Shark cleaned well, but it's so heavy I couldn't push it or lift it..so back it went. I purchased the self propelled Hoover wind tunnel and it is just perfect for me. It cleans unbelievably good and is very easy to use. It also has all the tools on board, so no searching for the tool each time. The bags themselves are very well constructed and after using it for a week now, I haven't had to empty the bag yet. Those bagless models have to be emptied after each room! I don't like that at all , and what a mess to have to clean the vacuum also each time. Anyway, I'm extremely happy with the Hoover Self Propelled and sorry I took so long in deciding to get it. Oh yes, the price is right too! Thanks Walmart and Hoover!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting
11/24/2013

Customer review by drgoodie

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by drgoodie
by drgoodie

I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out. Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drgoodie
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Hoover WindTunnel
11/10/2010

Customer review by erikaav

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by erikaav
by erikaav

The power of this vacuum is extraordinary! For cleaning power, it gets 5 stars. The rotary brush attachment for cleaning carpeted stairs works beautifully. I love that the rotary sweeper can be turned off to clean floors and bathroom rugs. The self propel feature and headlight are awesome. Since it has a Hepa filter and Hepa bag, no dust or smells get recast into the air--as they did with my older Hoover. Three things keep this vacuum from getting 5 stars all the way across: 1) It's extremely loud. Earplugs are a must! 2) The hose for the attachments is too short and you have to buy a longer one in order to clean an entire flight of stairs without dragging the vacuum up 3 or 4 stairs at a time. The 20' extension hose, while too long to stay on the vacuum for regular vacuuming, should be included with the unit so that it can be switched out as needed. 3) The electrical cord covering is quite thin and can be damaged easily, especially if you happen to go over it with the vacuum. Overall, I'm very happy with the Windtunnel's performance and value!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
erikaav
DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
When it works, it's OK.
5/29/2012

Customer review by mallan40

2.0 stars 5/29/2012 by mallan40
by mallan40

This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently. The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt. It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mallan40
South Jersey, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great upright vacuum!
3/4/2012

Customer review by DomesticQueenie

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by DomesticQueenie
by DomesticQueenie

Foremost, this vacuum got my carpet really clean! The suction was strong enough to "lift" the carpet in places but gentle enough when switched to hard floors to vacuum throw rugs without sucking them into the machine (step on the corners as the instructions recommend). The self-propel feature is a definite plus making it easier to push and pull the vacuum across the floor thereby relieving some of the stress on my post-surgery wrists. It does a great job of picking up cat hair and dirt and the replacement bags are readily available at my local Walmart store. The attached hose returns to its original shape and is by no means flimsy but it's puzzling that it doesn't come with an on-board wide brush attachment for reaching behind toilets and under toe-kicks because the machine itself is too large to fit into those areas. However, I can use the brush that came off my old canister so overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DomesticQueenie
Pine Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Vacuum I Have Ever Had
11/29/2015

Customer review by CDFloyd

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by CDFloyd
by CDFloyd

I bought this vacuum about 7 years ago. It has gotten A LOT of use and has been used to clean many different surfaces and vacuum up things that I would have used a shop vac for if I had one. I would say it has been abused. After 7 years it still runs great and has maintained excellent suction. I make sure to maintain it fairly well. I replace the filters and belts as needed and give it a thourough cleaning a few times a year. I have never had to take it in for repair And the only thing that no longer works is the "full-bag" indicator. My favorite features have been the excellent and consistent suction, the filters trap nearly all the dust and allergens, the self-propelled function, the pet hair attachment, the red & green dirt indicator lights, the setting for hard floors, the long power cord and the on-board attachments. I love this vacuum and would reccommend it to anyone.

CDFloyd
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this vacuum!
1/30/2016

Customer review by 19Suzy67

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by 19Suzy67
by 19Suzy67

I have owned a previous model of this for years without any issues. We bought a vacation home and I bought one for the new home. To me, bagged vacuums are the only way to go! I was so happy that I could buy a new model of the same WindTunnel! I am a very happy camper!

19Suzy67
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleans well, just really noisy!
2/10/2016

Customer review by ChibiWanWan

4.0 stars 2/10/2016 by ChibiWanWan
by ChibiWanWan

I just received this vacuum and it seems to do a good job cleaning my carpet. It's pretty heavy but the self-propel feature helps move it well. It's also really noisy. One thing i don't care for is the way the accessory tools are mounted on the back. They're a bit inconvenient removing and replacing them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChibiWanWan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk
2/9/2016

Customer review by Candy

1.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Candy
by Candy

I put it together according to the directions and the roller brush doesn't work neither does the self-propelled mechanism ! I'm sending it back to Hoover if they will take it ? It also smells like it's going to catch on fire ! Now I know why Big Lots has so many refurbished units in stock ! Not happy at all !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/11/2016

Hi Candy! The Self-Propelled feature and the brushroll are both ran by belts. Sounds like the odor your getting is due to a broken/stretched belt and this is why neither of these features are working properly. Belts needed are part #38528034 and #388528034. Please email Giselle.Arroyo@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thank you.

Candy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really Clean Carpet!
2/10/2016

Customer review by Shar

5.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Shar
by Shar

What a difference in how clean my carpet now looks. With it being self-propelled I am hardly tired after doing 5 rooms & the hallway. Wish I had bought it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Buy by Consumer Report
5/27/2011

Customer review by GermanOCD

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by GermanOCD
by GermanOCD

I have only had this windtunnel for 2 weeks - but the suction power is great! It does a wonderful job cleaning my furniture and floors. It does have an internal paper bag that requires replacement, but I think it is better because it doesn't clog up the filters as much as the bagless ones. So far I am very happy. I purchased this unit based on the ratings from Consumer Report. They have never steared me wrong.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GermanOCD
Sulphur Springs, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hoover Anniversary WindTunnel® Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Review
1/27/2016

Customer review by clancek

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by clancek
by clancek

Great vacuum for the price. It just glides across the floor.

clancek
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use.
1/25/2016

Customer review by Sarah1947

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Sarah1947
by Sarah1947

Impressed with how easily the vacuum glides across the carpet. Leaves the carpet clean. Complies with my carpet warranty as being CDL certified. Would purchase again.

Sarah1947
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD PERFORMANCE bUT !!
1/19/2016

Customer review by sande

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by sande
by sande

PURCHASED MY FIRST ONE AND A YEAR AND A HALF LATER THE MOTOR WENT OUT. HOOVER REPLACED THE MACHINE. NO PROBLEM !! .NOW 9 MONTHS LATER THE REPLACE MENT MACHINE BROKE THE SELF PROPEL CABLE. HAD TO SEND IT FOR REPAIR . I APPLAUD THE WORK THAT THE MACHINE DOES AND I EVEN BOUGHT ANOTHER TO USE WHILE WAITING FOR THE REPAIR ON THE OTHER ONE. I'll KEEP BUYING THEM BUT WISH THE WEAK POINTS WOULD BE ATTENDED TO.

sande
Ridgecrest, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great product
2/16/2009

Customer review by HatetoVacumn

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by HatetoVacumn
by HatetoVacumn

I ordered on-line and it came well packaged and just nothing to putting it together. It does everything they say it will do and is so easy to use with the self propelled feature. All the controls are easy to use and the cleaning on heavy carpet and hard floors both is excellent. If I really wanted to nit-pic, I might wish for a retractable cord, but I am so pleased I can't even complain about that. The bag is simple and easy to change. I had a bagless before and hated it.

Was this review helpful? (177) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HatetoVacumn
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Extremely Disappointed
1/4/2016

Customer review by TheDIYBlonde

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by TheDIYBlonde
by TheDIYBlonde

Being a former employee of Hoover (a demonstrator) for several years back in the 80s, I've always been a big fan on Hoover and have always owned one. I just ended my relationship with this Hoover Anniversary Edition, as well as Hoover over all. This vacuume was my THIRD ONE (Anniversary Edition) within a 5 year period... All 3 I absolutely loved in the beginning and just after six months, one thing or another would go wrong. This last one's grand finale was when it started squeaking... The squeak was loud & extremely obnoxious and would happen either when it was on the carpet setting and I'd go to pull it back, after pushing it forward. It was even louder no matter which direction it was going when it was on the hard floor setting. My other two Anniversary Editions did the same thing, but I put up with it until something else went wrong. This one, other than the squeak, has issues with its beater bar. It would turn only when it wanted to. I'd change the belts, it would work for a few minutes and then stop turning again. The pet hair attachment (the one that has its own belt) worked poorly after the 2nd or 3rd use. The bag would be new, no clog anywhere, the belt in tact and still barely any suction. Like I said, the squeak is what put me over the edge... No reason or excuse for it. Tells me it's just cheaply made and very disappointed.

Comment from Kenya - 1/5/2016

Hi TheDIYBlonde! We don’t want you to feel like you’re on your own if you experience an issue with your Anniversary Self-Propelled. Keep in mind this model comes with a 3 year warranty against defects. If you’re brushes aren’t spinning this will affect the suction drastically, especially when you’re cleaning carpets. We recommend checking the belts. Belts can stretch out and even break. For optimal performance replace the belts about once a year. This model has two. The vacuum shouldn’t be squeaking. This sounds like something we may need to take a look at. The great news is that we have a repair center near you in Phoenix. See here: http://bit.ly/1yFaEQm. Hope this helps!

TheDIYBlonde
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vac!
4/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did a great deal of research before I purchased this vac. I even returned one or two before choosing this one. This is consumer reports top rated vac right now. It really pick up everything and the carpet looks clean and new again. I was hesitant to purchase this because of some of the other reviews stating that the parts were cheap and that it fell apart. I've only had it a short time and it does not appear low quality or fragile. I return a Dyson before I purchased this one and this Hoover seems to be a higher quality. I really like the self driving feature, the carpet practically vacuums it's self. Also there is a light that indicates if the carpet is dirty so you can continue cleaning that particular area, I enjoy that feature as well. I like watching it turn from red to green, it makes me feel like I've gotten the carpet clean.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Self-Propelled Upright Vacuum
2/1/2016

Customer review by jason

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by jason
by jason

This is my "third" purchase of this item. It cleans great and is wonderful for the relief it gives my back with the self-propelled feature. It is an excellent product and is very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews