Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
79
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 232 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews
Awesome Vacuum
7/18/2009

Customer review by Stoosie

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by Stoosie
by Stoosie

The suction on this vacuum is incredible. We moved into a new home last year and the carpets looked "OK" to me. Using my old Hoover (which recently died) the carpets still looked "OK". After vacuuming the carpets with my new Hoover WindTunnel my carpets look PHENOMENAL!!!! The carpets look better than the day we moved in (which tells me the cleaning service that cleaned our new home needs a new vacuum too)!!!!! The carpets are plush and it even feels more "cushy" now. I felt like the dirt finder worked well, we don't wear shoes in the house so my carpets shouldn't have been that dirty. At most I had to go over some areas with 2 passes to get the "green/clean" light to come on. This vacuum reclined to go all the way under our king size bed - no attachments necessary, this is a big plus. The hose is standard size and with the attachments provided I can reach my 10 foot ceilings, I don't feel the longer hose available through Hoover is necessary. I chose Hoover b/c my last Hoover vacuum lasted 13 years and was a good product. I chose this model b/c of the reviews I read seemed mostly positive. A few complained it was too loud - what vacuum isn't? To me it's as loud as most other vacuums. Appearance-wise it's OK - but who cares, it just a vacuum. I compared this model to the Hoover Platinum and tried them out side by side planning on returning one of them. I liked the concept of the canister that came with the Hoover Platinum but the suction on the canister just didn't compare to the suction of the hose attachment on the wind tunnel. The Hoover Platinum upright was very light, and I liked the apperance much better (I favor the heavy fabric bag of the Platinum vs the plastic housing on the Wind Tunnel) but I think the suction/power of the Wind Tunnel was just a little bit better. Plus the Platinum model did not fit under my bed - the fabric bag once turned on was too full to fit more than a foot or two under the bed, that was a disappointment. In my home I have 1/3 carpet, 1/3 hardwood, and 1/3 ceramic tile so I was hoping for more from the canister of the Platinum to clean my wood and tile floors. Plus the canister has a high pitch squeal when it runs which was a little annoying. So the cheaper Wind Tunnel, at half the cost of the Platinum model won out and will be the vacuum I keep. I thought my old Hoover vacuum was pretty good - this is 100 times better!

Was this review helpful? (160) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stoosie
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love my vacuum
3/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just got the Hoover Windtunnel Anniversary Edition and Love It! It arrived 1 day after I ordered it!!! It has a nice handle on it and it is light. I had another Windtunnel, but it was so heavy I hated to use it. Definitely order the extension cord, which you have to order separately; then you will be able to reach your ceilings, etc. It will take off on you when you start it up, so hang on! Make sure to turn the dirtfinder switch to H (High). It was easy to assemble, but they don't tell you how to put the hose handle on, make sure to snap the top notches on before the bottom piece snaps in. I love the Edger-It actually picks up the dirt along the edges without having to hook-up tools-yeh! It's a GREAT price for what you get. You can clean the filters with mild soap and water, so it isn't costing you money to replace them all the time. I always buy a 12 amp vaccum. I had bagless before and they are soooo messy, when you dump them out the dust scatters everywhere, bags do not do that, just pull out and throw away. It also has a place for your cord as you vacuum (cord clip) and a check bag indicator light. The handle has 3 positions, so you can get underneath beds, etc. It is loud, that is the downfall.

Was this review helpful? (71) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oostburg, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
8/16/2009

Customer review by MomtothreeinNC

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by MomtothreeinNC
by MomtothreeinNC

Seems to really do the job for the price. I am so done with the dirty bagless and they really do not seem to keep on sucking like this bagged upright does. It has quite a bit of power and on low-pile or area rugs it will pull you right along with it. Definitely good for the price. I would rather pay for bags and have less mess, better suction.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomtothreeinNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bagged vacuum
12/30/2009

Customer review by Roospike

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Roospike
by Roospike

Hoover makes a great vacuum and this is our 3rd one. This unit has a lot of power and does what its made to do , gets the dirt deep down. Got to stay with bagged so you can throw the mess away vs cleaning and blowing out the bagless units. 5 Stars on all and 4 on appearance ..... 4 star only because BLUE was the only color option. Our last Hoover bagged unit lasted 4 great years untell a new pup to the house took to the power cord ........ just time for a new one. Our Hoovers have lasted longer than two Kerbys we have owned , almost as good and a lot cheaper to replace

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roospike
Mid west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/9/2009

Customer review by WallyShpr

4.0 stars 9/9/2009 by WallyShpr
by WallyShpr

Consumer Reports rated this one of the top 5 vacuum cleaners and I agree! It works quite well, and performs as good or better than 300-400 dollar models.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyShpr
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointed
11/10/2009

Customer review by Ashburnmom

1.0 stars 11/10/2009 by Ashburnmom
by Ashburnmom

I bought this vacuum 8 months ago after careful consideration of reviews online, as well as Consumer Reports. I have an average household with children, 2 cats, and a low-ish pile carpet due to dust allergies in the family. This Hoover Wind Tunnel model worked oh so well for the first 1-2 months. After that, I was unclogging it every time I went to use it. I had to pull it outside to unclog it every use because the clogs were so bad, they made huge messes-then the vacuum would not clean the mess after I unclogged each time! I replaced bags a 1/4 full. I finally called Hoover for a rerfund under warranty and they would not even talk to me without taking it to a service dealer. The service dealer also phoned Hoover, and Hoover refused to refund saying I could unclog it at home and I had the "wrong carpet"!!!!! There is nothing abnormal about my carpet! The warranty states "normal household use" - and only carpet fuzz and cat hair clogged it every time I used it! I am now stuck with a piece of junk and $160 loss. My previous $99 Hoover lasted 20 years! Very disappointed in the lack of customer service and lack of quality from Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ashburnmom
Ashburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product
11/1/2009

Customer review by rening

5.0 stars 11/1/2009 by rening
by rening

I only used it for a month and I am very happy with its performanc. So far I have not seen any problem and this is my first hoover product. I highly recommend to get this product. You too will not be disappointed. Thanks Walmat.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rening
North Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I love this vacuum!
6/23/2009

Customer review by HotMamma143

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by HotMamma143
by HotMamma143

This is the best vacuum ever! I found it on consumer reports and it is as awesome as they said it was. I cannot believe how well it cleans!!! Apparently I've just never had a good vacuum before. Definetely worth a try!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotMamma143
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Serves its purpose.
5/1/2010

Customer review by MsDeals

4.0 stars 5/1/2010 by MsDeals
by MsDeals

Some assembly required but eaasy to do. Handling is a little difficult if you dont have a lot of upper body strength. Kind of noisy but works really well. I noticed that the plastic parts are on the cheap side which makes me nervous considering how much this product costs. Overall, it serves its purpose by effectively picking up dirt and pet fur.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsDeals
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Great vac for the price
4/16/2011

Customer review by baltimoreHon

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by baltimoreHon
by baltimoreHon

Overall I'm very satisfied with this vacuum. I've had an Oreck for 7 years and honestly was expecting this to be junk in comparison but I was wrong. The main thing that matters to me is the performance and longevity of the vacuum. After paying $600 for an oreck, 7 years didn't seem very long so I decided to look in a lower price bracket. This Hoover got great reviews and I think my carpet is getting a deeper clean with this than my oreck every did. Only two things worthy of noting is that it is really heavy and it doesn't get close enough to the walls, but you just need to use the onboard tools to pick up along the walls. The other thing that surprised me was the cost of the bags. They are smaller and cost more than twice as much as the oreck. Go figure.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baltimoreHon
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can damage carpet when using attachments!
6/24/2011

Customer review by suburbanmom007

1.0 stars 6/24/2011 by suburbanmom007
by suburbanmom007

I bought this vacuum after much research and hoped it would be a good investment. However, I immediately noticed that it is very LOUD. But my bigger issue with the vacuum is that it has damaged my carpet. When you use the attachments, the brush continues to spin. Even set at the second notch from the "hard floor" setting this caused deep grooved marks in my Berber carpet that I cannot repair. I contacted Customer Service about this issue and was told that there was nothing they can do about it. Don't buy this if you plan to ever use the attachments!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suburbanmom007
Would recommend to a friend? No
poorly made
7/13/2009

Customer review by reviewer18

1.0 stars 7/13/2009 by reviewer18
by reviewer18

This is my 3rd purchase of a hoover wind tunnel. The first one lasted about 5 years. The second was the bagless wind tunnel and lasted 2 years. Although, it vacuumed well, in those 2 years, the extension wands cracked as well as the holder for them. Finally, the on/off switch broke. Also, I didn't like the bagless - too much flying dust when emptying. We purchased this bagged wind tunnel and brought this right back after,while unpacking it, the plastic pieces were already broken. Obviously not going to hold up at all.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewer18
Manorville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent vacuum
3/27/2009

Customer review by bigdaddyswife

5.0 stars 3/27/2009 by bigdaddyswife
by bigdaddyswife

I love, love, love this vacuum!! I have owned it a few months now. So happy that I got smart and returned to a Hoover after a very disappointing waste of money on a Eureka Capture that was about the same price. Never again will I buy a Eureka. This vacuum will not disappoint you...wonderful product for the cost! I hope this review makes it easier for someone to make the decision on a new vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigdaddyswife
Clayton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
consumer reports was right
12/28/2009

Customer review by trulv

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by trulv
by trulv

i chose this product because of consumer reports. it was purchased for use on area rugs and hardwood flooring along with a cat hair issue. very easy to assemble; 30 min tops. i find it hard to open the door to get to the filter bag, and the original bag sent with the vac is way different from the replacement. i haven't had to change the bag, but noticed this as i was looking it over. another review said to purchase the extra reach hose; at $31.19 i'm passing at this time as i don't see it's necessary. the hepa filters seem to make a good difference in keeping what ever is picked up in the bag. plus, it works well on hardwood/tile areas. regarding cat hair; it has done extremely well, and the attachment gets it off pillows. i was using an old kirby but this one so far has been money well spent. plus, i'm glad i didn't get the selfpropelled as this works like it already is! i'm giving all 5 stars, but keep in mind i haven't used it a lot, but am expecting many years of great service.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trulv
katy, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Tornado Alley
11/18/2010

Customer review by JupiterMadnessExpress

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by JupiterMadnessExpress
by JupiterMadnessExpress

My wife is very picky when it comes to vacuum cleaners. We are tough on them and go through about one per year. If it is really useless, I'll be buying another one before the end of the month. In this case, I think we found a winner. Useful features, well designed. Cleans both the carpets and the hardwood floors well. The wife is happy, I'm happy. The bag is a great feature that allows for rapid, easy maintenance. The light illuminates those dark corners. The single height control allows rapid transitions from wood floors to carpet. Powerful suction prevents dirt from being thrown around by the brush, yet the throw-down carpets are not being sucked up into the vacuum cleaner. The power switch on the handle is easily switched using your thumb. The long power chord minimizes the number of times you need to plug into another wall outlet. The unit is light enough to be carried up and down stairs. We even use this on the stairs. My 13 year old handles this unit with ease.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JupiterMadnessExpress
Clean Carpets and Floors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/19/2010

Customer review by myhousetoyours

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by myhousetoyours
by myhousetoyours

This vacuum is awesome. It is not the self-propelled model, but does take off on it's own, but is not out of control. It is easier to turn and manuver than my old Hoover Wind Tunnel. The handle lowers so you can actually vacuum under beds, desks, etc. with such ease. Suction? One trip around the house and the included bag was full. That tells me the old Hoover was ready to retire after more than 9 years (it was previously owned) and I thought it did a great job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myhousetoyours
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Hoover as anticipated
10/24/2009

Customer review by Holyoke

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by Holyoke
by Holyoke

I have always bought Hoover vacs.; they have never disappointed. Works well, light in weight, and easy to use. The cord could be wound up more conveniently for storage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Holyoke
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrfific Sweeper!
7/5/2010

Customer review by beenthereandback

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by beenthereandback
by beenthereandback

I recently purchased a bagless Dirt Devil Ultra Vision which I thought was super nice. It was horrible, horrible. What a nightmare cleaning it after each use. I studied many reviews before choosing this Hoover Wind Tunnel. Didn't want to make another mistake. Absolutely love this sweeper. It does the job a hundred times better than the Dirt Devil. Best of all, I just toss the bag when full and do not have to sneeze for 15 minutes. Love it! Great suction and nice bright light.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beenthereandback
Northwest Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum for a decent price.
8/13/2010

Customer review by thefarmerandwife

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by thefarmerandwife
by thefarmerandwife

This Hoover vaccum is exactly what I expected. A good quality product. I love the suction and pick up, the adjustable height setting, the edge cleaning, and the nice design of it. The on-board tools are a great bonus and it is easy to carry up or down stairs with the handle made for carrying. I've had other vacuums and nothing is better than a Hoover, no matter what.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thefarmerandwife
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love It!
9/3/2010

Customer review by munch50

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by munch50
by munch50

I bought this vacuum because it was highly rated by Consumer Reports. It's great so far, we're really happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
munch50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews