Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 289 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

289 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

289 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
83
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 251 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews
Disappointed
2/7/2013

Customer review by Merf

3.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Merf
by Merf

My 1st WindTunnel lasted 20 years and was great! This one has been a constant pain. Worked great when new. Beater bar on my first one and this one constantly have to be cleaned of hair so it rotates. Now the carpet height adjustment knob is disengaging the beater bar completely so I can't vaccum carpet at all. To those who use the hose. If you turn the vaccum around so it rolls backward when following the hose it will be less likely to turn over. The bag compartment door on this model never wants to line up. My old one was a quick on/off. This one I have to battle. Came to this web site to find a service center. Wish I had come here before I bought this model. I'm on the fence with making a recommendation on this model.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/7/2013

Merf, the carpet height adjustment knob should not have those issues. Your vacuum has a 3-year manufacturer's defect warranty. We recommend bringing it in and having it looked at. You can see a list of warranty and service dealers that are nearby your home here: http://hoover.com/locator/

Merf
Loganville, GA
totally broken
7/21/2013

Customer review by SADLY

1.0 stars 7/21/2013 by SADLY
by SADLY

The first one worked wonderful, except I have to unclog it every few months. It did not have the self propelled option. Transferred it to my small office and purchased this one for home. After 11 months a wheel fell off and the brush stopped turning. I call customer service and was told only the motor was under warranty. I got my papers out and it states that the machine has a full 3 year warranty. I am calling a service center to see what they tell me. It is a 70+ mile trip (one way) for the service center and I would not be willing to do this and pay. I have purchased Hoover for over 20 years including the carpet cleaners for my rentals. If this is not resolved, this will be my last.

Comment from Ian - 7/23/2013

Hi. We pulled your records and it looks like Customer Care has already worked out a resolution for you. Thanks for getting in touch with us and please let us know if we can be any more help.

SADLY
DANA, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
What happened Hoover!
4/19/2012

Customer review by Porkchop

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Porkchop
by Porkchop

Had this cleaner for less than a year I went to turn it on and it shut off instantly. After a few tries i started to smell something possibly a burning smell. Now on the on position it doesnt have sign of life! think i am going to purchase a kenmore now :( My mom has always used hoovers since i can remember and they always lasted 15 to 20 years. She had a bagless windtunnel self propelled that was purchased 4 years ago and had it replaced due to belts and brush roll not working at all! She purchased a bagged windtunnel self propelled a week ago hopefully she will have better luck this time! Unfortunately Hoover is the only one to offer Self propelled cleaners!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/19/2012

We appreciate your comments about your cleaner and understand your frustration. The cleaner shutting down indicates a clog. Check and clean the filter, hose and wand of a possible clog. You may also call our Customer Care Department for troubleshooting help or assistance in selecting a model that fits your home and style!

Porkchop
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nothing to brag about. Just a piece of cheap junk.
8/21/2015

Customer review by Joycie

1.0 stars 8/21/2015 by Joycie
by Joycie

I wish we had not of purchased this nightmare. Purchased this on 3/29/15 and have used it approximately 6 times. The light comes on, but the motor will not come on. Due to the light coming on we know it is plugged in correctly. When it did work it never sucked up all of the dirt out of the hose. Quite a bit of dirt would fall out of the hose onto the carpet, therefore you had to try to vacuum up that mess. I think we got a lemon. It didn't even last a full 5 months. It was only used to vacuum our offices (3) and entry area.

Comment from Giselle - 9/1/2015

Hi Joycie! Sounds like there is a significant clog in your hose that's blocking the air flow and causing the unit to have little to no suction. Check out this video; http://bit.ly/1UkWjDH we put together for another consumer that had similiar issues. Let us know if it helps!

Joycie
Plains, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Have had it for 2 years
9/21/2013

Customer review by Kayla55

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Kayla55
by Kayla55

I have had it for years and have always loved it. You won’t find thie vaccum in a repair shop. It’s easy to maintain. There is just only one concern I have. I have never even changed the “secondary filter” on this website I went to go order one and the one it tells me is for this is actually for a “self propelled” vacuum. Under the “specifications of this vacuum it says that it is NOT “self propelled” so is the website wrong. I am a little confused. Even with me not even realizing I needed to change this “secondary filter” it has done a really great job for me! 

Kayla55
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
No suction!!!
9/27/2015

Customer review by cochsec2

1.0 stars 9/27/2015 by cochsec2
by cochsec2

When vacuum first purchased the suction was questionable, however now there is no suction to speak of. I have removed and made sure all the tubes are clear, the brush rotates but does not seem to touch the carpet, even from the lowest setting. Also made sure all the tube connections were tight. I have two pets and the vacuum will not pick up any of the pet hair accumulated on the carpet. Don't know what else to try!! VERY FRUSTRATED CUSTOMER!

Comment from Kenya - 9/29/2015

Hi cochsec2! We understand it can be frustrating when your Windtunnel loses suction. It sounds like there may be a clog. The lower hose is an area often overlooked. To check the lower hose recline the handle and flip the unit over to expose the base. Remove the nozzle guard and check here: http://bit.ly/1LiVoiU for obstructions. We also recommend washing the final and secondary filters once a month for best results and allowing 24 hours to air dry. Let us know if you still need us. We are here to help!

cochsec2
Tampa, FL, United States
I WISH I could give it 5 Stars!
11/24/2014

Customer review by Bipbop

3.0 stars 11/24/2014 by Bipbop
by Bipbop

I'm glad I didn't have to pay for this one! (I inherited it.) The filters are just silly! When they get dirty the machine starts blowing dirty dust everywhere and I can't get the Hepa filter door to shut tightly! I'm 60, been using Hoover & Electrolux for 52 years. (That's right, 52 years, I was the one that kept our house cleaned up when I lived at home.But, my mom always used Electrolux & still does! With NO complaints!) When I moved out I bought a new Electrolux, of course, and I loved it so much I bought another one for my Aunt. But, as I got older I thought I'd try Hoover.(Kept the Electrolux canister for cleaning edges, furniture, cars, etc.) I loved my first Hoover, a Concept 2 Power Drive with ALL the bells and whistles, (and that was before they used the term "bells and whistles"!) It's STILL running after 35 years of HEAVY use, but the handle won't stay together & it's so old I can't get another one. So it's in the closet waiting for me to get up enough nerve to trash it. ;(   But this new Hoover, The WindTunnel, well, it picks up ok, but the filters are too much trouble and I agree with everyone else here - when I use the hose it causes the machine to fall over-even when I turn it around and pull it backwards! AND the cord is ALWAYS in the way - and yes Virginia, I know how to put it on the little hook - but it doesn't stay on the little hook! All in all I think I could find a better machine with fewer annoyances for the same amount. But I still like Hoover and Electrolux products. 

Bipbop
Stow, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Noise
12/9/2015

Customer review by Miss Edee

4.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Miss Edee
by Miss Edee

It's extremely loud with a high pitch that hurts my ears. My previous Hoover self-propelled wind tunnel was loud, but didn't have the high pitch and I would recommend that one but not this newer model.

Miss Edee
Jacksonville Beach, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great sweeper!
6/8/2014

Customer review by goletasweep

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by goletasweep
by goletasweep

We have had our Hoover Windtunnel for almost six years.  We have never had to replace anything.  For the first time in the history of its use, we noticed a slight decline in suction and smelled a burning odor.  We opened it up, and found it very easy to remove parts, clean and reassemble.  The sweeper works as good as new now.  Looking to many more years of this reliable and affordable sweeper!

goletasweep
Goleta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
All right for a year
11/4/2012

Customer review by Malibu

2.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Malibu
by Malibu

I have to use this at leat once (1) a day. (kids) It worked great when new. After the 1 year annaversary, it went to hec real fast. The carpet to hard foors switch broke. To costly to repair.Two (2) months later the motor burn out. Get ext warrenty. One person wrote tube attachments come off eay, they are truthfull. Roll the dice with this one. I'm going back to a Kenmore, or Panisonic.

Malibu
Gand Rapids, Mich
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hose too Short
5/27/2012

Customer review by Seth

1.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Seth
by Seth

The vacuum does a good job on carpets but I have two major complaints. 1) the way the attachments attach, they come off too easily during use especially on carpeted stairs 2) the hose is too short, and poorly designed because as soon as you turn on the vacuum the suction contracts to hose even shorter. I've pulled this vacuum over several times trying to use the hose.

Seth
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked for a year
12/21/2014

Customer review by Feldmm

2.0 stars 12/21/2014 by Feldmm
by Feldmm

Now all I smell is burnt.  It won't vacuum and the only suction is form the hose.  It won't pick up anything.  Now the front housing broke the bottom two clips when shutting it.  I tried replacing the belt still only problems.  Would wish for a vacuum that lasts longer than a year.

Feldmm
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Can't handle anything but VERY short pile rugs!
7/3/2015

Customer review by bosno

1.0 stars 7/3/2015 by bosno
by bosno

Had it too long. It has powerful suction, but gets stuck on anything but very short height rugs regardless of carpet height selection. And you need the extension hose, an extra, for cleaning anything taller than ~5 feet.

bosno
boston
Would recommend to a friend? No
I can't take it any more: I am giving it away
3/3/2013

Customer review by Chas

1.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Chas
by Chas

I bought this 2 years ago,and it is so difficult to push, maneuver, and so LOUD, I have given up. It cleans well, yet it takes so much pressure/effort to push it and drag it, and cope with the ever-falling cord, I am aggravated every time I use it. I am honoring myself by giving it away.

Comment from Andy Netzel - 3/8/2013

Chas, that does sound frustrating. From your description, there could be one of three problems. Here's what to check: 1. It could be debris is jammed in your brush roll. See if you're able to see thread or debris that is seizing up the brush roll. You may have to take it out to check. 2. Check your belt and make sure it's intact and not stretched out. If you've never replaced it, it is likely in need of replacement after two years. 3. And lastly, the loud noise can point to a clogged filter or incorrect installation of the paper bag. So take a look at both of those as well. If you need a new belt, filter or bag, you can order them here: http://hoover.com/products/details/u5491900/anniversary-windtunnel-bagged-upright/ Thanks so much, and we hope this takes care of the issue. Let us know if it doesn't!

Chas
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good strong vacuum
5/9/2013

Customer review by toyotatrout

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by toyotatrout
by toyotatrout

Have had for a year, have longer carpet that the automatic height adjusting vacuums would not work on, and this one does. Strong suction, cleans well. The attachment hose is to short for my use.

toyotatrout
nixa,mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good cleaning on carpets.
7/4/2014

Customer review by sroyd

4.0 stars 7/4/2014 by sroyd
by sroyd

I had this vacuum since 2007. It never crashed. Once every couple of months the belt would rip, but can get fixed right away. Very easy to use and for the price.

sroyd
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Gender:Male
EXCEPTIONAL QUALITY AND DURABILITY
10/27/2012

Customer review by CONVERTIBLE69

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by CONVERTIBLE69
by CONVERTIBLE69

THINGS THAT ARE GREAT ABOUT IT

CONVERTIBLE69
SCRANTON PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine
1/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

good price very efficent

An anonymous customer
Lebanon Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT VACUUM with one possible shortcoming
11/17/2015

Customer review by Hawkeye249

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by Hawkeye249
by Hawkeye249

For U5491900 and UH50000 IMPORTANT 1: If the self-propel balks, replace the belts and set adjustment for taller pile carpeting. Instructions say you can use low setting for all carpet heights. Per my experience, that may not always be true. IMPORTANT 2: When the vacuum needs to be carried, use the molded plastic grip on the Back of the unit. Lifting by the handle potentially stretches the cable used to turn on/off self propel and can throw it out of adjustment or even damage it. That is a commonly needed repair for Wind Tunnels. UH50000 was purchased 11/14/2010 and it performed wonderfully ... until recently. The self propel was balky. I replaced the belts, noting both the drive and brush roll belts taken off were a bit stretched. No joy. Plus, I smelled the dreaded Hot Rubber smell! Took apart and reassembled several times. Finally, adjusted carpet height and achieved joy! But, whenever the brush roll was turning, there was a rattle. Again, took apart, examined, and reassembled several time. Decided that probably something internal is broken so I looked for models on sale that use the same bags and hopefully the same belts. Found the U5491900 on sale on Hoover.com and ordered one. Next day. AGAIN took apart the UH50000 (getting efficient at this!) and reassembled. SHOCK and AWE - It works perfectly with NO rattle! No theories on this because it IS a simple process. NOTE: While the vacuum is used lightly, it has the original brush roll showing practically NO wear after 5 years. The title I used includes "with one possible shortcoming". I say that because on the UH50000, the carpet height adjustment "wants" to be in the low setting - and usually moves there on its own. Most of the time, there is no problem. But that also means if the self propel balks, it's easy to forget that adjustment exists. Since I just received the UH5491900 today, assembled and tested, whether its height adjustment "self sets" is yet to be determined. Because these vacuums have Three year warranties, I'll put away the UH50000 and use the UH5491900 - for the warranty period! Maybe the older one will reside in my garage to be used on vehicles. My only remaining concern is down the road, when I'm using either one from my wheel chair, I may not be able to find bags and belts for them. I can buy hundreds of bags and belts before ever reaching the purchase price for one of the less durable, highly advertised, Totally MESSY bagless models that have taken over the market!

Hawkeye249
Melbourne, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can damage carpet when using attachments!
6/24/2011

Customer review by suburbanmom007

1.0 stars 6/24/2011 by suburbanmom007
by suburbanmom007

I bought this vacuum after much research and hoped it would be a good investment. However, I immediately noticed that it is very LOUD. But my bigger issue with the vacuum is that it has damaged my carpet. When you use the attachments, the brush continues to spin. Even set at the second notch from the "hard floor" setting this caused deep grooved marks in my Berber carpet that I cannot repair. I contacted Customer Service about this issue and was told that there was nothing they can do about it. Don't buy this if you plan to ever use the attachments!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suburbanmom007
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews