Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 50 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Do yourself a favor and buy this TV
11/30/2008

Customer review by pingman37

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by pingman37
by pingman37

I had been in the market to buy a TV for nearly a year. Read tons of reviews, visited many stores, and spent many hours looking at many different models. All the research I had done pointed me to the Samsung brand. Originally I had wanted a LCD, but knew that I could get a bigger set by going plasma. Weighed out all the pros and cons. A Home Theater tech friend of mine said plasma was the way to go, because I watch a lot of sports, and the plasmas refresh faster, the contrast ratio produce deeper and richer colors, and the picture was more natural than LCD's. I was skeptical about the picture quality of the plasmas, but after visiting a store where they had a 42 and a 50 in plasma, the quality of the 50 in picture was extrordinarily better than the 42. I was also concerned with the life expectancy of the plasma. This TV has an 80,000 panel life, and in this day and age with technology advancing like it is, in 5 to 8 years I'll be ready to get the next hot set up, so 10 to 15 year life span is just fine with me. When I saw the Wal-Mart ad for Black Friday with the Samsung 50" I knew I couldn't wait any longer. When I got the TV home I had it set up in a matter of minutes. Right out of the box with digital cable the picture is real good. My local digital channels come through in 1080i and the picture is phenomenal. I don't have HD programming yet(getting Direct TV) but some cable channels are coming in in HD. When you change channels a display in the top left corner tells you if it is cable, digital, or air and also if it is 1080, 720 and so on. Burn in is not an issue as the anti burn in technology on this tv takes care of that. The menu is easily to navigate, and the pre set picture settings are awesome. Sound is surprisingly good although I use my surround sound with this unit. The 50" set looks so much bigger in my living room than it does in the store. It's like having a movie theater in your house. The set does get a little warm, but not hot and this was expected. One more thing to consider, any tv you look at in the store will look different in your home, due to size of room, lighting etc. At 898.00, this is still an incredible value. Do the research and you will see how highly Samsung is rated in the TV world. I can't tell you in this review how awesome this TV really is. Buy this TV!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pingman37
Springfield MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
poor quality
12/3/2008

Customer review by jjcb

1.0 stars 12/3/2008 by jjcb
by jjcb

my husband bought this tv for me on black friday. i thought this was a really good price but after looking at the picture i told him that now i why it was such a good price but on the other hand he likes the tv i wish he would consider taking the tv back for another brand. The store do not have one avaliable for show that should have been an eye opener

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjcb
Tuscaloosa.AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best 50 Inch Ever!
12/9/2008

Customer review by VT1100

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by VT1100
by VT1100

I bought this TV on Black Friday for $798. As the other reviewer stated it WILL DO 1080I, as most of my Dish Network HD programming comes in at. I now put the Vizio 42 inch 1080P I bought last year in my bedroom. I, like many others thought, being Plasma ,and for the price, it would not compare too my LCD. MAN, was I so wrong! Sound, is great, no popping like my lcd does from time too time, and NO picture noise. Last, I have too say, this is the most beautiful picture of ANY TV I have ever seen!!! Comparing at stores, won't help you. BUY IT! Hook it up too satellite NOT cable, and you will be in heaven with this bad boy 50 inch! Way too go Samsung, you did it again!!! I am puting a picture up too PROVE this monster will do 1080I.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VT1100
Sherwood, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
12/8/2008

Customer review by miyah

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by miyah
by miyah

well I got this tv on black friday and I opened it on dec 7th and so far so good the sound and picture is great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miyah
harvey, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
wonderful
12/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i had originally bought a sanyo 50 plasma omg it was horrible went to walmart.con they had the samsung 50 on sale for 8 something great buy beautiful pick way better tha sanyo

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
saint louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very helpful
12/12/2008

Customer review by lissm

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by lissm
by lissm

I went and purchased this on black friday..I could not be any happier with this t.v....It was worth every penny and more...Thank you Wal-mart for the great price...Only one thing I wish it had picture in picture...But we are so happy with this t.v....I would recommend this to any-one...Once again Thank you for the great price...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lissm
ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An Excellent choice
12/20/2008

Customer review by Lovemygranddaughters

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by Lovemygranddaughters
by Lovemygranddaughters

We are so pleased with this tv. The picture quality is much better than I expected, the 720P has an excellent picture and has excellent sound quality. We aren't even using the surround sound. Hanging it on the wall was not a problem, and it looks awesome. We really love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovemygranddaughters
West Point, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!!
12/20/2008

Customer review by DeeMan

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by DeeMan
by DeeMan

I do not understand why so many reviews on plasma TV's are so negative. Purchasing this 50" plasma has been my best decision all year. I recommend with any TV (old or new), you should take the time to properly fine tune the picture brightness, contrast, color, tint and sharpness. Any good electronic store should carry a video essential DVD to assist you in this area. The factory presets for the picture quality is pretty good for the untrained eye. Has many extras to improve picture quality, however I do recommend turning the sharpness control to the lowest setting and turning off the edge enhancer feature for better picture quality. By Increasing the sharpness controls you're adding extra digital signal information to the original program signal. In other words you're adding false information to the picture, taking away picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeMan
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/20/2008

Customer review by Msmpy

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by Msmpy
by Msmpy

The TV absolutely exceeds my expectation. Did have some doubts when I made the purchase, but all went away when the TV was hooked up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Msmpy
Walnut, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gift for husband
1/12/2009

Customer review by AimsToPlease

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by AimsToPlease
by AimsToPlease

This is a great product. I don't know all that much about electronics so I did my research and can honestly say I believe this tv has the BEST picture out of all that I looked at. The sound is fine, but would be better with surround sound-which is available and we will be purchasing later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AimsToPlease
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THE BEST TV FOR THE PRICE EVER!
12/15/2008

Customer review by Eman69

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by Eman69
by Eman69

I went and purchased this on black friday.It was worth every penny and more. Thank you Wal-mart for the great price. YOU MUST!!!! HAVE a HD satellite receiver or HD cable box with a HD subscription for you ladies to get the best picture. And don't even think about not using a HDMI cable. It's a must. If you use a HD Satellite and HDMI cable. I challenge anyone to find a better picture. And by the way this is my third HD plasma TV, and is my favorite !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eman69
St John, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Samsung 50'' Class Plasma
1/12/2009

Customer review by 1ShopNSista

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by 1ShopNSista
by 1ShopNSista

Love it! Excellent deal. All of my friends are paying twice as much for the same or lesser quality. The clarity is great and TV swivle so I watch it from the sofa or the treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1ShopNSista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best tv!
12/18/2008

Customer review by shopzlover

5.0 stars 12/18/2008 by shopzlover
by shopzlover

wow i cant believe how great this tv is its big, the picture quality is extraordinary, the sound is great and whats also great is that it has the digital tuner this really is a great tv, i paid $899 for it, its definetly worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopzlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
12/23/2008

Customer review by Tizze

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by Tizze
by Tizze

I got this TV on Black Friday and waited in the store for a couple of hours. It was the best purchase I made all year. For the price, it has amazing picture and sound quality. I was looking more into the 1080, but for the price, this is the way to go. I highly recommend this tv if you are not going for the 1080.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tizze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price
12/27/2008

Customer review by Martheman

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by Martheman
by Martheman

Great value and picture Wal-Mart keep-up the great job

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martheman
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
12/27/2008

Customer review by wj88

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by wj88
by wj88

Excellent product all the way around. Just be advised it does not switch to source automatically ie dvd player You have to manually change your source

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wj88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Television for a Large Wall
1/20/2009

Customer review by KingTen

5.0 stars 1/20/2009 by KingTen
by KingTen

We had been searching for a Television to fill the wall in our formal frontroom and after many months of searching through magazines and stores, we felt that this Samsung had the best picture quality. The base of the Television was the heaviest part of the Television so once it was removed so the television could be put on the wall the televisions weight was reduced by a good 10 pounds. We have been happy with the sound, picture as is, but enjoy it more when we watch it with the Blu Ray player. Finger prints do show up on the side panels so one does need to wipe these down if you have a habit of touching the television. An addition of a Soundbar is an extra that would be nice, but not really needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingTen
Perry, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this TV
3/8/2009

Customer review by Godsgrace09

5.0 stars 3/8/2009 by Godsgrace09
by Godsgrace09

This TV is excellent and definitely worth the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Godsgrace09
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/27/2008

Customer review by biggdawg

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by biggdawg
by biggdawg

its pretty cool but it only about 47to48inchs and its sposed to be 50 but it still cool and it has to hdmi outlets so cool..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biggdawg
dallas tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellant product
12/27/2008

Customer review by cordalia

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by cordalia
by cordalia

I just love this tv and am real happy I ordered it on line. The picture is like being right there and the colors are beautiful. I enjoy every minute I am watching on this tv. I am just happy with the tv period. The price was good also and the tv came right to my home which I liked as I didn't have anyway to haul it to my home. I would recommend this tv to anyone who wants a clear picture with vivid colors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cordalia
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews