Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 65 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 65 reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
A favorite
10/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This meal is one of my favorite meals. Its so fast and easy and tastes better than take-out Chinese. Whenever I went to buy some (usually every week), the selection was usually quite low, indicating it must have sold rather well. A couple weeks ago when I went to get my weekly fix, it was no longer there. I waited a few days, thinking they were simply sold out at the time and went back...but to my dismay it still wasn't there. The only remnants left of the Innovasians Cuisine line consisted of a few battered boxed of the lower selling varieties. I went to two different Wal-marts trying to find it, but had no luck. I really can't believe they stopped carrying this delicious and apparently well-selling item. All of the other Chinese dishes they offer are nothing compared to this one. They had a new one, an Orange Chicken variety that included rice from a different maker...it was terrible. Please bring this item back!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Spit it Out! Ugh!
2/10/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Take the poor reviews seriously. This is really terrible chicken. It should have been a warning when we were baking it that it smelled like grease and BBQ sauce. General chicken should be savory and spicy. But this sauce was almost sweet. Maybe a little heat, but not near enough. The chicken itself was greasy. The batter coating tasted like corn starch and grease, almost overpowering the sauce. McDonald's chicken nuggets and BBQ sauce tastes better. Greasy-spoon-dirty-dive-diner chicken tastes better. I just don't get it. Did this company even taste their own product? How do they even sell this? Lack of other options? I had one bite and gagged. My sister spit it out. The general chicken at the Walmart deli counter tastes 1,000 times better. I was hoping this would be somewhat close, even a little worse, but it was inedible. I was disappointed and frustrated. Craving nowhere *near* satisfied. I might even be scarred. Ugh. Just ugh. Buy a different brand. Any other brand. My tongue still feels coated in... something starchy and unnatural.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gone but not forgotten
10/27/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best Chinese dish I have ever purchased at a grocery store. It's delicious and quik and easy to fix; and only 8 grams of fat per serving. That means a lot to us working people For several months I was able to find it at my local Wal-Mart, and sometimes there were just 1 or 2 boxes left, but now I can't find it at either of the 3 Wal-Mart stores in my area. I wish that I could find it at another grocery store. They'd have my business. WAL-MART NEEDS TO BRING THIS PRODUCT BACK TO ALL ITS STORES !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
INNOVasian General Tso's Chicken
5/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was taken off of the shelves for some time and I was very taken back by it. This is one of the best frozen items that I have ever prepared. I am a culinary chef, and normally prepare everything from scratch. After buying this once, and trying it, I was hooked. The chicken is real, it is lightly breaded, and the sauce is thick and very tasty. The longer you cook the sauce on the meat, the yummier it tends to get. I am glad that WALMART finally decided to put this back on their shelves. Please do not take it away AGAIN!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Good!
4/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I baked the chicken until it was crispy and then added the sauce. I didn't place the sauce in a bowl of hot water I just poured the sauce in the pan after the chicken was crisp. Boy o Boy it was delicious and my family loved it. I'm going to WalMart to get me some more. YUM!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty good. Ok price.
3/1/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A little sweet. But I had a coupon for a $ 1.50 off. So it was worth it. Gonna try different flavors
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This little purple box packs a delicious punch
7/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've only had General Tso's once at a local resturaunt before finding this. I don't like the Chinese to go box style frozen meals. I'm strange I don't like diffrent foods touching. Anywho, I picked this up at my local walmart for an extremely affordable $4.56. I was HOOKED on the first bite. I leave it in the over for 25 minutes instead of 20 because I like my chicken crispy. The sauce is spicy enough to keep you wanting more but not so spicy it singes the taste buds. I still keep a cool drink close by but it's safe to say I am addicted to this little trease. The box says it feeds a family of 3 but I can eat the whole thing on my own.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This stuff is dangerously delicious. Beware!
6/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the sauce, and the chicken. I have been eating it several times a week, if not every day X.X Probably my favorite food of choice. I wish it wasn't loaded with so many calories, I can eat an entire box (less than a pound of chicken). Satisfies my appetite every time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I did not like this at all and neither did my wife
1/21/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I saw this in Walmart and so thought I would give it a try. It is easy and on sale, so I figured, how bad can General Tso's chicken be? I found out. We cooked it in a skillet and the sauce was thick and I agree with other reviews that the chicken is real. But the sauce is overwhelming, even by General Tso standards. There are two tastes involved. One is a sweet sugary taste, and the other is a hot pepper taste. The taste is like black pepper only many times hotter. That black pepper taste lingers in your mouth for some time and resembles pooring a large amount of black pepper on your tongue. So you have a minor sugary taste and an extremely powerful black pepper taste that is so strong, that you do not notice the breading at all and frankly you cannot taste the chicken. It IS the worst I have ever had and I cannot imagine that many people saying they liked it. Maybe I got a bad batch, but if not, beware.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the product.
8/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The generals taste better than some Chinese restaurants. Prices differ from reasonable at Walmart to sky high at Publix and Winn-Dixie.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome at Home Chinese Food
2/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They took this out of their stores for awhile and I went as far as to call Inovasian corporate and ask them where else I could find it. My husband and I love this! The General Tso's Chicken is his favorite but I love all of them, well the rice not so much, but the others are terrific! We cook it in a nonstick skillet and it's ready in no time. We both work outside the home so when we are home our time is precious and we don't want to be bogged down in the kitchen. We have it about once a week. DO NOT GET RID OF THIS AGAIN WALMART!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No more chinese resturants for me...
2/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love their general chicken. It taste just as good, if not better, than the same size portion they charge me $7.00 for at my local Chinese restaurant. It cost only $3.84 at my Wal-mart and can easily be divided into four 4.5 oz portions of chicken ( which around the recommended size portion) or two 9 oz portions. I love to use the extra sauce to pour over my rice. A huge plus for me is it's low in calories and fat. A have found it a problem that the wal-mart closet in my area is slow to restock it ( or maybe it is just in high demand). Bottom line it is quick, easy,cheap, and delicious. No more take out for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Feelin' Hot, Hot, Hot
8/1/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Too Spicy for me. If you like a lot of spice, this is for you!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will Buy Again!
8/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was an experiment purchase... We weren't sure if we were going to like it. I bought it added white rice and broccoli.. THIS WAS SO GOOD! I will be buying it on my next shopping trip! Highly Recommended!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best General Tso Chicken ever frozen!!!
5/21/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
One of the best "new" products that has come along to replace the 'going out to eat' foods in along time. The taste has just enough spice to make it enriched with flavor to entice you to take another bite and savor the flavor. Perfect amount of meat, sauce and add a little rice of your own and you have a perfect asian meal!! Please don't stop making this product...it is a really good thing!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Delicious!!
12/21/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was a lovely and quick meal. The meat is real chicken and it is seasoned deliciously. the sauce is a bit spicy but not to the extreme. My husband and kids loved this meal. It is very simple to make and is well worth it for the price. I would definitely recommend. I'm so glad walmart sell these. The best meal ever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bring it back!!!!!
3/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this chicken and it is the best I have ever had! They used to sell something similar in the hot foods section then i found the frozen one and it is out of this world awesome!!! I wish Walmart would bring this product back!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
YUMMMYY!
11/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is so delicous, as a matter of fact im eating it now, i love the sauce soo much and the chicken is real chicken, its soo good. I also want to try the orange chicken flavor. i would definently buy this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Yummy!!!
6/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love the Generals chicken!! It is so good, we usually have it at least once a week. Paired with the sticky rice and some steamed veggies, it makes a great quick meal for 2.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this product!
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Finally, good frozen General Tso! Tastes spicy and delicious and I did not even use all of the sauce!! I will definitely buy this during my weekly trips to Walmart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-