Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.9out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 | 197 reviews
5 stars
179
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 186 reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
truly acne free!!
3/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried many many acne kits (proactive, clean n clear, neutragena, acnefree(original, severe, redness reducer,...)etc.. But none of them have worked! So now I've found a new routine that has truly helped my face clear up and is inexpensive. 1) I use a 2% salicylic acid facial cleanser (i use Neutrogena Acne Treatment Oil-Free Acne Wash) 2) a 2% salicylic acid facial scrub (I like this Olay Total effects because it is also anti aging/blemish control, by using all those other acne products, it has given me wrinkles so this product is erasing those horrible damages on my face) *pat dry and let it dry for 10 minutes before 3rd step* 3) 10% benzole peroxide gel (I use Zapzyt: Gel Acne Treatment) with all these chemicals on the face, it will dry your face up so you do need a face moisturizer. I prefer a moisturizer that has SPF as well because when using acne products you need to protect your face from sun exposure or your face will become very red and irritated. I really hoped this helped those with acne problems :]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I've been lost without this product!!
7/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Olay products for years now (introduced to me by my mother and grandmother). I never really suffered from acne exactly, but certainly had the all-too-occassional giant zit or cluster of pimples, especially around that time of the month. I tried this product probably about 2 years ago and have been a fan ever since! This was my one and only cleanser...I never strayed or tried anything new. Then, I started having a difficult time finding it on the drug store shelves. When I would find it, I would buy 2-3 bottles at a time. Then, eventually I could not find it anywhere, so I was forced to try other products. None of them worked like this cleanser. The pimples were coming back with a vengence. I have been lost without this product until it dawned on me to go to the Olay website, and to my absolute happiness, here it is! This product has made me feel more confident and in control of my skin. I am buying several bottles today. Highly, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Olay total effects
5/5/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always loved oil of olay products. This is another great product. It is really helpful in reducing fine lines & reducing pore size. The exfoliating action & blemish reduction isn't really there. Olay total effects will help reduce breakouts & make your skin feel clean & fresh.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never Happier
4/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Once I turned 30 I started to notice that I was showing signs of aging, that came way too quick for me... So I immediately went out and tried my first anti-aging cream, Olay Total Effects. The next time I needed some there was a sale of Buy one Olay product get one 1/2 off, so I figured "what the heck, I'll try the blemish control cleanser." Boy am I happy I did. This is the first product in my life that actually cleared my skin, maintains my tone and doesn't make me feel all dried out. I absolutely love this stuff. I actually told my 16 year old daughter that she should try it for her breakouts as well, and she has been excstatic that her face has finally cleared up and hey you're never too young to start the anti-aging process, right!?!?!? I really hope they don't discontinue this product, it will literally break my heart. I wish I had discovered this product sooner! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, especially to those women that have tried almost everything for their blemishes, including ProActive and visits to the dermatologist!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
please dont ever discontinue this!
9/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I cant believe how a face wash can work this well. actually i use 3 products together from the beginning so im not sure which one or if it is all but. they are all total effects. i use the blemish cream cleanser and the night firming cream and the uv protection lotion fragrance free. i love them all. my face is glowing. and seems to also get rid of spots and it looks so creamy. and the feel of it when you put it on! its amazing! and after i wash my face it feels so smooth and soft. most other face washes makes me feel like my face hurts. and when i smile i can feel the lines on my face because it is so dry. please please dont discontinue this! i tried this after regenerist, definity, and pro x came out. i know total effects was first. so im so afraid that you will just replace total effects. please dont. i have tried the regengerist lotion and its too strong the scent. anyway i cant even explain how happy i am with this product. even when im just sitting still i can feel my face! my face has never been more comfortable. olay is the best! thank you so much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's okay
6/9/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this with high hopes that it would clear my skin. I have more of a cystic like acne and I didn't think it would take care of that, but I have been recently breaking out with smaller bumps along my forehead and chin. I was dissapointed in that it didn't seem to clear up my acne, it did however make my skin alot softer and slightly less oily. I've used this produst for a month(2-3 times daily), I am only 20 so I cant speak for its ani-aging properties. You dont need to use much and I bought the double pack so I will continue to use the wash until I run out but I cant say i'd buy again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great
8/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am 23 years old and I just want to say that I love this product. It helps with the blemishes that I tend to get once a month and it also leaves my skin smooth and refreshed. I must tell you even though I don't have wrinkles or have any sun spots/age spots, I love the fact that it is Anti-Aging. Alot of people don't know that when you turn 20 your body doesn't make collagen on its own so now is a good time to start with skin replenishing and anti-aging products. I am not saying go crazy but it is time to start really taking care of you skin especially if you are one of those individuals who worry about wrinkles and all the other stuff that happens with your skin because of aging. Also, always follow up with a moisturizer. When applying a moisturizer in the morning make sure it has spf in it to protect your skin during the day. Plus you should definitely wash you face before bed to get all the dirt, toxins and pollutants out of your skin that was built up throughout the day. Moisturize at night as well to place the nutrients and antioxidents back into your skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Acne cream cleanser for dry skin, too!
1/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I can't believe I found a product that doesn't dry out my skin. Feel clean and confident with Olay Total Effects.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Addition to Face Care
1/11/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this product for about one month, it definitely adds moisture to your skin, it brought out acne waiting to happen, however, had to add additional products to get the most of this product. This product removes makeup without drying out your skin. I would recommend to anyone with acne issues and need moisture in a easy regime.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OLAY, why??? NOTHING COMPARES TO THIS!
2/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a 33 year old woman who struggled with dry skin and acne breakouts in my early twenties before finding this product and have used it as my daily facewash ever since. I couldn't find it anywhere and had no idea it had been discontinued, until an internet search left me literally in tears. I eventually had to pick up some other salicylic acid containing face washes hoping they would work in combination with the 7 effects lotion but my face has been horribly dry for months now, and I'm having breakouts for the first time again! Every other review seems to mirror my own, so WHY, Olay, why have you taken this from the shelves? I guarantee if you bring it back and just put it at a higher price point, it will sell! You have devoted users of this product and your suggested replacement product does not work for me. My skin feels dry and is visibly different. Please bring this back. :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Satisfied
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this facial cleanser, i have had it for a while now and i am pleased with this product. I will continue to use it all up and buy more. My face is soft and smoother compared to other facial products. I used to wash my face with Dermasil but I like olay better!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for sensitive skin and blemishes
5/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
a quality product to add to your shower or night routine for any type of face. My wife loves it for her breakout periods and it cuts through my beard to quiet down the rough skin below.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Favorite facial cleanser for years!
5/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This has been my favorite cleanser for years and would recommend to anyone. It is creamy, smells nice, has no harsh chemical or drying reaction on my skin. My face is left clean, and smooth. I use topical blemish control (also with salicylic acid) and together, blemishes are under control. Since I am over 50, that is a good thing! Finding the right facial cleanser can be difficult. If they moisturize too much skin gets greasy and cause breakouts. If they "clean" too harshly, they dry out the skin contributing to blemishes and making my face feel tight and pulled. This cleanser has a nice balance leaving my face soft. The product is mild enough that it can be used more than once a day. In our hot Florida summers that is very important. Sometimes I use a small square facial scrub pad with this cleanser to really buff the skin. Again, since the cleanser itself is mild, it does not irritate or cause blemishes. The product size is good, it lasts. Price fits tight budget too. Only downside to this product, usually have to buy this product online. The local stores tend to carry the version without salicylic acid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great cleanser. Leaves face feeling clean without the dryness.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT FACIAL CLEANSER
10/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I RECEIVED THIS PRODUCT THREE WEEKS AGO, AND FROM THE MOMENT THAT I FIRST USED IT, I FELT AND SAW A NOTICEABLE IMPROVEMENT IN THE APPEARANCE OF MY OILY, ACNE PRONE SKIN. AT MY AGE WHEN YOU THINK THAT ALL YOUR ACNE PROBLEMS ARE OVER. ITS GREAT TO FIND A PRODUCT THAT CLEARS IT UP AND LEAVES THE SKIN LESS SHINY LOOKING FOR A CONSIDERABLE AMOUNT OF TIME AFTER CLEANSING. I USE THE PRODUCT TWICE DAILY, ITS EXTREMELY EASY TO USE AND TO RINSE OFF; AND I HAVE NOT HAD A BREAKOUT SINCE USING. THANK YOU OLAY AND WALMART. THIS A WONDERFUL PRODUCT.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GOOD STUFFFFFFFFFFFFF
10/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I started using this product a month ago....and trust me when i say there is a GREAT difference there is a difference in my face. I have built a regimen. I use this product when i get home from work with the matching moisturiser. I use the matching revitaliser face wash in the mornings along with the moisturiser.I was a previous Mary Kay user and it is not in the same category Thanks OLAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE...PLEASE!!!!
10/1/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST FACE WASH THAT HAS EVER EVER EXISTED AND I AM NOW 35 AND I HAVE BEEN USING IT FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS AND IT HAS HELPED ME TREMENDOUSLY AND I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE THAT ASKS ABOUT MY FACE AND HOW I KEEP IT SO CLEAR AND BLEMISH/WRINKLE FREE MINIMIZING :) PLEASE OLAY DO NOT DISCONTINUE, I WILL PAY MORE AS WELL :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't Worry - It's Coming Back
10/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First, this is a great product and despite being irritated at my grandmother several years ago for hinting that I needed to do something about my complexion by telling me that she accidentally bought a bottle and "wondered if I would want to use it"... it has been the best product I have found for my skin type. Shortly after using it, I became a firm believer in the fact that there are specific formulations (and not even just the percentage of Salicylic Acid) that work best for each person's skin. Second, to everyone that likes the product but has not seen it on shelves recently, I just read that it is temporarily unavailable, but should be back in distribution in mid-November 2013. I wish I had not just bought four bottles on e-bay at twice the retail price... But either way, that is good news.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
one step skin care
12/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I can see why this cleanser has such great reviews . Deep cleans and soothes while making the skin look radient . Such a low price !!! Please keep this product in stock . Thanks again Walmart .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Effective!
10/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After a week of using this medication, my daughter's face clear up. It's effective and don't dry up the skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-