Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

198 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

198 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
180
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 187 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
I've been lost without this product!!
7/1/2013

Customer review by jackie10

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by jackie10
by jackie10

I have been using Olay products for years now (introduced to me by my mother and grandmother). I never really suffered from acne exactly, but certainly had the all-too-occassional giant zit or cluster of pimples, especially around that time of the month. I tried this product probably about 2 years ago and have been a fan ever since! This was my one and only cleanser...I never strayed or tried anything new. Then, I started having a difficult time finding it on the drug store shelves. When I would find it, I would buy 2-3 bottles at a time. Then, eventually I could not find it anywhere, so I was forced to try other products. None of them worked like this cleanser. The pimples were coming back with a vengence. I have been lost without this product until it dawned on me to go to the Olay website, and to my absolute happiness, here it is! This product has made me feel more confident and in control of my skin. I am buying several bottles today. Highly, highly recommended!

jackie10
Brooklyn, NY
Skin type:Normal
Never Happier
4/27/2010

Customer review by AmandaLeigh

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by AmandaLeigh
by AmandaLeigh

Once I turned 30 I started to notice that I was showing signs of aging, that came way too quick for me... So I immediately went out and tried my first anti-aging cream, Olay Total Effects. The next time I needed some there was a sale of Buy one Olay product get one 1/2 off, so I figured "what the heck, I'll try the blemish control cleanser." Boy am I happy I did. This is the first product in my life that actually cleared my skin, maintains my tone and doesn't make me feel all dried out. I absolutely love this stuff. I actually told my 16 year old daughter that she should try it for her breakouts as well, and she has been excstatic that her face has finally cleared up and hey you're never too young to start the anti-aging process, right!?!?!? I really hope they don't discontinue this product, it will literally break my heart. I wish I had discovered this product sooner! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, especially to those women that have tried almost everything for their blemishes, including ProActive and visits to the dermatologist!

AmandaLeigh
Grand Rapids, MI
Skin type:Combination
please dont ever discontinue this!
9/1/2010

Customer review by christinelee

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by christinelee
by christinelee

I cant believe how a face wash can work this well. actually i use 3 products together from the beginning so im not sure which one or if it is all but. they are all total effects. i use the blemish cream cleanser and the night firming cream and the uv protection lotion fragrance free. i love them all. my face is glowing. and seems to also get rid of spots and it looks so creamy. and the feel of it when you put it on! its amazing! and after i wash my face it feels so smooth and soft. most other face washes makes me feel like my face hurts. and when i smile i can feel the lines on my face because it is so dry. please please dont discontinue this! i tried this after regenerist, definity, and pro x came out. i know total effects was first. so im so afraid that you will just replace total effects. please dont. i have tried the regengerist lotion and its too strong the scent. anyway i cant even explain how happy i am with this product. even when im just sitting still i can feel my face! my face has never been more comfortable. olay is the best! thank you so much.

christinelee
sacramento, ca
Works Great
8/13/2009

Customer review by Anonymous820

5.0 stars 8/13/2009 by Anonymous820
by Anonymous820

I am 23 years old and I just want to say that I love this product. It helps with the blemishes that I tend to get once a month and it also leaves my skin smooth and refreshed. I must tell you even though I don't have wrinkles or have any sun spots/age spots, I love the fact that it is Anti-Aging. Alot of people don't know that when you turn 20 your body doesn't make collagen on its own so now is a good time to start with skin replenishing and anti-aging products. I am not saying go crazy but it is time to start really taking care of you skin especially if you are one of those individuals who worry about wrinkles and all the other stuff that happens with your skin because of aging. Also, always follow up with a moisturizer. When applying a moisturizer in the morning make sure it has spf in it to protect your skin during the day. Plus you should definitely wash you face before bed to get all the dirt, toxins and pollutants out of your skin that was built up throughout the day. Moisturize at night as well to place the nutrients and antioxidents back into your skin.

Anonymous820
USA-PA
Skin type:Combination
Favorite facial cleanser for years!
5/29/2012

Customer review by Samrcat

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Samrcat
by Samrcat

This has been my favorite cleanser for years and would recommend to anyone. It is creamy, smells nice, has no harsh chemical or drying reaction on my skin. My face is left clean, and smooth. I use topical blemish control (also with salicylic acid) and together, blemishes are under control. Since I am over 50, that is a good thing! Finding the right facial cleanser can be difficult. If they moisturize too much skin gets greasy and cause breakouts. If they "clean" too harshly, they dry out the skin contributing to blemishes and making my face feel tight and pulled. This cleanser has a nice balance leaving my face soft. The product is mild enough that it can be used more than once a day. In our hot Florida summers that is very important. Sometimes I use a small square facial scrub pad with this cleanser to really buff the skin. Again, since the cleanser itself is mild, it does not irritate or cause blemishes. The product size is good, it lasts. Price fits tight budget too. Only downside to this product, usually have to buy this product online. The local stores tend to carry the version without salicylic acid.

Samrcat
Florida
Skin type:Combination
Don't Worry - It's Coming Back
10/15/2013

Customer review by newsboy

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by newsboy
by newsboy

First, this is a great product and despite being irritated at my grandmother several years ago for hinting that I needed to do something about my complexion by telling me that she accidentally bought a bottle and "wondered if I would want to use it"... it has been the best product I have found for my skin type. Shortly after using it, I became a firm believer in the fact that there are specific formulations (and not even just the percentage of Salicylic Acid) that work best for each person's skin. Second, to everyone that likes the product but has not seen it on shelves recently, I just read that it is temporarily unavailable, but should be back in distribution in mid-November 2013. I wish I had not just bought four bottles on e-bay at twice the retail price... But either way, that is good news.

newsboy
Memphis, TN
Skin type:Combination
Don't hestitate. BUY IT.
12/19/2010

Customer review by moderndaybelle

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by moderndaybelle
by moderndaybelle

I've used proactiv for the past ten years, convinced that no other product could perform better. Boy, have I been wrong! I picked up this product recently on a whim, figuring I'd just use it until I could buy more proactiv, and I instantly fell in love. :) I'll never buy anything but this cleanser! It is so ideal! I'm at the age that I need to start considering an anti-aging routine...and I love that this one product can fulfill that need AND treat acne. I am like so many other reviewers concerning this cleanser -- PLEASE do not stop making it! Thanks to this one product, I am a convert..I am sold. My next purchase will be the Total Effects Daily Moisturizer.

moderndaybelle
Arkansas
Skin type:Dry
Not as good as expected
8/26/2009

Customer review by KimS

1.0 stars 8/26/2009 by KimS
by KimS

I thought this would be better than my previous cleanser by Olay, Oil blemish control lathering cleanser, Boy was I wrong. I've had more breakouts on this than the previous one. I don't understand why, it's by the same company. My breakouts were way down with the cleanser, but with this new total effects, I thought I would see a huge improvement. I didn't. I have to say, though, my face is softer than with the other cleanser, and I love the smell of this one, but for my blemishes, it can't compete with the lathering cleanser I used before. I will be switching back, And really weird, this one was cheaper, too. But it was supposed to be better.

KimS
Elkhart, IN
Skin type:Combination
100 STARS !
1/14/2011

Customer review by moonface

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by moonface
by moonface

i would have to rate this product as my #1. i was a lil skeptical at 1st, since i have very DRY skin, and its also SENSITIVE, but due to my stressful job i started to breakout like crazy. (i never did before). when i saw the ingridents in this cleanser I was like .. maybe not. but thn i was sold on the anti-aging part Since I also want to start taking care of my skin (im only 25) before its to late. I really LOVE this product so please please please would you PLEAsE make or create a new product with the same purpose (as a moisturizer for people like US) with blemish/redness/anti-aging/moisturizer. I will win the lottery if you guys did this!

moonface
New Jersey
Skin type:Dry
Best Investment
3/19/2013

Customer review by happynewlywed

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by happynewlywed
by happynewlywed

I have suffered with acne and undesireable skin since middle school and have literally tried everything with no success. A couple months before my wedding I decided to try the Total Effects Blemish Control in a desperate attempt to obtain the skin I have always wanted. My skin was smooth and blemish free for the big day. I have been using it now for almost a year and couldn't be happier with my skin. Not only is my skin blemish free, BLEMISH FREE, but it's smooth, my pores are smaller, and it looks healthier. After more than 10 years of shameful skin I finally have confident, beautiful skin I am proud to show off. Thank you OLAY!

happynewlywed
Farmington, MN
Skin type:Oily
BEST EVER!!!!
9/10/2010

Customer review by LisaDiaz

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by LisaDiaz
by LisaDiaz

I've been looking for something to help clear my skin and an anti-aging skin care. Well I finally found it and it's called Total Effects Cream Cleanser & Blemish Control. I can't live without it if I could I would sleep with it.(lol) It is a lifesaver I have sensitive skin so since this really works for me I will never try anything else. I have 4 children and I have them using it also. My oldest is 17 and my youngest is 11 and they all love it. I ran out to the store today just to get more I can't run out. I love it so much I have 7 in my pantry. Now that is loyalty and I just want to say thanks for making my life easier.

LisaDiaz
Houston,Texas
Please bring it back!
7/19/2013

Customer review by Allison

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by Allison
by Allison

I'm a redhead with extremely sensitive skin, and I have had the hardest time finding something that worked for me. I've tried Proactiv, Neutrogena, Clearasil, Clarins, etc, and none of them worked, so I thought I'd give this a try since I've always had good luck with Olay products. This cleanser really worked for my skin without drying it out. However, my tube is on its last leg and I'm really concerned because I can't find it anywhere! Has this cleanser gone the way of my other favorite Olay products like the Silk Whimsy line? I really hope this cleanser will be back in stores, because it's the best cleanser I've used.

Allison
Salem, OR
What an amazing product!!
12/19/2009

Customer review by MissBlonde

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by MissBlonde
by MissBlonde

I have bought many different skin care products that range from expensive department store brands to over-the-counter affordable skin care. I have tried just about every brand and every kind of product available and I must say that Olay products are amazing! My skin has never looked and felt better. I bought this product to try and I was amazed from the very first use. I will now throw away all of my other products and switch to Olay products only. It's apparent that Olay has done the research and has developed products that actually DO what they advertise! This product is awesome-buy it!

MissBlonde
Cape Girardeau, MO
Skin type:Combination
NOT HAPPY!
12/18/2015

Customer review by FL228

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by FL228
by FL228

I love this product!!! It is the only face wash that has actually worked on my skin. I have had to deal with acne for years, and this is the first time in a long time where I'm actually happy with my skin. The other acne wash you suggest as a replacement to this one is not even close! It doesn't have the anti-aging benefits, which I love. Please reconsider your decision.

FL228
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT UNDERSTAND!!!!
12/8/2015

Customer review by CEH0130

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by CEH0130
by CEH0130

I do not understand why you are discounting this product. I have been looking at the reviews and it soooo popular. This is the best product out there for adult acne. It also is great for preserving our aging skin. I just do not get it. Have no clue what I am going to do now. I have tried a couple of other products from Olay and they just do not do the job. Please bring it back!!!!!

CEH0130
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring it back PLEASE!!
12/28/2015

Customer review by meg503

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by meg503
by meg503

Please bring this product back! It is the only thing that has worked to control my acne as an adult without overly drying my skin. I bought up whatever remaining stock I could find and just ran out a month ago. Since then, my skin has been horribly broken out to the point where I am avoiding social events. None of your other products are comparable.

meg503
Jupiter, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grrrrr
11/25/2015

Customer review by Salem88

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by Salem88
by Salem88

Why is it that every time I find a product by you people, you stop making it? This was a one of a kind product with great reviews and again I'm at a loss. Really guys.Common OLAY ..... Do you know what it's like to finally get the perfect product and it just stops production? It's frustrating and now ... Again ... I'm racing around trying to get my hands on the last few remaining bottles. ☹

Salem88
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PLEASE KEEP THIS PRODUCT
11/25/2015

Customer review by Mid30sTryN2StayYoung

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by Mid30sTryN2StayYoung
by Mid30sTryN2StayYoung

I beg you to please keep this product. Women in my age range (early to mid 30s) need this product in order to fight the 7 signs of aging, while also keeping breakouts and blemishes at bay. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE keep this product in the line up. The replacement is not the same, the citrus scent is not pleasing, and it doesn't work the same. We are begging you to keep this product!

Mid30sTryN2StayYoung
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Where did this go????
9/27/2013

Customer review by Snibby

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Snibby
by Snibby

I LOVE Olay Total Effects Blemish Control with Salicylic Acid, but I haven't been able to find it anywhere for well over a month! Where, oh, where has it gone? Please, please tell me it is not discontinued. I am in the awkward and annoying position of having to fight both wrinkles AND acne. This product is the ONLY thing that has helped. I tried Olay Regenerist, which has salicylic acid as an ingredient, but the formulation just does not work as well on my skin and I am breaking out all over the place.

Snibby
New Jersey
Skin type:Combination
Please bring this back!
12/31/2015

Customer review by AElizN

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by AElizN
by AElizN

I completely agree with the other reviews - NOTHING compares to this product! I too have tried to buy as much as I can before it disappears forever. If poor sales were to blame, maybe you should have tried updating the dated looking packaging, because the product is gold! Please bring it back!

AElizN
Sydney, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews