Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 184 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
truly acne free!!
3/19/2010

Customer review by Panda516

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by Panda516
by Panda516

I have tried many many acne kits (proactive, clean n clear, neutragena, acnefree(original, severe, redness reducer,...)etc.. But none of them have worked! So now I've found a new routine that has truly helped my face clear up and is inexpensive. 1) I use a 2% salicylic acid facial cleanser (i use Neutrogena Acne Treatment Oil-Free Acne Wash) 2) a 2% salicylic acid facial scrub (I like this Olay Total effects because it is also anti aging/blemish control, by using all those other acne products, it has given me wrinkles so this product is erasing those horrible damages on my face) *pat dry and let it dry for 10 minutes before 3rd step* 3) 10% benzole peroxide gel (I use Zapzyt: Gel Acne Treatment) with all these chemicals on the face, it will dry your face up so you do need a face moisturizer. I prefer a moisturizer that has SPF as well because when using acne products you need to protect your face from sun exposure or your face will become very red and irritated. I really hoped this helped those with acne problems :]

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Panda516
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Please bring this back!
12/31/2015

Customer review by AElizN

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by AElizN
by AElizN

I completely agree with the other reviews - NOTHING compares to this product! I too have tried to buy as much as I can before it disappears forever. If poor sales were to blame, maybe you should have tried updating the dated looking packaging, because the product is gold! Please bring it back!

AElizN
Sydney, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring it back PLEASE!!
12/28/2015

Customer review by meg503

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by meg503
by meg503

Please bring this product back! It is the only thing that has worked to control my acne as an adult without overly drying my skin. I bought up whatever remaining stock I could find and just ran out a month ago. Since then, my skin has been horribly broken out to the point where I am avoiding social events. None of your other products are comparable.

meg503
Jupiter, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need This Badly
1/3/2016

Customer review by kris37

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by kris37
by kris37

I love this product it's the only thing work for my skin please bring it back it's really good

kris37
Saginaw Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've been lost without this product!!
7/1/2013

Customer review by jackie10

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by jackie10
by jackie10

I have been using Olay products for years now (introduced to me by my mother and grandmother). I never really suffered from acne exactly, but certainly had the all-too-occassional giant zit or cluster of pimples, especially around that time of the month. I tried this product probably about 2 years ago and have been a fan ever since! This was my one and only cleanser...I never strayed or tried anything new. Then, I started having a difficult time finding it on the drug store shelves. When I would find it, I would buy 2-3 bottles at a time. Then, eventually I could not find it anywhere, so I was forced to try other products. None of them worked like this cleanser. The pimples were coming back with a vengence. I have been lost without this product until it dawned on me to go to the Olay website, and to my absolute happiness, here it is! This product has made me feel more confident and in control of my skin. I am buying several bottles today. Highly, highly recommended!

jackie10
Brooklyn, NY
Skin type:Normal
DO NOT DISCONTINUE!
12/27/2015

Customer review by forloriann

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by forloriann
by forloriann

This is the only product I know of that controls acne AND has anti-aging properties! Acne treatments meant for younger skin are too harsh and drying for more mature skin. Please do not discontinue unless you have a comparable product! What is the reasoning behind the discontinuance of this product?

forloriann
New Paltz, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why did you discontinue? Bring it back!
12/26/2015

Customer review by Phil

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Phil
by Phil

You are crazy to discontinue such a great functioning product. If it didn't work I could understand, but it works well for acne without drying out the skin.

Phil
Browns Summit, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT HAPPY!
12/18/2015

Customer review by FL228

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by FL228
by FL228

I love this product!!! It is the only face wash that has actually worked on my skin. I have had to deal with acne for years, and this is the first time in a long time where I'm actually happy with my skin. The other acne wash you suggest as a replacement to this one is not even close! It doesn't have the anti-aging benefits, which I love. Please reconsider your decision.

FL228
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS CAN'T BE!!!!!
12/21/2015

Customer review by tmled54

5.0 stars 12/21/2015 by tmled54
by tmled54

Please reconsider is right! This is the ONLY product that has worked for me as an adult. Why why why???!

tmled54
new york ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Olay total effects
5/5/2011

Customer review by Luvlivelead

4.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Luvlivelead
by Luvlivelead

I have always loved oil of olay products. This is another great product. It is really helpful in reducing fine lines & reducing pore size. The exfoliating action & blemish reduction isn't really there. Olay total effects will help reduce breakouts & make your skin feel clean & fresh.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvlivelead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT UNDERSTAND!!!!
12/8/2015

Customer review by CEH0130

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by CEH0130
by CEH0130

I do not understand why you are discounting this product. I have been looking at the reviews and it soooo popular. This is the best product out there for adult acne. It also is great for preserving our aging skin. I just do not get it. Have no clue what I am going to do now. I have tried a couple of other products from Olay and they just do not do the job. Please bring it back!!!!!

CEH0130
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never Happier
4/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Once I turned 30 I started to notice that I was showing signs of aging, that came way too quick for me... So I immediately went out and tried my first anti-aging cream, Olay Total Effects. The next time I needed some there was a sale of Buy one Olay product get one 1/2 off, so I figured "what the heck, I'll try the blemish control cleanser." Boy am I happy I did. This is the first product in my life that actually cleared my skin, maintains my tone and doesn't make me feel all dried out. I absolutely love this stuff. I actually told my 16 year old daughter that she should try it for her breakouts as well, and she has been excstatic that her face has finally cleared up and hey you're never too young to start the anti-aging process, right!?!?!? I really hope they don't discontinue this product, it will literally break my heart. I wish I had discovered this product sooner! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, especially to those women that have tried almost everything for their blemishes, including ProActive and visits to the dermatologist!

An anonymous customer
Grand Rapids, MI
Skin type:Combination
Don't Discontinue
12/4/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Olay. This is the only facial blemish cleaser that has ever worked for me. I always recommend it when others compliment my skin. It also doesn't contain menthol so I can even use it to clean my eyes. I am truly disappointed that this product will no longer be available especially with nothing in the line up to replace it.

An anonymous customer
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What now
12/5/2015

Customer review by Bumpstomany

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Bumpstomany
by Bumpstomany

What now am I supposed to do with this adult acne have tried almost everything on the market a trusted friend told me about total effect with salicylic only bought one bottle and it was amazing my face cleared up no more acne well guess what acne back no more salicylic to calm this raging face what now

Bumpstomany
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
please don't discontinue this!
12/8/2015

Customer review by artechie

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by artechie
by artechie

this is the only product i have found that has the salicylic acid for blemish but doesn't over dry. i love this cleanser, please make it, or replace with a similar one. :[

artechie
cleveland, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please don't discontinue!
12/7/2015

Customer review by Meg84

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Meg84
by Meg84

Have loved this face wash ever since I started using it. Used to be able to find it everywhere but not anymore. Whenever I'm lucky enough to find it I buy it all! Really love the product!!

Meg84
Binghamton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not discontinue!
12/8/2015

Customer review by Gakm04

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Gakm04
by Gakm04

I've used this cleanser for years. It's done my skin a world of good. Why would Olay discontinue such an awesome product? Please reconsider.

Gakm04
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is a miracle worker.
12/2/2015

Customer review by Dela45

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Dela45
by Dela45

Please Olay, bring this Blemish Control Product back. It does wonders for us African American Sisters. I've have start seeing my blemishes come back & I cant find another product that works like this one does. Please put it back on the shelves. Thank you Ms. Marsh

Dela45
Millbrook, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please do not discontinue this awesome product!
12/5/2015

Customer review by MariaCH

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by MariaCH
by MariaCH

Please do not discontinue this awesome product. This is the only facial cleanser that does not dry out my skin and helps control my acne!!!

MariaCH
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a great product for acne and wrinkles
12/1/2015

Customer review by OilyinMT

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by OilyinMT
by OilyinMT

Olay - why would you continue to make products like Total Effects Revitalizing Cleanser which does nothing and get rid of Total Effects Blemish Control which does everything - have you even studied the effect it has on wrinkles? This product is truly amazing! Please bring back this product!!!!

OilyinMT
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews