Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

23 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

23 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 23 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
It did the job!
8/5/2016

Customer review by Msxendejas

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by Msxendejas
by Msxendejas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the instructions. I also did a repeat treatment a week later. This product worked just as well as the more expensive brands.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Msxendejas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better solution for killing Lices for Kids
6/19/2016

Customer review by Venkat

4.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Venkat
by Venkat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shampoo really helps removing lices and eggs very easily. Couple of Combs attached with this pack is an added advantage. It would be really great if this shampoo provides complete solution, since it is marked as '1 - Treat' and which means we need to buy another shampoo to control.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Venkat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not happy
8/1/2016

Customer review by Lucy

3.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Lucy
by Lucy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the introductions and my daughter still have lice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/3/2016

We are sorry to hear that there was an issue associated with the use of our product. We would like to further discuss your issues with our product. Please contact us at 1-800-719-9260 and reference case 767365.

Lucy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great!!!
1/13/2015

Customer review by MomOfFourBlessings

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by MomOfFourBlessings
by MomOfFourBlessings

A few months ago, I realized that somehow all 4 of my children had lice. (Oh no!!) I went to Walmart intending to purchase a different product, but they didn't have it in stock, so I ended up getting this instead. I'm so glad I did! For less than $10, I treated all 4 kids (plus my husband and I, just in case). It killed most of the adult lice and the rest seemed impaired (they were moving very slowly) making it easy to remove them from the head. The treatment itself was easy to do, instructions were clear, it wasn't terribly messy, and the smell was not offensive. This is NOT a product that kills the nits (eggs). (Most OTC products are not ovicidal.) You have to remove them, either with the provided combs or your fingers. It was fairly quick and easy (10 min) to do on my boys but took a good 2 hrs for my one daughter who has hair down to her waist. Then you have to follow up for the next week, thoroughly checking and recombing if needed. I went ahead and retreated both my daughters' hair after a week, to kill any remaining nits that had hatched. After that, we have been lice-free (although my head itches while I'm typing this review!). I read more than I ever wanted to know about lice, and the main takeaways were (1) kill the live lice, (2) remove the nits, (3) wash bedding but don't spend much time/energy cleaning as lice/nits can't survive long off the head. Overall, although I did bemoan "ain't nobody got time for this!" while dealing with the lice, this product helped me successfully defeat our infestation on the first go-round. And you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfFourBlessings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hate it
4/3/2016

Customer review by Madmother

1.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Madmother
by Madmother

My daughter came home with head lice. I bought this and followed everything. I also bought the metal comb since the plastic one break to easy. Well i combed her hair the next morning to make sure i got everything out and found she still had live bugs in her hair. I am unable to send my duaghter back to school until i get this under control. This item is a waste of money and reget buying it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/5/2016

We are sorry to hear that there was a problem associated with the use of our product, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. As you may already know, we are required by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to obtain as much information as possible on complaints associated with the use of our products. In order for us to better understand the events that occurred and file a complete report, we are asking for you to contact us. Please contact us and use the case number 732575 as a reference for this issue. We can be reached by phone at 800-719-9260, Monday through Friday 7:30am - 5pm ET.

Madmother
Would recommend to a friend? No
Life saver!!
8/19/2010

Customer review by smartmommyoftwo

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by smartmommyoftwo
by smartmommyoftwo

I bought this shampoo after learning that all three of us had gotten Lice, it was fast and easy to use and my kids did not mind the smell of it and had almost instant relief from the itch!

Was this review helpful? (36) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smartmommyoftwo
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Lice Treatment
11/16/2015

Customer review by lovemykiddos3SD

1.0 stars 11/16/2015 by lovemykiddos3SD
by lovemykiddos3SD

For little girl hair-it sucks. My daughter has long semi curly hair and it fried the ends and she had horrible tangles for 2 weeks. It didn't kill the lice either. I found that the herbal lice treatment works a little better and you need to find a metal lice comb and comb hair every single night to get nits and bugs out.. After 2 1/2 weeks she is finally lice free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/17/2015

Directions: apply thoroughly to DRY HAIR or other affected area. For head lice, first apply behind ears and to back of neck.<br />■ allow product to remain for 10 minutes, but no longer<br />■ use warm water to form a lather, shampoo, then thoroughly rinse<br />■ for head lice, towel dry hair and comb out tangles<br />Remove lice and their eggs (nits)<br />■ use a fine-tooth or special lice/nit comb. Remove any remaining nits by hand (using a throw-away glove).<br />■ hair should remain slightly damp while removing nits<br />■ if hair dries during combing, dampen slightly with water<br />■ for head lice, part hair into sections. Do one section at a time starting on top of the head. Longer hair may take 1 to 2 hours.<br />■ lift a 1{ }-{ }to 2-inch wide strand of hair. Place comb as close to scalp as possible and comb with a firm, even motion away from scalp.<br />■ pin back each strand of hair after combing<br />■ clean comb often. Wipe nits away with tissue and discard in a plastic bag. Seal bag and discard to prevent lice from coming back.<br />■ after combing, thoroughly recheck for lice/nits. Repeat combing if necessary.<br />■ check daily for any lice/nits that you missed<br />■ a second treatment must be done in 7 to 10 days to kill any newly hatched lice<br />■ if infestation continues, see a doctor for other treatments<br />All Perrigo products must meet approved specifications for identity and strength prior to release for public use. Individual will vary in the way they respond to the same dose of a single drug. The difference in response can result from a number of factors responsible for altering the drug effect that include genetics, disease, age and use of other drugs at the same time. We would like to thank you for the opportunity to address your concern. As you may already know, we are required by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to obtain as much information as possible on adverse events associated with the use of our products. In order for us to better understand the events that occurred and file a complete report, we are asking for you to contact us. Please contact us and use the case number 693745 as a reference for this issue. We can be reached by phone at 1-866-634-9120, Monday through Friday 7:30am - 5pm ET. If we do not hear from you within two weeks, we will consider this matter closed.

lovemykiddos3SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth being packaged.
5/27/2010

Customer review by ABMink

1.0 stars 5/27/2010 by ABMink
by ABMink

I bought this product to treat my child's head for lice. After the following the directions and combing out what were supposed to be dead infestation, I realized that it had been ineffective. Immediately after the medication was given the bugs on his head were still alive. I assumed they were dying and just not dead yet so I continued to comb over his head thoroughly removing any bugs or nits. I had faith that I was just paranoid, and the treatment had at least killed the eggs and was planning to follow directions and retreat in 10 days. Thank goodness i did not wait that long because in 3 days I looked at his head and there was so many bugs there was no way the first treatment had done anything. At this point I took him in the backyard shaved his head, and sprayed Raid bug killer with permetherin on the clippings.

Was this review helpful? (15) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABMink
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good Product
3/17/2016

Customer review by SchoolNurse

5.0 stars 3/17/2016 by SchoolNurse
by SchoolNurse

Ordered these for a school. A great inexpensive option that did what it needed to. Quick shipping!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SchoolNurse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok shampoo HORRIBLE COMB!!!!!!
7/28/2012

Customer review by vERUCABABY

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by vERUCABABY
by vERUCABABY

I bought this when I found lice on my son after going to a block part on 4th of July. Like most parent's these days I need to find things that are a little less pricey but just as good as the pricey stuff. I've used other Equate products and I've never had an issue so trusted this product. My son has hair that is not typical for most boys his age these days. He doesn't sport a shaved head or a mohawk and isn't willing to shave his head either so had to go the route of nit picking. Bought this, used this, felt confident it solved the problem. Cleaned everything in his room, in my room to be safe when low and behold he's scratching again! I look I don't see anything but figure I'll use the shampoo not a third time but a fourth time to be safe and when I look in the sink hey he's got lice all over again. Since it's been hot we have not left this house and gone anywhere that he could have possibly picked it up AGAIN. Nope turns out that hour I spent nit picking before and thinking "hey this easy that shampoo must have washed them little BUGGERS all out for me'" was nothing because that little plastic comb didn't do A thing! That plastic comb in the box is worthless. The shampoo I'm sure works just as well as every other shampoo out there but do yourself a favor and buy the Rid comb!!!!! And if your child has any other hair color than blonde, buy some magnifying glasses as well. Then be prepared to sit there for at least 3 hours nit picking. The Rid comb rocks. Yes it took me 3 hours to get all the nits out of my sons hair but now I'm confident I got ALL of them out of his hair. If you use the comb that came with this product you'll be using this product over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over. BUY THE RID COMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vERUCABABY
MORENO VALLEY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
EQUATE LICE SHAMPOO
2/16/2011

Customer review by VATIM

4.0 stars 2/16/2011 by VATIM
by VATIM

This is the same product as RID. This should be your first try at getting rid of the lice, but understand that some areas have become immune to the Pyretherin poison. Search the internet, and you will see that just as easy as I did. This product was mildly effective on my childrens hair, but we still had nits that persisted the second treatment. I have tried several formulas and these things are just a pain to get rid of. Natural products work too...maybe.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VATIM
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Didn't work... More missed school!
3/9/2016

Customer review by AngryMama

1.0 stars 3/9/2016 by AngryMama
by AngryMama

This item did not fully work. Followed directions perfectly. Was very thorough in removing nits and lice with provided comb... but comb was plastic and did not work well. Still live lice the next morning... causing my child to miss school. Don't buy! Waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/11/2016

We are sorry to hear that there was a problem associated with the use of our product, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. As you may already know, we are required by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to obtain as much information as possible on complaints associated with the use of our products. In order for us to better understand the events that occurred and file a complete report, we are asking for you to contact us. Please contact us and use the case number 725552 as a reference for this issue. We can be reached by phone at 800-719-9260, Monday through Friday 7:30am - 5pm ET.

AngryMama
Would recommend to a friend? No
DON'T BUY THIS
3/29/2010

Customer review by dreamer98

1.0 stars 3/29/2010 by dreamer98
by dreamer98

Bought this shampoo for my Daughters hair. Read and followed ALL directions. Daughter's head was still FULL of LIVE lice after treatment. Had to go back and buy a different product without chemicals to retreat.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dreamer98
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works Good
9/5/2014

Customer review by Kaniksu

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Kaniksu
by Kaniksu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works good but the nit combs aren't strong and will break easily. I have used this twice now and it seems all the lice are gone and so are the nits.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaniksu
Metaline Falls, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
After three treatments with Rid we still had lice
12/14/2012

Customer review by Melba414

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Melba414
by Melba414

After three treatments and three follow up treatments of Rid, we still had lice BAD!!!! After one treatment and one follow up treatment of equate lice shampoo we had NO lice! This is a great product wit a good price!

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melba414
Shawano WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Garbage
3/10/2016

Customer review by AngryMom

1.0 stars 3/10/2016 by AngryMom
by AngryMom

I asked the pharmacist what to get because I have never dealt with this. She recommended this. I used it on my daughter. The next day, I found 7 LIVE LICE! Don't waste your money on this garbage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/14/2016

We are sorry to hear that there was a problem associated with the use of our product, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. As you may already know, we are required by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to obtain as much information as possible on complaints associated with the use of our products. In order for us to better understand the events that occurred and file a complete report, we are asking for you to contact us. Please contact us and use the case number 725968 as a reference for this issue. We can be reached by phone at 800-719-9260, Monday through Friday 7:30am - 5pm ET.

AngryMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
it actually works better than Rid
3/8/2016

Customer review by shan

5.0 stars 3/8/2016 by shan
by shan

It works better than Rid!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
lice still found in hair one day later
7/22/2015

Customer review by icre8

1.0 stars 7/22/2015 by icre8
by icre8

used this for grand daughter. she did not have very many nits and I thought this was going to be easy. Did the shampoo and combed all the nits out. Next evening her mom checked her hair again. Found 2 live lice and showed them to me. Redid her hair again this morning. I am researching other treatments right now including the olive oil treatment (no chemicals) I got what I paid for; this product was cheap.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/24/2015

Per label directions: apply thoroughly to DRY HAIR or other affected area. For head lice, first apply behind ears and to back of neck, allow product to remain for 10 minutes, but no longer, use warm water to form a lather, shampoo, then thoroughly rinse, check daily for any lice/nits that you missed, a second treatment must be done in 7 to 10 days to kill any newly hatched lice, if infestation continues, see a doctor for other treatments. All Perrigo products must meet approved specifications for identity and strength prior to release for public use. Individual will vary in the way they respond to the same dose of a single drug. The difference in response can result from a number of factors responsible for altering the drug effect that include genetics, disease, age and use of other drugs at the same time. We would like to thank you for the opportunity to address your concern. As you may already know, we are required by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to obtain as much information as possible on complaints associated with the use of our products. In order for us to better understand the events that occurred and file a complete report, we are asking for you to contact us. Please contact us and use the case number 660983 as a reference for this issue. We can be reached by phone at 1-866-634-9120, Monday through Friday 7:30am - 5pm ET. If we do not hear from you within two weeks, we will consider this matter closed.

icre8
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not work
3/4/2014

Customer review by Bruicidal

1.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Bruicidal
by Bruicidal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this bottle many times over and over and just could not get rid of them. Switched to RID and finally got rid of them. It uses the same active ingredient supposedly, but it just doesn't work. Don't buy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bruicidal
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good generic.
10/25/2015

Customer review by Busybee

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Busybee
by Busybee

Works well for its purpose.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busybee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews