Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.9out of 5 stars
2.9 out of 5 | 33 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
16
Sort by: 
1-20 of 33 reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Waste of money.
10/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Within 24 hours of using this product my son had a full head of eggs and several live bugs. Don’t waste your money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked great!!!
1/13/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
A few months ago, I realized that somehow all 4 of my children had lice. (Oh no!!) I went to Walmart intending to purchase a different product, but they didn't have it in stock, so I ended up getting this instead. I'm so glad I did! For less than $10, I treated all 4 kids (plus my husband and I, just in case). It killed most of the adult lice and the rest seemed impaired (they were moving very slowly) making it easy to remove them from the head. The treatment itself was easy to do, instructions were clear, it wasn't terribly messy, and the smell was not offensive. This is NOT a product that kills the nits (eggs). (Most OTC products are not ovicidal.) You have to remove them, either with the provided combs or your fingers. It was fairly quick and easy (10 min) to do on my boys but took a good 2 hrs for my one daughter who has hair down to her waist. Then you have to follow up for the next week, thoroughly checking and recombing if needed. I went ahead and retreated both my daughters' hair after a week, to kill any remaining nits that had hatched. After that, we have been lice-free (although my head itches while I'm typing this review!). I read more than I ever wanted to know about lice, and the main takeaways were (1) kill the live lice, (2) remove the nits, (3) wash bedding but don't spend much time/energy cleaning as lice/nits can't survive long off the head. Overall, although I did bemoan "ain't nobody got time for this!" while dealing with the lice, this product helped me successfully defeat our infestation on the first go-round. And you can't beat the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (93)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It work good for me twice
9/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It works I did it Sunday for my child after I did the steps tee tree oil helps also put shampoo!! It worked perfectly!! She still putting tee tree oil in her shampoo!! Put shampoo and spray on too hair !!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Life saver!!
8/19/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this shampoo after learning that all three of us had gotten Lice, it was fast and easy to use and my kids did not mind the smell of it and had almost instant relief from the itch!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not worth being packaged.
5/27/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product to treat my child's head for lice. After the following the directions and combing out what were supposed to be dead infestation, I realized that it had been ineffective. Immediately after the medication was given the bugs on his head were still alive. I assumed they were dying and just not dead yet so I continued to comb over his head thoroughly removing any bugs or nits. I had faith that I was just paranoid, and the treatment had at least killed the eggs and was planning to follow directions and retreat in 10 days. Thank goodness i did not wait that long because in 3 days I looked at his head and there was so many bugs there was no way the first treatment had done anything. At this point I took him in the backyard shaved his head, and sprayed Raid bug killer with permetherin on the clippings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ok shampoo HORRIBLE COMB!!!!!!
7/28/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this when I found lice on my son after going to a block part on 4th of July. Like most parent's these days I need to find things that are a little less pricey but just as good as the pricey stuff. I've used other Equate products and I've never had an issue so trusted this product. My son has hair that is not typical for most boys his age these days. He doesn't sport a shaved head or a mohawk and isn't willing to shave his head either so had to go the route of nit picking. Bought this, used this, felt confident it solved the problem. Cleaned everything in his room, in my room to be safe when low and behold he's scratching again! I look I don't see anything but figure I'll use the shampoo not a third time but a fourth time to be safe and when I look in the sink hey he's got lice all over again. Since it's been hot we have not left this house and gone anywhere that he could have possibly picked it up AGAIN. Nope turns out that hour I spent nit picking before and thinking "hey this easy that shampoo must have washed them little BUGGERS all out for me'" was nothing because that little plastic comb didn't do A thing! That plastic comb in the box is worthless. The shampoo I'm sure works just as well as every other shampoo out there but do yourself a favor and buy the Rid comb!!!!! And if your child has any other hair color than blonde, buy some magnifying glasses as well. Then be prepared to sit there for at least 3 hours nit picking. The Rid comb rocks. Yes it took me 3 hours to get all the nits out of my sons hair but now I'm confident I got ALL of them out of his hair. If you use the comb that came with this product you'll be using this product over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over. BUY THE RID COMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hate it
4/3/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My daughter came home with head lice. I bought this and followed everything. I also bought the metal comb since the plastic one break to easy. Well i combed her hair the next morning to make sure i got everything out and found she still had live bugs in her hair. I am unable to send my duaghter back to school until i get this under control. This item is a waste of money and reget buying it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product is ineffective. Waste of time and money.
3/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought the product after daughter came from school with lice. First, it comes with a useless plastic comb. I used it in her head and nothing came out. Three days later noticed more nits than before. Bought a real steel comb and used the product again. This time the steel comb did manage to capture the lice. I hoped that was the end of it. I checked her head every other day and a week later she had lice again. As the CDC states, lice have become resistant to OTC products. Do not recommend this product to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EQUATE LICE SHAMPOO
2/16/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the same product as RID. This should be your first try at getting rid of the lice, but understand that some areas have become immune to the Pyretherin poison. Search the internet, and you will see that just as easy as I did. This product was mildly effective on my childrens hair, but we still had nits that persisted the second treatment. I have tried several formulas and these things are just a pain to get rid of. Natural products work too...maybe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No more lice
9/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My daughter mysteriously got lice, I purchased this product and after following the directions she has been lice free.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lice Treatment
11/16/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For little girl hair-it sucks. My daughter has long semi curly hair and it fried the ends and she had horrible tangles for 2 weeks. It didn't kill the lice either. I found that the herbal lice treatment works a little better and you need to find a metal lice comb and comb hair every single night to get nits and bugs out.. After 2 1/2 weeks she is finally lice free.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DON'T BUY THIS
3/29/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this shampoo for my Daughters hair. Read and followed ALL directions. Daughter's head was still FULL of LIVE lice after treatment. Had to go back and buy a different product without chemicals to retreat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Good
9/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works good but the nit combs aren't strong and will break easily. I have used this twice now and it seems all the lice are gone and so are the nits.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
After three treatments with Rid we still had lice
12/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After three treatments and three follow up treatments of Rid, we still had lice BAD!!!! After one treatment and one follow up treatment of equate lice shampoo we had NO lice! This is a great product wit a good price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT EFFECTIVE
1/24/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First sorry if you are looking at this product, Lice is horrible to deal with. I used this product because there was no other option available at the store I was at. I treated my daughters hair and this killed no lice I found live bugs in her hair three days later after taking 2 hours to comb through her hair. Other name brand products are more expensive but worth the cost if it is effective. I have since used the name brand and had much better results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
12/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product works great I have my daughters leave it in over night and then wash it out in the morning that helps a lot
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Equate Lice Treatment Shampoo
1/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Equate Lice Treatment Shampoo works to rid your body and hair of scabies lice if you follow the directions; also, i used this instead of detergent to wash my nightgowns in the sink and RINSE out the soap, this shampoo is great for ridding your clothes of lice if you rinse it out of the clothes before drying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better solution for killing Lices for Kids
6/19/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This shampoo really helps removing lices and eggs very easily. Couple of Combs attached with this pack is an added advantage. It would be really great if this shampoo provides complete solution, since it is marked as '1 - Treat' and which means we need to buy another shampoo to control.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Effective
9/20/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is effective.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Product
3/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered these for a school. A great inexpensive option that did what it needed to. Quick shipping!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640673, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-