Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

147 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

147 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
22
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 stars
26
1-20 of 141 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews
You Can't Beat The Price!
7/11/2009

Customer review by cfphillips10

5.0 stars 7/11/2009 by cfphillips10
by cfphillips10

I purchased for $39.99 a year ago. I have three adult cats and recently added three kittens. It has held up tremendously with all cats jumping and playing. I added string with toys attached using a screw drilled under the platforms! The only drawback is the kittens tended to chew at the seams, previously when carpet threads would string I would just keep them trimmed. I duct taped the kitten damage and so far so good. You could also get carpet remnants and re-cover or just buy a new one for that price!

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cfphillips10
Auburndale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for
4/29/2009

Customer review by DigIt09

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by DigIt09
by DigIt09

The product is the cheapest and most simple style that I have found. I have two 9 month kittens and they play on it every day. I have had it for about 6 months and I am already getting ready to purchase another. The product broke once, and took me about 3 weeks (8+ phone calls and a nasty e-mail) to get the replacement parts. However, once I was finally able to speak with a person, the company was great about sending everything for free. I also called during the Christmas season and can understand if this hindered the process. My parents have the same product for their cat and it has lasted almost a year in great condition. Their cat is also older and does not play as rough as my boys. You get what you pay for. The product is cheap, but it's made with flimsy materials. If your cats play rough, it may not last as long. If you're looking for a cheap behavioral fix, this is a great product. My cats stopped clawing at the carpet, furniture, walls, etc. once I put this up. They love racing up, around, and down the post. They love sleeping at the top. If you can afford to get the more durable products ($150-$300), I would stay away from this. If price is an issue, I would definitely recommend trying this cat tree. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DigIt09
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
With some modifications, it can be great!
8/31/2012

Customer review by stephyanders

3.0 stars 8/31/2012 by stephyanders
by stephyanders

I bought this cat tree for $39.99 in store and thought it was a pretty good deal. I had read reviews previous to purchase, and understood it wasn't going to be a great item. I figured I would hedge my bets and purchase this before putting down over $100 for a comparable tree. My first problem with this tree was that the carpet covering the tubes came off very easily once my cats used it as a scratch post. It definitely is a bit shaky and moves when the cats are climbing. Other than that, it seemed to be a nice tree. My cats hung out on it without breaking it (biggest is about 16lb) and seemed to enjoy it. After the carpet started pulling up, I decided I was going to remove the carpet and wrap all the posts in sisal rope (found in hardware section, $5 per rope with a total of 4 needed) and hot glue it down. The carpet was stapled onto the cardboard tubes with a strip of glue up each tube, so removal was fairly easy. It took about 2 hours to glue/wrap the sisal around the tubes, which made a huge improvement in eye appeal. As I was putting the tree back up, my biggest cat jumped on it before I had secured it to the roof. The tree then tumbled down ane the plastic end caps on the tubes pulled loose, meaning it was not going back together. If I hadn't just spent a few hours of my life wrapping it in sisal, I might have thrown it away, but I decided I needed to fix it. I bought deck screws (50 pack) and screwed down all of the plastic end caps so they would not pull out in the future (these were also just stapled on like the carpet). I also ended up using the screws to firmly secure the base, as the hex screw that came with it stripped when I used a real hex to tighten the base and I could not get it back off. This means that the bottom piece and the bottom tube are forever joined, but every other section comes apart as originally intended. Total, I have probably spent $60 including the original purchase to improve this tree. Definitely a nice investment and my cats are thrilled their tree is back up!

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stephyanders
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Munchkins Love It
2/1/2009

Customer review by soldierlover84

5.0 stars 2/1/2009 by soldierlover84
by soldierlover84

We've had our cat tree for about a year now and the cats (3) love it! They'll run up to the top and sit and look down at the others and one of them can hook his claws into the edge and jump down and end up doing flips on it. Its very funny to watch. My only problem is the carpet on it is easy to snag with their claws, so about every other week I sit there with scissors and cut the loose parts off. But toher than that no problems. My husband said it was very easy to put together and should be easy to take apart when we move (military).

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soldierlover84
Fort Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for
4/14/2009

Customer review by targetKat

3.0 stars 4/14/2009 by targetKat
by targetKat

I got this as a gift for my 1 year old Bengal. He plays extremely rough and broke this thing twice within a month. So I finally went ahead and Gorilla glued the whole thing together and it works great. I have it placed next to the cabinets above my fridge along with a kitty bed, making it his very own room, he likes it up there. I plan on purchasing another to place by a window but will glue it together immediately instead of waiting for it to break. Good for the price, but pick up some gorilla glue while your in the store.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
targetKat
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What A Relief!
11/19/2008

Customer review by Pullticket

5.0 stars 11/19/2008 by Pullticket
by Pullticket

This was a great alternative to Petco's much more expensive cat condos/trees. We have two kittens who love to race up and down it, which gives them their daily workout. They even sleep on the top tier. It was easy to assemble and has kept them from climbing on my furniture. They have hours of fun!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pullticket
Lino Lakes, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not too bad...
5/16/2009

Customer review by SOHKat

3.0 stars 5/16/2009 by SOHKat
by SOHKat

If you have 1 cat, or a few underactive cats, the pole might hold up for longer. However, with two cats under age 1, the carpet is falling off, and has had to be glued quite a few times. The pole is also flimzy in the middle after some time. If you cannot afford something better, it is a great buy but will need to be replaced yearly if not earlier.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SOHKat
Hadley, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small footprint. Big fun.
4/27/2013

Customer review by aroundtuit

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by aroundtuit
by aroundtuit

My cat is thrilled that she can now look out the window or watch tv from her own sky box. With it's three shelves it provides a lot of options for her to choose from. Happy girl.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aroundtuit
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap materials
1/4/2012

Customer review by klazy

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by klazy
by klazy

I have 2 cats and every time they'd jump onto a shelf it would bow in the center. I thought maybe it was off center or not screwed tight enough so I'd make sure it was level and tight but it would still bow. One day while my cat was on the center shelf it separated at the middle and came crashing down on her. All this is made out of is cardboard tubes. Not wanting to have just wasted $40, I reinforced the connections with screws but it still bows. I shortened the top connection thinking maybe it was just too tall to support the weight of the cat but that didn't work either. Oh well, I guess you get what you pay for. I can't believe they claim it's durable on the box. How can cardboard be classified as durable? I also read the 4 star reviews and can't understand how their tree is still standing. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klazy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to customize cat tree
1/27/2014

Customer review by ohioborn1

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by ohioborn1
by ohioborn1

For $40, this is a great basic cat tree that would be easy and inexpensive to modify. I haven't done anything yet, but some ideas would be to add sturdier/longer platforms, different cloth on the platforms, sissel rope to the poles ($5 at walmart), etc. I love the fact that it goes all the way to the ceiling. Once assembled, I sprayed some catnip oil on it, and watched my 3 cats go to town with it. The platforms it comes with aren't too small. I have 3 cats of different sizes/ages, and they can all climb and lay on them. It seems sturdy so far, but I haven't had it long. I'm going to see how well it holds up structurally, and if it does well, I'll be buying a couple more for different parts of the house. I took a star off because on its own, I'm sure the "carpet" is super cheap/thin and going to be ripped to shreds shortly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohioborn1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/5/2008

Customer review by stp162

3.0 stars 11/5/2008 by stp162
by stp162

The tree is made of cardboard tubing and stapled carpet. The pieces slide into one another and has a spring-loaded bar that pushes against the ceiling. Is a bit flimsy. My cats tore off the carpet on the bottom section. I had to by sisel rope and glue that on instead. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stp162
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very unsatified with product
9/10/2010

Customer review by sunnyjane

1.0 stars 9/10/2010 by sunnyjane
by sunnyjane

This cat tree I just bought turned into fuzz after one cat scratching. The carpeting isn't real, and after a week it shredded and had holes in it. I bought this product in the past with great results. My cats liked them so well they demolished them after a year. But, this new products is horrible, and won't hold-up.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnyjane
Mazeppa, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Cat Tree
12/26/2013

Customer review by Lilly80

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Lilly80
by Lilly80

I bought this cat tree after I unexpectedly acquired a 2nd cat, a large male. I already had a smaller cat tree for my little female, and there was no way they were willing to share. Thankfully Leo loves this cat tree and spends a good portion of his day on it. I would definitely buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilly80
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pleased!
7/11/2011

Customer review by limecat

4.0 stars 7/11/2011 by limecat
by limecat

I bought this tree for my cat in anticipation of moving into my first apartment and knowing my little guy would get antsy in a small space. I was very surprised when I stumbled across this product and even more pleased once it was set up, it was exactly what I was looking for at the price I wanted! Takes up minimal space, and it's simple yet does its job. This was my cat's first experience with a cat tree and he took to it in less than 5 minutes (btw, I believe it's also treated with catnip because he was bugging out). After some instruction and a little persuasion with treats and toys he quickly became comfortable with his new playground. After his intro he even raced up to the second level to get a better view and investigate some noises outside - perfect! My only issue, and it's a small one, is that the tree is a little unstable. It holds itself with tension from PVC pipes on the top which kind of push it slightly to one side and it does sway a little when the cat is higher than the first platform. Sure, instructions do suggest cutting the PVCs if needed but the way the top section's spring is, I don't think shortening the PVC will do much for me. For the move, I envisioned two small shelving brackets to secure the second platform to the wall would best solve the instability problem. Otherwise, I love it and my cat does too!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
limecat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tree for the money
4/7/2014

Customer review by Piper1985

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Piper1985
by Piper1985

We foster cats for a rescue so we have around 15-20 cats in the house always. In December, 5 months ago, we bought one of these and a $120 cat tree from another website. This one had held up better than the more expensive one! Yes, the carpet is coming off the lowest pole, but that is it, the rest of it is holding up fine and it has not moved and inch from where we put it up. With this many cats using it day in and day out I'm surprised it held up so well!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Piper1985
Greenville, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The worst cat tree EVER!
11/5/2012

Customer review by Catsofmany

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Catsofmany
by Catsofmany

I have bought cat trees from Walmart for years. The trees lasted over a year and I was very happy with that length of time considering I had several cats. BUT this last tree was a total disappointment! The cardboard was thinner and the carpet was basically a cloth instead of carpeting…It just took one cat jumping onto the tree and the tree bent in the middle. We tried anchoring it to the wall but within 5 days the “carpet” was pulling away from the tree as well as ripping. The tree was sitting at an angle no matter how much we tried to support it. I returned it to Walmart for a refund. With that money my husband and I bought 2x4’s and a carpet runner. Considering we had anchored the Walmart tree to the wall we figured we could build our own tree and anchor it to the wall. We have 4 shelves and 4 posts and very happy cats. We didn't expect alot buying a 40$ tree but certainly did expect the same quality that we've had for years.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catsofmany
Auburn, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
modified but a great buy!
3/19/2013

Customer review by BusyBee66

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by BusyBee66
by BusyBee66

I got two of the cat craft cat trees about 6 years ago and took out the top platforms to put in a long board in their place. My cats love it because they can see out of my high window that are about 5 ft off the floor The cats love to lay on the platform and look out the windows. I may have modified it but it works well. I plan to buy 2 more to replace the well loved carpet. I feel 6 years of high use is good. I also have 8 cats so it was well used and my cats never have used my furniture to sharpen claws.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyBee66
Cheektowaga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Withstood a lot of Roughhousing
12/14/2009

Customer review by TracyVT

4.0 stars 12/14/2009 by TracyVT
by TracyVT

The cat tree was actually my brother's to start. His cats wouldn't touch it, so when I adopted sibling Maine Coons, he gave it to me. It's been a little over a year now, and this cat tree has been worth its weight in gold. My boys don't just use the tree for napping, it is often the focus of their pretty extreme wrestling matches. After we had them neutered a year ago, we figured they'd slow down a bit but they maintained the same playfulness as always. As a result, this tree has taken some abuse. Each of our boys weighs 20 pounds. Plus, we have an older cat who would watch them play on the tree, so she took to it to, but more for scratching. As a result, the tree sees up to 44 pounds on any given day. That's a lot more weight than I think they were designed to take. The carpeting is tattered and I've had to put some of the sections back into place. Rather than use glue, I used a staple gun and that held it better. I check it daily to make sure the staples haven't loosened. Within six months, the top support/spring-tension pole snapped from the cats excessive play. We were able to replace it with a section of copper piping that was leftover from when this house was built. That pipe has lasted, but now the areas where the posts screw into each other has started to wear away, so the posts are very wobbly. We are replacing this tree with another for Christmas. It's been a favorite of our cats. They don't touch our furniture and spend most of their time on this tree.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TracyVT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
10/13/2012

Customer review by TParkman

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by TParkman
by TParkman

I have five big cats and they love this thing they play on it everyday. I read a bad review that said the platforms were not sturdy but with five big cats this thing is holding up great. They love to sit on the top platform and they vie for that position all the time. If it was not sturdy my cats would have broke it apart by now. They like it so much I am thinking about buying another one. Only thing is I am not sure how long the rug/carpet will hold up with these guys scratching it like crazy but so far so good its holding up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TParkman
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good buy
7/19/2010

Customer review by CrazyCatLady3

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by CrazyCatLady3
by CrazyCatLady3

This is one of the cheapest available cat trees which is great if you're on a budget. They hold up pretty well for the price. I have 2 cats and I usually have these 2-3 years before they need replaced (my cats are rough on it, too!)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyCatLady3
Appalachian Mts, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews