Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
23
3 stars
26
2 stars
14
1 stars
27
1-20 of 146 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
You Can't Beat The Price!
7/11/2009

Customer review by cfphillips10

5.0 stars 7/11/2009 by cfphillips10
by cfphillips10

I purchased for $39.99 a year ago. I have three adult cats and recently added three kittens. It has held up tremendously with all cats jumping and playing. I added string with toys attached using a screw drilled under the platforms! The only drawback is the kittens tended to chew at the seams, previously when carpet threads would string I would just keep them trimmed. I duct taped the kitten damage and so far so good. You could also get carpet remnants and re-cover or just buy a new one for that price!

Was this review helpful? (115) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cfphillips10
Auburndale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
With some modifications, it can be great!
8/31/2012

Customer review by stephyanders

3.0 stars 8/31/2012 by stephyanders
by stephyanders

I bought this cat tree for $39.99 in store and thought it was a pretty good deal. I had read reviews previous to purchase, and understood it wasn't going to be a great item. I figured I would hedge my bets and purchase this before putting down over $100 for a comparable tree. My first problem with this tree was that the carpet covering the tubes came off very easily once my cats used it as a scratch post. It definitely is a bit shaky and moves when the cats are climbing. Other than that, it seemed to be a nice tree. My cats hung out on it without breaking it (biggest is about 16lb) and seemed to enjoy it. After the carpet started pulling up, I decided I was going to remove the carpet and wrap all the posts in sisal rope (found in hardware section, $5 per rope with a total of 4 needed) and hot glue it down. The carpet was stapled onto the cardboard tubes with a strip of glue up each tube, so removal was fairly easy. It took about 2 hours to glue/wrap the sisal around the tubes, which made a huge improvement in eye appeal. As I was putting the tree back up, my biggest cat jumped on it before I had secured it to the roof. The tree then tumbled down ane the plastic end caps on the tubes pulled loose, meaning it was not going back together. If I hadn't just spent a few hours of my life wrapping it in sisal, I might have thrown it away, but I decided I needed to fix it. I bought deck screws (50 pack) and screwed down all of the plastic end caps so they would not pull out in the future (these were also just stapled on like the carpet). I also ended up using the screws to firmly secure the base, as the hex screw that came with it stripped when I used a real hex to tighten the base and I could not get it back off. This means that the bottom piece and the bottom tube are forever joined, but every other section comes apart as originally intended. Total, I have probably spent $60 including the original purchase to improve this tree. Definitely a nice investment and my cats are thrilled their tree is back up!

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stephyanders
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small footprint. Big fun.
4/27/2013

Customer review by aroundtuit

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by aroundtuit
by aroundtuit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My cat is thrilled that she can now look out the window or watch tv from her own sky box. With it's three shelves it provides a lot of options for her to choose from. Happy girl.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aroundtuit
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very unsatified with product
9/10/2010

Customer review by sunnyjane

1.0 stars 9/10/2010 by sunnyjane
by sunnyjane

This cat tree I just bought turned into fuzz after one cat scratching. The carpeting isn't real, and after a week it shredded and had holes in it. I bought this product in the past with great results. My cats liked them so well they demolished them after a year. But, this new products is horrible, and won't hold-up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunnyjane
Mazeppa, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to customize cat tree
1/27/2014

Customer review by ohioborn1

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by ohioborn1
by ohioborn1

For $40, this is a great basic cat tree that would be easy and inexpensive to modify. I haven't done anything yet, but some ideas would be to add sturdier/longer platforms, different cloth on the platforms, sissel rope to the poles ($5 at walmart), etc. I love the fact that it goes all the way to the ceiling. Once assembled, I sprayed some catnip oil on it, and watched my 3 cats go to town with it. The platforms it comes with aren't too small. I have 3 cats of different sizes/ages, and they can all climb and lay on them. It seems sturdy so far, but I haven't had it long. I'm going to see how well it holds up structurally, and if it does well, I'll be buying a couple more for different parts of the house. I took a star off because on its own, I'm sure the "carpet" is super cheap/thin and going to be ripped to shreds shortly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohioborn1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for
4/14/2009

Customer review by targetKat

3.0 stars 4/14/2009 by targetKat
by targetKat

I got this as a gift for my 1 year old Bengal. He plays extremely rough and broke this thing twice within a month. So I finally went ahead and Gorilla glued the whole thing together and it works great. I have it placed next to the cabinets above my fridge along with a kitty bed, making it his very own room, he likes it up there. I plan on purchasing another to place by a window but will glue it together immediately instead of waiting for it to break. Good for the price, but pick up some gorilla glue while your in the store.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
targetKat
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My babies love it!
7/13/2012

Customer review by VellyD

4.0 stars 7/13/2012 by VellyD
by VellyD

My babies Dakota & Chloe love this tree. At first they didn't know what it was(it's their 1st tree) but as soon as I hung a mouse toy on it they were at the top. Now they are on it all the time. I put it by the window so they can watch the world outside. The only thing I would have to say I don't like about it is that it's not as sturdy as I would like but it does do it's job. Now my kittens don't have to scratch my sofa & they can be up high like they want. No tools needed unless your ceiling is between 8-9feet the instructions say you need a hacksaw but I just used a cutting knife(I have good knives). I got this because it is cheap for now until I can afford a bigger tree that comes with a condo. Overall I love it & so do my babies!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VellyD
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tree for the money
4/7/2014

Customer review by Piper1985

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Piper1985
by Piper1985

We foster cats for a rescue so we have around 15-20 cats in the house always. In December, 5 months ago, we bought one of these and a $120 cat tree from another website. This one had held up better than the more expensive one! Yes, the carpet is coming off the lowest pole, but that is it, the rest of it is holding up fine and it has not moved and inch from where we put it up. With this many cats using it day in and day out I'm surprised it held up so well!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Piper1985
Greenville, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/13/2012

Customer review by TParkman

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by TParkman
by TParkman

I have five big cats and they love this thing they play on it everyday. I read a bad review that said the platforms were not sturdy but with five big cats this thing is holding up great. They love to sit on the top platform and they vie for that position all the time. If it was not sturdy my cats would have broke it apart by now. They like it so much I am thinking about buying another one. Only thing is I am not sure how long the rug/carpet will hold up with these guys scratching it like crazy but so far so good its holding up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TParkman
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Cat Tree
12/26/2013

Customer review by Lilly80

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Lilly80
by Lilly80

I bought this cat tree after I unexpectedly acquired a 2nd cat, a large male. I already had a smaller cat tree for my little female, and there was no way they were willing to share. Thankfully Leo loves this cat tree and spends a good portion of his day on it. I would definitely buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilly80
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
modified but a great buy!
3/19/2013

Customer review by BusyBee66

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by BusyBee66
by BusyBee66

I got two of the cat craft cat trees about 6 years ago and took out the top platforms to put in a long board in their place. My cats love it because they can see out of my high window that are about 5 ft off the floor The cats love to lay on the platform and look out the windows. I may have modified it but it works well. I plan to buy 2 more to replace the well loved carpet. I feel 6 years of high use is good. I also have 8 cats so it was well used and my cats never have used my furniture to sharpen claws.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyBee66
Cheektowaga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product if you're on a small budget.
11/19/2012

Customer review by loudcat

3.0 stars 11/19/2012 by loudcat
by loudcat

I love it. I have a rescue cat that I have been nursing back to health. She loves to sit on it so she can get away from the dogs. Its cheaply made and not incredibly apealing. Mine is a dark blue. It will probably last a little less than a year, but at the price it is I can just go buy another one. If you can afford to buy a more expensive one its probably a better Idea, but if you're on a small budget like me this is a great deal. I will probably get a couple more eventualy. Remember you get what you pay for. dont buy this and expect it to last for years and years it wont. If you want something that will last for about a year then this is great. Its super easy to put together! I had it up in 10 min. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loudcat
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for
4/29/2009

Customer review by DigIt09

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by DigIt09
by DigIt09

The product is the cheapest and most simple style that I have found. I have two 9 month kittens and they play on it every day. I have had it for about 6 months and I am already getting ready to purchase another. The product broke once, and took me about 3 weeks (8+ phone calls and a nasty e-mail) to get the replacement parts. However, once I was finally able to speak with a person, the company was great about sending everything for free. I also called during the Christmas season and can understand if this hindered the process. My parents have the same product for their cat and it has lasted almost a year in great condition. Their cat is also older and does not play as rough as my boys. You get what you pay for. The product is cheap, but it's made with flimsy materials. If your cats play rough, it may not last as long. If you're looking for a cheap behavioral fix, this is a great product. My cats stopped clawing at the carpet, furniture, walls, etc. once I put this up. They love racing up, around, and down the post. They love sleeping at the top. If you can afford to get the more durable products ($150-$300), I would stay away from this. If price is an issue, I would definitely recommend trying this cat tree. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (65) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DigIt09
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The worst cat tree EVER!
11/5/2012

Customer review by Catsofmany

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Catsofmany
by Catsofmany
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought cat trees from Walmart for years. The trees lasted over a year and I was very happy with that length of time considering I had several cats. BUT this last tree was a total disappointment! The cardboard was thinner and the carpet was basically a cloth instead of carpeting…It just took one cat jumping onto the tree and the tree bent in the middle. We tried anchoring it to the wall but within 5 days the “carpet” was pulling away from the tree as well as ripping. The tree was sitting at an angle no matter how much we tried to support it. I returned it to Walmart for a refund. With that money my husband and I bought 2x4’s and a carpet runner. Considering we had anchored the Walmart tree to the wall we figured we could build our own tree and anchor it to the wall. We have 4 shelves and 4 posts and very happy cats. We didn't expect alot buying a 40$ tree but certainly did expect the same quality that we've had for years.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catsofmany
Auburn, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong color
1/11/2016

Customer review by TKR20

2.0 stars 1/11/2016 by TKR20
by TKR20

I'm pretty happy with this cat tree. It's not the greatest but hey it's only $40. However, it says its a neutral earth tone color and that's not what I got... The one I got is an ugly navy blue so very disappointed in the color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKR20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6 To 8 Week cat pole
1/27/2016

Customer review by Xipp

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Xipp
by Xipp

Okay people with this item you get what you pay for, With that stated my cat LOVES this thing even if i do not, But with Wal-Marts super excellent return policy i just save the box when it starts to fall apart i simply take it down re-box the item and exchange it for a new one. And every time i bring home a new one i change up the color from blue to tan and it's all new to him again. He is on his 4th one in 6 months so that should tell you a little about the construction of this item. All in all with Wal-Marts return policy and the fact my cat loves it, It's a winner in my book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xipp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not durable, cheap, flimsy.
1/31/2016

Customer review by Benson

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Benson
by Benson

Very cheap materials. Wobbly for bigger, heavier cats. The "carpet" was shredded within days. The posts are cardboard tubes which are now shredded as well. I tossed it after a few months and replaced it with the same since my cats do actually enjoy it. After the money I spend replacing it so often, it'd be cheaper in the long run to just buy one of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unstable, Poorly Designed
1/14/2013

Customer review by SeeReason

1.0 stars 1/14/2013 by SeeReason
by SeeReason

I knew I was taking a risk on this, since it was so inexpensive. Sometimes, when you purchase things at a low price, you can overlook some flaws. I wasn't expecting a great cat tree for ~$40; however, the flaws in this item are too large to overlook. Pros: 1 - Short-pile carpet 2 - Takes up very little horizontal space Cons: 1 - This cat tree is very wobbly and unstable. The piece wobbled so much that my cat got off of it within seconds of getting on. (See #2, below. My cat had access to one platform via another piece of furniture.# We tried repositioning the piece several times to stabilize it, but nothing worked. 2 - The tubes are too long, so the spaces between the platform pieces #22.5 inches, each# are too great for most cats to navigate. Even if I managed to stabilize the cat tree, it would still be useless to my cat #and probably yours, too) because she couldn't reach the various levels. I wanted to like this item because it is very compact. However, we couldn't find any way to make this cat tree work for us.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeeReason
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
cheap materials
1/4/2012

Customer review by klazy

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by klazy
by klazy

I have 2 cats and every time they'd jump onto a shelf it would bow in the center. I thought maybe it was off center or not screwed tight enough so I'd make sure it was level and tight but it would still bow. One day while my cat was on the center shelf it separated at the middle and came crashing down on her. All this is made out of is cardboard tubes. Not wanting to have just wasted $40, I reinforced the connections with screws but it still bows. I shortened the top connection thinking maybe it was just too tall to support the weight of the cat but that didn't work either. Oh well, I guess you get what you pay for. I can't believe they claim it's durable on the box. How can cardboard be classified as durable? I also read the 4 star reviews and can't understand how their tree is still standing. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klazy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy Several
12/7/2015

Customer review by HappyMom

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by HappyMom
by HappyMom

I originally purchased an expensive $100 cat tree/perch at a pet store. Wasn't happy due to it wobbling a lot. After, I purchased this one at Walmart. I went back and bought one for each room. I even combined the one pet store perch with a tension rod one to make it more stable. I will admit that the carpet does wear fast. I too easily removed the old carpet and replaced it with some runners-by-the-foot from Menards with a staple gun. I have six adult cats (two declawed). They all like the tree. I placed ours in front of windows, so they could watch the birds and squirrels outside. It will leave round marks that may resemble a water stain on your ceiling where the rubber tension pole meets. However, it is well worth repainting the ceiling in the future as opposed to replacing furniture or anything else a cat has destroyed because it didn't have a good cat tree/scratch post. Also, if you have hard wood or another slippery floor surface, think about putting a non-slip material made for rugs underneath to keep the base from slipping every time a cat jumps on the tree. I recommended this to my sister-in-law who also has six cats. She loves it too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews