Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

12 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

12 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-11 of 11 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

bad choice
6/8/2012

Customer review by BlackShadowTigress

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by BlackShadowTigress
by BlackShadowTigress

I thought that this food was good for ferrets until I found out that ferrets are strict meat eaters and this food has a ton of fruit and vegetables. no wonder why my ferret has been so itchy...

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackShadowTigress
Cheboygan, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Garbage
4/13/2013

Customer review by Fuzzyweazles

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Fuzzyweazles
by Fuzzyweazles

Ferrets are meat eaters. Obligate carnivores. The stuff in this product produce nothing but large bowel movements which shows the amount of non-useable stuff in it. Instead look for meat and meat meals as opposed to "by-products." Meat and poultry by-products are the bits that don't make it into human foods, and may be low in digestibility and therefore not really a useful protein source. Eggs are also a high quality protein source. Look for meat or meat meals or eggs to make up the first three ingredients. You'll find a few foods that make this requirement - but definitely avoid any that do not have high quality proteins or fats as at least most of the first 6 ingredients. Beware the use of corn gluten, soy meal, rice gluten and other vegetable or grain based proteins that may boost the protein content, but are not useful to ferrets. Also watch for added sugars (sucrose, fructose, corn syrup, etc). Basically look for: High in protein - 30-40 percent on the label nutrition analysis Protein must be high quality, highly digestible, and be animal-based (not plant-based) High in fat (at least 20 percent, perhaps up to 30 percent on the label analysis) Very low in carbohydrates and fiber (less than 3 percent fiber) There are several ferret diets available now, and some are better than others. Good diets tend to be expensive, but are worth it. To see the importance of comparing labels, MD Ferret PAWS, Inc. provides a nice comparison chart (http://www.mdferretpaws.org/care/food_treats.html) to allow you to compare a huge range of foods. The chart is long, but ranks foods for you. You can see from the chart that there is no perfect diet - very few foods come close to meeting the requirements set out above. It is really a matter of picking foods that you can readily get that are as close to ideal as possible.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fuzzyweazles
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Do not buy this!
10/7/2013

Customer review by Ferretmama2

1.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Ferretmama2
by Ferretmama2

This food absolutely horrible. Ferrets eat meat, not vegetables and fruit. If you think your feeding nothing but the best, you actually feeding nothing but the worst.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ferretmama2
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Stay Away
9/24/2014

Customer review by SMBowers

1.0 stars 9/24/2014 by SMBowers
by SMBowers

This is a terrible food for ferrets. A look at the ingredients proves this. Ferrets are carnivorous and should have a diet very low in fiber. The second ingredient in this food is rice. Not to mention the various fruits also included which adds more plant fibers and sugars, which are also something to stay away from. Your ferret may love to eat this food, but pets don't generally pick things to eat that are beneficial to them. Be a good ferret parent and get them a high quality grain free ferret or cat food. Zupreem Grain-Free Ferret Diet and Evo are two great examples.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMBowers
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Clearly not made with Ferrets in mind
11/9/2014

Customer review by ReviewsByMarissa

1.0 stars 11/9/2014 by ReviewsByMarissa
by ReviewsByMarissa

I have purchased this as back up food in store when my mail order food has had a delay. The food is rather large for a tiny ferret mouth. I have 2 ferrets and on multiple locations the triangle shaped pieces have gotten lodged in the roofs of my poor ferrets mouths! They are just the right size and shape to get stuck in between their teeth! Fortunately we were in the room and noticed our poor little ferrets struggling to try and figure out what to do to remove the food on their own. Never buying this brand again I can't buy something that's going to potentially make my fur babies suffer if I'm not home at the time to notice it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewsByMarissa
Would recommend to a friend? No
After researching. ..
11/15/2014

Customer review by cs1981

1.0 stars 11/15/2014 by cs1981
by cs1981

Getting a ferret for Christmas, buying supplies in advance. ..thought this was great price for food vs pet stores but come to find out, ferrets shouldn't have fruits. Will return for different food. Shipped quickly though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cs1981
Would recommend to a friend? No
good food
6/5/2015

Customer review by coffee1521

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by coffee1521
by coffee1521

Have used it for years good food.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffee1521
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality please don't feed
1/21/2015

Customer review by Kytn

1.0 stars 1/21/2015 by Kytn
by Kytn

Read the ingredients ferrets are meat only eaters they are not suppose to have grains or veg nor fruit.(do alittle research) This has to be the worse ingredient list i have ever seen.. Might as well give them table food compared to the quality of this food.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kytn
Would recommend to a friend? No
ferret. food
3/28/2014

Customer review by gina

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by gina
by gina

Our ferret loves it

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gina
fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my Ferret loves this food
7/10/2012

Customer review by tina45

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by tina45
by tina45

great price for this, and my ferret loves it, she is so playful and healthy, i only want the best for her, and i will buy this food from now on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tina45
livingston, montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad Food!
8/12/2014

Customer review by CCCC555

1.0 stars 8/12/2014 by CCCC555
by CCCC555

My ferret ended up at the vet and the vet told me to switch foods because he showed such poor health from this food. This food has mostly filler and vegetables and not enough meat. Will buy a food that has higher meat ingredients. Won't buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCCC555
Would recommend to a friend? No