Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 stars
5
1-20 of 81 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Totally Worth IT! Won't Regret It!
6/21/2011

Customer review by Kk

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by Kk
by Kk

I apsolutly love this product. It is a amazing smelling item, like all other herbal essence items. My hair is very hard to scrunch/curl because it is very straight. I have very long hair (i just got it cut but this review is based on my use while it was long) It held the scrunch for all day, but it didn't hold it as it was put at first. I would scrunch it, it would look amazing, then 20 minutes later it would fall to a more wavy instead of very scrunchy. It also is very sticky. I have never really noticed a super sticky problem on my hair, more on my hands after scrunching. For the price i think that this is SOOO worth it!!! I would most happily recommend this to all you out there!! The 2 negatives are not very bad, and i do not want you to think that it is a bad product becauase of this. Basically, i hope i am not scaring you by the negatives, because there are many more positive things about this product then there are negitive. So please, GO OUT AND BUY THIS AMAZING PRODUCT!!!

Kk
Atlantic Coast
Thin hair beware!
8/30/2010

Customer review by KitKatty

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by KitKatty
by KitKatty

This is more for thick curly unmanageable hair like myself. I have small curls and am half black. I comb this in and let it air dry along with a few other products. It keeps my curls tight and makes my hair soft and bouncy :) I'd recommend this to other people with the same hair type as me.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitKatty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Perfect curls
5/22/2016

Customer review by InactivePerson

4.0 stars 5/22/2016 by InactivePerson
by InactivePerson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my go to for raining days or days where humidity is high. It brings out the natural curls in my hair without the frizz.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InactivePerson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very heavy
11/19/2011

Customer review by ShadowShade

2.0 stars 11/19/2011 by ShadowShade
by ShadowShade

I have naturally curly hair, and I've heard that this would help lock them in. It's great priced, smells amazing but it made my curls very heavy and it took FOREVER for it to dry since I always air-dry my hair. When it finally did dry it made my hair look crunchy and weak underneath, then soft and all over the place on the top... Had to spray my hair down and put some mousse in. Good thing that the party I was going to go to was cancelled!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShadowShade
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome Product!
7/30/2009

Customer review by curlyfrizzz

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by curlyfrizzz
by curlyfrizzz

This was the first scrunching gel I've ever used. I've seen other girls use scrunching gels before, and their hair just looks a little wavy, so that was what i was expecting with this product. I was amazed! It worked so much better than expected. I got beautiful, voluminous curls right off the bat. I put a lot of it into my hair while it was still wet, and my thick hair soaked it in. Once my hair dried, I had perfect little ringlets all down my back. The only unfortunate thing was that I had to use a LOT of it, mostly because my hair is very thick. But I was surprised when my hair dried, because all of my frizz disappeared (my hair frizzes a lot when it dries naturally). I can only speak for girls (or guys too I guess...) who have long, thick, wavy, frizzy hair, so if you have hair like that, this product is for you!

curlyfrizzz
It Surprised Me...In A Good Way!!! =)
6/13/2009

Customer review by Danielle

4.0 stars 6/13/2009 by Danielle
by Danielle

I first used this at a friends house with low expectations, but it worked very very well!! I gave the value 4 stars simply because i felt the price was a little too high for a bottle that size. My hair is quite thick so i need to use a lot. It works great, though!! I use a nickel size for the under portion of my hair, and then i use another nickel size for my top layer. What I recommend doing is using that amount in your hair, then twisting your hair up into small buns. Make sure your hair is very wet before you start. Let it air dry after you have it up in buns for about 15 - 20 minutes. Finish it off with some hairspray before you take it down, and voile!! You have the perfect beachy look. The product smells amazing and I HIGHLY recommend it!! It is the perfect product to achieve the scrunched up look. =)

Danielle
Texas
Light and not greasy
3/3/2016

Customer review by Shar

5.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Shar
by Shar

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's an average gel
5/2/2010

Customer review by lizzybeth

3.0 stars 5/2/2010 by lizzybeth
by lizzybeth

My hair is kind of weird. My bangs dry in ringlets, my hair is slightly wavy, but it has most of the qualities of straight hair. I was looking for something to even it out and bring more wave to my hair. I tried this the other day after I showered. I just put about two dime-sized amounts in my wet hair and scrunched it throughout the drying process. It didn't do such a good job of fixing my frizz problem -- it kind of just added some to it, although my hair was nice and soft! I am going to try twisting my hair next time, but I'm not so crazy about this gel. I think it would work a lot better on someone with really curly or wavy hair already. This doesn't really add curl, it just holds and enhances what you already have. This does smell good, but not as good as the Totally Twisted shampoo!

lizzybeth
New York
Luv it!!
12/1/2008

Customer review by LIZZYXIZZY

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by LIZZYXIZZY
by LIZZYXIZZY

My sister gave me dis and it works beautifully...it smells REALLY GOOD too. i would recommend dis!!..=]

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LIZZYXIZZY
Berwyn, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best Shampoo for Any Hair Type!
11/4/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have searched for years to fine the perfect shampoo/conditioner/gel mix for my hair type and I have definitely found it in Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curls & Waves! My natural hair is a smooth wave with random curls in it. These products work together beautifully to create the most attractive curly/wavy texture I ahve ever seen in my hair. I've been using it for years and it really defines my texture and holds all day. It doesn't affect the color in my hair either (: Over a vacation with a friend who has completely straight, stringy hair; I let her borrow it and it gave her these gorgeous waves! We scrunch it into our damp hair then blow dry it (with a diffuser for calm and very defined curls or without for more voluminous curls) for a minute or so and tada! Beautiful hair!

An anonymous customer
West Virginia
Volume-down, shiny, defined curls!
3/1/2009

Customer review by iLovePersianKitties

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by iLovePersianKitties
by iLovePersianKitties

I have a serious head of hair, and I've been looking for something to control my curls. After getting a trim, my stylist recommended that I use a gel or cream, so when I was at the supermarket, I picked up this gel, since I always liked Herbal Essences. After applying it to my wet hair, I expected that like other gels I've used, it would dry out my hair and create a "pyramid effect". When I looked in the mirror after a few hours, I was in total shock! My curls looked loose, defined, and shiny! Added to that, they felt incredibly hydrated and I noticed that it was not as voluminous! I also got lots of compliments from my family, and my best friend said I smelled like grapes (LOL)! From now on, this will be my one and ONLY gel! I refuse to use anything else!

iLovePersianKitties
Reston, VA
I can even touch it!
10/18/2008

Customer review by noralovesvanilla

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by noralovesvanilla
by noralovesvanilla

My hair is kinda weird. It's sort of wavy and very thick/frizzy when it's dry and curly and thin when it's wet. This is by far the best gel I have ever used, coming from a first-time gel user (me!). This really does keep humidity out of your hair, and it gives it bursting shine, too! The hold is very good, better than the mousse. For me, I don't like using irons or blow-dryers because I don't want my hair to be dry again, and sometimes I tend to touch my hair, or if I'm getting tired of putting it down, I have to touch it to put it in a ponytail. With the mousse, you can't touch it, but with this, you don't have to blow-dry or do anything with it; just simply apply it to wet or dry hair! I can even touch it and it stays defined!

noralovesvanilla
Sterling, Virginia
Perfection!!!
7/14/2009

Customer review by makewaves568

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by makewaves568
by makewaves568

I have a natural wave in my hair, but I never loved it. My hair is pretty thick, and about 6 inches past my shoulder. Recently, I tried Totally Twisted Curl Scrunching Gel and I loved it!! It really gave my hair a tousled, vavy, very beachy look. This product is ideal for a busy person, because after you get out of the shower, you only have to towel dry your hair, maybe run a comb through it, work a little bit of the gel into your hair, and scrunch throughout the day with your fingers. I reccomend letting your hair dry naturally after applying the gel. I found this product has a lot of definition and keeps that beachy wave even better in humidity. I strongly reccomend Totally Twisted Curl Scrunching Gel.

makewaves568
Great gel
7/27/2009

Customer review by Betsy

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by Betsy
by Betsy

This product is great, for a gel. I l=have to admit I like the totally twisted mousse better, but that was I recent discovery. I used this gel for about a year, and it is by far the best gel out there for very curly, unruly, frizzy hair. It kept my hair a manageable size and really reduced the frizz, almost completely. Those who thought this product didn't work probably didn't use enough of it- I have LOTS of very thick hair, so one bottle probably lasted me a little under a week. But this gel really helped me embrace my curls, instead of hiding behind a frizzy shield. I no longer just wear my hair in a ponytail. :-D

Betsy
Waterville, NY
A Good Product
8/23/2009

Customer review by Psycho

4.0 stars 8/23/2009 by Psycho
by Psycho

I loved the smell and I tried the shampoo, conditioner, & gel for the first time. I loved it it worked really good and the smell last for hours. I loved walking around smelling my hair lol. My husband also loves the smell it drives him crazy so thats a big plus for me lol. I think I will con. using them. Only one thing I would change is I wish my hair was softer but other then that I loved it. I will use it again. I think everyone with wavy or curly hair should use it because it does the job. They need to come out with a totally twisted hairspray. But over all its a really good product.

Psycho
Pretty good product
8/18/2008

Customer review by Emily

4.0 stars 8/18/2008 by Emily
by Emily

I'm on my second bottle of this product and its almost gone. I do like it, it helps define my curls and i get many comliments but it tends to not help control frizz. If I put this in and let my hair airdry it gets frizzy and the curls arent the best. What i normally do is shower at night and put this in. I think the fact that letting it dry when i sleep helps it curl beter because my curls arent going against gravity when im laying down. So overall it helps my curls become defined but is not great on keeping down my frizz. i give it a 4/5 p.s i smells GREAT!

Emily
Upstate, NY
Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiicccee.
1/18/2010

Customer review by HerballyEssency

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by HerballyEssency
by HerballyEssency

Awesome product!!!! It tames frizz and gives you nice waves and curls, while leaving my hair softer than most other products. I highly reccomend this. But what happened to the original Herbal Essences? Ever since the Tousle Me Softly collection came out, all Herbal Essences products have been covered in black flowers. I don't understand why! There is a distinct difference in color between Tousle Me Softly and Totally Twisted purples. It is getting harder and harder to find original containers. Please stop it with the flowers! (But this gel is fantastic)

HerballyEssency
Denver, CO
This gel is awesome!
3/20/2009

Customer review by NoraKittyCat

5.0 stars 3/20/2009 by NoraKittyCat
by NoraKittyCat

I really like this gel to control my curly hair! It is voluminous, but somewhat frizzy. Even if I put it in a high ponytail, if I let it air-dry without anything, it will get a bit frizzy and create a "pyramid effect". After taking a shower, I work a quarter-size amount of gel into my hair, then go. When I looked in the mirror after a few hours, I noticed that my curls were shiny (I kind of like the wet look gels give) and didn't look as poofy as it usually does when it dries. Added to that, it smelled AMAZING! Awesome product!

NoraKittyCat
Pretty good stuff!
3/3/2009

Customer review by SarahJo

5.0 stars 3/3/2009 by SarahJo
by SarahJo

I've been using this product for quite a while, as well as the Totally Twisted shampoo and conditioner. I love it! It gives more definition to my curls, changing them from fluff to nicely formed curls, even ringlets in some places. The only thing that disappointed me was that it didn't really control my frizz all that well. For that, I've been using the None Of Your Frizz-ness Anti-Frizz serum, which does a good job if used in moderation. The combination of products makes my hair pretty much perfect. I love Herbal Essences!

SarahJo
Grand Haven, MI
Great for Surf Hair
5/18/2009

Customer review by Misha

5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Misha
by Misha

I bought this product because in the summer I crave curly and wavy hair. I love how my hair gets in the summer and I want it all year round. Because I can't just run over to the beach and get some salt water to spray in my hair this is the next best thing. It gives that beachy wave that many people are looking to do. I'm actually using i in my hair as we speak! This product is great, I like the smell but it can be overpowering to people who don't like smelly products (like me). Great product, I recommend it to everyone!

Misha
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews