Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

197 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

197 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 stars
10
1-20 of 196 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews
Keeps the moisture in and the damage out!
11/16/2008

Customer review by Nora

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by Nora
by Nora

My hair wasn't in terrible condition, but I needed extra conditioning and moisture, so I purchased this and the conditioner. I saw an immediate change at the first wash. My curls were so bouncy and shiny! The coconut and orchid scent lingered in my hair all day, and it's still on my jacket! What I love most about this shampoo is that it cleans without stripping moisture (it actually adds moisture), because most shampoos make my hair feel a bit rough and tangled after rinsing them. I love fragrances, too, because unlike some other products that are all perfumy and overpowering; it's a sweet, gentle fragrance. I would recommend this to anyone who has dry or damaged hair, or even just curly hair, because curly hair tends to be drier than straight hair, and naturally curly hair screams for moisture, so this has everything it would crave. This is also perfect for swimming, because it really hydrates your hair and removes all that yucky chlorine and buildup.

Nora
My own little world
Unexpected Improvement!
12/25/2009

Customer review by UnnaturalRed

4.0 stars 12/25/2009 by UnnaturalRed
by UnnaturalRed

My hair is very thinck and has slight waves. I find that my hair gets weighed down fairly fast but is also very dry and damaged around the ends. The last time that I tried this product was when HE had changed its style and first came out with this, not to mention it was borrowed from a friend. I was displeased as I found it did make my hair hydrated but it weighed it down and made my hair flat and almost greasy-looking by the end of the day. I recently purchased a bottle of it again and I must say that it works wonders on my hair! It made my hair soft (didn't even need conditioner which is generally a must for my angry hair), shiny, and full of body. The fragrence stayed with me which I will admit doesn't usually happen for me unless I use conditioner on my hair. I am pleased to say I love this shampoo and even hot my boyfriend hooked on using it (he's a readhead and I haven't seen his hair as vibrant or soft before).

UnnaturalRed
Winnipeg, Manitoba (CANADA)
Absolutley wonderful!
9/14/2009

Customer review by Jet

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by Jet
by Jet

I used this shampoo and conditioner about a year ago and stopped because I like "change" and wanted a "change" in shampoo. Bad idea. Ever since then, I think I have used almost every type of drugstore brand there is and was never satisfied. So about a week ago, I bought this again and was reminded of how amazing it was and how stupid I was for wanting a "change" when I was completely satisfied with Hello Hydration. I don't have extremely damaged hair, but I do blow dry, straighten, and have a few highlights. This is a great overall shampoo. I have nice volume, its straight when I want to straighten it, and gives me beautiful waves when I let it dry naturally with some added curl cream in it., and of course it smells great! I have no clue what I will do if they ever discontinue this line and I definitley learned my lesson of changing shampoos when you already have one that works perfectly! I highly recommend this!!

Jet
Great conditioner
6/25/2016

Customer review by Kelly

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Kelly
by Kelly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have been using it for years

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
hello hydration...goodbye dryness!!!!!
10/19/2009

Customer review by littleone

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by littleone
by littleone

I just wanted to share my thoughts about this product. I've been using Herbal Essence for 12years and still going strong. I wouldn't use any other product. Well, I have before, but I always find myself going back to Herbal Essence. And this certain product Hello Hydration, with the wonderful smell of Orchids and Coconut Milk...and the most shocking part is that it doesn't even smell like coconuts!? I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SHAMPOO & CONDITIONER!!!!!!!!! My split ends are completely gone, my hair doesn't even frizz anymore in this cold/hot crazy weather we've been having lately. I have naturally thick-wavey hair, so this shampoo does miracles with my hair. And it stays beautiful all day long. I've been getting sooooo many compliments & hella ego boosts ever since I started using this product. I'm totally loving it! And I just wanted to say Thanks Herbal Essence you still amaze me! =)

littleone
Turlock, CALIFORNIA BABY!!
smells so good
3/3/2012

Customer review by VampireHunterDean

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by VampireHunterDean
by VampireHunterDean

I love this stuff. The shampoo and conditioner are amazing. I no longer use conditioner since it makes my hair get oily quicker (instead i use fx morrocan moisture argan creme, and argan oil) but I always come back to this shampoo. Def. one of my favs!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VampireHunterDean
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Silky, sleek, and sexy!
10/10/2008

Customer review by Neko

5.0 stars 10/10/2008 by Neko
by Neko

This product worked wonders on my wavy, dry, frizzy hair! Hello Hydration shampoo is rich and moisturizing. I could practically feel it hydrating my damaged tresses while I washed. I was delighted to find that it didn't strip my color or leave my hair coarse and tangled after rinsing (many shampoos make the texture of my hair feel worse right after I rinse them out). While I'm not a huge fan of coconut scents, the sensuous aroma of orchid balances out the tropical sweetness of the coconut fairly well, leaving my hair with an elegant, come-hither aroma that lingered all day. In the end my hair was left soft, silky, and smooth. I recommend this for anyone with some damage in their hair, or for those who constantly find themselves battling frizz and flyaways (this'll help weigh them down for sure). Be sure to team it up with Hello Hydration conditioner for the best results!

Neko
Mount Pleasant, MI
Best Hair Product in Decades!!!
8/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the best product I have ever used on my hair, bar none! I use both the shampoo and the conditioner, and also the shampoo with condition sometimes, as well. This is thrilling, this is luxury, this is the first time I've ever actually liked my hair! My hair went from being coarse, dull, dry, curly, and frizzy to being soft, shiny, smooth, and easy to manage for the first time ever. And, even better -- my sensitive and frequently irritated scalp has loved this product, too. My hair hasn't been this nice since before I was old enough to attend school, and I haven't been a kid in decades, so it's been like a dream come true finding this. I've run the gamut of hair products through the years, and spent a small fortune on some pretty expensive and exclusive products along the way too--but Never got results like this before! Now, just bring back the Herbal Essences Rainforest Flowers moisturizing body wash, with that luscious scent and the heavenly moisturizing lather, and there will be only ever be Clairol hair and body products in my shower forever more!!! Thank you Clairol for this Great line of hair products!!

An anonymous customer
A village in New England
AMAZING!!!
7/13/2009

Customer review by Anna1209

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Anna1209
by Anna1209

I love the spray gel so much! it is not expensive and it lasts pretty long. i have really thick hair so it doesnt last as long as it may for some people but it works great! What i do is I shower every night before I go to bed and after i get out i towel dry it to get the excess water out. when my hair is damp I put some of the "none of your frizzness smoothing leave in cream" on the mid sections and tips (a small amount, if you put too much it will leave your hair looking greasy around the tips). Then every morning I flat iron my hair. (I use CHI heat protectant spray which works really well). after i am done I use this spray gel al over my head and it keeps my hair smooth, soft, non frizzy and straight all day! I would seriously suggest those two products to anyone who was thick hair and who likes to flat iron it in the morning! Hope this helped :)

Anna1209
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Love this product
1/27/2009

Customer review by bobbi

5.0 stars 1/27/2009 by bobbi
by bobbi

I love this product. I've used it for years now, and went into shock once when the label changed and I thought at first that it had been discontinued, and then again recently when I couldn't find it at my local store. But, looks like it is still going strong, so I just have to try an alternate store. I have shoulder length curls and HATE crunchy curls. This is the only product that I have found that works for me - no crunch, no oily feel, no dark "wet" look (I have light brown hair), no frizz - just great spirals all day long, no matter what I'm up to. While my hair is wet, I scrunch my curls using John Frieda Dream Curls, dry my hair with a diffuser or air dry and put the spray gel on AFTER my hair is completely dry and "picked" out. I don't spray it on my head - I spray five pumps on my hands, rub them together and then lightly pat my hair. I get volume (because I pick out first) and hold without crunch. Best of all, if there is crunch after it dries (maybe because my hands were too wet and I patted too much in one place), I just use my hands to gently scrunch the curl, and crunchiness is gone but hold is still going strong. Clairol, never stop making this product!

bobbi
Virginia
Best Shampoo I've Ever Had!
2/20/2010

Customer review by urMuse

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by urMuse
by urMuse

In the past my hair was all over the place. i had extremely bad dandruff, thin hair but a lot of it, a whole lot of frizz in the humidity, and i had dry ends but my hair got oily and stringy easily. so basically everything that could go wrong with your hair i had! my first intention of buying this was because it smelled insanely good, then after i used it my hair problems were GONE! My dandruff which i have been struggling with all my life is now gone! Even the prescrption shampoo i got for my dandruff didnt cure it! My hair has gotten WAY less frizzy, and its shiny and healthy and the next day at school i got compliments on my hair, and it was plainly in a ponytail after gym class. Try this product!, i recommend using a good conditoner too and your hair will hopefully feel as nice as mine!

urMuse
HELLO HYDRATION Shampoo & Conditioner
1/23/2014

Customer review by milner

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by milner
by milner

I have been using this product .. Conditioner & shampoo for just over a year now , and have been meaning to write you . Every friend I have , comments on my hair . EVERY Hair Dresser that touches my hair asks me what I am using as my hair feels so healthy & soft ( I also color my hair at home on a regular basis ) . I am almost 51 yrs old now .. and I take great pride and smile when I let them know that it is the Hello Hydration Product I am using , by your company. I have had 2 friends Try this product and 1 friend has switched .. and the Hair dressers are pleasantly Surprised when I tell them what I am using . Like I said .. I just wanted to let you know how pleased I am with this product .. My Husband uses the cream rinse , due to a scalp condition , and he too enjoys your product . Thank you so much .. :-) :-)

milner
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Best Shampoo and Conditioner Ever!!
7/18/2009

Customer review by horseluvr347

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by horseluvr347
by horseluvr347

Omg I just bought this today with my mom, and it's amazing!! I have African American hair and it's really thick, and can be kinda dry sometimes. But i saw this and wanted to try something new. For one, it smelled sooo good! I loved how i was able to actually brush through my hair as soon as I got out of the shower! (I have broken 2 combs doing that by the way) My hair didn't feel sticky and gross like other shampoos (not herbal essences) made my hair feel! My hair is naturally really curly, not in a cute way but tight tight curls that i couldn't even control or brush! This calmed that down and my hair was nice and strait. My sis has the the dangerously strait and that definatly does the job much better cuz duh thats what it's supposed to do! Anyways, I totally recommend it to anyone!!

horseluvr347
Madison, AL
THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!!
10/11/2010

Customer review by mikita007

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by mikita007
by mikita007

I agree with most of the reviews, I have been a loyal customer since I'm like 16 years old, now I'm almost 30. So its been a loooong time. The old GEL SPRAY IN THE CLEAR BOTTLE was the best of the best. This new one and the purple bottle gel spray work ok. The only thing I am having a really haaaarrrrddd time its finding the spray gels in particular. Every where I go I look for them and when ever I see more than one bottle I buy them ALL. Because of that reason I am in this web site, to see if I could buy them directly from you. But unfortunately no, I hope the company takes into consideration all the reviews to either or both, to BRING THE OLD SPRAY GEL BACK &/or MAKE THE NEW ONE MORE ACCESSIBLE to the loyal customers like myself and many more... come on listen to us.

mikita007
Call me a control freak...
7/8/2015

Customer review by angziety

1.0 stars 7/8/2015 by angziety
by angziety

...but I need hair products only in my hair. This is not for anyone who prefers low-maintenance locks. My store no longer carries the squeezable tubes of gel, so I purchased this hoping it wouldn't be as bad as I imagined it. I was very surprised at what actually transpired after less than 15 seconds. My hands hurt from squirting this stuff not only on my hair, but also the floor, my back, face, ears, and shoulders. Now I remember why I stopped purchasing sprays. I'm not even sure if I got all of my hair covered. I plan to pour this into a different container and use my hands the way gel is meant to be applied. It says on the bottle "without being stiff [sic]". Well, my back is crunchy. So is my hair.

angziety
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Have a problem with the design of the bottles!
10/6/2010

Customer review by Vicki

2.0 stars 10/6/2010 by Vicki
by Vicki

This is a great product for my hair but, the design of the bottle is terrible! I have MS and to hold the bottle is not the greatest especially when you get down to the bottom. It's so hard to squeeze the remaining shampoo or conditioner out. I have to either put the bottle on my leg and push down on it or call someone in to help get it out. This drives me nuts! People with handicaps try to do as much as they can on their own. I have since changed products so I can do this simple task on my own. Have yet to find one that I like. I have well water and nothing compares to your product to my long hair. I"m hoping your company can come up with a different design of your bottles that is easier to hold. I would gladly change back! Thank you, Vicki

Vicki
My first and perfect Herbal Essences product!
10/31/2008

Customer review by iLoveElectricity

5.0 stars 10/31/2008 by iLoveElectricity
by iLoveElectricity

Before, I had awful dry, unmanagable hair. I was using salon products before, but it didn't help at all. I was beginning to think that I would have to live with bad hair for the rest of my life. I really wanted to try a better product. Herbal Essences Hello Hydration totally saved my hair from it's awful dryness! After just 2 uses, my hair was soft, shiny, and unbelievably smooth; it even added bounce to my hair and got rid of the dandruff! Herbal Essences has everything a girl could ask for; gentle products, specific hair needs, cute advertising, attractive bottles, and the scent is the best part! I mean, what more could you ask for? From now on, Herbal Essences will be my one and only hair care product! This is my favorite line so far!

iLoveElectricity
Smells Delicious
4/21/2013

Customer review by XxChainedFreexX

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by XxChainedFreexX
by XxChainedFreexX

I first tried this system because of how good it smelled, the scent lasts all day, even through gels and hairsprays. I have really wavy/borderline curly hair and I have a hard time taming it if I don't straighten it. I also bleach my hair, which for some people can leave it dry. Normally hydrating shampoos make my hair really fizzy, this one doesn't. It cleans my hair and scalp without striping all the natural oils.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XxChainedFreexX
Barberton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hydrated && Happy
7/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have processed (permed) African-American hair. My hair had gotten really dry and brittle due to the lack of me adding my usual oils and hairsprays. I also didn't flat iron it after the last time I washed and blow dried. Instead I had it down in the hot summer sun. These idiotic mistakes really made my hair dry. It felt like hay! I washed my hair with Drama Clean by Herbal Essences first thinking that the Hello Hydration will just over oil my hair instead of cleaning it. I was wrong. The Hello Hydration not only added moisture to my hair but made it squeaky clean the way that I like it. im gonna go out and by the conditioner next time. I recommend this to any one who has dry hair and needs moisture and healthy oils.

An anonymous customer
Detroit, MI
Leaves residue in your hair
2/19/2015

Customer review by Erika

2.0 stars 2/19/2015 by Erika
by Erika

I have poker straight hair and I wanted to use an Herbal Essences product that would hydrate my hair for the winter (I usually use Body Envy and I love it), but after the first wash I found that when my hair dried it would feel stiff near the roots and would clump together. I can't seem to get the residue it leaves out no matter how much I rinse. I'm toughing it out and using the rest of the bottle, but I probably won't be purchasing it again. I will, however, say that the residue is probably good for curly or kinky hair since it locks tendrils together. But for naturally straight hair, it weighs the hair down and allows it to get oily much faster. I'll be sticking with Body Envy from now on.

Erika
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews