Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 40 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Great Product! Best on the market
7/25/2011

Customer review by 1lovingheart

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by 1lovingheart
by 1lovingheart

This is the only BLEACH I will use. This isnt a hair dye its bleach. That means that first of all you need to put this on your hair. I usually leave it on 20 more minutes than the box states since my hair usually takes a little longer since its dark brown. This will turn your hair a very light blonde almost white if you keep it on the right amount of time.. If you look at your hair and you see orange keep it on longer. Since this is bleach you are supposed to buy a hair dye to use after this however if this gets you to the shade you want(like in my case) then you just need to follow up with a toner or toning shampoo (Purple shampoo) Being blonde is never a one stop process! A toner or purple shampoo removes any yellow or brass you may have however this product doesnt leave me with much of that at all. But one wash with the purple shampoo and its the perfect very light blonde- lighter than the box.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1lovingheart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Do it right.
2/1/2011

Customer review by reviewerxiv

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by reviewerxiv
by reviewerxiv

If you're going from dark brown before bleaching, it will be orange after one application. To get light blonde, I suggest doing it 3 times. This is the only bleacher that I've liked using...and I've tried a few.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewerxiv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I can't wait to dye my hair brown again.
5/27/2011

Customer review by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS
by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS

I've bleached my hair many times in the past but stopped because it was too pricy. When I saw this in the stores I thought it was a god-send and I would finally be able to be blonde again. My hair looks completely awful right now. It's splotchy and the color is more yellow then the nice, natural blonde on the front of the box. Very disappointing. The product also claimed my hair would be soft and it is everything but that. I know what happens when you bleach hair but this is the worst it's ever been. Frizzy, straw like and yucky. I would never do this again. I can't wait another second to be a brunette again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS
Wonderland, Alice's Imagination
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Easy enough to do by myself!
3/19/2012

Customer review by Livvi4Peace

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Livvi4Peace
by Livvi4Peace

When I bought this, I had coppery hair, almost orange. I had already bleached it once, but the other product didn't get my hair the colour I wanted. This immediately brought the colour up several notches lighter and did much less damage on my hair. I love it! I used it twice to get it from orange to platinum blond. Don't look at other reviews! If you want blond hair and it is coloured or dark, you WILL have to bleach it a few times unless you want to fry it really badly. In any case you do wanna pick up a good conditioner after you bleach it. ^-^ The photo is of my hair after bleaching it three times, twice using this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Livvi4Peace
St. Augustince, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice and Easy(:
8/19/2011

Customer review by babycakes1211

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by babycakes1211
by babycakes1211

My hair started a golden blonde color with some very blonde highlights. I dyed my hair using the John Frieda Foam dye in one of the lightest blonde colors they had. My hair turned a darker golden blonde but it was almost strawberry blonde on the ends. I've been trying to get my hair platinum blonde and then I was going to add some pink streaks. My original plan was to go to Sally's Beauty Supply and see what they recommended. Instead I seen this at Wal-Mart and had read on some website that this was actually a very good bleach. I decided to try it because it's a lot easier to buy a box with everything you need then buy everything separately (which sometimes is a good thing). My hair is now mostly platinum blonde. It has some yellow pieces but I expected it based on the directions. I also probably could have left it on a little longer and the yellow would have been gone. I left the bleach on for a little more than an hour because i was worried about damaging my hair too much. But surprisingly I have very little damage. I am planning on toning my hair tonight to get out the rest of the yellow. My hair is a couple inches past my shoulders and this ended up being almost the perfect amount of bleach. I needed a little bit more but I plan on touching up the spots I missed tonight too. Overall it's not bad. If you have dark hair I wouldn't expect miracles. I do like that this tells you what stages hair lightens in so you can guess about where you will be. The only thing I don't like is it says you can use it for dark hair. If someone tries this on black hair then yes it is probably going to be orange and not blonde. You would probably have to use this 2-3 times to get a light blonde from black hair. Overall though this worked pretty good for me(:

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babycakes1211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Oh, wait, you didn't want ORANGE?
10/28/2010

Customer review by scorpiovengnece

2.0 stars 10/28/2010 by scorpiovengnece
by scorpiovengnece

If you have any shade of brown hair you are going to need to most likely 2 boxes of this because the first time it dyes it orange and since i didn't want to damage my hair my bleaching it a second time i had to dye it a darker color and thank the lord i had another hair color box at home.

Was this review helpful? (12) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scorpiovengnece
EASTON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING!
4/3/2012

Customer review by lindsexy

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by lindsexy
by lindsexy

nothing less than AMAZING! i have dyed black hair. i bought two boxes of this product because i have thick hair shoulder length. i had more than i needed in one box!!! the turnout will be an orangey color but i had the other box to do a 2nd application so i got the blonde color i needed to dye my hair a light golden brown. WILL DEFINITLY USE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lindsexy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Average results.
7/3/2011

Customer review by Tavi6233

3.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Tavi6233
by Tavi6233

So this is my first time going blonde. My hair is normally a dark brown. I've been reading online about what can happen and how many people end up with orange/yellow hair so I expected it. For the most part you really need to add a toner to this, unfortunately my local walmart doesn't sell toner, I'm not sure if they do at other ones. My hair ended up being a mixture between a strawberry blonde and orange, had to go find a store that carried toner. I applied the toner today and it really has evened out to a more natural blonde look, it is definitely not as light as on the box. My hair is now very dry so I will be following up with a deep conditioner. After what I have read online about bleaching and dying, I did get what I expected to get from this, but the package can be very misleading to someone who is using that as their sole guide to dying their hair.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tavi6233
Pilot Mountain, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent product to change your image.
10/13/2011

Customer review by Sistersilvia

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Sistersilvia
by Sistersilvia

The color of my hair was dark brown almost black but the grey hair started an invasion on my head and this was the right solution for me. My hair turned a really light blonde as shown on the box and I am very happy with the results, my husband love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sistersilvia
Miami Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
6/4/2012

Customer review by Babycakes0206

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Babycakes0206
by Babycakes0206

Before I purchased this product I had used a different kind of bleach to lighten my hair that left it a light orange color. After reading the other reviews I thought this product would lighten my hair the rest of the way to a blonde that wouldn't look horrible. I was wrong. I still gave it a higher rating because it did lighten it enough to the point where it should look good after I put a blonde hair color on it. I'm waiting a couple of weeks before doing it so my hair isn't too damaged. So this is good for lightening, but is by no means a final step for your hair.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babycakes0206
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
good but not even
5/7/2012

Customer review by anini

4.0 stars 5/7/2012 by anini
by anini

this is the first bleached I've used.i did use this on previously dyed hair.my hair was red that faded to light brown on top and black on bottom.because of that i would expect it not to be evenly blonde i thought it would be blondish on top and brown on bottom,this was not the case.it was mostly blonde on top with light pink splotches and mostly dark brown on the bottom but had streaks of blonde.the roots also are light the every thing else but the instructions explain this.over all i like it.but it may not be for you.if i wanted results like on the boxed id have to do it twice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anini
unless you already have light hair, dont use.
3/11/2012

Customer review by thisproductdoesnotwork

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by thisproductdoesnotwork
by thisproductdoesnotwork

works on dark hair? no, my roots are orange and my hair is still dark. if you are thinking of buying this product, dont. your better off taking your well earned 10 dollars and flushing it down the toilet. infact, i wouldnt spend even a dime on this ever again. i would rather spend 10 dollars on anything else but this. your better off spending 80 at the salon, and actually getting a good job done, which is what i have to do now. well, lesson learned, any one who wants to buy this product, it doesnt work, doesnt do what it says, and is not worth any money whatsoever. be warned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisproductdoesnotwork
gayville, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really...ORANGE HAIR!!! Not so Born Blonde Maxi."
12/7/2011

Customer review by CH01

1.0 stars 12/7/2011 by CH01
by CH01

Okay...I have a really pretty natural grey color but had decided to dye my hair Dark Soft Mahogany Brown - LOVED IT! Well, I decided that I would go blonde and let my natural grey grow back in and have healthy hair. I saw this Born Blonde Maxi and thought based on the information and color guide provided that this would be a way to go back to blonde - WRONG! Last night I colored my hair and was completely mortified at the result, white/orange - like ORANGE!!! My anxiety level rose and I lost a lot of sleep over it, I can't go out in public like this, I look hideous. After this, I went online to see how I could fix it because I sure can't afford to see a professional. I am thankful for other sites that recommended going with 2 shades darker than what I had, I also went with an "ash" color to counter the orange. I used L'Oreal Excellence Medium Ash Blonde and it saved me...turned out beautiful and got rid of the orange. Now I just have to suffer with the tight scalp feeling and the smell of hair color as I colored twice. Also, the Born Blonde Maxi burns, is very strong smelling on the nose and eyes, leaves hair brittle and straw like as far as feel. After using the L'Oreal Excellence, my scalp is still tight and a little sore with a bit of a headache but my hair actually feels silky soft and well conditioned. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT UNLESS YOU LIKE THE COLOR ORANGE!!! ~ Totally Dissatisfied Lady.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CH01
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/22/2012

Customer review by LadyBugg01

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by LadyBugg01
by LadyBugg01

i have what they call a dirty dish water blonde hair i bought this hair die to turn my hair bleach blonde............it did just that the ends and roots of my hair was white and the center and middle of my hair was ORANGE should have never done that... so i had to die it medium brown not the color i wanted.......i was so unhappy with the resalts it gave me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyBugg01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
6/26/2012

Customer review by GG99

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by GG99
by GG99

I am very satisfied with your product and your shipping price and quick delivery. I shall be purchasing it again soon. And other products from your store. Thank you. Sincerely, GG

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GG99
SLO, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Maxi-Is The Best!
10/29/2011

Customer review by TallT

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by TallT
by TallT

I tried using other brands and even regular Nice n Easy and kept getting orange hair (I have dark, brown and gray). The Maxi Born Blonde was the only product that I found that gave me blonde without orange, and in one application. Make sure you follow the directions and test your hair color at different times as this is strong stuff. I liked leaving it on for the full time for a completely bleached look.

TallT
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better then regular bleach
7/8/2012

Customer review by AmberR

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by AmberR
by AmberR

my natural hair color is dirty blonde, and i wanted to go for the total bleach blonde look. unlike regular bleach it doesn't make your hair orange or a funny yellow color. i really like this product. i've used the ones for the lighter hair from born blonde but didn't get the total white blonde i wanted. i always suggest using the maxi to everyone wanting to bleach there hair. to me it feels safer and less damaging then regular bleach mix. plus it way easier. i just apply it like regular hair color. i'm happy with this product completely!! remember you may need two boxes if your hair is to your shoulders. better safe then sorry.

AmberR
Avondale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RE: poor review by other user
7/27/2010

Customer review by wendy

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by wendy
by wendy

Having used this product for a long time and always having excellent results, I would just like to state a few things concerning this other users poor review for other readers to consider. First...you must choose the right strength blonding kit depending on how dark your hair is. If its like mine (dark brown) its best to go with the maxi (for even the darkest hair). You HAVE to leave it on long enough..sometimes it may appear that it is the correct lightness, but it is always best to choose a small strand that has the solution on it, and wash it off completely using a wash cloth or paper towel and shampoo it and rinse with water, and blow it dry, that way you can see the actual lightness of the hair. If its not light enough, you can leave it on longer. The "orange" color you got after toning was most likely due to the toner as you stated your hair was blonde (yellow) after the blonding process. You have to be careful when choosing toners, and its always best to put some toner on a small strand of hair underneath first to see the result before doing your whole head if you've never used the combination of blonding and toner together before. Also, its best to use a toner from the same company as your blonding for best, accurate and predictable results. I would say your undesired results was due to the toner color, perhaps you also left it on too long or not long enough! its best to consult with a clairol professional if your unsure about your results or what toner you should use. I can personally say, that as a natural dark brunette, I can go to very very light blonde with very little brassiness ( gold) from just the blonding kit alone in one application. then with the proper toner i can go to a beautiful platinum blonde with no gold, yellow, brassiness or anything. Lighten and tone is a 2 step process, not a 4 or 5 if you do it correctly! Wendy

wendy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to take black out
1/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've colored my hair black for 8 years,I need a change and want to get the black out and put dark auburn in.It did take 2 boxes,and I would put on.Then check results and do it again the what was not used in the bottle.I did it 3 times with one box in 1 night.Make sure you wash your hair and condition it well.And waited a week and did it again,then colored it the next day.It did get all the back out.

An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
10/2/2013

Customer review by Smileberry

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Smileberry
by Smileberry

I think this is the best blonde in a box out there. The next best thing to getting your hair colored professionally. I have naturally dark hair and this blonde looks blonde not brassy or orange at all. It is excellent for the price. I love it and recommend it for people who want to touch up their dark roots.

Smileberry
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews