Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 40 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Easy enough to do by myself!
3/19/2012

Customer review by Livvi4Peace

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Livvi4Peace
by Livvi4Peace

When I bought this, I had coppery hair, almost orange. I had already bleached it once, but the other product didn't get my hair the colour I wanted. This immediately brought the colour up several notches lighter and did much less damage on my hair. I love it! I used it twice to get it from orange to platinum blond. Don't look at other reviews! If you want blond hair and it is coloured or dark, you WILL have to bleach it a few times unless you want to fry it really badly. In any case you do wanna pick up a good conditioner after you bleach it. ^-^ The photo is of my hair after bleaching it three times, twice using this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Livvi4Peace
St. Augustince, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Product! Best on the market
7/25/2011

Customer review by 1lovingheart

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by 1lovingheart
by 1lovingheart

This is the only BLEACH I will use. This isnt a hair dye its bleach. That means that first of all you need to put this on your hair. I usually leave it on 20 more minutes than the box states since my hair usually takes a little longer since its dark brown. This will turn your hair a very light blonde almost white if you keep it on the right amount of time.. If you look at your hair and you see orange keep it on longer. Since this is bleach you are supposed to buy a hair dye to use after this however if this gets you to the shade you want(like in my case) then you just need to follow up with a toner or toning shampoo (Purple shampoo) Being blonde is never a one stop process! A toner or purple shampoo removes any yellow or brass you may have however this product doesnt leave me with much of that at all. But one wash with the purple shampoo and its the perfect very light blonde- lighter than the box.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1lovingheart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Average results.
7/3/2011

Customer review by Tavi6233

3.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Tavi6233
by Tavi6233

So this is my first time going blonde. My hair is normally a dark brown. I've been reading online about what can happen and how many people end up with orange/yellow hair so I expected it. For the most part you really need to add a toner to this, unfortunately my local walmart doesn't sell toner, I'm not sure if they do at other ones. My hair ended up being a mixture between a strawberry blonde and orange, had to go find a store that carried toner. I applied the toner today and it really has evened out to a more natural blonde look, it is definitely not as light as on the box. My hair is now very dry so I will be following up with a deep conditioner. After what I have read online about bleaching and dying, I did get what I expected to get from this, but the package can be very misleading to someone who is using that as their sole guide to dying their hair.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tavi6233
Pilot Mountain, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Strand test Lied/Rip Off
7/2/2012

Customer review by aria

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by aria
by aria

I did a strand test on my daughters hair & it turned it a light strawberry blonde. Being no stranger to highlighting hair/coloring hair I thought with the heat from the plastic cap it may make it a bit lighter. Her hair turned blonde in front & red in the back. Not even strawberry blonde like the strand test showed. Her hair had been color treated almost a year ago to a medium brown. It tells "not recommended for color treated or gray hair" on the instructions in small print you should put this on the box not on the instructions,after the box has been opened & you can't return it !! Loreal has this info on the BOX. Don't bother asking me to call your lame help line. I already did & I was told to take her to a salon which is what I should have done in the first place instead of using your products. I won't be buying from Clairol again you just lost a long time customer! I also had to tell her hair color is medium auburn,because calico wasn't an option.

aria
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do it right.
2/1/2011

Customer review by reviewerxiv

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by reviewerxiv
by reviewerxiv

If you're going from dark brown before bleaching, it will be orange after one application. To get light blonde, I suggest doing it 3 times. This is the only bleacher that I've liked using...and I've tried a few.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewerxiv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I can't wait to dye my hair brown again.
5/27/2011

Customer review by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS
by ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS

I've bleached my hair many times in the past but stopped because it was too pricy. When I saw this in the stores I thought it was a god-send and I would finally be able to be blonde again. My hair looks completely awful right now. It's splotchy and the color is more yellow then the nice, natural blonde on the front of the box. Very disappointing. The product also claimed my hair would be soft and it is everything but that. I know what happens when you bleach hair but this is the worst it's ever been. Frizzy, straw like and yucky. I would never do this again. I can't wait another second to be a brunette again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILOVECHEETAHPRINTLAMPS
Wonderland, Alice's Imagination
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
6/4/2012

Customer review by Babycakes0206

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Babycakes0206
by Babycakes0206

Before I purchased this product I had used a different kind of bleach to lighten my hair that left it a light orange color. After reading the other reviews I thought this product would lighten my hair the rest of the way to a blonde that wouldn't look horrible. I was wrong. I still gave it a higher rating because it did lighten it enough to the point where it should look good after I put a blonde hair color on it. I'm waiting a couple of weeks before doing it so my hair isn't too damaged. So this is good for lightening, but is by no means a final step for your hair.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babycakes0206
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
AMAZING!
4/3/2012

Customer review by lindsexy

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by lindsexy
by lindsexy

nothing less than AMAZING! i have dyed black hair. i bought two boxes of this product because i have thick hair shoulder length. i had more than i needed in one box!!! the turnout will be an orangey color but i had the other box to do a 2nd application so i got the blonde color i needed to dye my hair a light golden brown. WILL DEFINITLY USE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lindsexy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Nice and Easy(:
8/19/2011

Customer review by babycakes1211

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by babycakes1211
by babycakes1211

My hair started a golden blonde color with some very blonde highlights. I dyed my hair using the John Frieda Foam dye in one of the lightest blonde colors they had. My hair turned a darker golden blonde but it was almost strawberry blonde on the ends. I've been trying to get my hair platinum blonde and then I was going to add some pink streaks. My original plan was to go to Sally's Beauty Supply and see what they recommended. Instead I seen this at Wal-Mart and had read on some website that this was actually a very good bleach. I decided to try it because it's a lot easier to buy a box with everything you need then buy everything separately (which sometimes is a good thing). My hair is now mostly platinum blonde. It has some yellow pieces but I expected it based on the directions. I also probably could have left it on a little longer and the yellow would have been gone. I left the bleach on for a little more than an hour because i was worried about damaging my hair too much. But surprisingly I have very little damage. I am planning on toning my hair tonight to get out the rest of the yellow. My hair is a couple inches past my shoulders and this ended up being almost the perfect amount of bleach. I needed a little bit more but I plan on touching up the spots I missed tonight too. Overall it's not bad. If you have dark hair I wouldn't expect miracles. I do like that this tells you what stages hair lightens in so you can guess about where you will be. The only thing I don't like is it says you can use it for dark hair. If someone tries this on black hair then yes it is probably going to be orange and not blonde. You would probably have to use this 2-3 times to get a light blonde from black hair. Overall though this worked pretty good for me(:

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babycakes1211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Surprised by My Results!
5/24/2015

Customer review by NyxN

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by NyxN
by NyxN

I have to admit that when I purchased this for my two tone hair (dark brown on top, light ash brown on the bottom), I was not expecting to be able to go blonde with just one application but I was wrong! I left the product in for the full 60 minutes and I already had damaged hair (I know probably not the best idea) and once I washed my hair, dried and styled my hair was a beautiful, shiny golden blonde! I did tone it a bit because I naturally have red undertones but my hair was not red, it was golden mostly with only some light amber tones. Also my hair is super soft even with prior damage and bleaching this time. I absolutely love this product and will continue to purchase as long as I want blonde hair.

NyxN
Conroe, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product to change your image.
10/13/2011

Customer review by Sistersilvia

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Sistersilvia
by Sistersilvia

The color of my hair was dark brown almost black but the grey hair started an invasion on my head and this was the right solution for me. My hair turned a really light blonde as shown on the box and I am very happy with the results, my husband love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sistersilvia
Miami Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Oh, wait, you didn't want ORANGE?
10/28/2010

Customer review by scorpiovengnece

2.0 stars 10/28/2010 by scorpiovengnece
by scorpiovengnece

If you have any shade of brown hair you are going to need to most likely 2 boxes of this because the first time it dyes it orange and since i didn't want to damage my hair my bleaching it a second time i had to dye it a darker color and thank the lord i had another hair color box at home.

Was this review helpful? (13) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scorpiovengnece
EASTON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE THIS!!!!!
4/10/2013

Customer review by Meilien

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Meilien
by Meilien

I have always used Loreal hair color, since I can remember. I went to buy a frost kit and they were out of the one I like from Loreal. My hair was long over due for some fresh highlights, and I decided I was not going anywhere else, I would just have to buy what they had. I bought Clairol. I have brown hair, and was a little nervous about trying another brand. The results were just beautiful, a pale blond!!!! The conditioner is to die for, my hair was so soft and shiny. I was extremely pleased with the end result. I just wish I could buy the conditioner, as I have never had my hair feel that good after adding the highlights. Do you sell the conditioner? I would love to buy it if you did. Or do you sell something similar to it? I am now a Clairol girl, your kit rocks!!!!

Meilien
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love Clairol Frost & Tip
10/30/2012

Customer review by hoskins

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by hoskins
by hoskins

I have been using this product for at least 35 years and maybe as long as 40. I have always loved this product and always have had good results with it. The only thing that bothers me is for a year or longer the pick that I use is very weak. The end starts to bend from the beginning of use and makes it very difficult to puncture the plastic. Thank goodness that I saved one of the good picks, but I do my hair every 3 to 4 months and it isn't going to last forever. I started to pull my hair through the cap a few minutes ago and started having trouble and it reminded me that I wanted to let you know about the weak pick. I would love it if it went back to the stronger material of plastic for the pick. Other than the pick I still love the rest of the product. Thank you!

hoskins
Iva, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So horrible that I am crying!!!
10/29/2014

Customer review by jadedangel

1.0 stars 10/29/2014 by jadedangel
by jadedangel

I needed to touch my roots up because they were growing out a little. I purchased this product because I thought it would lighten my roots..Instead..I now have bright YELLOW HAIR and I was supposed to go somewhere this evening..I now cannot go anywhere unless I want to wear a hat!! I'm sitting here in tears over this. I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone..not ever!! My hair is ruined because of it!!! It looked great before I used this..ALL it needed was a root touch up and now my hair is white..and BRIGHT YELLOW!!!! iT WAS VERY EASY TO USE...BUT THAT DOES NOT OVERRIDE THE FACT THAT THE PRODUCT HAS RUINED MY HAIR!!!!

jadedangel
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
do not use
1/19/2012

Customer review by KYwoman123

1.0 stars 1/19/2012 by KYwoman123
by KYwoman123

This is the worst product I have ever used! My hair was a medium tone and now it is 4 different colors. I am no stranger to hair dye or bleach so I know how to properly dye my hair. I tried to go from medium auburn to blonde but instead my hair is now white pink blonde and brown! I have never been so angry about a product! I am so emberassed that I am going to have to call in to work because I refuse to leave my house like this but I have no choice but to leave it this way for a little while for fear of damageing my hair.DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! I am so angry that I am in tears right now, I wish I could upload a pic. so nobody would have to have hair that looks like this!

KYwoman123
Auberry, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this product!
5/8/2014

Customer review by nataliecs

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by nataliecs
by nataliecs

I have been using Nice n Easy Born Blond for quite awhile now. I love it! I have tried the bleach and lightener route...UGH! It left my hair dry and brittle. I had to do a two step process. Go through several color stages and complete the color stages the next day. I suffered a sore scalp and dry hair. Born Blond has everything you need in one complete package. The moisture intensive conditioner is great and leaves my hair smooth. Since I am a woman of color my hair is easy to become dry, brittle and break. Please don't stop manufacturing this product. I get so many compliments on my hair. And I recommend it to anyone who ask!! Thanks, Clairol

nataliecs
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better then regular bleach
7/8/2012

Customer review by AmberR

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by AmberR
by AmberR

my natural hair color is dirty blonde, and i wanted to go for the total bleach blonde look. unlike regular bleach it doesn't make your hair orange or a funny yellow color. i really like this product. i've used the ones for the lighter hair from born blonde but didn't get the total white blonde i wanted. i always suggest using the maxi to everyone wanting to bleach there hair. to me it feels safer and less damaging then regular bleach mix. plus it way easier. i just apply it like regular hair color. i'm happy with this product completely!! remember you may need two boxes if your hair is to your shoulders. better safe then sorry.

AmberR
Avondale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/2/2011

Customer review by Nyappy

2.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Nyappy
by Nyappy

I'm mortified. I have long thick hair. It says for use on long or short hair and shows awesome results on the box This was their worst. I recommend 2-3 boxes or you will end up with orange coppertone and/or dark brown hair. The front of my hair is super blonde and I applied it to the front and roots last. My roots are still pitch black, the parts of my hair that are naturally auburn are an orange tone with lots of black hairs here and there. I have used clairol balsam palest blond and for 6-7$ [2 boxes of a different blonding mix] you can get somewhat better results without the dry and roughness. Such a huge bottle i'd think it would've had more effect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nyappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE!
12/8/2014

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 12/8/2014 by Erin
by Erin

This was the first time I tried highlighting, using a cap. I was a little nervous, but find salon prices are too high for my budget these days. My hair turned out great - sublet highlights and easy to use overall. (I did everything myself and I'm sure having another person to help with the back of my head would help next time.) I will certainly use this product in the future. Thanks!

Erin
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews