Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

43 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

43 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
13
1-20 of 43 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Strand test Lied/Rip Off
7/2/2012

Customer review by aria

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by aria
by aria

I did a strand test on my daughters hair & it turned it a light strawberry blonde. Being no stranger to highlighting hair/coloring hair I thought with the heat from the plastic cap it may make it a bit lighter. Her hair turned blonde in front & red in the back. Not even strawberry blonde like the strand test showed. Her hair had been color treated almost a year ago to a medium brown. It tells "not recommended for color treated or gray hair" on the instructions in small print you should put this on the box not on the instructions,after the box has been opened & you can't return it !! Loreal has this info on the BOX. Don't bother asking me to call your lame help line. I already did & I was told to take her to a salon which is what I should have done in the first place instead of using your products. I won't be buying from Clairol again you just lost a long time customer! I also had to tell her hair color is medium auburn,because calico wasn't an option.

aria
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE THIS!!!!!
4/10/2013

Customer review by Meilien

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Meilien
by Meilien

I have always used Loreal hair color, since I can remember. I went to buy a frost kit and they were out of the one I like from Loreal. My hair was long over due for some fresh highlights, and I decided I was not going anywhere else, I would just have to buy what they had. I bought Clairol. I have brown hair, and was a little nervous about trying another brand. The results were just beautiful, a pale blond!!!! The conditioner is to die for, my hair was so soft and shiny. I was extremely pleased with the end result. I just wish I could buy the conditioner, as I have never had my hair feel that good after adding the highlights. Do you sell the conditioner? I would love to buy it if you did. Or do you sell something similar to it? I am now a Clairol girl, your kit rocks!!!!

Meilien
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love Clairol Frost & Tip
10/30/2012

Customer review by hoskins

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by hoskins
by hoskins

I have been using this product for at least 35 years and maybe as long as 40. I have always loved this product and always have had good results with it. The only thing that bothers me is for a year or longer the pick that I use is very weak. The end starts to bend from the beginning of use and makes it very difficult to puncture the plastic. Thank goodness that I saved one of the good picks, but I do my hair every 3 to 4 months and it isn't going to last forever. I started to pull my hair through the cap a few minutes ago and started having trouble and it reminded me that I wanted to let you know about the weak pick. I would love it if it went back to the stronger material of plastic for the pick. Other than the pick I still love the rest of the product. Thank you!

hoskins
Iva, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
do not use
1/19/2012

Customer review by KYwoman123

1.0 stars 1/19/2012 by KYwoman123
by KYwoman123

This is the worst product I have ever used! My hair was a medium tone and now it is 4 different colors. I am no stranger to hair dye or bleach so I know how to properly dye my hair. I tried to go from medium auburn to blonde but instead my hair is now white pink blonde and brown! I have never been so angry about a product! I am so emberassed that I am going to have to call in to work because I refuse to leave my house like this but I have no choice but to leave it this way for a little while for fear of damageing my hair.DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! I am so angry that I am in tears right now, I wish I could upload a pic. so nobody would have to have hair that looks like this!

KYwoman123
Auberry, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this product!
5/8/2014

Customer review by nataliecs

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by nataliecs
by nataliecs

I have been using Nice n Easy Born Blond for quite awhile now. I love it! I have tried the bleach and lightener route...UGH! It left my hair dry and brittle. I had to do a two step process. Go through several color stages and complete the color stages the next day. I suffered a sore scalp and dry hair. Born Blond has everything you need in one complete package. The moisture intensive conditioner is great and leaves my hair smooth. Since I am a woman of color my hair is easy to become dry, brittle and break. Please don't stop manufacturing this product. I get so many compliments on my hair. And I recommend it to anyone who ask!! Thanks, Clairol

nataliecs
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So horrible that I am crying!!!
10/29/2014

Customer review by jadedangel

1.0 stars 10/29/2014 by jadedangel
by jadedangel

I needed to touch my roots up because they were growing out a little. I purchased this product because I thought it would lighten my roots..Instead..I now have bright YELLOW HAIR and I was supposed to go somewhere this evening..I now cannot go anywhere unless I want to wear a hat!! I'm sitting here in tears over this. I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone..not ever!! My hair is ruined because of it!!! It looked great before I used this..ALL it needed was a root touch up and now my hair is white..and BRIGHT YELLOW!!!! iT WAS VERY EASY TO USE...BUT THAT DOES NOT OVERRIDE THE FACT THAT THE PRODUCT HAS RUINED MY HAIR!!!!

jadedangel
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
better then regular bleach
7/8/2012

Customer review by AmberR

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by AmberR
by AmberR

my natural hair color is dirty blonde, and i wanted to go for the total bleach blonde look. unlike regular bleach it doesn't make your hair orange or a funny yellow color. i really like this product. i've used the ones for the lighter hair from born blonde but didn't get the total white blonde i wanted. i always suggest using the maxi to everyone wanting to bleach there hair. to me it feels safer and less damaging then regular bleach mix. plus it way easier. i just apply it like regular hair color. i'm happy with this product completely!! remember you may need two boxes if your hair is to your shoulders. better safe then sorry.

AmberR
Avondale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra Blue is my NEW BEST FRIEND!
3/17/2010

Customer review by Jaydensmom11

5.0 stars 3/17/2010 by Jaydensmom11
by Jaydensmom11

I have been coloring my hair since I was 14. I have used so many different brands, and when I tried this, I SWORE I would NEVER stop using it. It is AMAZING. By far the BEST thing I've EVER used, I will never go to any other brand besides Born Blonde, Ultra Blue! I HIGHLY recommend it, the color it gives it just amazing, no brassiness, no yellow tent, just beautiful, natural looking blonde, oh it's gorgeous and I love it! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR INVENTING THIS!! Recommend to anyone!

Jaydensmom11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
help
4/20/2012

Customer review by tabbatha

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by tabbatha
by tabbatha

I used the born blonde maximum followed the directions extremely careful my hair came out horrible. It's multicolored with oranges hints of red yellows it's light on the top and as it goes down it gets darker and darker and more orange. I'm so embarrassed I haven't left my room. I am so mad it says works for hair brown to black I was in between their and it didn't work for me! I don't know what to do I'm horrified! Now I'm stuck with this orange hair and I don't know what to do!

tabbatha
turlock ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish I'd read reviews before using
7/7/2012

Customer review by lindy737

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by lindy737
by lindy737

I followed the directions. My hair turned a flaming orange color. Instructions say if you don't achieve your desired color to do it a second time after 24 hours. So I tried that. What a mistake! I get the calico cat reference in the other review. My hair is now orange, almost white, and red. And my hair is so dried out I'm almost afraid to do anything else to it. But I have to do something. No way I can go to work like this!

lindy737
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
horriable stuff man horriable
6/16/2010

Customer review by sjeffreys

2.0 stars 6/16/2010 by sjeffreys
by sjeffreys

i used this yesterday and it bleached my hair i waited until it got to the yellow color rinsed it out and used a toner surprise my hair looks orangy now. so no this is not a one step processes its like 3 for or 5 . because u have to buy this then the toner then the hair color to go over it very misleading product. I WILL NEVER BUY THIS AGAIN AND I WOULD ADVISE U LADYS TO STAY AWAY FROM IT. it this is horriable stuff.

sjeffreys
Would recommend to a friend? No
Maxi-Is The Best!
10/29/2011

Customer review by TallT

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by TallT
by TallT

I tried using other brands and even regular Nice n Easy and kept getting orange hair (I have dark, brown and gray). The Maxi Born Blonde was the only product that I found that gave me blonde without orange, and in one application. Make sure you follow the directions and test your hair color at different times as this is strong stuff. I liked leaving it on for the full time for a completely bleached look.

TallT
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to take black out
1/27/2012

Customer review by kayeberry

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by kayeberry
by kayeberry

I've colored my hair black for 8 years,I need a change and want to get the black out and put dark auburn in.It did take 2 boxes,and I would put on.Then check results and do it again the what was not used in the bottle.I did it 3 times with one box in 1 night.Make sure you wash your hair and condition it well.And waited a week and did it again,then colored it the next day.It did get all the back out.

kayeberry
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE!
12/8/2014

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 12/8/2014 by Erin
by Erin

This was the first time I tried highlighting, using a cap. I was a little nervous, but find salon prices are too high for my budget these days. My hair turned out great - sublet highlights and easy to use overall. (I did everything myself and I'm sure having another person to help with the back of my head would help next time.) I will certainly use this product in the future. Thanks!

Erin
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Misleading
11/17/2011

Customer review by wdfasdfasdfasdf

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by wdfasdfasdfasdf
by wdfasdfasdfasdf

I bought 2 boxes of born blonde maxi and it turned my hair the ugliest gold and bright golden orange, i wanted a light or platinum blond as shown on box, i need to have the color changed asap.. what should i do?? and i can't use any color with ash because my hair turns green, and don't have the money to have it fixed at a salon now.. And yes i did follow the directions on the box..

wdfasdfasdfasdf
cape coral, florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Horrible
11/18/2011

Customer review by Fiara

1.0 stars 11/18/2011 by Fiara
by Fiara

It says "1 treatment" I went from Dark Brown to Blonde, or at least that's what it was supposed to do. Turns out now I have spots of blonde in my hair. I contacted Customer Support and they were rude, and automatically assumed I was trying to swindle them because someone in a nearby town had the same issue. Maybe it's because the product doesn't work the way it's supposed to?!

Fiara
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Frost & Tip Box
2/17/2013

Customer review by tnbaby

4.0 stars 2/17/2013 by tnbaby
by tnbaby

While I love the color and what it does for my hair, I have purchased the box on four separate occassions the boxed were missing various items. The first box it was the mix, the second box it was gloves and cap, the third time it was the pick and mix and the last time it was the gloves, pick and cap. They need to check their boxes before sending out to be sold.

tnbaby
Braymer, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dark to light
3/8/2014

Customer review by KarenP

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by KarenP
by KarenP

i have long thick dark brown hair and i wanted to go blond so i used this product which im very happy with. i had to use two boxes since i have so much hair but it didnt ruin my hair like bleach does. it didnt come out all dry and breaking. i would definitely use it again. i kept it on for the entire 90minutes though with hair cap on it.

KarenP
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/6/2012

Customer review by Shanispaz

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Shanispaz
by Shanispaz

I have used both the frost and tip and hair painting versions of this product, love both of them! I prefer the hair painting because it is quicker. Absolutely love the color that comes out, the shades on the box are true to match, unlike other highlighting brands. Plus the leave in conditioner leaves your hair soft but not oily!

Shanispaz
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
10/2/2013

Customer review by Smileberry

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Smileberry
by Smileberry

I think this is the best blonde in a box out there. The next best thing to getting your hair colored professionally. I have naturally dark hair and this blonde looks blonde not brassy or orange at all. It is excellent for the price. I love it and recommend it for people who want to touch up their dark roots.

Smileberry
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews