Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 37 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
If you are looking for......
8/14/2012

Customer review by Gr8GIRL

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Gr8GIRL
by Gr8GIRL

If you have a tendency for unwanted reds in your hair--this is the one for you! Rather than buy products to add to haircoloring to take out red--this one already does it ! Stylists say I have "hidden" reds in my hair and for years had to buy special shampoos and additives to the coclor--not any more.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gr8GIRL
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great not to dry out hair
12/19/2012

Customer review by MaMitchell

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by MaMitchell
by MaMitchell

I am old and still have brown roots, I was not born blonde, but I like it blonde. Wish I could just turn grey to match my wrinkles. So,every now and then to get rid of those brassy and gold tones, I just bleach it all. It has not made my hair dry or anything. Be sure to leave it on until the bright orange goes away,I only left about 20 min. this time, so I will have to do it again, my fault. This is the best brand I have found, the others dried out my hair! I will use it again & again!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaMitchell
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 50 contributor
good stuff
6/13/2012

Customer review by dump1

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by dump1
by dump1

Gets rid if the dark roots and leaves your hair silky soft.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dump1
Gulfport, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
Awesome product
7/17/2012

Customer review by misspriss1213

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by misspriss1213
by misspriss1213

This is a great product! Only problem was it doesn't tell you how much to use. I have a medium thickness of hair and needed two bottles but it worked great I love the color!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misspriss1213
Villa Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Best Hair Color For Me
11/13/2013

Customer review by erimicheller

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by erimicheller
by erimicheller

I have very dark brown hair. I have been trying to get my hair to go blonde for several years and no other hair color has worked. It even goes over my red hair color and makes it a unique, beautiful strawberry blonde!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
erimicheller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Since 1995 & Still Love It!!!
3/2/2014

Customer review by BlondieJody76

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by BlondieJody76
by BlondieJody76

When I first went blonde, in my senior year in high school, I was told about getting this. I used it & it was great! I have been using this, off & on (went back to brunette 4 years later & back and forth a few times! LOL!), since 1995. It's easy to use & you can use it every 5-7 weeks. Very safe stuff. And it's great if you want to go platinum or extreme light blonde, this is it.... But do take precautions: 1. Use only 1 time every 6 weeks or more. 2. Do roots only with this the next time. 3. Probably use it only 4-5 times a year, but no more. 4. Use a regular blonde dye for the ends mostly (only use on the ends if you choose to go really light, but wait a while). This stuff is awesome! Glad it's still around & going....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlondieJody76
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
blonde haircolor
11/24/2012

Customer review by nanagranna

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by nanagranna
by nanagranna

my hair is brown and I have to use 3 applications yo get it to blonde

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanagranna
Roanoke,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked Well For Me
5/24/2013

Customer review by PureRinnyJoy

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by PureRinnyJoy
by PureRinnyJoy

I used this product to bleach the tips of my dark red/brown dyed hair. It worked wonderfully! In 30 minutes I got a nice strawberry blonde color. I am very happy with the results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PureRinnyJoy
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
very nice
9/20/2014

Customer review by peanutbutter4

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by peanutbutter4
by peanutbutter4

very nice

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peanutbutter4
las vegas,nv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
black to icy blonde in less then 60 minutes
5/27/2015

Customer review by MamaDee

5.0 stars 5/27/2015 by MamaDee
by MamaDee

My natural color is black, I used black dye to cover grey. I used Born Blonde Maxi by Clairol and it lighten even the dyed black to icy blonde. I would recommend that you use it instead of this. Other products just lighten to an orange brassy color

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad
7/8/2015

Customer review by Payhton

1.0 stars 7/8/2015 by Payhton
by Payhton

I've never dyed my hair blonde before but I've done at home dyes before and I've absolutely NEVER had this ugly of a color. It is brassy and orange and I'm not sure why considering I lightened my hair before and this didn't happen. I wish someone would've told me that this stuff would make my hair orange. Because now I'm stuck with brass colored hair for at least another week. And it dried my hair out more than any hair dye ever even though I used the conditioner that came with it. Never again will I buy a Clariol product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Payhton
Would recommend to a friend? No
IF YOU LOVE ORANGE----
10/21/2012

Customer review by DAWNDY54

1.0 stars 10/21/2012 by DAWNDY54
by DAWNDY54

WELCOME TO BORN BLONDE!

Was this review helpful? (5) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAWNDY54
LONG ISLAND NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do NOT buy this!
2/21/2013

Customer review by ReneeRose77

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by ReneeRose77
by ReneeRose77

This ruined my brunette hair, turning it into a BRASSY, YELLOW MESS. Which it clearly said, it would NOT do. I'm so frustrated and upset with the results of this product I can just scream at the top of my lungs. If you don't want damaged, brittle, dull, lifeless and orange/discolored hair, then Don't waste your time with this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReneeRose77
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Maxi-Is The Best!
10/29/2011

Customer review by TallT

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by TallT
by TallT

I tried using other brands and even regular Nice n Easy and kept getting orange hair (I have dark, brown and gray). The Maxi Born Blonde was the only product that I found that gave me blonde without orange, and in one application. Make sure you follow the directions and test your hair color at different times as this is strong stuff. I liked leaving it on for the full time for a completely bleached look.

TallT
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RE: poor review by other user
7/27/2010

Customer review by wendy

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by wendy
by wendy

Having used this product for a long time and always having excellent results, I would just like to state a few things concerning this other users poor review for other readers to consider. First...you must choose the right strength blonding kit depending on how dark your hair is. If its like mine (dark brown) its best to go with the maxi (for even the darkest hair). You HAVE to leave it on long enough..sometimes it may appear that it is the correct lightness, but it is always best to choose a small strand that has the solution on it, and wash it off completely using a wash cloth or paper towel and shampoo it and rinse with water, and blow it dry, that way you can see the actual lightness of the hair. If its not light enough, you can leave it on longer. The "orange" color you got after toning was most likely due to the toner as you stated your hair was blonde (yellow) after the blonding process. You have to be careful when choosing toners, and its always best to put some toner on a small strand of hair underneath first to see the result before doing your whole head if you've never used the combination of blonding and toner together before. Also, its best to use a toner from the same company as your blonding for best, accurate and predictable results. I would say your undesired results was due to the toner color, perhaps you also left it on too long or not long enough! its best to consult with a clairol professional if your unsure about your results or what toner you should use. I can personally say, that as a natural dark brunette, I can go to very very light blonde with very little brassiness ( gold) from just the blonding kit alone in one application. then with the proper toner i can go to a beautiful platinum blonde with no gold, yellow, brassiness or anything. Lighten and tone is a 2 step process, not a 4 or 5 if you do it correctly! Wendy

wendy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE!
12/8/2014

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 12/8/2014 by Erin
by Erin

This was the first time I tried highlighting, using a cap. I was a little nervous, but find salon prices are too high for my budget these days. My hair turned out great - sublet highlights and easy to use overall. (I did everything myself and I'm sure having another person to help with the back of my head would help next time.) I will certainly use this product in the future. Thanks!

Erin
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS!!!!!
4/10/2013

Customer review by Meilien

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Meilien
by Meilien

I have always used Loreal hair color, since I can remember. I went to buy a frost kit and they were out of the one I like from Loreal. My hair was long over due for some fresh highlights, and I decided I was not going anywhere else, I would just have to buy what they had. I bought Clairol. I have brown hair, and was a little nervous about trying another brand. The results were just beautiful, a pale blond!!!! The conditioner is to die for, my hair was so soft and shiny. I was extremely pleased with the end result. I just wish I could buy the conditioner, as I have never had my hair feel that good after adding the highlights. Do you sell the conditioner? I would love to buy it if you did. Or do you sell something similar to it? I am now a Clairol girl, your kit rocks!!!!

Meilien
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/6/2012

Customer review by Shanispaz

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Shanispaz
by Shanispaz

I have used both the frost and tip and hair painting versions of this product, love both of them! I prefer the hair painting because it is quicker. Absolutely love the color that comes out, the shades on the box are true to match, unlike other highlighting brands. Plus the leave in conditioner leaves your hair soft but not oily!

Shanispaz
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE
11/10/2011

Customer review by blondee

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by blondee
by blondee

I love this product, it is sooo much better than just straight hair bleaching like what you get at a hair supply store, AND CHEAPER. It leaves your hair in better condition than the bleach. I use this all the time, I would never use any other blonding product. This is my go-to blonder. (:

blondee
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra Blue is my NEW BEST FRIEND!
3/17/2010

Customer review by Jaydensmom11

5.0 stars 3/17/2010 by Jaydensmom11
by Jaydensmom11

I have been coloring my hair since I was 14. I have used so many different brands, and when I tried this, I SWORE I would NEVER stop using it. It is AMAZING. By far the BEST thing I've EVER used, I will never go to any other brand besides Born Blonde, Ultra Blue! I HIGHLY recommend it, the color it gives it just amazing, no brassiness, no yellow tent, just beautiful, natural looking blonde, oh it's gorgeous and I love it! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR INVENTING THIS!! Recommend to anyone!

Jaydensmom11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews