Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 670 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

670 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

670 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
257
4 stars
117
3 stars
74
2 stars
84
1 stars
138
1-20 of 667 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 667 total reviews
1-20 of 667 reviews
Beautiful Color!
5/20/2016

Customer review by Jennacakes83

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Jennacakes83
by Jennacakes83

I am really impressed with this hair dye. The color is so beautiful. I was concerned about a few things... damage and the color being too dark. When I started to mix everything together I noticed the smell wasn't as strong as many dyes on the market, this is tolerable. The kit includes everything you need; instructions, mixes, conditioner and gloves. The instructions are very easy to follow. I do think the box should specify if you have longer hair an additional box of dye is need. They dye is easy to apply and can stain so having vaseline on hand helps. I didn't leave mine in as long as it states to because it did darken up more than the photo on the box. Regardless the color still turned out beautifully, its shiny and didn't damage my hair. Its now been 3 weeks with this color and I have noticed some split ends and the color has faded a bit and is duller. These are minor issues I can fix. All in all I am satisfied with this dye and would purchase it again but in a permanent color.

Jennacakes83
Canton, OH
Received free product:Yes
Not like the original...Bring back the original!
11/1/2011

Customer review by Dashgirl

2.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Dashgirl
by Dashgirl

Used the other semi-permanent one for more then 15 years and loved it, then found out they were discontinuing them, so bought as many as I could find of them. Ran out so now had to try this new product. One thing I do not like is that after you shake the bottle to mix the color the directions tell you to apply immediately, which I did. However, when you start to apply the color, it is almost a translucent color so you cannot tell where you have applied it as opposed to the old formula which came out dark right away. As I kept applying color it eventually started to turn dark in the bottle and on my hair. The first time I tried this color it covered my gray very well, today I used it again (after five weeks) and this time it did not cover them as well as the first time. Do not want to use permanent hair color, but what other choices are there? Please bring the old formula back, it was the best! Oh, I also did not use the color refresh and after reading the reviews I'm glad I didn't!

Dashgirl
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Needs some work
5/23/2016

Customer review by Kljackson89

3.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Kljackson89
by Kljackson89

I received a free Natural Instincts hair dye from Clairol. As suggested by Clairol I choose a dye color within 2 shades of my natural color, so I chose 9N Dark Neutral Blonde. I was interested in trying it because it was advertised as semi-permanent, stating it washes out in 28 washes and that it only took 10 minutes to get rich beautifully colored hair. The bottles were nicely packaged, however I did notice the crème developer was very runny looking. I thought maybe it would thicken up when it was mixed with the colorant, but I was wrong. It became very watery, and ran down my hair faster than I could apply it. I gave it a shot anyway and used the entire bottle. I just piled my hair on my head, clipped it up and covered myself with a towel to keep down on the mess. I liked that I didn't have too wait long. I also like that it smelled great, no chemical smells like most hair dyes have. I waited the 10 mins and rinsed, following with the conditioner that they give you with it, which smells great too! My hair color is now even throughout and is very glossy. Good outcome for it being watery and messy. I would definitely purchase this in the future if the crème issue is resolved.

Kljackson89
Newark, OH
Received free product:Yes
All Natural and easy to use
5/10/2016

Customer review by kira8789

3.0 stars 5/10/2016 by kira8789
by kira8789

My impression of Clairol was neutral before I tried Clairol Natural Instincts hair color. I had heard good things about, but had never used it personally. The ease of use was very nice for a change (normally I purchase the color and developer separately and mix myself). My hair is naturally dark brown and I don't think the developer that came with the Clairol Natural Instincts was high enough to lift the color of my hair. I didn't notice much of a difference in my hair color afterwards. Overall, I'd give Clairol Natural Instincts a 3 Star Rating for the ease of use and all natural ingredients. However, due to the end result, I wouldn't rate a 5 star. I think for those of you who are interested in trying it, I think it's worth a shot, however you may need to purchase developer separately depending on your natural hair color.

kira8789
Whitesboro, NY
Received free product:Yes
Predictable Result
7/23/2010

Customer review by SDDaisie

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by SDDaisie
by SDDaisie

I am a natural brunette and had gone blonde for a while, and wanted to go back to my natural medium ash brown. After two colorings on the same day at my salon I looked like Elvira with a burgundy tint. The color was so saturated it looked like I had done it myself AND used the wrong color. The next colorist I went to said I need to wait four weeks before doing anything, and that it would take five hours at the salon (and lots of $$) to fix my hair color. After these 4-5 weeks my hair looked brassy reddish brunette. I decided to look into doing it myself and chose Natural Instincts Light Ash Brown. I did leave it on for 12.5 minutes. It did not lather up really well when I washed it off. Even though it blended well with my roots I can still see one or two greys - probably will leave it on longer next time. In the daylight the brassiness is gone but there are some very subtle red reflections in artificial light, but lots of shine. I will definitely continue to use the product.

SDDaisie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PLEASE BRING BACK ORIGINAL NATURAL INSTINCTS
11/9/2011

Customer review by Bigdee

1.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Bigdee
by Bigdee

I have been a faithful customer for 12-15 years using Natural Instincts....LOVED IT !! ALWAYS turned out great; my hair looked good, felt good!! And I would have gladly recommended it to anyone. But now that you have changed it, I DON'T LIKE IT AT ALL !! And I couldn't believe the first review I read was EXACTLY my experience. It's terrible!! It does not cover my grey well but gets the rest of my hair way too dark and the "color refresher" packet is HORRIBLE !! It turned my hair RED and stained everything it touched!! I just went this evening searching stores for a box of the original hair color; only found 2 boxes and bought both of them. I will have to start shopping for a new hair color if you don't bring back the original product. I have bought ALOT of your hair color over the past many years and would like to continue to be a faithful customer so PLEASE! PLEASE! bring it back!!!!!!!!!!! I don't want to have to look for a new hair color but I will if you can't bring back the original product.

Bigdee
columbus ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes hair shiny, doesn't hide gray :/
5/20/2016

Customer review by RealFamilyReviews

3.0 stars 5/20/2016 by RealFamilyReviews
by RealFamilyReviews

As the only tones available were kind of dark and I have blond hair, I decided to take advantage of Clairol free trial and get the tone that matches my sister's in law hair and try it on her. I was very excited to have a girls night and color her hair. The hair color was very easy to use, instructions are very understandable and the process itself is very easy. The hair did get a nice shine, however the tone didn't cover the gray hair as it is written in description, my sister in law didn't want to take a picture of the outcome as it made her very self-conscious. Giving 3 star rating just because the gray hair weren't dyed, none the less the rest of the hair was dyed beautiful. I would give this product another shot and this time try it on me as I don't have any gray hair yet.

RealFamilyReviews
Mineola, NY
Received free product:Yes
Lasted a week
5/12/2016

Customer review by CowgirlMom

3.0 stars 5/12/2016 by CowgirlMom
by CowgirlMom

I received a free gift from Clariol in exchange for my review so I decided to try the Dark Neutral Blonde which ended up a pretty color. Although after just a few washes the color was completely gone. I have a moderate amount of grey hairs that frame my face and although they were initially covered with the color, they began to show after just two washes. The product does not have a strong smell like permanent hair color which I did find to be a huge plus and the whole process took a total of 15 minutes which was great for a busy mom like me. I like that I could try different colors and if I choose one I do t like it will be washed out in no time so I will probably use this again just for that purpose. Overall it did what it was supposed to do, just didn't last as lon as is expected.

CowgirlMom
Selah, WA
Received free product:Yes
Not too bad!
4/25/2016

Customer review by starlitsky

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by starlitsky
by starlitsky

I think this is a good box hair dye. I'm used to going to a salon to get my hair done because I've used box hair color before and it left my hair very damaged. I swore to my hairdresser that I wouldn't dye my hair ever again with box color, but let's not tell her about this time. It'll be our little secret. From start to finish it was a very easy process. The directions were simple and straight to the point. The time was a lot less than what I'm used to, only 10 mins. This is considered temporary hair color since it lasts up to 6 weeks or 28 washes. Perfect! I chose a color that closely resembled the hair color I had already so there isn't a huge difference, but I can tell it's a different color. It's not as light as the picture since my hair was darker, but I like how it turned out. The dye itself was a little itchy while waiting the 10 minutes but not unbearable. I do love the conditioner. It smells good and it made my hair extremely soft and shiny. I like this product! It's affordable, it works, the color looks great, it's easy, and it won't make you feel guilty for using it. P.S. I forgot to take a before picture so here's just the after.

starlitsky
Irvine, CA
Received free product:Yes
Refresher packet
12/2/2011

Customer review by WannaTangle

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by WannaTangle
by WannaTangle

I used this product two weeks ago. I was very happy with the initial results. I had made my hair a shade darker and loved it. It was fading but not drastically but today I decided to use the refresher packet. It made my hair very red looking. It also dyed my scalp. If I use this product again, I will go toward the medium brown that Clove Medium Brown, which I am hoping will take the red out, but I am afraid to use the refresher packet again. I really do not like the color my hair is right now. This is the first time I have used hair color that I have been unhappy with. From reading the boards, it sounds like people were happier with the old formula. I sure don't mind waiting 30 minutes for hair color I will be happy with. I thought it was surprising that this took only 10 minutes. This is the first time I used this product because I had read a review somewhere that said it was the longest lasting hair color. The review was a few years old and I had no idea the formula had been changed until coming here.

WannaTangle
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn/'t Work For Me
5/21/2016

Customer review by iimizzrachelii

2.0 stars 5/21/2016 by iimizzrachelii
by iimizzrachelii

I got this product free from Bzz Agent for my honest review. First off I do like the scent of the dye and the conditioner that came with the package. It didn't have a strong chemical smell or a burning/itching sensation when I was waiting for the dye to set in my hair. The only thing I did not like was that the color result wasn't there. It didn't dye my hair. I followed the instructions on the package and left it on for probably 10 extra minutes to ensure that the color did dye my hair. I didn't have any color change, therefore it did not work for me. The product gets a 2 star from me for the smell and the softness that it left my hair after washing out the dye, there was no drying to the hair either.

iimizzrachelii
Oroville, CA
Received free product:Yes
Awful!
12/30/2011

Customer review by wdfasdfasdfasdf

1.0 stars 12/30/2011 by wdfasdfasdfasdf
by wdfasdfasdfasdf

I count myself among the "silent majority" and generally, will not offer criticism. However, I feel you crossed the line when you messed with my hair. I have used the Natural Instincts rinse for many years. The new and improved product is anything but improved. I was able to use the old product ONCE every 5 or 6 weeks. I liked that convenience. I found the grey hairs showing through within two weeks. Now, after 2 weeks, we are given the conditioning rinse to add highlights. This morning, after using it, the "highlights" gave my grey hairs and scalp an orange cast. In addition, some of the conditioner dropped into my sink. I had a hard time scrubbing it clean with a cleanser. I'm not certain, but I'm afraid if I hadn't cleaned it immediately, I may have had a permanent stain in my sink. I can no longer recommend this product to anyone. Whether my review is posted or not, I hope someone in the Clairol organization will take notice and bring back the "old" product. Until then, you have lost a loyal customer.

wdfasdfasdfasdf
Eagle, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
It Didn't Do Much
5/24/2016

Customer review by MarikoKira

1.0 stars 5/24/2016 by MarikoKira
by MarikoKira

Thanks Clairol for sending me this free Natural Instincts Semi Color hair product. I was excited to try this product because I never used this product line before. Unfortunately, it did not work on my African American hair. I have black semi thick hair and I thought that the color I chose would give me a hint of gold in my hair. The color did not change at all. So I figured that it was either not meant for my type of hair or my hair was not meant to be used on dark hair. The directions work easy to follow, the smell of the product was not overwhelming, and it did not take a long time process my hair. I cannot say that I will purchase from this product line in the future.

MarikoKira
Meridian, MS
Received free product:Yes
Good product, DO NOT use the "color refresher"!
1/26/2014

Customer review by taylorgirl92

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by taylorgirl92
by taylorgirl92

I have been using Natural Instincts on and off for years because I prefer semi-permanent color. This brand always seems to be very gentle on my hair and leaves it feeling much softer than before I colored it. The only things I don't like about it are: 1) the quantity of dye is too small (1 box is not enough to cover my shoulder length hair, which seems ridiculous to me). 2) the "2 week color refresh" packet comes out dark red and does in fact turn your hair reddish/orange. WHY?? Why would you include a packet meant to refresh the color that DOESN'T EVEN MATCH THE COLOR? Especially when the color I chose is "Medium COOL Brown" (COOL, as in, opposite on the color wheel of red, as in I BOUGHT THIS COLOR BECAUSE I DON'T WANT RED IN MY HAIR!) So I used the stupid color refresh and now my hair has a reddish tint that won't wash off, it has been months now. CLAIROL, PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM!! I can see by other reviews that I'm not the only one who is disgusted with this.

taylorgirl92
ruston,la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural Instincts Dark Blonde
5/4/2016

Customer review by ifixyawata

2.0 stars 5/4/2016 by ifixyawata
by ifixyawata

The first thing I noticed when use this product is how good it smells, it's not at all like traditional hair dyes without the ammonia smell stinging your eyes while you wait to wash! It's nice to have the conditioner that helps your hair by keeping it soft after the rinse out. I am, however very disappointed in the fact that it did not cover or blend my grays AT ALL! I was excited to try this product because it specifically says it "blends away grays" but upon using the product all it did was darken my old highlights and lighten my hair a tiny bit, not to the fault of the dye, I realize it's just the color I got but the grays stayed! The only reason for myself dying at all is to cover and blend grays and this product did not do that at all!

ifixyawata
Salem, OH
Received free product:Yes
Did not meet my expectations
5/12/2016

Customer review by Frodge

3.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Frodge
by Frodge

I received the Dark Neutral Blood hair die to try for free from Clairol. I had high expectations because I've used the Clairol brand of hair dyes before. The hair dye it's self was very easy to use. It didn't have any harsh smells that many hair dyes have. It also didn't burn my scalp or cause it to itch, which is a big plus. It also didn't dry out my hair. What I didn't like is that after two week it has faded dramatically. I am going to have to redye my hair a lot sooner that what I like to do. With my previous use,of Clairol products that haven't faded as quickly. This is my main complaint about this product. I'm glad I didn't pay for the product and that Clairol have it to me to try for free.

Frodge
Valrico, FL
Received free product:Yes
Coastal Dune
6/2/2016

Customer review by Emwall22

4.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Emwall22
by Emwall22

It was really easy to use, and went on easy. I only tried it on the under portion of my hair because I could tell the color was darker than I wanted my entire hair to be. I would have gone a shade lighter because even though this is labeled as "dark neutral blonde", I would consider it brown. It didn't seem to damage my hair or make it "fried" looking, so I would recommend it to anyone using box colors.

Emwall22
Savannah, GA
Received free product:Yes
Clairol's Natural Instincts Coastal Dune Hair Color
4/21/2016

Customer review by KittySiera

4.0 stars 4/21/2016 by KittySiera
by KittySiera

So... I received a free trial (full size) sample of clairol's natural instincts temporary (28 wash) hair color. There are pros and there are cons, in my opinion. Pros- This stuff smells amazing! They use a blend of coconut oil, vitamin e, and aloe in the hair color. It smells like I went to a tropical island :-) . The hair color box included an extremely generous amount of after color conditioner (much more than needed for just one treatment). The hair color didn't make my hair too dried out like other brands have in the past. I received an all over natural looking and well blended color. Cons- the color is much darker than I had expected. I was given a dark natural blonde (called coastal dune) and what my hair looks more like a medium brownish color (I have included a picture for reference). But!!! Even though it is much darker than I expected, my hair looks and feels very healthy. After drying my hair, the conditioner left what seems to be a slight residue on my hair (it kind of feels slick/sticky; kind of like mousse makes your hair feel). That being said, I like the product, and might even purchase it in the future. I will just make sure to go lighter than what I want since it came out darker.

KittySiera
Lawrenceville, GA
Received free product:Yes
An ok hair dye
5/9/2016

Customer review by Frodge

3.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Frodge
by Frodge

The color is pretty close to that which is pictured on the box and is nice and evenly toned all over yet it doesn't mask natural highlights. It only has one bottle to mix into the developer so that's easy. It has a clean fragrance and no harsh chemical smell that I can detect. There was no itching or burning of my scalp during or after the application. The only complaint I have is that after two weeks the color was considerbly gone. My hair was darker than what it should have been with dyeing my hair. I received this product free of charge to try by Clairol.

Frodge
Valrico, FL
Received free product:Yes
SUPERB COLOR
1/24/2014

Customer review by Chrizd

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Chrizd
by Chrizd

I just tried natural instincts in suede/brown #13. I was trying to cover stray grays and refresh my brown hair. This is a very pretty brown. My hair was on the lighter brown side when I applied it and it toned it down without being very dark. The grays are covered and the color looks refreshed! I washed my hair the day before applying and treated the ends with conditioner well. I left it on about 12 minutes. I think if I left it in an additional 5 it would have been a tad darker. I am so pleased that it looks so natural and feels incredibly soft! I also like there is no stinging on my scalp from this product! Thank you Clariol for NOT adding ammonia! Even with the peroxide, I could tell a huge difference without ammonia! The included conditioner is a bonus and really felt good after combing out my hair. It would be great if there was a brush added in with the box so you could "paint" the temples better since the bottle is a bit messy. I will definitely use this again with root touch up! *Please make an ammonia free root touch up!♥

Chrizd
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 667 total reviews
1-20 of 667 reviews