Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 1797 reviews
5 stars
985
4 stars
533
3 stars
153
2 stars
64
1 stars
62
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1795 reviews
1-20 of 1795 reviews
Bright
11/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted 22 cinnaberry. They no longer have it (although they try and pass 5R as the former cinnaberry but it's NOT, it's just brown) so I bought 23R raspberry. It's really bright! It's way more shocking and unnatural than I would like but seeing as it's a non permanent I would rather start out extreme and have it tone down than not be bright enough to begin with. I started my journey with light brown hair, I dyed my hair wirh L'Oréal red penny and it came out horrible! It was an ugly coral brown candy orange so I used color oops to strip the color and dyed with the 23R raspberry. I am happy with the results even though I was looking for a more natural lighter look, I think it will tone down and lighten up. The smell is not harsh, it didn't damage my hair any further, lots of conditioner was nice. My hair is bra strap length and thick. I would advise on 3 boxes instead of two. Usually I can get by with 2 but with this I would suggest 3. All in all very good product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
23R (Raspberry Creme Medium Auburn) Review
7/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For reference: I bleached/lightened my hair before using this. My original hair color is black and was bleached to an orange/brown. This is a semi-perm dye; it only stains your hair and WILL NOT LIGHTEN IT. PROS: - vibrant color - smells pleasant - very easy to use - great conditioner (de-tangles hair and leaves it silky) - a lot of product (enough for thick/thin hair mid-way down the back or shorter) CONS: - hard to wash out (it takes 3-4 washes before the dye washes out) - small conditioner (compared to other semi-perm dyes, the conditioner was tiny) BEST FOR... - individuals with natural or pre-lightened dirty blonde - light brown hair (anything lighter will be too red; anything darker won't show) - individuals who wash their hair less than 4x a week (the color will last longer)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Oh How much I love this product !
8/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After using Clairol Natural Instincts I knew that I would most definitely be using Clairol dye again. There's so many reasons why. Let me tell you ! I always dye my hair so immediately I was expecting wierd chemical hair dye smells & stains everywhere. Nope not with Clairol Natural Instincts! There's a phenomenal smell to the coloring and conditioner. It didnt even feel like I was coloring my hair. I felt like I was washing my hair with flowers. It smells great. I got a little color on my neck and wrist but it didn't leave a major stain at all. I love that fact that the product has vitamin E & coconut oil in it. Its amazing ! I was a little concerned about the coloring and how it would turn out because it was a little dark when applying to my hair but after washing the color out and conditioning I fell in love. My hair dark brown/ black before and now I'm glowing with this slight auburn. My hair not only looked great but it felt amazing. The color did its Job. Thanks Clairol ! I'll definitely use again ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hate having to use any other product
7/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased 9 boxes of this product after hearing from a Walgreens clerk that this product is being discontinued. It wasn't clear if the product was being discontinued at Walgreens or by Clairol. For ten years, I've been using the Midnight color because it works best with my Asian complexion and black hair. After trying other products from Clairol, Loreal, and Garnier, I've found that Natural Instincts is the easiest to use, smells the best, covers all of my white hairs well, doesn't cause more of my hair to fall out, and is gentle. It also acts more like a permanent hair color in Midnight, which I like. Also, it doesn't stain my skin or bleed out for days like some other products. After one shampoo washing, I don't have to fear getting black stain on white towels. Once, I tried the "creme" formula of this same product line, but it was messier and left stains on my white towels for a few shampoos afterwards. I'm really hoping that Clairol isn't discontinuing this product. In the meantime, I think I might buy another 9 boxes just in case.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smells awful
12/26/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I won't blame anyone else that I picked the wrong color - too red. So I"m going to have to call them to suggest a way to fix that. Lit up like a Christmas bulb. But the smell. Ugh. I'm fragrance-sensitive around many items and have been able to do hair color before, but have been sneezing for a few days due to allergies stirred up by this scent. Washed it out of my hair last night and it's better, but still there. My towels stink so I have them in the washer with bleach right now to get it out. I used Natural Instincts awhile back but don't remember it smelling so godawful hideous. Some areas in my hair didn't even cover really and are still brown. Just by the edges so maybe I didn't have enough color on them. -But the areas that were gray - on top - boy are they red. Like that artificial teenage brownish red that would be great if I was wearing spikes and boots and chains and trying to scare little children, or start a new band, but for my new year's business image - not so much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product root touchup
7/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was awesome at covering my lighter roots and blended well with the existing color that I already had. I've been dying my naturally lighter brown/blonde hair for a while (my natural color tends to wash me out) and this worked really well on my roots and helped a ton with blending my colors while maintaining a natural variance. My hair has been processed too much so was worried about it damaging my hair but honestly it feels better after. My hair feels softer and it didn't tangle as easily after. I liked that it was demi permanent so I wasn't tied down to this color if I didn't like it. It helped tone down the red I had previously put in my hair that I wasn't in love with. It was easy to use and had a good amount of product; sometimes my thicker hair requires two bottles. All in all I think this is a great product to try out a new color without the commitment and damage that other dyes have. I would use this again especially on my over processed hair. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Giant Thanks You
8/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So i have to thank Clairol Natural Instincts for making my hair feel alive again! For almost 4 months now my hair has felt dried out and dull. I use to dye my hair regularly and still had some stray hairs of burgundy left over from my last hair dyeing attempt. So trying Clairol's Natural Instincts had me skeptical to if it would hold color in my hair for more than a week. Once applied to my hair it not only smelled great but, it also left my hair feeling moisturized and renewed. It didn't stain my skin to where there would be dye spots like most other at home hair dye kits. After a week went by my hair still looked amazing, the medium brown color still holding true to its color. I constantly got compliments from not only coworkers but from strangers while walking my son around town. I would highly recommend this to family and friends, thank you Clairol Natural Instincts for giving me beautiful hair again! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Most Improved
7/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Clairol Natural Instincts is awesome! Here's the reason for the title - I used Clairol hair color many years ago, and after trying several variations and shades, I always felt like it left my hair brassy and reddish, which I didn't like. This product, however, did not leave any brassy tones, and really blended into my natural hair color well! I'm not sure if it is an improved formula, or maybe the fact that this color did not contain ammonia, but my hair is shiny, healthy-looking, and soft! I will add that it is incredibly difficult to get this much naturally curly hair soft and shiny! Even my husband noticed how soft it was! There were two main reasons I would recommend this product: 1. No harsh nose-curling, eye-stinging smell. 2. The conditioner included may just be the best conditioner I have ever used (and believe me, I have tried them all!!). Note to Clairol - you should sell this conditioner on store shelves!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clairol Natural Instincts
8/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
There were a few things about this line of hair color I found different and unique. And I'd love to share the experience. First, the smell of this hair product is amazing. It doesn't have that weird smell that gags you. It smelled like I was using shampoo to color my hair. Now even after my hair is colored I can still smell that wonderful dye. Another thing that blew my mind about this hair color is one box did all of my hair. I always have to buy two boxes of hair color, not with this brand. I don't have long hair, I have really thick hair. And you wouldn't believe how easy it washed out after only 10 minutes of the dye on my hair. I didn't have to scrub my hair 3 times and still let it bleed for weeks after I dye it, ruining my towels. This dye washed out after the first wash and didn't ruin any of my towels. The last thing and most impirtant to me was how my hair looked afterwards. My hair is so shiny and silky smooth. I absolutely love the way it made my hair look. Most hair dyes damage my hair, not this one. My hair is so vibrant and beautiful. I know what hair dye I'll be using from now on [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One of the best I've used.
8/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Okay, I've been dying my hair for years and have tried many products. Of all the main products there is not much difference, they work, last about the same length, etc. I did not do an all over colour. I did the under side in black, but it was a large portion of very long hair. I like the consistency, not too thick or thin, so no major dripping to contain or clumps that wasted dye. The smell was not as strong as others I've used. My hair felt extremely soft after the rinsing, and remained that way. This is a semi-perminant, some I find colour continues to rinse out each wash, but after the first few this one did not. I've washed it about 15 times since and it looks as vibrant as it did when it was first done. Though most black ones do, I plan to try the red tones next(and those are the ones that fade the quickest) so hopefully that holds up just as well. I like the idea of it being more gentle on hair , I try not to dye too often, not wanting to mess up my hair, but so far I don't see any reason to think this will damage my hair overly much. Overall I'm excited to try other colours And have nothing but good things to say about this this brand. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
quick but washed out quickly
6/2/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this for free for the purpose of review. I did not really like this product. It lifted my cuticle in order to deposit color so my hair texture was changed. The included conditioner did not work well. It worked for a couple of hours but then my hair was back to being dry again. I didn't like the way this color smelled. It lingered for three days and three washings. I did really like how quick this color worked. 10 minutes of processing and 15 minutes of time total was very nice. It is great for short, quick changes. I didn't hold it against Clairol Natural Instincts that the color I chose to sample was too bright. I got a choice and should have chosen something with ash tones and not a golden blonde. The color lasted about a week total or seven washings. Perhaps it would last longer on someone with less naturally porous hair. It took about three weeks for the dryness to finally disappear from my hair, which was not my favorite part of this sample, but it did go away with time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful Color!
5/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am really impressed with this hair dye. The color is so beautiful. I was concerned about a few things... damage and the color being too dark. When I started to mix everything together I noticed the smell wasn't as strong as many dyes on the market, this is tolerable. The kit includes everything you need; instructions, mixes, conditioner and gloves. The instructions are very easy to follow. I do think the box should specify if you have longer hair an additional box of dye is need. They dye is easy to apply and can stain so having vaseline on hand helps. I didn't leave mine in as long as it states to because it did darken up more than the photo on the box. Regardless the color still turned out beautifully, its shiny and didn't damage my hair. Its now been 3 weeks with this color and I have noticed some split ends and the color has faded a bit and is duller. These are minor issues I can fix. All in all I am satisfied with this dye and would purchase it again but in a permanent color. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clairol Natural Instincts
9/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so glad that I tried the Clairol Natural Instincts Sahara Light Blonde; I actually used to use this over 10 years ago and loved it but moved away from coloring to highlighting. But do to financial reasons, I'm back to coloring my hair at home! I love the Clairol Natural Instincts line because it's not harsh and my hair always feels healthier after I use it! Also it doesn't have that horrible smell, it still smells a little since it is hair color. It smells pretty good I think! The color is great and never looks brassy and only lasts 28 washes which is great if your scared about trying a new color. All in all I'm super happy to be back to using Clairol Natural Instincts Sahara Light Blonde! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My black hair dye
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got the black hair dye. I dyed it a few days ago. So let me first mention that this stuff only has to be left on for 10 minutes! YES! 10 minutes. So it doesnt take long at all. It quickly became my new favorite hair dye. The color midnight black is a true beautiful deep black. It does not look dull at all its super shiny and beautiful. I followed all the steps and used the hair conditioner it came with and that stuff left my hair so soft so shiny and pretty much made my hair not look damaged at all. So i recommend this to everyone that dyes their own hair. Its quick and easy to use and leave your hair looking better then ever! So this stuff is a must! And one last thing i have very sensitive skin and allergies and this stuff didnt affect me in a negative way. It did not burn nor did it itch. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?