Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2007 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2007 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2007 reviews | 4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
956
4 stars
535
3 stars
197
2 stars
133
1 stars
186
1-20 of 2004 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2004 total reviews
1-20 of 2004 reviews
Item arrived timely and as described
1/16/2017

Customer review by TNJoker

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by TNJoker
by TNJoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered for my Mom - they can't ever seem to find it on store shelves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNJoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Clairol Natural Instincts Ammonia-Free
12/16/2016

Customer review by dogpuzzle

5.0 stars 12/16/2016 by dogpuzzle
by dogpuzzle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Clairol Natural Instincts Ammonia-Free , great product, great price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogpuzzle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great hair color =]!
1/28/2010

Customer review by kittehh

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by kittehh
by kittehh

i mean wow! i dyed my hair w/this i frist had light blonde hair, i dyed it with this and it got the color i wanted ! i got a light brown. and it looks great! :)! i totally give this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittehh
Sidney, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
color perffect
10/23/2016

Customer review by BillieJean

4.0 stars 10/23/2016 by BillieJean
by BillieJean
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

color perffect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillieJean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Natural Instincts
6/14/2015

Customer review by Leni

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Leni
by Leni

Easy to use and it's hard to find a dark blonde color. So glad I found this

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
shipping damages
4/24/2014

Customer review by dyednaturallady

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by dyednaturallady
by dyednaturallady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my item arrived damaged + huge mess. can say if the product if self is good,bad etc. too damaged to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dyednaturallady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast and with no smell hair coloring
1/20/2017

Customer review by Ursula87

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Ursula87
by Ursula87

You stand before the aisle with all the different hair coloring brands and colors and you only need to choose one, but which one?! In the meantime your groceries are getting warm because you are standing there for like 30 minutes and still haven't made a choice.... disappointed and with no choice made you go to the checkout.... sounds familiar?! Clairol made it so much easier for us. You just download the app and take a selfie. Then you give yourself a color and will see instantly if it's nice, horrible or awesome on you. With one problem solved (the color) it's time for the "special thing" are you going for roots, gray, no ammonia or highlights?.... why choose? If you go for Clairol natural instincts you have it all, it does not matter, you don't have to choose because it can do all those things! And do you want to know the real cherry? It's all done in 10 minutes! Soft, colored natural looking hair in 10 minutes. It's super easy with no harsh smell and not extremely aggressive for you hair, skin or your bathroom. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Ursula87
Santa Clara, CA
Good color, no bad smell!
1/20/2017

Customer review by smithme09

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by smithme09
by smithme09

Having tried Natural Instincts in the past, I was hesitant to try again, but because it seemed the best Clariol option for me, I tried again with a different color. First, the directions are super simple. I love that the product is easy to use and gives nice color without a million steps. Second, I greatly appreciated that the usual chemical-y ammonia scent was barely noticeable. My biggest reason for not dying my hair often is the smell, because I can't stand it. Natural Instincts has a gentle scent and makes dying your hair much more tolerable when it comes to scent. Last, the color looked great immediately application. My hair had a dark espresso tint that naturally complimented my normal, no-dye color. However, I felt the color was a little untrue to the box-promised results after just a few days of fading. My hair also felt dry for a few days afterward, so I had to go a little heavy on the leave-in conditioner for a while. All in all a good product. I would probably go with something different next time for myself. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

smithme09
Cortland, OH
Auburn for autumn
1/19/2017

Customer review by Nikstur

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Nikstur
by Nikstur

I recently tried clairols natural instincts haircolor in cinnaberry. I was super excited to try a new brand of color and to even out my hair tone before giving birth in a few weeks. I admit I was a little nervous on what shade it would pull knowing my hair naturally pulls red, I was afraid it wouldnt be a good match or would pull too much red. Especially since I used their new app to help me decide on a color, which in itself was totally fun, but still a little scary. Well, this color did not dissapoint!!. The color is spot on and I couldnt be happier. It left my hair soft and shiney, and compared to other colors, didnt have a strong odor when applying (which was good for my sensative nose). Application was fast, easy, and it took no time at all to process. Unlike other hair colors, it only took 10 minutes. The shade is really close to my natural color, which is exactly what I was aiming for. I will totally buy this again in the future. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Nikstur
Pittsburgh, PA
Natural Instincts is the BEST dye I have EVER used!
1/19/2017

Customer review by DreamAnotherSunset

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by DreamAnotherSunset
by DreamAnotherSunset

Natural Instincts has been my favorite hair dye since the very first time I used it! I love this dye because it is demi permanent, ammonia free, and less damaging than any other dyes I have tried. The box says it lasts up to 28 shampoos / 6 weeks. While I have never kept track of the exact number of shampoos, I do feel like this dye lasts longer than some permanent dyes I have tried. The other great thing about using a demi permanent hair dye is the color will gradually fade little by little and you're never left with a severe "root line" like you get with a permanent dye. I also want to point out that this color does NOT have an orange tint, it is very true to the color shown on the box. The application is very easy and the color comes out perfect every time. The conditoner that comes with this dye smells AMAZING and leaves your hair feeling super soft and smooth. I wish they sold that conditioner in full size bottles! I have never used a better hair dye and I always recommend Natural Instincts to anyone looking to dye their hair at home. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

DreamAnotherSunset
Canandaigua, NY
Pretty Cute
1/19/2017

Customer review by Reddhenna

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Reddhenna
by Reddhenna

I have brown hair naturally, but it is a little on the lighter side, and I like to try something darker in the winter. This was perfect with just enough red tint to give the color some depth. It is super easy to apply and doesn't stink up the bathroom like some products do. Timing it was nice and easy - I let mine sit for 30 minutes - and most of the color washed out the first time around. It does take a while for the water to run clear, but any excuse to be in a nice warm shower is a good one! The only thing that miffed me were the gloves. I have large hands, especially for a woman, and I have a hard time finding gloves that fit well throughout the entire dying process. These ripped almost right away, but I went and got some from my med kit at home and all was well. Overall, good product. Easy to use, easy to follow directions. And, most importantly, the color looks good and my hair feels soft and natural. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Reddhenna
Denver, CO
Great Color Coverage
1/19/2017

Customer review by nilere

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by nilere
by nilere

Before I used this color, I had dyed my hair (months before) a light purple shade. But of course my roots started growing back out and since I am naturally a medium brunette it really showed. I love the fact that I was able to go to the store, dye, wash and style my hair in under 1 hour. The product was thicker than most at home kits. My only problems with the product are: the outcome is that its not as purple/plum as expected (has way more red tones). However, I am quite please with the outcome as far as color goes but my hair felt brittle afterward. It still has that dry feeling, even after leaving the conditioning treatment in a little over the recommended time on the bottle. But that maybe because I have been at the beach for a week. Sun and salt water plus just recently dyed hair would definitely equal dry hair. I will definitely be buying Natural Instincts again since I do love the color. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

nilere
CANTON, GA
Easy to use, pleasant hair color!
1/20/2017

Customer review by Faexya

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Faexya
by Faexya

I will start off by saying i got this to touch up a previous bad dye job, so I don't know how well it would work for dying the whole head. That said, this dye is very nice! It's smooth and didn't cause me any discomfort while dying, a big plus for my sensitive scalp. The dye times are very reasonable, and it easily covered up the mishaps from my last dye job. The last time i dyed my hair i missed a few big chunks of green- so my hair was all striped and weird. Now, that's gone! This easily covered it up. The color is very accurate, just be sure not to leave it on too long over the dye time or you may have black hair! An added bonus, this contains Aloe, Vitamin E, and Coconut Oil- all superfood for your hair! This dye doesn't make my hair feel dry or damaged at all. If you're looking for a good dye to dye even thick hair while being non-irritating, this is the one! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Faexya
Carney, MI
Beautiful shade!
1/19/2017

Customer review by klvosburgh

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by klvosburgh
by klvosburgh

I used the shade Bright Auburn Brown and it made the natural highlights in my hair so much more vibrant, I had plain brown hair before this and wanted something a bit warmer, and this was the perfect shade for me and for my skin tone. The process was incredibly easy and the included conditioner was wonderful for my hair, it's been two days since I've done it and my hair is still soft! I love this color for winter because I'm a bit pale and I think it warms my complexion out quite a bit, it was great. I've used Clairol products for about ten years now since I started dyeing my hair at 15, and these are always wonderful shades and they have so many color options so there's something out there for everyone. In my experience, it will last quite a while without needing to do any touchups, so I'm very excited to see how this new color works out for me. Good job, Clairol! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

klvosburgh
Sheffield, MA
Beautiful Color!
1/19/2017

Customer review by muddygirl21

3.0 stars 1/19/2017 by muddygirl21
by muddygirl21

I tried the Burgundy Brown color. I absolutely love the color! I have a lot of hair so I need 2 boxes to be able to do all of my hair. I start at the bottom and work my way up, so the bottom is exposed to the dye for a lot longer. I feel like the bottom came out the color it was supposed to, whereas the top came out with a more orange-ish tint to it. Most hair dyes tell you to let is sit for 10 or so minutes. After I finished dying it, I let it sit for a bout 20 minutes instead, and still got a two toned hair dye compared to the bottom half. They say this is a 'non-permanent' hair color and that it only last 28 washes.. but it seems to be pretty permanent to me. My advice would be to leave it on for longer than it says to get a better color. And make sure you get all your hair! I thought I got all of mine and I have still have roots that didn't get dyed somehow. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

muddygirl21
Longwood, FL
Oh boy...I'm disappointed
8/27/2016

Customer review by Cuppycake75

3.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Cuppycake75
by Cuppycake75

First...the positives (because there are a lot of them) I love that this product only lasts 28 washes, because it gives me a chance to try something new.There is no commitment, which is a plus for someone like me who loves to change her look up on a regular basis. It also did wonders in covering my greys. It's been 3 weeks, and not a grey to be seen. I love after I colour my hair how soft and extra clean it feels, and this product is no different. Negatives...my hair got a little bit RED. (not to the point where I have to run and hide...but close.) I guess that's the "golden" in "light golden brown" My hair has red undertones in it (according to my hairdresser) but since I normally use a neutral colour, I guess I'd forgotten. I used up about 12 of the 28 washes trying to get the red out and turning it back to a light (not golden) brown, after which it was a gorgeous neutral light brown I would definitely use Clairol Natural Instincts again, but would choose a different shade. #GotItFree (This review was collected as part of a promotion.)

Cuppycake75
Copper CLiff, ON
quick but washed out quickly
6/2/2016

Customer review by Lalalalalaaa

2.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Lalalalalaaa
by Lalalalalaaa

I got this for free for the purpose of review. I did not really like this product. It lifted my cuticle in order to deposit color so my hair texture was changed. The included conditioner did not work well. It worked for a couple of hours but then my hair was back to being dry again. I didn't like the way this color smelled. It lingered for three days and three washings. I did really like how quick this color worked. 10 minutes of processing and 15 minutes of time total was very nice. It is great for short, quick changes. I didn't hold it against Clairol Natural Instincts that the color I chose to sample was too bright. I got a choice and should have chosen something with ash tones and not a golden blonde. The color lasted about a week total or seven washings. Perhaps it would last longer on someone with less naturally porous hair. It took about three weeks for the dryness to finally disappear from my hair, which was not my favorite part of this sample, but it did go away with time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lalalalalaaa
West Fargo, ND
Clairol natural instincts.
1/19/2017

Customer review by Babycakes9876

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Babycakes9876
by Babycakes9876

Alright, here's the good the bad and the ugly. I'll start with the ugly. I didn't realize how pigmented it was and totally went from a dark brown to a RED head (thinking it would be like a dark reddish brown) it's not a good look for me lol. The bad, I've noticed the stores around me don't stock their brand as well as others and also since I have long hair one box isn't enough. The good, it's very pigmented when you decide you like a certain color your gonna get it! Also this is the first time I've gotten 2 pairs of gloves which is awesome for the dying and the rinsing if your like me and just stick your head under the faucet to rinse it out. I haven't used it yet but I got a little packet of a color rinse for 2 weeks after I dyed my hair. I'm kind of excited to see what it does.. All in all, I'd use it again [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Babycakes9876
Eaton Rapids, MI
Beautiful Color!
5/20/2016

Customer review by Jennacakes83

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Jennacakes83
by Jennacakes83

I am really impressed with this hair dye. The color is so beautiful. I was concerned about a few things... damage and the color being too dark. When I started to mix everything together I noticed the smell wasn't as strong as many dyes on the market, this is tolerable. The kit includes everything you need; instructions, mixes, conditioner and gloves. The instructions are very easy to follow. I do think the box should specify if you have longer hair an additional box of dye is need. They dye is easy to apply and can stain so having vaseline on hand helps. I didn't leave mine in as long as it states to because it did darken up more than the photo on the box. Regardless the color still turned out beautifully, its shiny and didn't damage my hair. Its now been 3 weeks with this color and I have noticed some split ends and the color has faded a bit and is duller. These are minor issues I can fix. All in all I am satisfied with this dye and would purchase it again but in a permanent color. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jennacakes83
Canton, OH
Awesome Color!!!!
1/20/2017

Customer review by ChristyH4

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by ChristyH4
by ChristyH4

Clairol Natural Instincts hair color is Awesome!! I really liked the cream because it's thick enough to not drip all over the place but thin enough to spread it through your hair. They gibe you a huge amount of conditioner, enough for 3 treatments which if you have long, thick hair like I do you'll appreciate. My hair was so soft and silky after coloring. The only thing I didn't like was when you mixed up your dye, you barely get a half a bottle. So ladies if you have med to long hair or thick hair make sure to get at least 2 bottles to do your hair unlike I did. A big thanks to my sister for picking up the other bottle for me. But the fact that my eyes weren't burnt out or my breath taken from ammonia made this brand of color well worth it. That's a big plus in my book!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ChristyH4
Paintsville, KY
1-20 of 2004 total reviews
1-20 of 2004 reviews