Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 636 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 636 total reviews
1-20 of 636 reviews
great hair color =]!

Customer review by kittehh

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by kittehh
by kittehh

i mean wow! i dyed my hair w/this i frist had light blonde hair, i dyed it with this and it got the color i wanted ! i got a light brown. and it looks great! :)! i totally give this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sidney, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
shipping damages

Customer review by dyednaturallady

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by dyednaturallady
by dyednaturallady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my item arrived damaged + huge mess. can say if the product if self is good,bad etc. too damaged to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Natural Instincts

Customer review by Leni

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Leni
by Leni

Easy to use and it's hard to find a dark blonde color. So glad I found this

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Purchase

Customer review by Katie59

5.0 stars 10/1/2010 by Katie59
by Katie59

When I first started purchasing Natural Instincts I bought too blonde a color because it would make my hair red. Then I discovered Coastal Dune 9N and it is just perfect. I leave it in longer than required and within a week and a half to two weeks my hair is almost the same color as when I was younger. The only thing missing are my blonde highlights that I had naturally but that is okay. It sure beats having that gray hair any day.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So GLAD I switched.

Customer review by Maxx

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by Maxx
by Maxx

I love this product! Using to cover gray which is about 15%. Natural instincts for men is highly recomended by me. Leaves hair with different natural looking shading and lasts 7 to 8 weeks for me. I wish you could see my hair.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely worth it

Customer review by HappyHair

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by HappyHair
by HappyHair

I have naturally light blonde hair that I recently added lowlights and highlights to at the salon. I wanted to try a shade darker than my natural blonde and am very satisfied with the results. My hair turned out the same color as shown on the box and it is supersoft and shiny.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this color

Customer review by pinkrose

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by pinkrose
by pinkrose

This is the best color for me and I sometimes have trouble finding it but I look in as many stores until I find it. I have used Natural Instincts for years.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
loved it!

Customer review by Beverly

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Beverly
by Beverly

The first thing I noticed were the 2 pairs of gloves and the packed of Color Fresh,thank you for thinking of the customers needs while coloring their hair :)This product was easy to use,fast in working,doesn't have a bad smell,covers quickly,even the grey,washes out easy,leaves your hair soft and smelling great.I will definately purchase this product again.Thanks again for the 2 pairs of gloves and keep making great products like this one.P.S.(too bad you couldn't bottle up the conditioner in larger bottles to sell ,conditioner in hair colors works way better than most of the conditioners on the shelf!I wish my hair always felt this soft after every shampoo :) ) Have a great day folks.

Sydney,Nova Scotia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am highly pleased!

Customer review by lepa

5.0 stars 4/22/2015 by lepa
by lepa

I really liked the results! I have used about 4 different product for covering gray some will leave my hair brittle and those that moisturize well the color does not last 2 weeks But this one seem to combine both qualities. This is my new GO TO hair color

Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No regrets!

Customer review by Zbridget

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Zbridget
by Zbridget

I had an "accident" with a home highlighting kit last summer and contemplated getting a buzz cut to rid myself of all the too light peroxide ends that were so light they looked grey. I was afraid of doing this myself at home, fearing that two coloring wrongs won't make it right. What sold me was that it would wash out in 24 washings. The results were awesome! Normally, I am dark, ashy blonde- this color evened out my hair, and darkened up the bleached pieces. I did this last night- all day today, I kept looking at reflections of myself in passing, delighted with the results. This was perfect- not too dark, not too light.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New hair color user.

Customer review by ezaz

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by ezaz
by ezaz

I'm not actually seeing my color, but this is pretty darned close. I like the way it covers, and gradually lets the grey "hint" it's way through, though it seems to be building up, so I am not getting that like I used to when I first started. I wish there were ways to get the in between colors. # 4 is too light, #11 is too dark, #9 is about right, but not warm enough unless I make my hair turn orange before applying it. There aren't any in between colors. I hope you never need to talk to customer service chat. They are beyond useless in solving problems. They don't pay any attention to the details you give them. She told me to get color #6 to solve a problem that started when I had to try another brand due to unavailability of their product. Didn't I just say there is nothing available between 4 and 9? For the first several months, my hair felt exceptionally silky after applying it. One time, my mother monopolized the bathroom when it was time to get the stuff out, and I had to leave it in for 20 minutes; my hair has been quick to tangle ever since, but it still looks fine, and does OK with a little conditioner.

detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mistake Proof!

Customer review by ladyofthering

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by ladyofthering
by ladyofthering

*Sahara or Light blonde 02 is the absolute best at home toner available. * It works on Platinum to any light blonde shade or any virgin natural light blonde. * you get way more then you pay for as the product is fail proof when used as directed. I bleach my hair to light blonde and it has helped me many time blend my root touch up with my already bleached hair often muting any brassy tones and blending any difference in the new growth and the previousy bleached hair. The new box does not reflect how light your hair can remain. the new box looks darker then it woudl turn out on light or very light blonder hair!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Experience

Customer review by harden92

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by harden92
by harden92

I've had some real disasters with hair color in the past, but Natural Instincts was easy to use, and the end result was great. My hair is very shiny, and even has a bit more body. I'll definitely use it again.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural Instincts SunFlower

Customer review by Cyncie

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by Cyncie
by Cyncie

I always use this product and wouldn't consider using any other product. I love that it is so easy to apply and always looks so natural! It also leaves my hair soft and shiny.

Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love, Love, Love This Product

Customer review by Boxerlover

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by Boxerlover
by Boxerlover

Ok, so at 48 I only colored my dark brown hair once by myself and it turned out horrible! So, I have never even looked at these products on the shelf. I would just go to the salon & pay the $100 every 4-6 weeks. I have blond hair and found the older I got the quicker my roots would show, which I hate. I decided to buy this product after reading about it in an advertisement. Well, I LOVE it. I used #21 and it is sooo close to my natural color. It feels so soft and looks so shiny I can't believe I did it myself. I did leave it on longer than 10 minutes because I was blond and afraid it would turn redish, but it didn't. I already cancelled my salon appointment. I will continue to use this! Can I buy the conditioner separate? Love it!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple dye for complicated hair

Customer review by Boadicea

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by Boadicea
by Boadicea

I've dyed my hair just about every shade under the sun. Recently I've been going blonde, but my hair pulls red even though naturally it's dark ash blonde. I've been dying my hair for years with Nice & Easy, and even though it's a great product, the ammonia was starting to be too much for my hair. I was planning to try to get it back to my natural color, but the store I went to was out of Sandalwood. I made a slightly brash decision to get Tweed instead. I had never used Natural Instincts before, but I was interested to try it. I loved that it was applied to wet hair. I have really thick long hair so I usually have to get two packages of whatever I buy, but even though I used two, I probably could have gotten away with one, which is amazing! It was so easy to apply! Knowing that damaged porous hair usually soaks up more pigment I was expecting it to be darker than the picture. It was darker than I even thought it would be,about the shade of a brownie, but I love the richness and the shine so much I prefer it. It really makes my grey eyes pop!!! I would gladly use this shade again or this brand! It covered so evenly. Thank you, Clairol!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love that it's not permanent!!!!

Customer review by Scoobie

5.0 stars 1/27/2015 by Scoobie
by Scoobie

I hope to God they never discontinue this product. It covers grays and does not damage my hair. It is perfect. Before I turned gray, I always thought I'd be a prisoner to permanent, damaging hair color till I died. The idea that once you use a permanent dye, your hair is that color forever is scary! This washes out gradually, although it does stay in my hair longer than most users. But I don't mind! I can use any of the browns, and they all look great!

New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Color Fresh Revitalizer

Customer review by maryjo

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by maryjo
by maryjo

I love Natural Instincts overall and have used it for many years, but I wish you would go back to the larger tube of follow up conditioner and skip the Color Fresh Revitalizer. The Revitalizer turns my hair ORANGE! Am I the only one with this problem?

Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Chrizd

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Chrizd
by Chrizd

I just tried natural instincts in suede/brown #13. I was trying to cover stray grays and refresh my brown hair. This is a very pretty brown. My hair was on the lighter brown side when I applied it and it toned it down without being very dark. The grays are covered and the color looks refreshed! I washed my hair the day before applying and treated the ends with conditioner well. I left it on about 12 minutes. I think if I left it in an additional 5 it would have been a tad darker. I am so pleased that it looks so natural and feels incredibly soft! I also like there is no stinging on my scalp from this product! Thank you Clariol for NOT adding ammonia! Even with the peroxide, I could tell a huge difference without ammonia! The included conditioner is a bonus and really felt good after combing out my hair. It would be great if there was a brush added in with the box so you could "paint" the temples better since the bottle is a bit messy. I will definitely use this again with root touch up! *Please make an ammonia free root touch up!♥

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best

Customer review by NJK63

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by NJK63
by NJK63

Been using this for years and years from when I had just a few grays to now, that I'm all gray. Reading other reviews, I see that most people don't like - HATE actually - the color refresher, as do I. It's horrible! Not easy to use, hate the way my hair feels, and worst of all, turns my hair and scalp orange-y red - horrible!!!!! What I don't understand is - why doesn't Clairol read these reviews and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT? Either change the color, eliminate it altogether, or make it a stand-alone product for those handful of people who actually like it!

Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 636 total reviews
1-20 of 636 reviews