Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1349 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
698
4 stars
412
3 stars
129
2 stars
55
1 stars
55
1-20 of 1349 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1349 total reviews
1-20 of 1349 reviews
Fast and with no smell hair coloring
1/20/2017

Customer review by Ursula87

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Ursula87
by Ursula87

You stand before the aisle with all the different hair coloring brands and colors and you only need to choose one, but which one?! In the meantime your groceries are getting warm because you are standing there for like 30 minutes and still haven't made a choice.... disappointed and with no choice made you go to the checkout.... sounds familiar?! Clairol made it so much easier for us. You just download the app and take a selfie. Then you give yourself a color and will see instantly if it's nice, horrible or awesome on you. With one problem solved (the color) it's time for the "special thing" are you going for roots, gray, no ammonia or highlights?.... why choose? If you go for Clairol natural instincts you have it all, it does not matter, you don't have to choose because it can do all those things! And do you want to know the real cherry? It's all done in 10 minutes! Soft, colored natural looking hair in 10 minutes. It's super easy with no harsh smell and not extremely aggressive for you hair, skin or your bathroom. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Ursula87
Santa Clara, CA
Received free product:Yes
Auburn for autumn
1/19/2017

Customer review by Nikstur

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Nikstur
by Nikstur

I recently tried clairols natural instincts haircolor in cinnaberry. I was super excited to try a new brand of color and to even out my hair tone before giving birth in a few weeks. I admit I was a little nervous on what shade it would pull knowing my hair naturally pulls red, I was afraid it wouldnt be a good match or would pull too much red. Especially since I used their new app to help me decide on a color, which in itself was totally fun, but still a little scary. Well, this color did not dissapoint!!. The color is spot on and I couldnt be happier. It left my hair soft and shiney, and compared to other colors, didnt have a strong odor when applying (which was good for my sensative nose). Application was fast, easy, and it took no time at all to process. Unlike other hair colors, it only took 10 minutes. The shade is really close to my natural color, which is exactly what I was aiming for. I will totally buy this again in the future. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Nikstur
Pittsburgh, PA
Received free product:Yes
Feel good hair dye
9/27/2016

Customer review by Kakapo

4.0 stars 9/27/2016 by Kakapo
by Kakapo

I have always been hesitant to dye my hair in the past, as my hair is rather dark and in most cases I would have to bleach my hair. This of course would have most like dried out my hair, something I definitely did not want. I'm happy that I managed to get over my trepidation to try Clairol Natural Instincts Clove Medium Cool Brown, as it was a very nice surprise. Application was easy and simple, and was neither painful nor lengthy. It wasn't too thick, so the gel was easy to spread on. As for colour, the dye didn't change my hair too much, but that was fine as I prefer more subtle changes over drastic ones. A friend complimented my hair yesterday, actually, saying that she wasn't sure if I had dyed it or not since it looked so natural. I'm also super satisfied with the dye other than appearances. It didn't leave my hair dry, nor do I detect any breakage out of the ordinary. And so far, after a dozen washes or so, the colour seems to be holding out great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Kakapo
Vancouver, BC
Received free product:Yes
Amazing hair color
5/23/2016

Customer review by hippiegiggles

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by hippiegiggles
by hippiegiggles

I absolutely love this product. Now let new start off by stating that I am constantly changing my hair color for many different reasons some being I get bored with the color, I find a different color I like better, and the main reason because I don't like how my hair turned out. Clairol Natural Instincts will now be my go to product for hair dye. It takes very little time, so it is very easy to fit into a busy schedule. The actual dye itself smells amazing which I love. There is no hint at all of the chemicals so I didn't have to worry about the smell burning my nose. The color was really rich looking meaning that it left my hair shiny and vibrant. The product itself was really easy to apply. I easily applied the product by myself. The directions were very easy to understand. In my opinion there is nothing bad about this product. *Disclosure I received this product for free from Clairol in exchange for my honest opinion, everything stated above is my honest opinion.* [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

hippiegiggles
De Soto, MO
Received free product:Yes
hot, smooth and sassy!
8/26/2016

Customer review by Faithivy

4.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Faithivy
by Faithivy

I just tried the product last night! The product was easy to apply, it had a jelly texture! Nothing compared to other products in terms of smell: way softer, not a bother at all, which is important to me, since it usually gives me headaches. The wait time, was extremely short, which is perfect for a busy mom like me! The sensation when the product was applied, was hot, I could feel the product warming up. It was not uncomfortable, it was different! The result is stunning, however, I still see some grey in very rare spot, but it might be my application that wasn't perfect! I am super happy with the product! To me the best aspects are: -Leaves no dirty mark on the skin, no even at the root of the hair on the skull! -Instructiopns super easy to follow! -The gloves were of better quality than similar product I have used! -Short wait time! -Almost odorless! -Result is exactly what the bow steated! All in all, I would recommend it, and use it again! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Faithivy
Shawinigan-sud, QC
Received free product:Yes
it only takes ten minutes
8/30/2016

Customer review by Eunice1919

4.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Eunice1919
by Eunice1919

i received this product a little late than expected, so I have worn it just over a couple of weeks, it hasn't been 28 washes yet and gray hairs have already started to show, but that's how my hair is. After I opened the box I noticed a ring at the bottom, I thought it was a little weird but ignored it, I followed the instructions and was very pleased that the smell wasn't strong and it only took ten minutes. After ten minutes I proceeded to wash my hair and couldn't help but notice a brown ring on my white sink, somehow a little bit of the colour leaked, thumbs down for that, I just had my bathroom renovated two weeks before, I tried to clean it but I could still see the ring, my thought was it must be that strong with gray hair. The colour came out just as expected, even my hair dresser didn't noticed it and she does hair for a living!!! It looks really natural. Other than the ring on my sink incident, I love this product and will probably use it again, it did not damage my hair, on the other hand it make it smoother. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Eunice1919
Toronto, ON
Received free product:Yes
Best hairdye experience I've had
8/26/2016

Customer review by ladygrumps

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by ladygrumps
by ladygrumps

I had recently wanted a change for my hair and BzzAgent must have read my mind--they sent me Clairol's New Natural Instincts hair dye in Hazelnut medium brown. Despite promptly loosing the instructions, I was able to easily look up on their website for instructions and followed through very quickly. This product only takes ten minutes to work its magic. I applied it easily enough from the squeeze tube, and it was very little mess. I kicked around in my bathroom for the measly ten minutes it took and then hopped in the shower for my rinse and condition. There was no staining in the tub and the product rinsed out so much easier than other hair dyes. The conditioner included is magic. I don't know what they put it in, but my hair hasn't been softer and sleeker than this in a long time. Its a big tube, as well, and will last a few weeks for sure. I've had plenty of compliments on the colour, and I had no problem with it being streaky or patchy, even with my inexpert application. Definitely would recommend and use again! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ladygrumps
Calgary, AB
Received free product:Yes
Horrible!
4/27/2017

Customer review by Shopcrazy

1.0 stars 4/27/2017 by Shopcrazy
by Shopcrazy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My hair is naturally dark brown and I bought Med Brown because the box suggested to go with a lighter shade if unsure of which to get. It turned my hair nearly black and my grays are still there!! It is so ugly. Total waste of money.

Shopcrazy
NL, Canada
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dark Warm Brown
6/1/2016

Customer review by LadyLyentte

4.0 stars 6/1/2016 by LadyLyentte
by LadyLyentte

I'm your typical lady that dying their hair to enhance their natural hair color. So I don't my hair very often. Clairol has been a brand that my grandmother has used for many years. I have always heard her say that Clairol is the best on the market. So with that being said I said why not give it a try. I received my free box of Clairol Natural Instincts 4W from BzzAgent. Since I live in Florida I don't like to use many hard chemicals in my hair because of the sun. Since this brand is ammonia free I was very happy with that. And I went in feeling confident that it would not mess with my relaxed hair. This dye is very light and felt my hair moisturized and soft. My hair didn't feel over processed. The mixing directions are clear and easy to follow. Only have to allow the color to process for 10 minutes. Between washes I did notice that some of the color will wash out a little. But not too bad. Overall, I do think I will use this brand again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LadyLyentte
Jacksonville, FL
Received free product:Yes
Awesome and easy-to-use
8/27/2016

Customer review by MelinaMacD

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by MelinaMacD
by MelinaMacD

I tried this dye last week and was really glad I did! I had a fair amount of greys and regrowth when I used it so it was the perfect test. The product applied like any other sore bought dye, except this applied to damp hair and not dry hair like most other dyes. There is no ammonia which meant there was no strong, eye-burning odor which was a real plus. The wait was only 10 mins unlike other dyes that can take up to 30, which was a time saver and helped keep the annoyance meter down, nothing like sitting in one spot with a head full of dye trying not to drip all over the place. I also like the fact that the color lasts for about 28 washes, which for me is when I usually have new regrowth and grey hairs popping up again. Overall for me I found this to be a great product, lovely color that saturated all the hair and left it feeling soft thanks to the coconut oil based conditioner. Will be using this product gain for sure! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

MelinaMacD
Pictou, NS
Received free product:Yes
Love the look!
8/28/2016

Customer review by FrankieStein

5.0 stars 8/28/2016 by FrankieStein
by FrankieStein

I received the Clairol Natural Instincts Hazelnut Medium Brown which is much darker than my natural colour. I currently have light brown/dark blonde and thought it would be a nice change. The semi-permanent formula was perfect because it is supposed to last only 28 washes. The mixing and application was super easy, and the developing time was relatively short. The ammonia free dye was great, it didn't burn my eyes while waiting. Rinsed out easily and conditioned quite well. Once dried, my hair was very dark, as expected, and comparable to the shade indicator on the side of the box. After the first few washes the colour was pouring out, down the drain and my towels had dye transfer, which is normal I guess for a semi-permanent. Now after several weeks the colour is pretty much faded and no where near the colour it was initially. So, it really does wash out, for me well before 28 days. Overall, I do like Natural Instincts and will definitely purchase another shade. I'm happy I was able to try this for free in exchange for my honest opinion. Thank you Clairol! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

FrankieStein
Rockland, ON
Received free product:Yes
Nice in between regular coloring!
4/30/2016

Customer review by LarisaAmmons

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by LarisaAmmons
by LarisaAmmons

Thanks to bzzagent, clairol sent me their Natural Instincts color to try for free in exchange for my honest opinion. Here's what anyone who wants to try this color needs to know: 1. This is not a permanent color so it will not lighten your hair, only deepen or enhance your current color as well as cover grays. 2. It's super easy to use and doesn't have the harsh smell like most permanent colors. With that being said, I must say that I am impressed by this, but I believe there's still room for improvement. Although I do not have too much gray, I wasn't covered 100%. My gray hairs are now light brownish highlights. The conditioner that comes with the kit is very nice and I think most women would love it, it's just that it's a little too heavy for my thin, find hair. All in all, I do think this is a very nice product when you're in a pinch and need something quick since it develops in only 10 minutes. I'll probably use this again in between permanent colorings, and I'd recommend that everyone should at leasthe give this a shot. Thanks, Clairol! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LarisaAmmons
Newburgh, NY
Received free product:Yes
Fast and Easy Color
5/15/2016

Customer review by Sharonmoore05

5.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Sharonmoore05
by Sharonmoore05

As a mom to an active toddler, I don't have time to sit in a chair for three hours to have my hair colored. Lately I've just been keeping it natural. However, with summer around the corner, I've been dye-ing to change up my hair color. So how does a mom with hardly anytime in her hands change up her look? I was recently offered the chance to use Clairol Natural Instincts temporary color for free to review. The product was free but the opinions are my own. I loved that in just 10 short minutes I had a new hue. The whole process is really simple - dump bottle one into bottle two and shake. Apply the mixture to whole head and let sit for 10 minutes. Then wash and dry. That's it - it's that easy! I have colored my hair in the past with permanent coloring and what has always annoyed me is the growing out process. Within weeks you can see that annoying line showing your natural hair color. What makes Clairol Natural Instincts temporary hair color amazing is it washes out after 28 washes. Which means even coloring over time. No more annoying color lines! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Sharonmoore05
Glendale, CA
Received free product:Yes
Clairol Natural Insticts, My new hair dye for life!!!
5/11/2016

Customer review by Stephanie1982

5.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Stephanie1982
by Stephanie1982

I think that Clariol Natural Instincts (my color was Ash Blonde by the way ) was not only the most beautiful hair dye I ever tried before ! And usually the hair dye smells awfull but this dye smelled great and didn't fry my hair!! And best of all Clairol Natural Instincts gave it to me for FREE!! How awesome is that!!! I've been dying my hair for over 20 years and I have to say the Clariol Natural Instincts was the best hair dye bye far!!! My hair is so nice and smooth , and everybody I know is asking if I went to a salon ! Even people I don't know are complimenting me on my hair!! It's differently going to be my new hair dye!! Thanks to Clariol Natural Instincts ,I have a new brand if hair dye,that I'll stick with for sure! Being a #Buzz Agent is great , they introduce me to new and better things!! And lady's or men if I were you I would give Clariol Natural Instincts a try! I promise you won't be disappointed !!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Stephanie1982
Slidell, LA
Received free product:Yes
great hair color =]!
1/28/2010

Customer review by kittehh

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by kittehh
by kittehh

i mean wow! i dyed my hair w/this i frist had light blonde hair, i dyed it with this and it got the color i wanted ! i got a light brown. and it looks great! :)! i totally give this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittehh
Sidney, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Darker than Expected, but overall okay.
1/20/2017

Customer review by Chelsie

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Chelsie
by Chelsie

Overall, this color was fine. I am very familiar with box hair dyes and use them a lot. I always chose a shade 1-2 lighter than I want because I know the color usually is darker a few shades darker than expected. This was true with this box hair dye too. The "Medium Natural Blonde" looks like a Light Brown (hard to see how dark it really is in the picture, but I tried). It does look like a natural color though, and the coverage is good. So for that I think it worked well. I just wish it wasn't so much darker than the product image (especially because I started out with light blonde hair). Still looks nice though, just not what I was initially anticipating. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Chelsie
Rockford, MI
Received free product:Yes
Not a total win or loss.
1/20/2017

Customer review by Xxch3lsxx

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Xxch3lsxx
by Xxch3lsxx

Overall I would try it again. My hair was black before but super grown out so I had high hopes. The color chart even showed it could dye over black. Unfortunately I got chestnut brown roots and the rest stayed the same black. I have long long hair so I did like how I only had to use one box of color. Normally I buy two. I also really liked how fast it is- the ten minutes was so nice compared to normally having to wait 25 or 3o minutes. Overall I'm not super disappointed with the color but I did want to try to go lighter, at least my hair is more one tone than it was before ! Would try a different shade next time or wait til the black is more faded. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Xxch3lsxx
Holliston, MA
Received free product:Yes
Amazing Product
6/1/2016

Customer review by mariela311

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by mariela311
by mariela311

I had a horrible experience at the hair salon a few months back. Long story short, I walked out of there with light orange hair instead of light brown like I had asked for. I was afraid to dye my hair again because they had damaged my hair so much, but I was very unhappy with my new hair color. I was skeptical to try the Clairol semi permanent hair dye because I have a very sensitive scalp and I had never dyed my hair on my own. So I gave it a try. The instructions were clear and easy to follow, and the box had everything I needed, including the gloves which was awesome. I mixed the 2 solutions like the instructions said, left it on my hair for about 15 minutes, rinsed my hair with the conditioner and wow, I was honestly amazed. My hair went from dull to shiny and super soft, I didn't experience any irritation at all, and I was now comfortable with the way my hair looked. This is an amazing product if you are interested in trying something new but aren't ready to commit. It's fun and super easy. I love my new hair. Will definitely purchase when my hair color starts to fade. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

mariela311
Bedford, TX
Received free product:Yes
Clairol Natural Instincts Hair Color in - Midnight Black
8/26/2016

Customer review by TheraM

4.0 stars 8/26/2016 by TheraM
by TheraM

Received this in the mail last night and Boy did I need a color job! This dye claims to provide express color without the harsh additives like ammonia in the fraction of a time vs. regular color. It totally did the job in that department! the idea of having "no strings attached" hair color that will fade naturally and not give that skunk line was good incentive for me to give this a whirl. The consistency was not top notch. It felt like water and I couldn't gauge how much i was ACTUALLY using. I almost ran out! However, in what this dye lacks with the application, it makes up for with intense color in a flash and shiny, beautiful looking hair. I think this is great for people that don't want to commit to a color, or want to try a lighter alternative to harsh ammonia products. There is more upkeep with this but I think that it doesn't damage your hair, it is worth it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TheraM
Calgary, AB
Received free product:Yes
Natural Instincts
1/20/2017

Customer review by Robin3z

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Robin3z
by Robin3z

Picked the prettiest color I saw. The other brown's all looked the same but this Auburn was gorgeous and stood out right away. The instructions were intimidating since i'd never used a home hair color before. Luckily I wasn't doing it on my own head but my sister's lol. The dyeing process was easy once I got started. (Have plenty of plastic spoons on hand). All in all it turned out great. Unfortunately she's camera shy and wouldn't let me photograph the finished product. Now that I know how to do it I look forward to doing my own in the very near future. Maybe I'll be a redhead for Christmas ;-) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Robin3z
Yazoo City, MS
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 1349 total reviews
1-20 of 1349 reviews