Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

639 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
246
4 stars
111
3 stars
64
2 stars
81
1 stars
137
1-20 of 636 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 636 total reviews
1-20 of 636 reviews
Not like the original...Bring back the original!
11/1/2011

Customer review by Dashgirl

2.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Dashgirl
by Dashgirl

Used the other semi-permanent one for more then 15 years and loved it, then found out they were discontinuing them, so bought as many as I could find of them. Ran out so now had to try this new product. One thing I do not like is that after you shake the bottle to mix the color the directions tell you to apply immediately, which I did. However, when you start to apply the color, it is almost a translucent color so you cannot tell where you have applied it as opposed to the old formula which came out dark right away. As I kept applying color it eventually started to turn dark in the bottle and on my hair. The first time I tried this color it covered my gray very well, today I used it again (after five weeks) and this time it did not cover them as well as the first time. Do not want to use permanent hair color, but what other choices are there? Please bring the old formula back, it was the best! Oh, I also did not use the color refresh and after reading the reviews I'm glad I didn't!

Dashgirl
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
PLEASE BRING BACK ORIGINAL NATURAL INSTINCTS
11/9/2011

Customer review by Bigdee

1.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Bigdee
by Bigdee

I have been a faithful customer for 12-15 years using Natural Instincts....LOVED IT !! ALWAYS turned out great; my hair looked good, felt good!! And I would have gladly recommended it to anyone. But now that you have changed it, I DON'T LIKE IT AT ALL !! And I couldn't believe the first review I read was EXACTLY my experience. It's terrible!! It does not cover my grey well but gets the rest of my hair way too dark and the "color refresher" packet is HORRIBLE !! It turned my hair RED and stained everything it touched!! I just went this evening searching stores for a box of the original hair color; only found 2 boxes and bought both of them. I will have to start shopping for a new hair color if you don't bring back the original product. I have bought ALOT of your hair color over the past many years and would like to continue to be a faithful customer so PLEASE! PLEASE! bring it back!!!!!!!!!!! I don't want to have to look for a new hair color but I will if you can't bring back the original product.

Bigdee
columbus ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Predictable Result
7/23/2010

Customer review by SDDaisie

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by SDDaisie
by SDDaisie

I am a natural brunette and had gone blonde for a while, and wanted to go back to my natural medium ash brown. After two colorings on the same day at my salon I looked like Elvira with a burgundy tint. The color was so saturated it looked like I had done it myself AND used the wrong color. The next colorist I went to said I need to wait four weeks before doing anything, and that it would take five hours at the salon (and lots of $$) to fix my hair color. After these 4-5 weeks my hair looked brassy reddish brunette. I decided to look into doing it myself and chose Natural Instincts Light Ash Brown. I did leave it on for 12.5 minutes. It did not lather up really well when I washed it off. Even though it blended well with my roots I can still see one or two greys - probably will leave it on longer next time. In the daylight the brassiness is gone but there are some very subtle red reflections in artificial light, but lots of shine. I will definitely continue to use the product.

SDDaisie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refresher packet
12/2/2011

Customer review by WannaTangle

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by WannaTangle
by WannaTangle

I used this product two weeks ago. I was very happy with the initial results. I had made my hair a shade darker and loved it. It was fading but not drastically but today I decided to use the refresher packet. It made my hair very red looking. It also dyed my scalp. If I use this product again, I will go toward the medium brown that Clove Medium Brown, which I am hoping will take the red out, but I am afraid to use the refresher packet again. I really do not like the color my hair is right now. This is the first time I have used hair color that I have been unhappy with. From reading the boards, it sounds like people were happier with the old formula. I sure don't mind waiting 30 minutes for hair color I will be happy with. I thought it was surprising that this took only 10 minutes. This is the first time I used this product because I had read a review somewhere that said it was the longest lasting hair color. The review was a few years old and I had no idea the formula had been changed until coming here.

WannaTangle
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful!
12/30/2011

Customer review by wdfasdfasdfasdf

1.0 stars 12/30/2011 by wdfasdfasdfasdf
by wdfasdfasdfasdf

I count myself among the "silent majority" and generally, will not offer criticism. However, I feel you crossed the line when you messed with my hair. I have used the Natural Instincts rinse for many years. The new and improved product is anything but improved. I was able to use the old product ONCE every 5 or 6 weeks. I liked that convenience. I found the grey hairs showing through within two weeks. Now, after 2 weeks, we are given the conditioning rinse to add highlights. This morning, after using it, the "highlights" gave my grey hairs and scalp an orange cast. In addition, some of the conditioner dropped into my sink. I had a hard time scrubbing it clean with a cleanser. I'm not certain, but I'm afraid if I hadn't cleaned it immediately, I may have had a permanent stain in my sink. I can no longer recommend this product to anyone. Whether my review is posted or not, I hope someone in the Clairol organization will take notice and bring back the "old" product. Until then, you have lost a loyal customer.

wdfasdfasdfasdf
Eagle, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product, DO NOT use the "color refresher"!
1/26/2014

Customer review by taylorgirl92

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by taylorgirl92
by taylorgirl92

I have been using Natural Instincts on and off for years because I prefer semi-permanent color. This brand always seems to be very gentle on my hair and leaves it feeling much softer than before I colored it. The only things I don't like about it are: 1) the quantity of dye is too small (1 box is not enough to cover my shoulder length hair, which seems ridiculous to me). 2) the "2 week color refresh" packet comes out dark red and does in fact turn your hair reddish/orange. WHY?? Why would you include a packet meant to refresh the color that DOESN'T EVEN MATCH THE COLOR? Especially when the color I chose is "Medium COOL Brown" (COOL, as in, opposite on the color wheel of red, as in I BOUGHT THIS COLOR BECAUSE I DON'T WANT RED IN MY HAIR!) So I used the stupid color refresh and now my hair has a reddish tint that won't wash off, it has been months now. CLAIROL, PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM!! I can see by other reviews that I'm not the only one who is disgusted with this.

taylorgirl92
ruston,la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SUPERB COLOR
1/24/2014

Customer review by Chrizd

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Chrizd
by Chrizd

I just tried natural instincts in suede/brown #13. I was trying to cover stray grays and refresh my brown hair. This is a very pretty brown. My hair was on the lighter brown side when I applied it and it toned it down without being very dark. The grays are covered and the color looks refreshed! I washed my hair the day before applying and treated the ends with conditioner well. I left it on about 12 minutes. I think if I left it in an additional 5 it would have been a tad darker. I am so pleased that it looks so natural and feels incredibly soft! I also like there is no stinging on my scalp from this product! Thank you Clariol for NOT adding ammonia! Even with the peroxide, I could tell a huge difference without ammonia! The included conditioner is a bonus and really felt good after combing out my hair. It would be great if there was a brush added in with the box so you could "paint" the temples better since the bottle is a bit messy. I will definitely use this again with root touch up! *Please make an ammonia free root touch up!♥

Chrizd
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring back the old bottle
6/6/2012

Customer review by tnbaby

1.0 stars 6/6/2012 by tnbaby
by tnbaby

Normally I would say I love your product. I have used #13 and #14 for years, however since you've changed the product, I dislike it tremendously. I bought the new product by accident thinking I was buying the old package. I was away for quite a few weeks and needed to color my hair. When I first applied the color it was OK, but after two weeks when it was time to add the second application to my hair, the color was not evenly applied all over my hair - too much in some places giving it an uneven tone. I also found the color came out on the towels for quite a few washings of my hair after coloring. Never had that happen before. Besides - who wants to REDO their coloring two weeks after coloring -waiting another ten minutes for it to take. I was away and once was enough to color my hair. Give us back the old bottle. Since then, I went to Florida and was able to purchase a few of the older products. I'm safe for a few months but I'll be looking for something better than this new bottle for I'm very unhappy with it. Listen to us please!

tnbaby
Troy, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
what happened? please change it back
1/27/2012

Customer review by Stphne3

2.0 stars 1/27/2012 by Stphne3
by Stphne3

I have been using Natural Instincts for 15+ yrs and love the way it makes my hair feel natural and blends away the gray without harsh lines. Since the change to the new packaging and added the useless 2 week "refresher" I am looking for another product to use. The 2 week refresher is useless - it is orange/red paste, very hard to administer and dyes everything red. most people that use this product is to gently covering their gray. having said that, the color has altered to a weaker shade of brown with more red. Hazelnut is supposed to be a "neutral" shade#incidently - now the boxes don't show if the color catagory is neutral or not - they just say "cool" or "Warm"#. Overall I am very dissappointed in the change. I have tried the new boxes for the past 3 months because I can't find the old ones in the store anymore and my hair #roots# are turning redder - I have got to change to a new brand. Please turn the brand back to what it was - you have gotten your consumer base wrong as you can see by the complaints posted all over the internet.

Stphne3
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
GRAY COVERAGE/REFRESHER NOT GOOD!!
2/14/2012

Customer review by lindy737

2.0 stars 2/14/2012 by lindy737
by lindy737

I've been using Natural Instincts (Tweed)for several years mainly because it is NOT a permanent color. I like the fact that it eventually washes out rather than growing out. BUT it does wash out of the gray MUCH faster than the rest of my hair...so I was excited when they came out with the 2 week Refresher. I have used it twice (hoping the second time would be different) and it is TERRIBLE!! It comes out bright auburn and is more permanent that the original. I washed it 3 times the same day, each time after application, just trying to get it out and it was still orange, just lighter. It is not even close to Tweed! I will not use the Refresher again. I will continue to use the original product for the reason mentoned above though. I also have a suggestion: The rinse should actually be color saving shampoo because how does it save the color when you've just washed your hair with regular shampoo, hence washing color out? Thank you

lindy737
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
First timer
12/16/2010

Customer review by Georgiamomma

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by Georgiamomma
by Georgiamomma

This was my very first time coloring my hair at home and I will have to say I was very nervous. I want to start off saying that I like my end result. I was just praying not to have orange hair! It didn't cover all my gray hair but I do not blame this on the product but the user. I had a hard time getting it throughout my whole head and I only left it on for about 10 minutes. Next time (I will absolutely use this product again) I will maybe have my sister do it for me and I will leave it in for the 20 minutes to get rid of the gray. I am very happy with the turn out. If next time the color isn't as dark and I want I may consider trying a different color. I also wanted to add just how soft and shiny my hair is after coloring! It also smells so good. I was expecting the experience to be smelly but it was very nice. I also got some of the dye on my bathroom counter and it came right up which was very nice! Highly recommend!!!

Georgiamomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Henna hair with new grays
5/3/2010

Customer review by cheche

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by cheche
by cheche

My sister talked me into doing henna on my hair. I have used Herbal Essence to color my gray hair for about 5 years. My hair feels great, however it seems as though my gray hair grew in places I never had it before. I didn't want to go through the process of henna just for a touch up so I decided to pull out my box of Herbal Essence semi-permanent hair color. There is a warning stating that you shouldn't use the product if there is henna in your hair. I did a LOT of research on line and came to the determination that I would have to take the plunge to get rid of the grays. I only left the color on for about 5 minutes and washed it out. It turned out perfect..my hair didn't turn green or purple and the grays are gone! I'm not sure if this will work for everyone since the henna I used was all natural! I do want to say that I trust the Herbal Essence semi-permanent color and will continue to use it to cover my grays!

cheche
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use this if you like to surprise yourself with red hair
5/10/2013

Customer review by Cranberri99

1.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Cranberri99
by Cranberri99

The base product worked fine, conditioner fine. But the color refresher turned my hair from light brown to light auburn. I typically select hair color with NO red tint -- I prefer ash -- so you can imagine my extreme disappointment. Customer service sounds like a call center and the advisor suggested that because I waited 3 weeks instead of the recommended 15 days that that was the reason the color turned out red. Plus she kept trying to ask for what shade of red I ended up with -- like I who never wanted red hair should know! Given all these reviews (which I should have read) that indicated that the refresher added red tint, why isn't Clairol pulling this product off the shelves? I think it would be a GREAT idea if their light brown haired execs tried this out for themselves so they could have the same lovely surprise color experience. Toss the color refresh package unless you want to have the auburn experience.

Cranberri99
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
No more brass
1/27/2011

Customer review by rsbrownie

4.0 stars 1/27/2011 by rsbrownie
by rsbrownie

I started getting my hair colored at a salon two years ago. It was colored a light caramel brown. I liked it, but sometimes it looked orangey/brassy. My hair is normally dark brown and I like it to look a little lighter. My sporadic grays always started showing 3 weeks into my salon color so I decided to try it on my own and save myself about $50 a month. I first tried Natural Instincts Toasted Almond 20 but it made my hair slightly brassy/red. To be honest, I probably used too light a shade and it made my caramel coloring show through as brassiness. It also faded in 3 weeks. I tried Brass Free 6C Light Brown and it does the job. It is a little darker than I like right now, but I just colored it and expect it to fade nicely. The most important thing to me is that I have NO BRASSINESS. So until I am brave enough to take the next step to Nice and Easy in a lighter brown shade, I will continue to buy this product.

rsbrownie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What Happened?
4/5/2012

Customer review by Lena1270

1.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Lena1270
by Lena1270

I have used this for many years and am confused by the changes that Clairol has made. The recent box I bought did not color my hair well, and any color seemed to wash out quickly. It didn't work the same or feel the same as it used to. There also seemed to be less product? I was not able to cover all of my hair, and that really worried me. And what's with the strange touch-up packet in a different color? That was an unpleasant experience, it felt bad in my hair and it looked bad. I would also like to point out that I used to color every 8 weeks and that was fine for me. I refuse to have to do it every couple weeks. I don't know what woman would consider that an improvement. After trying the new box, I frantically ran all over town and was able to find 8 of the old boxes in shades I like, so I'm stocked up for a little while. I DREAD when it runs out. Clairol please bring my old reliable haircolor back!!!!!!!!

Lena1270
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Color and Easy to Use!
12/5/2010

Customer review by Bicoaster

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by Bicoaster
by Bicoaster

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this product and this color! This was my first time coloring my hair at home, and I wasn't confident about my ability, but this product is as easy as advertised. I mixed bottles 1 and 2, applied the mixture to my hair for 17-18 minutes (I have some resistant grays), then rinsed and applied the conditioner, and WOW. My hair looks like it was professionally done! I'm so impressed! I have black, shoulder length hair, and at age 36, I unfortunately have quite a bit of grays I desperately wanted to cover up but didn't want to spend money at a salon this time. I used 3/4 a bottle, and it covered my grays - in fact, made my grays a nice warm brown that contrasts beautifully with my natural black. Overall, a very nice natural look. Plus, like the other reviews indicate, this product smells great and makes my hair feel very soft and healthy. At this price point, and given how easy it is to apply, I am SOLD on Clairol's Natural Instincts and will be coloring my hair at home from now on! I will try #27A Double Expresso for some bronze shine! Highly recommend!

Bicoaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Color Fresh turned it red!!!
9/26/2011

Customer review by DragonflyDamsel

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by DragonflyDamsel
by DragonflyDamsel

Let me start by saying I LOVED the color originally, even though it was a tad darker than I expected. I had gotten highlights at the beginning of the summer and too many of them and have been fighting my hair's desire to go copper/red. Clove covered the red hue wonderfully and my hair looked and felt very healthy. It was fading nice and evenly and I was thrilled...UNTIL I used the color fresh after 3 weeks (that's how nicely the original was wearing). The Reviver turned my hair red - basically like what the Cinnaberry color looks like on the color swatch!! It looked NOTHING like the original Clove color AND it feels drier than before I used the reviver! Oh, and it DID NOT cover my grays and roots!! I wish I had read the other reviews before I used the reviver because it seems that others have had the same problem. Did the wrong color packet get put in the Clove box?!! The good news is, I was so thrilled with Clove that i will continue to use it, but I will just throw out the color reviver. In the meantime, I'm just glad this is a demi and hoping it washes out QUICKLY!!

DragonflyDamsel
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, don't try substitutes
12/30/2011

Customer review by Prnces21

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Prnces21
by Prnces21

I love this hair colour, it makes my hair the same colour as the natural auburn highlights in my hair, and it washes out slowly and naturally. Looks great, hair feels softer than before, and the conditioner smells really nice. The main draw back to this product is how hard it is to find in stores. This is the reason I'm writing this review - If anyone likes this colour hair DO NOT try the Loreal 6RR light auburn. It is also temporary and the box and name would lead you to believe the colour is exactly the same. IT IS NOT. My hair is dark purple at the moment. I want to cry every time I see my hair. And somehow for a temp dye it made my hair feel incredibly damaged and brittle right after dying. I've washed it 12 times in the last two days... It's still dark purple. I honestly don't know what to do. So just don't be fooled. If you can't find Natural Instincts in stores, Just Wait. Do not try Loreal.

Prnces21
Vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Striking hair color
9/8/2010

Customer review by devilgal

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by devilgal
by devilgal

I have tried many brands and colors, and also go to the salon maybe 2-4 times per year. After trying several different coloring brands, Natural Instincts is my favorite. My hair grows quickly, so my roots start to show after about 2-3 weeks. When I have used a permanent color, the roots look drastic, so I prefer the demi-permanent color of this brand, because it starts to fade back to my natural hair color after about 3-4 weeks, so I don't have to worry about roots. It also makes my hair shinier and softer, and isn't damaging like a lot of the permanent hair colors have been. I decided to try Midnight black a couple of years ago when I wanted something a little more dramatic than the typical highlighted brown I had been doing. The hair color is very striking and shiny, but did not look fake (although I have olive skin). If you have light skin, this might be too dark, unless you are looking for a really dramatic look. The day I used it, I got winked at, at a stoplight, and a couple other unexpected flirtations. Coincidence? More importantly, my husband thought it looked hot.

devilgal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am very pleased
2/19/2012

Customer review by AmyM

4.0 stars 2/19/2012 by AmyM
by AmyM

I am very pleased with the Suede Light Brown 13. I had my hair died a permanent color, a light brown color with too much brassy color, my natural hair color, which is medium brown, almost a dark medium brown, was showing about 3 inches of roots. I am very happy that the natural instincts #13 blended my hair and now it looks a natural light brown color and the brassy red color is toned down to almost completely gone. The only thing that I disliked is that one bottle isn't quite enough. I have shoulder length hair but it is very fine, and I would hate to have to buy two bottles when one is almost enough but not quite. I think if I had used two bottles it would look even better, it would look more even. So next time I will use two bottles. Also, the gloves are too thin and I did realize one had a hole in it and I have a large dark brown spot on my hand but that's my own fault for not paying attention. I will not use the color revitalizer or whatever that packet is because I have read some horror stories about it. Overall, I am very happy at how much better my hair looks and feels.

AmyM
Gulfport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 636 total reviews
1-20 of 636 reviews