Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 844 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

844 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

844 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
458
4 stars
130
3 stars
60
2 stars
49
1 stars
147
1-20 of 827 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 827 total reviews
1-20 of 827 reviews
Love this product, pleasantly surprised!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Katherine1991

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Katherine1991
by Katherine1991

I normally dye my own hair using products from professional beauty shops. I was in a pinch though, and had to go with a regular box dye. I used color 114, Natural Light Ash Brown, and it turned out great. My hair came out the same color as the top of the box, and its SO shiny and soft. I've washed it several times with non-colorsafe shampoo, and it's held the color and shine very well. It's easy to use, and you get a good amount of product as well. I have waist long, thick hair and have recently had to buy 3 bottles to make sure all the hair is saturated, but two bottles was more than enough for me. Highly recommend this product, it's a great price, and even better quality!

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katherine1991
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Beautiful Color and Great Value
6/11/2014

Customer review by 114diane

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by 114diane
by 114diane

I have been using Nice 'n Easy hair color for more than 15 years. I am 70+ and my natural hair is completely white. (I used to be a brunette.) I use one of two colors (103B (8CB) Medium Champagne Blonde) or (106B (7CB) Dark Champagne Blonde. Both colors are beautiful! They make me look 15 years younger! They have beautiful highlights and give your hair shine and softness. I just follow the instructions and in 25 to 40 minutes, I am a new person. Also, the conditioner #3 that comes with the hair color is outstanding. My son was stealing mine so I contacted Clairol to see if I could purchase the conditioner #3 separately. Customer Service told me they have a sister company that makes a similar product, Aussie, Moist 3 minute miracle conditioner. It seems to be the identical product as conditioner #3 in the Nice 'n Easy hair color kit. Everyone, try this conditioner and see for yourself! It comes in an 8 oz. purple container. I can't say enough about Nice 'n Easy except, Try it you will love it!"

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
114diane
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best Natural looking blonde I have ever used!
10/22/2015

Customer review by WannaBeBlonde

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by WannaBeBlonde
by WannaBeBlonde

I used Nice N Easy Ultra Light Natural blonde 10/87, last night and it turned out beautifully! It was so easy to apply, with the help of my dear husband who got my roots even. I have natural dishwater blonde hair and previously had used the medium natural golden blonde. It looked ok before, but I wanted to go a little lighter, and wow I was impressed. I cannot afford to go to a salon, and I was hesitant that this box color would not lift enough, but it did. It took out all the brassy golden tones and evenly lightened my hair to a soft, clear movie star quality, light blonde. Marilyn Monroe would love this color! It wasn't harsh on my hair like Loreal products, and did give me highlights, and even color all over. I would highly recommend this color if you are already blonde, and want to go to a lighter less golden blonde, to a cooler shade. I love Nice N Easy now, and wouldn't use anything else. My husband said I looked beautiful!! Couldn't ask for anything else in a haircolor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannaBeBlonde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great color!
2/28/2013

Customer review by Sandyedw

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by Sandyedw
by Sandyedw

I was using a lighter haircolor, but the problem is over time it turned my hair orangey! Looked awful and just drained my complexion too. So I tried #106 and love it! It covered the orange completely and now my skin tone went from yellow/sallow before to pinkish and healthy now with this great color. Love the low lights and high lights too. I will stick with this color forever. Was easy to use and there was no smell either, and the conditioner provided is awesome. I've had my hair professionally colored several times in the past and nothing that they did came out better than this - what a bargain!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandyedw
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Why discontinue Hydrience?
3/28/2012

Customer review by Cleo

1.0 stars 3/28/2012 by Cleo
by Cleo

The color was OK. The way it made my hair feel is AWFUL! I used Hydrience for years. It was great, my hair looked and felt wonderful. It covered gray, didn't fade, looked natural, soft and shiny. Nice and Easy ruined my hair. I am trying to get the damaged part grown out and cut off. How can you discontinue a great product and promote a terrible one? Last weekend I saw pictures of myself with the Hydrience and the difference is amazing. I quit using Nice and Easy a few months ago but seeing those pictures and still having terrible hair prompted me to write a review today. I can't use enough hair products to make my hair look good like it did before Nice and Easy. I'm just sorry I used it several times. I still have a few more months to grow out the damaged hair. The ONLY good thing was that it covered gray. Is Clairol going to have another line to replace Hydrience (besides Nice and Easy)? A very low or no ammonia formula hair color that covered gray would be great. Or bring back Hydrience.

Cleo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this color
4/14/2014

Customer review by HisWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by HisWalmartShopper
by HisWalmartShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After years of searching I found a color that actually ellicited compliments from friends and acquaintances. And it's from a box, not a salon! After many salon tries and other colors from boxes, this color works perfect. It's easy to use as long as I can find the hour or so to mix it, put it on, wait for it to set and rinse it out. So easy. Not only is the color great on me, the creme color protector that comes with it is fabulous. I don't even buy creme rinse anymore (especially since it's never done much for my frizzies) as my hair is smooth and silky with the Nice-n-Easy color protector product. I highly recommend Nice-N-Easy!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisWalmartShopper
Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dissappointed
1/26/2011

Customer review by Olivia

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Olivia
by Olivia

This is the second time I used Nice 'n Easy. The last time my roots were the color I wanted after I colored but the rest of my hair became way too dark. I was using the next lightest color than my natural color. I thought maybe I had colored more than the root area initially and that's why it was darker. Today I colored again and was sure to just color my root area only and left it on for the 20 minutes like I did the last time and then worked the rest of the color into the ends and left on for 5 minutes. Sad to say my roots were exactly the color I wish the rest of my hair was (dark brown) but again the rest of my hair is almost black. After I dried it I noticed how much of a difference there is between the root area and the rest of my hair. I don't know if the color will oxidize over the next day or so and even out - I hope so. I do love the shine however and the silkiness. I just wish the color was consistent right after coloring. I will contact Customer Service tomorrow and see what can be done.

Olivia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great conditioner...but I've still got grey bits!
11/17/2013

Customer review by sms9758

3.0 stars 11/17/2013 by sms9758
by sms9758

Having just lightened my (greying, many times dyed brunette) hair, and achieved a slightly odd gingery shade, I decided to try a dark blonde dye. Now I had no particular expectations about the color, which would be a gamble, but I DID expect to cover the grey patches well, especially with a dearer brand like Nice n Easy. Well I achieved a perfectly nice light brown. And I must emphasize what brilliant conditioner is included - my hair has endured 2 applications of lightener in last 2 days (and was feeling a tad strawlike), AND been dyed. But it feels incredibly soft and sleek, so well done there. No the only issue is the grey coverage, notably those bits round the ears that go first. After dyeing I noticed they remained grey, and thought maybe I hadn't fully covered those areas, so got the remainder of the dye and smarmed it on affected areas only and gave them ANOTHER 45 mins. Washed it off and they remain grey. Not an issue I've ever encountered with any other brand...

sms9758
aylesbury, bucks, uk
Would recommend to a friend? No
I use this regularly, I also cheat...
9/26/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832
Top 10 contributor

I use this regularly to dye my hair. Typically I go for the Dark Blonde and sometimes I go for the lightest brown color but I stay in that range. I find it gives me as good a color as any other home hair color. I've also had professional hair color and I couldn't tell a difference there either, so for the money I think this is a winner. But how to I "cheat" you may wonder? Well, I don't use the whole product in one sitting. But you are wondering how I do this because CLEARLY you can't save the mixed color because it goes bad. Quite right, it does. What I do is I save bottles from previous colorings and rinse them out. Then I save half the liquid from the blue bottle of color (un-mixed) and half the liquid from the white bottle of whatever that is (un-mixed) for another use, then go ahead and mix the other halves together in a separate bottle. Sometimes I'll add just a smidgen of water so that it will go just a little further depending on how long my hair is. This does not seem to dilute the color potency at all that I can tell. I have been doing this for YEARS. I would notice too because my natural hair is not the color on the box! Then next time I'm ready to color, I still have half the quantities of the dye and the white stuff... I mix those together and I'm good to go. I save those bottles for the next time... and the process starts again with a fresh box. Half the cost for hair color, I've "cheated" the system.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
That's My Color
2/11/2013

Customer review by MarciInOr

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by MarciInOr
by MarciInOr

I have been using Clairol for years because I had read that Clairol provides the best coverage on gray. I have tried a few others and feel Clairol is the best plus I like this color. We only have a WalMart Neighborhood Market near our home; the color selection for hair color is limited. Rather then driving to a full-size WalMart it is easier to purchase items like this on line. I do it once a month on several items so the shipping is free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarciInOr
Portland,OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Covered the Grays!
12/14/2012

Customer review by PlumberGuy

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by PlumberGuy
by PlumberGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hair color met all my expectations, it covered my grays and the color turned out as pictured on the box.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlumberGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I never did it myself
5/29/2010

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Karen
by Karen

I have had the hardest hair to color for years. It turned red or too dark, or nothing happened. I have alway gotten it done at the salon (blonde highlights) and I finally let it grow out back to my natural color of dark brown abotu 2 year ago. I had about half dark brown with 30% or so gray. I have never colored my hair myself in my ilfe!! I finally got up the nerve to use Perfect 10 about 5 months ago so I still had a little color on the bottom half of my hair. I finally got up the guts to try this. It came out the most beautiful light brown color- exactly like the box, but with natural looking lighter hairs throughout- which must be the gray- however it is not gray, it is just a lighter brown, so it looks really pretty, especially around my face. I can't believe I waited this long after hearing (and seeing) some of the results my friends have had. Maybe they tried a color that was far too light for them! I am THRILLED with this product. My hair matches the box and the conditioner left it silky and shiny.

Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible
6/7/2010

Customer review by Kayyyyyyyyyy

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Kayyyyyyyyyy
by Kayyyyyyyyyy

I bought this color to darken my hair a bit so it would match my root color. My hair was originally a light blonde. I called their customer service and asked them what that "ash" meant and she told me it was a lighter tint to the color. I asked her if it meant gray and she insisted it did not. As i was waiting to rinse my hair out i realized a purple liquid dripping on my white shirt. I come to find it was the hair dye. When i rinsed my hair out and dried it, it way gray with blotches of purple. I spent almost 300 dollars just to get my hair fixed. But hey at least they sent me my lousy 9 dollars back. I would not reccomend anyone with blonde hair to use this color. I no longer use store brands, I would much rather spend the 50 dollars knowing that my hair will come out how I want it to then go through fixing it. Their customer service is also a joke. They had no answers for me. I would advise them to hire someone who actaully knows what they are talking about.

Kayyyyyyyyyy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most natural hair color ever
1/15/2011

Customer review by Andi

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Andi
by Andi

I have dyed my hair since I was 14. I am a natural brunette with red highlights. I went blonde for a few years (let the salon take care of that for me) then decided to go back brown. The salon did it the first 2 times and then I wanted to save money so I did it at home. The first two times I dyed it I used medium brown and then medium ash brown. They really brought out the red and actually maroon in my hair. It was too dark. I was about to go back to the salon but let the dye wash out as much as it could (about 4-5 weeks) then I decided to try Nice n Easy Color blend technology. I LOVED IT!!!! It was perfect! It didn't bring out the red in my hair and it looks & feels SOOOOO soft and healthy. Very impressed! The only thing I didn't love was my roots. For some reason they turned out lighter then my hair. It isn't that noticable but at least my hair didn't look black and unnatural like before, or red! I used Light Ash Brown 114 & will definitely be using it again:)

Andi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprisingly good result
10/15/2011

Customer review by Sparkiesmom

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Sparkiesmom
by Sparkiesmom

I had been using Loreal Excellence Dark Caramel Blonde, but the red tones were making my root regrowth look very obvious. I tried Nice N Easy 106, hoping to get a slightly lighter result overall, with less red. I got what I wanted. I was surprised, one pack was enough for my below shoulder length hair. I left it on the roots for 20 minutes, and another 20 minutes on the rest. The join between the roots and the old colour is completely covered, can't see any sign that I used a different colour before. The overall result is a little darker than I expected, but it looks natural. The conditioner is great, I wish I could buy it separately, since the tube will be enough for about 3 applications for my hair. The formula applies easily, dripping is not a problem and it rinses out easily. I don't see any need to try the foam formulation. And also, I was pleased with the quality of the gloves, much better than the gloves that came with the previous product I was using.

Sparkiesmom
Johannesburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing to cover my bleaching disaster!
7/23/2010

Customer review by Kitsune

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by Kitsune
by Kitsune

I started out several months ago with a natural hair color just slightly lighter than this shade. I dyed it a very dark espresso brown (which I loved), but then decided to try to go back to blonde for the summer. This process started with a bleaching kit, and ended with a rainbow of colors from white to Sunkist orange, not to mention a few tears. I bleached again, and then put another platinum shade over that, with very little result. In reading similar stories online, I learned that an Ash shade was the way to go to counteract orange-y tones, and Nice 'n Easy came highly recommended. Long story short, I tried everything short of a Britney-esque head-shaving freakout to retrieve some semblance of normal human color, and this shade was the only thing that could do it. Even with multiple shades on my head, and having bleached the life out of my hair, it still ended up a uniform color, with tonal highlights, and didn't fry the last bit of life out of my poor strands. Me and my re-blonded tresses are in your debt.

Kitsune
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice & Easy Foam- The WORST
3/30/2011

Customer review by upset

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by upset
by upset

Nice & Easy Foam Formula was one of the worst I have ever used! I prefer the old formula instead- I wasn't in for any surprise then. First the way to get the foam, you had to squeeze the bottle in order to get it out of the bottle and in the foam form. I thought it would be like the liquid soap dispenser that you push the top and the foamy soap comes out of the nozzle. No, you have to squeeze the middle of the bottle. Do you know how difficult that is with someone in the early stages of arthitis-- and I'm only 42 years old. Then it was VERY messy. The foam would drip. It had the consistency of the foam on a root beer with the liquid mixed in. I thought it would be thick like shaving cream. It dripped all over my body and on the sink. When the foam dried, it left dye spot stains! It also left a smell that lingered for days, unlike the original formula. I will never use this again and if I cannot find the original formula, will be switching brands completely.

upset
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/14/2013

Customer review by mamameow65

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by mamameow65
by mamameow65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product for about 15 years. It is easy to use and covers gray really well. My hair grows so fast that I need to color my roots every 3 weeks, but the color lasts for those 3 weeks. I love it. It keeps me young.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamameow65
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Most Natural Healthy Black Hair
1/30/2012

Customer review by blondestar

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by blondestar
by blondestar

As a natural dark blonde with neutral coloring I decided to dye my very light blonde hair black. I stayed black for 3 years and my hair grew shoulder length and shiny using Clairol Natural Black every 6 weeks. It gave me wonderful natural highlights after a few weeks, but still remained very beautifully rich and dark, this ever slight fading it made it look natural. Everyone thought it was my own color. Although I am now back to blonde (thanks to Clairol as well) I loved my hair this way and never strayed from using Clairol Natural Black. I highly recommend this shade to those who are naturally black or those just wanting to go darker it works like a charm. FYI: For those blonde who are brave enough to go dark first you need to put the red back into your blonde hair. To get from blonde to black, I first I used Natural Instincts in a red Spice light Aburn color over my blonde hair, and then the next day I used the Clairol Natural Black. It looked amazing.

blondestar
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
104 NatMedGoldBlonde
12/25/2010

Customer review by TKTK

2.0 stars 12/25/2010 by TKTK
by TKTK

it has been 10 years since I colored my hair at home out of fear of choosing the wrong color. And I did. I made the mistake of using the "before and after" hair color key on the back of the box, instead of studying the model's hair color on the front the box - which is, truthfully, very close to what I got. So if you want light honey-blonde hair - use this product. However, I was aiming for a slightly lighter brown color with warm copper tones, similar to the before/after picture on the back of the box. My natural "medium brown" hair is now bright carrot orange-red-blonde, and white! (White patches around the temples. Too much highlighting?) The color strand test, for me, was not enough to determine the final look, due to my lack of hair color experience. So I followed the 25 minute instructions rather than deviate. If I ever do this again I will get professional advice first. Now, how soon can I change the color back to brown without damaging my hair?

TKTK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 827 total reviews
1-20 of 827 reviews