Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 432 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

432 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

432 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
272
4 stars
110
3 stars
34
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 421 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 421 total reviews
1-20 of 421 reviews
Love this product, pleasantly surprised!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Katherine1991

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Katherine1991
by Katherine1991

I normally dye my own hair using products from professional beauty shops. I was in a pinch though, and had to go with a regular box dye. I used color 114, Natural Light Ash Brown, and it turned out great. My hair came out the same color as the top of the box, and its SO shiny and soft. I've washed it several times with non-colorsafe shampoo, and it's held the color and shine very well. It's easy to use, and you get a good amount of product as well. I have waist long, thick hair and have recently had to buy 3 bottles to make sure all the hair is saturated, but two bottles was more than enough for me. Highly recommend this product, it's a great price, and even better quality!

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katherine1991
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Beautiful Color and Great Value
6/11/2014

Customer review by 114diane

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by 114diane
by 114diane

I have been using Nice 'n Easy hair color for more than 15 years. I am 70+ and my natural hair is completely white. (I used to be a brunette.) I use one of two colors (103B (8CB) Medium Champagne Blonde) or (106B (7CB) Dark Champagne Blonde. Both colors are beautiful! They make me look 15 years younger! They have beautiful highlights and give your hair shine and softness. I just follow the instructions and in 25 to 40 minutes, I am a new person. Also, the conditioner #3 that comes with the hair color is outstanding. My son was stealing mine so I contacted Clairol to see if I could purchase the conditioner #3 separately. Customer Service told me they have a sister company that makes a similar product, Aussie, Moist 3 minute miracle conditioner. It seems to be the identical product as conditioner #3 in the Nice 'n Easy hair color kit. Everyone, try this conditioner and see for yourself! It comes in an 8 oz. purple container. I can't say enough about Nice 'n Easy except, Try it you will love it!"

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
114diane
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Nice'n Easy
1/19/2017

Customer review by Jpstaton

4.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Jpstaton
by Jpstaton

#Clairol MyShade App. I like the whole processes of being able to see the color before you buy it, you try it in the new Clairol MyShade App. I would have to say having my own picture of me and the shade of my skin to see how the color would look was awesome. I had went through all of the colors and only really liked two colors. The colors where just ok that I had to pick from, not something I would normally buy. So on that note I didn't want to go drastic, I had picked neutral light ash brown pretty close to my normal color but enough to see the difference. I just wished I could show the before and after pic. This is the after picture it did match the color shown on the app, well pretty close overal I would give it a 4. The reasoning why is you get to save the color on your app. and just scan the barcode at the store and the color will be applied to the picture of you and it will tell you if it's the match to your saved colors that you liked. The app. Was pretty easy to use. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jpstaton
Westport, MA
Received free product:Yes
Mom's favorite box color for covering grays
1/20/2017

Customer review by jennthejenn

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by jennthejenn
by jennthejenn

My mom dyes her hair regularly. I asked her if she likes Clariol and she said that she had been using them for years. She told me that Nice'n Easy was her favorite box of hair color to use at home. It was easy to use, didn't drip so she didn't stain her skin, clothes, or sink, and it did a great job covering grays. My mom was ready to do her hair in preparation for some holiday parties so we decided to go shopping for a new box of color. We were looking at the different colors and she picked out one that was lighter than her natural black hair. I was skeptical thinking it was going to be too light since her gray hair would not take the color the same way, but she told me not to worry about it. After she colored her hair, I saw that the color blended nicely into her naturally darker hair. The grays even looked like highlights since they were slightly lighter than the rest of her hair. Her hair didn't look like a flat color and had a lot of dimension. What can I say other than mother knows best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jennthejenn
Charlotte, NC
Received free product:Yes
Great color!
2/28/2013

Customer review by Sandyedw

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by Sandyedw
by Sandyedw

I was using a lighter haircolor, but the problem is over time it turned my hair orangey! Looked awful and just drained my complexion too. So I tried #106 and love it! It covered the orange completely and now my skin tone went from yellow/sallow before to pinkish and healthy now with this great color. Love the low lights and high lights too. I will stick with this color forever. Was easy to use and there was no smell either, and the conditioner provided is awesome. I've had my hair professionally colored several times in the past and nothing that they did came out better than this - what a bargain!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandyedw
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Love this color
4/14/2014

Customer review by HisWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by HisWalmartShopper
by HisWalmartShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After years of searching I found a color that actually ellicited compliments from friends and acquaintances. And it's from a box, not a salon! After many salon tries and other colors from boxes, this color works perfect. It's easy to use as long as I can find the hour or so to mix it, put it on, wait for it to set and rinse it out. So easy. Not only is the color great on me, the creme color protector that comes with it is fabulous. I don't even buy creme rinse anymore (especially since it's never done much for my frizzies) as my hair is smooth and silky with the Nice-n-Easy color protector product. I highly recommend Nice-N-Easy!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisWalmartShopper
Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Natural looking blonde I have ever used!
10/22/2015

Customer review by WannaBeBlonde

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by WannaBeBlonde
by WannaBeBlonde

I used Nice N Easy Ultra Light Natural blonde 10/87, last night and it turned out beautifully! It was so easy to apply, with the help of my dear husband who got my roots even. I have natural dishwater blonde hair and previously had used the medium natural golden blonde. It looked ok before, but I wanted to go a little lighter, and wow I was impressed. I cannot afford to go to a salon, and I was hesitant that this box color would not lift enough, but it did. It took out all the brassy golden tones and evenly lightened my hair to a soft, clear movie star quality, light blonde. Marilyn Monroe would love this color! It wasn't harsh on my hair like Loreal products, and did give me highlights, and even color all over. I would highly recommend this color if you are already blonde, and want to go to a lighter less golden blonde, to a cooler shade. I love Nice N Easy now, and wouldn't use anything else. My husband said I looked beautiful!! Couldn't ask for anything else in a haircolor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannaBeBlonde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
That's My Color
2/11/2013

Customer review by MarciInOr

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by MarciInOr
by MarciInOr

I have been using Clairol for years because I had read that Clairol provides the best coverage on gray. I have tried a few others and feel Clairol is the best plus I like this color. We only have a WalMart Neighborhood Market near our home; the color selection for hair color is limited. Rather then driving to a full-size WalMart it is easier to purchase items like this on line. I do it once a month on several items so the shipping is free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarciInOr
Portland,OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Covered the Grays!
12/14/2012

Customer review by PlumberGuy

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by PlumberGuy
by PlumberGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hair color met all my expectations, it covered my grays and the color turned out as pictured on the box.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlumberGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I use this regularly, I also cheat...
9/26/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832
Top 10 contributor

I use this regularly to dye my hair. Typically I go for the Dark Blonde and sometimes I go for the lightest brown color but I stay in that range. I find it gives me as good a color as any other home hair color. I've also had professional hair color and I couldn't tell a difference there either, so for the money I think this is a winner. But how to I "cheat" you may wonder? Well, I don't use the whole product in one sitting. But you are wondering how I do this because CLEARLY you can't save the mixed color because it goes bad. Quite right, it does. What I do is I save bottles from previous colorings and rinse them out. Then I save half the liquid from the blue bottle of color (un-mixed) and half the liquid from the white bottle of whatever that is (un-mixed) for another use, then go ahead and mix the other halves together in a separate bottle. Sometimes I'll add just a smidgen of water so that it will go just a little further depending on how long my hair is. This does not seem to dilute the color potency at all that I can tell. I have been doing this for YEARS. I would notice too because my natural hair is not the color on the box! Then next time I'm ready to color, I still have half the quantities of the dye and the white stuff... I mix those together and I'm good to go. I save those bottles for the next time... and the process starts again with a fresh box. Half the cost for hair color, I've "cheated" the system.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Top 10 contributor
Pretty good!
1/19/2017

Customer review by BlairTik

4.0 stars 1/19/2017 by BlairTik
by BlairTik

I liked using the Clairol App to find my shade! It also was pretty darn accurate. I liked how little time it took for the dye to process. I am taking a point off because the dye did seem to dry my hair out. I have tried many dyes that are not as stringent. The smell of the dye made my eyes water, and my ends feel kinda crunchy. I also wish they had more vibrant colors and strayed out of the natural color arena a bit more, i would love to use the app to test out some funky colors, but all in all a super positive experience! I'd buy it again! Just a tip if you do get nice and easy ( or any at home dye) pick up a plastic shower cap, it helped me control the odor and made my it so I could continue my house work. Also, if you have very long or very thick hair (mine is the latter) you may want to pick up an extra box... I missed a few sections of hair because I ran out of dye. That's all, the end. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

BlairTik
Livermore, CA
Received free product:Yes
Nice Result - Awful Process
1/19/2017

Customer review by Evellia

3.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Evellia
by Evellia

So, first, let me just say that I do love the end result. My hair color is lovely and doesn't feel too damaged after the process. However, I used their app to find the 'perfect' color. I found the color and went to the store to purchase said color. And then I went to another store... and then another. At the 7th store I gave up and went with the next best color. They should have colors mentioned like 'light golden blonde' when no stores sell that color! Additionally, when I sat down to use it I could NOT get the cap off! I had to go to the garage to get pliers to get that sucker off. There needs to be a more grippy surface on the bottle. And lastly, the waiting process was quite uncomfortable. It was super burning/itching around my hairline. While that is obviously very personal to me, I would warn others that if they have success with other brands, it doesn't mean they won't react to this one. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Evellia
Dickinson, TX
Received free product:Yes
Covered Nicely & Easy to Use
1/20/2017

Customer review by kittyraces

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by kittyraces
by kittyraces

It's been a while since I've done anything to my hair (especially a boxed hair color), but this was just as easy as I remember it. I like that they've added in the (nicer!) gloves separately instead of attached to the instruction pamphlet like they used to do. It was even enough to do all of my shoulder blade length hair with some left over! Though, it's entirely possible I missed some spots due to a toddler wake-up towards the end. The smell was, unfortunately, very overpowering, even with my bathroom door open. I knocked off one star for that and another for the completely lack of color options! I was lead to believe there were a lot more options via the app but the top two that I wanted weren't there at all. Not even like they were sold out and there was an empty spot on the shelf, just not there at all, so that bummed me out quite a bit. Still, it was easy, quick, and looks pretty good! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kittyraces
Lancaster, PA
Received free product:Yes
Very pleased with my Hair Color
1/20/2017

Customer review by Bethryan29

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Bethryan29
by Bethryan29

Overall, I was happy and content with Clairol Natural Instinct 8A Medium Cool Blonde hair dye. It has been 1 year since I have ed my hair. One of the reasons why I have was due to the scent. This is something that I noticed with this product, there are no harsh chemical smell. Also, it only took 10 minutes. This was a huge plus for me, I am not one to sit still for 30-40 minutes to let the color set. (Now granted, I had my hair professional highlighted back in March and it took them over an hour to put the streaks in.) Another plus was my hair did not feel coarse, dried out or damaged after wards, still soft as usual. The instructions were very simple to follow and all the needed supplies were provided for. There was enough product to do my hair, but if someone was to have longer or thicker hair they may need a second box to have full coverage of the dye. I am pleased with the product and would buy again when I want to change things up a bit (also, the Clairol app was very beneficial to find a different shade on without actually buying the dye and regretting afterwards). [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bethryan29
Grand Island, NY
Received free product:Yes
3/14/2013

Customer review by mamameow65

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by mamameow65
by mamameow65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product for about 15 years. It is easy to use and covers gray really well. My hair grows so fast that I need to color my roots every 3 weeks, but the color lasts for those 3 weeks. I love it. It keeps me young.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamameow65
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Coverage!
1/20/2017

Customer review by mpdarland

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by mpdarland
by mpdarland

Out of all the hair color products I've tried, this one has been my favorite! It is so true to it's name because it was very "Nice'n Easy"! The tip on the applicator was even a tear off one, so you do not have to struggle cutting off the tip with scissors! The instructions are absolutely fool proof and the gloves are thicker than the ones you usually get in a box dye. The coverage so great and the color was true to the box! It was also thick enough that it didn't drip everywhere and wipes off cleanly from your skin! The only thing I didn't like was the smell, but it honestly isn't that bad and goes away when you wash the color out! I also loved the amount of conditioner that comes with it! It's so you can use it weekly to help the color last longer! I am completely satisfied with this hair color and would definitely recommend it to anyone! And, it's a great deal for the price! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

mpdarland
Bellmead, TX
Received free product:Yes
Great product!!!!!!
2/1/2013

Customer review by 12Brownie

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by 12Brownie
by 12Brownie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been "graying" since I was 25, and have been using Nice'n Easy for over 30+ years. It used to be a "shampoo in product (which was good for the times} but now the "color blend" formula is awsome. It leaves you with highlights and such a "natural look".

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12Brownie
Alexandria, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/18/2013

Customer review by JerseyDawn

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by JerseyDawn
by JerseyDawn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ive been using this product for a couple of years now... My grays are covered and look like highlights... My natural haircolor is med. brown and I get the blonde I want from nice n easy... love love love the product

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerseyDawn
Hershey, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was black...
1/20/2017

Customer review by cantbewrong

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by cantbewrong
by cantbewrong

I think Clairol is on the right track for the blue black color, but not quite there. I loved how easy the product was to use and seriously, you can't beat their color seal conditioner. I'd buy the hair kit just for that conditioner! Unfortunately, the blue black that the app showed me and I fell in love with, I just didn't get that from the corresponding Clairol Nice & Easy kit. I ended up going to beauty supply store and having to re-dye my hair to get the color I fell in love with from using the app. Would the color have been different if I'd have bleached my hair first? Maybe. I will definitely use Clairol for touch ups because it's so easy to use and my hair feels amazing after. But for the color I've achieved now, I don't think I can achieve the all over look with what Clairol currently has available. At least not in my area of the world. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cantbewrong
Cape Girardeau, MO
Received free product:Yes
Nice & Easy is Nice & Easy
1/20/2017

Customer review by Kelbel82

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Kelbel82
by Kelbel82

I loved using Nice and Easy on my hair! Not only did it give my color some life again again, but it also made it incredibly smooth. It took me less than 5 minutes to apply (and I have long thick hair) and i got to wash it out after 25 minutes! The entire process was complete in about 45 minutes and my results look fantastic! (Left picture is before and right picture is after). Being a busy working mom, this is a quick and easy treatment for my hair. There is also barely any mess because the dye that goes on your hair is a little on the thicker side so it doesn't run everywhere. The smell was a little strong while putting it on my hair so I would make sure you use it in a well ventilated room. The smell does quickly fade after though, so I think it's strongest right after you mix it. Overall I am extremely happy with this hair color!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Kelbel82
Charlotte, NC
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 421 total reviews
1-20 of 421 reviews