Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1209 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1209 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1209 reviews | 4 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
659
4 stars
236
3 stars
95
2 stars
59
1 stars
160
1-20 of 1192 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1192 total reviews
1-20 of 1192 reviews
Nice'n Easy
1/19/2017

Customer review by Jpstaton

4.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Jpstaton
by Jpstaton

#Clairol MyShade App. I like the whole processes of being able to see the color before you buy it, you try it in the new Clairol MyShade App. I would have to say having my own picture of me and the shade of my skin to see how the color would look was awesome. I had went through all of the colors and only really liked two colors. The colors where just ok that I had to pick from, not something I would normally buy. So on that note I didn't want to go drastic, I had picked neutral light ash brown pretty close to my normal color but enough to see the difference. I just wished I could show the before and after pic. This is the after picture it did match the color shown on the app, well pretty close overal I would give it a 4. The reasoning why is you get to save the color on your app. and just scan the barcode at the store and the color will be applied to the picture of you and it will tell you if it's the match to your saved colors that you liked. The app. Was pretty easy to use. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jpstaton
Westport, MA
Mom's favorite box color for covering grays
1/20/2017

Customer review by jennthejenn

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by jennthejenn
by jennthejenn

My mom dyes her hair regularly. I asked her if she likes Clariol and she said that she had been using them for years. She told me that Nice'n Easy was her favorite box of hair color to use at home. It was easy to use, didn't drip so she didn't stain her skin, clothes, or sink, and it did a great job covering grays. My mom was ready to do her hair in preparation for some holiday parties so we decided to go shopping for a new box of color. We were looking at the different colors and she picked out one that was lighter than her natural black hair. I was skeptical thinking it was going to be too light since her gray hair would not take the color the same way, but she told me not to worry about it. After she colored her hair, I saw that the color blended nicely into her naturally darker hair. The grays even looked like highlights since they were slightly lighter than the rest of her hair. Her hair didn't look like a flat color and had a lot of dimension. What can I say other than mother knows best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jennthejenn
Charlotte, NC
Pretty good!
1/19/2017

Customer review by BlairTik

4.0 stars 1/19/2017 by BlairTik
by BlairTik

I liked using the Clairol App to find my shade! It also was pretty darn accurate. I liked how little time it took for the dye to process. I am taking a point off because the dye did seem to dry my hair out. I have tried many dyes that are not as stringent. The smell of the dye made my eyes water, and my ends feel kinda crunchy. I also wish they had more vibrant colors and strayed out of the natural color arena a bit more, i would love to use the app to test out some funky colors, but all in all a super positive experience! I'd buy it again! Just a tip if you do get nice and easy ( or any at home dye) pick up a plastic shower cap, it helped me control the odor and made my it so I could continue my house work. Also, if you have very long or very thick hair (mine is the latter) you may want to pick up an extra box... I missed a few sections of hair because I ran out of dye. That's all, the end. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

BlairTik
Livermore, CA
Nice Result - Awful Process
1/19/2017

Customer review by Evellia

3.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Evellia
by Evellia

So, first, let me just say that I do love the end result. My hair color is lovely and doesn't feel too damaged after the process. However, I used their app to find the 'perfect' color. I found the color and went to the store to purchase said color. And then I went to another store... and then another. At the 7th store I gave up and went with the next best color. They should have colors mentioned like 'light golden blonde' when no stores sell that color! Additionally, when I sat down to use it I could NOT get the cap off! I had to go to the garage to get pliers to get that sucker off. There needs to be a more grippy surface on the bottle. And lastly, the waiting process was quite uncomfortable. It was super burning/itching around my hairline. While that is obviously very personal to me, I would warn others that if they have success with other brands, it doesn't mean they won't react to this one. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Evellia
Dickinson, TX
Covered Nicely & Easy to Use
1/20/2017

Customer review by kittyraces

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by kittyraces
by kittyraces

It's been a while since I've done anything to my hair (especially a boxed hair color), but this was just as easy as I remember it. I like that they've added in the (nicer!) gloves separately instead of attached to the instruction pamphlet like they used to do. It was even enough to do all of my shoulder blade length hair with some left over! Though, it's entirely possible I missed some spots due to a toddler wake-up towards the end. The smell was, unfortunately, very overpowering, even with my bathroom door open. I knocked off one star for that and another for the completely lack of color options! I was lead to believe there were a lot more options via the app but the top two that I wanted weren't there at all. Not even like they were sold out and there was an empty spot on the shelf, just not there at all, so that bummed me out quite a bit. Still, it was easy, quick, and looks pretty good! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kittyraces
Lancaster, PA
Very pleased with my Hair Color
1/20/2017

Customer review by Bethryan29

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Bethryan29
by Bethryan29

Overall, I was happy and content with Clairol Natural Instinct 8A Medium Cool Blonde hair dye. It has been 1 year since I have ed my hair. One of the reasons why I have was due to the scent. This is something that I noticed with this product, there are no harsh chemical smell. Also, it only took 10 minutes. This was a huge plus for me, I am not one to sit still for 30-40 minutes to let the color set. (Now granted, I had my hair professional highlighted back in March and it took them over an hour to put the streaks in.) Another plus was my hair did not feel coarse, dried out or damaged after wards, still soft as usual. The instructions were very simple to follow and all the needed supplies were provided for. There was enough product to do my hair, but if someone was to have longer or thicker hair they may need a second box to have full coverage of the dye. I am pleased with the product and would buy again when I want to change things up a bit (also, the Clairol app was very beneficial to find a different shade on without actually buying the dye and regretting afterwards). [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bethryan29
Grand Island, NY
Great Coverage!
1/20/2017

Customer review by mpdarland

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by mpdarland
by mpdarland

Out of all the hair color products I've tried, this one has been my favorite! It is so true to it's name because it was very "Nice'n Easy"! The tip on the applicator was even a tear off one, so you do not have to struggle cutting off the tip with scissors! The instructions are absolutely fool proof and the gloves are thicker than the ones you usually get in a box dye. The coverage so great and the color was true to the box! It was also thick enough that it didn't drip everywhere and wipes off cleanly from your skin! The only thing I didn't like was the smell, but it honestly isn't that bad and goes away when you wash the color out! I also loved the amount of conditioner that comes with it! It's so you can use it weekly to help the color last longer! I am completely satisfied with this hair color and would definitely recommend it to anyone! And, it's a great deal for the price! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

mpdarland
Bellmead, TX
It was black...
1/20/2017

Customer review by cantbewrong

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by cantbewrong
by cantbewrong

I think Clairol is on the right track for the blue black color, but not quite there. I loved how easy the product was to use and seriously, you can't beat their color seal conditioner. I'd buy the hair kit just for that conditioner! Unfortunately, the blue black that the app showed me and I fell in love with, I just didn't get that from the corresponding Clairol Nice & Easy kit. I ended up going to beauty supply store and having to re-dye my hair to get the color I fell in love with from using the app. Would the color have been different if I'd have bleached my hair first? Maybe. I will definitely use Clairol for touch ups because it's so easy to use and my hair feels amazing after. But for the color I've achieved now, I don't think I can achieve the all over look with what Clairol currently has available. At least not in my area of the world. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cantbewrong
Cape Girardeau, MO
Nice & Easy is Nice & Easy
1/20/2017

Customer review by Kelbel82

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Kelbel82
by Kelbel82

I loved using Nice and Easy on my hair! Not only did it give my color some life again again, but it also made it incredibly smooth. It took me less than 5 minutes to apply (and I have long thick hair) and i got to wash it out after 25 minutes! The entire process was complete in about 45 minutes and my results look fantastic! (Left picture is before and right picture is after). Being a busy working mom, this is a quick and easy treatment for my hair. There is also barely any mess because the dye that goes on your hair is a little on the thicker side so it doesn't run everywhere. The smell was a little strong while putting it on my hair so I would make sure you use it in a well ventilated room. The smell does quickly fade after though, so I think it's strongest right after you mix it. Overall I am extremely happy with this hair color!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Kelbel82
Charlotte, NC
New Take on Trying on Hair Color
1/20/2017

Customer review by jeb09002

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by jeb09002
by jeb09002

Color Options: 2/5 There weren't a lot of colors to choose from in my opinion. I prefer to dye my hair mahogany or burgundy shades, but there was a noticeable lack of colors outside of the very tame natural browns, blondes, reds, and blacks. Ease of Application: 4/5 I usually dye my own hair and I didn't have any difficulty applying the color. There was plenty in one box to cover all my hair (med/long, fine). True to Color (Matches the Preview on Box): 3/5 Both the app and the box suggested the color should be more red than the results I got. I waited a little bit longer than the instructions and the color came out more dark brown than dark auburn. After two weeks, the color faded to just a bit darker than the original color before dying. My overall opinion is that this was a relatively easy box dye to apply. It was fun using the app to try on colors and eventually pick what I wanted to try. However, I feel like the color wasn't very accurate to what I was expecting. For a semi-permanent hair color, it lasted about as long as I would have expected. These dyes usually last about 2-6 weeks before the color is noticeably faded in my hair. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jeb09002
Chaplin, CT
Where has this been my whole life?!
1/20/2017

Customer review by arussell1975

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by arussell1975
by arussell1975

Backstory: About 6 months ago I used henna (natural plant dye) to dye my hair. Henna is awful to get out, seriously, don't even consider doing it to your hair if you are like me and like to change hair colors often. After many bleach treatments I gave up. It was never coming out and I was going to have horrible colored hair until it grew out. (If you try to bleach henna it will turn orange and if you keep bleaching it it turns shades of orange and green!) Until this! It's amazing. I can now dye my hair crazy colors again because I look fabulous and my hair is blonde! Not green, not orange not some random other color it is blonde!! After 4 bleach treatments over time I could have saved myself so much trouble by just getting this. My newfound favorite brand of dye. It looks amazing it feels amazing, and it's the perfect shade of blonde! The only downside really is the smell. It gives fanstatic color and does not fry out hair plus I have sensitive skin and this did not affect my scalp. Crying tears of joy because I regained my identity! I highly suggest if you want beautiful blonde hair with the perfect amount of highlights go with this brand! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

arussell1975
Oswego, KS
Faith restored
1/20/2017

Customer review by truemarkgirl

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by truemarkgirl
by truemarkgirl

I gave up on Clairol nice n easy a while ago because I felt like my hair would not turn out the color I chose. I was excited to try this product and I am glad I did. I am a messy person when it comes to dying my hair. Hair dye on the wall, sink, floor you name it. I aboslutely love the easy to use bottle and how neat I mainted my surrounding, finally hair dye on only my hair! The process is easy, I love that the dye is liquid and not cream, the bottle has a tip that unscrews instead of cutting off the tip with a scissor. Application process was quick and painless. I absolutely love the color correcting conditioner, left my hair soft and smooth. I chose natural black and I was happy with the color and finally my roots turned out natural black instead of brown unlike the last time I used nice n easy. Faith has been restored! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

truemarkgirl
Homestead, FL
It was alright
1/20/2017

Customer review by xskeeter27x

2.0 stars 1/20/2017 by xskeeter27x
by xskeeter27x

I've only dyed my hair 3 times before this time, a different brand each time. This was my second time using Clairol brand dye. I loved the color on my picture from using the MYshade app. I bought a box, and my friend, who is a hair stylist, helped me apply it. Everything included in the kit would have made it very easy to apply myself, but I always like a helping hand. The color wasn't as vibrant as I had hoped. I have blonde hair, so everything darker really pops. This just looked dull and flat. The color applied well, I just don't think it was a great choice for my hair type or something. It's been 2 weeks since I've dyed it, and the color is already fading. I'm pretty disappointed. I'm always nervous to dye my hair, since I don't do it often. I definitely regret it this time. I'll be going with another brand from now on. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

xskeeter27x
Thompson, OH
Clairol My Shade
1/20/2017

Customer review by SusanneM

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by SusanneM
by SusanneM

Using the Clairol app I tried on different hair colors. It was an easy way to see my hair in different shades. I bought nice n easy red for natural dark auburn hair. I had just gotten a chic new haircut and coloring my hair at home after that was an affordable way to have a whole new look and cover my greys too! The product instructions were easy to read and the application process was easy. I wished there was a plastic cap included, but I found one in my stash. I wanted to make sure the color didn't get anywhere but my hair while it sat for 25 minutes! The end result is perfect! My friends and coworkers loved the color, and I was glad to see it stayed on my hair but easily washed off my face and neck! I would definitely try Clairol again. This photo is my "after". Is that gorgeous color or what!?! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

SusanneM
San Jose, CA
Orange roots
1/20/2017

Customer review by Affiee

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Affiee
by Affiee

I had dark brown hair with some blonde highlights and useing the product caused my hair to get very orange at the roots. I hadn't expected it to get this light as the ends were very dark in comparison to how my roots got. It was pretty bad for a week and a half, but I was able to live with it, as putting my hair in a half up half down hairstyle helped. With all that said, after about 3 times washing my hair with regular shampoo and conditioning it with the conditioner it came with, It now looks very pretty, and I'm happy with the results. Even though they started off pretty bad I just laughed it off and waited it out, which I'm glad I did. Cause now I have a very pretty hair color. That I'm really happy about. It especially looks nice straightened as you can see the sort of reverse ombré look it gave me. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Affiee
Tallahassee, FL
Nice Color
1/20/2017

Customer review by leannrenee

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by leannrenee
by leannrenee

I chose the natural blue black in Nice and Easy line because my hair was rusty brown from the well water and wanted something to cover it up plus a few grey hairs. I was a little skeptical about this color and wasn't sure if it would work out for me. I have always used the Natural Instincts line that washes out in 28 shampoos but this one is permanent. And sometimes permanent dye makes my hair fall out and the smell is very strong. However, neither was the case! I was happy to see that chunks of hair did not come out and I could barely smell the dye. Afterwards, my hair was very soft and shimmery. The color was a little dark for me but did cover up the icky rusty brown look that I wanted to get rid of. I also received compliments about the color and how it looked nice on me so I'll take that anyday. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

leannrenee
Demotte, IN
Great color, easy to use
1/20/2017

Customer review by meltmom

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by meltmom
by meltmom

I used Nice & Easy from Clairol in the natural Dark Blond color. It was my first time using this particular hair color by Clairol. I have been dying my hair different shades of blond for about 20 years and this time I was trying to get as close to my natural color as possible and get rid of my gray hair. This product was simple to use but wasn'tmy favorite hair color on the market. It did get rid of my gray hair color and was easy to apply but the color was not as thick as I like making it a little drippy as I applied it on my hair. The color also came out a little darker than I had anticipated (that could have been my color selection more than the product itself). Overall, my hair came out soft and natural looking. I would use it in the future as a backup hair color but not as my primary. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

meltmom
Lake Stevens, WA
4BG natural Dark Burgandy
1/20/2017

Customer review by saxyb7679

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by saxyb7679
by saxyb7679

I think that the color is nice. I actually had a lot of fun trying the different shades on the my shade app while I was in the store. Scanning the Barcodes to see the different shades on my hair was cool. The color I got turned out a bit darker than the my shade app suggested. I like the color, but definitely darker than what I expected from the my shade app depiction of what it would look like on me. I think that before using the app, you should go in with the idea that it is cool to try, but the color may not turn out quite as you expected. The hair color itself is very nice. My hair is left feeling silky and the gray is gone! Good coverage and easy to use! I have used nice and easy before and am sure I will remain loyal. I've tried other OTC colors and by far Nice and Easy is my favorite! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

saxyb7679
Smithton, IL
Easy to use, easy to clean off skin
1/20/2017

Customer review by DaniEllie

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by DaniEllie
by DaniEllie

It's been years since I've dyed my hair, I've always been hesitant to get back into it as my body looked like a tye dyed mess when I was done. Let me go one step further a day admit that I'm a mess, lol, but nice and easy changed all that. The thick formula stayed in place on my head, as well as in my hands. I did get some, well, a lot all over myself, but, was able to get it cleaned off. My hair was dyed, but not my skin. There was only a couple drops on the floor, which wiped up easily. Mind you, my hair is long and thick so I used 2 boxes, the drops were from the break to make the second batch. All my greys are gone, my hair is soft, shiny, healthy as it was prior to the dye. Absolutely love this product and totally recommend it to anyone and everyone who wants to change their look up. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

DaniEllie
Coram, NY
My new go to hair dye !
1/20/2017

Customer review by zilzil

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by zilzil
by zilzil

So this will be the second time I dye my hair in my lifetime, a couple times bleached,but this time around my hair was all natural color hair and I was very pleased with the color pay off from Nice and Easy. I have light-medium brown hair, not previously dyed, and I would say the color is pretty spot on. I picked up the natural radiant auburn. I had no problems setting up the dye and putting it on, a box covered my hair just fine and i have long hair, and I think the most important is even if I did go with auburn, I didnt come out with a head of orange hair! Which I have seen happen often with other brands. My hair felt healthy and continues to feel healthy without weird chemically smells. I would say I would definitely pick up another box from Clairol when I feel like changing up my hair. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

zilzil
Hayward, CA
1-20 of 1192 total reviews
1-20 of 1192 reviews