Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 28 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
a stunning coffee value
5/3/2012

Customer review by Joe2784x

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Joe2784x
by Joe2784x

To my tastes, this is better than any of Starbucks except their Christmas Blend (about $15/pound), any of Stumptown (except their phenomenally great Hairbender Blend, also around $15/pound) and except some blends (also above $10/pound) of Mocha Joe's and of Green Mountain Coffee Roasters. However, all of those are whole-bean dark roasts, and this is a ground medium roast, and the medium roast means that this coffee has a stronger roasted-nuts aroma than any dark roast coffee, but has less of a smokey aroma than those other extraordinarily fine coffees. So, if price were no object, then choosing between this and all of those others would be purely a choice of nutty versus smokey. However, at around $$2.50/pound, this one is astronomically preferable to any of those. If one prefers a medium roast coffee, then none tastes better than this, and there isn't any reason to use any competing brand since all of the others cost at least twice this stunning price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joe2784x
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very good coffee
10/10/2009

Customer review by mamakatt

5.0 stars 10/10/2009 by mamakatt
by mamakatt

I did purchase this coffee because of the price and because I dislike coffee in plastic containers. It is good quality coffee like I serve in the restaurant. No aftertaste and marvelous aroma while brewing. I would buy this again and again.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamakatt
Western NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
master blend coffee
5/25/2016

Customer review by topher69

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by topher69
by topher69

I have been drinking this coffee for a while and has been good for a while except for two days ago it tasted not good. The can was at about the last 5 pots .  Back to Item Rate and review your purchase Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz Remember: you can contact customer service directly if you have an issue with your order. Product rating Overall rating Help Excellent I would recommend this to a friend Yes No Product review Your review Title of your review. Give your review a catchy title. Review Your review. Make sure you share specific feedback about this item. How did it work for you? What do you wish someone would have told you before buying it?  Make sure you share specific feedback about this item. How did it work for you? What do you wish someone would have told you before buying it? Enter a review of this item to share with other customers Add up to 2 photos. Images can be up to 5MB each. × About You Nickname By submitting this review, you agree to the Review guidelines & Terms Submit Compute- app-11030446-1-54864895, DC- prod-dfw3, ENV- prod-a, Ver- 39.0.0, SHA- 40cc6ec91d59e24bb7bb3a8827cf6bb64d7e031f, Log- 21ff6a37-18bbd-154e7c25009000 © Walmart Stores, Inc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topher69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A wonderful surprise
2/8/2009

Customer review by Dedriannes

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by Dedriannes
by Dedriannes

LOVED IT!. Bought it because the price was very reasonable, will keep buying it for it is smooth, rich and mellow. No after taste, no bitterness. Reminds me of coffee from South America but without the price of import.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dedriannes
Alamogordo NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Master Chef as Good as the Rest
1/8/2012

Customer review by Hol75

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Hol75
by Hol75

This is really good coffee. I have always used Folgers or Maxwell House, but once a friend told me about Master Chef and I tried it, I haven't used anything else. It is just as good as the leading brands and a fraction of the cost. I think so many people get hung up on having to purchase major well-known brands that they are unwilling to try something else...well I'm glad I did - this is a money saver for sure and I still get great coffee!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hol75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
What a pleasant surprise!
6/29/2011

Customer review by BernardShakey

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by BernardShakey
by BernardShakey

Bought this can of mundane looking coffee because of the absurd price tag: only 2 bucks for the whole can. I was skeptical at first, especially based on a few of the other reviewers here. But low and behold, that all changed once this baby was brewed! The flavor is mellow, the aroma is sweet and the coffee turns out smooth. For only two dollars I could not be more impressed with a can of coffee; I will definitely be recommending this blend to my friends. Hot dirt I think not; this is quality at an even better price. Gotta go, I think my coffee's done ;)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BernardShakey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Coffee
11/9/2011

Customer review by kkf121098

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by kkf121098
by kkf121098

I started buying this coffee when prices started to skyrocket. I love it. It brews great, taste great, and you cannot beat the price anywhere. It does not take any more scoops than any other brand to get a great pot of coffee unlike some brands where you have to use more coffee to get the flavor. Stays fresh. Plus I use the REAL metal can for storage of everything from small Christmas decorations to tools and supplies. No mice. No bugs. Great for taking cookies and crackers camping. I love this coffee.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkf121098
Scroggins, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
4/5/2011

Customer review by rs4425

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by rs4425
by rs4425

Good coffee at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rs4425
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This coffee tastes horrible
1/17/2010

Customer review by jakekaitsmom

1.0 stars 1/17/2010 by jakekaitsmom
by jakekaitsmom

The only thing I have to say about this coffee is that it's inexpensive...but personally it tastes like hot dirt. It was horrible..I ended up throwing almost a whole can away and going and getting my normal brand. I guess going cheaper isn't always better. I'll stick with my normal brand from now on.

Was this review helpful? (8) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakekaitsmom
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great coffee!
5/21/2010

Customer review by LindsNW

5.0 stars 5/21/2010 by LindsNW
by LindsNW

This coffee is very good, it's full of flavor, the smell of it brewing is heavenly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LindsNW
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful coffee, exceptional value
1/10/2012

Customer review by RequiemCraft

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by RequiemCraft
by RequiemCraft

Compared to other brands (which carry significantly higher prices), Master Chef stands out far ahead. Not only is it one of the best values available, but the flavor, aroma, and color are all well beyond those of Folgers, Maxwell House, etc.. It lacks the pungent "skunky" flavor often associated with said brands, partially due to it's packaging. It's freshness is typically remarkable (although about once a year we get a very "dry" can), and in a blind test incorporating several acquaintances, it scored well above all other regularly available brands except for Yuban Classic, which ran slightly behind. All in all, it's a great coffee for morning drinkers looking for a medium blend with a wonderful bouquet, and the price to value ratio can not be beat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RequiemCraft
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great coffee
3/21/2009

Customer review by Spikecoffee

5.0 stars 3/21/2009 by Spikecoffee
by Spikecoffee

This is good coffee, the price is cheaper then Maxwell House or Folgers and to me this coffee is better. Great flavor, great value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spikecoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
OK - Good Value
1/25/2011

Customer review by ArcticOdyssey

3.0 stars 1/25/2011 by ArcticOdyssey
by ArcticOdyssey

Pro's - Tasted fresh; good body; tastes rich and not watery; nice aroma Con's - Strong aftertaste, has somewhat of a canned taste

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArcticOdyssey
Somewhere in the New Mexican desert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Coffee Great Price
6/2/2012

Customer review by threecupsaday

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by threecupsaday
by threecupsaday

Because I wasn't able to locate a coupon online to purchase Maxwell house coffee that I usually drink, I bought Master Chef. The cost of this large can of coffee is half the price of what I usually pay and the coffee is surprisingly good. Because I add flavored creamer and Splenda to my coffee, it really makes no difference to me what brand of coffee I buy anyway. For my personal use, it's a waste of money to buy expensive coffee I found this coffee at Walmart where I usually shop and saved five dollars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
threecupsaday
anywhere usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/15/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I like many others tried this coffee due to the price, and was pleasantly suprised! Also, if you check the actual ounces you will find you are getting even more for your money. It makes a very good cup of coffee, it is smooth...also good with honey, or my favorite is with cinnamon for morning Mexican coffee. I would like to know what coffee beans are used as I have not been able to find the info anywhere. Most packagers put it on the container. Does anyone know? Is it Arabica? Or a "blend"?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wellington, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Master Chef: great taste and is exceptional value!
2/29/2012

Customer review by Westell100

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Westell100
by Westell100

With grocery prices constantly going up and coffee is no exception, we decided to try Master Chef ground coffee and found it to have a consistently good taste and an excellent bargain. Now, we only buy Master Chef ground coffee and have done so for months now. We have no complaints, only praises for this excellent brewed coffee. Thank you for offering such a quality ground coffee at such a bargain price, we will continue to buy it and recommend it to our friends and colleagues.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Westell100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not good at all... Trust me
4/16/2012

Customer review by vitas

1.0 stars 4/16/2012 by vitas
by vitas

I bought this since GV Colombian was out of stock at my store. Wondered how it could be so cheap, and found out as soon as I opened the can! This doesn't even smell like coffee, more like wood chips. Brewed it and it came out very weak with this weird odor. Tastes very sour and bitter, I would compare it to cough syrup. I would highly recommend spending an extra dollar and getting GV Colombian, a much better choice and the best value coffee I have tried so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vitas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the value.
6/13/2012

Customer review by Rockyramon

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Rockyramon
by Rockyramon

I have been useing Master Chef Coffee for a long time. We travel a lot in a Motorhome, and do a lot of shopping in Wal-Mart's. We have tried to purchase this product in other stores, and can not readly find it. The taste is Great, and could find it hard to say it wasn't from a top brand of coffee. I would say that you should try it, and you just might even like it yourself. We find it to be a Great Product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockyramon
Cape Cod, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/12/2011

Customer review by Perception12

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Perception12
by Perception12

A friend was given some of this coffee and said it tasted wonderful asking what kind it was. Another person who only drinks name brands of familiarity thought it was not so good based on the label. I like it quite a lot and just got another can. Certainly does not compare to just roasted beans but then what name brand ground coffee does? Really a bargain I would say and made by a very reputable company.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Perception12
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very weak and tastless
8/28/2011

Customer review by Fliguy53

1.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Fliguy53
by Fliguy53

You can't really call this coffee. First thing I always do when I open a new can up is to just get the smell of it and this had none and I new then i shouldn't have bought this but thought i'd try it once and will return it. I did try it to see what the taste would be like and hot is the only thing it compares to coffee. There is a taste but nothing like I ever had before.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fliguy53
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews