Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
A real bargain
2/18/2009

Customer review by jblb4ever

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by jblb4ever
by jblb4ever

This cat litter is every bit as good as the name brand cat litter, but costs less at Walmart. Why throw money away with the cat litter?

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jblb4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 500 contributor
Cheap, and works fine
11/20/2009

Customer review by grannynightgown

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by grannynightgown
by grannynightgown

I purchased the unscented version of this product at my local store for very little money. I'm using it in two litter boxes for three then six-week-old kittens and their semi-feral mother. It doesn't clump (and it's not supposed to), which is what I preferred, since clumping litter is dangerous for cats, and especially dangerous for kittens. (If they swallow any, it clumps in their intestinal tract, and they may require surgery to remove it.) I got the unscented since I am sensitive to scents, and I don't really want all those chemicals around such tiny kittens anyway. I usually sprinkle baking soda (also very cheap) on the bottom of the litter pan after washing it out to control odor, and mix some more in every time I scoop out the solid waste (with four cats and two boxes, that's twice a day). The litter boxes don't start to smell until the litter is completely urine soaked. Then I dump it, wash the box, and replace the litter. The tiny little litter box that the kittens are using is lasting about two days before its all wet and needs to be changed. The bigger one the mother uses is lasting about a week. I'm really glad this is available. I've gone through one-and-a-half bags in two weeks, but since this is so cheap I'm not worried about the price. And since I've spent about $500 in vet care alone (in two weeks!) for these kittens, I'm glad that I can save a bit of money here.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grannynightgown
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just as good, if not better than the name brands.
12/26/2012

Customer review by violincat

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by violincat
by violincat

I love this cat litter! I recently decided to drastically reduce the amount of money I was spending on cat litter by trying out cheaper brands so I tried this one first and it is amazing. I was using all of the Arm & Hammer clumping litters which were fine, but got to be too expensive over time. I like this litter because even if I don't have time to scoop the litter, it still blocks the odors in the box. It is not clumping litter but one of the main complaints I've had in the past about non clumping litter is that the urine that doesn't get scooped ends up stinking up the litter box and I end up having to keep pouring litter into the pan to keep it fresh but with this litter, it never seems to start smelling bad. I have 4 cats and 3 litter boxes and one 25 lb bag fills all 3 boxes and can last for 2 weeks and still smells fresh. You do the math, I was spending upwards $24 every 2 weeks for clumping litter and now I'm only spending $4 every 2 weeks for this wonderful litter that works just as well. Pretty easy choice for me.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
violincat
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Special Kitty Clumping Cat Litter
8/22/2012

Customer review by CurlySimone

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by CurlySimone
by CurlySimone

I've used other expensive cat litter brands, but returned to using Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Cat Litter a year ago; this brand is slightly different from Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Litter, however although it's sold at Walmart, I didn't see the particular brand that I use on their website. It's AMAZING and clumps very well! For me, no matter what cat litter I use, I prefer to use a clumping brand because it allows for easy removal of any waste without having to dump the entire litter pan and replace it with new litter. I'm not one to skip even one day without scooping out my cat's waste, and if I'm home at the time I'll do so as soon as she finishes no matter what I'm doing. To me, there will always be a litter box odor in someone's home if they allow any kind of regular, premium, clumping, etc. litter to remain in their cat's litter box without scooping it out each day. By removing the cat's waste every day, my home remains fresh and when I have guests they always say "Wow, I can't tell that you have a cat because it doesn't smell like a cat in here." What people don't realize is that when they visit someone's home, it's not the cat they are smelling- it's their waste that the pet owner doesn't remove from their litter box daily. Overall, why pay high prices for other brands when I receive the same effective results from Special Kitty's line of cat litter products. I pay just under $5 for the 14 oz jug and it lasts for approximately two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurlySimone
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/14/2011

Customer review by DTVegas

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by DTVegas
by DTVegas

Where did some of the people writing reviews get the idea this is clumping litter? It certainly isn't advertised as clumping. This is your standard, change often cat litter at a fantastic price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DTVegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used to be great, but no longer :(
2/3/2014

Customer review by BrandonMama

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by BrandonMama
by BrandonMama

I ordered this a couple months ago, and it was great. Low dust, white litter with lots of flecks of blue for deodorizing. Very happy. But the most recent order is dark gray, tons of dust, and very few flecks of blue. I'll upload pics if I can, but the quality has definitely dropped. Do not recommend :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrandonMama
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Better than the name brands...Great WHITE litter
10/20/2011

Customer review by DiscerningCustomer1976

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by DiscerningCustomer1976
by DiscerningCustomer1976

This is by far the best cat litter that my cats have used. It's a highly absorbant white litter, not one of the dark grey litters that gets muddy. It's also great at hiding odors. If you keep the boxes scooped it will last for quite awhile. I used to use Fresh Step, but, then they switched to the grey litter and it didn't work like it used to when they used the white litter. This is great litter. I should know, I have 5 discerning cats!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiscerningCustomer1976
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Kitty Litter = Dust Storm
7/21/2010

Customer review by sandcastlequeen

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by sandcastlequeen
by sandcastlequeen

I love this kitty litter. I use 50 pounds every week. My only complaint is that it is so dusty. I have had to install an exhaust fan in the room with the (4) litter boxes. What does the 99% dust free claim mean? I am going to try another brand in the future. Cannot stand the dust - allergies (mine and the cats).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sandcastlequeen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than Dollar Store generics but....
12/18/2013

Customer review by TANSTAAFL85936

2.0 stars 12/18/2013 by TANSTAAFL85936
by TANSTAAFL85936

Better than Dollar Store generics but far poorer quality than Johnny Cat. The panamint clay does not absorb as well as other cheap brands but the odor control is fair to good. I bought it through Walmart.com as I was unable to drive in the neighboring town this month (50 miles each way) to buy better litter and shop for groceries.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TANSTAAFL85936
ARIZONA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Product
9/9/2013

Customer review by GracielaDV

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by GracielaDV
by GracielaDV

I have 33 cats, so I'm "professional" in cat litter, I recommend Special Kitty Premium, it's a good price and the quality is excellent! Thank you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GracielaDV
Davie, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Something Has Changed!
6/30/2013

Customer review by CatLover16

1.0 stars 6/30/2013 by CatLover16
by CatLover16

Something has changed and not for the better! I have been buying Special Kitty for years and have been extremely happy, but within the last year the quality has changed. I had 6 cats and 4 litter boxes. I scoop several times a day and change the litter once a week. Now I have 5 cats, but now after 3 days the urine smell is unbearable. It's like it doesn't get obsorbed anymore. I finally stopped using it and switched to Tidy Cats. Now no problems, more money but no smell!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatLover16
Hicksville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Special Kitty PREMIUM cat litter is very DUSTY
7/2/2014

Customer review by KKCFOTOGlenwood

2.0 stars 7/2/2014 by KKCFOTOGlenwood
by KKCFOTOGlenwood

Special Kitty PREMIUM cat litter is very DUSTY. When a cat litter product advertises "premium" it usually means much less dust. The litter I used for years was Walmart's regular Special Kitty (red bag) cat litter. I decided to upgrade it. My mistake. I will be donating the 10 bags I did not use to the local shelter.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KKCFOTOGlenwood
Glenwood FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good bang for the buck
12/9/2012

Customer review by cleoandlyn

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by cleoandlyn
by cleoandlyn

Althought the shipping is not free, its very reasonably priced and delivery has been convenient and reliable and quick. Good litter as all I do is discard it after use anyway. The cats like it and the 25 pound bag is big enough to last a while yet not too heavy for me to carry up the stairs for the week's use. Good value for regular cat litter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleoandlyn
flushing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap and works well
2/13/2011

Customer review by Nakkiel

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by Nakkiel
by Nakkiel

I actually was only at walmart because the Special Kitty litter that does clump had reviews saying how cheap it was and well it worked. When I got there it was the same price as the Scoop Away, which I know works well, but this non-clumping litter was only $4 for a 25 pound bag. It works very well at eliminating odors, and even better when mixed with clumping litter. I used it at a roughly 2 parts scoop away per 1 part special kitty, saves money, still clumps well, and works better than just scoop away alone on odors.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nakkiel
Whitehall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great litter.
7/16/2012

Customer review by Jaebaby3

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Jaebaby3
by Jaebaby3

This is a great litter. My cat loves it and I love that its not a bad price for what you get. It is a bit dusty at first, I have a clear container I put the whole bag into, but other than that its great. The odor control isn't bad and if you need more simply put some baking soda in the box. Compared to other brands this is a great value. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaebaby3
Bethel Island, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Cats Say Yeah & My Wallet Says Yippeee!
8/25/2014

Customer review by GoddessOfTruth

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by GoddessOfTruth
by GoddessOfTruth

For years, I purchased the expensive stuff. It cost me $15 a bag. However, I needed to do a mail order delivery, and Wal Mart did not have the litter I always buy. I decided to buy this, and then the following week I would go to Petsmart to get the litter I wanted. I used this "cheap" stuff, and my cats fell in love. Honestly, they much more prefer this litter. I can get 3 bags for the same price as one of the other. It's insane, and I don't get it, but it's not for me to argue with my pets. It's their litter box, and it's my wallet that gets to celebrate. Excellent buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoddessOfTruth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
9/30/2013

Customer review by CherryBobbery

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by CherryBobbery
by CherryBobbery

I am all to experienced with cat litter. The Special Kitty Clumping Litter in the 40lb box is what I have used because it is just as good as the expensive brands. I am having a little financial difficulty so I tried this Special Kitty Premium in the bag. So far, one week in the litter box and no odor AND that is a big plus!!! I think I like this better than what I have been using because it doesnt clump up like clay. The clay litters are very heavy to put in the trash. This litter is making my trash much lighter in weight. I have a lot of cats that I care for and I need something cheap that works. When comparing the 25lb bag to the 40lb box of the clay clump, I think I am gettin a bit more for my money - I will have to do some exact math to know for sure. Anyhow, I do recommend this litter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CherryBobbery
Thonotosassa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Litter too soggy
1/20/2014

Customer review by DoriannaT

2.0 stars 1/20/2014 by DoriannaT
by DoriannaT

The delivery of the product was great. Walmart always delivers earlier than scheduled, but the product itself, even though the price is great and the 25 pound size of the bag is great too, I'm afraid the litter is of the poorest quality. It gets soggy very easily, and is not odor controlled at all. Even when I put a little baking soda in it. No, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoriannaT
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
1/6/2011

Customer review by sharkyoli

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by sharkyoli
by sharkyoli

I love this stuff - why spend $10 on a bag of dirt if this $2-3 bag works the same.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharkyoli
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Dustier than usual
1/22/2015

Customer review by goldenjaz

3.0 stars 1/22/2015 by goldenjaz
by goldenjaz

We use this litter at our pet sanctuary in town. I have it shipped to my house for easier handling. Got it quickly but it does seem to be more dusty than usual. Have they changed the formula?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldenjaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews