Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 76 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Special Kitty Clumping Cat Litter
8/22/2012

Customer review by CurlySimone

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by CurlySimone
by CurlySimone

I've used other expensive cat litter brands, but returned to using Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Cat Litter a year ago; this brand is slightly different from Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Litter, however although it's sold at Walmart, I didn't see the particular brand that I use on their website. It's AMAZING and clumps very well! For me, no matter what cat litter I use, I prefer to use a clumping brand because it allows for easy removal of any waste without having to dump the entire litter pan and replace it with new litter. I'm not one to skip even one day without scooping out my cat's waste, and if I'm home at the time I'll do so as soon as she finishes no matter what I'm doing. To me, there will always be a litter box odor in someone's home if they allow any kind of regular, premium, clumping, etc. litter to remain in their cat's litter box without scooping it out each day. By removing the cat's waste every day, my home remains fresh and when I have guests they always say "Wow, I can't tell that you have a cat because it doesn't smell like a cat in here." What people don't realize is that when they visit someone's home, it's not the cat they are smelling- it's their waste that the pet owner doesn't remove from their litter box daily. Overall, why pay high prices for other brands when I receive the same effective results from Special Kitty's line of cat litter products. I pay just under $5 for the 14 oz jug and it lasts for approximately two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlySimone
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just as good, if not better than the name brands.
12/26/2012

Customer review by violincat

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by violincat
by violincat

I love this cat litter! I recently decided to drastically reduce the amount of money I was spending on cat litter by trying out cheaper brands so I tried this one first and it is amazing. I was using all of the Arm & Hammer clumping litters which were fine, but got to be too expensive over time. I like this litter because even if I don't have time to scoop the litter, it still blocks the odors in the box. It is not clumping litter but one of the main complaints I've had in the past about non clumping litter is that the urine that doesn't get scooped ends up stinking up the litter box and I end up having to keep pouring litter into the pan to keep it fresh but with this litter, it never seems to start smelling bad. I have 4 cats and 3 litter boxes and one 25 lb bag fills all 3 boxes and can last for 2 weeks and still smells fresh. You do the math, I was spending upwards $24 every 2 weeks for clumping litter and now I'm only spending $4 every 2 weeks for this wonderful litter that works just as well. Pretty easy choice for me.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
violincat
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
12/15/2015

Customer review by ak77237

4.0 stars 12/15/2015 by ak77237
by ak77237

Does a really good job for the price. I foster cats and kittens so I know a little something about cat litter. I definitely would recommend this product to other people.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ak77237
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cat litter
12/7/2015

Customer review by brandy40

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by brandy40
by brandy40

Love it, absorbs odor very well

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brandy40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
25lb bag kitty litter
2/5/2016

Customer review by Sissy66

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Sissy66
by Sissy66

I use this every year for ice. Cheaper, but you do track it in the house. Last year, I had a stray cat visit and make a deposit on my driveway. I put this around the mailbox, works wonders. Last year to,year, I keep some in a bag in my car, helps if you park on ice, or stuck on ice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sissy66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Litter
2/1/2016

Customer review by Jlred1

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Jlred1
by Jlred1

This is the only litter my two cats will be compliant with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jlred1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap, and works fine
11/20/2009

Customer review by grannynightgown

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by grannynightgown
by grannynightgown

I purchased the unscented version of this product at my local store for very little money. I'm using it in two litter boxes for three then six-week-old kittens and their semi-feral mother. It doesn't clump (and it's not supposed to), which is what I preferred, since clumping litter is dangerous for cats, and especially dangerous for kittens. (If they swallow any, it clumps in their intestinal tract, and they may require surgery to remove it.) I got the unscented since I am sensitive to scents, and I don't really want all those chemicals around such tiny kittens anyway. I usually sprinkle baking soda (also very cheap) on the bottom of the litter pan after washing it out to control odor, and mix some more in every time I scoop out the solid waste (with four cats and two boxes, that's twice a day). The litter boxes don't start to smell until the litter is completely urine soaked. Then I dump it, wash the box, and replace the litter. The tiny little litter box that the kittens are using is lasting about two days before its all wet and needs to be changed. The bigger one the mother uses is lasting about a week. I'm really glad this is available. I've gone through one-and-a-half bags in two weeks, but since this is so cheap I'm not worried about the price. And since I've spent about $500 in vet care alone (in two weeks!) for these kittens, I'm glad that I can save a bit of money here.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grannynightgown
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A real bargain
2/18/2009

Customer review by jblb4ever

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by jblb4ever
by jblb4ever
Top 1000 contributor

This cat litter is every bit as good as the name brand cat litter, but costs less at Walmart. Why throw money away with the cat litter?

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jblb4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Works for me
10/28/2015

Customer review by Pawplay

4.0 stars 10/28/2015 by Pawplay
by Pawplay

I like this products as we are a multiple cat home and the cost allows me to change the litter daily. I don't like the dust, but prefer it to the negatives of a clumping litter. I would love if 10lb. bags were available for shipping.as I am having an ongoing situation with FedEx. Wish Walmart would change shipper or provide option for better shipping service. Fed Ex Home delivery are contractors and they deliver inside gate without signature. They refuse to deliver to the door or bring to porch which is up the outside steps. Back to the litter I would like to add that the dust seems to prevent pieces sticking to their paws, which is good. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pawplay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
12/7/2015

Customer review by tnirish

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by tnirish
by tnirish

Great kitty litter at an affordable price, thank you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnirish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used to be great, but no longer :(
2/3/2014

Customer review by BrandonMama

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by BrandonMama
by BrandonMama

I ordered this a couple months ago, and it was great. Low dust, white litter with lots of flecks of blue for deodorizing. Very happy. But the most recent order is dark gray, tons of dust, and very few flecks of blue. I'll upload pics if I can, but the quality has definitely dropped. Do not recommend :(

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrandonMama
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Kitty likes it! No dust!
11/4/2015

Customer review by Alineshops

5.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Alineshops
by Alineshops

Kitty likes it, no dust, very economical! Will purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alineshops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Special Kitty Cat Litter
11/1/2015

Customer review by strawberryblonde123

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by strawberryblonde123
by strawberryblonde123

I like this product. It's a great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strawberryblonde123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than the name brands...Great WHITE litter
10/20/2011

Customer review by DiscerningCustomer1976

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by DiscerningCustomer1976
by DiscerningCustomer1976

This is by far the best cat litter that my cats have used. It's a highly absorbant white litter, not one of the dark grey litters that gets muddy. It's also great at hiding odors. If you keep the boxes scooped it will last for quite awhile. I used to use Fresh Step, but, then they switched to the grey litter and it didn't work like it used to when they used the white litter. This is great litter. I should know, I have 5 discerning cats!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiscerningCustomer1976
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good price
10/18/2015

Customer review by Erin

4.0 stars 10/18/2015 by Erin
by Erin

Not smelly

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to carry in winter or car traction
10/11/2015

Customer review by Susie

5.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Susie
by Susie

Awesome item to have in your car in case you should get stuck in snow or ice

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kitty Litter = Dust Storm
7/21/2010

Customer review by sandcastlequeen

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by sandcastlequeen
by sandcastlequeen

I love this kitty litter. I use 50 pounds every week. My only complaint is that it is so dusty. I have had to install an exhaust fan in the room with the (4) litter boxes. What does the 99% dust free claim mean? I am going to try another brand in the future. Cannot stand the dust - allergies (mine and the cats).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandcastlequeen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Special Kitty Premium 25lb.
8/23/2015

Customer review by Cinadeline

4.0 stars 8/23/2015 by Cinadeline
by Cinadeline

I preferred Special Kitty Premium to The T??? Cat brand I bought on line because the on line T??? Cat brand I twice received was a lot darker color and had a slight order of crude oil and gave me the impression it was used to clean up some mechanic's shop or oil spilled rinsed off, dried and resold to me, I don't know but, it was not the same as I have bought in the 5lb bags in the store. Plus my cat would not go near it. So I decided to give this brand a try and so far four days later its comparable to store bought J???? cat and cost efficient too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinadeline
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good cat litter
9/21/2015

Customer review by Susie

5.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Susie
by Susie

Don't spend a lot of money on cat litter, people! You know what's going to happen to it don't you? This litter is fine and this big bag lasts for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than Dollar Store generics but....
12/18/2013

Customer review by TANSTAAFL85936

2.0 stars 12/18/2013 by TANSTAAFL85936
by TANSTAAFL85936
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Better than Dollar Store generics but far poorer quality than Johnny Cat. The panamint clay does not absorb as well as other cheap brands but the odor control is fair to good. I bought it through Walmart.com as I was unable to drive in the neighboring town this month (50 miles each way) to buy better litter and shop for groceries.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TANSTAAFL85936
ARIZONA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews