Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

10 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

10 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

20%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-10 of 10 total reviews
20%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

What Happened to your Powered Sugar?
6/15/2012

Customer review by Julie54

1.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Julie54
by Julie54

I make cakes for a living, and have been using this powered sugar for years. The last few months that I have bought it , it has been terrible. Real grainy, my icing has not been working for my cakes. I know of several other bakers that has been having the same problems. Have there been any change in this product??????????????

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julie54
Atlanta , Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible powdered sugar for buttercream icing
9/30/2012

Customer review by JMCsGirl

1.0 stars 9/30/2012 by JMCsGirl
by JMCsGirl

I have used this powdered sugar for several different things and they have always turned out ok. When I tried to use it to make buttercream icing it made my icing grainy in texture. When I did research I found the way to fix this was don't use Great Value powdered sugar. Sure enough when I made it with another brand my icing was fluffy and oh so smooth! I will not be buying this sugar in the future for any of my sweet making needs.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMCsGirl
Moberly, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Very disappointed
7/7/2012

Customer review by itsjustjess

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by itsjustjess
by itsjustjess

I have been making cakes for family and friends for a couple of years now and I have always used this brand of powdered sugar. The last batches of frosting I made with this were TERRIBLE. Extremely grainy. Unfortunately I didn't have time to go buy a better brand so I had to use it on my cake, I was SO embarrassed. I am extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itsjustjess
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Powdered Sugar Contains Cornstarch
11/26/2012

Customer review by Adaniel

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Adaniel
by Adaniel

The Great Value Powdered Sugar ruined my frosting. There is now cornstarch in the powdered sugar; it no longer makes good frosting. I'll never buy this product again!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adaniel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good as ever
12/11/2012

Customer review by lynninma

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by lynninma
by lynninma

I have been using this product for a couple of years now and I find its quality as consistent as ever, contrary to others' reviews here.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynninma
Leicester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It makes delicious, creamy frosting
8/7/2014

Customer review by Momzdotter

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by Momzdotter
by Momzdotter

I always have a small cake (with frosting) in the refrigerator as my default dessert, so I use a lot of powdered sugar. I bought my most recent package of Great Value powdered sugar in Fremont, Ohio Walmart in July, 2014 and it makes very good, smooth frosting, with not a bit of the graininess to it that other commenters have complained about. Just before I opened it I had gone through a package of C&H powdered sugar that my daughter had bought for me while in the store, not knowing that I preferred Great Value because of the cost. The C&H was very good, too, but it's more expensive so that's why I don't buy it. I have never experienced graininess in the Great Value brand. It makes delicious, creamy frosting, consistently.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momzdotter
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Makes icing grainy and way to thin!
8/29/2013

Customer review by ConsumerThought

1.0 stars 8/29/2013 by ConsumerThought
by ConsumerThought

I have used this product and been very satisfied with it in past however recently I have had problems with the texture being very grainy and separating in my icing. I bake for friends and relatives and made cakes for my grandsons birthday that I was not happy with. People did not like it and left most of it on the dishes. I have a feeling there is more corn starch than confectioners sugar in this product now and will not be able to continue to use the product as it is. The quality of this product has changed and I , for one, am very dissatisfied with it. I hope you will consider looking into the manufacturing of this product as it has been a much better product in the past and something has certainly changed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerThought
Canajoharie, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Why?
12/21/2013

Customer review by OklahomaCookieBaker4

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by OklahomaCookieBaker4
by OklahomaCookieBaker4

I used this in my icing to decorate cookies but I no longer am able as it makes the icing gritty and grainy. I wish companies would leave well enough alone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OklahomaCookieBaker4
Kingfisher, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not the same!
4/30/2014

Customer review by moniquew

1.0 stars 4/30/2014 by moniquew
by moniquew

From reading other reviews, I've finally figured out why my frosting has been coming out terrible! Great Value powdered sugar has changed and not for the better. Won't be buying this again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moniquew
Would recommend to a friend? No
My powdered Sugar is grainy also.
10/4/2012

Customer review by WeddingCakeBaker

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by WeddingCakeBaker
by WeddingCakeBaker

Okay,,,,,,,,What in the world happened to the powdered Sugar? Mine is also grainy and I have used this powdered sugar to make my wedding cakes. No More, will I use this powdered sugar. I know one of your competetors changed their supplier and it looks as if you may have went to the same supplier as they did!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeddingCakeBaker
Marion
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days