Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

120 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

120 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
1-20 of 99 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Don't order online
1/10/2014

Customer review by waynejune2180

2.0 stars 1/10/2014 by waynejune2180
by waynejune2180

I ordered 2 ten pound bags of sugar think I received about 17 lbs total one bag was taped up looking half the size of the other I wouldn't recommend buying this online of course it was smothered in flour guess they was making cookies in the packaging department

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waynejune2180
Spencer IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Messy delivery
1/7/2015

Customer review by Aviono

3.0 stars 1/7/2015 by Aviono
by Aviono

The sugar is fine. The issue I have is that the bags come open inside the packing box when being delivered. I have ordered these bags of sugar twice now. I received the second order today. Both orders arrived on a timely manner, however when I opened the packing boxes, which were totally undamaged and in perfect condition, the bags of sugar themselves had come open and spilled into the box. The customer service dept. replaced them without issue. When the first order replacement arrived the bags were packed tightly enough in the box that they had no room to joust around, even still the glue that held the bags closed did not stay totally adhered and the bags were partially open (though they didn't spill). When I went to bring today's package in the house sugar was everywhere on the driveway...I had to empty the boxes outside because the sugar was leaking out of the packing box. I called customer service again and once again they are replacing the bags without a problem. The issue appears to be that the glue used to close the bag is cheap, and extremely weak, so bags come open easily. I hope when I receive the replacement this time it is not the same problem or I will not longer order them. I have posted two pictures for whom ever monitors these comments to see. I have another I would like to post that shows how much was in the bottom... I transferred the sugar from the packing box into another plastic bag and weighed it....a little over 4lbs and that doesn't include what was all over my driveway or what might have already leaked out in transport.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aviono
Would recommend to a friend? No
"usually" quite good.
3/14/2014

Customer review by VJJohn

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by VJJohn
by VJJohn
Top 250 contributor

I order this, along with other dry goods groceries with free shipping about once every 6-8 weeks for the past couple years. The sugar bag (and flour) was always placed inside a plastic zip-lock bag in case it leaked, & to keep dampness out. The few times the paper sugar bag ever leaked, there was only a few grains in the plastic bag. This last time I ordered it, was the first time they did not pack it in a zip-lock bag, & about a pint of sugar leaked all over everything inside the box. Ironically, They did ship plastic unbreakable jugs of juice in large zip-lock bags in the same shipment. Those jugs wouldn't leak if you dropped them down a flight of stairs. If they must cut back on the zip-lock bags, use them for stuff that comes in paper bags that can tear or burst easily, & stuff that cannot get damp, like sugar or flour. Unbreakable plastic jugs do not need to be wrapped in plastic, they already are.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VJJohn
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Top 250 contributor
Good value
5/18/2014

Customer review by SophieViolet

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by SophieViolet
by SophieViolet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice to have it delivered to my door, but need to remind packers to put bags of sugar into a plastic bag and seal it. Although sugar bag was sealed, it still leaked enough to get sugar on other items in box. I am sure the tossing and turning during shipping was probably the cause. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SophieViolet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2 of 5 of the 10 lb bags were broken, not useable!
6/21/2012

Customer review by llamamamaT

2.0 stars 6/21/2012 by llamamamaT
by llamamamaT

2 of the 10 pound boxes were torn open because the boxes were too large without packing material! This is not the first time this has happened, I was shipped 4 boxes of dishes in two boxes that had no packing in too large a box. Yes several dishes were chipped and I paid $98 for shipping! I live on a small Island of Molokai, I depend on online buying and yet every time I receive a shipment from Walmart the boxes are crushed because they put items in too large a box and then don't put any packing paper in. I loose money when I order 5 bags of 10 pounds of sugar and I only receive 3 bags of 10 pounds of sugar that are intact and useable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llamamamaT
Kaunakakai, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ready To Bake!
9/12/2012

Customer review by LoveTheGreatValues

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by LoveTheGreatValues
by LoveTheGreatValues

Great price and so convenient to order from Walmart along with other baking needs. No special trips necessary! We go through a lot of sugar because we make our own bread/cakes/muffins/pies, etc., and this is good-quality stuff at an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveTheGreatValues
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/5/2013

Customer review by jellolady

1.0 stars 3/5/2013 by jellolady
by jellolady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Generally I am always satisfied with purchases on line, however it is not a good idea to purchase sugar on line. When I received my 10 lbs of sugar, the box was all in tact but the sugar had been places in a large zip lock bag and the original paper container was completely broken open and the sugar lay loose in the zip lock bag. Needless to say I was very disappointed and would not use the sugar. The problem was not the fault of the deliverer, the box was received in perfect condition. It was the fault of the packageing department. My suggestion is that you not sell sugar on line unless you can find a better way to package it for shipment.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jellolady
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Difference from Dixie Crystals
9/3/2013

Customer review by Kevyne

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Kevyne
by Kevyne

For making Southern iced tea, sugar by the truckload is needed for 1 gallon batches. So the price point of a 10lb bag for this makes each glass cost next to nothing. And to echo other reviews about shipping: two of these bags = 20lbs of sugar alone, they really need to be in their own box for shipment. Even better, tell us how many are in a case so we can order the case itself to be shipped -- cases are already boxed and some shrink wrapped, making it 10x easier to ship and even getting into your home's door. These 50lb throw-everything-together boxes -- with crushed contents -- need to go. I'd pay a $5 boxing fee if I can get boxes in 20-30lb increments. I'm a middle aged woman, not a She-hulk. :/

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevyne
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value Sugar
10/26/2015

Customer review by Nanienana

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Nanienana
by Nanienana

We use a lot of sugar in this house so buying it in the 10 lb. bag is a great convenience. It is Very good sugar, since I lived above the cane fields in Hawaii for many years, I think I know sugar.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanienana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price and great product!
10/28/2015

Customer review by Abbie

5.0 stars 10/28/2015 by Abbie
by Abbie

I am a constant baker and this is always used for all of my baking. Just finished making popcorn balls for Halloween.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better Value
10/27/2015

Customer review by SusieLou

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by SusieLou
by SusieLou

You get more for your money buying a ten pound bag of sugar than the four pound bags.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SusieLou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great valve
10/26/2015

Customer review by AussieBindi

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by AussieBindi
by AussieBindi

We love this sugar great value for the sweet tea drinkers in the family

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AussieBindi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product at a reasonable price
10/26/2015

Customer review by Kimberly

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Kimberly
by Kimberly

reasonable price and product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimberly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good price - Good product
11/18/2012

Customer review by Amalie

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Amalie
by Amalie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nothing beats the affordable price of a good product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amalie
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10# sugar
1/14/2014

Customer review by Phaedraphortyseven

2.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Phaedraphortyseven
by Phaedraphortyseven
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Normally when I order sugar, I get it in the five pound bag, this time I thought I would get the 10 lb. bag. This one did not come inside a clear plastic bag like the five pound bags of sugar do, so a bit of the sugar escaped into the box, and then onto my floor. In little lumps of sugar all over my carpet! Other than that, this is a good deal. Don't know why this bag of sugar was not double bagged in a clear plastic ziplock bag.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phaedraphortyseven
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
2/8/2014

Customer review by GypsyALB

1.0 stars 2/8/2014 by GypsyALB
by GypsyALB

Usually, these are put in a ziploc bag. This time they were not, so sugar was all over inside the box and on everything else. Also, this time most of the sugar was rock hard and had to be almost reground to pour out of the sack it is in. When one pays this much for sugar, you do not expect it to be hard and have to be almost reground.... Normally I am quite happy with my orders from here, but not this time on this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GypsyALB
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
10/22/2015

Customer review by mages

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by mages
by mages

This item is a good value for the price and saves trips to the store

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mages
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More care needs to be taken when shipping!
6/15/2014

Customer review by Tudek

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Tudek
by Tudek

Delivery speed was excellent, but the bags were not inside Ziploc bags (usually they are) and they opened up and I lost at least a pound of product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tudek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received next day
3/21/2014

Customer review by GoodNews124

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by GoodNews124
by GoodNews124
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered and received item next day that's really great. price is really low and we save more for groceries at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodNews124
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good sugar
9/22/2015

Customer review by Frosty

4.0 stars 9/22/2015 by Frosty
by Frosty

Sugar is sugar. Some sugar is pure white, no specks or any imperfections. This is just sugar, not perfect, but sugar none the less. A black speck here and there; some small yellowish clumps of 5 to 15 grains; sometimes a small fuzzy piece of paper bag. But like I said, sugar is sugar.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frosty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews