Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 173 reviews
5 stars
99
4 stars
34
3 stars
20
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
Sort by: 
1-20 of 170 reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
Very messy..
10/20/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Am a missing something? Such as a piece I should of kept? I like the makeup, but I shouldn't have this terrible mess every time I open it. It gets everywhere and I have to brush it off the counter to use it. I try shaking it back it, but not that easy. There's nothing to keep it from coming through the holes when it's in your makeup bag. Bare minerals has a salt shaker style slide in theirs and so much better. Please do something about this, love the makeup but not purchasing next time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than bareMinerals who cares about container
8/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am shocked at the superb quality of these minerals. Yes, the container is stupid, but the contents exceed the quality of bareMinerals for a tiny fraction of the price (buy it online by the way -- it's $3 more at my store but I couldn't make myself wait!). And you will likely find your color match. There are a number of shades that should work even for a good percentage of women of color -- a rarity for mass market drugstore brands. The coverage is excellent and your skin will appear poreless with a single coat if you do what the pros do -- pounce, pounce, pounce straight up and down with the minerals to ram them into your pores, then buff with the brush. I was positive I needed the Sun Beige to match my complexion, but I didn't want to wait for that, either, so I bought Creamy Natural and it blended perfectly. Now -- about that container. First, the good news. The 'cheap' brush isn't that bad. It's not as fine as my separately purchased sable brushes, but it's not too stiff or scratch and for convenience sake, I'll probably use it. The packaging is indeed poorly designed. I thought I could shake some minerals into the clear lid and use it for swirling but the brush isn't long enough for that. Still, before I start transferring the product from one container to another I'll try covering some of the holes in the plastic powder screen with tape. Let's be honest -- loose minerals are messy, no matter how you carry them. On the other hand, good minerals that provide adequate coverage and plenty of pigment don't need to be touched up nearly as often as other types of makeup. You can swim in them, even sleep in them and you'll still have some coverage the next morning, without breaking out in zits. Granted, it would be nice to be able to do touch-ups without making a mess. I will probably order more of these minerals online and mix them with pressing binder for $2.50 from TKB trading (a super-cheap but very good online make your own makeup site). You can then mix the makeup into a paste and press it into a different container, flattening it out with a (clean) coin. But read the site reviews of the pressing liquid before using it -- you only need a drop or two and it goes by weight. Add too much, and you'll have a mess fit only for the trash. (If you don't want to bother, they also sell all kinds of empty containers. It's a very fun DIY site -- kind of addicting, figuring out the ingredients of your favorite MAC primer and seeing if you can mix up a vat of the stuff for a couple of dollars!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My favorite everyday foundation
9/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best natural-looking foundation I've ever had. Super fast and easy to apply. Very buildable. Great for hot, sweaty weather. Best with a quality primer(I use LOREAL Studio Secrets™ Professional Magic Perfecting Base), but still beautiful without. Easy to touch-up. Feels so light on the skin. Easily covers my acne without looking cakey. So far, doesn't seem to cause breakouts like many of my other foundations have. Only complaints: 1. The brush that it comes with sucks and actually kind of hurts my skin. I just use a $6 e.l.f. Ultimate Blending Brush instead- works great. 2. It is a powder, so there is fallout from the brush when applying. Careful with your clothes. 3. Keep the container upright- don't put it in your bag etc. or it will pour excessive product into the top portion, which is messy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Favorite face powder
9/1/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love this foundation/ powder for the summer. It covers nicely and is so light. I live in humid Florida so during the summer it doesn't run when I sweat. I always have this in a couple shades on me. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Help
8/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just purchased this product and can't wait to try it out. The only problem that I am having is I can't figure out how to open the container to release the powder! I figure the base with the dots has to have a clear plastic lid but for the life of me I cannot remove it. I am 70 yrs old and this has never happened before.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had all but given up on mineral foundation before I tried this one! It is the perfect combonation of lightweight feel, natural finish, and surprisingly good coverage. My skin is combination, more oily in summer and dry in winter, and I can wear this year round! Just use a little moisturizer, silicone primer, and under eye concealer first for flawless, natural look. I only gave it 4 stars because, while the little baby kabuki brush could be convenient for travel, the rest of the time it just gets in the way and the packaging is a bit bulky because of it. Honestly, the brush doesn't work that well either and I think it may actually be a deterant to someone who is new to this product and doesn't know or have a better brush to use. Even a great product needs the right tool! Maybe they could take off the brush, make the packaging more compact (possibly smaller "sifter" holes too???) and even sell a better, seperate brush specifically for the mineral line! Either way, it's still a great mineral foundation!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love ❤️
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am in love with this product! I have been using it for a very long time. Definitely matches my skin tone perfectly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too dark!
7/29/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the w1-w2 shade of this makeup, since that shade is perfect for me in Loreal True Match liquid makeup. However, when I applied the powder I noticed that my face looked much more tan than my neck, and I looked somewhat orange. I love how the powder feels but unfortunately, it is too dark for my super pale skin even in its lightest shade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The BEST powder foundation
7/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this product for years and absolutely LOVE it! I have very acne prone skin and this does a great job of covering blemishes and scars, while remaining lightweight and breathable. I personally really like the packaging, it is super convenient to have the brush attached.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product, terrible packaging
7/1/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted to get a powder foundation for the summer because I have really shiny skin. I would give it 5 stars because it's a great product - it goes on evenly, covers blemishes really well and it's not too cakey. The problem is the terrible packaging! The brush that is attached to the cap it too short to reach the powder when you tap it into the lid. You can tap out powder into the lid and then transfer it back, but there's no room to swirl and tap the powder without making a huge mess. Thankfully, I have my own brush that I can use that reaches all the way into the lid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very difficult application
7/10/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product a few months ago. The actual powder is not bad but the application is nearly impossible. The applicator is very poorly designed and I have seen more powder on my bathroom counter, sink and clothes than on my face. It has been the most frustrating experience I have had with a similar product in the past 15 years. I have wasted at least 3/4 of the product. Very dissatisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Find the positive in this product
5/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have the most sensitive skin there is and this product works fantastic for me. I fall in between two shades so I mix them in a separate container. I cleaned and repurposed a makeup remover wipe container with a lid and it works perfectly. You can just dispense a the amount needed in the lid and swirl and buff on as usual with whatever brush you like. I think that is a worthy remedy to the concerns people have with the packaging, just put the product in another container, with a lid. I would hate to see people on the fence forgo this product because of the packaging. The foundation has a beautiful finish and causes no breakouts, as far as I can tell. Plus it's talc free, which is rare and a huge bonus in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful and Great Product
7/11/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is and has everything that I ever wanted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
meh
6/25/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this a month ago because the SPF was an attractive feature. However the packing is less than ideal. you waste product and the brush isn't good quality. if I use the brush provided, you can see a silvery sheen where the make up is. if i use my own brush it looks better, but the product has a strange smell. i won't buy it again
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best!!
5/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have been using this for several years and love it. Originally I bought this because it has much less mica than other brands but now I wouldn't switch. And, I love the packaging. It's so convenient to have the brush right there. After tipping the jar upside down, turn it right side up and tap the cover so any make up in the cover falls back into the jar. After removing the cover, if there's too much make up in the well, just tap the sides of the jar so it falls back down through the holes. I've never had a problem with it being messy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I can't find this anymore
6/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to absolutely love this foundation.... it was perfect coverage, buildable for the days you need a little more coverage, or just a light dusting to even out your skin tone for a more natural look. It lasted for hours, never looking greasy or cakey. And the built in sunscreen was an added plus. My only complaint is I can no longer find it on the drugstore shelves. I live in Canada - has it been discontinued here? If so, why?? Bring it back, please!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Been using this from the start
5/24/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This foundation is great to add color to your face which is important to a pale person like me especially during the summer. It is great and light weight on the face and holds up well over several hours. Although the packaging does lead to wasting a lot of the product when trying to put some powder on the brush.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Flawless Finish
3/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this foundation! Coverage is great! Sometimes I wear it over my liquid foundation for a little more coverage. (You can also apply as little or as much of the mineral foundation for more coverage as well.) I admit that application is a little tricky, but after using it so often, I'm having no problem dispensing the powder to the brush. Using it properly helps conserve the product.) I just put the brush on top of the upright jar. Tip the bottle with brush upside down and give the jar a shake up and down and it dispenses just the right amount. No wasting. If you get too much on the brush, just swirl it on the top of the jar to remove the extra. Can't go without this product! So natural looking!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/18/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been an Aveda inner light mineral dual foundation user for years, but decided to give L'Oreal True Match Naturale Mineral Foundation a try. It was half the price of the Aveda brand and since I have been a L'Oreal makeup lover for years I decided to try L'Oreal True Match Naturale Mineral Foundation. I absolutely loved the flawless coverage it provided, the staying power and natural look of this mineral makeup was wonderful. I have only one complaint about this product. If I get flushed (from drinking wine or eating something spicy) my skin gets irritated. After researching the ingredients I learned that it contains Bismuth Oxychloride which can irritate some peoples skin, including mine. I was so disappointed, because I loved the way the product made my skin look naturally flawless. I would love it if L'Oreal would please remove Bismuth Oxychloride from their products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Ride or Die Powder Foundation
5/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was turned on to this by a friend about 6 years ago and haven't looked back since. This gives me AMAZING coverage, wears all day long, and doesn't make my face look cakey one bit. Would recommend this to people with Normal - Oily skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643949, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-