Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
1-20 of 83 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
3/29/2016

Customer review by Dianna DLT

5.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Dianna DLT
by Dianna DLT

This mascara is no longer available at my nearby stores and I was devastated. I'm a mascara kinda girl and I've tried many. ..but this is the best formula ever!!! The newer version of the double extend didn't fill the original "shoes". This mascara gives you length, you can add as many coats of the white mascara to give you as much as you disire. Then you put on your mascara on top and bam, you have great long eyelashes. I can even curl my eyelashes without having residue on my cheeks from flaky mascara... please never discontinue this product!!! I'm so glad glad I can purchase online!!!

Dianna DLT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/26/2015

Customer review by Lighthouse

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Lighthouse
by Lighthouse

I do not understand. Why do they discontinue good products they could make good money on? Please bring this mascara back. You still have it in the regular mascara why would you discontinue it in the waterproof? Please Please bring it back. Please bring it back to your local Walmarts! If not at least have it on the internet to buy. I spent years looking for a good mascara. I am sure people would be willing to pay more even!

Lighthouse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/18/2015

Customer review by LOW 42

5.0 stars 4/18/2015 by LOW 42
by LOW 42

This was the best mascara on the market, hands down! The unique conditioning/ fortifying feature was a perfect combination with waterproofing to give your eyes the longest length possible. Kept eyelashes curled, no clumps or smudges, lasted all day. Nothing compared! Like many others, I am disappointed in the discontinuation of such a fine product! I've tried their new beauty tube formula that has the fortifier, but haven't found in in waterproof. Non waterproof is awful and I returned it in good conscience. I've been a loyal L'oreal customer for many years, buying many products. I'm afraid to say that may not be the case in the near future. Go back to the original formula, L'oreal or make a new product quickly, that can hold a candle to it!

LOW 42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/25/2015

Customer review by CLAUDIA SPOONER

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by CLAUDIA SPOONER
by CLAUDIA SPOONER

THIS IS THE BEST WATERPROOF MASCARA EVER.. I AM A COMPETITIVE IRONMAN ATHLETE AND HONESTLY WISH YOU WOULD BRING THIS FORMULA BACK, IT'S HANDS DOWN THE BEST ON THE MARKET… YOURE OTHER PRODUCTS DONT COMPARE, AND NEITHER DOES LANCOME. THIS PRODUCT HAS STAYED ON FOR OVER 7,000 METERS IN THE POOL MULTIPLE TIMES AND EVERY IRONMAN DISTANCE RACE AND TRIATHLON I HAVE DONE AS WELL AS ANY TOHER RACE, IT DOESNT SWEAT OFF EITHER AND STAY ON PERFECTLY AT NIGHT TO SWIM THE NEXT DAY. PLEASE BRING THIS BACK!!!

CLAUDIA SPOONER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/1/2015

Customer review by DOOMEDforRACCOONeyes

5.0 stars 7/1/2015 by DOOMEDforRACCOONeyes
by DOOMEDforRACCOONeyes

This is the only mascara I love!!! I do not wear much makeup but I definitely use mascara! You or any other company does not have a product to compare to this! So very disappointed that you have discontinued. Why must you take a product off the shelves and put out much inferior products? I have to admit I like trying new stuff, but nothing compares! I would have stocked up, if I would have known! I recommend this to so many people and it was the one product I could get anywhere in the world I lived/travelled. Please bring it back! You know not another single product can withstand going to the lake or a wedding or a funeral? I have done all three in a matter of days and I was the only one without raccoon eyes!!! :)

DOOMEDforRACCOONeyes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/18/2014

Customer review by Amber G

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Amber G
by Amber G

This is by FAR my FAVORITE mascara! Having a good tube of mascara is the most essential part of my beauty routine.This mascara stays where i put it for the long term. I have gone on weekend road trips and flights to Europe using, and I never once had raccoon eyes or that "second day" effect. I has been my favorite for two years, and will without a doubt be life long customer. This has recently been taken out of stores near me, so I tried a few other similar products by L'oreal Paris (the new Double Extend in the red tube) and other brands. Nothing has compared yet! I've now turned to the website to buy it, because every other mascara just leaves me frustrated while I try to apply it or while wiping it away later in the day.

Amber G
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/5/2014

Customer review by Lulu LaReux

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Lulu LaReux
by Lulu LaReux

BEST. MASCARA. EVER!!!! Like many of you, I'd been on the hunt for a solid mascara that make my very short, very sparse lashes look full AND lush. I found this mascara several years ago and never looked back! Easy to apply and comes clean with an oil-based eye makeup remover. The brush has plenty of bristles to allow for deposit AND application of the base AND color coats. I have no trouble easily achieving LONG LENGTH and LUSH FULLNESS every day! Sadly, it seems that most of my local stores have very recently stopped carrying this particular mascara. Why does this always happen???!!?? My guess is it's being traded out for a few new mascaras L'Oreal is coming out with. So now I'm stuck buying my favorite mascara online.

Lulu LaReux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/6/2015

Customer review by MarianKay

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by MarianKay
by MarianKay

I've used this mascara for years! I've never even considered using anything else. It's the perfect mix... the top base coat made my lashes longer & the thickness of the brush helped separate the lashes. Just gave an overall fullness and length to my lashes. I was very upset to see that the waterproof has been discontinued. When I noticed it disappearing from stores, I was buying as many as I could!

MarianKay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/22/2015

Customer review by Disappointed111

5.0 stars 2/22/2015 by Disappointed111
by Disappointed111

I see ALOT of posts with concerns of the discontinuation of a very popular mascara. Very loved, especially by me. I've been using this mascara for at least 7 years and now, I have been searching for this mascara for 8 months and have not been able to find it. It was a godsend for this nurse and contact lens wearer. This mascara was absolutely perfect! When I seen that stores were running low, I purchased at least 14 tubes and now they are all out. I'm a HUGE representative for Loreal, I couldn't even count the number of people, I have turned on to this product and many others. There is NOT one day that goes by that someone asks me, "What kind of mascara do you use? Your eyelashes are beautiful!" That has stopped now. I am so so disappointed, I have used probably 10 other Loreal mascaras, but have wasted money. For NONE of them do the job as waterproof DoubleExtend. The 'replacement' is not good at all for me, I can actually tell the primer is a different formula. I have since switched ALL my make-up to Revlon. It broke my heart to do because I was a very loyal customer and other customers looked to me for advice on products. If your company only knew the impact I have on women based on their make-up decisions. I take ALOT of pride in my appearance. This is a travesty. Literally.

Disappointed111
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/8/2015

Customer review by KristenR

5.0 stars 3/8/2015 by KristenR
by KristenR

My holy grail item! This is THE ONLY mascara I have EVER found that I like. The reason being, it holds my curl! I have incredibly straight eyelashes and this mascara is pretty much like glue for them! All other mascaras don't hold the shape my eyelash curler creates, within seconds they are straight again. I'm not kidding when I say I have been using this mascara for at least 4 years. People ask me all the time if I'm wearing false eyelashes. Although, when I buy a new tube, I do take it apart and let it "dry out" for a day or so, because the formula can be a little too wet at first, but after that it's perfect! I curl my eyelashes, put a coat of the primer on it and let it dry for a couple minutes. Then I wiggle the black wand through my eyelashes and let dry. And if I really want to add some volume, I'll apply another coat. It gets only a tiny bit clumpy, which is to be expected and I use a wand from a cleaned out mascara that has bristles for defining eyelashes to get rid of the clumps. The only complaint I have about this mascara is that I can not find it anywhere!! Ulta, drugstore.com, Walmart, Target, etc. On the website it shows that a CVS has some in stock near me, so fingers crossed! I really hope L'Oreal never gets rid of this mascara as I know it is one of their older mascaras.

KristenR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/8/2015

Customer review by Disappointed in FL

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by Disappointed in FL
by Disappointed in FL

WHY, WHY, WHY did you discontinue this product???? I have tried EVERY waterproof mascara on the market & this one was by far the best out there! The primer makes a night & day difference & add it to the waterproof & eyes will look fantastic all day! I have tried your other mascaras & they just do not measure up in my book. Extremely disappointed!

Disappointed in FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/5/2015

Customer review by Disappointed Lisa

1.0 stars 5/5/2015 by Disappointed Lisa
by Disappointed Lisa

What a huge disappointment to discover you chose to discontinue the BEST product of all time. I cannot understand why you would stop making this product and are not even considering bringing it back after reading all of the comments where people are practically begging you to. It's a shame you don't listen to the people that actually use your products. I WAS a completely loyal L'Oreal customer up until you decided to discontinue this amazing product and offer nothing even half way comparable, as I have tried ALL of the other Double Extend mascaras you currently offer. Unfortunately I am now forced to reach out to other cosmetic companies. :'(

Disappointed Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/7/2015

Customer review by Yarne679

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Yarne679
by Yarne679

I don't know why you would stop making this product when I see it gets some of the highest reviews on your website. This was an awesome product and I used it for at least the last 10 plus years. The replacement product is by far much inferior to this one.

Yarne679
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/10/2015

Customer review by Mrs Riza

5.0 stars 4/10/2015 by Mrs Riza
by Mrs Riza

I am very, very upset that this mascara has been discontinued. Nothing works as good as it did. It took me years and years of trying mascaras to finally find this one. It was the only one that held my lashes up in place. Every other mascara makes the curl fall out and straight. Everything else I have tried now that it's no longer available does not work, my lashes change the entire look of my face and I no longer look my best because L'Oréal discontinued their best product. Had I known, I would have bought a lifetime supply when I had the chance. Please, please bring it back. I will freely promote it to everyone I know. Thank you.

Mrs Riza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/12/2014

Customer review by La Tonya Boike

5.0 stars 12/12/2014 by La Tonya Boike
by La Tonya Boike

This is the best mascara I have ever used. I am a breast cancer survivor for 6 years. When I was taking treatment this was the only mascara I could wear and it helped my lashes not fall out. After treatment, my eyelashes got thin, but because I was careful and used this mascara, they did not completely fall out. They also grew back super fast compared to others in my breast cancer group. As you can imagine, I'm very upset that it has been discontinued. Could you please reconsider or offer a suggestion for a replacement in your new line? I have tried most of the new mascara's you currently offer, but they do not work as well. Thank you for your consideration.

La Tonya Boike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/7/2015

Customer review by Chantelly

5.0 stars 3/7/2015 by Chantelly
by Chantelly

I have used this mascara ever since I was 15, I am now 26 have used every mascara on the market and this is the only one that keeps my very straight eyelashes curled and very full. I'm so disappointed not just because it's been discounted, but because I have wasted a lot of time, gas and money trying to locate And replace this mascara. I have literally gone to every store in my area that carries cosmetics even tried purchasing online. I have bought a new mascara every day. I have used every water proof mascara offered by L'Oreal, Cover-girl, Rimmel, Revlon and Clinique none have come close to the double extended. So disappointed...

Chantelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/29/2014

Customer review by jkcain439

1.0 stars 11/29/2014 by jkcain439
by jkcain439

I'm not sure how to rate this mascara because I love it but can't buy it anywhere. I found it in 2003 and have been using it ever since. I buy at least one per month, so I've purchased about 150 tubes of this over the last 11 years. Needless to say, I cannot live without it. Now, as of October 2014, I cannot find it in any store. All the sudden every place I purchase it is "out of stock." You can't even buy it online. I used the "find a location near me" to look for it, and visited every single place listed and it is not in any of the stores. I've been searching for it for about six weeks now, and can't find it. Has it been discontinued?

Comment from - 12/1/2014

We are sorry to tell you that this mascara has been discontinued. As consumers ourselves, we understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product is no longer offered. Since it is discontinued, you may want to check out Double Extend Beauty Tubes. Although, it's not an exact replacement, we believe it has some of the same remarkable qualities. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you find this information helpful.

jkcain439
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/24/2015

Customer review by Oodles of Poodles

5.0 stars 4/24/2015 by Oodles of Poodles
by Oodles of Poodles

"Say it ain’t so”… Really…Big Mistake! You are discontinuing one of the greatest mascaras ever made?! I know companies have that ‘drive' to continually change things, whether it is for the better, or not. ( I recall another great product you discontinued “Dream Blonde” Hair color). “Great Lash” is still around because it is a good mascara and still has a following. I tried Great Lash and it does not compare to this mascara!!! Come on now, please reassess this. I have used this mascara since it originally came out. My eyes have always been a major focal point for me and I have gotten tons of complements wearing this mascara. It makes my lashes so incredibly long and does not flake or 'glob up'. Other waterproof mascaras I have tried do flake and I am including some of yours in that statement. I love the primer. None like it either. I wear contacts and have allergies and this mascara has never flaked and infected my eyes, as others have, when teary eyed, in all the years I have worn it. I have tried so many others over the years , expensive too, thinking just maybe, it would be even better than this. All were one time purchases, worn mostly just one time. I always went back to this one. Recently, when I could not find this in stores anymore, I tried soooo many other mascaras and none compared to this mascara. It is just ‘crazy' to discontinue this one. Please, reconsider this decision.

Oodles of Poodles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2015

Customer review by HoustonGirl

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by HoustonGirl
by HoustonGirl

This has been my mascara for YEARS and I cannot believe you would discontinue the only great mascara made. Nothing compares to this and it's the ONLY thing I can find to make my nonexistent lashes look like I actually have some. Please bring this mascara back ASAP! Now I have to try to find a comparable mascara with a completely different company because the other ones you make don't even come close to this. Please listen to your loyal customers who are all begging you to bring this mascara back.

HoustonGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/27/2015

Customer review by So sad

1.0 stars 1/27/2015 by So sad
by So sad

Once again I have been disappointed by Loreal in discontinuing yet another fine product. I started using this mascara when the lash out waterproof was discontinued. I have very short, thin lashes but like the waterproof lash out, this mascara would thicken AND lengthen without clumping or flaking. In the last two weeks I have tried 6 different mascaras ( four of them Loreal ) and cannot find any that even come close. I am so very very VERY disappointed. I have switched to Covergirl for both my mascara as well as my eye shadow needs. Too bad. I could have been a Loreal lifer.

Comment from - 1/28/2015

We're sorry your favorite mascara was discontinued. We value your opinion and would like to speak with you directly about the other mascaras you have tried. Give us a call @ 800.322.2036 M-F 9a-5:30p ET and give the advisor answering your call the ref # 7689338. We hope to speak with you soon!

So sad
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews