Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 108 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Best Mascara On the Market
1/28/2017

Customer review by kalphs

5.0 stars 1/28/2017 by kalphs
by kalphs

Last fall, after experiencing an allergic reaction and lash loss from a drug store mascara, I began the search for a new mascara. After reading the online reviews, I decided to purchase Loreal's Voluminous Waterproof Mascara in Black Brown. Having been a faithful follower of a particular department store brand, I was skeptical any other mascara would come close. Pleasantly, I discovered I was wrong. Voluminous colors and conditions your lashes at the same time. The Voluminous Waterproof Mascara is definitely waterproof! It stays on until you take it off. The only negative comment I have about the waterproof version is there is a slight scent to the mascara. Within a week of using this mascara, I saw new lash growth appearing where my lashes had fallen out. I have been using Voluminous for the past three months and love it! Recently, I purchased a tube of the department store brand to compare with Voluminous. In the end, Voluminous was the winner hands down!

kalphs
,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
NOT WATERPROOF
10/2/2016

Customer review by Robin McCullough

1.0 stars 10/2/2016 by Robin McCullough
by Robin McCullough

This is not a waterproof mascara, do not waste your money. By mid day I have black mascara all under my eyes.

Comment from - 10/4/2016

Hi! We are sorry to hear about your experience with our Voluminous Waterproof mascara. We'd like to help. Give us a call at 888.448.9617 M - F 9am-5:30pm EST. Please provide reference number #1584826.

Robin McCullough
Waynesboro Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Gender:Female
Good for the price
8/14/2016

Customer review by Sioux city sue

4.0 stars 8/14/2016 by Sioux city sue
by Sioux city sue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been buying this mascara as it is reasonable in both quality and price and i can get it in brown/black and waterproof. Doesn't clump too much.

Sioux city sue
BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/1/2016

Customer review by ArielSwimmer

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by ArielSwimmer
by ArielSwimmer

I teach swim lessons a do not like teaching without mascara. I have tried so many waterproof mascara's that did not survive while in the water. This has been the ONLY mascara that holds up! However, it dries out ridiculously fast. I feel like I have to purchase a new one every two weeks. And I am very careful not to put the wand in and out a bunch of times so I do not push more air into the tube.

ArielSwimmer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/14/2015

Customer review by Elizabeth Jean

1.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Elizabeth Jean
by Elizabeth Jean

I figured a waterproof mascara would be a wise purchase with summer here as well as that I work out just about everyday. Unfortunately I came to find that not only does this mascara run, it some how runs even more so than my non-waterproof mascara that I had been using (miss manga). Despite the fact that this mascara ends up all over my eyelids and under eye area, I cannot seem to remove it with any sort of substance-makeup remover, oil, etc. On top of all of this, I feel as though it does not do anything at all for my eyelashes; it doesn't lengthen, or thicken them, however I will say, it holds a curl. Really disappointed in the product.

Comment from - 7/1/2015

We're sorry that you were disappointed with this mascara. We'd like to help. Please call us at 800-322-2036 M-F 9 am - 5:30 pm and provide rep answering with reference #244221. We look forward to your call.

Elizabeth Jean
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/14/2015

Customer review by Sarah Somon

1.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Sarah Somon
by Sarah Somon

I bought the Hydrofuge Voluminous Waterproof Mascara a few weeks ago and I was very disappointed! It left smudges on my skin when applied it on the lower eye lashes! I'm French and I work for a high end French retail store in NYC and I always have to look BCBG . I was quiet annoyed when it happened the first time! I at first thought it was coming from the eye pencil but then I tried the Mascara without eye pencil and got the same result! I do not recommend this product!!!

Sarah Somon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big Disappointment
1/30/2012

Customer review by 1Dish

1.0 stars 1/30/2012 by 1Dish
by 1Dish

When I couldn't find my longtime favorite, L'Oreal Lash Out, in my local stores, I tried this mascara. It was a waste of money. It looked good when first applied, but it smudged under my eyes under indoor, dry conditions. It was also nearly impossible to remove, even with L'Oreal's waterproof eye make-up remover! I would wake up with black under my eyes the next morning even after removing all I could with the remover the night before. I threw this mascara away. Wish I'd gotten my money back.

1Dish
Soldotna,AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/18/2013

Customer review by S W T

1.0 stars 4/18/2013 by S W T
by S W T

I have used L'Oreal waterproof mascara for the past 20 years because it's the only brand that's truly waterproof. This mascara goes on silky smooth and clump-free but not only is it NOT waterproof, it is nowhere near the standards of L'Oreal waterproof. Within an hour of putting it on, I had black smudges under my eyes. I had to take a second (and third and fourth) look at the tube to make sure I really bought the waterproof version. Do not buy this if you really need a waterproof mascara.

S W T
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/4/2013

Customer review by MariaD243

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by MariaD243
by MariaD243

I really don't understand why there are so many negative reviews. This stuff is incredible!!!!! I saw a few of the people I follow on Youtube mention it so I finally tried it out a few months ago. This mascara makes my lashes super full and long. It looks like I am wearing false eyelashes. The first time I ever wore it to work a co-worker actually noticed how long my lashes looked. If you haven't tried this out it is worth a shot!! I honestly can't say enough about this product!

MariaD243
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smudges in Humidity
5/16/2011

Customer review by Chicon

3.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Chicon
by Chicon

I was hoping for a waterproof mascara that would hold up to heat and humidity. This may not be the best choice for that. I get smudges at the outer corners within three hours. And I find that my upper and lower lashes stick together when wearing this mascara, even though I don't wear mascara on my lower lashes. Yet even though it smudges pretty early in the day, it is pretty impossible to remove, even with oil based remover. If you live in a dry climate, give it a try.

Chicon
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/29/2013

Customer review by kjb08

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by kjb08
by kjb08

This is the best and only mascara I use. I used to use Diorshow Mascara, but Loreal Voluminous Waterproof Mascara in Carbon Black is the best. It has the best brush to make lashes look luscious and full. Even though I use waterproof, it does not break my lashes and it is also very easy to remove with makeup remover. Lashes do not look clumpy-they look very natural and healthy. Works in only one coat, but you can coat more than once for a more dramatic look for night.

kjb08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsome
12/24/2015

Customer review by Hitopabc123

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Hitopabc123
by Hitopabc123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this at a great price works great a great name for tiny price think I paid 6.99

Hitopabc123
Barrie, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
water-ski proof
7/13/2010

Customer review by Kristen

3.0 stars 7/13/2010 by Kristen
by Kristen

I generally don't buy cosmetics not given a high rating by Beautypedia, but I really like this mascara. It's not clumpy at all and it's so waterproof, I can be a little vain at the pool and even being pulled behind a boat. One drawback is that I keep leaving it in a hot/cold car (by accident) and it gets so thick and clumpy I have to buy more. Another is that it comes in way too much packaging--like all L'Oreal mascaras.

Kristen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/12/2013

Customer review by Flordelis

1.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Flordelis
by Flordelis

I bought this mascara thinking it would be better for the beach since it was supposed to be waterproof. I was wrong. This formula did not add volume to my eyelashes. Even worse, I had smudges under my eyes, like a raccoon. It seemed that the mascara never fully dried. I used it when I travelled to a tropical country during my vacation and it DID NOT work at all. Major disappointment. I will return it back to the store.

Flordelis
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT WATERPROOF!
4/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I usually use original waterproof voluminous mascara, but was looking for something that goes on a little thicker from the beginning of use. Although the coverage and fullness is good, to claim that this is waterproof is ridiculous. By the middle of the day I would have black smudges and flaking all over my eyes below my eyebrow. Also, if I would throw water on my face I would look like a racoon after I dried my face.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Money out the window
6/29/2010

Customer review by Infohound

1.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Infohound
by Infohound

If I could give this a -5, I would. I love Loreal products and was excited about trying this "waterproof" mascara. It goes on great and makes my lashes look beautiful. But within 45 minutes I look like I am going goth. It's embarrassing. Surely waterproof would not run so bad. Did I get a bad batch? But I cannot risk spending more money on another Loreal mascara and end up with the same quality. It's a real shame.

Infohound
Would recommend to a friend? No
They call this Waterproof?
12/12/2009

Customer review by Kate601

2.0 stars 12/12/2009 by Kate601
by Kate601

I have used Voluminous Waterproof Mascara before and loved it. A week or so ago I purchased Voluminous Carbon Black Waterproof. I had racoon eyes in just a few hours (My eyes are dry and I tend to blink alot). When I got home I double checked the tube to make sure I didn't inadvertently purchase the wrong mascara. Nope, it's says waterproof. It's not waterproof, smudge-proof or anything proof. Very disappointed.

Kate601
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/27/2015

Customer review by inrick

1.0 stars 10/27/2015 by inrick
by inrick

This is probably one of the worst mascara's that I have ever used. I accidentally bought the waterproof and have only been using it for about 3 weeks and the brush is already clumped up. I would not recommend it nor buy it again. It was a complete waste of money!!

inrick
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/11/2015

Customer review by Leah B

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Leah B
by Leah B

This is the best mascara I have ever tried. I went from the cheapest mascara to the most expensive, and nothing really caught my eye. After trying this particular kind, I was amazed. My lashes have amazing volume and it looks like I have false eye lashes on. I no longer need to change mascara brands, which makes me happy.

Leah B
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/25/2013

Customer review by Helen381

1.0 stars 6/25/2013 by Helen381
by Helen381

I hate it this mascara! I bought it because of all the hype. It's very wet for a waterproof mascara. I only buy waterproof because its the only formula that keeps my poker straight Asian lashes curled all day. With this one after I curled my lashes & applied this on, it weighed it down straight and its very clumpy too. I hate it, I will be taking this back to get my money back.

Helen381
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews