Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 136 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

136 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
37
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
Very Good Aquarium Filter!
7/2/2009

Customer review by Biscuitball

5.0 stars by Biscuitball

Bought this power filter to go with our kids 5 gallon fish tank and it has worked perfectly for almost 4 months now. Easy to clean and keeps the tank perfectly oxygenized. We change the filter once every two weeks, and have maintained a very clean tank. Tip: Buy the filters in a multi-pack and you will save more money. Very happy with this aquarium filter and recommend it to others!

Was this review helpful? (100) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Biscuitball
Betsy Layne, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verry GREAT
1/18/2010

Customer review by BallPlayer1112

5.0 stars by BallPlayer1112

i have had my filter for 6 years and it still works great. i buy the same brand filter cartridge and it works great. all my friends have commented on how nice my tank looks and how sanatized it looked

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BallPlayer1112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
plain and simple
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars by cbeans

This is the 1st filter I ever bought. I used it on a cooler to keep bait fish in ;) It's been in an aquarium now for 6 months and still works well. It will slow down after a month or two but just take it outside and spray the internals with a hose to restore the flow. I've tested the flow rate myself and seems to be very accurate. Great filter for a 10 gallon tank.

Was this review helpful? (55) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
8/19/2009

Customer review by fishhappy

5.0 stars by fishhappy

I have been using mine for well over year, and is still running strong. It keeps my 10 gallon tank very clean and every one always coments on how clean my tank is. They also always ask how often i have to clean it, and I always tell them hardly ever (like once a year). I do a water exchange once a month, but only a gallon.I also vaccume about every 3 months, also my tank is very over stocked (20+ fish). So for the price and quality I highly recomend this product oh dont forget to change the filters. hope you love it as much as I do.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fishhappy
spokane wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent filter for fry tanks!
10/3/2011

Customer review by TheKingCrabb

5.0 stars by TheKingCrabb

Key word in the summary was fry tanks. I've been using this filter for fry (baby fish) tanks for months now, and I absolutely love it! What many people fail to remember when buying a filter is that there are two, yes two, major factors. GPH rating, and water volume. This filter has 100GPH rating and that is almost perfect for a 20 gallon tank that will be holding fry (mine are Mbuna Cichlids). The fry have very little bio-load (aquarist's term for how much the fish poo) so the small water volume in this filter doesn't matter and it handles it quite well. Overall, I'd use this in a tank no larger than 20 gallons but no less than 10 gallons. It's small, fairly quiet, and is pretty darn inconspicuous. My one gripe? The intake. The intake tube (at least in mine) seems not to fit quite right. You can't just put it in and plug it in. You have to plug it in and kind of move the intake tube around a little bit before the water flow really starts - and it's some good water flow for a filter that size.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheKingCrabb
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, but confusing to get going.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Cheeseburgerz

4.0 stars by Cheeseburgerz

NOTE: IF YOUR FILTER IS NOT WORKING WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN, THERE IS A 90% CHANCE YOU DIDN'T PUT THE TUBE THAT GOES INTO THE TANK IN ALL THE WAY. After playing around with this thing for 30minutes, I pushed the tube in harder and it made a different, bubbly noise and next thing I know the water is flowing like it's supposed too. Make sure you prime the filter first by filling it with water!! And your tube is pushed in all the way before you complain!! Note I also have the old version of the filter, so it looks a little different but works the same.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cheeseburgerz
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy!
12/8/2013

Customer review by tommyoh02

5.0 stars by tommyoh02

I bought a GloFish aquarium kit that came with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter and my tank was really gross after a few weeks. After cleaning, it would go right back to being disgusting within a couple of days. I bought the Aquatech 5-15 for $11 and it has done wonders! It has a 3-stage filtering process and works 100% better for my 5 gallon tank. My fish and I are much happier now and I highly recommend AquaTech products over Tetra any day. Just remember to take care of the filter and clean it inside and out every 3-4 weeks to get the best results and life expectancy out of the product, I use a simple bottle brush and warm running water. Replacement filters are $7 for a 3-pack, which will last 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tommyoh02
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very unsatisfied!
6/21/2009

Customer review by sms1

1.0 stars by sms1

Product quit working only after four months! It should have lasted a lot longer! The quality of the product is poor! :(

Was this review helpful? (23) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sms1
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I bet is good but not for my conditions
11/13/2010

Customer review by raphievila

4.0 stars by raphievila

I bought a tetra aquarium that came with this filter. This because my wife won 4 beautiful common goldfish in a festival. I really didn't know the adventure and sacrifices I was about to face. Well first I bought a five gallons aquarium but a week later I had to invest in this 10 gallons aquarium. Still, it doesn't keep up with my sudden conditions. This filter moves only 90 gallons per hours (gph) while I'm needing at least 100 gph to keep a safe water quality for my goldfishes. I've read a couple of reviews and I'm not saying this is a bad filter at all, its good, I know because it keeps the water in neutral conditions for my fishes but right in the limits of neutrality. If you're buying this filter or came with your aquarium and you have more than two goldfishes I recommend to buy the 10-20 gallons one. That one moves at least 110 gph, perfect for your goldfishes. In general, the 5 to 10 gallons proved to be a good filter to even maintain my fishes alive. :) That's good!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
raphievila
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Satisfied for a short while!
7/23/2011

Customer review by ladyt1234

3.0 stars by ladyt1234

ive had this filter in my five gallon tank for about 3-4 months and it worked great. well all of the sudden it doesnt work anymore. it did and amazing job keeping the tank clean but this product should have lasted a lot longer!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ladyt1234
KENNEWICK WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't beat the price!
3/18/2009

Customer review by heresthetruth

3.0 stars by heresthetruth

I have had this filter for just over one month and it is doing an adequate job in my 10 gallon tank. I would not recommend this filter for a tank with a lot of fish, but is fine with the 5 medium sized African cichlids in the tank. You must be patient when starting the filter because it takes a long time for the initial flow of water to start. Cost of filter was $10.49, you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
heresthetruth
Putnam New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
verry good but a bit cheap
10/27/2010

Customer review by fish247

4.0 stars by fish247

I got this for my 10 gallon and have had it running with about 15 fish for about two months and my water has looked clear the whole time as if i have changed it every day. It stopped working so i took it apart and found the impeller to be filled with algae. So now, I clean it every week and it has worked fine. The lid is cheap though and the filters do not fit well. However, i love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fish247
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's cheap for a reason!
2/2/2012

Customer review by heyday28

1.0 stars by heyday28

I bought this filter today, and as soon as I put water in the back of it it started leaking! The water was coming out where the part with the electrical cord was put in and held with an "O" ring. Really?? Leaking out onto where the power cord is? That's just stupid. But I let it slide and went back and returned it and got the same filter...got it home and it too leaks in the same spot!! I was frustrated and gave up and decided not to waste another trip to Wal Mart so I used silicone sealant to help stop the water from leaking out the bottom. Well this problem was solved, but then as soon as I put the filter in water and turned it on (and YES I did everything correctly, I have had a fish tank for a long time and understand how the filter is set up), IT DIDN'T WORK! It made a noise like it was on but no water was circulating. I am really disappointed in this filter considering the other reviews weren't all that bad.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
heyday28
Would recommend to a friend? No
IS MADE in the U.S.A.
1/25/2014

Customer review by HankinSeattle

5.0 stars by HankinSeattle

Great Filter ! You can use the filter cartridges for several months by taking them outside and spraying them off with a garden hose every month. I use a 5-15 filter in our 20 gallon tank. Follow the instructions for periodic cleaning of the black housing and components and this filter will serve you long and well. Best of all?? It's Made in the U.S.A out of U.S.A components !

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HankinSeattle
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great filter for small 10 gallon aquariums.
1/6/2014

Customer review by Mfjfjfnfjfj

5.0 stars by Mfjfjfnfjfj

I recently purchased a small Tetra aquarium and it works great. The water is always crystal clear until after a month. The bio fibers really work well and keep debris out of the water. It is very easy to clean and take apart if you no what you are doing. Always buy a filter intake cleaner because some algae may form. It's quite and it's easy to maintain. It can also fit custom homemade bio bags that you can fill with carbon yourself. I have had my goldfish a little over a year so this product really removes the toxins out of the water.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mfjfjfnfjfj
Exeter, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totoally cleared the water in my 10 gal. aquarium
11/13/2013

Customer review by Sueka

5.0 stars by Sueka

The water cleared up within 1 day !! It's not as quiet as the Whisper filter but much more efficient.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sueka
Cedarburg, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent filter, but not above 10 gallons
6/17/2014

Customer review by Qquake

4.0 stars by Qquake

This filter is decent, but it's way too small for above 10 gallons. Other than that, it seems to work well, and I like the bio-cartridge it comes with. Changing the filter cartridges is easy-peazy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Qquake
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Too much
7/27/2009

Customer review by khibbar4

3.0 stars by khibbar4

This filter came in the 4 gallon aquarium kit I bought from a Walmart store (physically, not online). The tank holds one fish, my three year old betta, and the current produced by this filter was way too much for the size of the aquarium, as well as my fish, who struggled to swim and mainly rested in the corner farthest away from the filter. I suppose the product would probably work better in a larger aquarium, but I wanted to warn all those consumers who are looking at the Aqua Culture Size 5 aquarium kit that it might be better to just buy a tank and a smaller filter, such as the Tetra Whisper filters.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
khibbar4
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
New design is terrible - two out of box failures!!
3/17/2013

Customer review by Malaklemys

1.0 stars by Malaklemys

The old design was much better, the part on the bottom where the motor is was all contained as part of the case, now the new design looks as though it is a separate piece and this has some flex to it which causes the case to crack and leak. I bought one, installed it and noticed a leak immediately. I took it back and exchanged it and the exact same thing was wrong. I almost just wanted to buy the whole aquarium kit again to just get the old design, then I'd have an extra aquarium on hand. I'm not buying an AquaTech filter in the future, going with an Aqueon instead.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Malaklemys
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It helps to follow the directions...
5/25/2009

Customer review by Straycollector

5.0 stars by Straycollector

When I first got the product, I thought it didn't come with everything. I couldn't find the piece called the "impeller" (turns out it was already in place inside my unit, so I didn't have to install it) and I spent a lot of time trying to call the company and complain that I didn't have it all. Then I tried to start the thing up without water in it. So, maybe I should have read the directions which CLEARLY STATE that you should fill it with water BEFORE starting it up or risk damaging the unit... but it still works, and well! SO - Be sure to read all the directions CAREFULLY and follow them. OH, and the Tetra-care service that comes with the tanks is nice, too. I'm buying another one of these for another tank I have. I do hope they last - I've only been using it for about a week, but it is doing the trick nicely with a really messy frog in the tank. I'm going to try it on a turtle tank.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Straycollector
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 131 total reviews