Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

176 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

176 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
26
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
47
1-20 of 171 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews
I bet is good but not for my conditions
11/13/2010

Customer review by raphievila

4.0 stars 11/13/2010 by raphievila
by raphievila

I bought a tetra aquarium that came with this filter. This because my wife won 4 beautiful common goldfish in a festival. I really didn't know the adventure and sacrifices I was about to face. Well first I bought a five gallons aquarium but a week later I had to invest in this 10 gallons aquarium. Still, it doesn't keep up with my sudden conditions. This filter moves only 90 gallons per hours (gph) while I'm needing at least 100 gph to keep a safe water quality for my goldfishes. I've read a couple of reviews and I'm not saying this is a bad filter at all, its good, I know because it keeps the water in neutral conditions for my fishes but right in the limits of neutrality. If you're buying this filter or came with your aquarium and you have more than two goldfishes I recommend to buy the 10-20 gallons one. That one moves at least 110 gph, perfect for your goldfishes. In general, the 5 to 10 gallons proved to be a good filter to even maintain my fishes alive. :) That's good!

Was this review helpful? (30) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raphievila
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent filter, but not above 10 gallons
6/17/2014

Customer review by Qquake

4.0 stars 6/17/2014 by Qquake
by Qquake

This filter is decent, but it's way too small for above 10 gallons. Other than that, it seems to work well, and I like the bio-cartridge it comes with. Changing the filter cartridges is easy-peazy.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qquake
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
love it
3/28/2010

Customer review by brainiack

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by brainiack
by brainiack

i got this with my res (red earred slider turtle)from some body on craiglist and it dosnt work good for them it is really noisy from the water fall but im using it for my fish and it works great but theres no flow control in the pic it is on the left

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brainiack
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy!
12/8/2013

Customer review by tommyoh02

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by tommyoh02
by tommyoh02

I bought a GloFish aquarium kit that came with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter and my tank was really gross after a few weeks. After cleaning, it would go right back to being disgusting within a couple of days. I bought the Aquatech 5-15 for $11 and it has done wonders! It has a 3-stage filtering process and works 100% better for my 5 gallon tank. My fish and I are much happier now and I highly recommend AquaTech products over Tetra any day. Just remember to take care of the filter and clean it inside and out every 3-4 weeks to get the best results and life expectancy out of the product, I use a simple bottle brush and warm running water. Replacement filters are $7 for a 3-pack, which will last 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tommyoh02
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, but confusing to get going.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Cheeseburgerz

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Cheeseburgerz
by Cheeseburgerz

NOTE: IF YOUR FILTER IS NOT WORKING WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN, THERE IS A 90% CHANCE YOU DIDN'T PUT THE TUBE THAT GOES INTO THE TANK IN ALL THE WAY. After playing around with this thing for 30minutes, I pushed the tube in harder and it made a different, bubbly noise and next thing I know the water is flowing like it's supposed too. Make sure you prime the filter first by filling it with water!! And your tube is pushed in all the way before you complain!! Note I also have the old version of the filter, so it looks a little different but works the same.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheeseburgerz
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Water filter
7/12/2016

Customer review by Dude

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Dude
by Dude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took this idea from someone on the web - using the filter for junk yard cat's water bowl. Works well. Almost too much water flow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent filter for fry tanks!
10/3/2011

Customer review by TheKingCrabb

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by TheKingCrabb
by TheKingCrabb

Key word in the summary was fry tanks. I've been using this filter for fry (baby fish) tanks for months now, and I absolutely love it! What many people fail to remember when buying a filter is that there are two, yes two, major factors. GPH rating, and water volume. This filter has 100GPH rating and that is almost perfect for a 20 gallon tank that will be holding fry (mine are Mbuna Cichlids). The fry have very little bio-load (aquarist's term for how much the fish poo) so the small water volume in this filter doesn't matter and it handles it quite well. Overall, I'd use this in a tank no larger than 20 gallons but no less than 10 gallons. It's small, fairly quiet, and is pretty darn inconspicuous. My one gripe? The intake. The intake tube (at least in mine) seems not to fit quite right. You can't just put it in and plug it in. You have to plug it in and kind of move the intake tube around a little bit before the water flow really starts - and it's some good water flow for a filter that size.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKingCrabb
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's cheap for a reason!
2/2/2012

Customer review by heyday28

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by heyday28
by heyday28

I bought this filter today, and as soon as I put water in the back of it it started leaking! The water was coming out where the part with the electrical cord was put in and held with an "O" ring. Really?? Leaking out onto where the power cord is? That's just stupid. But I let it slide and went back and returned it and got the same filter...got it home and it too leaks in the same spot!! I was frustrated and gave up and decided not to waste another trip to Wal Mart so I used silicone sealant to help stop the water from leaking out the bottom. Well this problem was solved, but then as soon as I put the filter in water and turned it on (and YES I did everything correctly, I have had a fish tank for a long time and understand how the filter is set up), IT DIDN'T WORK! It made a noise like it was on but no water was circulating. I am really disappointed in this filter considering the other reviews weren't all that bad.

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heyday28
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not disappointed
2/1/2017

Customer review by ProudFishMama

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by ProudFishMama
by ProudFishMama

When I started looking into getting my own tank, I was shocked by the negative reviews for this product. However, we have a a Aquatech Double Power Filter on my 50 gallon tank at work and have had it so long my boss doesn't even remember when we got it. To me this is a sign of quality. So I invested in my own for my 10 gallon tank. I have had it for 6 months and have not been disappointed at all! I have 4 platties and a goldfish and can barely see anything on the filters when I change them every month (as recommended).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudFishMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple to use, soothing waterfall sounds
11/16/2014

Customer review by namesalreadytaken1234

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by namesalreadytaken1234
by namesalreadytaken1234

I have a small (19 quart) aquarium. I wanted to keep it really simple. This was super easy to assemble and install. It just hangs on the back or side of the tank. You can use about anything for a tank with this, if you want it for bait fish, or need to move the fish while you clean out the tank! My other tank cracked so I am using a large Rubbermaid clear tote. If you put water in the reservoir and turn it on, but it does not pump after 1 minute, turn it off, pull out the intake tube and motor, and re-install. For some reason mine was jammed till I did that. Now it works great and it doesn't make the dreaded air-pump noise I hated to hear. It came with 1 filter and the filters are color coded for replacement. You can use it without the filter, but it won't filter anything of course. Good for when you clean or swap filters. I'm going to put mine on a timer so I don't hear it at bed time. (I don't need to run mine 24/7). It really cleaned up the water fast! I would buy another. Great gift item!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
namesalreadytaken1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Aquarium Filter!
7/2/2009

Customer review by Biscuitball

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by Biscuitball
by Biscuitball

Bought this power filter to go with our kids 5 gallon fish tank and it has worked perfectly for almost 4 months now. Easy to clean and keeps the tank perfectly oxygenized. We change the filter once every two weeks, and have maintained a very clean tank. Tip: Buy the filters in a multi-pack and you will save more money. Very happy with this aquarium filter and recommend it to others!

Was this review helpful? (115) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biscuitball
Betsy Layne, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Filter! Do Not Buy!!!!
5/5/2013

Customer review by mmeeker1229

1.0 stars 5/5/2013 by mmeeker1229
by mmeeker1229

I have a lot of experience with these filters, and that's my fault for being an idiot. I have purchased 5 of these filters over the past year. Very, very poor quality. As a matter of fact, I would rate this product as the worst product I've EVER purchased. Filter #1: This one came as part of a package with a 5 gallon tank. It lasted about a week. We had an electrical storm, and it quit working after that. Nothing else in the house was effected. Filter #2: This one lasted about one day before it quit working without explanation. Filter #3: This one was by far the best. It lasted nearly one year. I unplugged it one day to clean the tank. When I plugged it back in, it ran for about 10 minutes and quit. Filter #4: After this one primed, it ran for less than 2 minutes before it quit. Filter #5: I didn't even have a chance to plug this one in. As soon as I filled it with water, it immediately began to leak profusely around the pump housing. Do not purchase this product. Based on my experience, you have about an 80% chance of purchasing a bad one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmeeker1229
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verry GREAT
1/18/2010

Customer review by BallPlayer1112

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by BallPlayer1112
by BallPlayer1112

i have had my filter for 6 years and it still works great. i buy the same brand filter cartridge and it works great. all my friends have commented on how nice my tank looks and how sanatized it looked

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BallPlayer1112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
8/19/2009

Customer review by fishhappy

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by fishhappy
by fishhappy

I have been using mine for well over year, and is still running strong. It keeps my 10 gallon tank very clean and every one always coments on how clean my tank is. They also always ask how often i have to clean it, and I always tell them hardly ever (like once a year). I do a water exchange once a month, but only a gallon.I also vaccume about every 3 months, also my tank is very over stocked (20+ fish). So for the price and quality I highly recomend this product oh dont forget to change the filters. hope you love it as much as I do.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishhappy
spokane wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
plain and simple
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

This is the 1st filter I ever bought. I used it on a cooler to keep bait fish in ;) It's been in an aquarium now for 6 months and still works well. It will slow down after a month or two but just take it outside and spray the internals with a hose to restore the flow. I've tested the flow rate myself and seems to be very accurate. Great filter for a 10 gallon tank.

Was this review helpful? (65) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New design is terrible - two out of box failures!!
3/17/2013

Customer review by Malaklemys

1.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Malaklemys
by Malaklemys

The old design was much better, the part on the bottom where the motor is was all contained as part of the case, now the new design looks as though it is a separate piece and this has some flex to it which causes the case to crack and leak. I bought one, installed it and noticed a leak immediately. I took it back and exchanged it and the exact same thing was wrong. I almost just wanted to buy the whole aquarium kit again to just get the old design, then I'd have an extra aquarium on hand. I'm not buying an AquaTech filter in the future, going with an Aqueon instead.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malaklemys
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not the best filter out there
10/15/2012

Customer review by zentripcity

2.0 stars 10/15/2012 by zentripcity
by zentripcity

This filter came with a 10g tank I bought in April of this year. Ran great the first few months, very quiet and kept the tank clean. Slowly over time, the filter would give out and would stop running. I would have to unplug and replug back in to get it going. Often have to clean the impeller which is not something I feel I should have to do often on a filter. Also, out of all the tanks I own, the tank that had this filter had the highest nitrates and I blame the filter not doing it's job. I have to change the filter pad more often than I like to because the debris would overtime start going back into the tank. Any fishkeeper knows that there is such a thing as changing the filter pad too much. I finally got tired of messing with it and unplugged it and replaced it with a Marineland Penguin. You definitely get what you pay for with this product. It might be more suitable for a one fish tank but if you plan on having a fully stocked 10 gallon, don't use this filter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zentripcity
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ehhh...
3/5/2016

Customer review by AxolotlTank

2.0 stars 3/5/2016 by AxolotlTank
by AxolotlTank

I've had this filter for 6 months now and it worked really great when I first bought it. Now it is an incredible pain in the butt. It is constantly getting clogged up and I cannot remove the motor to clean out the clog (you can normally do this with other filters). Given, I do have an axolotl in this tank and they can be pretty messy, there is still a loss of considerable power from the initial months. I have to do a full tank change once a week even with the filter. The tank smells bad, there is considerable fungus growth, and the water coming out is never clear. Whenever I turn it on, even with a fresh filter package and some internal cleaning, it still spits out chunks of crud that is clogging the motor. The intake tube is constantly popping out of the motor and it starts to foam out bubbles from the filter leaking onto my floor from the back and it stops the flow of water into the tank. Right now the best I can get it to do is dribble out. I would definitely recommend another filter. It might seem cheaper now, but it will waste your time later.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AxolotlTank
Would recommend to a friend? No
It helps to follow the directions...
5/25/2009

Customer review by Straycollector

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by Straycollector
by Straycollector

When I first got the product, I thought it didn't come with everything. I couldn't find the piece called the "impeller" (turns out it was already in place inside my unit, so I didn't have to install it) and I spent a lot of time trying to call the company and complain that I didn't have it all. Then I tried to start the thing up without water in it. So, maybe I should have read the directions which CLEARLY STATE that you should fill it with water BEFORE starting it up or risk damaging the unit... but it still works, and well! SO - Be sure to read all the directions CAREFULLY and follow them. OH, and the Tetra-care service that comes with the tanks is nice, too. I'm buying another one of these for another tank I have. I do hope they last - I've only been using it for about a week, but it is doing the trick nicely with a really messy frog in the tank. I'm going to try it on a turtle tank.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Straycollector
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Used for a DIY CAT fountain
9/1/2015

Customer review by Calliebear

5.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Calliebear
by Calliebear

This pump worked great for my DIY cat drinking fountain. I used a small plastic aquarium we were no longer using for fish. I added a board to hang the pump on so that it is 3 inches higher than the lip of the tank. It was a small piece of half inch plywood with two feet made from a block of 2x4 cut and inch thick. Since it rest against the tank it tilts slightly forward onto the aquarium. I Added 2 coffee cups and some rocks to slow down the flow. Once I added a slightly flat rock on top of the coffee cup it silenced the sound of the fast water flow. The top rock sits across the top of the mouth of the coffee cup and is like a small overflowing pond. The cats love it and it only cost me under $11. Not bad. Planning to get another one so the cats have 2 fountains. Walmart had the cheapest price around. I couldn't even find one cheaper that mounted on the outside of a tank. Great water pump and great price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calliebear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews