Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-5 of 5 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

better than any mexican restaurant around!
4/3/2010

Customer review by wici

5.0 stars 4/3/2010 by wici
by wici

me and my husband love tres leches cake, we've tried it in different mexican restaurants and its just not the same. i saw this mix and decided to try... first try was ok but it needed some flavor, second time i tried it, i just add a little condensed milk (la lechera) to the milk mix and wow, it was so good!! the only trick here, besides the condensed milk, is that you have to leave the cake in the fridge for atleast one night, to let it absorb the milk! now everytime we go to walmart we stop to grab couple boxes

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wici
westwego, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A soggy cake
4/25/2009

Customer review by lovemyjay

1.0 stars 4/25/2009 by lovemyjay
by lovemyjay

This cake mix recipe does not make a very good three milk cake . Too much milk is used and it makes the cake very, very soggy. The milk mixture is NOT syrupy, as it would be if you were using condensed milk. It is watery and the cake just sits in a pool of milk. I was VERY disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemyjay
Would recommend to a friend? No
It was ok
8/18/2009

Customer review by slosh29

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by slosh29
by slosh29

I thought this was ok..I guess I was not suprised by the quality as the last reviewer was.I bought and expected box cake mix quality.If I expected 'real' authentic quality I would have bought one from a shop or used a scratch recipe and not a boxed cake mix.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slosh29
Lockport NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Soggy Mess!
3/25/2010

Customer review by NELaMomOf2

1.0 stars 3/25/2010 by NELaMomOf2
by NELaMomOf2

I wish, I had read the first review before wasting almost a quart of milk and four eggs! As already mentioned, there is way too much milk and the mixture is not a syrup. I only put 1/4th of the milk mixture over the cake, and it was dripping everywhere. This mix was one big disappointment! There is no way, I will ever buy this again!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NELaMomOf2
Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I use these mixes A LOT!!
8/18/2015

Customer review by ColoradoCakeMan

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by ColoradoCakeMan
by ColoradoCakeMan

Friends, guests in my home and clients I bake for LOVE this cake. HOWEVER, if you're looking to use the mix "as-is" and get an authentic texture and taste....good luck. I use the cake mix ONLY. Throw away the "milk mix" and replace it with 1 cup of heavy cream, a small can of sweetened condensed milk and a small can of evaporated milk. Soak the cake with the milk mixture, cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge over night. Ice it with fresh whipped cream and top with your choice of fruit.....I've never had a complaint!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoCakeMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes