Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.2out of 5 stars
3.2 out of 5 | 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-10 of 10 reviews
1-10 of 10 reviews
I use these mixes A LOT!!
8/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Friends, guests in my home and clients I bake for LOVE this cake. HOWEVER, if you're looking to use the mix "as-is" and get an authentic texture and taste....good luck. I use the cake mix ONLY. Throw away the "milk mix" and replace it with 1 cup of heavy cream, a small can of sweetened condensed milk and a small can of evaporated milk. Soak the cake with the milk mixture, cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge over night. Ice it with fresh whipped cream and top with your choice of fruit.....I've never had a complaint!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bleh
8/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
cake was too soggy in my opinion. Worst cake I've ever made actually.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
better than any mexican restaurant around!
4/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
me and my husband love tres leches cake, we've tried it in different mexican restaurants and its just not the same. i saw this mix and decided to try... first try was ok but it needed some flavor, second time i tried it, i just add a little condensed milk (la lechera) to the milk mix and wow, it was so good!! the only trick here, besides the condensed milk, is that you have to leave the cake in the fridge for atleast one night, to let it absorb the milk! now everytime we go to walmart we stop to grab couple boxes
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tres leches cake plus condensed milk
8/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you love tres leches cake, this is a good one just replace half of the milk with 1/2 can condensed milk & 1/2 of the package that you mix with the milk, try mixing the regular milk with the powder,then add the condensed milk, you can also buy a small container of cool whip for frosting, DELISH.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So So
7/26/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
#sweepstakes The idea is good and I love Tres Leches cake but the milk mix for this one just doesn't cut it. I ended up using a mix of evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and half&half. It turned out fine but could have done the cake base on my own for a lot less. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It was ok
8/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought this was ok..I guess I was not suprised by the quality as the last reviewer was.I bought and expected box cake mix quality.If I expected 'real' authentic quality I would have bought one from a shop or used a scratch recipe and not a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A soggy cake
4/25/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This cake mix recipe does not make a very good three milk cake . Too much milk is used and it makes the cake very, very soggy. The milk mixture is NOT syrupy, as it would be if you were using condensed milk. It is watery and the cake just sits in a pool of milk. I was VERY disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DH Tres Leche Cake
6/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The worst cake mix ever...I want my money back
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Soggy Mess!
3/25/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish, I had read the first review before wasting almost a quart of milk and four eggs! As already mentioned, there is way too much milk and the mixture is not a syrup. I only put 1/4th of the milk mixture over the cake, and it was dripping everywhere. This mix was one big disappointment! There is no way, I will ever buy this again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
!!!! THE BEST CAKE EVERYONE LIKES !!!!!
4/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
EVERYONE LIKES! ITS THE HIT OF MY PARTYS I THINK FAMILY AND FRIENDS VISIT ME FOR THIS CAKE ONLY!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-