Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 98 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
The new formula is terrible
3/29/2016

Customer review by Stormcloud0313

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Stormcloud0313
by Stormcloud0313

John Frieda's brilliant brunette has been my favorite shampoo and conditioner for a really long time. It really did make my hair healthier and brought out my natural highlights; however, the "new look" also comes with a new formula and it is terrible. The smell is the first thing that changed for the worse. The smell of the old formula was gentle and subtle with a hint of almond but now it just smells chemically and is very harsh. If this was the only problem with the new formula, I would just deal with it; unfortunately, the new formula is not at all like the old one. After using the product for a few days, my head is itchy, feels dirty all the time, and my hair appears dry at the ends. I am not sure how such a wonderful shampoo ended up being changed in such a dramatic and terrible way. I have already gone out and purchased new hair products because there was no way to finish this awful shampoo and conditioner.

Stormcloud0313
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
What Happened???
6/13/2016

Customer review by CourtneyRose

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by CourtneyRose
by CourtneyRose

I have used this product daily for almost a decade, but now I am shopping for new hair products. It smells like cheap cologne, what happened? It used to smell neutral and nice, not any more. I now all of a sudden have split ends, since i get regular haircuts this hasn't happened before. Lastly the shine is gone, my hair looks dull and damaged now. Please fix your product! I see I am not the only customer jumping ship!!

CourtneyRose
Asheville NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The Ultimate Tool For All Brunettes
1/5/2012

Customer review by cbemt

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by cbemt
by cbemt

I was in dire need to escape the typical cheap, low quality, in other words "useless" shampoo. I had come across John Frieda Hair Collection in the salon and i was amazed by how many different products they had that are formulated to fit a ladies hair type, using all but DNA. At first, i wasn't sure which product would suit me the most, so i decided to pick up a few that were labeled for Brunettes, and easily figured out my hair type. The Shine Release With Enriching Technology, sounded amazing. At first i was skeptical and wondered if it would do any wonders to my fine, dry, damaged to the core strands. Upon first use, as i lathered it up, it smelled really good, my strands were already feeling smoother, and following the conditioner i could really feel a difference. After doing my daily routine to style with heat i was amazed upon what i saw, gorgeous shiny beautiful bouncy hair that was perfect to the sight, touch, and smell. There was no need to use extra product, it looked great just the way it was.

cbemt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Sorry but....
6/2/2016

Customer review by Frita

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Frita
by Frita

I am all for change, and innovation....but the new formula is TERRIBLE, scent is almost unbearable, and the brilliant brunette shine is no more...sorry to say I will no longer be purchasing from this line of products.

Frita
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
New formula is terrible.....
5/13/2016

Customer review by LordByron1965

1.0 stars 5/13/2016 by LordByron1965
by LordByron1965

During a recent purchase, I noticed the new package design. Well, after three uses I am SO DISAPPOINTED. The new scent is cheap smelling and the shampoo leaves my hair greasy and dirty looking as well as limp and dull. No multi tones revealed. I just got off of the phone with customer care at John Frieda. They confirmed my worst fears. The formula has changed. Too bad. I will no longer purchase John Frieda products. Why did they have to mess with the formula. What a shame. Do not waste your time and money.

LordByron1965
Warwicj, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Changed Formula
2/14/2016

Customer review by Juls1314

2.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Juls1314
by Juls1314

I am so bummed. I've used Brilliant Brunette Multi-Tone for years. It was absolutely perfect. Perfect light fragrance. My hair was incredibly shiny, and I could run a brush/comb through it, right after the shower, with no knots or tangles. The perfect shampoo. So why did John Frieda have to change the formula?! It smells so badly now. So perfumey. The first time I used it after the formula change, I remember sitting at my desk, hours later, and catching a whiff of my hair - it was gross and I couldn't wait to go home a wash it with something else. Anything else. Also, this formula is not as moisturizing as the old formula. I am so bummed. What am going to use now? I can't use this new formula anymore. It smells.

Juls1314
Mentor, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
JOHN FRIEDA SHAMPOO FOR BRUNETTS
10/24/2013

Customer review by sukivee2

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by sukivee2
by sukivee2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this shampoo is really great makes my hair feel thicker dont even need conditoner sometimes one of the best shampoos i have ever tried out there so if you want your hair to feel soft and shiny and have body then go and buy it you wont be sorry!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sukivee2
liberty ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pretty good
4/29/2016

Customer review by casinosus

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by casinosus
by casinosus

works fairly well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casinosus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What Happened??
3/8/2016

Customer review by Katpb

1.0 stars 3/8/2016 by Katpb
by Katpb

I am so upset! I have used this shampoo and conditioner for years and l am so disappointed in the new version! It smells absolutely AWFUL and I do not get the same great results as with the old product. I will no longer be spending my money on this and now I have to something else to use. What a shame you had to mess with perfection.

Katpb
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The "New Look" is Horrible!
2/21/2016

Customer review by LA1118

1.0 stars 2/21/2016 by LA1118
by LA1118

The changes made to this product, as well as the conditioner, are horrible. The “new formula” smells awful, like cheap men’s cologne, and the shampoo is no as moisturizing as the original product. The Visibly Brighter and Visibly Deeper versions smells just as bad; I am disappointed in the change, as I have used this brand since its introduction! I will not be buying anything from the Brilliant Brunette line again unless changes are made!

LA1118
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The new scent is terrible
3/2/2016

Customer review by froggy

1.0 stars 3/2/2016 by froggy
by froggy

I was a huge fan of this shampoo and conditioner. It was my favorite of mine. When I bought the new "look", I was more than disappointed. It smells terrible and it will be the last time I purchase this product.

froggy
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Seems to Get Better with Use
12/6/2012

Customer review by SkyerUbTheCity

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by SkyerUbTheCity
by SkyerUbTheCity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the first tube of this shampoo I ever used. After I bought Frieda hair color, which is excellent- I decided to try this shampoo. It's made my hair feel much softer than it usually does after coloring. It smells good, it lathers well- almost feels as if a conditioner is in it. My hair feels very clean and light after I use it. I didn't see much difference in shine until I used it a few times; which makes me feel like it either gets better with use or I'm getting better at using it properly? Not sure, but I like it. It IS a little too high priced, I don't know if using Frieda hair color has anything to do with this shampoo - but my hair is much softer and does shine more than any other time I color my hair. I didn't see a conditioner to go with this - all I can find is a Frieda "frizz ease" conditioner and since the shampoo works well, there is no frizz ... I think they should make a Brilliant Brunette Shine Release Moisturizing conditioner as well, because I feel if I'm spending the money on this shampoo- I shouldn't use just any conditiioner which might take away from what the shampoo does. A small tube of great conditioner comes with the hair color - however not nearly enough to last as long as I'll have the shampoo.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyerUbTheCity
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shampoo success
3/28/2016

Customer review by Brunette

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Brunette
by Brunette

This shampoo leaves hair conditioned but not weighted down. It was often out of stock but online shopping and home delivery made it also convenient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brunette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible fragrance
2/13/2016

Customer review by PureRomanceJen

1.0 stars 2/13/2016 by PureRomanceJen
by PureRomanceJen

The new fragrance is horrible and smells like a men's product. As a faithful user for over 8 years I am very disappointed in the new formulation.

PureRomanceJen
Houston TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
New scent is terrible!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Amanda22

2.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Amanda22
by Amanda22

I've used Brilliant Brunette shampoo and conditioner for quite a while and I've always loved the mild coconut scent. I just bought some and now it has a very strong perfumy scent which I can't stand. I guess I won't be using this anymore unless they change it back. Bummer.

Amanda22
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Brunette Shine Release Shampoo
2/26/2016

Customer review by shoegal40

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by shoegal40
by shoegal40

Interesting scent although not overpowering really. Just started using it but not sure if it releases multiple tones or not though. Shine maybe though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoegal40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shampoo/Conditioner
10/13/2015

Customer review by Angel

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by Angel
by Angel

I really like this product. It keeps my hair brown, and hides some of the gray. I like when you offer more ounces at the same price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/2/2012

Customer review by ydnic79

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by ydnic79
by ydnic79

This shampoo makes my hair nice and shiny. I feel like it cleans well and doesn't weigh my hair down. I'm on my second tube.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ydnic79
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
1/23/2012

Customer review by BearsClarksMommy

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by BearsClarksMommy
by BearsClarksMommy

Great stuff. Buy it!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearsClarksMommy
Montpelier, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Instant Life for your hair...
1/5/2012

Customer review by kassie1

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by kassie1
by kassie1

This shampoo is instant life for your hair by making it shiny as if the 'light' has been put back into it! It brings out all of the beautiful natural colors in my hair and helps them glissen. I would recommend this product to those who do not color thier hair as well as those that do and if you are on the fence and are thinking about coloring your hair because of the dullness and lack of life and light dancing off your strands, try this shampoo and conditioner along with the other Brilliant Brunette products and see if you still want to color or if like me, that chunk of money for the salon can now go on something else you've had you're eye on! :):):)

kassie1
Ellensburg,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews