Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 86 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
New scent is terrible!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Amanda22

2.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Amanda22
by Amanda22

I've used Brilliant Brunette shampoo and conditioner for quite a while and I've always loved the mild coconut scent. I just bought some and now it has a very strong perfumy scent which I can't stand. I guess I won't be using this anymore unless they change it back. Bummer.

Amanda22
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The Ultimate Tool For All Brunettes
1/5/2012

Customer review by cbemt

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by cbemt
by cbemt

I was in dire need to escape the typical cheap, low quality, in other words "useless" shampoo. I had come across John Frieda Hair Collection in the salon and i was amazed by how many different products they had that are formulated to fit a ladies hair type, using all but DNA. At first, i wasn't sure which product would suit me the most, so i decided to pick up a few that were labeled for Brunettes, and easily figured out my hair type. The Shine Release With Enriching Technology, sounded amazing. At first i was skeptical and wondered if it would do any wonders to my fine, dry, damaged to the core strands. Upon first use, as i lathered it up, it smelled really good, my strands were already feeling smoother, and following the conditioner i could really feel a difference. After doing my daily routine to style with heat i was amazed upon what i saw, gorgeous shiny beautiful bouncy hair that was perfect to the sight, touch, and smell. There was no need to use extra product, it looked great just the way it was.

cbemt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo/Conditioner
10/13/2015

Customer review by Angel

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by Angel
by Angel

I really like this product. It keeps my hair brown, and hides some of the gray. I like when you offer more ounces at the same price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JOHN FRIEDA SHAMPOO FOR BRUNETTS
10/24/2013

Customer review by sukivee2

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by sukivee2
by sukivee2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this shampoo is really great makes my hair feel thicker dont even need conditoner sometimes one of the best shampoos i have ever tried out there so if you want your hair to feel soft and shiny and have body then go and buy it you wont be sorry!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sukivee2
liberty ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Favorite
10/27/2015

Customer review by Nicole

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Nicole
by Nicole

Love this product! Leaves my hair feeling great.... Only wish it had a different smell.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Seems to Get Better with Use
12/6/2012

Customer review by SkyerUbTheCity

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by SkyerUbTheCity
by SkyerUbTheCity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the first tube of this shampoo I ever used. After I bought Frieda hair color, which is excellent- I decided to try this shampoo. It's made my hair feel much softer than it usually does after coloring. It smells good, it lathers well- almost feels as if a conditioner is in it. My hair feels very clean and light after I use it. I didn't see much difference in shine until I used it a few times; which makes me feel like it either gets better with use or I'm getting better at using it properly? Not sure, but I like it. It IS a little too high priced, I don't know if using Frieda hair color has anything to do with this shampoo - but my hair is much softer and does shine more than any other time I color my hair. I didn't see a conditioner to go with this - all I can find is a Frieda "frizz ease" conditioner and since the shampoo works well, there is no frizz ... I think they should make a Brilliant Brunette Shine Release Moisturizing conditioner as well, because I feel if I'm spending the money on this shampoo- I shouldn't use just any conditiioner which might take away from what the shampoo does. A small tube of great conditioner comes with the hair color - however not nearly enough to last as long as I'll have the shampoo.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyerUbTheCity
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/2/2012

Customer review by ydnic79

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by ydnic79
by ydnic79

This shampoo makes my hair nice and shiny. I feel like it cleans well and doesn't weigh my hair down. I'm on my second tube.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ydnic79
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
1/23/2012

Customer review by BearsClarksMommy

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by BearsClarksMommy
by BearsClarksMommy

Great stuff. Buy it!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearsClarksMommy
Montpelier, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Instant Life for your hair...
1/5/2012

Customer review by kassie1

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by kassie1
by kassie1

This shampoo is instant life for your hair by making it shiny as if the 'light' has been put back into it! It brings out all of the beautiful natural colors in my hair and helps them glissen. I would recommend this product to those who do not color thier hair as well as those that do and if you are on the fence and are thinking about coloring your hair because of the dullness and lack of life and light dancing off your strands, try this shampoo and conditioner along with the other Brilliant Brunette products and see if you still want to color or if like me, that chunk of money for the salon can now go on something else you've had you're eye on! :):):)

kassie1
Ellensburg,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Classic length hair
1/5/2012

Customer review by Sheski

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Sheski
by Sheski

My hair is of medium to fine texture, wavy and rather full, and I do not use any damaging chemicals or heat appliances on it, so at most lengths it is very healthy, however my hair is just past butt length, so it needs a little extra care. Brilliant Brunettes moisturizing line has been a blessing since I can no longer afford the salon only brand I used to use. Not only does it not dry out my ends and keep me detangled, but it also smells wonderful while doing so. The fragrance reminds me of tuberose and cocoa butter, its warm and sweet but not at all overpowering.

Sheski
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Mother of Six Bliss...
1/5/2012

Customer review by doeringfam

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by doeringfam
by doeringfam

Being a mother of six little ones leaves little time for any sort of "extras" like salon services to repair dry and dull hair, however, this shampoo was any woman's best friend who needs a hair pick me up and an added bonus of sheen and glimmer to an otherwise boring stagnant one solid color look. To me this product is a blessing in a bottle and a great present to myself at a price I can afford. This mom on a budget enjoys this shampoo tremendously and is the next best thing to actually going to a Salon! Many Thanks John Freida!

doeringfam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this shampoo for my hair
1/5/2012

Customer review by CarlitaSFWchampion

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by CarlitaSFWchampion
by CarlitaSFWchampion

First of all... I don't have a lot of money and I only waste my money on things that I am positively sure will be worth the money. I buy this shampoo whenever I can, because: it makes my hair smell super good. my friends have even complimented on the smell. it helps the strands have a more .. enhanced look, not exactly a drop-dead shine, but they make a really great try. i will defitnely buy this again and i recommend it for brunettes. i am also a hairstylist, but most of all I am a fashionable lady just like every body else.

CarlitaSFWchampion
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This is the most wonderful color-keeping shampoo ever!
1/5/2012

Customer review by Ann67

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Ann67
by Ann67

My daughter colors my hair. We use John Frieda home hair coloring product. It is great! To keep my color from fading and to help it last, I use John Frieda Brilliant Brunette shampoo. It is wonderful at keep my hair color fresh and it adds super shine to my hair. Even the gal who cuts my hair commented on how shiny my hair is. I love the scent of John Frieda Brilliant Brunette shampoo because it is very light, not heavily perfumed. Please never stop making your foam hair color or Brilliant Brunette shampoo!

Ann67
Caledonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Makes me Proud to be a Brunette!
1/8/2012

Customer review by GiGi7106

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by GiGi7106
by GiGi7106

I absolutely love this product. I was a blonde for a while but I eventually grew it out back to my natural brown hair. I was having a lot of problems with my hair after dying it so much in the past and this product saved my hair. I have never recieved more compliments on my natural hair than I do now. I love being a brunette! I recommend this product to anyone who needs to liven up that brown hair of theirs. Just a small amount goes a long way. Worth every penny!

GiGi7106
Canandaigua NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed
12/2/2014

Customer review by Rachel143

2.0 stars 12/2/2014 by Rachel143
by Rachel143

This product is incomparable to Brilliant Brunette liquid shine which is apparently discontinued. The smell is very faint and the quality has decreased. Please bring back liquid shine. My hair feels like it lost its best friend and this replacement product doesn't do justice.

Rachel143
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Brilliant Brunette Shampoo is amazing!
1/5/2012

Customer review by brilliantbrunettelover

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by brilliantbrunettelover
by brilliantbrunettelover

This product is amazing! I have been using this shampoo for about five years now. I have straight hair that easily becomes dried out and damaged from the weather, swimming, etc. This shampoo is perfect for everyday use and moisturizes my hair keeping it shiny (without looking oily), smooth, and silky. I have had friends who have borrowed my shampoo and immediately after one use, have noticed a difference. I definitely recommend it to all brunettes!

brilliantbrunettelover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Shampoo Ever
1/6/2012

Customer review by Karen1

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Karen1
by Karen1

I have tried many, many shampoos and conditions in my 50 plus years. I have tried ones from the salon as well as the store. This shampoo leaves my hair more shiny and softer than any of the ones I have used before. I color my hair every 4 weeks and blow it dry every day so I really need softness and the shine. This shampoo and conditioner from John Frieda works so well I give it as gifts to family members at Christmas. Good work Mr. Frieda!!!

Karen1
Hamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product adds luster
1/7/2012

Customer review by Justice1

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by Justice1
by Justice1

I am 45 and my daughter is 8. I love my daughters chestnut hair and how it shines and looks so healthy. I really wanted that same healthy look for mine. I started using this product and immediately I notice the luster and natural highlights started coming back into my hair. Other people noticed as well. Many Family as well as friends started asking me what I was using. I now won't use anything else. Thank you for such an amazing product.

Justice1
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product, great value
1/6/2012

Customer review by AllieGK

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by AllieGK
by AllieGK

This is my go-to shampoo. I won't lie and say I never use anything else (it's good for your hair to mix things up once in a while), but this is the shampoo I always go back to. It doesn't make my hair feel stripped and unmanageable, rather I get a nice shine and hair that feels healthy. I'm very picky about fragrance and I have to say I really like this and most of John Frieda products'sscents.

AllieGK
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love how my hair feels after use
1/6/2012

Customer review by Leesa

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Leesa
by Leesa

I really love how my hair feels after using this. I live a very cold area, and my hair gets dried out from the inside heat and drier air. I work in a room with a lot of electronics and the static electricity also causes my hair to 'fly away', but not after using Shine Release Moisturizing Shampoo. I like how my hair looks also and have many compliments. I'm very happy with this product!

Leesa
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews