Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 50 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Best sunscreen I've tried!!!!
7/12/2012

Customer review by Vixen

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by Vixen
by Vixen

I was on the hunt for an ultra light sunscreen mainly for my face that doesn't block your pores as I have very oily skin that is prone to blackheads and breakouts! I also wanted a fairly high factor so I chose the spf30. I have recently used this sunscreen on my holiday to Greece, it was very hot and this sunscreen was perfect!!!! I can't praise it enough. It didn't make my face look shiny in anyway what so ever! It was just like I wasn't wearing anything it was so sheer, BRILLIANT!!!! I now wear it everyday as my daily moisturiser it is so good and I know I'm getting a good level of SPF as a bonus! Try this you won't be disappointed, it's amazing! I will definitely be purchasing this product again as I can't do without it now and it smells fantastic and summery!!!! Love, Love, Love it!!!!!X

Vixen
Staffordshire U.K
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay Product
7/27/2016

Customer review by lamoss

3.0 stars 7/27/2016 by lamoss
by lamoss

I was a little disappointed in this product because it did run into my eyes and burned my eyes and I didn't think it was supposed to do that so I am thinking this product is water proof but not sweat proof. Now that I have bought it I have to use it but not the best product far as the lotion running into your eyes. I do think it is okay for sunscreen.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/28/2016

Thanks for our review. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that we would expect from our products. We would like to speak with you directly to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 9am to 7pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you!

lamoss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Does its job
6/28/2016

Customer review by beach bum

4.0 stars 6/28/2016 by beach bum
by beach bum

I have sensitive skin and most sunscreens cause me to breakout badly or the lotion flakes off. This does neither of those things. It does the job and it isn't greasy.

beach bum
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Best sunblock for your face - hands down!
5/16/2016

Customer review by GirlyGirl

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by GirlyGirl
by GirlyGirl

This is just flat out the best sunblock on the market. It is totally non-greasy. You can put it around your eyes, and it doesn't "melt" or run into your eyes. It's name says what it is -- dry touch!! I love it. Well worth the price!!

GirlyGirl
Woodbridge, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Works great
10/15/2013

Customer review by Ritabee

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Ritabee
by Ritabee

I've used this sunscreen for 3-4 years and love it. My dermatologist lectures me all the time about sunscreen because I'm fair and this sunscreen doesn't smell and works great, it's not greasy. My husband and son even use it and usually guys don't want to bother. My son requested it several times when he was in basic training in the army because he didn't like the sunscreen they were provided. The other guys used it, too, so he ran out several times. He's in Korea now and sure enough, the first thing he asked for was Neutrogena sunscreen because the PX doesn't carry it. Neutrogena should look into getting in the military PX's - a great new market.

Ritabee
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
THE BEST SUNSCREEN FOR FACE!!
4/28/2016

Customer review by Glorious1

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Glorious1
by Glorious1

This sunscreen is the ONLY one that is okay to wear under makeup. It isn't greasy, which is a miracle, as I've never used a sunscreen that didn't "bleed" into my eyes and hurt like heck. It stays where you put it. I'm so glad I found it!!!

Glorious1
Woodbridge, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
"Dry touch"... Isn't
11/13/2012

Customer review by Parker75

2.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Parker75
by Parker75

Despite the "Dry Touch" name, I found this product to be too greasy on my combination skin. It leaves a shiny film on my skin, and I break out in whiteheads if I use it for a few days in a row. It also stings my eyes if I apply it anywhere near them (if I use this on my face, I have to use the Baby line for my eye area-- it is kind of a pain to use two products). For a slightly lower SPF (20) I've found that the Triple Protect from the Men's line is the best, as far as shine control and ease of wear around the eyes. I only wish they made the Triple Protect without fragrance- it smells like men's cologne.

Parker75
San Francisco CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Greasy!!! Lasts forever!
10/8/2015

Customer review by abes

5.0 stars 10/8/2015 by abes
by abes

Okay the sticker price for the volume of the container seems expensive at first, but when you don't have to constantly reapply it like others, it saves money in the long run. It isn't greasy which is awesome. I swear by this stuff and it's always sold out in stores if that tells you anything about how many people also swear by it. My advice, stock up on it in winter! I've also found SPF 30 is all I need at the beginning of summer and SPF 15 by the middle in this brand where in others SPF 45 is a min that I need if not stronger all season long.

abes
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
Stained our clothing
7/9/2012

Customer review by Sassafrass

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Sassafrass
by Sassafrass

Used Neutrogena Healthy Defense Oil-Free Sunblock SPF 45 on my husband and myself. Hot weather, 90's. Outside most of day, sweaty weather. Both of us have brown stains on our clothing where this sunblock was applied. I used this same product twice last year on myself and ruined two new white tops, not knowing where the brown stains were coming from, but when it happened again this year on both of us, am sure it is from the product. Tried everything I know of to remove the brown stains to no avail. Any suggestions from anyone? My husband was wearing his favorite shirt and would like to save it.

Sassafrass
Superior, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really sheer, really good
7/14/2011

Customer review by mom2girlz

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by mom2girlz
by mom2girlz

I love this product. After many "ghostly" experiences with other sunscreens, we finally found one that rubbed in and didn't leave a white film. As African Americans, some in my family quite brown, the ability to rub in the SS so it is not visible is a big deal. I was ready to give up until I tried this one. It goes on sheer, and disappears so my brown girls can go out looking brown and not ghostly. The scent is pleasant, the lotion is not greasy and fades after rubbing it on skin. It is good at preventing sunburn, I love it.

mom2girlz
stockton, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked very well in the Carribean
1/13/2013

Customer review by GoMaine

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by GoMaine
by GoMaine

I used this product when on vacation in the Dominican Republic. I am moderally fair skinned and applied it liberally all over my body (except for my face) before I went out in the morning. I never got burned and my skin did not look or feel greasy. Plus it didn't have any offensive fragrance. I swam in the ocean and the pool a couple of times during the day and did not reapply the product. I never burned. I'd say it works pretty darn well! Would I buy it again....absolutely, even though it's quite expensive.

GoMaine
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Good Sun Protection but...
12/8/2012

Customer review by RoseSayLuv

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by RoseSayLuv
by RoseSayLuv

I love this sunblock and put it on top of my moisturizer every morning, but it goes on my face shiny. It makes it look shiny. Blends well into my skin though and lasts a long time. However, once it is fully absorbed into my skin, it does not look shiny anymore (probably because my skin is dry). I have blotchy skin, random red dots near my jawline and temples, and this sunscreen help clear it out. It leaves my skin dewy and glowing, but I wish it comes out with no shine on my skin.

RoseSayLuv
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
My Skin is Clearer than Ever.
11/12/2013

Customer review by Doxiemom

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Doxiemom
by Doxiemom

I've used just about every sunscreen/block on the market hoping to find one that is comfortable under make-up. I happened to buy this under the suggestion of an esthetician. I feel like I'm wearing nothing under my foundation. It's actually a pleasure to apply every morning because it's so comfortable, light, and soothing, and I know that I'm doing my most important deed everyday for my skin. On my second tube! I RARELY re-purchase a product, unless I'm totally in love with it.

Doxiemom
Easley, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Superb Product!!
2/8/2012

Customer review by poebar

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by poebar
by poebar

My dermatologist suggest I up my SPF to +30 and looking through the products I came across this absolutely wonderful one. The first time I used it, I couldn't believe how it made my skin feel. I had been using an expensive skin primer but Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock makes it feel just the same and at a much, much lower cost. Sometimes all I wear is the Sunblock and a little powder (don't really need that). Get this product and you won't regret it!!

poebar
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaves white residue on your clothing!
10/14/2012

Customer review by annoyed

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by annoyed
by annoyed

Not liking the greasy feeling of sunscreen, I tried this during a hike. Unfortunately, this is the complete opposite, in a very bad way. It leaves a dry white residue on your skin, so that by the end of the hike, my black pants had white marks all over them from whenever I had sat down and rested my arms on my knees. I felt I couldn't touch anything with the sunscreen on, as it would leave a white trail behind. I will never buy this stuff again!

annoyed
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Only thing I will ever use!
9/9/2011

Customer review by Neutrogenafanforlife

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by Neutrogenafanforlife
by Neutrogenafanforlife

I am allergic to most sunscreens. this one is PABA free and does not irritate my skin. it works! protects my fair skin even if I am out in the sun the whole day. I used other sunscreens before that would still leave me burned or came off in the water. I just reapply this one during the day or after being in the water and my skin does not get burned! Yay! so happy! Also love the scent of it-not too strong and not irritating.

Neutrogenafanforlife
Hays, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've used this for years and I'm not stopping now!
10/15/2013

Customer review by Rose

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Rose
by Rose

This sunscreen is amazing. I always have problems with sunscreen making me break out, but this is so gentle and sheer that I can use it all over my body with no problem at all. It absorbs quickly and leaves your skin feeling moisturized but not oily. With my fair skin, I use this daily on my face and extra in the summer. If I reapply every 2-3 hours in the summer, I never get a sunburn. Love this!

Rose
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Good sheer sun protection...
10/26/2012

Customer review by Skin sensitive

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Skin sensitive
by Skin sensitive

I have tried many sunblocks over the years and this one to me is the best of the better ones I've used. It isn't to greasy and didn't cause any skin problems on my sensitive skin. Nothing is perfect, especally when it's hot outside and you sweat a lot, but I perfer this one for my neck, face and arms for an afternoon out in the sun or just driving in my car getting the suns reflective rays.

Skin sensitive
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Male
New formula made me break out!
9/12/2012

Customer review by Texasaggie

1.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Texasaggie
by Texasaggie

I have been using this product for several years on my face and had no problems. I recommended it to everyone. I started using a new bottle recently and my face started breaking out. I could not figure out why until I read the ingredients and compared it with my old bottle. The formulation was totally different. Now I have to find a new sunscreen. I am so bummed.

Texasaggie
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inconsistencies In The Ingredients
4/15/2012

Customer review by Siouxie

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Siouxie
by Siouxie

I’ll be 42 this year and I have been using NEUTROGENA ULTRA SHEER DRY-TOUCH SUNBLOCK SPF 30 for more than a decade on my face over my Alpha Hydrox treatment, both under and without makeup and I LOVE it. I wouldn’t consider anything else! Usually I purchase these products in bulk, buying 2+ bottles at a time, and since I reserve them only for my face, they can last awhile. Recently I ran out of my SPF and purchased a bottle locally at Walmart. Before applying, out of habit (I’m a label reader) I flipped the bottle over to read the Product Description, and to my horror – both it and the ingredients were different :( The front labels read the same, however, the description on my older/empty bottle boasts “The non-oily formula is enriched with anti-oxidant vitamins A, C and E to help fight against environmental damage”, the Active Ingredients are listed as: Avobenzone 2%, Homosalate 7%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5% and Oxybenzone 3%, and the first 5 Inactive Ingredients are: Water, Silica, Adipic Acid/Diethylene Glycol/Glycerin Crosspolymer, BP-Hexadecene Copolymer and Dimethicone. Firstly, the newer locally purchased bottle says nothing about anti-oxidants. Secondly, the Active Ingredients differ in the percentages of the same chemicals and replaces Octinoxate with something called “Octocrylene 4%” and lastly, the first 5 Inactive Ingredients listed are: Water, Silica, Dimethicone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate and Beeswax. Why are there inconsistencies between the previously purchased product (which is identical to the product sold online at neutrogena.com and other online outlets) and the product sold in stores?

Siouxie
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews