Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
1-20 of 103 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
Gave typical results
4/19/2012

Customer review by kissyboots5983

3.0 stars 4/19/2012 by kissyboots5983
by kissyboots5983

I have been struggling with dandruff for the past two years now. Powdery like flakes all over my scalp. The only other shampoos I have tried are a tea tree shampoo which was incredibly over drying and Nizoral, which is supposed to be the best of the best when it comes to anti-fungals. The nizoral certainly worked for the first few months, but then stopped. I figured I needed a different approach so I tried the neutrogena t-gel. People are right about the smell--its not pleasant, especially for a woman with long hair. However it's tolerable. It did indeed take care of my itching and my flakes were reduced substantially, probably about 80 percent. I'm not entirely sure if what I am dealing with is dry scalp or dandruff, but it did seem to do the trick for the most part. I have had better results with this product than others. It lathers well, doesn't dry out my hair at all, and does not have to be used very often so the small bottle goes a long way. I would recommend this to someone who has not had luck with a ketoconazole shampoo.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kissyboots5983
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My condition has improved. I'm happy.
6/22/2016

Customer review by Humberto

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Humberto
by Humberto

This product has proved very useful to me in my psoriasis treatment. Thank you.

Humberto
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Dry
Great for dogs with skin problems too!
8/4/2011

Customer review by MsKitty60

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by MsKitty60
by MsKitty60

Years ago my vet recommended Neutrogena T-gel for my dog who suffered from itchy skin and hot spots. The shampoo really gave him relief and improved the overall condition of his skin and coat. Later, when I met my husband, I noticed he was leaving little flakes behind. I still had some of the old T-gel and gave it to him to use. Voila! No more flakes! And he really loves the pine-forest scent of the shampoo. Hopefully this product will stay around for a long, long time.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsKitty60
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
T-Gel for Psorasis
4/11/2016

Customer review by EKTOPEKA

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by EKTOPEKA
by EKTOPEKA

I use T-Gel because of my psorasis. It took me a while to get used to the unique scent of the product, but now I love it and not use anything else.

EKTOPEKA
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Does what it says on the bottle!
12/20/2011

Customer review by Mimiya

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Mimiya
by Mimiya

I have no idea if this smells the same as the one here in the uk has slightly different packaging. However alot of people complain about the smell.. i dont know if ours havent been changed get, but I LOVE the smell! It does smell of tar but i love the smell it leaves on my hair, but unfortunately my pantene conditioner gets rid of it! :( Will be buying this forever, until i find a shampoo with better results. I suffer from dandruff badly, aswell as the occasional bought of seborrhoeic dermatitis, and the once-a-year psoriasis which is genetic. This is the only thing that helps, and definately gets rid of the itching, so is a shame you cant use it daily. However, i find that as soon as i stop using it for over a month, it comes back again, meaning i have to use this at least twice a week religiously. I too suffer from sensitive skin and have no problem with this compared to many other high-street products.

Mimiya
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works where others have struggled
3/19/2016

Customer review by Dermatitis4Life

4.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Dermatitis4Life
by Dermatitis4Life

I developed Seborrhoeic Dermatitis following a burn I got from using a Neutrogena blackhead scrub (Obviously someone could dispute that claim however I got a burn on my face using the wash and it never really healed visibly so I went to the Doctor and was eventually diagnosed and treated for my condition, does that sound unrelated or coincidence to any reasonable person?). That issue aside I have tried upwards of 6 different products for my scalp seborrhoeic dermatitis (it spread from my face to my scalp in a big way) and without a doubt this product does a good job in tackling it i.e. my scalp takes days to flake/get-irritated-or-inflamed when it could easily be like that straight after a conventional wash. I cannot praise this product enough in regard to how it's not as harsh/foul-smelling as some products and in regard to it being more effective than some products in reducing the symptoms of the condition and lengthening the time between flare-ups. I feel the price for the product is a little exploitative however as you are clearly paying a premium because your condition requires a specific type of shampoo, obviously this is worsened over time as you are never cured of your condition (in defense of the pricing it's on a par with competitors brands)! Issues aside (there is arguably others) this product is one of the better ones I've encountered for my condition and I highly recommend using it as the place to start in the management of seborrhoeic dermatitis.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/20/2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'd like to learn more about your experiences with our products. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Dermatitis4Life
Paisley, Scotland, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Good
3/17/2016

Customer review by BTJReview

3.0 stars 3/17/2016 by BTJReview
by BTJReview

It smells good but strong. I recommend this to anyone who wears weaves or extensions like myself. Keeps your scalp fresh especially if you are planning on having your hair braided for a few months.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BTJReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Magic!
3/10/2016

Customer review by Ann26

5.0 stars 3/10/2016 by Ann26
by Ann26

This stuff works like a charm! I've been struggling with dandruff and itchy scalp for several months and unsuccessfully used Selsun Blue and Head and Shoulders. I could see and feel an improvement after only one shampoo with Neutrogena T/Gel! wow!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ann26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a SCENTed version
2/22/2012

Customer review by Azadik

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Azadik
by Azadik

It became a so-so product after Neutrogena decided to abandon the original formula and started the scented line. It used to be a great product! Neutrogena lost big time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Azadik
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
New Scent Smells Really Bad!
11/9/2013

Customer review by LILAIM

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by LILAIM
by LILAIM

I have been using T-Gel for about 25 years. I stopped using it for the past few years because of this "New Scent". The "Original Scent" with the Original formula worked great and I loved it!! The "New Scent" smells like bad cheap perfume. With the "New Scent" it ended up changing the Original formula because it made the shampoo gel more runny & watery. I used it once and could not wait to get back from work to jump into the shower to wash the bad cheap perfume smell out of my hair. The smell made me nauseous all day. Please bring back the Original Scent Original formula. I have noticed that the boxes to not have the label of "New Scent", but is that just because Neutrogena does not think of the "New Scent" as new anymore or did they really do the right thing and get rid of that awful "New Scent"! I hope they got rid of it.

LILAIM
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Great for dandruff but not hair
3/22/2012

Customer review by Hair&MakeupGirl

4.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Hair&MakeupGirl
by Hair&MakeupGirl

My scalp has been itchy and flaky for quite a while now, so I decided to try out Neutrogena TGel shampoo because I had read some great reviews online. So I'll be honest...the shampoo is amazing when it comes to relieving dandruff. I have only used it once, and I have significantly less dandruff and my scalp does not itch at all. However, after washing it off, my hair felt all tangled up. When this happens, it means that the shampoo I am using is drying my hair out. I instantly reached for my conditioner, hoping that it would save my locks when they would get dry. But when my hair dried, it was puffy, frizzy, and had a rough feel to it that I only ever got with this shampoo. So I went out and bought myself some deep conditioner. Bottom line is I will continue to use this shampoo but only with deep conditioner.

Hair&MakeupGirl
New York, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Wonderful! Smells Aweful!
6/26/2012

Customer review by kaland21

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by kaland21
by kaland21

I had discovered that I had psorisasis on my scalp that was driving me nuts. I read that tea tree oil helped, so I bought some s/c with it, and it helped....some. So I did some more research and came across this product and thought "Why not?" My first reaction to it was "Holy cow this stinks!" It smells like ashy burnt hair-not a pleasent smell, and far from the wonderful lemony sage stuff of what I was using. But I gave it shot, because I had nothing to use. It for sure meets its claims! After one use, my whole scalp felt relief! It no longer felt scaley or itchy, but it was flaking a bit. After the second time I used it though, the flaking was completely gone. I use this every other time I wash my hair, and it has worked wonders :) Will continue to use this, even though it smells aweful :)

kaland21
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice
1/9/2012

Customer review by c1rcu1tn3rd

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by c1rcu1tn3rd
by c1rcu1tn3rd

I've been using Head and Shoulders for a long time and it was alright but it was getting to the point where my head was too itchy. I decided to look around for different active ingredients and decided to try this out. I'd have to say nearly all the itchiness is gone since I've been using this T-Gel Shampoo. It's superb against dandruff as well. The only cons that go against this product are the smell and the price. It's a little bit funky smelling but not that bad. If you really wanted to you could use just a little bit of another better smelling shampoo afterward. The price of the bottle I paid for was $13 for 8.5 oz. It's a bit expensive in my opinion but you get what you pay for. I realize this product may not work for everyone but in my experience is a very good working shampoo.

c1rcu1tn3rd
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best dandruff shampoo
4/25/2014

Customer review by AndiW

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by AndiW
by AndiW

I have struggled with dandruff for a couple years now. I had tried a few other dandruff shampoos, but never got good results. I had conceded defeat until a few weeks ago, when I decided enough is enough. I tried H&S. I figured that since it's the most popular dandruff shampoo, it must work well. I don't know about the results found by other users, but it actually made my dandruff worse and left a disgusting residue in my hair. I found a list of user-rated dandruff shampoos on a beauty website, and this was ranked #1, so I thought I'd try it. My dandruff was reduced by about 95% after ONE use, and is continuing to diminish. This is definitely a must-try for anyone who struggles with dandruff. I seriously doubt you will find a better non-prescription shampoo. THIS WORKS.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 4/25/2014

Thank you for stopping by, AndiW! We would like to gather additional information about how our products worked for our consumers. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8AM-8PM EST. Thank you!

AndiW
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I'm so happy I bought this.
5/22/2013

Customer review by LadyBug

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by LadyBug
by LadyBug

I had multiple problems with my hair and scalp. For one, it was very dry and itchy... So much so that it was literally painful if I didn't wash my hair for a day. Second, my dandruff was out of control. Third, my hair began to look oily after getting my hair cut to a short style. All of these problems were extremely embarrassing, annoying, and stressful. Especially when you work in a professional environment. After just one use, the T-Gel shampoo solved all three of my problems. I'm so happy. Yes, the smell is bad but you only smell it when applying the shampoo. The smell doesn't linger. Even if it did, I would still use the product. It's amazing and there is nothing else that worked for me. I highly recommend this product and I'm so happy that I found it.

LadyBug
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
good product
11/30/2015

Customer review by GeezerAl

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by GeezerAl
by GeezerAl

I have been using this product for about 15-20 years. It greatly reduced my dandruff and my hair and head feel great after use. I use about 3-4 times per week. I find alternative types of dandruff control don't work for me. Complaint? Price.

GeezerAl
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Dry
Works like a charm!
4/3/2014

Customer review by Scholarjae

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by Scholarjae
by Scholarjae

I have been using this product for my psoriasis for about 10 years. I was turned on to it by a former room-mate who also used it to treat her psoriasis. After a week maximum of using it as directed, my mild-moderate psoriasis is always cleared up. It's a great way to prevent a big breakout when I feel it developing. I only use it when I have break-outs or feel one developing, so the small bottle can last a long time. The only cons for it are that it's not very color-safe, and it doesn't do a great job on severe psoriasis. I suspect the extra strength version might help with more severe cases, but I've never tried it because I always just get medication from the doctor at that point.

Scholarjae
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Good for hair but not scalp
11/6/2015

Customer review by Silky hair

1.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Silky hair
by Silky hair

I have used the Anti-Dandruff shampoo for 4 months. It is perfect for my hair but has done nothing to alleviate the itchy scalp or dry scalp areas. I am disappointed.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 11/6/2015

Thank you for your review, Silky Hair. We would like to learn more about your experience. When you have a moment, please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Silky hair
Aiken, S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Perfect for itchy scalp when the weather gets cold
9/24/2014

Customer review by Grateful

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Grateful
by Grateful

Every year when fall begins, my scalp itches so much I think I have lice. I get all paranoid about it before I remember that I get a get an itchy scalp EVERY year when the heat goes on. I tried regular dandruff shampoos for years and got some relief, but last year I tried the basic T-Gel remedy. I got instant relief...my scalp almost felt moisturized after just one use. I used it daily for a few days until the itching was controlled, then once a week for the rest of the season. When the itching returned today, I used T-Gel again and I feel so much better. I really appreciate this product and recommend it highly to anyone suffering from change-of-season itchiness.

Grateful
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Helps my skin after exercise
6/30/2014

Customer review by Malt

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Malt
by Malt

After exercising and perspiring a lot, I get this rash around my nose and down in the scalp of my beard. Years back I went to the dermatologist and they did a biopsy of the rash, I don’t remember the exact name they gave to this condition, all I remember is that it was some kind of fungus or so, not extremely harmful, the Dr. prescribed a cream that worked okay, however, one day, my son’s girlfriend (now his wife) left this T/Gel shampoo at my home and since I don’t waste anything and I didn't have more of the prescribed cream, I used a bit in my beard, unusual smell but the results were amazing, now every time I exercise I place a bit in my beard and around the nose, rinse it and ready to go, and the beneficial effect last a while. I have been using it for at least 11 to 13 years and I am so happy that after all these years, I can still find it in the counter; even in South America, years back went in vacation, exercised a lot and forgot my T/gel shampoo, but no problem, I found it in the local drug store counter.. I still don’t know how it does the trick, maybe my PH is not balanced, all I know is that it works great. I would recommend this product without overdoing it, (one time I read something about coal been human carcinogens, I don’t know if that applies to this product for the small amount it uses.)

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/1/2014

Hello and thank you for your review. We love to hear that you're a fan of NEUTROGENA® T/gel and we are interested in learning more about your experience. This product is meant to be used on the scalp for dandruff and not for other skin conditions. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to speaking with you!

Malt
Broward County, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews