Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 458 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

458 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

458 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
70
3 stars
38
2 stars
41
1 stars
149
1-20 of 453 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 453 total reviews
1-20 of 453 reviews
Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash
6/4/2016

Customer review by Lobo

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Lobo
by Lobo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This face wash is great! First, there is no strong smell. It is very pleasant. Second, It clears your skin without drying it. And, most importantly, it is not expensive like so many fancy face washes. Very simply it does a great job!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lobo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works, but I can't use it as directed.
1/7/2016

Customer review by KKBell420

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by KKBell420
by KKBell420

This is the most powerful acne wash EVER. This stuff will completely remove any oil from your skin and clear it out, but the problem is, it's just too strong for daily use. I actually use the regular Neutrogena facial bar on a daily basis. If my skin begins to feel oily, then I'll step up to the Neutrogena "Deep Clean Facial Cleanser" and if necessary I'll also use that with the "Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astringent". Normally, that's enough, but if, and only if, that isn't enough, I'll use the "Oil-Free Acne Wash". I can only use this product maybe once or twice a week, and that will do the job, in conjunction with the other products. I could never use it twice a day as directed, but that doesn't mean it isn't a good product. I read some of the other reviews and I sympathize with those that may have developed a rash from this product. The first time I used it, the same thing happened to me from following the directions, but I did figure out how to use it, and it does have a permanent place in my normal skin regimen now.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/7/2016

Hi, KKBell420. Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your experience with our product. We'd like to gather some information about what happened and about the product you used since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM ET. We're looking forward to speaking with you.

KKBell420
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Male
skin soft and clear
6/26/2016

Customer review by AAA7

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by AAA7
by AAA7

I love the this Neutrogena product. I keeps my face clean and clear.

AAA7
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Soo drying!
3/29/2015

Customer review by Disappointed and worried

1.0 stars 3/29/2015 by Disappointed and worried
by Disappointed and worried

After about 2/3 days of use the skin around my chin, mouth, and sides of nose are so dry and flaky. My skin is usually extremely oily (seriously, when I do my morning makeup routine finishing with powder, my skin is already oily by the time I'm leaving my house), so I'm very surprised that this has made me driest exactly where I'm usually at my oiliest. I stopped using it, and I'm really concerned. I'm blotchy, I look like I have wind burn all over my face, it even shows through foundation and powder! My main concern is that it's been 4 days of constant moisturising (I have used 6 different moisturisers, they just get soaked up by my skin with no moisturising effect), and I've been using extra moisture face masks, applying organic honey, sweet almond oil, virgin olive oil- you name it, no improvement in dryness. It's almost as if my skin stopped producing sebum, and as bad as my oily skin was, I preferred it to this blotchy brown/red/flaky mess. At least my skin was an even colour before. Hating this.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 3/30/2015

Hi there. We're so sorry to hear about this. We'd like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

Disappointed and worried
England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
.
6/9/2016

Customer review by jenpitt36117

1.0 stars 6/9/2016 by jenpitt36117
by jenpitt36117

I can not use this face wash. I used it for maybe 3 or 4 days and my skin looks awful! I broke out all over my face, neck and chest.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 6/10/2016

Thanks for getting in touch with us, jenpitt36117. We're terribly sorry to hear about your experience with our acne cleanser. We can assure you that this is not typical for our products. We'd like the opportunity to learn more by having you call us. You can reach us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thanks so much! We look forward to speaking with you.

jenpitt36117
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
made my skin red
2/14/2016

Customer review by kat991

2.0 stars 2/14/2016 by kat991
by kat991

Do not buy this product if you have sensitive or dry skin. This cleanser will strip away whatever remaining moisture on your face and it will make your face red and flaky. Yesterday I was breaking out a bit at the tops of my cheekbones so I applied some of this cleanser on my cheeks and washed it off. I noticed immediately how dry and tight my skin felt so I applied generous amounts of moisturizer. The next morning I woke up and it looked liked I had sunburn on my cheeks, thats how red they were. It did make my pimples smaller though, but I would still never use this cleanser again. The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 is because I can understand why this product will be good for people with oily skin or have a lot of existing acne on their face. Just don't label your products as "gentle and won't strip skin" because that is the exact opposite of what this product has done for me.

Comment from Neutrogena - 2/15/2016

Thanks for your review, kat991. We wouldn't expect this kind of reaction while using this product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to speaking with you

kat991
Honolulu, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
my skin is worst than before
5/30/2016

Customer review by angel

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by angel
by angel

i have a oily skin and few pimples too so i decided to use this product as it written oil-free and acne treatment. I just used this product twice and my skin has became so rough and drier and its painful too.i keep applying moisture but still it feels so burning.it did not work on my skin .May b it works for others.................

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 5/31/2016

We appreciate you reaching out to us, angel. It surprised us to hear about your experience with our acne cleanser and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. Thank you! We look forward to your call.

angel
sacramento,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Good for some people, not for all
9/21/2011

Customer review by Kytora310

2.0 stars 9/21/2011 by Kytora310
by Kytora310

I bought this five days ago, and since then, I've been using it twice a day as instructed: once in the morning, once at night. For the first days, it was wonderful. My skin was soft and I felt clean. There were a few breakouts, but that was to be expected since it was something new my skin wasn't used to. I like the fragrance--it's not overbearing, it's more subtle than anything. It's fresh. And I felt refreshed after I used it. However, this morning after I washed my face, my skin felt really tight when I moved my muscles around--opened my mouth for a yawn, raised my eyebrows, that kind of thing--so half an hour later I look in the mirror, and the cleanser dried out my skin. I could see flakes of skin coming off my cheeks, where it was the tightest, and where it was the most dry. I'm not sure if using it once a day would be better (what product would I use for the other time I wash my face? I can't mix products) or not. I guess I'll go try something else.

Kytora310
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
It worked for me!
7/23/2009

Customer review by PookieLove23

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by PookieLove23
by PookieLove23

I've never had big breakouts of acne, but I did get pimples and blackheads regularly enough for it to bother me. I would use this product everyday as part of my daily maintenance regime and it was gentle enough not to dry out my skin, it also did not make my skin oily, but kept it fresh. My acne was reduced significantly enough that my fiance even took notice of the change. I love it and would definitely recommend it! :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PookieLove23
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No more LAYERS of makeup for me!
8/27/2014

Customer review by flightybird

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by flightybird
by flightybird

I originally bought this face wash for my daughter, who has just begun experiencing her first blemishes. I started using it as my evening face wash about a week ago, and the difference i have noticed in my own skin is already INCREDIBLE. For the past few years, my skin has been the bane of my existence. Seriously. I was putting on layers of foundation and powder every morning (concealer, foundation, powder, foundation, powder - not kidding.) and I could still see the flaws in my skin. Now, my skin is still by no means perfect, but the improvement this product has made on my skin just absolutely blows me away. I've had no problems with the dryness that some people have mentioned, but of course, I do use it just before bed (and before putting on my night time facial moisturizer) so maybe that's why. I honestly don't get the complaints about the scent. It just smells like soap - just simple, and clean. No frou-frou stuff. This is definitely a product I will purchase again and continue to use to keep my face in good shape!

flightybird
Grapevine, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
What a Relief!
4/30/2014

Customer review by D-RELIEF

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by D-RELIEF
by D-RELIEF

I used this routinely for about a year then stopped. After a few months, I had the worst breakout in my entire life! Don't know the cause, no one seems to know why...maybe hormone, maybe stress, they are not really sure. I tried many natural remedies for 2 months then went to the dermatologist- last resort. She prescribed antibiotics capsules, antibiotic spray, eczema ointments # I also have sensitive skin prone to eczema) and special arisulphur soap. After 1 month I noticed the breakouts eased a bit in severity but I was still having at least 6 breakouts per week. I then recalled that I used this product for sometime without having these issues and decided to try it. Best decision ever! Within a week I almost had no breakout on my face. I use it with the arisulphur soap given by the derma and I am having excellent results! I don't plan to be without these again! I wash first with the Neutrogena then with the arisuphur soap. Thanks Neutrogena! Don't stop making this! The formula is perfect! PS: it does not dry out the skin.

D-RELIEF
Jamaica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
works great for acne prone skin!
5/1/2016

Customer review by Bre91

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Bre91
by Bre91

I love this cleanser I have been using it for a few days now and I can already tell the difference the smell isn't too overwhelming and each time I use it I gets rid of the access oil on my skin which I only get on my nose and chin. I use this twice a day with an astringent and a oil free moisturizer that helps with acne.

Bre91
Dittmer Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
my skin is getting clear
5/3/2016

Customer review by acne prone

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by acne prone
by acne prone

my skin is finally clearing up after years of struggling with bad breakouts .now to find a cleanser that doesn't make it worse is great

acne prone
newyork,newyork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Unexpected reaction.
3/17/2016

Customer review by Potter2016

2.0 stars 3/17/2016 by Potter2016
by Potter2016

I used it for the first time just under a week ago, and the skin on my face hasn't been the same since. I have other neutrogena products that I've used for months and I've never reacted to any of them before. It has gone down a lot in the last couple days, but when I used it my face dried out far too much and nothing I tried would fix it. My face also became red, extremely itchy, tight, and I actually have more acne than I did before. I don't know if this is a common thing that happens when you first use it or not, but this is what happened to me.The price was great and I'm sure it works for many other people! See if it works for you, I'm not going to tell you not to use it because it didn't work for me.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/18/2016

We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our product, Potter2016. We'd like to gather more information about this since it's not typical of our product. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 9AM-7PM ET. We're looking forward to hearing from you!

Potter2016
Greeley, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
effective acne wash
7/29/2010

Customer review by wakeforest11

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by wakeforest11
by wakeforest11

This face cleaner works very well at clearing up acne. It does not suds up at all, which would be nice. It also doesn't really smell like much.. It is effective for what it is intended -- to clear and prevent acne break outs.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wakeforest11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/22/2012

Customer review by ashbley222

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by ashbley222
by ashbley222

I bought this product because i had a friend that used it and it worked great for her. I in no way had the same results. The first time i used it, my face seemed a little dry but i figured it was just because i had just switched face washes. I was wrong. I have used it only about 8 times and i cannot even move my face it is so dry. My skin doesn't feel like skin. It hurts every time i open my mouth. It didnt even get rid of my problem areas. I would never reccommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashbley222
Fort wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Burned My Face
2/10/2016

Customer review by Bailey

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Bailey
by Bailey

I never EVER write reviews. I even made a Walmart account just to write this. When I was going through puberty, I lucked out and had fairly clear skin. My senior year of high school I started breaking out and I took it as stress. It is still going on and its turned into acne. I am almost 20 years old and this should NOT be happening. On a Saturday I purchased this product and used it that night, and the next night. I used it twice. I have very bad acne. I have noticeably oily skin as well. I woke up on Monday morning with a literal BURN on my face. My face was extremely dried out and there was no oils left on my face. It is now wednesday. My face is still burned and still dry even though I have been moisturizing. My acne is even worse, and i now have whiteheads which is a first. Do NOT buy this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bailey
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's a Blessing for Acne prone skin!
4/7/2016

Customer review by Amrita

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Amrita
by Amrita

I've been using this since the past 12 years. I have an extremely acne prone skin. But this face wash saved my life. Can't imagine a day without it. I use it twice a day.

Amrita
Gainesville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Totally depends on your skin
10/26/2012

Customer review by Lina _______

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Lina _______
by Lina _______

I'm a teen, and I am using Neutrogena's oil-free acne wash. I think results vary from people to people, because even though in the other reviews, it says it works, it only works sometimes for me. I had acne problems since I was 12, and started using this product soon after. Then for a while, I didn't have acne, so I stopped using the product. A few monthes later, I started getting a lot of acne, and started using it again. And for some reason, I got a few more pimples, and started to doubt that this will work. Fortunently, the wash started kicking in and I have a little less pimples, but I still have a ton to get rid of. I use the product twice a day; in the morning when I wake up and before going to bed. My advice: - Don't stop using it, even if your pimples are totally gone. - Maximum should be twice a day; if you use it too much, it'll remove the moisture from your face, which is not good.

Lina _______
U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Kinda great
3/25/2016

Customer review by Mx2555

4.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Mx2555
by Mx2555

This product dried up my skin, but once I paired it with Neutrogena's Oil Free Acne Moisturizer, my skin stays pretty clear and the dryness went away.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 3/25/2016

Thanks for the review, Mx2555! We're glad to hear that your new routine is working out well for you. We'd love to hear more details when you have a chance, so please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thanks!

Mx2555
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Male
1-20 of 453 total reviews
1-20 of 453 reviews