Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 466 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

466 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

466 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
165
4 stars
70
3 stars
38
2 stars
42
1 stars
151
1-20 of 461 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 461 total reviews
1-20 of 461 reviews
Caused redness and swelling of face
9/19/2016

Customer review by Chats

1.0 stars 9/19/2016 by Chats
by Chats

I have sensitive acne prone skin. As it was getting too oily, I bought this product. But just after two uses, the area around my mouth and nose are itching severely and there is swelling and redness all over my face.

Comment from Neutrogena - 9/19/2016

We appreciate you letting us know. We definitely wouldn't consider your experience common with usage of our acne wash, and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday, so we can assist further. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon!

Chats
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Works well for my skin
8/24/2016

Customer review by Lauren

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Lauren
by Lauren

I've been struggling with acne for many years and I have very sensitive skin. I went to a dermatologist and she recommended Neutrogena's products to me. I was a little hesitant at first, but I gave this product a try and follow up with a toner and sensitive skin moisturizer. It really leaves my skin feeling clean and smooth. When I am consistent with this product, I barely have any breakouts. If you are frustrated with your sensitive acne prone skin, I recommend this product. But also find a trusted dermatologist to give you even more tips. :)

Lauren
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Very good product
9/5/2016

Customer review by Razz

5.0 stars 9/5/2016 by Razz
by Razz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son uses this all the time for his face. Won't use the cheap stuff.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soo drying!
3/29/2015

Customer review by Disappointed and worried

1.0 stars 3/29/2015 by Disappointed and worried
by Disappointed and worried

After about 2/3 days of use the skin around my chin, mouth, and sides of nose are so dry and flaky. My skin is usually extremely oily (seriously, when I do my morning makeup routine finishing with powder, my skin is already oily by the time I'm leaving my house), so I'm very surprised that this has made me driest exactly where I'm usually at my oiliest. I stopped using it, and I'm really concerned. I'm blotchy, I look like I have wind burn all over my face, it even shows through foundation and powder! My main concern is that it's been 4 days of constant moisturising (I have used 6 different moisturisers, they just get soaked up by my skin with no moisturising effect), and I've been using extra moisture face masks, applying organic honey, sweet almond oil, virgin olive oil- you name it, no improvement in dryness. It's almost as if my skin stopped producing sebum, and as bad as my oily skin was, I preferred it to this blotchy brown/red/flaky mess. At least my skin was an even colour before. Hating this.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 3/30/2015

Hi there. We're so sorry to hear about this. We'd like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

Disappointed and worried
England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
It works, but I can't use it as directed.
1/7/2016

Customer review by KKBell420

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by KKBell420
by KKBell420

This is the most powerful acne wash EVER. This stuff will completely remove any oil from your skin and clear it out, but the problem is, it's just too strong for daily use. I actually use the regular Neutrogena facial bar on a daily basis. If my skin begins to feel oily, then I'll step up to the Neutrogena "Deep Clean Facial Cleanser" and if necessary I'll also use that with the "Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astringent". Normally, that's enough, but if, and only if, that isn't enough, I'll use the "Oil-Free Acne Wash". I can only use this product maybe once or twice a week, and that will do the job, in conjunction with the other products. I could never use it twice a day as directed, but that doesn't mean it isn't a good product. I read some of the other reviews and I sympathize with those that may have developed a rash from this product. The first time I used it, the same thing happened to me from following the directions, but I did figure out how to use it, and it does have a permanent place in my normal skin regimen now.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/7/2016

Hi, KKBell420. Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your experience with our product. We'd like to gather some information about what happened and about the product you used since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM ET. We're looking forward to speaking with you.

KKBell420
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Oily
Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash
6/4/2016

Customer review by Lobo

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Lobo
by Lobo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This face wash is great! First, there is no strong smell. It is very pleasant. Second, It clears your skin without drying it. And, most importantly, it is not expensive like so many fancy face washes. Very simply it does a great job!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lobo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly recommend
8/22/2016

Customer review by Changingtheworld

5.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Changingtheworld
by Changingtheworld
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My skin stays cleared up using this product. Nice clean smell.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Changingtheworld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It dried out my skinn
8/12/2016

Customer review by Natalie

1.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Natalie
by Natalie

I started using this acne wash thinking it would help my breakouts.It didnt.After washing my face it would feel like it was burning . It would leave my skin really dry and rough.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 8/12/2016

We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product. This is definitely not typical and we would like to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. Thank you! We look forward to your call.

Natalie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
My skin stopped breaking out!
8/7/2016

Customer review by xoxokitkat24

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by xoxokitkat24
by xoxokitkat24

Oh my! So like I've been using a pretty high end product to clear my skin. However it's not working to clear my skin. So I went back down to use this product and it worked out great! My skin stopped breaking out! It stops breakouts pretty slow, but it works. My skin doesn't break out anymore! YAY!

xoxokitkat24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Would not recommend
8/4/2016

Customer review by OrtizD42

2.0 stars 8/4/2016 by OrtizD42
by OrtizD42

I bought this because of its great reviews, but it has done nothing but make my skin worse. It dries out my skin, it has caused more breakouts and leaves my skin feeling rough and uncomfortable. I need something that works Disappointed in this product.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 8/5/2016

We appreciate you reaching out to us. It surprised us to hear about your experience with our acne cleanser and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. Thank you! We look forward to your call.

OrtizD42
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Good for some people, not for all
9/21/2011

Customer review by Kytora310

2.0 stars 9/21/2011 by Kytora310
by Kytora310

I bought this five days ago, and since then, I've been using it twice a day as instructed: once in the morning, once at night. For the first days, it was wonderful. My skin was soft and I felt clean. There were a few breakouts, but that was to be expected since it was something new my skin wasn't used to. I like the fragrance--it's not overbearing, it's more subtle than anything. It's fresh. And I felt refreshed after I used it. However, this morning after I washed my face, my skin felt really tight when I moved my muscles around--opened my mouth for a yawn, raised my eyebrows, that kind of thing--so half an hour later I look in the mirror, and the cleanser dried out my skin. I could see flakes of skin coming off my cheeks, where it was the tightest, and where it was the most dry. I'm not sure if using it once a day would be better (what product would I use for the other time I wash my face? I can't mix products) or not. I guess I'll go try something else.

Kytora310
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
It worked for me!
7/23/2009

Customer review by PookieLove23

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by PookieLove23
by PookieLove23

I've never had big breakouts of acne, but I did get pimples and blackheads regularly enough for it to bother me. I would use this product everyday as part of my daily maintenance regime and it was gentle enough not to dry out my skin, it also did not make my skin oily, but kept it fresh. My acne was reduced significantly enough that my fiance even took notice of the change. I love it and would definitely recommend it! :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PookieLove23
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No more LAYERS of makeup for me!
8/27/2014

Customer review by flightybird

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by flightybird
by flightybird

I originally bought this face wash for my daughter, who has just begun experiencing her first blemishes. I started using it as my evening face wash about a week ago, and the difference i have noticed in my own skin is already INCREDIBLE. For the past few years, my skin has been the bane of my existence. Seriously. I was putting on layers of foundation and powder every morning (concealer, foundation, powder, foundation, powder - not kidding.) and I could still see the flaws in my skin. Now, my skin is still by no means perfect, but the improvement this product has made on my skin just absolutely blows me away. I've had no problems with the dryness that some people have mentioned, but of course, I do use it just before bed (and before putting on my night time facial moisturizer) so maybe that's why. I honestly don't get the complaints about the scent. It just smells like soap - just simple, and clean. No frou-frou stuff. This is definitely a product I will purchase again and continue to use to keep my face in good shape!

flightybird
Grapevine, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
What a Relief!
4/30/2014

Customer review by D-RELIEF

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by D-RELIEF
by D-RELIEF

I used this routinely for about a year then stopped. After a few months, I had the worst breakout in my entire life! Don't know the cause, no one seems to know why...maybe hormone, maybe stress, they are not really sure. I tried many natural remedies for 2 months then went to the dermatologist- last resort. She prescribed antibiotics capsules, antibiotic spray, eczema ointments # I also have sensitive skin prone to eczema) and special arisulphur soap. After 1 month I noticed the breakouts eased a bit in severity but I was still having at least 6 breakouts per week. I then recalled that I used this product for sometime without having these issues and decided to try it. Best decision ever! Within a week I almost had no breakout on my face. I use it with the arisulphur soap given by the derma and I am having excellent results! I don't plan to be without these again! I wash first with the Neutrogena then with the arisuphur soap. Thanks Neutrogena! Don't stop making this! The formula is perfect! PS: it does not dry out the skin.

D-RELIEF
Jamaica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Neutropenia face wash
8/2/2016

Customer review by Lilred

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Lilred
by Lilred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

LOVE THIS, I have very sensitive skin & this is wonderful, doesn't dry or eritate

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
made my skin red
2/14/2016

Customer review by kat991

2.0 stars 2/14/2016 by kat991
by kat991

Do not buy this product if you have sensitive or dry skin. This cleanser will strip away whatever remaining moisture on your face and it will make your face red and flaky. Yesterday I was breaking out a bit at the tops of my cheekbones so I applied some of this cleanser on my cheeks and washed it off. I noticed immediately how dry and tight my skin felt so I applied generous amounts of moisturizer. The next morning I woke up and it looked liked I had sunburn on my cheeks, thats how red they were. It did make my pimples smaller though, but I would still never use this cleanser again. The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 is because I can understand why this product will be good for people with oily skin or have a lot of existing acne on their face. Just don't label your products as "gentle and won't strip skin" because that is the exact opposite of what this product has done for me.

Comment from Neutrogena - 2/15/2016

Thanks for your review, kat991. We wouldn't expect this kind of reaction while using this product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to speaking with you

kat991
Honolulu, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
effective acne wash
7/29/2010

Customer review by wakeforest11

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by wakeforest11
by wakeforest11

This face cleaner works very well at clearing up acne. It does not suds up at all, which would be nice. It also doesn't really smell like much.. It is effective for what it is intended -- to clear and prevent acne break outs.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wakeforest11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/22/2012

Customer review by ashbley222

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by ashbley222
by ashbley222

I bought this product because i had a friend that used it and it worked great for her. I in no way had the same results. The first time i used it, my face seemed a little dry but i figured it was just because i had just switched face washes. I was wrong. I have used it only about 8 times and i cannot even move my face it is so dry. My skin doesn't feel like skin. It hurts every time i open my mouth. It didnt even get rid of my problem areas. I would never reccommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashbley222
Fort wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
skin soft and clear
6/26/2016

Customer review by AAA7

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by AAA7
by AAA7

I love the this Neutrogena product. I keeps my face clean and clear.

AAA7
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
.
6/9/2016

Customer review by jenpitt36117

1.0 stars 6/9/2016 by jenpitt36117
by jenpitt36117

I can not use this face wash. I used it for maybe 3 or 4 days and my skin looks awful! I broke out all over my face, neck and chest.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 6/10/2016

Thanks for getting in touch with us, jenpitt36117. We're terribly sorry to hear about your experience with our acne cleanser. We can assure you that this is not typical for our products. We'd like the opportunity to learn more by having you call us. You can reach us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thanks so much! We look forward to speaking with you.

jenpitt36117
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 461 total reviews
1-20 of 461 reviews