Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

158 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

158 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
25
3 stars
11
2 stars
16
1 stars
39
1-20 of 147 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
very bad
11/16/2012

Customer review by steveo122

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by steveo122
by steveo122

I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response

Was this review helpful? (151) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steveo122
west palm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible product NOT premium at all
6/28/2013

Customer review by Gordios

1.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Gordios
by Gordios

See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.

Was this review helpful? (76) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordios
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Exceeded my expectations
12/7/2012

Customer review by txdurk

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by txdurk
by txdurk

I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txdurk
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
The cats loved it!
8/22/2013

Customer review by Sformoso

3.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Sformoso
by Sformoso

I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sformoso
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Not Spam / Not Chunk of Ham
4/10/2016

Customer review by taylormade66

4.0 stars 4/10/2016 by taylormade66
by taylormade66

If you're expecting a premium piece of ham, don't buy this. It's a processed ham product, which I'm ok with. Have not tried to slice or bake this....yet. What I have done is dice it and put it in a pot of beans. My family said "Ewwww!" when they saw me cutting it up because there is some congealed gunk just like any canned ham. However, they openly admitted a change of opinion after eating and said it was surprisingly good. For those who said this is ground up ham, the diced pieces held together after cooking for a few hours so it can't all be ground. I will try slicing and frying. Have purchased about a dozen because they have a LONG shelf life. For $4, it's worth trying.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
taylormade66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Situatuinal
8/21/2016

Customer review by Glenn

3.0 stars 8/21/2016 by Glenn
by Glenn

I dice it up, fry it off and use it in place of bacon fir flavoring beans, greens and such. It works well for this. I tried it for sandwiches once and wasn't impressed. I definitely don't consider it palatable unless you slice it and cook it off first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dak Cured Ham, 16 oz.
8/18/2016

Customer review by RockForever

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by RockForever
by RockForever
Top 1000 contributor

Yum, this Dak Ham "cured" my ham cravings! I like to dice it up cold with some sliced tomatoes and/or cukes and my homemade honey mustard dipping sauce.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Very Satisfied
9/8/2012

Customer review by cataclysm

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by cataclysm
by cataclysm

I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cataclysm
NE USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!
8/14/2012

Customer review by firefighterman

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by firefighterman
by firefighterman

If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firefighterman
Aurora, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
works well in my navy bean and ham soup
10/5/2012

Customer review by Compotato

4.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Compotato
by Compotato

Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Compotato
SW Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Stand By
8/2/2016

Customer review by Pickles

4.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Pickles
by Pickles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I keep this on hand so when I have unexpected company I can set out a little meal. It works well in casseroles. Just right for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pickles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stocked up on these hams
7/30/2016

Customer review by Modemouth

4.0 stars 7/30/2016 by Modemouth
by Modemouth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These hams are great for camping, emergecy food supply, or casseroles. They are a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Modemouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great survival food!
12/19/2012

Customer review by infinitedesires

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by infinitedesires
by infinitedesires

This isn't Spam but close. Browning slices brings out the flavor. Would not recommend eating cold but that's just my opinion. When we have an environmental disaster you will be happy to have this product!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
infinitedesires
Elizabeth Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
makes great sandwiches
1/8/2016

Customer review by Andreew112u

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Andreew112u
by Andreew112u

When I'm short of time the canned ham is a lifesaver. Can it use for almost any occasion.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andreew112u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
1/27/2012

Customer review by mmf31289

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by mmf31289
by mmf31289

Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmf31289
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Excellent canned ham.
2/3/2014

Customer review by ArizonaBrit

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by ArizonaBrit
by ArizonaBrit

Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaBrit
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Item
12/31/2012

Customer review by Echo6

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Echo6
by Echo6
Walmart associate

This is a great disaster prep item. The one purchased recently had a 5.5 year shelf life.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Echo6
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
4/6/2012

Customer review by highimage

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by highimage
by highimage

These little hams are great for 2 people w/leftovers. We dress them up with brown sugar, ground cloves, pineapple and bake for about 30 mins. Leftovers make great omelet ingredients. Walmart has a great price.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highimage
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Dak Ham.
4/12/2016

Customer review by toady

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by toady
by toady

This ham is better to than, corned beef portions. This was my fiest expericence using the product, but certainly will not be my last.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rust
12/8/2015

Customer review by Mike

3.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Mike
by Mike

After receiving the shipment I unloaded the cans to find a couple of them dented from apparently being banged around together. I had this same issue last time but this shipement came packed in teh same way. I will keep the items but it causes me concern. Secondly on the DAK ham there is rust beginning on the back of the cans that I received. This can has a rather long life span of up to 6 years. Since the rust has already started I am concerned as to its condition down the road. I plan on keeping those also but will probably be buying them from the store where I can check for the rust before buying. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews