Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

123 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

123 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
16
1 stars
35
1-20 of 112 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!
8/14/2012

Customer review by firefighterman

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by firefighterman
by firefighterman

If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firefighterman
Aurora, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
very bad
11/16/2012

Customer review by steveo122

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by steveo122
by steveo122

I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response

Was this review helpful? (76) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steveo122
west palm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible product NOT premium at all
6/28/2013

Customer review by Gordios

1.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Gordios
by Gordios

See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gordios
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Value
1/27/2012

Customer review by mmf31289

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by mmf31289
by mmf31289

Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmf31289
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
4/6/2012

Customer review by highimage

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by highimage
by highimage

These little hams are great for 2 people w/leftovers. We dress them up with brown sugar, ground cloves, pineapple and bake for about 30 mins. Leftovers make great omelet ingredients. Walmart has a great price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
highimage
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Very Satisfied
9/8/2012

Customer review by cataclysm

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by cataclysm
by cataclysm

I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cataclysm
NE USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1/15/2012

Customer review by mdrinne

2.0 stars 1/15/2012 by mdrinne
by mdrinne

Bought this with the idea of adding it to my 15 bean soup. When I opened it I thought, 'Gee, this looks like spam'. So I cut off a piece and ate it, and thought 'Gee, this is spam'. If your looking for real canned ham, don't get this. If you like spam and its economically viable to get this instead of spam due to price, then do so. I'm not saying it doesnt taste good. For what it is, it does! It's just more like spam to me then canned ham i'm used to.

Was this review helpful? (43) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdrinne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
works well in my navy bean and ham soup
10/5/2012

Customer review by Compotato

4.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Compotato
by Compotato

Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Compotato
SW Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great survival food!
12/19/2012

Customer review by infinitedesires

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by infinitedesires
by infinitedesires

This isn't Spam but close. Browning slices brings out the flavor. Would not recommend eating cold but that's just my opinion. When we have an environmental disaster you will be happy to have this product!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
infinitedesires
Elizabeth Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Item
12/31/2012

Customer review by Echo6

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Echo6
by Echo6

This is a great disaster prep item. The one purchased recently had a 5.5 year shelf life.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Echo6
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Exceeded my expectations
12/7/2012

Customer review by txdurk

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by txdurk
by txdurk

I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txdurk
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Product - Terrible Shipping
7/27/2012

Customer review by Xtirjcghf

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Xtirjcghf
by Xtirjcghf

I ordered a dozen cans of this ham with free shipping. The product arrived on a timely basis. The packing was poorly done. Two of the cans had to be returned to a retail store location. One of the casn was dented so badly that the product was exposed and leaking into the shiping carton. I ordered online because of the convenience. If I have to go to the store to return something it defeats the purpose.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xtirjcghf
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Tastes like ham, but it's not ham...
9/30/2013

Customer review by Renee700

2.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Renee700
by Renee700

This is the fault of Dak for calling the product Premium Ham. It is, in fact, ham-flavor potted meat product. Its look and texture has been compared to Spam, but that's not quite it. I cooked it like ham, scoring the top and adding brown sugar, then drizzling it with water to make a glaze. And although it smells and tastes like ham, it has the consistency and look of soufflé or jello parfait. It is fluffy and can be eaten with a spoon. I have been looking for meats that can be stored without refrigeration, but this will not be one of them.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Renee700
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2012

Customer review by Dakattack

1.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Dakattack
by Dakattack

I have been buying Dak can hams for a while but the last 3 cans I bought had big chunks of white fat or grease. It was awful when you bit into it. I have never had this problem before. I thought I would bring this to your attention. I am hoping it was a bad batch. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dakattack
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent canned ham.
2/3/2014

Customer review by ArizonaBrit

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by ArizonaBrit
by ArizonaBrit

Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaBrit
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
The cats loved it!
8/22/2013

Customer review by Sformoso

3.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Sformoso
by Sformoso

I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sformoso
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Never again
7/13/2012

Customer review by Kokas

1.0 stars 7/13/2012 by Kokas
by Kokas

This ham has to be more than 50% fat. I tried cooking most of the fat out of it, but it still tasted terrible. I couldn't stand to eat it, and I LOVE ham. I will never buy this again and do not recommend it for any use at all.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kokas
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
SPAM
11/23/2013

Customer review by walmartshopper197337

1.0 stars 11/23/2013 by walmartshopper197337
by walmartshopper197337

This is no more than spam shaped like canned ham....Actually, I like spam....So never mind. It's more like the Alpo canned dog food my dog likes. Maybe since I bought 2 of these, I'll give it to him for diinner....Yup.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshopper197337
Saint George, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Portion Sized Package
4/14/2014

Customer review by AgencyMan

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by AgencyMan
by AgencyMan

Good product from old line supplier. Portion size is ample for two people as the meat entre Portion size is sufficient for use as meat item in meal, say; scalloped potatoes, salad, breakfest, rice dishes etc. Keeps forever and needs no refrigeration. Good size for barter too should you need to do some in the future.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AgencyMan
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty darn good for being canned
7/10/2014

Customer review by BCD73

4.0 stars 7/10/2014 by BCD73
by BCD73

The reviews of it not looking like the picture on the canned are spot on....looks nothing like that. That being said, it was pretty darn tasty and went well with the rice I mixed it in with. I plan on buying some more and adding to pizza and also to make sandwiches with. Give it a try, no its not "premium" and no it doesn't look like a 1 pc cut of ham, it is chunk ham pressed together....and nothing wrong with that. This is worth the price and I plan on buying monthly for my rice dishes.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BCD73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews