Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 stars
36
1-20 of 133 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
very bad
11/16/2012

Customer review by steveo122

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by steveo122
by steveo122

I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response

Was this review helpful? (123) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steveo122
west palm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible product NOT premium at all
6/28/2013

Customer review by Gordios

1.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Gordios
by Gordios

See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.

Was this review helpful? (69) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordios
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Exceeded my expectations
12/7/2012

Customer review by txdurk

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by txdurk
by txdurk

I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txdurk
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
makes great sandwiches
1/8/2016

Customer review by Andreew112u

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Andreew112u
by Andreew112u

When I'm short of time the canned ham is a lifesaver. Can it use for almost any occasion.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andreew112u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The cats loved it!
8/22/2013

Customer review by Sformoso

3.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Sformoso
by Sformoso

I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sformoso
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Really great!!
12/20/2015

Customer review by Johnctee

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Johnctee
by Johnctee

I don't know what the couple of people that gave such terrible reviews of this product were expecting from a $4 ham but for what it cost this is excellent. If you got a bad one do what you would do with any other product. Return or throw away the bad one and try again. (Especially if you said that you had bought good ones before. If you've never made a mistake in your life THEN and ONLY then can you say it's uncalled for!! I found the hams I bought to be fine. I've never had a problem with DAK hams. If you are looking for a better ham go ahead and pay $20 - $30 for one that's your option.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnctee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rust
12/8/2015

Customer review by Mike

3.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Mike
by Mike

After receiving the shipment I unloaded the cans to find a couple of them dented from apparently being banged around together. I had this same issue last time but this shipement came packed in teh same way. I will keep the items but it causes me concern. Secondly on the DAK ham there is rust beginning on the back of the cans that I received. This can has a rather long life span of up to 6 years. Since the rust has already started I am concerned as to its condition down the road. I plan on keeping those also but will probably be buying them from the store where I can check for the rust before buying. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!
8/14/2012

Customer review by firefighterman

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by firefighterman
by firefighterman

If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (83) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firefighterman
Aurora, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
chopped pressed ham chunks
11/4/2015

Customer review by therica

3.0 stars 11/4/2015 by therica
by therica
Top 250 contributor

Pretty much like Spam but not as good tasting, and this DAK is more expensive per ounce. There seems to be a lot more fat in the DAK than in even generic spam-like products. Spam-type cans are 12 ounces, the DAK is 16 ounces. Hormel Spam is $2.50 per can (20.8 cents per ounce) on walmart.com Great Value Canned spam-style is $2.00 per can on here ($16.7 cents per ounce). Our local dollar$store has decent generic spam for about $1.67. So, go figure on the cost per ounce versus this DAK at nearly 24.8 cents per ounce. We thought these used to be an actual slab of ham in a can. I guess either our memories were incorrect or DAK has changed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
therica
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 250 contributor
Very Satisfied
9/8/2012

Customer review by cataclysm

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by cataclysm
by cataclysm

I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cataclysm
NE USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
DAK Cured Ham
11/8/2015

Customer review by TFinch

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by TFinch
by TFinch

This is a breakfast treat. Great price, taste great and stores well. What more could you ask? I like it better than Spam.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TFinch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works well in my navy bean and ham soup
10/5/2012

Customer review by Compotato

4.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Compotato
by Compotato

Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Compotato
SW Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great survival food!
12/19/2012

Customer review by infinitedesires

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by infinitedesires
by infinitedesires

This isn't Spam but close. Browning slices brings out the flavor. Would not recommend eating cold but that's just my opinion. When we have an environmental disaster you will be happy to have this product!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
infinitedesires
Elizabeth Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best Price send to Family in Phillipines love it
1/10/2016

Customer review by Gary

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Gary
by Gary

No bones goes long way in 3rd World Country.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
1/27/2012

Customer review by mmf31289

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by mmf31289
by mmf31289

Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmf31289
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Item
12/31/2012

Customer review by Echo6

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Echo6
by Echo6
Walmart associate

This is a great disaster prep item. The one purchased recently had a 5.5 year shelf life.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Echo6
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Excellent canned ham.
2/3/2014

Customer review by ArizonaBrit

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by ArizonaBrit
by ArizonaBrit

Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaBrit
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/6/2012

Customer review by highimage

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by highimage
by highimage

These little hams are great for 2 people w/leftovers. We dress them up with brown sugar, ground cloves, pineapple and bake for about 30 mins. Leftovers make great omelet ingredients. Walmart has a great price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highimage
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Dak Ham
12/30/2015

Customer review by indianpony

3.0 stars 12/30/2015 by indianpony
by indianpony

i use these in a crock pot with split pea soup,,it works ok,,but nothing too brag about.for the price its perfect for soups cut up in cubes,,kinda like spam allmost.average ,,and the price is great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indianpony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tastes like ham, but it's not ham...
9/30/2013

Customer review by Renee700

2.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Renee700
by Renee700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the fault of Dak for calling the product Premium Ham. It is, in fact, ham-flavor potted meat product. Its look and texture has been compared to Spam, but that's not quite it. I cooked it like ham, scoring the top and adding brown sugar, then drizzling it with water to make a glaze. And although it smells and tastes like ham, it has the consistency and look of soufflé or jello parfait. It is fluffy and can be eaten with a spoon. I have been looking for meats that can be stored without refrigeration, but this will not be one of them.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renee700
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews