Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 168 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
17
1 stars
41
Sort by: 
1-20 of 157 reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
very bad
11/16/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted to let you know i recently bought 2 DAK hams from Walmart and when i opened the first one it looked bad. it appeared to be some meat and a lot of fat pressed together and when i opened the ham it self there were just chunks. I then opened the second one and it was the same. i threw them both out.i don't know whats going on at the plant but there is no way these hams should have been sold. i have bought these hams before and never had this problem . I also took photos and i will never buy this ham again this is totally uncalled for!!!! the codes on the labels were 06:12 260 EXPR: 0201-2017 i sent a 2 emails to the company and got not response
Was this review helpful?
Yes (185)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible product NOT premium at all
6/28/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
See my photo of this mess, and compare it to the photo on the label of the product can. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is nothing but chunks of fat pressed together with chunks of light and dark meat. Has a grey, off-color appearance. VERY salty, does not hold up well when heated; turns to mush. I'm especially befuddled because I lived in Europe for five years and I am used to high standards in European foods. I was expecting something similar to the Dubuque canned ham my mother used to purchase when I was a child. Instead, I received something which tastes and cooks worse than SPAM. I bought this over the internet and had it shipped to my home because Walmart is so far away. It appears there is no mechanism for me to report this as an inferior product and get my money back or a credit issued.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (95)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceeded my expectations
12/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wasn't sure what expect based on other reviews. I bought 3 cans at under $4/can at Walmart so I opened one. I found ham chunks compressed into shape with marbled fat between the chunks. The smell was of fresh ham and quite pleasant. It looked good and smelled good. My wife and I ate a 1/2" square piece cold. We both liked it. The predominant texture was of ham and we did not notice any fat. I thought it had a light saltiness. My wife thought it was more salty than I did. I cut a 3/8" thick slice length way and put it in the frying pan. While it cooked I found myself cutting cold pieces off the main piece of ham and consumed quite a bit by the time the slice was cooked. Once cooked the slice took on more of an appearance of whole ham fried in a skillet. After tasting it hot I must say I would enjoy it with some scrambled eggs and hash browns. Overall, this ham is great for camping, everyday use, and long term storage. Nice product, fantastic price. My only criticism is the product in no way resembles the picture on the can. Other than that, I am happy and will buy 6 more for emergency provisions. 
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The cats loved it!
8/22/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this ham to make Cuban jam croquetas. I always buy real jam but I wanted to give this a try figuring that this is what the Cuban bakeries all over Miami use to make their jam croquetas. For starters, this is machine separated jam. So you are getting left over scraps that are chemically cured, bound together with lard (fat), and machine formed to fit into a can. Is it food, yes; is it edible, yes; is it desirable...no! I gave the cats a chunk to see if they liked it and they loved it. So, it makes for perfectly cheap cat food. They devoured this stuff. I did use it to make the Cuban jam croquetas. They came out OK, frying them was fine since the binders in the ham prevented them from exploding. However, they had a slight taste of pig lard. Which, of course, is the fat used to bind these mechanically separated pieces of ham. I am not a fan of lard. Other than that, the croquetas were fine. I'll keep buying this ham but only to feed it to the cats.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Satisfied
9/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't see why anyone would complain, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this product. It's well packaged in a sanitary way, looks, smells, and tastes great. If you're looking for a high quality gourmet spiral sliced ham, or you're on a low fat diet, then buy fresh meats because canned meat products just aren't gonna be for you. Otherwise, this is a quality product with years of shelf life. It's great to have canned meat on hand for when I'm low on groceries and can't get to the store, weather emergencies, when camping, or for use in a college dorm. For every day meals, I use it for soup, macaroni and cheese. grilled cheese sandwiches, chopped in salad, or as a breakfast meat. The quality for the price makes it a really good buy. I've bought many over the years and I'm very satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Spam / Not Chunk of Ham
4/10/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you're expecting a premium piece of ham, don't buy this. It's a processed ham product, which I'm ok with. Have not tried to slice or bake this....yet. What I have done is dice it and put it in a pot of beans. My family said "Ewwww!" when they saw me cutting it up because there is some congealed gunk just like any canned ham. However, they openly admitted a change of opinion after eating and said it was surprisingly good. For those who said this is ground up ham, the diced pieces held together after cooking for a few hours so it can't all be ground. I will try slicing and frying. Have purchased about a dozen because they have a LONG shelf life. For $4, it's worth trying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT for long term food storage and camping!
8/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you are looking for a honey glazed ham like grandma used to make at Christmas time then just go buy a ham from the freezer section of the store! If you are looking for a quality canned ham that has a very long shelf life, then go no further. EXCELLENT to have a lot of this along side all of your other canned food for emergencies and for camping. EXCELLENT for every day use also! I'm a full time fire fighter and STRONGLY suggest prepairing for emergencies and having a well stocked food supply!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (97)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works well in my navy bean and ham soup
10/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this and agree, its alot like spam. I adapted my recipe for bean and ham soup to accomodate. 1lb small navy beans (got mine at the dollartree) did the quick soak method, rinsed and put in my pressure cooker with 6 cups chicken broth (I used water and bullion cubes) 2 carrots, 2 celery, a small portion of onion, dash of garlic salt, salt and pepper. 1/2 tsp allspice. (dash of liquid smoke optiional) cook this WITHOUT ham for 40 mins at 10lbs pressure. open pressure cooker per manufacture instructions. Cut 1/2 of can in cubes and add to beans. Cook another 10-15 mins. easily feeds 4-6
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great survival food!
12/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This isn't Spam but close. Browning slices brings out the flavor. Would not recommend eating cold but that's just my opinion. When we have an environmental disaster you will be happy to have this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Item
12/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This is a great disaster prep item. The one purchased recently had a 5.5 year shelf life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value
1/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was very happy with the quality and price. This is a great size when you don't want a big ham. It's enough for dinner or breakfast for a family of 5. I like that they keep for a couple of years in my pantry and are easy to open. They have a pull tab so do not require a can opener.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great
8/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great product at cheap price. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great on an egg mcmuffin.
1/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I PURCHASED the Hamilton Beach Breakfast Sandwich Maker and the 16 oz. DAK Canned Ham (chilled overnight, then sliced into 16 thin slices); expiration date 4/23/2018. I cut a slice of American cheese to fit (4 inch diameter) and also 2 slices bread, scrambled the egg, and put all in the appointed places, waited 5 minutes. BEST breakfast sandwich ever this morning. All you naysayers about DAK Canned Ham don' t know what you're talking about. Oh, by the way, you can find the Comfort Grip Cookie Cutter 4 inch diameter, $3.19 on Wal-Mart online also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These little hams are great for 2 people w/leftovers. We dress them up with brown sugar, ground cloves, pineapple and bake for about 30 mins. Leftovers make great omelet ingredients. Walmart has a great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent canned ham.
2/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Is this spiral cut honeybaked ham? Er, no. However, what this IS, is an excellent product that is awesome value for the money. You get a full pound of product in a can. It is perfect for camping, cabins, boats, stashing in the cupboard for an emergency.. and once opened, it is easy to cut and tastes great. I have used it with eggs and beans for breakfast, in a sandwich for a snack, or just eaten it right out of the can. Once opened I place the can in a ziploc bag in the fridge so the ham remains fresh and firm, ready for use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty darn good for being canned
7/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The reviews of it not looking like the picture on the canned are spot on....looks nothing like that. That being said, it was pretty darn tasty and went well with the rice I mixed it in with. I plan on buying some more and adding to pizza and also to make sandwiches with. Give it a try, no its not "premium" and no it doesn't look like a 1 pc cut of ham, it is chunk ham pressed together....and nothing wrong with that. This is worth the price and I plan on buying monthly for my rice dishes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Yes
8/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great for snacks... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
makes great sandwiches
1/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I'm short of time the canned ham is a lifesaver. Can it use for almost any occasion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One of the best meats for long term food storage!
2/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The wife is from Europe is particular and loves these canned hams from Denmark sliced cold with bread and cheese for breakfast. I love them as they are a good value and great for long term storage with a multi-year shelf life... We use a few cans per month and I rotated them!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great to keep in cupboard for emergencies
1/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like having one or two of these hams in the cupboard, especially during the winter! They don't require refrigeration, so keep at room temps for a long time. I usually use them in other foods, such as pea soup, baked beans or scalloped potatoes, but it can be oven roasted or sliced and fried, or sliced for sandwiches. I often slice and dice these hams to use in cold macaroni salads, or slice/dice in a fry pan with hash browns then scramble eggs into it. The flavor of these hams is quite mild but I've used a little liquid smoke flavoring to zip up the flavor, especially with pea soup or baked beans.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-