Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Charlie Chan movies
1/13/2011

Customer review by barbybabes

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by barbybabes
by barbybabes

Have been a Charlie Chan fan since I was a kid (1948)to present. The quality of the film is very good and it's a pleasure to sit back and enjoy! Give this as a gift to a movie buff.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barbybabes
Englewood FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Charlie Chan's 7 Adventures
4/16/2012

Customer review by BestRegards

4.0 stars 4/16/2012 by BestRegards
by BestRegards

I purchase Charlie Chan Volumne 5 at Sam's Club for $19.95. The picture quality for film shot over 70 years ago was suprisingly good. Watching Charlie Chan took me back to a simpler movie experience. I was not disappointed. Little would I have expected 60 years ago that most television shows in 2012 would be so lacking in entertainment value that I would have to resort to purchasing 70 year old movies to entertain myself. If you also feel less entertained and mostly annoyed by todays over the top advertised TV rubbish try the old classics such as Charlie Chan or Sherlock Holmes, or some newer Australian and BBC productions like McLeod's Daughters or Downton Abby.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestRegards
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Love all Charlie Chan
10/12/2008

Customer review by ranaroo

5.0 stars 10/12/2008 by ranaroo
by ranaroo

I have all the Charlie Chan Movies that have come out and loved all of them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranaroo
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Charlie Chan, what do you expect.
4/23/2009

Customer review by Kretch

4.0 stars 4/23/2009 by Kretch
by Kretch

This comment is for all of you who have seen Charlie Chan films from the 30's and 40's on late night TV in the antique days of 1 and 2 channel TV. There was something special about being up late on a weekend night and trying to solve the contrived mysteries of Charlie Chan movies. I always waited for the aphorisms, or Jimmy Chan (Victor Sen Young) to yell "pop" several times, or any number of Hollywood character actors (Lionel Atwill, Douglass Dumbrille, Donald McBride, etc.) to make their appearance, usually in some comic bit to keep it light. The black and white quality of the Sydney Toler Chan films is crisp and moody, and the production values are to Fox second feature standards. I have watched these films many times, I don't have to think or contemplate, or get political, and for a fun, cheap, non-taxing evening, Charlie Chan works everytime. This whole series of Fox releases has fine additional features, and are mastered from the finest existing source materials they could find. If you are thinking about purchasing these, go ahead, you'll love them. If you are not sure about Chan, read some more, buy the collection with Charlie Chan at the Opera, and then make a decision. I am glad these are finally all available on DVD.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kretch
Frostbite Falls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just good entertainment
1/15/2009

Customer review by jwm3131

5.0 stars 1/15/2009 by jwm3131
by jwm3131

This set is just good old black & white, 1930-40's era detective genre movies staring arguably the second most famous detective on film. Sidney Toler (personal favorite) solves a vast array of whodunit's. Get some popcorn and enjoy. Down side, one movie per disc side, which is a small hassle, could have been two-2- or three movies on a single disc, on a single side for customer/ consumer/ movie buff's convenience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwm3131
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love Charlie Chan! Five classics for $30
12/16/2013

Customer review by TexasDave

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by TexasDave
by TexasDave

I always loved these old movies. We always called them the "get-together reveal the murderer detective movies" because they always had this big "party" at the end of the movie to reveal who the murderer is. Like The Thin Man etc. LOVE THAT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasDave
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charlie Chan Volume 5
5/16/2014

Customer review by NeedMoreHope

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by NeedMoreHope
by NeedMoreHope

I love my collection of Charlie Chan DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedMoreHope
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2008

Customer review by Boo1492

3.0 stars 10/16/2008 by Boo1492
by Boo1492

A little corny, but I like Sidney Toler as Charlie Chan. Great if you like old detective stories.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boo1492
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month