Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

20 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

20 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

buy quality
1/7/2009

Customer review by murpheyslaw

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by murpheyslaw
by murpheyslaw

I own 4 of these reels,they are used solely for salmon fishing 5 days a week all summer and fall. I am yet to have any complaints or problems,my only wish is that line guide was wider inside so it would not wear lead core line so fast.I run 300 yards of 30lb line and have yet to have anything break or drag to fade even with a 20lb salmon on ! Y ou can buy cheaper reels, but they wont hold up to hard use like the time proven pens,you wont be dissapointed and it looks as good as it works.As my other reels wear out ill be upgrading to more of these.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murpheyslaw
ludington,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a good reel for a good deal
2/9/2009

Customer review by fishingkid

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by fishingkid
by fishingkid

I fish alot and I havent had a problem with it yet. for this prise its a bargain

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingkid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Penn 320/330 Level wind reels
1/3/2015

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by Grandpa
by Grandpa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have the 320 and recently purchased a 330 for my grandson. The reel winds evenly and eliminates the distraction of manual directing the line back and forth. One less thing for me to be concerned with and a child to become frustrated by. It has a free spool resistance feature which when adjusted to the weight reduces or eliminates backlash. That's particularly valuable with kids who tend to focus on other things and forget about thumbing the spool during hook drop. A tangled reel in the middle of a bite is not something that brings happiness. With some practice, you can cast a respectable distance from the boat which offers advantage when some of the larger fish range away when they see the abnormal distress patterns of other fish being caught. Drag is adequate. Its one piece design is simple and sturdy. With a little care Penn reels have lasted me a lifetime.

Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Multipurpose, Easy to Maintain
2/25/2016

Customer review by GOM Dad

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by GOM Dad
by GOM Dad

I have multiple 330's, star and lever drag, and weather used trolling for kings or paired with Mariner Standup bottom fishing for red snapper and grouper it has never let me down. Easy to maintain, good line capacity, and sturdy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

GOM Dad
AL Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good boat reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by Edmund

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Edmund
by Edmund

this reel has been a fishers life saver when novice fishing friends on board fishing. The reel handles even the toughest snapper in 100' and no worry about the line balling up on the spool. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Edmund
Breaux Bridge, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Affordable Workhorse Reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by Itsakeeper

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Itsakeeper
by Itsakeeper

The Penn 330GT has stood me in good stead over the years. Solid reel, great drag, light weight and high line capacity. Can't go wrong with this affordable reel. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Itsakeeper
Fords, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best reel ever
2/26/2016

Customer review by captcw

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by captcw
by captcw

I have owned a pen gt reel for many years,it has seen many seasons of hard use and still performs and looks like it purchased yesterday [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

captcw
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Simple and reliable
2/25/2016

Customer review by TRex

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by TRex
by TRex

Kept these on the boat for friends and family to utilize for bottom fishing and they were great. Very simple yet effective reels. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TRex
Hayward, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reliable reels
2/25/2016

Customer review by Paul Esbensen

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Paul Esbensen
by Paul Esbensen

I have had these reel for years and they never miss a beat! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Paul Esbensen
Annapolis, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Durable and simple to use
2/4/2016

Customer review by Doctor G

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Doctor G
by Doctor G

I have purchased at least six of these level wind reels over the past 20 years. I still have all of them and every one is in excellent working condition. I rinse them in freshwater after each use and wipe them with a cloth that has residual WD-40 on it. These reels are an excellent value for medium saltwater fishing mostly inshore. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Doctor G
Carteret County, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome reel
2/4/2016

Customer review by Jim 48

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Jim 48
by Jim 48

I bought this reel this past season and was impressed with the versatility of this reel. This reel worked flawlessly whether it was 5 lb bottom fish to 15lb bass. The ease of maintenance is an important plus [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jim 48
Long Island New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Cost effective and dependable.
2/4/2016

Customer review by Andrew U

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Andrew U
by Andrew U

I have purchased this reel over 15 years ago. I performed very little maintenance with it. Even though it was used in a salt water environment. I finally serviced it myself and it's performing like new. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Andrew U
Bear, DE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing reels
2/8/2016

Customer review by Marc1

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Marc1
by Marc1

I have 6 of these I will never use another Garcia for monster catfish I tried one then sold all of my Garcia's and bought 5 more [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Marc1
Shelbyville, Kentucky, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great beginners reel for deep sea fishing
2/4/2016

Customer review by groundfish

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by groundfish
by groundfish

The 220 level wind is a great beginners rod for deep sea fishing groupfish suck as cod, haddock & pollack. Holds lots of line and has a pretty good line retrieval rate. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

groundfish
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good all around reel
2/4/2016

Customer review by Joe_M

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Joe_M
by Joe_M

This reel meets most anglers needs for inshore fishing. I have landed many fish from flounder to 60lb drum without ever having a problem. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Joe_M
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome rod ... third of the price!
2/5/2016

Customer review by smorty

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by smorty
by smorty

It's my go to sturgeon reel, on my go to sturgeon rod ... Shakespeare tiger stik. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

smorty
Davis, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
THE BEST THERE IS
2/4/2016

Customer review by JFKSTEELIE

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by JFKSTEELIE
by JFKSTEELIE

THESE REELS HAVE BEEN THE BEST TROLLING REELS FOR PACIFIC KING SALMON I HAVE EVER USED [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

JFKSTEELIE
Humboldt, California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent
2/4/2016

Customer review by Reaper

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Reaper
by Reaper

I love this reel Penn's Reels are the best they never fail me no matter what I catch. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Reaper
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love these reels . Strong and reliable
2/4/2016

Customer review by Maliburay

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Maliburay
by Maliburay

I have used peen reels forever . My after used them and my grandson will too [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Maliburay
Keyport, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Reel!
3/30/2015

Customer review by MarylandGreg

5.0 stars 3/30/2015 by MarylandGreg
by MarylandGreg

I've been using these reels for many years, trolling for species like Stripers and Blues. They have always provided good service, they are true work horses. I wish they would bring back the 310 GT. That reel is a great light tackle reel for species like Spanish mackerel, Stripers and Blues as well.

MarylandGreg
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male