Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1/31/2010

Customer review by excoach

5.0 stars 1/31/2010 by excoach
by excoach

The best Rod anyone could buy/use. Your wasting your money going with any other Rod other than an Ugly Stik.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
excoach
Edgewood, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Shakespeare Ugly Classic Spinning Combo
7/15/2009

Customer review by WALMARTSOUTHBAYSANDIEGO

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by WALMARTSOUTHBAYSANDIEGO
by WALMARTSOUTHBAYSANDIEGO

I had heard about the ugly stick and its reputation but had not gotten around to buying one. Now I know what people like about them. The rod and reel combo is well worth the cost. I am someone who fishes several times a year and I am glad I bought this pole. Get one and you will see why.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WALMARTSOUTHBAYSANDIEGO
SAN DIEGO CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/22/2009

Customer review by fishing1992

4.0 stars 1/22/2009 by fishing1992
by fishing1992

i bought the rod and it does great for salt-water or fresh-water game fish, i have took it deepsea fishing and it does excellent

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishing1992
port richey FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Fishing Pole
1/25/2010

Customer review by threewolfs

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by threewolfs
by threewolfs

Have fished for many years with the ugly stick. I now have 6 of them and would not fish with anything else. If you want a great experience then get an Ugly Stick and fish with it you will never go to anything else.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
threewolfs
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love my "Shakespear"?
8/16/2009

Customer review by Redfisher3

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by Redfisher3
by Redfisher3

I wanted a new UglyStik and this spooled 50 size reel was stuck to my new rod. WOW I would not have believed a $29 (Walmart store price I paid) combo reel would be so great. I was intenting to buy a new Okuma 65 to put on the UglyStik but I could not find one before heading out to do some redfishing. Super smooth and durable afer 6 month od steady fishing. THANKS!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redfisher3
Titusville Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
medium/heavy action
8/23/2009

Customer review by fishing247

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by fishing247
by fishing247

the reel and pole are excellent but the line is 12 lb test line cajun red, i think it should have stronger test line but it can be replaced. i like it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishing247
worthington, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice quality piece.
1/2/2013

Customer review by nishhy205

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by nishhy205
by nishhy205

This was purchased as gift for my nephew. I was surprised when the 9 foot box arrived on my door step as I thought it said it was two pieces. The rod itself cannot break down into two pieces and as such will be difficult to transport in a car. Other than that it is a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nishhy205
port huron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Failed to meet description.
2/17/2013

Customer review by JHYSD

2.0 stars 2/17/2013 by JHYSD
by JHYSD

This is a beautiful rod and reel for a great price. However, the description stated the pole came in two parts. I ordered it twice thinking there had been a mistake, but both poles came as one, solid, 7 foot pole that does not break down.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JHYSD
Marion, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Pole
6/7/2010

Customer review by hardrockfisher

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by hardrockfisher
by hardrockfisher

I have taken this combo out many times. The Ugly stick is a great rod, but after a couple big cats on the line the reel is starting wear out. Would recomend upgrading the reel if you plan for the big ones.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hardrockfisher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rod OK, reel not so good
7/29/2012

Customer review by hebroots

2.0 stars 7/29/2012 by hebroots
by hebroots

After 2 weeks, my reel stopped working. The on-off switch stopped making the reel stop in one direction.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hebroots
Jensen Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/2/2010

Customer review by CyndieinCC

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by CyndieinCC
by CyndieinCC

I bought this for my son and he loves it

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CyndieinCC
Crescent City CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a great fishing rod for beginners.
8/5/2013

Customer review by thingstotry

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by thingstotry
by thingstotry

This product is light, sturdy and a two piece pole great for beginners. I read previous reviews on this rod and had heard by word of mouth that this pole is it. Well it true. Great pole I'm glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thingstotry
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
reel drag locks up while retreiving line
9/18/2013

Customer review by ARAcosta

3.0 stars 9/18/2013 by ARAcosta
by ARAcosta

Great rod,but if your going to do some heavy fishing like I do, get the rod and forget the reel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARAcosta
Piscataway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ift but I'd use it.
12/5/2009

Customer review by BigBobL

4.0 stars 12/5/2009 by BigBobL
by BigBobL

Bought it for a grandkid. I'd use it myself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBobL
Cumberland, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Bought as a gift
12/20/2012

Customer review by Jeanee

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Jeanee
by Jeanee

I bought this pole as a Christmas gift. I know my mom loves to fish, so I thought she'd love it. I'll know for sure on Christmas morning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeanee
Jax, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Complicated
5/19/2010

Customer review by snappinpicstoo

1.0 stars 5/19/2010 by snappinpicstoo
by snappinpicstoo

I would not recommend this for anyone with children we basically kept untangling it all day. What a mess. I'll stay with the closed reel from now on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snappinpicstoo
Belleville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I never saw it but my nephew loves it
12/30/2013

Customer review by KScottPDX

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by KScottPDX
by KScottPDX

Sent direct from store to my nephew who is stoked about it. He's calling it a bass rod... I don't know if that's true but he's happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KScottPDX
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.