Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 28 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
just like the big "ugly stick"
12/4/2008

Customer review by mclxiii

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by mclxiii
by mclxiii

This rod and reel combo was great. I bought this combo for my 5 year old son because he wants an "Ugly Stick". It performed flawlessly like it's big brother and caught several trouts with it. The line it came with was great, never lost a single fish (like I thought I would). Only flaw is on the design, all the guides are on the upper half of the rod making it hard to align them with the reel. All in all, it is a great little combo. I attached a photo of our catch.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mclxiii
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Whip me with this Ugly Stick
7/26/2009

Customer review by willfishforfood

5.0 stars 7/26/2009 by willfishforfood
by willfishforfood

I bought this because I had been using my kids little Taz pole from 1995. It is just the right size if you fish for fun and don't expect to catch a whale. I lake fish and love this mid-size pole.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willfishforfood
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Smooth and silky can be affordable
1/28/2016

Customer review by Danny H

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Danny H
by Danny H
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My family gave my this rig for my birthday nearly two years ago. It has served me well without breaking the birthday budget. I have found this to be a great replacement for my other Shakespeare combo that needed to be replaced. I would recommend this to anyone especially youth wanting to make the transition from a spincast reel to a spinning reel. I always recommend this rig to all of my cub scouts.

Danny H
Winchester, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Durable and Reliable
1/8/2016

Customer review by Uglystikfan

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Uglystikfan
by Uglystikfan
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I got this rod as a gift and it has proved itself to be extremely durable and reliable when I need it. It can be used for any species and is a perfect starter rod and reel combo

Uglystikfan
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Gift for grand daughter
3/6/2009

Customer review by MOMMOM521

4.0 stars 3/6/2009 by MOMMOM521
by MOMMOM521

I purchased this for my 13 yr old grand daughter for pond fishing. She is very happy with this rod. I am thinking of getting one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOMMOM521
Louisburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fisherman's dream
2/16/2010

Customer review by 1818Katie

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by 1818Katie
by 1818Katie

I was really suprised at the quality of the rod and real for the price. It was well worth the price and I ordered it on Sunday and received it on Monday. You can't beat that for timeleness when I didn't pay extra to get quicker shipping.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1818Katie
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great rod, lousy reel
7/6/2015

Customer review by Fader

3.0 stars 7/6/2015 by Fader
by Fader

I bought this to get back into fishing after many years. I've never owned a spinning reel, but I know they are popular, so I bought this combo. Early on, like others, I lost line to tangles, but I chalk that up to user error. Once I got the hang of casting a spinning reel, I like it. However, the reel is VERY cheap. The drag is hard to set just right, and when set, it feels like the internals grind a little if there is any tension on the line. With the drag opened up to a suitable setting, the spool feels loose and jiggles a bit. I've fished for about 8 hours with this rod & reel. I LOVE the light action of the rod, but am replacing the reel with one of better quality. I don't think I would recommend this combo to a friend because, ultimately, I got what I paid for.

Fader
Boise, ID, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
10/7/2015

Customer review by lars3939

1.0 stars 10/7/2015 by lars3939
by lars3939

bought one to get back into fishing. the rod is decent. but the reel is a piece of junk. replaced the reel as soon as i could, with an old rusty beat up zebco 33. decent rod, but reel is junk. cant say that enough

lars3939
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Rod Poor Reel
7/17/2009

Customer review by NHFishingDad

2.0 stars 7/17/2009 by NHFishingDad
by NHFishingDad

The rod was great - As expected for an Ugly Stik. The reel was another story altogether. I have been fishing for close to 40 years and have used many rod/reel combos.This combo did not feel well balanced and casting distance was awful. 10 -15 yards at best. I purchased this set for my 10 year old son and he did not like it at all. Used it once and returned it for credit. I purchased a ladies fishing kit for my 8 year old daughter at the same time (read the review) and was very impressed with the results. Shakespeare needs to rethink this combo.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHFishingDad
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Anti-reverse issues.
8/25/2014

Customer review by BlackFridayCringe

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by BlackFridayCringe
by BlackFridayCringe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thought this rod and reel would be great for my son. Nope, we used it for a couple hours and the anti-reverse started slipping so bad that it was unusable. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackFridayCringe
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT for your children/grandchildren
8/29/2012

Customer review by Namlo

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Namlo
by Namlo

I own five Ugly Stiks - my favorite rod. Purchased this combo 4 my grandkids so they could have an Ugly Stik like granpa - reel is way too heavy, out of balance, even 4 most adults. If it were not 4 the Ugly Stik, I would have rated the "combo" as low as you can go.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Namlo
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
One of the best rods I own!
7/12/2015

Customer review by TylerRitchart

5.0 stars 7/12/2015 by TylerRitchart
by TylerRitchart

I am generally an individual who buys high end products. I love to fish and I invest countless hours of time and lots of money in fishing. I generally buy abu Garcia and Penn. For some reason though, this ugly stik has outlasted all of my rods and reels! I love it! You will too!

TylerRitchart
Nashville, Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
NO stars deserved
7/20/2014

Customer review by Butat

1.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Butat
by Butat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These reels fell apart after one cast. Bought to have fun on 4th of July with the grand kids...HUGE disappointment. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butat
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad product
7/13/2014

Customer review by rfr3100

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by rfr3100
by rfr3100

My father in law bought this for my son. We opened the package and found that the line was already all tangled up inside. So we took it back and exchanged it. The second one appeared to be ok, but when we took it to the lake it turned out to be a nightmare. It was hard to cast, slow to reel back in, at one point the two halves separated with the top half going into the water. Finally, the line just got tangled beyond usefulness. We did not abuse, misuse, or mistreat this item in anyway. It just doesn't work right. We will be trying to get our money back or at least store credit. P.S. After this rod and reel went kaput, I handed my son mine and he caught a fish on his first cast with it.

rfr3100
St. Louis, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
5 years strong
5/28/2015

Customer review by rocketbmx1

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by rocketbmx1
by rocketbmx1

I bought this 5+ years ago have submerged it multiple times ,dropped it, kicked it,fell on it beaten it and never maintained it .I've caught more fish than I can think of ...a lot of them were probably more than the rods limit,but it's never broken .

rocketbmx1
Toledo, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
worth the money.
12/14/2008

Customer review by walmarteen

5.0 stars 12/14/2008 by walmarteen
by walmarteen

This is one of best fishing kit I have gotten. The first time I went fishing it with the Ugly Stik I got two fish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmarteen
Austin,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for a bargin rod and real
8/19/2009

Customer review by onewondershow

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by onewondershow
by onewondershow

We opened the package and whent fishing. The only small problem with this set is it comes with a tackle kit but the tackle kit does not close once it's open. My friends had much more expensive gear than i did and i caught more fish using the cheap spinner this came with than they did using their fancy lures

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onewondershow
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not too Shabby
12/6/2013

Customer review by ctfisherman

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by ctfisherman
by ctfisherman

I would have given the product 5 stars had it arrived promptly, and in better condition. While functionally sound, several of the eyes had the paint worn from their edges in some spots. I doubt it was during it's 7 day journey to my house. I think it was however it was stored at the factory or warehouse it came from. You pay for what you get I suppose.

ctfisherman
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
11/12/2014

Customer review by Bern

1.0 stars 11/12/2014 by Bern
by Bern
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Reel was poor quality. Drag did not work and reel handle would not seat into the reel body. Did not even get to use the rod right out of the box.

Bern
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
okay
6/13/2014

Customer review by steakhouse33

3.0 stars 6/13/2014 by steakhouse33
by steakhouse33

i bought this two months ago and it was my first spinning rod.I enjoyed it but lost a lot of line to tangles and ended up putting 10Ib test which has worked okay ,but yesterday the metal bar for casting broke and gave up trying to make it work. In my personal opinion get a zebco 202 or 33  

steakhouse33
Papillion, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews