Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 25 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
just like the big "ugly stick"
12/4/2008

Customer review by mclxiii

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by mclxiii
by mclxiii

This rod and reel combo was great. I bought this combo for my 5 year old son because he wants an "Ugly Stick". It performed flawlessly like it's big brother and caught several trouts with it. The line it came with was great, never lost a single fish (like I thought I would). Only flaw is on the design, all the guides are on the upper half of the rod making it hard to align them with the reel. All in all, it is a great little combo. I attached a photo of our catch.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mclxiii
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Fisherman's dream
2/16/2010

Customer review by 1818Katie

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by 1818Katie
by 1818Katie

I was really suprised at the quality of the rod and real for the price. It was well worth the price and I ordered it on Sunday and received it on Monday. You can't beat that for timeleness when I didn't pay extra to get quicker shipping.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1818Katie
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Gift for grand daughter
3/6/2009

Customer review by MOMMOM521

4.0 stars 3/6/2009 by MOMMOM521
by MOMMOM521

I purchased this for my 13 yr old grand daughter for pond fishing. She is very happy with this rod. I am thinking of getting one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOMMOM521
Louisburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Whip me with this Ugly Stick
7/26/2009

Customer review by willfishforfood

5.0 stars 7/26/2009 by willfishforfood
by willfishforfood

I bought this because I had been using my kids little Taz pole from 1995. It is just the right size if you fish for fun and don't expect to catch a whale. I lake fish and love this mid-size pole.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
willfishforfood
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Great Rod Poor Reel
7/17/2009

Customer review by NHFishingDad

2.0 stars 7/17/2009 by NHFishingDad
by NHFishingDad

The rod was great - As expected for an Ugly Stik. The reel was another story altogether. I have been fishing for close to 40 years and have used many rod/reel combos.This combo did not feel well balanced and casting distance was awful. 10 -15 yards at best. I purchased this set for my 10 year old son and he did not like it at all. Used it once and returned it for credit. I purchased a ladies fishing kit for my 8 year old daughter at the same time (read the review) and was very impressed with the results. Shakespeare needs to rethink this combo.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHFishingDad
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
NOT for your children/grandchildren
8/29/2012

Customer review by Namlo

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Namlo
by Namlo

I own five Ugly Stiks - my favorite rod. Purchased this combo 4 my grandkids so they could have an Ugly Stik like granpa - reel is way too heavy, out of balance, even 4 most adults. If it were not 4 the Ugly Stik, I would have rated the "combo" as low as you can go.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Namlo
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Anti-reverse issues.
8/25/2014

Customer review by BlackFridayCringe

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by BlackFridayCringe
by BlackFridayCringe

Thought this rod and reel would be great for my son. Nope, we used it for a couple hours and the anti-reverse started slipping so bad that it was unusable. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackFridayCringe
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worth the money.
12/14/2008

Customer review by walmarteen

5.0 stars 12/14/2008 by walmarteen
by walmarteen

This is one of best fishing kit I have gotten. The first time I went fishing it with the Ugly Stik I got two fish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarteen
Austin,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for a bargin rod and real
8/19/2009

Customer review by onewondershow

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by onewondershow
by onewondershow

We opened the package and whent fishing. The only small problem with this set is it comes with a tackle kit but the tackle kit does not close once it's open. My friends had much more expensive gear than i did and i caught more fish using the cheap spinner this came with than they did using their fancy lures

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onewondershow
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
My 8 yr old loves it!
12/29/2008

Customer review by ridewme

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by ridewme
by ridewme

Great value for a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ridewme
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2009

Customer review by bcdiver58

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by bcdiver58
by bcdiver58

Love this rod and reel excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bcdiver58
Albion, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic
5/4/2014

Customer review by lakewashingto

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by lakewashingto
by lakewashingto

This is the best rod I have ever used! The reel has a little fin for grabbing the line while casting that is extremely convenient, and the rod is sensitive but durable. 

lakewashingto
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for getting back into fishing
1/17/2014

Customer review by darr

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by darr
by darr

This was a great package for getting back into fishing after 25 years.

darr
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Value
12/15/2013

Customer review by Scott

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Scott
by Scott

These combos are perfect for kids. They meet the durability demands of my 5yr and 7yr old wrecking crew. 

Scott
St. Petersburg, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nice combination of rod & reel! light weight...
12/23/2013

Customer review by Stevo

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Stevo
by Stevo

this was such a great deal, I couldn't pass it up.

Stevo
Kapolei, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
5 years strong
5/28/2015

Customer review by rocketbmx1

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by rocketbmx1
by rocketbmx1

I bought this 5+ years ago have submerged it multiple times ,dropped it, kicked it,fell on it beaten it and never maintained it .I've caught more fish than I can think of ...a lot of them were probably more than the rods limit,but it's never broken .

rocketbmx1
Toledo, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
One of the best rods I own!
7/12/2015

Customer review by TylerRitchart

5.0 stars 7/12/2015 by TylerRitchart
by TylerRitchart

I am generally an individual who buys high end products. I love to fish and I invest countless hours of time and lots of money in fishing. I generally buy abu Garcia and Penn. For some reason though, this ugly stik has outlasted all of my rods and reels! I love it! You will too!

TylerRitchart
Nashville, Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
new outfit
2/22/2014

Customer review by hawk2e

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by hawk2e
by hawk2e

bought online. very fast shipping. very nice outfit for the price. just starting to come in to spring in Erie,pa so i haven't used it yet. 

hawk2e
Erie, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great fishing combo
12/12/2013

Customer review by Texas1

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Texas1
by Texas1

This is the best rod I ever had.. It's great for catfishing as well as bass... plan to get another one in the future.

Texas1
Conroe, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not too Shabby
12/6/2013

Customer review by ctfisherman

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by ctfisherman
by ctfisherman

I would have given the product 5 stars had it arrived promptly, and in better condition. While functionally sound, several of the eyes had the paint worn from their edges in some spots. I doubt it was during it's 7 day journey to my house. I think it was however it was stored at the factory or warehouse it came from. You pay for what you get I suppose.

ctfisherman
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews