Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 40 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
just like the big "ugly stick"
12/4/2008

Customer review by mclxiii

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by mclxiii
by mclxiii

This rod and reel combo was great. I bought this combo for my 5 year old son because he wants an "Ugly Stick". It performed flawlessly like it's big brother and caught several trouts with it. The line it came with was great, never lost a single fish (like I thought I would). Only flaw is on the design, all the guides are on the upper half of the rod making it hard to align them with the reel. All in all, it is a great little combo. I attached a photo of our catch.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mclxiii
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Whip me with this Ugly Stick
7/26/2009

Customer review by willfishforfood

5.0 stars 7/26/2009 by willfishforfood
by willfishforfood

I bought this because I had been using my kids little Taz pole from 1995. It is just the right size if you fish for fun and don't expect to catch a whale. I lake fish and love this mid-size pole.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willfishforfood
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Item was not the same as described
5/11/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

The Walmart discription of this item was not correct. The description states that it has a stainless steel cone and it does not. The reel is all plastic. I purchased the exact same model about 9 months ago and it was true to the discription with a much more heavy duty reel at the same price. Contacted Shakespeare and they confermed that I have the same model but shakespeare changed the reel and Walmart has not changed the discription. Shakespeare has replaced it with a all plastic reel and much smaller and cheaper parts

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reliable and rugged!
5/23/2016

Customer review by csmartin33

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by csmartin33
by csmartin33

I bought 2 of these brand new and haven't opened them yet. I bought them because I have bought them for years and have several other ones I have had for years now. Uglystick will be there when the going gets tough. I don't worry about pulling in the largest loads and I know it won't snap and break like some very expensive rods have done time and time again.

csmartin33
Dayton, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo for a great price
5/27/2016

Customer review by Big Rib

4.0 stars 5/27/2016 by Big Rib
by Big Rib

I have been a fan of Ugly Stick rods for a very long time. They are durable, fair priced, and readily available. I have never had any issues with the combo sets and recommend them t any first time fisherman.

Big Rib
Rindge, NH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Love it!
5/10/2016

Customer review by Gobot

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by Gobot
by Gobot

This is my very first fishing rod as my boyfriend is teaching me how to fish this Spring and Ugly Stik was the ONLY brand he recommended when I was choosing what to get. I am so excited to get out on the water and catch something! The stick seems very sturdy and well made. I feel comfortable handling it and can tell it's going to perform well when put to use. Thanks for making a quality product and for all the memories I'm sure we'll make using it :)

Gobot
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Female
Old School Ugly Stik
5/5/2016

Customer review by Pyro Chuck

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Pyro Chuck
by Pyro Chuck

I buy these every time I find them. Why? Because I have used original Ugly Stiks for over 25yrs now in every size from ultra-light to 15' surf rods. Unfortunately, Shakespeare has decided to quit making the originals. I have asked them why and every time they tell me the new ones are basically the same and even better. No, they are not...period. I will give 5 stars for every old school Ugly Stik I own and I will continue to buy them when I see them and put them away for when they are needed.

Pyro Chuck
Rock River, WY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Pretty Durable
5/9/2016

Customer review by CatchNRelease

4.0 stars 5/9/2016 by CatchNRelease
by CatchNRelease

I bought my ugly stik spinning combo about 5 years ago, and am thinking of upgrading to the GX2 soon. The Rod is incredible and believe it or not the reel still works fine after salt and freshwater use. Extremely impressed, great beginner set up, was my first real combo set up and did not disappoint.

CatchNRelease
Bergen County, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
to my surprise!
5/2/2016

Customer review by fliper

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by fliper
by fliper

I bought this rod and real combo, because of the legendary toughness, thinking my young son wouldn't break it. After years of use, and unknown amounts of abuse, this little combo has not only held together, it has become a favorite fishing companion. I purchased the combo because of toughness, we both love it because of sensitivity, keep up the great work Ugly Stik.

fliper
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Gift for grand daughter
3/6/2009

Customer review by MOMMOM521

4.0 stars 3/6/2009 by MOMMOM521
by MOMMOM521

I purchased this for my 13 yr old grand daughter for pond fishing. She is very happy with this rod. I am thinking of getting one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOMMOM521
Louisburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fisherman's dream
2/16/2010

Customer review by 1818Katie

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by 1818Katie
by 1818Katie

I was really suprised at the quality of the rod and real for the price. It was well worth the price and I ordered it on Sunday and received it on Monday. You can't beat that for timeleness when I didn't pay extra to get quicker shipping.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1818Katie
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It is a great rod and reel combo.
5/2/2016

Customer review by Steven2001

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Steven2001
by Steven2001

I bought my first uglystick 9 years ago and I bought the uglystick spinning combo 3 mounths ago. It is worth the money and it is reliable.

Steven2001
Barbourville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
5/3/2016

Customer review by Ryno56

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Ryno56
by Ryno56

A good dependable rod and reel. A great value for the price.

Ryno56
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
4/20/2016

Customer review by Dayooper

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Dayooper
by Dayooper

This rod has lasted forever the stock line that comes with it is awesome!

Dayooper
Hancock, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works well, just change the line!
4/4/2016

Customer review by HUTCH

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by HUTCH
by HUTCH

This is not a bad little outfit. I see where others can it but who would not replace the line asap anyway. Granddaughter wanted to fish, didn't want a BARBIE pole so I got her this, has caught more than 100+ good size bluegill and crappie, a few small bass. SHE loves it. and no problems! Thanks! Have had it for almost a year and will use it again this season. By the way she turns 5 in August!

HUTCH
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Rod Poor Reel
7/17/2009

Customer review by NHFishingDad

2.0 stars 7/17/2009 by NHFishingDad
by NHFishingDad

The rod was great - As expected for an Ugly Stik. The reel was another story altogether. I have been fishing for close to 40 years and have used many rod/reel combos.This combo did not feel well balanced and casting distance was awful. 10 -15 yards at best. I purchased this set for my 10 year old son and he did not like it at all. Used it once and returned it for credit. I purchased a ladies fishing kit for my 8 year old daughter at the same time (read the review) and was very impressed with the results. Shakespeare needs to rethink this combo.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHFishingDad
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
NOT for your children/grandchildren
8/29/2012

Customer review by Namlo

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Namlo
by Namlo

I own five Ugly Stiks - my favorite rod. Purchased this combo 4 my grandkids so they could have an Ugly Stik like granpa - reel is way too heavy, out of balance, even 4 most adults. If it were not 4 the Ugly Stik, I would have rated the "combo" as low as you can go.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Namlo
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Anti-reverse issues.
8/25/2014

Customer review by BlackFridayCringe

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by BlackFridayCringe
by BlackFridayCringe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thought this rod and reel would be great for my son. Nope, we used it for a couple hours and the anti-reverse started slipping so bad that it was unusable. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackFridayCringe
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smooth and silky can be affordable
1/28/2016

Customer review by Danny H

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Danny H
by Danny H

My family gave my this rig for my birthday nearly two years ago. It has served me well without breaking the birthday budget. I have found this to be a great replacement for my other Shakespeare combo that needed to be replaced. I would recommend this to anyone especially youth wanting to make the transition from a spincast reel to a spinning reel. I always recommend this rig to all of my cub scouts.

Danny H
Winchester, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Rods and Reels
2/17/2016

Customer review by Chris D

5.0 stars 2/17/2016 by Chris D
by Chris D

I bought my first Ugly Stick 26 years ago and still fishing with it .

Chris D
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews