Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-16 of 16 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

wow
4/15/2009

Customer review by Bruceypoo

5.0 stars 4/15/2009 by Bruceypoo
by Bruceypoo

this pole is great. it was only 20 bucks and its truly amazing. i have caught just every kind of fish with it. bluegill, bass, catfish, brown trout, brook trout, and rainbow trout. when i go trout fishing im never nice to my poles. im always jumping and climbing over rocks in the streams. i toss poles up then i go and let me tell you this pole has taken some punishment. i still have the line it came with on it. the biggest fish ive caughten on it is probably the 4 pound channel i caught. and it was a great 5 minute fight. i will deffinately be buying more of these so i will have spares for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bruceypoo
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/30/2011

Customer review by missourifisherman

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by missourifisherman
by missourifisherman

Found my combo in the river stuck in a root wad about three months after trout season closed and about a mile downstream of the trout park. Cleaned and dried the reel greased it and have caught countless fish with it biggest was a 10 pound blue on 6 pound test. To take that kind of abuse has to be a good combo.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missourifisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great rod
6/18/2009

Customer review by microspinfan

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by microspinfan
by microspinfan

i used to have a 7 foot shakespeare microspin but i accidentaly snagged a tree with it and it had a very expensive lure on it so i didnt want to cut the line so i just pulled then all of a sudded it snapped in half, i thought this happend because the rod was so thick so it wasent very bendy so i bought the smaller version that is 2.5 feet smaller and a lot skinnier so it can bend very much so it is a good rod, not the best for a begginer because it tends to get tangled, but if you are experienced enough it will be fine. it is also god for bass,crappie and trout, i did catch a 2.5 foot northern pike with it i also caught a medium length muskie so it is very sturdy and you can take it boating to it is pretty much good for any freshwater fishing hole.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
microspinfan
oswego,illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great as long as it lasted
5/16/2011

Customer review by etNemo

4.0 stars 5/16/2011 by etNemo
by etNemo

Had this a few months and the spring in it broke so the reel is of no use now since you cannot buy parts for it. I loved it, catching anything from small to large was a lot of fun. I may go back and pickup another one but not sure yet. I contacted Shakespeare and they told me since it was a combo (rod and reel) you could not purchase any repair parts. Another throw away product. If you get one and it last you will love it. Also the price was about $20 so maybe the part would have cost me more than that (including shipping).

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
etNemo
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big performance
11/13/2008

Customer review by mclxiii

5.0 stars 11/13/2008 by mclxiii
by mclxiii

Big performance from a small rod and reel. I bought the rod just to abuse it and maybe, if I'm lucky, break it while catching channel catfish. To my surprise, this rod just kept on going. I caught a six pound channel cat and a few 2 pounders with this rod and it keeps on going. I will be back and buy two more for our trout fishing trip this weekend and next time I will bring it out to the ocean.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mclxiii
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My first ultra light is the best ultra light!
7/3/2009

Customer review by CarpAngler21

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by CarpAngler21
by CarpAngler21

I never really have owned an ultra light and was wanting one, and found this beauty! I mean, $20? You're kidding me! This rod and reel combo has a cork handle, a hook keeper, a ball bearing reel, 4 lb. test, 4'6 rod, everything i always wanted. Well, did the reel do it's job? Sure did. I took it out the same day i bought it out in the creek to catch some chubs and maybe a sunfish or two. I caught over 3 dozen chubs, and 2 sunfish with it! Even chubs up to 7-8 inches! The rod and reel held up very well. It casts all lures a country mile! I used the smallest ice fishing jig in my tackle box with a piece of bread on it and could cast as far and as accurate as i wanted! And even the small fish felt like good fish on this combo! This isn't the smoothest reel, or the most sensitive rod, but it's good enough for me. And for $20, if it tares up i can get a new one easy. I really do love this reel and rod and recommend it to any chub or bluegill fisherman, or overall ultra light fanatics!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarpAngler21
Littcarr, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value rod
9/9/2009

Customer review by FishinnFanatic

4.0 stars 9/9/2009 by FishinnFanatic
by FishinnFanatic

I purchased this rod at Dick's for $24.99!!! Walmart sure does have a cheaper price on this one. I caught some good fishes with this rod. However, upon one occasion the hook got caught on the bottom and I didnt want to break the line. Kept jerking it, the rod snapped in half. It is a great rod for the price, but I wouldn't hope to catch a keeper with this one. It will snap when you're least expected.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishinnFanatic
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great affordable combo
4/13/2009

Customer review by fishNhuntPA

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by fishNhuntPA
by fishNhuntPA

This is an excellent combo for fishing trout and panfish. it's small, durable and very sensitive. The only thing I did was replace the line with Berkley Spiderwire.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishNhuntPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Cheap and Lightweight
9/17/2012

Customer review by TedM3

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by TedM3
by TedM3

I bought this in July for panfish and have been really surprised. I've caught dozens of bream from shellcracker and green sunfish to big ole slab crappie. One night fishing from a pier in the local lake some stripers came up to feed and I spent a few minutes fighting what looked like a 10-12 lb striper. The drag worked as it should and the rod didn't break, so I figured that moment alone was worth the $20. I'm still using it, but I'm going to replace the reel with a pflueger micro since this reel is already deteriorating. Overall, great for the price, lightweight and balanced. I wouldn't expect any more performance for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TedM3
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Get This!
12/1/2008

Customer review by ReconR1ck

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by ReconR1ck
by ReconR1ck

For someone looking for some quick stream or creek fishing, this combo rocks! Its compact in size and price, but big in results. Great for hikers in the mountains, and families on vacation!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReconR1ck
Lompoc, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
fishing equipment
4/30/2012

Customer review by STARGALAXY

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by STARGALAXY
by STARGALAXY

OUT WESTFISHING WITH UGLY STICK IS BES! DEEP SEA ANGLING OR FISH WATER................

Was this review helpful? (0) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STARGALAXY
Great Value
7/21/2011

Customer review by tkmme

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by tkmme
by tkmme

I've had this pole over a month so far and used it at least twice a week. It is a joy to go bream(or brim) fishing with it, but I have also caught bass, white and channel cat, and yellow perch with it. My buddy actually managed to reel a 2 foot gar to the boat with the spincast version of this combo(We couldn't get it in the boat though since we had no net). Like plenty of other reviewers have said it makes every fish feel like a monster. Can't beat this combo for 20 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkmme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really fun rod.
5/17/2009

Customer review by ST117

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by ST117
by ST117

This ultralight is great for casting very small lures. The line is only 4 lb. test, so anything you catch feels like a whale.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ST117
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good little rod
5/10/2011

Customer review by bodine53

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by bodine53
by bodine53

i use this for crappie fishing and it works good. my son and i use them all the time we have caught 10+ pound carp with them, you can't manhandle them but you can get them in the boat

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bodine53
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Microspin Combo
9/18/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/18/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great little combo for the price. I use it for bluegill and sunfish but, I've caught a few good sized bass on it too. I only have one complaint. If I don't have the reel aligned just right, sometimes the line catches on it when I cast.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice
3/7/2009

Customer review by kristen24711

3.0 stars 3/7/2009 by kristen24711
by kristen24711

This is a decent pole for beginning fishing. Sturdy and decent for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kristen24711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never