Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

183 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

183 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 stars
41
1-20 of 183 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
Another favorite product gone :(
4/7/2016

Customer review by Lisa C

1.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Lisa C
by Lisa C

As happens so often, companies change good, old, original products and leave loyal customers disappointed and having to shop around to replace a product they have loved for many years. I, too, was a loyal Jergens customer for at least 30 years, most of my life. Everyone knew me for the scent. It was great to use when I knitted because it was soft, but not greasy. Like others I thought this was a packaging change, but I sadly agree the new formula is nasty. It feels like Crisco, the scent doesn't last and I have to rub my hands on a towel after application. I have a big bottle that I hate using. Can you please bring back the old formula and market it as "Classic" or something? I feel tricked and mislead by the new bottle. Making new products is OK, but please don't discontinue an oldie but goodie in the process.

Lisa C
KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed in Jergens
7/1/2015

Customer review by Geronurse15

1.0 stars 7/1/2015 by Geronurse15
by Geronurse15

I have used the original lotion for 50 years as my mom, and grandmother before me...my daughter and granddaughter's used it as well. Family tradition you could say and not only am I disappointed as well as my entire female family tree, we are honestly sad! This was a fantastic lotion and also a connection we shared down thru the years (I am sure many will find this silly) but it is true. Like the end of something:( I know it is only lotion but we would really like the option to buy the REAL Original lotion! If we wanted greasy we would have been buying other lotions! Unfortunately, the new lotion is a deal breaker for all of us! We gave it a try and none of us liked it, the original left no greasy feel and soaked in as you need it too...Sometimes change is not needed and this is one of those cases! Whatever CEO or Marketing person thought this was smart should really rethink their research company! Rant over now to focus on finding a new lotion :(

Geronurse15
Fairview, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A Great Lotion!
3/19/2016

Customer review by VarucaPepper

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by VarucaPepper
by VarucaPepper

I'm not sure why people are saying this is sticky and does not absorb or it smells weird. I've been using it for a few weeks and find it sinks into my skin quickly and the smell reminds me of my mother and grandmother as both used the old formula. I normally use rather expensive lotions. But on a whim of nostalgia I bought this at the grocery store. I find this moisturizes and performs like the more expensive brands. I like that the scent is mild and neutral so it does not interfere with my perfume. One scent for deodorant, one for lotion, one for perfume is too much. But this is subtlety sented. On a daily basis I use Jergens.

VarucaPepper
Louisiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Please bring back the original formula
1/27/2016

Customer review by Venice05

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Venice05
by Venice05

I've been using Jergens original cherry-almond moisturizer for well over 40 years. Even my dermatologist has always commented that my skin is in better condition than any of his other 60-something patients. Unfortunately, you have now changed this wonderful product, and it does not work nearly as well as the original. My skin no longer feels as nice as it did, and I am unfortunately now on the hunt for a different brand of lotion. Why do so many manufacturers today think they need to change a product that works perfectly, and is loved by so many, just for change's sake? I have no problem with new products being offered for those who may want to try them, but please don't discard the products that people love!

Venice05
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Original should mean ORIGINAL
2/22/2016

Customer review by RachP

2.0 stars 2/22/2016 by RachP
by RachP

I'm one of those users who has been loving this brand just about my whole life. Its the lotion that reminds me of my grandmother, which shows its been great for generations. HOWEVER, this "new" original isn't the same. The smell is faint and slightly distasteful while the lotion can tend to leave you feeling greasy. I would love for Jergens to bring back the true Original Scent!

RachP
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Loved the original verison
1/27/2016

Customer review by BreezyNW

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by BreezyNW
by BreezyNW

I have used the Original Scent for over 20 years. I remember the older version as having a longer lasting cherry almond scent. The scent used to last all day,but now I only smell it when the bottle is first opened after purchasing it, then the scent is very faint if not at all. The thickness of the lotion has also changed. I still love this more than any other brand that I have tried because it is not greasy, does not feel sticky after applying and I can apply it to my face as well as my body. I apply it every day after I shower and after washing my hands throughout the day.

BreezyNW
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
What happened?!?!
1/25/2016

Customer review by annied8258

2.0 stars 1/25/2016 by annied8258
by annied8258

Jergens Original Scent moisturizer was a part of my childhood! When I was sick as a child my father used to bring me suprises, usually little "beauty/make up kits" and they always included a little white bottle (with a black top) of Jergens. Over the years I strayed once or twice to other moisturizers but have always gone back to the original Jergens. When I finally ran through my supply and bought more I was so shocked and disappointed with the product!!! The cherry almond scent doesn't last and it's very sticky. I don't know what they did, but I want the original original back!!

annied8258
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Long-time favorite!
2/12/2016

Customer review by HawaiianHippie

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by HawaiianHippie
by HawaiianHippie

Jergens has been a favorite of mine for most of my life, and the Original Scent variety is my most favoritest. It smells so delicious! This lotion is particularly soft and silky, and really does well as a lubricant. I can't think of anything more relaxing and enjoyable than a Jergens massage!

HawaiianHippie
Honolulu, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good
2/20/2016

Customer review by Big dad

4.0 stars 2/20/2016 by Big dad
by Big dad

When to a game and had so much fun that I when back to do good with all I can do

Big dad
Flint, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Jergens original original is best
2/7/2016

Customer review by tshirtsforme

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by tshirtsforme
by tshirtsforme

I have not bought Jergens in a while, but I did buy your new beige bottle, and noticed right away that the scent was not as nice as it was when I was younger. It does seem to moisturize good, though. Like some of the reviews, I would like some things to stay the same, such as Jergens original hand lotion.

tshirtsforme
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed in recent changes
1/28/2016

Customer review by Lauren28

3.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Lauren28
by Lauren28

I have been using the original Jergens for as long as I can remember and I have always loved it until the formula recently changed. I still like it but I find that after rubbing it in for just a seconds, it becomes watery. I hate that. I also wish the scent was as long lasting as it used to be. I will still use this until I find something better or they change the formula back to how it used to be.

Lauren28
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New formula is awful
2/18/2016

Customer review by KrisK

1.0 stars 2/18/2016 by KrisK
by KrisK

We have 5 generations in our family that used to use this. Change it back!!!!!

KrisK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Wish it was stronger
2/3/2016

Customer review by Alikat

4.0 stars 2/3/2016 by Alikat
by Alikat

So excited to see the "Original Scent" BUT it's not the same. For one, the scent is quite faint and doesn't last. Maybe that's because the chemicals today are not the same as back in the 1960's when I fell in love with Jergens. Oh well, it's still my favorite brand of hand lotion and a little Cherry Almond is better than no Cherry Almond

Alikat
NoHo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love the Jergens Original - why has it changed?
1/25/2016

Customer review by avonslp

3.0 stars 1/25/2016 by avonslp
by avonslp

I, like so many others, love the scent of Jergens Original - but the scent doesn't last long at all now - why? Also, it doesn't "feel" the same on my skin. For all of those in the 50+ age range who LOVE orginal Jergens, please do go back to the original "recipe" and make it the way it was meant to be made! I promise lots and lots of sales - even go back and revive the original bottle style - that would be wonderful!!!

avonslp
Chesapeake, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Too Greasy
1/26/2016

Customer review by nburas

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by nburas
by nburas

The cherry-almond scent fades too quickly. I prefer the fragrance of the original Jergens lotion, that I used since childhood. This "new" formula is greasy; I could get the same effect by putting olive oil or lard on my skin. I quickly washed it off and threw the rest of the bottle in the trash. Please bring back the old formula with the old scent; it was a winner.

nburas
Bogalusa, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Lifelong favorite!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Tothemoon

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Tothemoon
by Tothemoon

I have been using Jergens original since I can remember. My grandmother always had it at her house. Though I have used lotions in every price range I always have this lotion on hand because the fragrance is part of my life. Would give it 5 stars if Jergens would add Shea butter or other natural moisture but I would be afraid it may change the fragrance.

Tothemoon
Detroit mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My favorite lotion
2/3/2016

Customer review by cheartsp

5.0 stars 2/3/2016 by cheartsp
by cheartsp

I have used Jergens original scent for over 45 years. It is the only lotion that does not leave my hands feeling greasy, or make me want to wash it off after applying. It's a great moisturizer. Plus, I love the cherry almond scent.

cheartsp
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
A Classic - Love it!
1/25/2016

Customer review by velvetanne

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by velvetanne
by velvetanne

I've used Jergens Original Scent since I was a little girl. My Mom used it all of her life to. At one time, before all the hundreds of other lotions on the market this was one of the few. Its great lotion and the smell is wonderful. It was the first smell like this on the market - many try to duplicate it but nothing smells as good as Jergens.

velvetanne
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Only lotion to use!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Misspooh13

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Misspooh13
by Misspooh13

I have used this lotion for 30+ years, it is the best lotion out there. I have tried others and nothing compares. I put on in the morning and my skin is moisturized all day. Has kept my tattoos looking amazing even after 20 yrs their colors pop.

Misspooh13
Port Huron, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I love lots of Jergens lotions.
1/29/2016

Customer review by Old School

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Old School
by Old School

I bought this recently and find that wonderful smell I remember using as a child. I have no complaints about this product. After using the new Wet lotion in the shower I usually wait about an hour and use some of this on my legs and arms. I get told many times how soft my body is!

Old School
Memphis, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews