Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 779 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

779 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

779 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
470
4 stars
144
3 stars
33
2 stars
24
1 stars
108
1-20 of 763 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 763 total reviews
1-20 of 763 reviews
know what works best for you
9/19/2010

Customer review by klmgirl78

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by klmgirl78
by klmgirl78

Seems like most of the folks who don't like the new formula are those who have used the old one for years. That's understandable, because the changes do seem to be substantial from what I've read as a new Nexxus user. But this is one of those situations where you just gotta know what works best for your hair. If you don't like silicones, then yeah, this will be a horrible product for you. You'll be upset you bought it. If you have oily hair, you may feel as though this product coats too much, as it SEALS IN moisture very well. But if you have dry, brittle hair like mine and really get great results from silicone based products, you'll find nothing better out there than Nexxus Humectress. It left my super dry hair unbelievably soft. A few minutes and it felt like I had been growing silk instead of just mere mortal hair! Humectress is my new favorite conditioner and I've gone through MANY others as a hair product junkie - with no less than six different conditioners in my house at this moment as I type. Humectress humbles them all.

klmgirl78
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed
12/6/2015

Customer review by JanC

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by JanC
by JanC

I have been using Therappe and Humectress for a very long time. Keeping it stocked up in the bathroom cabinet. When it came time to buy more I had to get the new formula. I wasn’t hesitant even though I read the negative reviews. I thought maybe those people were having a bad day or they were planted by a competitor to post a negative review. Let me tell you, I was wrong. I can’t believe the difference in this awful new formula. My hair would always be soft and manageable with the old formula. When I’d use the round brush to give it some wavy body it would take and hold until the next shampoo. Not with this new formula. My hair is not soft after shampooing/conditioning (sort of reminds me of straw) and it will not hold any kind of style I try to give it. I am very disappointed. I want to throw this stuff away and get something different but it cost too much. When the time comes to buy shampoo and conditioner again, you can bet it won’t be Therappe or Humectress. I can’t figure out why they would change something that didn’t need changing.

JanC
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
L-O-V-E! Luxurious Conditioner!
11/19/2015

Customer review by sages1976

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by sages1976
by sages1976

Firstly, I must say I do love love love the smell of this conditioner. It makes me feel like I just walked out of the salon every time I wash my hair. Every woman loves that smell and feeling so A+++ on the scent! To top it off, if I don't wash my hair for 1 or 2 days, the smell stays in my hair, not as strong but strong enough that I still feel like my hair smells clean. Awesome! Secondly, this conditioner just rocks at softening and not weighing hair down. My hair has so much movement and feels like my 2 yr old's hair, and he has some gorgeous hair! This product is probably now one of my top 2 or 3 conditioners of all time. It does what it says, my hair no longer feels dry or brittle and it makes me feel more beautiful every time I wash and style my hair. You can't ask for much more than that! AND...I didn't see a mention of parabens on the label so I'm totally sold. This will be in my bathroom for many moons to come! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sages1976
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1 of my top 2 favorite conditioners
11/17/2015

Customer review by cnorman13

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by cnorman13
by cnorman13

I fell in love with this product after the first use. It was love at first smell. When I opened the bottles to smell what the product smelled like, I knew I would like the product. It had a great smell. A little tropical with a girly flair. The smell was the perfect strength, not too strong but still was able to get whiffs of it throughout the day. After the first use I noticed my hair was softer and smelled wonderful. When I used all of the other products in the line, the softness increased exponentially. You can really tell a difference by using the shampoo, conditioner, and conditioning mist. And the product just got better over time. I have now used it around 4 times and still feel that it's one of the top 2 shampoos I have ever tried... and I've tried a lot of conditioners. I truly cannot say enough good stuff about this nexxus conditioner. I received this product free from influenster in exchange for my review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cnorman13
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
love it
9/10/2011

Customer review by ksquared

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by ksquared
by ksquared

i flat iron my hair religiously, so split ends and dry strands are my daily gripes. i work long retail hours so getting a hair cut regularly can be a challenge. i was desperatly in need of a hair cut the day i first tried this line of products; i had worked late and all the salons were closed. i ran into the drug store on my way home and figured i had nothing to lose by trying the products my sister always swore by. i immediately noticed my hair was more managable after my first wash and when i walked into work the next morning i actually was complimented by two of my coworkers on how smooth my hair looked (they originally thought i'd gotten a trim because the ends didn't look dead!). i just love this stuff! when my hair is particularly dead, i sometimes take just a dab after towel drying my hair and run it through my ends as sort of a leave in conditioner and it is just beautiful! i will say tho, that if i don't alternate products here and there, my hair will get kind of heavy (i suppose its residue) but as long as i use a different product every few days i have no problems!

ksquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The formula changed?!?? WHY??
6/15/2015

Customer review by totally unhappy

1.0 stars 6/15/2015 by totally unhappy
by totally unhappy

I have long (below my butt), straight, natural blonde hair. I have used Therappe & Humectress to keep it healthy for over 20 years. I bought a new bottle of Humectress this week. At first, I was puzzled, because this stuff did not have the characteristic smell that Humectress normally does. After my hair dried, I noticed that my hair was frizzy and somewhat stiff, sort of like what high humidity does to some people's hair. I also noted that I could not easily comb out my wet hair; it was quite tangled. Normally, Humectress makes my hair soft, smooth & shiny, and easy to comb. Hmmm… odd… Then I read the bottle!! They CHANGED THE FORMULA!! How can they change the formula so drastically and still call it "Humectress"?? This stuff is NOT Humectress. It needs its very own name, and I want my original Humectress back!! In addition, Nexxus actually put animal parts in this product: this new formula has FISH EGGS in it!! (Fine, call it 'caviar' if it makes you feel better. It's still fish eggs…) In any case, since it no longer does a nice job on my hair, I'll be unhappily looking for a new product.

totally unhappy
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A Case of Humectress and Classic Humectress
4/26/2015

Customer review by Furs and Feathers

1.0 stars 4/26/2015 by Furs and Feathers
by Furs and Feathers

I used this product almost 30 years ago and it saved my hair from the damage that perming and dying had done. Nothing worked as well as Therapee and Humectress in bringing the beauty back to my hair at the time. Recently, I was trying to remember the name of those products so that I may use them again, and the names came back to me. Here on this site I see that you changed the formula and that customers are not happy with what used to be wonderful products. How disappointing! I don't know what I am going to do now. I was counting on being able to use this product. Please go back to the old formula so that people may experience something wonderful. It happens sometimes - fixing things that aren't broken and realizing that you had a good thing going for you, as it did for Cocacola with Coke and Classic Coke. I will keep checking to see if you do return to your roots!

Furs and Feathers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Conditioner of Your Dreams?!
1/19/2016

Customer review by shinejunkie345

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by shinejunkie345
by shinejunkie345

I don't know how they did it but this conditioner is a miracle in a bottle. I love how the light, sweet, natural, coconut scent matches with the shampoo but isn't EXACTLY the same (a bit more floral and tropical)! This leads to a nice scent layering instead of a one note fragrance. I have pretty thick, slightly wavy, dry hair but after the first use it was instant results. Because my hair is so thick I have issues with it being weighed down and lifeless. After use it felt like my hair got a needed drink of water. Every strand was "plump", full and hydrated. My hair was much more volumized and had a satin/silk like feel that created lots of movement and life. This was done without any kind of filmy feeling or residue coating. I've been using the system for more than 2 months now and haven't seen any sort of build up of any kind. Great product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

shinejunkie345
Long Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So Disappointed in Humectress
9/28/2010

Customer review by NoMoreNexxus

1.0 stars 9/28/2010 by NoMoreNexxus
by NoMoreNexxus

I used Nexxus products faithfully a number of years ago, and recently decided to return to them, as my past recollections of this product were great. I am so disappointed after using Humectress. The first use caught me off guard, so I tried it again. Here's what I experienced: It seems as though the formula has changed since I used it years ago. There was almost no detangling component to it, and it had a strange, almost greasy feel that I continued to feel on my hands after working the product through my hair. After being dry, there is no body, no life, and a weird combination of some strands being drier than others. (I didn't overuse the product, and I am a fanatic about even application.) Wish I could recommend this product, but I can't. If I still had the receipt, it would be returned to the store. I don't even want to use the rest of the product I have.

NoMoreNexxus
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very disappointed...please change the formula back
11/25/2013

Customer review by Radmom

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Radmom
by Radmom

I have been using Humectress Conditioner exclusively for at least 20 years. I have long thick course hair and it has always been the best product to detangle my hair. I made the mistake one time of forgetting my Humectress when I went on vacation...it took me 1/2 hour to completely comb through my hair! It always made my hair smooth and tangle free...but no more!!! I bought my usual bottle of Humectress at Costco and the next day when I used it I couldn't comb through my hair! I thought maybe it was a fluke but the next hair wash the same thing happened. I gave it a third try and used more product but had the same issue. I am sad that the formula has changed because this was the best conditioner!!! I used to recommend it to everyone! I just went out and bought something else...not as good as the old Humectress but way better than this new formula.

Radmom
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not Happy!
7/10/2015

Customer review by Bo Pullen

1.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Bo Pullen
by Bo Pullen

I have been a devoted user of Nexxus products, especially the Therappe shampoo & Humectress conditioner, ever since I started coloring my hair a few years ago. After I started coloring, my hair became a good bit drier, so I tried your "moisturizing" shampoo & conditioner, which worked fabulously! My hair felt wonderful...full & soft & not a tangle after getting out of the shower! Well, imagine my surprise & sorrow when I tried the new Humectress (haven't run out of shampoo yet), I noticed it immediately, but thought it was maybe just due to the humid weather down here in Florida or me needing a haircut. After a full week of using it, & now reading all these other reviews, my fears obviously are founded. You've changed the formula...in a major way! My hair now feels "brittle" & "haylike" & looks kindof frizzy, not to mention the many tangles that I had to fight through when it was wet & freshly washed & conditioned! I don't know if I now need to try a different formula of yours or just give up & head elsewhere. Please PLEASE go back to the old formula....or just call it something else......Humectress is not what this product is! :(

Bo Pullen
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
New formula just not the same!
9/8/2016

Customer review by DebbieB

1.0 stars 9/8/2016 by DebbieB
by DebbieB

I have been using Humectress for 30 years. I am soooo disappointed with the latest version of it. It seems like each time it has been changed, it has decreased in quality. The latest change has me looking for something new to use. It now weighs my hair down. Don't like it at all.

DebbieB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bring Back the old formula!!!!!
5/11/2010

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/11/2010 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Please Bring Back the Old Formula My Review: I loved the old formula humectress and I cannot believe this Humectress was changed. I tried to like the new formula but it leaves my hair dull, lifeless and feeling dirty. It is nothing like the old formula and I cannot imagine anyone liking the new one. The lovely, original scent has gone and now Humectress smells just like all the other drugstore conditioners. The price should actually be dropped to the price of the $3. products since the performance is the same. I used the old formula for years and every day was a good hair day. I have long, blonde highlighted hair and the old formula was the best conditioner on the market... better than salon products. I cannot even find a salon product as good as the old formula. Please bring it back!!!!!!! Why would you change perfection!!!!!!!

Disappointed
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Amazing!
10/30/2015

Customer review by cohenam03

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by cohenam03
by cohenam03

Not only is this product super effective from the day you start using it but it also smells absolutely incredible! I honestly have never experienced such a well performing Conditioner like the Nexxus - RESTORING CONDITIONER. I have honestly fallen in love with it! It helps to reduce dull and damaged hair. I have been using this product for a few days now and I am beyond impressed with the results. This product has transformed my hair to soft, light and beautiful! The Conditioner allowed me to enjoy my shower experience so much more! The conditioner deeply moisturized my hair and left it silky smooth. My hair feels so much softer and even looks noticeably better! I would recommend this product to all my friends and family! It really does work amazingly and I don't think I will ever go back to any other product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cohenam03
Conshohocken, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
PRODUCT CHANGE
2/28/2010

Customer review by TSHREVE

1.0 stars 2/28/2010 by TSHREVE
by TSHREVE

I Have used this product for over ten years and highly recommended it to many clients in our salon. Then the product went public and could be bought in local stores which was fine until you changed the product. It is horrible now. The new packaging is great but you changed the smell of Humectress and the product itself. It is NOT the same conditioner as it was before and I am hoping you will realize that and change it back. The NEW Humectress does not condition the same, does not rinse clean as before, and weighs my hair down. As you can tell I do not like the changes that were made to my favorite conditioner one bit. I have been running around town the last few months buying up every bottle I can find in the original packaging, but running out of places to purchase it quickly. PLEASE GIVE US BACK OUR ORIGINAL HUMECTRESS.

TSHREVE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Used to be great...now HORRIBLE!
6/28/2010

Customer review by Amyal

1.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Amyal
by Amyal

I have used the old Humectress for 20 years. It gave my hair volume and shine and was fabulous. I have very long, mostly straight reddish brown hair and I used to get sooo many compliments on how shiny and full it was. Then I started using the new black top Humectess. This is just awful. It smells horrible and leaves my hair limp and lifeless. Also, in the winter, the static electricity is terrible. I never had that problem with the old formulation. This new formulation is a cheap, dime-store type of conditioner. You would do just as well to purchase one of the much cheaper products for $1.00. I can't believe they changed the formulation and are still charging the same price. I will gladly pay $30 for a large bottle of the gray top conditioner. I wouldn't pay 2 cents for the new one. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULATION!

Amyal
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Hate the Caviar formula
8/20/2016

Customer review by chgojt

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by chgojt
by chgojt

Why did you change a perfectly good product? This "caviar" conditioner makes my scalp itch terribly. Please bring back your classic Humectress product that works.

chgojt
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed
6/30/2015

Customer review by Bummed

1.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Bummed
by Bummed

I agree with the review below. Same thing happened to me. I LOVED the old Therappe shampoo and Humectress conditioner. I also do not like the new formula at all. Unfortunately I don't think there is a Nexxus product that has the ingredients that I want so I will have to switch brands. I hope I can find bottles of the old stuff but I doubt it since I've seen the new products out for a while now. Holly28 · 2 months ago Nexxus changes formula AGAIN I used to use the shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair. Nexxus changed the formula. Took out the silicone. I was very disappointed because the new formula was awful. Someone suggested I try the therappe and humectress line. I LOVED it. Nexxus changed the formula on me again. I don't know what they did to it but the new formula is awful. I don't understand why companies change their best-sellers and alienate their very loyal customers. Like another reviewer, I bought all the bottles I could find of the old stuff and once it's gone I will look for a new brand unless the old formula comes back. It would be nice if a company actually listened to their customers. I don't see one positive review here or on other sites. That's a red flag Nexxus.

Bummed
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
love it!!!
8/17/2016

Customer review by julesrn1225

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by julesrn1225
by julesrn1225

Have been using for several years. Tried to go without it, didn't work, love the product

julesrn1225
Flint, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Saw the difference after 1 day!!! Bye to dry hair!
10/30/2015

Customer review by lize

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by lize
by lize

I absolutely loved the restoring conditioner! My hair has always been very dry. If I don't wash it daily, it becomes oily so I have to wash my hair every day. After it dries, it usually also becomes a whole lot of frizzy. I used this product and after the first day, I noticed my hair was not frizzy. I didn't think much of it except that maybe it was not that humid that day but the next day, again no more frizziness and it actually looked a little healthier on my ends. They did not look so dry and stick out as it usually does. I have fallen in love. I have a hard time finding a good conditioner because it either makes my hair very oily or doesn't help me at all but I definitely saw the change with my hair very quickly. I will definitely continue using this. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

lize
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 763 total reviews
1-20 of 763 reviews