Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 832 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

832 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

832 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
580
4 stars
167
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 stars
59
1-20 of 820 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 820 total reviews
1-20 of 820 reviews
Don't do it!!!
1/11/2011

Customer review by eracer956

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by eracer956
by eracer956

The absolute WORST hair product I have ever used...and I am a licensed hair stylist!! My hair is usually shiny, and straight...but can be a little bushy if I don't take care while blow drying. I am color treated, but my hair is very healthy. I just bought 60.00 (retail) for 2 products...shampoo and conditioner (color assure, shampoo- color endure- conditioner). I have used it for 1 ans 1/2 weeks now, hoping I was wrong, and write it up to a bad hair day. No easy task, as it takes me a painstaking 45 minutes to blow my hair dry!!! This product has the same result each time...my hair is limp, oily, dull...LIFELESS!!! I finally threw in the towel, and chucked this stuff in the trash. I will never buy Nexxus products again...It was a waste of my time to even wash my hair...I can usually wait 3 days before needing to shampoo again...not with this...I am going to buy some good shampoo and conditioner, and come home, and start all over....Bottom line...I don't like this stuff, even a little...

eracer956
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
12/6/2015

Customer review by JanC

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by JanC
by JanC

I have been using Therappe and Humectress for a very long time. Keeping it stocked up in the bathroom cabinet. When it came time to buy more I had to get the new formula. I wasn’t hesitant even though I read the negative reviews. I thought maybe those people were having a bad day or they were planted by a competitor to post a negative review. Let me tell you, I was wrong. I can’t believe the difference in this awful new formula. My hair would always be soft and manageable with the old formula. When I’d use the round brush to give it some wavy body it would take and hold until the next shampoo. Not with this new formula. My hair is not soft after shampooing/conditioning (sort of reminds me of straw) and it will not hold any kind of style I try to give it. I am very disappointed. I want to throw this stuff away and get something different but it cost too much. When the time comes to buy shampoo and conditioner again, you can bet it won’t be Therappe or Humectress. I can’t figure out why they would change something that didn’t need changing.

JanC
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super Soft!
11/19/2015

Customer review by sages1976

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by sages1976
by sages1976

This was the first time I tried this shampoo and I have nearly 100% positive things to say. Firstly, the only two somewhat negative things would be 1) The smell - it reminds me of tanning lotion, which I'm not too fond of the smell but if you do like that scent then this is the shampoo for you! 2) The weight - For the first few washes I don't really see that much of a difference as far as weighing my hair down but I can tell that over time I'll have to switch out to other shampoos that are clarifying so that I can reduce some of the residue. However, this isn't much different from most other deep conditioning shampoos so it's not much of a bother for me. The Good: 1) It makes my hair feel super soft and silky, and who doesn't love that? 2) It seems to work well with the other two steps in the regimen. 3) My hair has a lot of movement and touchability. I love my 2 year old's hair - it's so soft, silky and shiny and this system brings my hair as close to that as I can possibly get! Overall a great product that I would buy again and recommend to others! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sages1976
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
One of my top 2 shampoos EVER
11/17/2015

Customer review by cnorman13

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by cnorman13
by cnorman13

I fell in love with this product after the first use. It was love at first smell. When I opened the bottles to smell what the product smelled like, I knew I would like the product. It had a great smell. A little tropical with a girly flair. The smell was the perfect strength, not too strong but still was able to get whiffs of it throughout the day. After the first use I noticed my hair was softer and smelled wonderful. When I used all of the other products in the line, the softness increased exponentially. You can really tell a difference by using the shampoo, conditioner, and conditioning mist. And the product just got better over time. I have now used it around 4 times and still feel that it's one of the top 2 shampoos I have ever tried... and I've tried a lot of shampoos. I truly cannot say enough good stuff about this nexxus shampoo. I received this product free from influenster in exchange for my review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cnorman13
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best shampoo ever made!!
6/4/2015

Customer review by aquariuscsm

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by aquariuscsm
by aquariuscsm

I'm a male with super thick course hair. I've been using Nexxus Therappe since the late 1980's and it's hands down THE BEST shampoo ever made. It's the only shampoo I've ever used that won't dry out my thick coarse hair. This current formula in my opinion is the best formula yet. I've tried a ton of "moisturizing" shampoos and they all have dried out my hair and made it feel like straw. My first impression with this current formula is awesome! I've been using it now for about two weeks and my hair is the healthiest it's been in a long time. It makes my hair feel moisturized and lubricated,and smells like you're on the beach :^) To the negative reviews about saying it makes your hair oily,it's a moisturizing shampoo,not a clarifying shampoo,so in my opinion it's doing its job by keeping your hair oiled and lubricated. A moisturizing shampoo is not supposed to clean your hair to the point of stripping it. If that's what you're looking for,then Therappe is not for you,you'll need a clarifying/deep cleaning shampoo.  Thanks Nexxus!! Keep making this awesome shampoo!!

aquariuscsm
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Do NOT like the new formula change!
9/12/2015

Customer review by ct71

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by ct71
by ct71

I have used Nexxus Humectress for the last two years and it made my hair so soft, moisturized,manageable and full of body! Boy was I disappointed when I discovered you changed the formula and put ingredients in that thin my hair, made feel like straw, lack luster and dry and tangled. I so loved your original formula and and got compliments on my hair all the time and always recommended it to others. But now they too have the same issues I am having with the new formula. Super sad I can not use it anymore. It has weakened my hair. I wish you wouldn't have fixed something that was not broke. Now I am on a new journey to find a new shampoo and conditioner which I did not want to do. The original formula was superb and the best I had ever used. I hope some day you bring it back. Not everyone needs keratin and protein which drys out the hair. Sorry to see the original go!

ct71
Denver, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not the same
9/21/2016

Customer review by kk023

1.0 stars 9/21/2016 by kk023
by kk023

I used nexus the therappe and humectress shampoo and conditioner for years and my hair was beautiful and soft. Since it has been reformulated my hair has been having horrible breakage and dandruff in my scalp, I don't know if it's the caviar extract that they now put in it but it's making my once beautiful healthy hair dry out and break off.

kk023
Modesto, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I Added It to My Christmas List!
5/27/2011

Customer review by TexasGal

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by TexasGal
by TexasGal

About 6 months ago, I received a sample of Therappe Luxurious Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner in the mail, but was reluctant to try it out (I'm very particular when it comes to my hair!). Well, you know how it happens; you run out of shampoo and forget to buy it. So, I was forced to use the sample and boy, am I glad that I ever did! I was so amazed at how soft my hair was and how light it felt. My scalp actually felt clean, and my hair retained its volume throughout the whole day (I have long fine, oily hair)! Plus, I only used about a quarter-size of shampoo/conditioner (I shampoo my hair twice); the sample lasted me about three days! As you can imagine, I was hooked, and even asked my family to get me Therappe Luxurious Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner for Christmas! And I still haven't finished with the first bottle!!!

TexasGal
Victoria, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not the same, disappointed
8/8/2016

Customer review by Eliz12

1.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Eliz12
by Eliz12

I have been using Nexxus Therappe shampoo since it was sold in salons when my mother was a stylist going back to the early 80's. I have always had long, thick hair and still do. I could use 1 or 2 pumps of shampoo and work up a nice thick, rich lather. Now! The bottle I just bought takes 5 pumps, and I still get no lather-it doesn't even feel like it penetrates to my scalp. I don't feel like I washed my hair. You just ruined the best product you had.

Eliz12
Plainfield, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best of the best!!!
1/24/2011

Customer review by cjay88

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by cjay88
by cjay88

I am a black woman of mixed heritage, who has used Therappe Shampoo for approximately 20 years. I have very thick hair, which at the same time, is also very soft. If anyone is having issues about the price of Nexxus Therappe or Humectress, the need to try it. It is worth every penny. My hair continues to grow, it is shiny and has great body. I never lose any hair and I absolutely love Therappe and Humectress. They're a great combination. My hair actually goes into shock if I wash it with anything else!! They say you lose hair when you get older. Not true with Nexxus. I am 60 years old and have more hair now then when I was young. By the way, my hair is natural, I don't use any chemicals at all, including relaxers and other black hair care products. All I need is NEXXUS!!!! Thank you for making these wonderlul products!!!!!

cjay88
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent result!
6/1/2016

Customer review by 50GreenDodge

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by 50GreenDodge
by 50GreenDodge

After getting what I felt was a great haircut [from my niece] I thought, 'Hey, I have more of it than most guys my age,' so I decided to be good to my hair. I went shopping and came home with Nexxus Therappe & Humectress. From the first use, I was absolutely satisfied I'd purchased the right products. They left my hair soft, manageable and healthy feeling. I can do things with my thick, stubborn Irish hair that were never possible - like running a brush through it and becoming instantly presentable, picture-ready and set to walk out the door. This is a major step. Thanks Nexxus.

50GreenDodge
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Produ2
8/6/2016

Customer review by Swee pea

4.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Swee pea
by Swee pea

I would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family. I've been using for about 29 years (on and off) bit I always come back [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Swee pea
Gettysburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Still Great
11/17/2014

Customer review by dugdub

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by dugdub
by dugdub

I used Therappe in the '80's, but for whatever reason I moved away from it. Now that I'm in my early 50's, my long hair is getting dry and unmanageable, and not getting great results from much more expensive salon shampoos, I decided to give it another go. Now, keep in mind, at the time I had taken my brunette hair up probably 4 shades. The dry ends I was crying over were instantly softened and in better condition than they had been in years. I am sold once again on Therappe! For the customer who broke out after using it, I have experienced that in the past, as well, with shampoos with natural ingredients like nettle, as well as some of the newer "oil" shampoos, both on my face and on my scalp. That has not been my experience with Therappe, however. I am so happy with it!

dugdub
Orange County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Choice I Have Ever Made
4/13/2011

Customer review by blueice

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by blueice
by blueice

I am a US Marine and as most people know our hair has to be perfect. That means time to style using globs of gel or half a can of hairspray on daily basis. Our hair goes through so much for lack of a better word, torture constantly breaking and being damaged. When field ops come we have weeks to months that our hair cannot be washed properly but gel is constanly being put in it. I have tried many of hair care products for moister and slipt ends, but none of them ever worked. After a short amount of time using these product I was able to not only get ride of my slipt ends but, bring the moister back to my hair. Even with the harsh everyday of putting gel into it, my hair continues to look heathy. As female in the US Marines I would recomend these products to anyone.

blueice
camp pendleton ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Moisturizing shampoo
7/29/2016

Customer review by Number1nama

5.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Number1nama
by Number1nama

I love the shampoo I have extremely long thick and dry hair I ride a motorcycle have all my life

Number1nama
Greenville, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Amazing!
10/29/2015

Customer review by cohe

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by cohe
by cohe

Not only is this product super effective from the day you start using it but it also smells absolutely incredible! I honestly have never experienced such a well performing Shampoo like the Nexxus REBALANCING SHAMPOO . I have honestly fallen in love with it! I have been using this product for a few days now and I am beyond impressed with the results. This products have transformed my hair to soft, light and beautiful! The shampoo lathers super easily and it even allowed me to enjoy my shower experience so much more! My hair feels so much softer and even looks noticeably better! I would recommend this product to all my friends and family! It really does work amazingly and I don't think I will ever go back to any other product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cohe
Conshohocken, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
curly hair
7/25/2016

Customer review by ityu

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by ityu
by ityu

It is great I love this product and recomened it ty [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ityu
NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the pics
7/25/2016

Customer review by Jazmnime

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Jazmnime
by Jazmnime

Thank you this was most helpful and now I know how to use?it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jazmnime
Manhattan, New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
New formula is awful
7/20/2015

Customer review by mary2

1.0 stars 7/20/2015 by mary2
by mary2

I began using the shampoo a few years ago because I thought if left my hair shiny and manageable and smelled great. I ran out and bought a new bottle, but when washing my hair with it, thought I had mistakenly used the conditioner rather than the shampoo because there was no lather. I discovered that I was in fact using the shampoo, but even after rubbing the shampoo in my hands trying to create lather, couldn't get any lather. I thought the company may have had a manufacturing error and put conditioner in shampoo bottles, but saw on the website that the problem is the new formula. I will definitely return my purchase, and find a new shampoo. I have no idea why the company would make such a change to a successful product.

mary2
Ann Arbor
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great product
7/15/2016

Customer review by Tnybns

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Tnybns
by Tnybns

Great product and definitely will recommend to other's

Tnybns
Cheektowaga, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 820 total reviews
1-20 of 820 reviews