Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 52 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Disappointing compared to the old pump spray.
7/13/2016

Customer review by Clify D

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Clify D
by Clify D

I used the old pump spray version of this spray for over a decade. There was a reason why I have never been a fan of aerosol hair sprays... lack of control and directionality. Since I have had to use this can of recent, I have regularly had one disapointing hair day after another. I am sad to say, I will have to go looking for another product very soon. Really wish you folks wouldn't mess up a great thing, just to do smothing,"New and Improved." Please bring back the pump spray.

Clify D
Friendswood, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Love Nexxus !!!!!
7/23/2016

Customer review by Tina

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Tina
by Tina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best there is for any hair and very well priced!!! Thank You !!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nexxus Maxximum Superior Hold finishing spray
6/30/2016

Customer review by kd jenk

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by kd jenk
by kd jenk

This new stuff doesn't work, Plain and simple. Please bring back the original. You would make alot of people much happier!!

kd jenk
Savannah, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
BEWARE - THEY ONLY HAVE THE PINK BOTTLE
3/20/2015

Customer review by schleppenheimer

2.0 stars 3/20/2015 by schleppenheimer
by schleppenheimer

You know the GREAT Nexxus Maxximum hairspray? The kind that worked fantastic on thin hair? The kind that helped your hair stay in good shape all day long, AND gave it some body (magically)? Well, THIS ISN'T IT. I bought ten bottles of the stuff because Walmart still has the silver can pictured in their ads. I bought ten bottles because I had gone literally EVERYWHERE trying to find the silver bottle, and it was nowhere to be found (in Washington D.C.). Much to my dismay, Walmart sent the pink/salmon-colored bottle, which I can find anywhere. Although this hairspray is OK -- it is not magically different from all the other hairsprays I can purchase (and I have quite a lineup in my bathroom of the brands that don't work well). I would say that this hairspray is only "slightly" better than the others, and even I wonder if it's hopeful thinking on my part -- because I just bought TEN CANS OF THE STUFF!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schleppenheimer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed and sad!
4/8/2016

Customer review by PLCPHL

2.0 stars 4/8/2016 by PLCPHL
by PLCPHL

I have been using Nexxus hairspray for at least 10 years and have been beyond happy with its hold, lack of scent and the fact that it was easy to brush out and left no residue on my hair. I started using a can of the new Maxximum Extraordinary Hold finishing mist last week and the spray left a lot of residue in my hair and worse, it was almost impossible to brush out without breaking my hair. I opened another new can of Extraordinary Hold finishing mist a few days later, hoping the first can had a problem, but the second can was just like the first. I hope that Nexxus will consider adjusting its new formula so that the results are fantastic once again.

PLCPHL
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Please bring back the pump!
5/4/2016

Customer review by Mony

1.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Mony
by Mony

Love, loved, LOVED the non-areosol pump Maxximum spray--no residue, excellent hold. Those disappeared in 2014, I think, and I stockpiled what I could find. Am about to run out and tried the new stuff--UGH. What a stench. Plus, aerosol!!! PLEASE BRING BACK THE GREAT SPRAY IN THE PUMP BOTTLE!!!!!

Mony
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
NEXXUS MAXX
12/12/2010

Customer review by javajunky

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by javajunky
by javajunky

I too have a lot of EXTREMELY fine hair, always have. I've tried brand to brand...including the salons, and have NEVER found any other that compares to the quality that this does. For example, I wash it each morning, style it and DON"T touch it until I wash it the following day. Granted, it's two and a half times the price as others but am willing to sacrifice the money BECAUSE of the hold and fresh looking results at the end of every day; in fact I RARELY have a "bad hair day"...how's that for a nudge to try it? *TIP: I've found that it's never out of stock...almost $2.00 cheaper online...shipped free to my W. store, ready for me to pick up each week I go to the grocers.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
javajunky
"The Hills", NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product Changing Again???
2/10/2016

Customer review by Bunnyf68

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Bunnyf68
by Bunnyf68

I originally used the Maxximum "Superior Hold" in the gold can and loved it. It then changed to the Maxximum "Extraordinary Hold" in the pink can and it is not as good, but it still had some holding power. I went to the store yesterday, grabbed the Maxximum pink can, thinking it was the same thing, but now the can says Maxximum "Finishing Spray Strong Hold". At first I thought I just grabbed the wrong product but the UPC number on the can is the same. This product has no hold at all. I am in Texas and the weather changes by the second so I need a stronger hold. Is this product replacing the others? I don't want to switch brands but this product was literally like spraying water in my hair....no hold AT ALL. HELP...please don't change our products again.

Bunnyf68
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Smells Awful
4/19/2016

Customer review by Mich23

1.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Mich23
by Mich23

Please bring back the Gold formula. This replacement version smells terrible and leaves a terrible white residue on everything.

Mich23
South San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Finish mist
12/28/2015

Customer review by Ddstrong

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Ddstrong
by Ddstrong

Strong holding mist. Good if you want your hair yo stay in place.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ddstrong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best hairspray I've ever used!
8/4/2010

Customer review by LadyFaye

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by LadyFaye
by LadyFaye

I have thin, fine, color-treated hair and I have went from hairspray to hairspray for years and could never find the right one for me. Well I finally found this one and WOW! It has a pleasant smell, never offensive, holds well without stiffness and doesn't dry my hair out like all the other ones I've used in the past. Please don't ever discontinue this product. I LOVE IT SO MUCH! I couldn't live without it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyFaye
Columbus, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap parfume scent!
2/19/2016

Customer review by SueO

1.0 stars 2/19/2016 by SueO
by SueO

Love Nexxus products. My favorite was the pump maximum superior hold finishing spray. Unfortunately the formula has changed. The new scent is horrible!! Smells like cheap perfume and interferes with the fragrance I Wear. So disappointed!!

SueO
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The Best Hairspray!and body. .
11/30/2015

Customer review by PARC

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by PARC
by PARC

Leaves no sticky wetness. Great soft or maximum hold according to how much you use. Versatile spray for hold and body.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PARC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love nexxus
2/13/2015

Customer review by judy

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by judy
by judy

hope this will help walmart to continue stocking nexxus products..this hairspray holds great and is not damaging to hair..spray once and u are set for a style to last all day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get it where you can
8/4/2013

Customer review by PraticalGuy

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by PraticalGuy
by PraticalGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this via internet because the store stock was always low or out of stock. Ordering over the internet is great. It took one day for the order to arrive, which I thought was great. I've done the same with some other sundries items and they all arrived quickly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PraticalGuy
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
10/30/2015

Customer review by Sandy in VA

2.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Sandy in VA
by Sandy in VA

The hold works well, but it is leaving a white residue on my cell phone, desk phone and my eye glasses. And if I brush my hair the dry white particle show on my clothes. I will change to another brands.

Sandy in VA
VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best Hairspray on the market, in my opinion!
4/23/2010

Customer review by amyinsc

5.0 stars 4/23/2010 by amyinsc
by amyinsc

I LOVE this product. It is very light, however it gives my hair so much body and hold. I have very fine, thin hair. I have to use products that really work. This really works. It lasts a good part of the day (longer than any other hairspray I've tried). It is obviously a little pricey, but so worth it! I will not go back to anything else. Oh, one more thing. It really only takes a few sprays. I don't feel like I'm having to use 1/2 the can to get my hair to do what I want. One more thing, it smells good...not too strong! I know you will enjoy it as much as I do.

amyinsc
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not as good as before!!!!
6/16/2015

Customer review by nan58

2.0 stars 6/16/2015 by nan58
by nan58

I have been a loyal nexxus consumer for years. I loved the maximum hold spray in the GOLD can. However, the finishing mist is not nearly as good. I want the old spray back. I don't care what color can it's in as long as you keep it exactly the same. PLEASE!!!!!

nan58
Washington, DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Same as the gold one, exellent!
3/9/2015

Customer review by zdena

5.0 stars 3/9/2015 by zdena
by zdena

I used a gold can for years, and loved it. Now I tried for the first time, and I would't tell the difference at all. I don't understand the other review. I tried half head and half head, and just can't say. It's the best on the market for fine hair which needs to be hold in place.  After it's totally dry I use fingers just to fluff it up a little bit to look it natural. 

zdena
Austin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
5 star
11/10/2015

Customer review by Donna

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Donna
by Donna

Love the product but can alway fine it in the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews