Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

63 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

63 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
1-20 of 62 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Great Product for Me
12/6/2016

Customer review by Les719

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Les719
by Les719

Great spray for my curly hair! Holds the curls, cuts way down on the frizz! Doesn't make my scalp itch! Doesn't flake and washes out! What more can you ask!! The scent takes getting use to, but it works so well for me that I have embraced it :)

Les719
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible!
11/29/2016

Customer review by Laurie

1.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Laurie
by Laurie

New version is terrible! Smells awful ..very overpowering! Loved the old formula in the gold bottle ! Very dissapointed! Won't ever purchase again!

Laurie
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible!
7/30/2016

Customer review by lllinda57

1.0 stars 7/30/2016 by lllinda57
by lllinda57

I have been a loyal customer for many year and have used the Diamatress shampoo and conditioner, as well as the mousse and this maximum hairspray. My thin, fine, straight hair is very picky about what I use on it. I have always been unhappy each time when the all of the products I used have been changed, but have found a way to eventually adjust. However, the newest formula change to the Maxximum Finishing Mist is just terrible and makes it unusable for my hair. It is too wet and heavy and I can barely brush it out of my hair. I need a hairspray that holds well without weighing down my hair. I'm very disappointed and am feeling that I need to switch brands. Why do you change the formula of a product that works well and that I assume is selling well?

lllinda57
Chambersburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pump mist
10/4/2016

Customer review by very frustrated

1.0 stars 10/4/2016 by very frustrated
by very frustrated

I have been using the mist spray pump and now I am unable to buy it. I hate the can spray, it won't brush out of my hair and I have buildup. My hair is breaking from me brushing it. Please bring it back because I have tried other brands and nothing works.

very frustrated
Madison, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
good
9/23/2016

Customer review by Commish

4.0 stars 9/23/2016 by Commish
by Commish

I love this spray, after an hour you can comb it, run your fingers through it and your style stays.

Commish
Merced, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very disappointed
8/24/2016

Customer review by Molly123

1.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Molly123
by Molly123

I also am disappointed with the new hairspray. I used the old pump spray for as long as I can remember (not a fan of aerosols) and absolutely don't like the new version. I liked the fact that the previous spray had little scent and didn't leave my hair stiff. Also it is very difficult to brush out. Please bring the old one back or I may have to change brands.

Molly123
Stamford CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Product Changing Again???
2/10/2016

Customer review by Bunnyf68

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Bunnyf68
by Bunnyf68

I originally used the Maxximum "Superior Hold" in the gold can and loved it. It then changed to the Maxximum "Extraordinary Hold" in the pink can and it is not as good, but it still had some holding power. I went to the store yesterday, grabbed the Maxximum pink can, thinking it was the same thing, but now the can says Maxximum "Finishing Spray Strong Hold". At first I thought I just grabbed the wrong product but the UPC number on the can is the same. This product has no hold at all. I am in Texas and the weather changes by the second so I need a stronger hold. Is this product replacing the others? I don't want to switch brands but this product was literally like spraying water in my hair....no hold AT ALL. HELP...please don't change our products again.

Bunnyf68
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointing compared to the old pump spray.
7/13/2016

Customer review by Clify D

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Clify D
by Clify D

I used the old pump spray version of this spray for over a decade. There was a reason why I have never been a fan of aerosol hair sprays... lack of control and directionality. Since I have had to use this can of recent, I have regularly had one disapointing hair day after another. I am sad to say, I will have to go looking for another product very soon. Really wish you folks wouldn't mess up a great thing, just to do smothing,"New and Improved." Please bring back the pump spray.

Clify D
Friendswood, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointed with the Change
7/22/2016

Customer review by GordonKJ

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by GordonKJ
by GordonKJ

I have to say, I'm more than disappointed, I'm disgusted with whatever Nexxus did to change my favorite hairspray. What I loved about the previous mixture was that it was a strong hold without feeling like there was anything on my hair. Now it doesn't hold as well, feels sticky, and comes out so hard that it moves my hair when it sprays. I HATE the new formula.

GordonKJ
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed and sad!
4/8/2016

Customer review by PLCPHL

2.0 stars 4/8/2016 by PLCPHL
by PLCPHL

I have been using Nexxus hairspray for at least 10 years and have been beyond happy with its hold, lack of scent and the fact that it was easy to brush out and left no residue on my hair. I started using a can of the new Maxximum Extraordinary Hold finishing mist last week and the spray left a lot of residue in my hair and worse, it was almost impossible to brush out without breaking my hair. I opened another new can of Extraordinary Hold finishing mist a few days later, hoping the first can had a problem, but the second can was just like the first. I hope that Nexxus will consider adjusting its new formula so that the results are fantastic once again.

PLCPHL
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Nexxus Maxximum Superior Hold finishing spray
6/30/2016

Customer review by kd jenk

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by kd jenk
by kd jenk

This new stuff doesn't work, Plain and simple. Please bring back the original. You would make alot of people much happier!!

kd jenk
Savannah, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Please bring back the pump!
5/4/2016

Customer review by Mony

1.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Mony
by Mony

Love, loved, LOVED the non-areosol pump Maxximum spray--no residue, excellent hold. Those disappeared in 2014, I think, and I stockpiled what I could find. Am about to run out and tried the new stuff--UGH. What a stench. Plus, aerosol!!! PLEASE BRING BACK THE GREAT SPRAY IN THE PUMP BOTTLE!!!!!

Mony
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Smells Awful
4/19/2016

Customer review by Mich23

1.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Mich23
by Mich23

Please bring back the Gold formula. This replacement version smells terrible and leaves a terrible white residue on everything.

Mich23
South San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best Hairspray on the market, in my opinion!
4/23/2010

Customer review by amyinsc

5.0 stars 4/23/2010 by amyinsc
by amyinsc

I LOVE this product. It is very light, however it gives my hair so much body and hold. I have very fine, thin hair. I have to use products that really work. This really works. It lasts a good part of the day (longer than any other hairspray I've tried). It is obviously a little pricey, but so worth it! I will not go back to anything else. Oh, one more thing. It really only takes a few sprays. I don't feel like I'm having to use 1/2 the can to get my hair to do what I want. One more thing, it smells good...not too strong! I know you will enjoy it as much as I do.

amyinsc
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Cheap parfume scent!
2/19/2016

Customer review by SueO

1.0 stars 2/19/2016 by SueO
by SueO

Love Nexxus products. My favorite was the pump maximum superior hold finishing spray. Unfortunately the formula has changed. The new scent is horrible!! Smells like cheap perfume and interferes with the fragrance I Wear. So disappointed!!

SueO
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Same as the gold one, exellent!
3/9/2015

Customer review by zdena

5.0 stars 3/9/2015 by zdena
by zdena

I used a gold can for years, and loved it. Now I tried for the first time, and I would't tell the difference at all. I don't understand the other review. I tried half head and half head, and just can't say. It's the best on the market for fine hair which needs to be hold in place.  After it's totally dry I use fingers just to fluff it up a little bit to look it natural. 

zdena
Austin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed
10/30/2015

Customer review by Sandy in VA

2.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Sandy in VA
by Sandy in VA

The hold works well, but it is leaving a white residue on my cell phone, desk phone and my eye glasses. And if I brush my hair the dry white particle show on my clothes. I will change to another brands.

Sandy in VA
VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This Hairspray Does not hold my hair
2/13/2015

Customer review by Hairspray Goddess

1.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Hairspray Goddess
by Hairspray Goddess

I love Nexxus products. I have been using The Maximum superior hold finishing mist in the GOLD CAN for quite some time now and was impressed with it's performance. However, after trying their new Maxximum Extraordinary hold in the PINK CAN I found that it does NOT hold my hair at all. Disappointed ... going back to the store.

Hairspray Goddess
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Please don't ever stop selling this
4/28/2011

Customer review by SfJt

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by SfJt
by SfJt

This is by far the best hairspray ever. You do not need much to get the desired hold and it doesn't make your hair look like it's coated. I am a hairdresser and have thick coarse hair myself. I have tried every hairspray I can possibly try-professional and off the drug store shelf. I get complements on my hair daily now. Every single day.

SfJt
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The BEST hairspray ever
10/28/2012

Customer review by Kimmi

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Kimmi
by Kimmi

I love this product!! By far, the best hairspray I've ever used. I have very thin hair that's difficult to style. Other hairsprays don't hold as well, or last as long. But this product helps me maintain my style the entire day. Plus, it doesn't have an overbearing fragrance like some others (that I refer to as "smelling like Raid").

Kimmi
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews