Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
1-20 of 61 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
The prefect hairspray!
5/26/2015

Customer review by jayro22

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by jayro22
by jayro22

I love this hairspray! it holds very well and is not sticky and does not leave a film. I've been using for a few years now.

jayro22
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
BEWARE - THEY ONLY HAVE THE PINK BOTTLE
3/20/2015

Customer review by schleppenheimer

2.0 stars 3/20/2015 by schleppenheimer
by schleppenheimer

You know the GREAT Nexxus Maxximum hairspray? The kind that worked fantastic on thin hair? The kind that helped your hair stay in good shape all day long, AND gave it some body (magically)? Well, THIS ISN'T IT. I bought ten bottles of the stuff because Walmart still has the silver can pictured in their ads. I bought ten bottles because I had gone literally EVERYWHERE trying to find the silver bottle, and it was nowhere to be found (in Washington D.C.). Much to my dismay, Walmart sent the pink/salmon-colored bottle, which I can find anywhere. Although this hairspray is OK -- it is not magically different from all the other hairsprays I can purchase (and I have quite a lineup in my bathroom of the brands that don't work well). I would say that this hairspray is only "slightly" better than the others, and even I wonder if it's hopeful thinking on my part -- because I just bought TEN CANS OF THE STUFF!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schleppenheimer
Would recommend to a friend? No
NEXXUS MAXX
12/12/2010

Customer review by javajunky

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by javajunky
by javajunky

I too have a lot of EXTREMELY fine hair, always have. I've tried brand to brand...including the salons, and have NEVER found any other that compares to the quality that this does. For example, I wash it each morning, style it and DON"T touch it until I wash it the following day. Granted, it's two and a half times the price as others but am willing to sacrifice the money BECAUSE of the hold and fresh looking results at the end of every day; in fact I RARELY have a "bad hair day"...how's that for a nudge to try it? *TIP: I've found that it's never out of stock...almost $2.00 cheaper online...shipped free to my W. store, ready for me to pick up each week I go to the grocers.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
javajunky
"The Hills", NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Best hairspray I've ever used!
8/4/2010

Customer review by LadyFaye

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by LadyFaye
by LadyFaye

I have thin, fine, color-treated hair and I have went from hairspray to hairspray for years and could never find the right one for me. Well I finally found this one and WOW! It has a pleasant smell, never offensive, holds well without stiffness and doesn't dry my hair out like all the other ones I've used in the past. Please don't ever discontinue this product. I LOVE IT SO MUCH! I couldn't live without it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyFaye
Columbus, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Nexxus Products
2/14/2017

Customer review by Dior47

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Dior47
by Dior47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best hair spray I have found is the Nexxus Extraordinary Hold Finishing Mist. Your hair isn't stiff and hard to manage. It's just the right amount of texture to hold one's hair in place. Highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dior47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hold.
1/15/2017

Customer review by Mtex

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Mtex
by Mtex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great hold, long lasting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mtex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finish mist
12/28/2015

Customer review by Ddstrong

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Ddstrong
by Ddstrong

Strong holding mist. Good if you want your hair yo stay in place.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ddstrong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible!
7/30/2016

Customer review by lllinda57

1.0 stars 7/30/2016 by lllinda57
by lllinda57

I have been a loyal customer for many year and have used the Diamatress shampoo and conditioner, as well as the mousse and this maximum hairspray. My thin, fine, straight hair is very picky about what I use on it. I have always been unhappy each time when the all of the products I used have been changed, but have found a way to eventually adjust. However, the newest formula change to the Maxximum Finishing Mist is just terrible and makes it unusable for my hair. It is too wet and heavy and I can barely brush it out of my hair. I need a hairspray that holds well without weighing down my hair. I'm very disappointed and am feeling that I need to switch brands. Why do you change the formula of a product that works well and that I assume is selling well?

lllinda57
Chambersburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great Product for Me
12/6/2016

Customer review by Les719

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Les719
by Les719

Great spray for my curly hair! Holds the curls, cuts way down on the frizz! Doesn't make my scalp itch! Doesn't flake and washes out! What more can you ask!! The scent takes getting use to, but it works so well for me that I have embraced it :)

Les719
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible!
11/29/2016

Customer review by Laurie

1.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Laurie
by Laurie

New version is terrible! Smells awful ..very overpowering! Loved the old formula in the gold bottle ! Very dissapointed! Won't ever purchase again!

Laurie
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Get it where you can
8/4/2013

Customer review by PraticalGuy

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by PraticalGuy
by PraticalGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this via internet because the store stock was always low or out of stock. Ordering over the internet is great. It took one day for the order to arrive, which I thought was great. I've done the same with some other sundries items and they all arrived quickly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PraticalGuy
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best Hairspray!and body. .
11/30/2015

Customer review by PARC

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by PARC
by PARC

Leaves no sticky wetness. Great soft or maximum hold according to how much you use. Versatile spray for hold and body.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PARC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love nexxus
2/13/2015

Customer review by judy

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by judy
by judy

hope this will help walmart to continue stocking nexxus products..this hairspray holds great and is not damaging to hair..spray once and u are set for a style to last all day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product Changing Again???
2/10/2016

Customer review by Bunnyf68

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Bunnyf68
by Bunnyf68

I originally used the Maxximum "Superior Hold" in the gold can and loved it. It then changed to the Maxximum "Extraordinary Hold" in the pink can and it is not as good, but it still had some holding power. I went to the store yesterday, grabbed the Maxximum pink can, thinking it was the same thing, but now the can says Maxximum "Finishing Spray Strong Hold". At first I thought I just grabbed the wrong product but the UPC number on the can is the same. This product has no hold at all. I am in Texas and the weather changes by the second so I need a stronger hold. Is this product replacing the others? I don't want to switch brands but this product was literally like spraying water in my hair....no hold AT ALL. HELP...please don't change our products again.

Bunnyf68
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pump mist
10/4/2016

Customer review by very frustrated

1.0 stars 10/4/2016 by very frustrated
by very frustrated

I have been using the mist spray pump and now I am unable to buy it. I hate the can spray, it won't brush out of my hair and I have buildup. My hair is breaking from me brushing it. Please bring it back because I have tried other brands and nothing works.

very frustrated
Madison, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed and sad!
4/8/2016

Customer review by PLCPHL

2.0 stars 4/8/2016 by PLCPHL
by PLCPHL

I have been using Nexxus hairspray for at least 10 years and have been beyond happy with its hold, lack of scent and the fact that it was easy to brush out and left no residue on my hair. I started using a can of the new Maxximum Extraordinary Hold finishing mist last week and the spray left a lot of residue in my hair and worse, it was almost impossible to brush out without breaking my hair. I opened another new can of Extraordinary Hold finishing mist a few days later, hoping the first can had a problem, but the second can was just like the first. I hope that Nexxus will consider adjusting its new formula so that the results are fantastic once again.

PLCPHL
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very disappointed
8/24/2016

Customer review by Molly123

1.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Molly123
by Molly123

I also am disappointed with the new hairspray. I used the old pump spray for as long as I can remember (not a fan of aerosols) and absolutely don't like the new version. I liked the fact that the previous spray had little scent and didn't leave my hair stiff. Also it is very difficult to brush out. Please bring the old one back or I may have to change brands.

Molly123
Stamford CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
good
9/23/2016

Customer review by Commish

4.0 stars 9/23/2016 by Commish
by Commish

I love this spray, after an hour you can comb it, run your fingers through it and your style stays.

Commish
Merced, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointing compared to the old pump spray.
7/13/2016

Customer review by Clify D

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Clify D
by Clify D

I used the old pump spray version of this spray for over a decade. There was a reason why I have never been a fan of aerosol hair sprays... lack of control and directionality. Since I have had to use this can of recent, I have regularly had one disapointing hair day after another. I am sad to say, I will have to go looking for another product very soon. Really wish you folks wouldn't mess up a great thing, just to do smothing,"New and Improved." Please bring back the pump spray.

Clify D
Friendswood, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Buy this if you want smelly static
9/19/2010

Customer review by 8NoAngel

2.0 stars 9/19/2010 by 8NoAngel
by 8NoAngel

I bought this after reading the reviews and thought it would be exactly what I needed. The only volume achieved by using it was from static. I also think the smell of the hairspray is one of the worst smelling sprays I have ever used. Of course the ease of use was high because it is not hard to remove cap, point at hair, and spray.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8NoAngel
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews