Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 50 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60
4/12/2009

Customer review by OscarGuy

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by OscarGuy
by OscarGuy

This filter came with the Wal-Mart 55gl. tank I bought when I upgraded from a 10gl. I have 2 Oscars and their messy eaters, so I bought a second Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60 to compensate. Their rated at 300gl. per hour, so in a 55gl. tank...I have NO problems at all. And like the other post, It's made by Marineland and the "C" cart. will fit. Bottom line is...for what they are, and how much they cost...you really can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (94) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OscarGuy
Murfreesboro, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good and quiet filter
10/12/2008

Customer review by CrazyForFish

4.0 stars 10/12/2008 by CrazyForFish
by CrazyForFish

I got this filter for a 29 gallon aquarium that I placed in my bedroom. I was concern about the noise the emperor 280 filter makes so I was looking for something a little bit more silent. The filter has been working for six months now and I have not had any problems with it. The biofiltration is good, since I never had an ammonia spike in my water. Overall I think is a good filter but a little bit pricier at $38 when compare to Marineland Emperor 280 at the same price on line. The big difference is the quiet operation and this was something needed for my bedroom. I was a little bit concern about Wal-mart been the only place that sells them but I discovered that Marineland Cartridge C is exactly the same replacement filter cartridge so now if my local Wal-mart store runs out of them, I always can find emergency supplies in other local fish stores.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyForFish
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Aqua-Tech 30-60
3/16/2009

Customer review by NewFish

4.0 stars 3/16/2009 by NewFish
by NewFish

This is a great buy. Upon further research after buying this filter I found that its a cheaper version of the Penguin 300 series bio-wheel filters. The only difference is you dont have the bio-wheel to maintain or replace when they go bad. Its a very easy filter to operate and clean. The filter media is really cheap as well. The only complaint I have about the filter is really the filter cartidges dont contain as much carbon as I would like to see in them, however you can cut open the filter and add more if you are ambitious enough to do so. Again you can purchase that extra carbon from Wally-world aslo!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewFish
Colchester,Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An excellent product
11/11/2009

Customer review by txmason

5.0 stars 11/11/2009 by txmason
by txmason

Three years ago, I purchased one of these filters and a much more expensive one from a fish store for my 55 gallon aquarium. The more expensive one was noisier, hard to get filters for and harder to clean. After a year, the more expensive one broke and I replaced it with a second one of this model. I have never had any problems with either filter in all of that time. All they need for maintenance is to clean them about once a month, change the filter, and fill them back up with water. One filter was left running for about a week dry by accident when we left for vacation, and after cleaning it and filling it up with water, it still works like new.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txmason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for a back-up
2/14/2010

Customer review by Brian41

4.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Brian41
by Brian41

I bought one for a back-up . It is a decent enough filter . I have used one for a few months when one of my Penquins went down . It done a good job keeping my tank clean , though I do not use their filters . I use refillable clam shell filters with a sponge and media bags in each filled with my media of choice . It's by far cheaper rinsing the sponge out in my fish bucket while doing a water change and refilling the media bags than buying new filters every month .They move a good amount of water and they are fairly quiet . One of the first things I did was buy a Bio-Wheel kit for my Augua-tech 30 - 60 from my local pet store and I recommend that all that owns one do the same . The Bio- Wheels are a wet/dry filtration system that is a great place to grow added beneficial bacteria and great for polishing the water .

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brian41
Ashland , Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Has been lasting me for years!
5/2/2011

Customer review by fhawk362

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by fhawk362
by fhawk362

I really like this filter, the dual outlets are nice incase you let the filter media go too long, one side may get a lower flow but you never lose too much flow. I own an aqua clear 70 and magnum 350 canister as well. All good products, but this was the cheapest of the 3 and performs quite well. Also you can buy pillow batting to use as filter media with the mesh pot scourers to maintain beneficial bacteria. It keeps my tank mechanically clean and I havent seemed to have problems with biological filtration with it either, keep the filter foam and rinse the cartridges as long as you can but then just use filter fiber/ pillow batting, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fhawk362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it!
1/7/2011

Customer review by angelam975

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by angelam975
by angelam975

this is so much better then what i had..the ones i had made a rippling sound that got on my nerves bad, but this on is so quiet and seems to do a good job on my 55 gallon tank

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angelam975
Hazel, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
1/12/2011

Customer review by UUFootballFan

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by UUFootballFan
by UUFootballFan

Don't buy expensive MarineLand biowheel products. They quit working. The wheels stop turning and your tank suffers. I have had aquariums for two decades. This product keeps my 40 gallon aquarium crystal clear! The fish have a great environment.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UUFootballFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
gets job done at a good price
2/13/2009

Customer review by coney107

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by coney107
by coney107

i bought one of these for my 55 gallon tank and it worked great. ive now upsized to a 120 gallon tank and i bought another of these filters and use 2 of them on my 120 gallon and they work great there too. they are quiet and get the job done and are alot less expensive than bigger filters that do the same job. i would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coney107
mt. airy, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great filter for fish tank... I have turtles...
9/14/2012

Customer review by SciTeacher5000

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by SciTeacher5000
by SciTeacher5000

I just bought this today and it was VERY easy install. Basically ready to go right out of the box! My only gripe is that it doesn't really work unless you have a very high water level. Fine if you have fish, but I have a turtle tank and so I only fill my tank half way up. Until the water level gets within 3 inches of the base of the waterfall, all you'll get is a sad little trickle. Fill it above the see thru section of the uptake tube and you are in business! I moves A LOT of water so I am pleased with that, but I will have to be making other arrangements for my turtles to sunbathe... Just FYI!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SciTeacher5000
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed!
5/30/2012

Customer review by BigViking

2.0 stars 5/30/2012 by BigViking
by BigViking

I have been in the aquarium hobby for many years, and was diappointed how that the quality of this product is not as good as it once was. Now, it is very noisy, so noisy that I returned it and I do not recommend this product as is.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigViking
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Maybe I just got a defective unit ?
9/1/2011

Customer review by Aquarist128

2.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Aquarist128
by Aquarist128

I own a aqua tech 20-40 in addition to the 30-60. No problem with the smaller unit but this 30-60 has been nothing but headaches. I have already replaced the impeller twice and now it rattles like it's choking on a rock, which it's not. Only had this one for three weeks. Waiting for a new impeller from marineland. If that doesn't fix it, I'm returning the product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aquarist128
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product works great
2/28/2012

Customer review by sunshine36867

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by sunshine36867
by sunshine36867

Product works great and the price is average for a filter this size.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunshine36867
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible filter, Uggg
4/15/2012

Customer review by HelloThere123123

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by HelloThere123123
by HelloThere123123

First let me say I'm not a new to aquariums, so take what I say serious when considering purchasing this filter. I bought three of these filters and every single one of them rattles and its extremely loud. Tried everything I could to fix them "Clean this do this do that" with no results. A waste of time and a waste $120. Not very happy with this company will not suggest the product in fact I speak against, Made an account to warn others. There are way better alternatives. I have other filters that do not make the slightest noise, these ones will drive you bananas. Don't buy It !

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelloThere123123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
2/15/2009

Customer review by pugpal

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by pugpal
by pugpal

This is about the most inexpesive filtration unit you can buy! I have many tanks and use them in all because they are dependable and much cheaper to run than any product I have found at petco or petsmart. Filter cartridges is where you really save all the money on this filter. Buy in bulk for greater savings!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pugpal
Pueblo, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding, Worth the money
11/5/2011

Customer review by Oklalala

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by Oklalala
by Oklalala

I am very impressed with this Filter system. I am using it on my 40 gallon tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oklalala
Lawton,OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Real quiet and easy to maintain
8/4/2009

Customer review by skinnybibs

4.0 stars 8/4/2009 by skinnybibs
by skinnybibs

this filter is the only one you will need for aquariums in the 30-60 gal. size. wish I could buy just bio-fiber filters only, but overall a pretty good buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skinnybibs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome
5/18/2009

Customer review by Timm157

5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Timm157
by Timm157

works great with 55 gallon tank. the double filter prevents cycling the tank

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Timm157
Platteville, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk. Stay away from.
2/23/2013

Customer review by Resqfireman

2.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Resqfireman
by Resqfireman

I purchased one of these a few months back for my 50 gallon tank. It really didn't seem to move much water, so I thought that it was perhaps defective, and took it back to Wal-Mart for an exchange. But, with the second one, it was the same result. I ended up just taking it back for a refund. Here's what I think that the problems are: 1. The motor with the impeller is just too small to move a large amount of water thru 2 filters, plus the black foam inserts. Within 2 days, even with relatively clean filters, the water slows to a trickle. 2. Once the water line drops below where the tube joints are, they must not have a tight enough fit, so air gets in there, making the water flow even worse, if that's even possible. AquaTech needs to either beef up the motor to move the proper amount of water, or have 2 seperate motors, one for each side. In my opinion, do some research, and purchase something else that works MUCH better than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Resqfireman
Boise, ID.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
High quality product
11/17/2014

Customer review by ImHappyMan

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by ImHappyMan
by ImHappyMan

I use this product for more than 10 years with no problems .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImHappyMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews