Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 57 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60
4/12/2009

Customer review by OscarGuy

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by OscarGuy
by OscarGuy

This filter came with the Wal-Mart 55gl. tank I bought when I upgraded from a 10gl. I have 2 Oscars and their messy eaters, so I bought a second Regant Aqua-Tech 30/60 to compensate. Their rated at 300gl. per hour, so in a 55gl. tank...I have NO problems at all. And like the other post, It's made by Marineland and the "C" cart. will fit. Bottom line is...for what they are, and how much they cost...you really can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (116) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OscarGuy
Murfreesboro, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good and quiet filter
10/12/2008

Customer review by CrazyForFish

4.0 stars 10/12/2008 by CrazyForFish
by CrazyForFish

I got this filter for a 29 gallon aquarium that I placed in my bedroom. I was concern about the noise the emperor 280 filter makes so I was looking for something a little bit more silent. The filter has been working for six months now and I have not had any problems with it. The biofiltration is good, since I never had an ammonia spike in my water. Overall I think is a good filter but a little bit pricier at $38 when compare to Marineland Emperor 280 at the same price on line. The big difference is the quiet operation and this was something needed for my bedroom. I was a little bit concern about Wal-mart been the only place that sells them but I discovered that Marineland Cartridge C is exactly the same replacement filter cartridge so now if my local Wal-mart store runs out of them, I always can find emergency supplies in other local fish stores.

Was this review helpful? (60) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyForFish
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Aqua Tech filter
7/24/2016

Customer review by Maurstank

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Maurstank
by Maurstank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thank you for your prompt service. The filter works perfectly and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maurstank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk. Stay away from.
2/23/2013

Customer review by Resqfireman

2.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Resqfireman
by Resqfireman

I purchased one of these a few months back for my 50 gallon tank. It really didn't seem to move much water, so I thought that it was perhaps defective, and took it back to Wal-Mart for an exchange. But, with the second one, it was the same result. I ended up just taking it back for a refund. Here's what I think that the problems are: 1. The motor with the impeller is just too small to move a large amount of water thru 2 filters, plus the black foam inserts. Within 2 days, even with relatively clean filters, the water slows to a trickle. 2. Once the water line drops below where the tube joints are, they must not have a tight enough fit, so air gets in there, making the water flow even worse, if that's even possible. AquaTech needs to either beef up the motor to move the proper amount of water, or have 2 seperate motors, one for each side. In my opinion, do some research, and purchase something else that works MUCH better than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Resqfireman
Boise, ID.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Aqua-Tech 30-60
3/16/2009

Customer review by NewFish

4.0 stars 3/16/2009 by NewFish
by NewFish

This is a great buy. Upon further research after buying this filter I found that its a cheaper version of the Penguin 300 series bio-wheel filters. The only difference is you dont have the bio-wheel to maintain or replace when they go bad. Its a very easy filter to operate and clean. The filter media is really cheap as well. The only complaint I have about the filter is really the filter cartidges dont contain as much carbon as I would like to see in them, however you can cut open the filter and add more if you are ambitious enough to do so. Again you can purchase that extra carbon from Wally-world aslo!

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewFish
Colchester,Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An excellent product
11/11/2009

Customer review by txmason

5.0 stars 11/11/2009 by txmason
by txmason

Three years ago, I purchased one of these filters and a much more expensive one from a fish store for my 55 gallon aquarium. The more expensive one was noisier, hard to get filters for and harder to clean. After a year, the more expensive one broke and I replaced it with a second one of this model. I have never had any problems with either filter in all of that time. All they need for maintenance is to clean them about once a month, change the filter, and fill them back up with water. One filter was left running for about a week dry by accident when we left for vacation, and after cleaning it and filling it up with water, it still works like new.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txmason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great filter, even better deal
5/30/2016

Customer review by morrime1

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by morrime1
by morrime1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This filter preformed better than the one we had and it cost half the price. The tank is so much clearer. We would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
morrime1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for a back-up
2/14/2010

Customer review by Brian41

4.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Brian41
by Brian41

I bought one for a back-up . It is a decent enough filter . I have used one for a few months when one of my Penquins went down . It done a good job keeping my tank clean , though I do not use their filters . I use refillable clam shell filters with a sponge and media bags in each filled with my media of choice . It's by far cheaper rinsing the sponge out in my fish bucket while doing a water change and refilling the media bags than buying new filters every month .They move a good amount of water and they are fairly quiet . One of the first things I did was buy a Bio-Wheel kit for my Augua-tech 30 - 60 from my local pet store and I recommend that all that owns one do the same . The Bio- Wheels are a wet/dry filtration system that is a great place to grow added beneficial bacteria and great for polishing the water .

Was this review helpful? (23) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brian41
Ashland , Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Has been lasting me for years!
5/2/2011

Customer review by fhawk362

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by fhawk362
by fhawk362

I really like this filter, the dual outlets are nice incase you let the filter media go too long, one side may get a lower flow but you never lose too much flow. I own an aqua clear 70 and magnum 350 canister as well. All good products, but this was the cheapest of the 3 and performs quite well. Also you can buy pillow batting to use as filter media with the mesh pot scourers to maintain beneficial bacteria. It keeps my tank mechanically clean and I havent seemed to have problems with biological filtration with it either, keep the filter foam and rinse the cartridges as long as you can but then just use filter fiber/ pillow batting, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fhawk362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, easy affordable maintenance
6/24/2015

Customer review by delu57

4.0 stars 6/24/2015 by delu57
by delu57

I've had this for my 55 gallon tank for about a year, with small turtles and fish, the turtles go to the pond when they get bigger. The only problem I had with it after one year was the flow slowed down. After cleaning and taking apart, it seems there is a rubber washer that holds the propeller next to the motor to move the water. It seems that the rubber washer looses it's ability to hold the propeller down next to the motor correctly every time the propeller is reinserted. But the media replacement is inexpensive and easy to find with multiple brands making the type "C" cartridges. It is very quiet and moves a lot of water for the price. Even if I have to replace the main filter every year or two the money I save on cartridges will more than make up for that. I was going to go with a bio-wheel filter, but read many reviews about how noisy they can get over time, not worth it to me. I'll stick with the less expensive above average filter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delu57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
gets job done at a good price
2/13/2009

Customer review by coney107

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by coney107
by coney107

i bought one of these for my 55 gallon tank and it worked great. ive now upsized to a 120 gallon tank and i bought another of these filters and use 2 of them on my 120 gallon and they work great there too. they are quiet and get the job done and are alot less expensive than bigger filters that do the same job. i would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coney107
mt. airy, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great filter for fish tank... I have turtles...
9/14/2012

Customer review by SciTeacher5000

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by SciTeacher5000
by SciTeacher5000

I just bought this today and it was VERY easy install. Basically ready to go right out of the box! My only gripe is that it doesn't really work unless you have a very high water level. Fine if you have fish, but I have a turtle tank and so I only fill my tank half way up. Until the water level gets within 3 inches of the base of the waterfall, all you'll get is a sad little trickle. Fill it above the see thru section of the uptake tube and you are in business! I moves A LOT of water so I am pleased with that, but I will have to be making other arrangements for my turtles to sunbathe... Just FYI!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SciTeacher5000
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love it!
1/7/2011

Customer review by angelam975

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by angelam975
by angelam975

this is so much better then what i had..the ones i had made a rippling sound that got on my nerves bad, but this on is so quiet and seems to do a good job on my 55 gallon tank

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angelam975
Hazel, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
1/12/2011

Customer review by UUFootballFan

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by UUFootballFan
by UUFootballFan

Don't buy expensive MarineLand biowheel products. They quit working. The wheels stop turning and your tank suffers. I have had aquariums for two decades. This product keeps my 40 gallon aquarium crystal clear! The fish have a great environment.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UUFootballFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed!
5/30/2012

Customer review by BigViking

2.0 stars 5/30/2012 by BigViking
by BigViking

I have been in the aquarium hobby for many years, and was diappointed how that the quality of this product is not as good as it once was. Now, it is very noisy, so noisy that I returned it and I do not recommend this product as is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigViking
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Maybe I just got a defective unit ?
9/1/2011

Customer review by Aquarist128

2.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Aquarist128
by Aquarist128

I own a aqua tech 20-40 in addition to the 30-60. No problem with the smaller unit but this 30-60 has been nothing but headaches. I have already replaced the impeller twice and now it rattles like it's choking on a rock, which it's not. Only had this one for three weeks. Waiting for a new impeller from marineland. If that doesn't fix it, I'm returning the product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aquarist128
Would recommend to a friend? No
. Missing filter cartridge
3/15/2016

Customer review by Keith

2.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Keith
by Keith

Package look rummage through had extra parts that was to another filter. but no filter cartridges had to go back to the store to buy filter cartridge

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keith
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too NOISY
3/6/2013

Customer review by BoyShopper2

1.0 stars 3/6/2013 by BoyShopper2
by BoyShopper2

I just bought this coz it has 4 stars review. This filter is too noisy. I wouldn't mind the noise of the trickling water but the motor is like grinding rocks. My fishtank is outside my bedroom in the washroom but i can still hear it. I actually like how the way it looked but the noise is too irritating. Im going to return this. and by the way, water does not flow like that the way they show on the picture. It goes to underneath the rim of the tank. When I was at work I received a call from home that the fishtank broke coz water leaking everywhere & damaged the floor & cabinets (washroom is on 2nd floor) only to find out that the water flows erratically. Sometimes its okay sometimes it doesn't & im afraid that if i go out of town the filter will stop working.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoyShopper2
Garden Grove, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible filter, Uggg
4/15/2012

Customer review by HelloThere123123

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by HelloThere123123
by HelloThere123123

First let me say I'm not a new to aquariums, so take what I say serious when considering purchasing this filter. I bought three of these filters and every single one of them rattles and its extremely loud. Tried everything I could to fix them "Clean this do this do that" with no results. A waste of time and a waste $120. Not very happy with this company will not suggest the product in fact I speak against, Made an account to warn others. There are way better alternatives. I have other filters that do not make the slightest noise, these ones will drive you bananas. Don't buy It !

Was this review helpful? (10) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HelloThere123123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great filter
3/20/2016

Customer review by Danibobani1979

5.0 stars 3/20/2016 by Danibobani1979
by Danibobani1979

Awesome filter easy to assemble and not very noisy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danibobani1979
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews