Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-12 of 12 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

great, quiet
4/21/2009

Customer review by Timm157

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by Timm157
by Timm157

awesome. works great with my 20 gallon tank. is very quiet. only problem was that the water level had to higher then I normally keep it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Timm157
Platteville, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wow
1/24/2010

Customer review by z32guy

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by z32guy
by z32guy

this thing filtered out my 10 gal tank very quick and keeps it clean i recamend this for a small tank!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
z32guy
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
1/17/2010

Customer review by living4mydyingwish

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by living4mydyingwish
by living4mydyingwish

I've had my aquarium for about three years now and tried all kinds of filters and this is by far the best! It is super quiet (all you really hear is the waterfall) and keeps my tank very clean. My fish even love it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
living4mydyingwish
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great filter if u dont have alot of fish
12/4/2009

Customer review by fishman217

4.0 stars 12/4/2009 by fishman217
by fishman217

i had about 9 big fish in my 20gal tank and this filter worked well for about a month but i didnt think it was going to last more than 5 with the fish i had in there it started to loose power a couple of days ago still works but bought a better filter and using this one as booster for the new one so i dont run that one down to but all in all its a good filter i would recomend this if u dont have alot to spend

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishman217
Bellevue, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fits My Tank!
12/26/2011

Customer review by WalMartDotty

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by WalMartDotty
by WalMartDotty

I have a 16 gallon, bow front tank that came with a filter that is just powerful enough to move the water, but it doesn't completely fit the back of the hood. I tried a 20/30 filter and that was too large and too powerful. This one fits. It fits as if it should have been included with the tank! Water is clearer than the one that came with the tank because this one covers 10/20 gallons and the one that came with it only states 10 gallons on the box. Good buy for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartDotty
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible filter!
2/26/2014

Customer review by rjmakmom

1.0 stars 2/26/2014 by rjmakmom
by rjmakmom

If I could give this 0 stars, I would. I bought 1, brought it home, plugged it in and water started streaming out of the bottom through what I assume was a broken seal. I boxed it up, returned it, bought a second one and headed home. The exact same thing happened again! I called the help number on the box and was told that they have had this complaint before and they could send me a replacement o-ring in 7-10 business days. Needless to say, I returned that one, too and bought a Tetris brand- and that one doesn't leak!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjmakmom
Havre de Grace, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ouch
6/19/2014

Customer review by jayhawks11

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by jayhawks11
by jayhawks11

I bought one from local store. It was quiet, but only lasted a few hours before refused to work. I guess the motor was broken so returned it the second day. Do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jayhawks11
ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Very Unhappy
7/15/2014

Customer review by Muckmuck

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by Muckmuck
by Muckmuck

I was unhappy about paying $22 for a filter but I needed one for fish that a friend gave my son. Bought everything to set up the tank and this filter. Well the fish haven't even been in the tank a week and the water is horribly cloudy. I do not know why but this is NOT my first fish tank. I have had many and never had this problem. I have noticed if I push the cartridge all the way down into the bottom of the housing as it should be the water doesn't flow through and just goes through the overflow therefore no filtration. I have had to seat the filter just above the bottom of the housing to make the water flow properly but this obviously leave room for water to escape under the filter and therefore also no filtration. I will be purchasing a different filter and returning this one because this is absolutely ridiculous!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muckmuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
good litttle filter
8/30/2013

Customer review by ykitm

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by ykitm
by ykitm

quiet easy maintenance and functional

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ykitm
RDU. NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/13/2012

Customer review by ajsgrandmaw

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by ajsgrandmaw
by ajsgrandmaw

Dosent work as well as the old one that I thought had gotten weak. I am going to return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajsgrandmaw
Meadow Bridge, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Filter For Goldfish in a 5 Gallon Tank.
8/26/2014

Customer review by DudeRancher

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by DudeRancher
by DudeRancher

I purchased the typical 5 gallon set-up with comes with everything except the fish, water, gravel and seaweed embellishments. I have two 3" goldfish in this tank and they quickly overwhelmed the filter with their by-products (dung). The tank started getting cloudy in 4-5 days and steadily got worse. I did a few partial water changes but the cloudiness persistently came back. The goldfish started to show signs classic signs of Ammonia Burn (their fins and gills started turning black). So I upgraded to this filter thinking that it would solve the cloudiness/Ammonia problem but it did not. As it turned out, I noticed that dung was getting trapped in the seaweed, gravel and plastic log I had in the tank so I removed them all and did a full change of water. Since then, the cloudiness has not reappeared, the black burns on the fins and gills has disappeared because the filter sucks up 100% of the dung. I still think this pump is part of the cure mainly because it really stirs up the aquarium and gives the fish a work out if the swim into the stream. It was a great upgrade! PS: The fish could care less about the gravel, seaweed, all these pigeons of the sea care about is their next feeding...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DudeRancher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i expected
8/11/2014

Customer review by computerron

2.0 stars 8/11/2014 by computerron
by computerron

I bought this pump to replace a tetra 2-10 pump I got with a 10 gallon aquarium that I bought new. being I have owned a few different pumps before and 1 of them being the 5-15 aquatech old style power filter that worked great in my other 5 gallon tank. I decided to give this one a try. set up is easy I had to trim my lid for it to fit my 10 gallon aquarium. The filter could be better it is a piece of foam for the back not see threw, another piece of see threw bigger hole foam for the front and here's the best part a plastic square piece with slots in it to let the little bits of charcoal to fall out of it threw the slots. I was skeptical and hooked it up filled pump, plugged up and the water turned hazy fairly quickly. It does seem to pick up the water good threw the intake with pieces of food etc. I think this is a new product and if it is maybe they can work the filter part out. I also bought replacement filters and shook the box a little and charcoal fell out of the bottom. It says run 24 hours before adding fish so may be it will clear up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
computerron
bradenton FL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male